Back to iFlash page
iFlash free download for Mac

iFlash Reviews

2.9.3
14 March 2014

Flash cards to help you study almost anything.

Slob
20 November 2008

Most helpful

An iPod touch app with syncing would really help the user - plus, I'm sure, increase registrations for the developer. I'd love to use this on-the-go.
Like (2)
Version 2.7.6

Read 24 iFlash User Reviews

Rate this app:

Jusjokin
23 June 2010
I have tried the iflash app, however I find the ankimobile app much better suited for my flashcard studying. Ankimobile allows flawless syncing from it's own server, and hosts more impressive card libraries. Iflash may be more user friendly, however, it's not as tailored for a long term student.
Like
Version 2.8.1
csaborio
02 December 2009
Started out great, but tanks whenever I try to import any cards from the main DB.
Like
Version 2.8.1
Cmarkn
16 May 2009
Everyone has already said all the good stuff that needs to be said about the program. I concur, it is fast, flexible and reliable. But so too is the developer. I emailed him about a problem importing a file of card data with UTF-8 characters. He responded within 15 minutes, and had it fixed within 36 hours of my report. That's the kind of developer I want to support.
Like
Version 2.8
Slob
20 November 2008
An iPod touch app with syncing would really help the user - plus, I'm sure, increase registrations for the developer. I'd love to use this on-the-go.
Like (2)
Version 2.7.6
Mr-imac
23 December 2007
Does anyone know if iFlash has a print option?
Like
Version 2.7.4
2 answer(s)
Daveymcgav
Daveymcgav
16 January 2008
Yes, iFlash does have a printing feature :-). To use this feature, click the File menu while viewing your card deck and select Print.
Like
Version 2.7.4
Cmarkn
Cmarkn
16 May 2009
Yes, in fact it has two print options. One for printing both sides of the card in a strip so you fold it over to form your two-sided card, and one that cleverly arranges for printing on both sides without a duplex printer. It was this two-sided printing that sold me on it. The best use of flash cards is when you have them with you all the time and instantly available. Only printed cards give you this.
Like
Version 2.8
Kedos
03 December 2006
iFlash is an amazing application! I actually do more studying now than I did before. The developer is very responsive, also. While I love this application and definitely think it's worth the money, I have a few suggestions for the developer: 1- give users the option to download\upload attachments from the library. I'm not sure if this is supported or not, but I downloaded a deck of Country flags around the world, and there were no images on them... so I assume not. 2- It might just be me, but when I try to record something into my flash card, all I hear is static. My microphone works fine, too. 3- Support quizzing! Because iFlash doesn't support quizzing, I have to use it along the side of Genius. 4- I think the coolest feature of this program is the ability to share knowledge. The first thing I did was download other decks... even decks that covered what I was already efficient in had information I didn't know. And I also downloaded some decks I don't need, just because I thought it would be interesting, for instance, to learn some Japanese words. The problem with this feature, however, is that the library is still fairly limited. A broader list of categories with more decks in them would be really nice. Here are some ways I would suggest the developer can accomplish this: A) Offer discounts to trial users who upload X number of cards. This would give users incentive to share their own work, rather than keeping to themselves. B) Offer discounts for, say, a few weeks where the application will be half off. C) Get free exposure through a website like www.macheist.com by sharing the application to a bunch of mac users for free. D) Get free exposure through a site like www.macappaday.com Increasing your userbase, regardless of how much they paid to get the licensed version (or even if they have the licensed version) will lead to a larger library, thus a better application. And, of course, the more people that love the application, the more people they tell. I've already told several friends to go get it ;)
Like (1)
Version 2.7.3
Kmlawson
05 March 2006
iFlash is now really the best out there for mac, and at a very reasonable $15 price. I used to design flashcard software and am very picky about the features since those of us who use it will use it every day. Davey has implemented interval study - which is the key to long term study, made an application that is extremely "mac-like" and very stable (has never crashed or given me an error message to date), and offers a huge number of options but in a way that isn't disruptive or confusing - it is very intuitive to use. The application also supports Unicode so Asian languages and other non-Roman characters are in, as well as full export and import options. I had once planned to get back into programming to update my old Flashcard Wizard for Mac OS X, but I wouldn't want to compete with iFlash - which is really 95% of what I could wish for in a flashcard program. For future improvements I would recommend 1) better documentation 2) smoother study review for interval study so that it cycles through cards marked wrong the first time around, without saving the results the second/third/etc. time through. While only a minor point, you have to click a button to "not save" the results on consecutive rounds and it stops removing the ones from the "pile" you get right on consecutive rounds when doing interval study - but again, minor point. This is really the best out there for Mac, and I have a feeling it will continue to get better!
Like
Version 2.7.2
Pirx
12 February 2006
Just plain brilliant, perfect for learning by flashcards.
Like (1)
Version 2.7.1
Anonymous
04 June 2005
iFlash is a very fine piece of software - the best in its class of application. Its features, along with the community sharing of lists puts it far beyond any competition, For $10, I don't think you can go wrong. If I had any criticism, which must be mild at best, it would be that iFlash has become too heavy with features. But then, nobody says you have to use them all. You may have to wade through some of them to get to the ones you want sometimes. If you want to try something a little more lightweight along the same lines that is free (and open source as well) you might also consider: http://www.macupdate.com/info.php/id/13592
Like
Version 2.5.5
Anonymous
18 May 2005
Excellent piece of software! Well written, extremely flexible. It's one of those programs where you think "hmm. I wonder if I could..." and before you know it you're doing it. Excellent!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.4
Anonymous
08 April 2005
I love this program, at least from what everyone says about. It's been a couple days that I havn't been able to download it.
Like
Version 2.5.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 April 2005
Hmm, I can download the latest version with no problems. Try grabbing it directly from the following link: http://www.loopware.com/iflash/files/iFlash.zip If that doesn't work, e-mail me (davey at loopware com) and I'll send it to you as an attachment. :-)
Like
Version 2.5.3
Anonymous
23 March 2005
This is exactly what I was looking for for my Spanish, Romanian, Linguistics, etc. flashcards. It's formatted just like iTunes, iPhoto, and all the other iLife stuff, and it's really professionall-done. Highly recommended.
Like
Version 2.5.3
Anonymous
15 January 2005
Fantastic learning tool. Don't use it very often, but I bought it because I love to support developers who put care in their apps. This one shines. It's only $10 and the best of the breed.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Anonymous
06 January 2005
Fantastic! I needed this so I can learn Thai. FileMaker Pro has deplorable Thai script handling and that was a waste of time. This app does exactly what need. It is -at first- a bit worrisome as far as setting fonts but I figured it out quickly after a bit of poking around.
Like
Version 2.5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 January 2005
HI Johnq, why don't you Upload some of your Thai card decks to the iFlash system. I'd like to check them out. The ability to upload your decks for others to use or download decks for your own use is a huge advantage of this software.
Like
Version 2.5.1
Tj
Tj
10 February 2005
Hello Johnq Could you tell me about setting up Thai font on Mac. I just downloaded the iFlash 2.5.2 and would like to get some tips on how you set up this cool app.
Like
Version 2.5.2
Anonymous
02 December 2004
Uh I love it. I used it to make flash cards for Mandarin and Japanese and I especially like the Deck Library feature where you can share with other users. Its cheap and easy to use so what more can you ask for? :)
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
07 September 2004
I have tried ALL the MAC shareware and freeware flash card programs -- this is BY FAR the best. The user interface is intuitive (based on the Ipod's playlist concept) and the program is flexible, offering all the options I need. I am using it to teach SAT vocabulary words to my son. What a joy -- the program automatically adds definitions from the American Heritage Dictionary (which I then edit) and spell checks! It has both a study and a test mode, the ability to group words by category (level of difficulty, field of use, etc.) Regouping is easy, so is selecting a specific set of words (on the fly or by category) fpr study or testing. The program keeps track of my son's scores, and offers a customizable definition of "memorized" so that you can decide when a word should be dropped from, or returned to, the list of tested words.
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
04 August 2004
This apply is cheap, great and useful. If you have something to learn, no problem, use it. For my own, I am presently using iFlash to learn Cocoa and Obj-C and that speed my learning a lot. A great bravo to David. What may be difficult is writing the questions and ansmers ;-)))
Like
Version 2.1.2
Anonymous
10 June 2004
iFlash is a polished, effective application with lots of bells and whistles, and well worth the registration fee. However, if you want a free alternative, consider the open-source application VocableTrainerX http://sourceforge.net/projects/vocx/
Like
Version 2.1.1a
Anonymous
01 March 2004
iFlash 2 is a great, solid application that _will_ help with your memorization and improve your academic results. I used to work for hours just making flashcards to study for a test until I found this application, and my study routine has become much more relaxed as a result. The developer is also very friendly and open to comments or ideas. $10 is a incredible price for a superior app like this, and a great support team to go along with it.
Like
Version 2.0
Galen Wiley
28 January 2004
iFlash is simply a god-send for students in all grades and subjects. Its practical, free-form design make the possibilities almost endless, and making a virtual card deck has never been easier (Literally, a card can be created in about two clicks, disregarding the typing). The interface was incredibly intuitive, just as any self-respecting Mac OS X app should be, and the best part? It's free. (As always, donations are appreciated.) It is indisputably the best flash card software I've used to date (and believe me, as a sophomore in high school with at least one vocabulary test a week, I've used a lot). I would highly recommend it to any and all students out there hoping to raise their grades. It has served me quite well, and it beats the heck out of carrying a stack of index cards around!
Like
Version 1.2.3
Anonymous
17 September 2003
Not bad for a little program thats free. Wish there was a little more options, like: 1. Being able to go back a card during a show. 2. Being able to move the cards in a different order while editing. 3. Starting from the highlighted card then starting from the 1st everytime. But great app though. Would recommend to any student.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
15 July 2003
iFlash is a great little program that does what it promises. Would be OUTSTANDING if it allowed formatting for multiple lines (for multiple choice questions) and had a companion program for the Palm. Perhaps a utility to work with SuperMemo by Mapletop? Thanks!!
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
12 June 2003
The best of its kind. Slick yet simple to use.
Like
Version 1.2.2
Anonymous
15 December 2002
Very smooth, very useful but could have a few more features (In particular the full screen mode and font support for exports) V. EASY TO USE!
Like
Version 0.8