Back to Liquid Ledger page
Liquid Ledger free download for Mac

Liquid Ledger Reviews

2.4.1
25 August 2011

Personal finance application.

Stevosar
25 August 2011

Most helpful

Unfortunately, I made the mistake of purchasing this application at version 1, in part because of a statement from the author that there would be a free upgrade to version 2. On its release, the author conveniently forgot to honour this and subsequently alienated many users. As if that wasn't bad enough, the software at version 2 has been buggy and unreliable, and support is appaling. The author rarely seemed to respond to questions or requests on the support forum and then subsequently closed it down! I now wouldn't trust my accounts to this app, but it amuses me that it seems to have been resurrected following the release of Lion - no prizes for guessing why! Avoid at all costs!!!
Like (4)
Version 2.4

Read 23 Liquid Ledger User Reviews

Rate this app:

rpdm
28 August 2011
Can't use it as it won't import data from version 1.2.1 and I get no replies at all from any of the sales/webmaster/store@modeless.com email addresses. (First email to them was back in May!) Therefore it gets a bad rating because of the bad customer service.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Stevosar
25 August 2011
Unfortunately, I made the mistake of purchasing this application at version 1, in part because of a statement from the author that there would be a free upgrade to version 2. On its release, the author conveniently forgot to honour this and subsequently alienated many users. As if that wasn't bad enough, the software at version 2 has been buggy and unreliable, and support is appaling. The author rarely seemed to respond to questions or requests on the support forum and then subsequently closed it down! I now wouldn't trust my accounts to this app, but it amuses me that it seems to have been resurrected following the release of Lion - no prizes for guessing why! Avoid at all costs!!!
Like (4)
Version 2.4
Endyaust
14 February 2009
This program had promise when I bought it (2006) but has declined in quality and developer support to the point that I can only describe it as being nearly 'Abandonware". Try something else like Moneydance or even the new Moneywell which looks interesting and has very active support at this stage.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Skye
Skye
18 April 2011
Agreed completely. I was an early buyer of the software when it was around $80 and since then it has been nothing but headaches and bugs. The developer "itrat" seems to have deleted the support forums probably because they were all people complaining. There have been no updates to the software in ages and it is extremely buggy and unstable. I have had to switch software, thanks for your suggestions. It looks like a lot more software supports multiple currencies now, which is great (that was the reason I picked Liquid Ledger originally)
Like (1)
Fishscale
04 February 2009
If you haven't gotten the idea from the descriptions below, do not buy this app! It is extremely over priced. $100 for a ledger? Get an app like Checkbook Pro if you want a ledger. So many financing apps, nobody should have to pay $100 for something that can be done on pen and paper. It's a simple ledger! Can't even function properly as that. Unless dev totally reworks the app, stay far away.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.2
1 answer(s)
Blloyd
Blloyd
31 May 2009
The price looks like $50 to me?
Like
Version 2.3.3
Yokushnir
02 January 2009
I purchased Liquid Ledger a few months ago and installed it on my MacBook Pro with OS 10.5. The software has been a constant source of frustration. Features described in the built in "help" feature (which is minimal and rudimentary) are not working. For example: entering transactions manually is not working and therefore it is impossible to fill in transactions missing in the datafiles downloaded from the banks. The import function is inconsistent and often fails without diagnostic that may help correct the problem. The manufacture is unresponsive to queries regarding these problems. I feel like I threw my money away with this purchase.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
gryphonent
21 May 2008
This is the most inaccurate accounting app on the planet... unless you stick to only onc currency! Unfortunately, the developer isn't listening to customers who're getting fed up with balance sheets that report gains and losses in the tens of thousands due to LiquidLedger simply being unable to handle foreign currency transactions.
Like (1)
Version 2.3.1
Joseph230
08 February 2008
Liquid Ledger is a not quite ready for prime time mac accounting system. On the plus side it has a good cocoa interface (although it is missing some nuances like sizable drawers) and solid qif file importing (something other Mac accounting programs have more trouble with). On the down side, report is very weak, the interface requires a ton of mousing to use (for example no keyboard shortcut to create a new transaction). Comments from the forum indicate that that the developer may be under resourced to provide support for a financial management program.
Like
Version 2.1.2
WiZZardP1
24 October 2007
apparently mention of the guarantee does not exist anymore only a 60 day trial currently exists.
Like
Version 2.0.3
WiZZardP1
24 October 2007
Just heard back from author .. he is trying to weasel out of the refund as he is afirming that when I bought the upgrade, I was aware of the change of policy but there was not specific statement to that effect at all nor specific legal reference to a change in policy and from my knowledge of the law it would have to have been specific so that all users were aware of this .. as far as I know this has not been done and what he says is not sufficient notification .. However, he does have a 30 day satisfaction guarantee polcy .. seek a refund if you paid for a "free" upgrade ...
Like
Version 2.0.3
anonymous-lobster-2974
24 October 2007
Seeing something here about bout 2.x better supporting currencies I thought I'd have another look after being disappointed with the hopeless support back in 1.x... Well, in 2.x it is exactly the same. Why do all finance solutions from continental USA not "get" currency?? Currency exchange rates change and I want a solution to pick up the latest (interbank or credit card) rates e.g. from oanda.com; LL expects users to manually enter these - even the Apple Calculator downloads the latest exchange rates so LL offers less functionality here! And for every new transaction I want the latest exchange rate OR the rate from that day and NOT ONE rate for all transactions / or have to essentially manually enter the rates myself (LL). Disappointed but not the only ones that don't get it. Cha-Ching is no better but at least I can tag entries e.g. "enterconversionrate" and filter so at least the workaround is manageable until full support is offered; it has been promised...
Like
Version 2.0.3
WiZZardP1
24 October 2007
Send an email to the author asking for a full refund if you already registered ver 1.x prior to ver 2.x being released. His news digest from 2003 is legal tender and since I subscribe to the news digest; there has never been a retraction of the published statement from 2003.
Like
Version 2.0.3
WiZZardP1
24 October 2007
This means that anyone who has purchased version 1.x before v2.x was released last week is legally entitled to a free upgrade to version 2.x of Liquid Ledger.
Like
Version 2.0.3
WiZZardP1
24 October 2007
This is an exact copy of the new forum from the author where he states that version 2 will be a free upgrade to current customers to show support - however he has been charging 39.99 US/CAD for the upgrade. I have sent him an email already asking for my refund of the purchase price. Gryphonnet and I were right about the author committing to this and I believe that his web site at that time also contained the same information. Liquid Ledger 1.2.1 for Mac OS X Adds Panther Support If you've recently purchased Mac OS X Panther, or plan to upgrade to the groundbreaking new operating system release from Apple, you'll want to get a copy of Liquid Ledger™ 1.2.1 for Mac OS X. This timely update to Liquid Ledger fixes a previous incompatibility between Liquid Ledger 1.2 and Mac OS X Panther, and a free updater utility is now available from . Also in the works is Liquid Ledger 2, a major upgrade to the most refreshing personal finance solution available for Mac OS X. Liquid Ledger 2 introduces a host of new features and improvements, like scheduled transactions, customisable reports, investment tracking tools, and an unprecedented level of usability for this category of software. To show our appreciation for the continued support of our customers, Liquid Ledger 2 will be a free upgrade for all Liquid Ledger users. The first peeks at Liquid Ledger 2 will come later this year or in early 2004. Pricing and Availability Liquid Ledger 1.2.1 for Mac OS X Panther is available today and can be purchased online for US$45 from . Existing customers can download a free updater utility, available from , that updates any previous installation of Liquid Ledger to the latest release. Liquid Ledger comes with a 30-day money-back satisfaction guarantee. ************************************************************************ You received this e-mail because you subscribed to Modeless Software, Inc.'s Liquid Ledger News announcement list. To remove yourself from this list, send a blank e-mail to . ************************************************************************
Like
Version 2.0.3
WiZZardP1
23 October 2007
Yes, like Gryphonnet, I was under the understanding that it was supposed to be a free upgrade and I believe this information was originally published on the authors site. I have emails to the author on this but there has been no response to these queries. Yes, like Gryphonnet, I paid the CAD 39.99 to upgrade even tho over the years I have beta tested the app for the author and worked thru several issues with the product. Since the author relocated from to Toronto from his and mine original city, there has been a dramatic slow down in releases and information coming out of the author. Even when I ordered via his store, the author had my money for three days before a serial number was generated and I did not even get an email with the new serial number. I had to go on to the store and take it from my order. I used LL for a number of years as a replacement for Quicken and it worked well, however when the dev slowed down and promised releases never came out, I had to migrate to something else. At this stage, I am waiting for responses however I don't think I will get one and I am considering any longer term investment with this author rather guardedly. Overall the originally LL was a great start and my beta work with the author gave me a good feeling .. however move to 2007 ...
Like
Version 2.0.3
gryphonent
19 October 2007
I love Liquid Ledger and was looking forward to this upgrade for years. Initially promised as a free upgrade I even paid the CAD 39.99. What a mistake! This version 2 is a downgrade in all respects. The worst user experience I've ever had in more than 15 years of working on a Mac. Nothing works. It's the worst car wreck in Mac OS software history.
Like
Version 2.0
Igreg
21 December 2006
I strongly dislike Quicken, but do not see Liquid Ledger as much of an improvement (if any improvement) over Quicken. I do not find anything more user-friendly than Quicken in LL. All I see is that it has less features than Quicken. So LL is essentially Quicken Lite. Not worth more than $30. The $80 retail price is absurd. So I continue my search for a user friendly replacement for Quicken.
Like
Version 1.5.3
3 answer(s)
Guntis
Guntis
24 December 2006
Have you tried iBank? Or Money?
Like
Version 1.5.4
Igreg
Igreg
24 December 2006
I skimmed through Get Started guide for Money. I did not notice anything about it being able to import data from other programs, such as Quicken. I just sent them an email about it. I tried iBank about 1 year ago and found it buggy. The main problem I have with Quicken is using it in conjunction with my Bank checking account, by downloading info from online bank. So I am currently using Quicken by entering all data manually like you would with paper checkbook.
Like
Version 1.5.4
Guntis
Guntis
24 December 2006
Try new iBank. They're releasing updates every month, and now it's version 2. It's way better than v.1.0! Can't even compare. If v.1 was so so, then v.2 is really solid release. Take a look.
Like
Version 1.5.4
F-D-Yocum
01 March 2006
I have real mixed feelings about Liquid Ledger. When I moved my accounting over from a Wintel machine, II did not want to use Quicken even though it came with the macmini. Quicken is for my money (if you will excuse the pun) an overblown program made cumbersome by "features" with felt like an attempt to leverage more money out of the userbase. Liquid Ledger is not like that. It is slim. The model of working mainly in the Ledger when inputting data and reconciling works for me. There aren't as many reports, but I can live without them. But LL also feels unfinished. There are no contextual menus, no autosave, no autobackup. Somethings that should work all the time, drop and drag ordering of transactions for instance, work sometimes for me, but mostly not. And it periodically crashes. I paid for a license, I am using it. It feels worthy ... but unfinished. If the rate of improvements are slow I can see myself drifting onto another program, but I am not sure which... there is a real market for a cocoa based accounting program.
Like
Version 1.5.1
Donkeyotay
18 January 2006
Again, lack of demo not a problem. I took the plunge & didn't like it. Emailed the developers & got my money refunded quickly, no questions asked.
Like
Version 1.5
1 answer(s)
Perlmonkey
Perlmonkey
19 January 2006
You may be right for some people, but if I decided to buy this app just to try it out I'd have to pay charges on my credit card for using outside the European Community. Even if they refunded me I'd be stuck with those charges and I really don't see any reason I should give this program a try when there is a chance I have to pay even the smallest fee (especially to my bloodsucking credit card company).
Like
Version 1.5
Gjts
03 December 2003
Lack of demo option proved no problem. I just took the plunge paid and downloaded the real thing. Up and running within 10 minutes! This is a splendid piece of software easy to understand easy to use. I came from Quicken 2000 but this is just as good if not better with date and currency options and tracking galore! Not too much clutter either. And it looks good in MacosX . Highly recommended!! GJT
Like
Version 1.2.1
Anonymous
27 October 2003
I have not purchased this product simply because there is no demo available. I was overseas so was unable to use Quicken to good effect and instead used X and Fink and compiled GnuCash which is quite powerful and works on my linux boxes as well (more of an accounting rpgoram than personal finance though). These guys really, really need a demo before I'm going to buy it. It *looks* promising from screenshots, but I've been burned on too much financial software, especially that made by small developers.
Like
Version 1.2.1
Meta
15 October 2003
The big thing Liquid Ledger does that Quicken can't handle at all is multiple currencies. If you need that feature, the choice (as far as I know) comes down to Liquid Ledger or Moneydance. I picked Liquid Ledger, as the interface is just so much nicer. It obeys the Cocoa human interface guidelines, and a great deal of care has obviously been put in to make sure things are done in a direct way. Want to rename an account? Just double-click and type the new name, and it updates everywhere instantly. Want to undo something? Infinite undo, with descriptions of what it's going to undo each time. Want to focus on a particular expense? Slide out the accounts and click that expense account, just like choosing a folder in Apple Mail. I did experience one crash attempting to import data--but I was attempting to import HTML as if it was OFX. Oops. Since I got all my data in, it's been fine. If your requirements are fairly standard--banking, savings, a few shares and some real-estate--Liquid Ledger is well worth a look. I managed to find a downloadable demo, which they seem not to publicize.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
07 October 2003
I bought Liquid Ledger after having a lot of trouble with Quicken 2004 for Mac. It seemed to crash very easily and wouldn't import/download my data. Multiple reviews I read supported this. Liquid Ledger v1.2 is very simple to use and easily laid out. It doesn't have the bloated feel of MS Money or Quicken. The flip side to this is that it's a very new program and doesn't have many features, yet. Downloading statements is my most used task and this does a fair job it. Much has to be done manually--download a QIF or QFX file, "OPEN" it, and import it into your corresponding account. Balancing your checkbook also has pretty much to be done manually (match your running total with the LL's running total). MS Money made this very easy with the "Balance." Still, it can be done. Grouping transactions into collapsable headers is a great feature. All my "Sep 2003 Statement" transactions can be put under that header, collapsed (by clicking on the triangle), and the clutter of those transactions disappears. Drag-and-drop into these groups will come with v2.0. I hope with v2.0 (whenever that comes out, possibly with Panther) some more features will be added. I'm still testing it out, but like it so far.
Like
Version 1.2
Anonymous
10 September 2003
This app has a very nice approach (esp. the GUI) to personal finances and it able to handle multiple currencies. So I thought it has a lot of potential. Thats why I decided to buy a license at the beginning of the year. Unfortunately, the ongoing development is so slow, that I got disappointed with the progress. Potential alone does not make a great app.
Like
Version 1.2