Back to Split & Concat page
Split & Concat free download for Mac

Split & Concat Reviews

3.0
06 September 2009

Splits large files for upload.

mvfurtado3
20 May 2018

Most helpful

Best! Ever!
Like (1)
Version 3.0

Read 29 Split & Concat User Reviews

Rate this app:

mvfurtado3
20 May 2018
Best! Ever!
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Turquoise
14 October 2015
I am unable to join back files. App still in "Snow Leopard" mode, hasn't been updated.
Like
Version 3.0
iamstoker
13 May 2015
Just wanted to write how good this application is. I archived large .mov files (15Gb+) by splitting them into 2Gb files using Split/Concat (Version 2.02) over 10 years ago onto 3-4 DVD-Rs. I copied the .00x files onto my drive this week and by using the Concat button it worked perfectly to form a large 15Gb file again. Works flawlessly even though this update for Split/Concat is from 2009 (Version 3.0). Working in OSX Yosemite BTW.
Like
Version 3.0
Designer
27 December 2010
Brilliant app. Been using it for years alongside MacPAR deLuxe. Works great but the app icon could seriously use a refresh (please).
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Poikkeus
21 December 2010
While I've only used it twice, both times offered flawless rejoined archives - while other applications were unable to handle the files.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Doug-Engelbart
22 October 2009
Today I split a .dmg of 6.7 GB into 4 pieces and, to test it, I concated it back into 1 piece and proofed it: Worked flawlessly on my G4 with OSX.5.8 ... and I used Split&Concat 2.5! Now I saw that 3.0 is out, so I download it.^^
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Machinegun
17 September 2009
I find that it doesn't work with Snow Leopard as well which is weird because this is supposedly a Snow Leopard release. I thought the files were bad at first, but then I concatenated them in Terminal and that worked perfectly. Hope there's a fix soon.
Like
Version 3.0
Iconz113
11 September 2009
is stuffit duluxe capable of this function? or do I need this as well
Like
Version 3.0
The-Jtizzle
17 August 2009
Just a heads up, it's broken with 10.6 GM
Like (3)
Version 2.5
-M-S-
05 February 2009
This works fine, not sure what all the complaints are about. Mind you, I've only used it for concatenating files, not splitting them. But it's pretty stupid simple to use, just drag the .001 file on top of it and away it goes. If your files aren't concatenating correctly, it's probably because the files are corrupt, not an issue with this app. Thx for the work, dev, and for making this free.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Ashmadux
03 December 2008
GARBAGE. like someone else said..this POS doesnt work. why in living lords name would ANYONE use this to break apart files instead of just using a rar splitter? i came a cross a very valuable file(not in dollars) to me, and lo and behold, i saw something like use plit and congrats...whatever...and guess what happened...nothing. I just had to tell u folks why i was mad..oh, and avoid this like the plague.
Like
Version 2.5
Feh-App-Store
15 February 2008
Hmm... Interesting. Just worked fine for me on intel 10.5.2
Like (1)
Version 2.5
Asauterchicago
09 February 2008
Does anyone know of an alternative to this program? As mentioned before it does not work on leopard, it simply combines the first file with itself in a weird format, so it doesn't really seem to do anything. I know it's free so I'm not going to give it a negative review, since it looks like the original developer has abandoned the project (last update August 2006). Just wondering if there's an alternative for those of us that were unlucky enough to end up with one of these sets of split files. I've tried Machacha also, but it doesn't combine Split&concat files.
Like
Version 2.5
Faubelster
02 June 2007
I'm attempting to use this app to join 38 files into a single dmg file. It concats the 1st file OK (albeit slow...). When I choose the 2nd file to concat, I get an overwrite warning. It just wants to overwrite rather than join the files. I've also selected all 38 files and dragged onto the icon and selected concat: each successive file overwrites the next. I've troubleshooted the obvious: There is nothing wrong with file names. aap.dmg.001, aap.dmg.002, etc Appreciate any suggestions to make this work or a suitable alternative app.
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Asauterchicago
Asauterchicago
09 February 2008
Did you ever find an alternative Jeff?
Like
Version 2.5
Akagi
03 February 2007
To me, an absolutely useless piece of software. Let me tell you what my experience is. Starting the app, clicking on Concat, indicating one of the two files (filename.sitx.001 and .filename.sitx.002), split by someone else, with the same tool. Indicating output folder, clicking on Choose... The result: 'You are trying to do something strange, like splitting a folder or disk. Place a folder or disk on a disk image first!' What? :) And this work receives 3.5 stars? What for? Anyway, it may work for someone else, but the way it is explained in the help file, does not. Does not do the job, useless.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
05 October 2005
Nice and stable app. Very useful! Many thanks :)
Like
Version 2.4.2
Anonymous
20 August 2005
lol...3MB is small, unless your on a Mac powerbook 500 or older (10 yrs plus). Some of these negative comments really crack me up, but also concern me when the app is free, I wonder how a developer feels to read such things. This app is stable, it has never locked up or crashed for me, it works well, it's fast and is very intuitive.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
Davidlaska
Davidlaska
30 December 2006
I feel the same funny about some comments. I sometimes wonder if they are personal attacks on the developer.
Like
Version 2.5
Anonymous
19 August 2005
The author implies this is a replacement for the command line and a 'small app'. When the download is already 3 MB compressed it's not correct to call it 'small' - especially when it's only wrapping tools you already have on your disk.
Like
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
19 August 2005
Quit your whining, in the days of standard 250GB drives, 3MB is small.
Like
Version 2.4.2
Anonymous
20 June 2005
new version is out, click on the developper's link.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
14 May 2005
Don't listen to these guys who say these negative things about this app. I t works great. No probs here. Using Tiger.
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
14 May 2005
Worst splitting app ever. MacHacha (http://macupdate.com/info.php/id/11052) is a million times easier to use, and simple too! The buttons are not clear (Concat? What on earth does that mean? You can figure it out, but its annoying). Also, I had to 'Concat' my files twice before i got the actual file, wtf is up with that? Useless, worthless software. Should be torched along with the rest of the Google search widgets...
Like
Version 2.4
Anonymous
06 May 2005
I got errors when trying to concat a file that had just been split with version 2.2.1.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
06 April 2005
This is an excellent application that works just as it should, it splits and rejoins very quickly. I like and will even donate to support it.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
25 April 2004
This is amazing. Back when I was at Berkeley there was a competitin on to build the smallest program that would do the 'concatenate' part of this job. The winner was a C program that did direct system calls to bypass the runtime and compiled down to an executable less than 500 bytes long. Now 2.1MB is one of the smaller programs on MacUpdate today. Not a comment on the program, rather a comment on the times.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
25 April 2004
THIS PROGRAM DOES NOT WORK PROPERLY. if you want to be sure that your files a re safe, wait util the developer makes a new version. It has too much bugs. I got more than 20 everytime I try to split a file. I would never recomment it. Thanks for reading, Ivan
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
20 August 2003
This app is good. I emailed the author to see if it could split raw Toast images or dmg files and he said it can. This app also splits massive file sizes. Others don't. Slow but good support. Bravo.
Like
Version 1.5
Huck
11 August 2003
Can't say I ever use ; or ) in filenames anyway. It's the kinda thing that causes many programs to choke, certainly not this one specifically. Works on all my files which never have those characters. Maybe a future update will fix the problem.
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
25 March 2003
Good for joining, but has some annoying flaws: uses 'panels' for info, which just slow it down by several seconds; bounces its icon when starting a join if it's not the front-most app; doesn't handle some common caracters gracefully.
Like
Version 1.4
Anonymous
09 February 2003
This program sucks! It can't even handle characters like ';' and ')' in the filenames without giving some useless cryptic error
Like
Version 1.4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 April 2004
that problem has nothing to do with the program. A little study into OSes would be good for you click and point punk....LOL
Like
Version 2.0