Back to NovaMind page
NovaMind free download for Mac

NovaMind Reviews

5.6.9
31 October 2016

Document the outcomes of brainstorming sessions.

bobembry
30 November 2014

Most helpful

I've been paying NovaMind upgrade fees for years, but rarely using. Each upgrade promises miracles that are rarely delivered. These days I'm mostly using Scapple and MindNode Pro for my thinking canvases. For my purposes I'd like to be able to use either as a base layer and then superimpose Skitch style annotations. Later I'd like to be able to modify the base layer while retaining the annotations. My 2¢
Like (5)
Version 5.6.4

Read 37 NovaMind User Reviews

Rate this app:

Brookhaven
01 December 2016
Just tried the download button above but just goes to a non existing page with "404 Not Found" Something amiss here???
Like
Version 5.6.9
1 answer(s)
Brookhaven
Brookhaven
01 December 2016
Further to my post above it seems its under new management, the original Novamind Cloud and website have been discontinued.

Looking at the Facebook page it’s a sorry tale of confusion, fudge and delay.

Even more glad I didn’t sign up for the subscription model a couple of years ago - I was beginning to get very suspicious of the company anyway.
Like
MarceloD7830
05 October 2015
They are a fraud. A long time promising help and nothing happens
Like (1)
Version 5.6.5
Me2
20 February 2015
I'm sorry for having to write this. But look at this COST. $349. Plus, their new licensing methodology is schizophreniform and expensive as well. At least Adobe's makes some kind of sense. Will have to move on to MindNodePro. I say this honestly and without malice, but, this cost is egregious.
Like (2)
Version 5.6.5
1 answer(s)
jarod-1
jarod-1
27 February 2015
You don't seem to be aware that the platinum version of Novamind can't really be compared to Mindnode. If you don't appreciate the difference, then Mindnode is probably a good choice for you.

Generally with software, when they add hundreds of features you need to pay more.
Like
bobembry
30 November 2014
I've been paying NovaMind upgrade fees for years, but rarely using. Each upgrade promises miracles that are rarely delivered. These days I'm mostly using Scapple and MindNode Pro for my thinking canvases. For my purposes I'd like to be able to use either as a base layer and then superimpose Skitch style annotations. Later I'd like to be able to modify the base layer while retaining the annotations. My 2¢
Like (5)
Version 5.6.4
Brookhaven
29 August 2014
NovaMind seems to be following Adobes lead in going down the subscription route for its products. As I am only an occasional user of NovaMind, the costs of subscribing is just not worth the money for me and I see no real advantage in doing so. Shame really, as I quite like the software, and although it will continue to work for now, who knows when it will stop after further MacOS upgrades in the future. One also has to question how often there will be updates, as I seem to recall that updates were promised in the past and often took a long time to materialise.
Like (3)
Version 5.5.8
1 answer(s)
jarod-1
jarod-1
27 February 2015
I really feel for the developers that have a hard time paying the bills because people want software so cheap. The subscription model allows them to make money while continuing to make high quality software. I just don't see $6.99/month as that expensive.
Like
Kihoalu
12 January 2013
Short trial - seems to be fairly capable. My test is short enough that I don't feel good calling it a review - more just comments. I'm not impressed with the design aspects of this: The entry-level crayon colors give me a headache. There's a 3 tiered pricing structure. The cost as listed, is for the "Express" version, but I'm not clear what I got in the downloaded trial.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Joy-Livingwell
25 September 2012
Under OS 10.6, NovaMind 5.3 is slow, buggy, and prone to crash. One of the bugs causes file sizes to bloat, such that a few minor changes can take a file from around 100 K to around 600 K. Copy the data into another file, and file size goes back down to 100 K. Quit NovaMind, re-open it, make a change to the file, and save it, and file size goes down to around 200 K. The bigger the file, the more likely the program is to become unresponsive. When that happens, - Toggles to expand and collapse the mind map stop working, or work intermittently. - Keyboard commands to add new child and sibling nodes work intermittently or stop working altogether. - Typing slows way down. Once these problems start, NovaMind usually ends up crashing within a few minutes.
Like
Version 5.3.4
Joy-Livingwell
25 September 2012
I have been testing NovaMind for the last several weeks, on a variety of projects. On the plus side, it is gorgeous, easy to use, fairly intuitive, and packed with features. One of my favorites allows you to switch between mind map and outline views, or look at both simultaneously. (I find this particularly useful when I am planning something like a book.) You can select items in the outline view, Copy, and Paste them into an RTF document, which will give you the correct indent hierarchy, though it doesn't number the items. You can also export the outline to TEXT and Word. On the minus side, NovaMind 5.3 is slow, buggy, and prone to crash, at least under OS 10.6. One of the bugs causes file sizes to bloat, such that a few minor changes can take a file from around 100 K to around 600 K. The bigger the file, the more likely the program is to become unresponsive. Toggles to expand and collapse the mind map stop working, or work intermittently. Keyboard commands to add new child and sibling nodes likewise work intermittently or stop working altogether. Typing slows way down. At some point, it usually crashes. I am also surprised by some of the features NovaMind doesn't have. For instance, you would think that a program that intrinsically produces a lovely outline of your mind map, and can auto-number your nodes, could EXPORT the numbering, but I couldn't figure out how to do it. I fell in love with this program when I started testing it, and fully intended to buy it. Unfortunately, its bugginess, slowdowns, and frequent crashes are deal-breakers for me. This is a beautiful program with great potential. I hope the developers will manage to fix these problems, because I'd really LIKE to use this product.
Like (4)
Version 5.3.4
VMV
23 March 2012
Very useful in professional sense but criple because OS version lacks of presenter, flexibranch and quicklook I prefer as essential properties. I am affraid NM5 is never coplete for OS so be carefull before you decide to purhace app. OS version of NM5 has been under construction now about three years.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.17
kbaxxx
30 August 2011
Love this app! This is my most used productivity tool. I've tried them all (iMindMap, Mind Manager, XMind, Freemind, etc etc), and this has by far the most powerful features, and yet is still very easy to use. The redesign they have done for v5 is excellent. They have taken a really good application and rebuilt it as a truly fantastic app.
Like (1)
Version 5.0.2
2 answer(s)
Miner
Miner
04 March 2012
I am a bit sceptic about reviewers like this: all reviews done on 1 day, bringing down the ratings of competing apps, rating on some random others, and then high acclaims for a product like this where previous comments were much more negative. And after that one day: nothing for 6 months, nothing at all. Maybe I am paranoid, but this seems like tweaking the ratings...
Like (3)
Espiridion
Espiridion
09 March 2012
Also the statement "this has by far the most powerful features" is incorrect IMO. Only the expensive version has features that are comparable with alternative programs, and many were included in prior versions without the hefty price tag. I have not upgraded my old version, and probably never will.
Like (1)
jjalex
02 August 2011
I have used NovaMind 4 before and now upgraded to NovaMind 5. I used to like v4, but v5 is just miles ahead. They have done a fantastic job of rewriting it. Love the new user interface, new layout system, floating topics, callouts, new topic shapes, and especially the color arrays and iCal integration. It's so much better for brainstorming now, and for my to-do list. It's still beta, and have had a couple of crashes, but it has an autosave system so only lost about 20 seconds of work.
Like
Version 5.0.0b15
Brookhaven
02 April 2011
2 April 2011 and the NovaMind 5 first beta release is now available. There have been quite a few comments before about the interface, but I found v4 a nice app. However, the version 5 app is very late arriving and now it has (almost) I'm finding it very frustrating to use. If you want to move a topic cell around, you have to wait for a little popup to appear, which you then grab with the mouse to move the cell. Ugghhh:-(
Like (2)
Version 4.7.4
Redsee
10 February 2011
frustrating to use
Like
Version 4.7.4
Jan-rybar
28 July 2008
1. Expensive. 2. Buggy. It's for playing, not for working.
Like (2)
Version 4.2.6
2 answer(s)
Mark-G
Mark-G
19 November 2008
I disagree with "for playing not working" - I create lesson plans in Novamind Pro ... a task I do for work, not as a hobby!
Like (1)
Version 4.6
davidwb
davidwb
21 May 2009
Not a toy - a serious organization tool like an outliner but much more.
Like (1)
Version 4.7
Espiridion
11 January 2008
Indeed it is a shame about their pricing structure. I actually regret purchasing the previous version, which is not bad, by the way. Live and learn...
Like (3)
Version 4.1.2
Uncoy
06 December 2007
Crazy pricing. Not so nice interface. This fad for mind mapping will surely shake out with some better looking and simpler and less expensive applications. In the meantime, what works in black and white with nice switching between text and different map modes is MyMind. Free and elegant.
Like (1)
Version 4.1
zo219
16 August 2007
Sooo promising, but somehow it just doesn't make it. Even $49 for immense ugliness ...no. And the lack of documentation ...so many of these perhaps amazing new apps seem to be developed by people incapable of providing documentation ...geek syndrome? Well get a friend. Who speaks English, preferably.
Like
Version 4.0.7
iGaucho
24 July 2007
MacUpdate needs to change the listing for NovaMind. The price has changed since there are now 3 variants of it. Now there are NovaMind Express ($49), NovaMind Pro ($149), and NovaMind Platinum ($249). I wanted to buy NovaMind several months ago but even with the educational pricing, it was still too expensive for me. I ended up going with OmniGraffle since it was cheaper and more or less gets the job done. Obviously it's not a standalone mind mapping application. Maybe I will look into getting NovaMind Express since it is quite affordable (it costs just as much as the educational pricing for OmniGraffle). I just hope the interface has gotten an overhaul. Version 3 had some excellent features but it was a little difficult to figure out.
Like
Version 4.0.4
macupdate-290
30 November 2006
What it does is great. I wish it was made by the Omni group (or Apple) though. The interface is not clear at all, and they know it... That's why they have a tutorial popping up when you start up the app. Definitly not the kinda of program where you can just guess where everything is and what everything does... Some of the icons are just plain incomprehensible. I also wish the default look was a little more pleasing to the eyes... Definitely one of the best mind map apps out there, but definitely not one of the best OS X apps out there...
Like
Version 3.2.6
Entwhistle
15 November 2006
I thought the earlier releases were great, but the developers have taken this app to a whole new level with the new interface and features. Really quick to create Mind Maps, especially with RapidFire. Also having the ability to share the Mind Maps with my PC colleagues using NovaMind for Windows is very handy. Love the tabbed toolbar and new context menus, and ability to have lots of Mind Maps in a single file. I had a couple of minor issues with earlier releases a few months ago, and the support team replied very quickly and where there were a couple of minor bugs, they released a fix within a day of my reporting the issue. Incredible support. I'm a very happy customer :-)
Like
Version 3.2.4
Goodwill-:)
05 October 2006
A very nice map application. But there is one minor bug that the developer did not notice all the time. The exported RTF file will not display correctly at 5th- or higher level child branch if you have a file with more than 5 levels of child branches with outline number displayed (see below) 1 New-Branch 1.1 sdffefds 1.1.1 dsfadsf 1.1.1.1 dfadsfa 1.1.1.1.1 adfad 1.1.1.1.2 213r3e 1.1.1.1.3 dfadsfa 1.1.2 dafdafaf
Like
Version 3.2
Bombadil
28 March 2006
I tried this app but I have to say graphically Omnigraffle is stronger.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.18
Entwhistle
20 December 2005
I've tried lots of Mind Mapping applications on multiple platforms over the last 3 years, and this wins hands down - things like the branch proposal system, flexibranches, the screenwriting module etc are not available anywhere else. The graphics libraries are excellent quality. The program is easy to use. The ability to assign project management aspects (checkboxes, priorities, resources, times etc) and to load the files in Merlin project manager is really cool. Development of this software is going on at an amazing pace. Their support team is highly responsive and helpful. By all means have a look at their competition, MyMind and Freemind - I think you will come to the same conclusion as I have - this better by far (and keeps getting better at a faster rate)
Like
Version 3.0.7
Lord-Lightning
14 December 2005
Why would I pay $150 or so Australian for this when MyMind and Freemind are free? They do the job equally well if not better. It's a fine application. It's just in the markeplace where there are free applications of exactly the same type that work just as well. MyMind 1.3.2: http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/11451 Freemind 0.8: http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/19325 Compare the features. Nothing in it really.
Like
Version 3.0.5
Anonymous
02 February 2005
Worth every penny. Excellent application with on-going development and great support.
Like
Version 2.4.5
Anonymous
26 November 2004
A one-trick pony in its theme execution. MyMind does a more professional job and it's free.
Like
Version 2.4.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 June 2005
One trick pony? It creates mind maps, what else do you expect from a mind mapping program?
Like
Version 2.4.6
Anonymous
17 September 2004
Novamind is an excellent graphical tool and works wonderfully simply in a way that almost hides its complexity and wealth of features. As for prices, it provides excellent value for money. Furthermore, this is a product under active continuous development and improvement. I have no regrets buying this software and I freely and readily recommend it.
Like
Version 2.3.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 November 2004
Parent is astro-turf.
Like
Version 2.4.4
Anonymous
17 September 2004
Try the Open-source, Java based Freemind
Like
Version 2.3.3
Anonymous
01 September 2004
It revolves around just one theme that is tweaked a bit here and there. If it had more options I would consider purchasing it, but as it stands--no.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
10 July 2004
I am developing a film project and have completely fallen in love with NovaMind. It has been a tremendous tool for creating both the film's treatment and Keynote presentation. I was excited to see the Screenwriting Module added with version 2.x. Though I've used Final Draft for years, ever since OS X arrived I've been yearning for someone to write a native/cocoa application for screenwriting and to have it utilize the Services feature of OS X. From my perspective, the opportunity to have screenwriting integrated with a mind mapping application will be fantastic! With this initial version the Screenwriting Module has got the basics, and I'm hopeful that it will mature into a Final Draft competitor.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
13 May 2004
I hate crippleware, and this is a pain to evaluate without buying it. freemind http://freemind.sourceforge.net is similar, and free
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 May 2004
You get what you pay for which is why Freemind is free! NovaMind is not the cheapest, but its also not the most expensive and they include new features all the time. This software justifies the initial outlay by its contribution to increased productivity and my quality of life.
Like
Version 2.1
22 November 2003
I love this program. I've been a paper mindmapper from way back. I've tried a couple programs, but they didn't feel right or were too clunky. NovaMind has freed my mind. My fluidity has returned. What's more, the graphical interface allows me to hand brainstorms/mindmaps to clients as "talk" sheets without embarassment. The first day I demo'd it, I created mindmaps for clients, handed them to them and watched them say, "wow, this is cool, how did you do this..." More importantly, they started using the map to begin generating thier own ideas on the branches. That spontaneous response has NEVER happened with an outline program - sorry Omni. NovaMind Paid for itself before I bought it. That's value.
Like
Version 1.6.2
Anonymous
11 November 2003
I'm not yet prepared to do a full review of this product, but as far as I'm concerned the comparison here is really between NovaMind and Inspiration. Other posters have mentioned MyMind, but that product, while functional, is FAR less polished and attractive than either NovaMind or Inspiration. If look-and-feel matter to you, then MyMind is not a contender. Overall, from brief experience with both products, it seems that Inspiration is more flexible while NovaMind is more attractive. For example, in Inspiration you can have a true mesh -- not everything has to be a hierarchy coming out from a root node. It's been a while since I've used NovaMind, so that may have changed since I last played with it. Overall, NovaMind is probably the best strict-mind-map software for Mac OS X, but Inspiration is the best software for free exploration of ideas, which is what I do most. If I had to pick only one, I'd pick Inspiration, but really I'd like to have both on my machine.
Like
Version 1.6.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 November 2004
Thanks for your helpful evaluation. Indeed, Inspiration is not attractive, while Novamind seems a bit limited. An alternative to both would be TinderBox, which is extremely flexible. I dislike the fact that I cannot really try NovaMind for a while - it puts me off. TinderBox requires learning - and there's no tutorial to speak of - but its richness is attractive, even if NovaMind still wins on quick results.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Anonymous
06 November 2003
As a product designer this is about the best thing ever made!!! It's so easy to get all those ideas organized now, and it does it in a very nice and slick graphic interface too. Thank you for making the software everybody was thinking of doing, but never did.
Like
Version 1.6.1
bansuri
24 September 2003
Too expensive Use MyMind or OmniOutliner ... Bansuri
Like
Version 1.5.2
bansuri
22 September 2003
Hi, I hope it is a joke? $59? As I am not a student, discount is not for me and, really, I think that NovaMind is no more for me. Use OmniOutliner if you are rich and MyMind if you are poor but NovaMind ? Use your brains for a change! Naty
Like
Version 1.5.1
bansuri
22 September 2003
Very strange. Price is great but where are screenshots ? MyMind is free and is OmniOutliner compatible. I don't understand what is the interest of this mechanism. Bansuri
Like
Version 1.5.1