Back to Catalina Cache Cleaner page
Catalina Cache Cleaner free download for Mac

Catalina Cache Cleaner Reviews15.0.6

26 September 2020

Clear caches, access hidden OS X settings, and more.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
SandyK1008
SandyK1008
Jul 17 2021
15.0.6
0.0
Jul 17 2021
0.0
Version: 15.0.6
I would love to download it and use it as I did all varieties prior. However, the problem is where the heck is it? I need it like a year ago!! S
Judy Hopkins
Judy Hopkins
May 28 2021
15.0.6
0.0
May 28 2021
0.0
Version: 15.0.6
Helped me to keep my Mac up and running. Totally worth its price
Sam-A-Oregon
Sam-A-Oregon
Sep 26 2020
15.0.6
2.0
Sep 26 2020
2.0
Version: 15.0.6
I used this app on many macs very happily for years. Now what? The app won’t check for updates. It won’t update the ClamAV. It won’t uninstall any of its components. It won’t run most of its tasks. What happened? I have 27-inch late 2015 iMac running Catalina 10.15.7.
ileopard66
ileopard66
Jul 16 2020
15.0.4
5.0
Jul 16 2020
5.0
Version: 15.0.4
Great app!
Mark Hennon
Mark Hennon
Jan 25 2020
15.0.1
5.0
Jan 25 2020
5.0
Version: 15.0.1
This is a terrific app. For instance, even in Demo mode, you can go to "Maintenance," click "All" and easily run many Apple routines, including permissions repair. And for $10, you get access to all kinds of cool tools. Oh, and updating works fine in the current version 15.0.1. Many third-party developers have had difficulties adapting to Apple's macOS changes (and bugs) in Mojave and Catalina.
Albabe
Albabe
Apr 1 2019
12.0.5
0.5
Apr 1 2019
0.5
Version: 12.0.5
I've used this app for years, but I'm not sure if I should trust it any more. When I try to update through the app, it just gives me an error. "An error occurred. Try again later." If a Developer can't get their own app to Upgrade through their own app, something is seriously wrong.
JamesHarrisPhoto
JamesHarrisPhoto
Oct 1 2018
12.0.1
0.0
Oct 1 2018
0.0
Version: 12.0.1
Warning! This will NOT work on any of the Mojave betas, including 10.14.1. I found this out the hard way.
Leesa
Leesa
Jan 25 2018
11.1.3
0.0
Jan 25 2018
0.0
Version: 11.1.3
The last few Updates don't trigger the "Check for Update" pulldown in the app. It says "you are using current version" even if I'm not... sigh.
Saneman1
Saneman1
Sep 26 2017
11.0.6
4.0
Sep 26 2017
4.0
Version: 11.0.6
I just updated to 11.1 for High Sierra it seems as if they aren't going to differentiate between the two, it's not a payed upgrade and it's stayed SSC.
Pat-Geerts
Pat-Geerts
Jul 25 2017
11.0.6
0.0
Jul 25 2017
0.0
Version: 11.0.6
Not a review but a question: Why paying for this while Onyx is free? Does this do a better job?
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
Jul 22 2017
11.0.6
0.0
Jul 22 2017
0.0
Version: 11.0.6
Recommend Onyx (free, less danger to your computer and has much more functionality) rather than paying for this.
Albabe
Albabe
Apr 21 2017
11.0.4
0.5
Apr 21 2017
0.5
Version: 11.0.4
11.0.4 does not show-up in the client's "Check For Update," and it's not on Northern Softworks' site. What's going on here?
Skallagrimson
Skallagrimson
Oct 29 2016
11.0.1
4.0
Oct 29 2016
4.0
Version: 11.0.1
I loved the app. After update to Mac OS Sierra, I experience the small problem – No Automatic Maintenance any more. After opening Preferences I am getting message: Automatic Maintenance rights are no longer valid. Would you like to fix this now or to disable Automatic Maintenance?
No Fix still, windows just disappears.
plant-pro
plant-pro
Jul 14 2016
10.0.5
1.0
Jul 14 2016
1.0
Version: 10.0.5
I used El Capitan Cache Cleaner and now I’m missing files from my Documents folder. I ask for help from your support last week I still have not received ANYTHING from them. Today I asked another question. I am a Business owner and I kept very important files in my Documents folder.
John-Sawyer-CJS
John-Sawyer-CJS
Mar 23 2016
10.0.4
5.0
Mar 23 2016
5.0
Version: 10.0.4
Great utility. However, I'm currently having ECCC download the latest ClamXav virus definitions, but it's taking forever--so far, it's taken about 45 minutes to download the first 55 megabytes of a .tmp file (my Internet connection isn't that slow), with no way to tell how much more time will be required to finish downloading, since the progress bar is completely filled, but the download continues (very slowly). I decided to post this observation before the download is finished, since the length of time it's taking to download has already hit the point where it's worth commenting on.
Joe-Porter
Joe-Porter
Mar 22 2016
10.0.4
0.0
Mar 22 2016
0.0
Version: 10.0.4
Mac update. Stop trying to make us download your installer. Which Sophos calls malware. The deceptive page with every single download that makes you download your POS malware installer is too easy to click on. Either be hones and stop providing this page or charge money for it - just stop forcing people to download your malware by accident.
Thaiwest
Thaiwest
Mar 22 2016
10.0.4
5.0
Mar 22 2016
5.0
Version: 10.0.4
This is NOT for Users who are not advanced Users. There is an assumption that the User is an advanced one or a developer not ‘run of the mill typical.’ My personal experience with support has been nothing short of excellent over 6 years. The OS X “Cache Cleaner” series of software has been and continues to be the most reliable in it’s class, bar none.
Baguapalm
Baguapalm
Dec 20 2015
10.0.2
0.5
Dec 20 2015
0.5
Version: 10.0.2
Don't buy this app.. Why? I did send 5 emails to the dev about an update for El Capitan. I did update to previous release of the Mac OS. A few months later El Capitan was released. I asked for a an (free) update as it was within less then 12 months that I did update to the previous version. Do you thing that he would even answer to my emails? NOTHING. I did buy 2 apps & updates during 2 years. previous to his update. It's a shame! If you know how to code great but if you ONLY know how to code you have missed something, that's called politness. First time that I post a review ever. I would have prefered to share a positive one.
fwilkinson
fwilkinson
Nov 2 2015
10.0
3.0
Nov 2 2015
3.0
Version: 10.0
seems alright
anonymous-tapir-4715
anonymous-tapir-4715
Sep 23 2015
9.0.8
5.0
Sep 23 2015
5.0
Version: 9.0.8
This series of utilities for eqach system is unfortunately named, it is serious software, unlike ll these new "cleaners" - which do too much and which you do not need, and which are made for new users, Try one of Northern Software's versions, take your time with its amazing number of features. Not many serious devs left, but TinkerTool System, Onyx and YCC are about all you need. Save your money.
CDavid
CDavid
Sep 15 2015
9.0.8
5.0
Sep 15 2015
5.0
Version: 9.0.8
I like the design, I like the way this app works and I like the results. What else do I need?
DoUgLaSSS
DoUgLaSSS
Aug 4 2015
9.0.8
5.0
Aug 4 2015
5.0
Version: 9.0.8
Perfect app to keep your Mac clean and efficient. I like the idea of keeping all maintenance tools in one place. I also like the interface, which is simple and allows any user, even not quite experienced, to have everything up and running. I understand that most of the tools embedded to this application can be found in OS X, however, using Yosemite Cache Cleaner is a bit easier. Well, at least for me. And yes, the price is more than reasonable.
Idog
Idog
Jul 20 2015
9.0.8
2.0
Jul 20 2015
2.0
Version: 9.0.8
This one of the best utilities I have used for years. But here lately It seems like they have stopped caring. Yes they have support that seems to keep tossing out new revisions but no they are not sending the serial number when you purchase the application. Now yes the app will work with out the serial but its very annoying to have the little reminder coming up all the time. Why is it that when you purchase this app like i have three times they refuse to send the serial number. And don't tell me that its going in the spam I have checked every day for the last six months for it.
Adinaligiaernest
Adinaligiaernest
May 16 2015
9.0.7
0.0
May 16 2015
0.0
Version: 9.0.7
Pour les utilisateurs francophones : ne touchez plus jamais à ce logiciel — il désinstalle toutes les extensions de Safari, entre autres AdBlock Plus, essentielle contre les publicités.
Bonne nouvelle : après avoir désinstallé Yosemite Cache Cleaner et jeté tous ses fichiers, les extensions réapparaissent comme par enchantement !!!
Me2
Me2
Mar 5 2015
9.0.5
5.0
Mar 5 2015
5.0
Version: 9.0.5
I've been using John's apps for years and really like them, esp the Cache Cleaners. I had uploaded the Macintosh 10.10.3 update as a beta so the YCC didn't work until this new version was published and it works fine now. Yes, I also use Tinker Tool System Pro, Cocktail, etc., but I always make sure I've run YCC at least a few times a month. Keep up the great work. Thanks. ME2
mahesh-charjan
mahesh-charjan
Feb 11 2015
9.0.4
3.0
Feb 11 2015
3.0
Version: 9.0.4
you should try this post on how to clear DNS cache on mac http://www.streamingl.com/2015/02/run-mac-os-pc/
Portman
Portman
Feb 5 2015
9.0.4
0.0
Feb 5 2015
0.0
Version: 9.0.4
Just curious: what the different between this and Onyx which is free?
Albabe
Albabe
Jan 28 2015
9.0.3
0.5
Jan 28 2015
0.5
Version: 9.0.3
The last few versions (9.0.1 - 9.0.3) really mess-up my Internet when I use the Optimize: Tune For High Speed function. It slows-down my Safari and won't let me Open some Web Pages... AND it really messes up my Apple Mail so I can't D/L new Messages. 9.0 seems to work fine but it won't undo the damage that 9.0.3 does. I need to reboot to fix the Problem that 9.0.3 creates.
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
Oct 19 2014
3.0
Version: 9.0
I wouldn't trust it anymore. And no one responds to email. The thing is written in BASIC. The web site is an aesthetic disaster. And the app weighs 3 times as much as Firefox. Not for my Mac Pro's, not for my Yosemite Installations. It's a primitive wrapper in looks and functionality for command-line scripts that take very little time to learn. Wait for Onyx. That developer has always been very conscientious about his code and answering his mail.
Foulger
Foulger
Aug 30 2014
8.0.8
4.5
Aug 30 2014
4.5
Version: 8.0.8
The app is as magnificently useful as it used to be but unfortunately the author is no longer responsive to E-Mail. Must be that Alaskan weather has frozen is "reply" key.
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
jessica@jessicawilliams-com
Jul 1 2014
8.0.8
3.0
Jul 1 2014
3.0
Version: 8.0.8
The screenshot is for Mountain Lion CC. But things haven't changed much here. Written in BASIC, it appears. I think it's a good wrapper. Onyx is a great one. It may do less, but it evolves and it works, and it's free. Still, MCC is a good buy, but I uninstalled. It doesn't quite look right, and it's slow.
Albabe
Albabe
Jun 19 2014
8.0.7
0.5
Jun 19 2014
0.5
Version: 8.0.7
Great client... but I'm wondering why it can't Update from inside the application?
Leesa
Leesa
Mar 27 2014
8.0.5
0.0
Mar 27 2014
0.0
Version: 8.0.5
I might be off here, but I've noticed that most of the time when a New Cache Cleaner is up... there is usually a corresponding OS Update that day. So... New Mavericks Update today? It would be nice if they've fixed all the stuff that's been pissing me off (Dream on, kiddo).
GeogProf
GeogProf
Mar 20 2014
8.0.4
0.0
Mar 20 2014
0.0
Version: 8.0.4
A quick but important question: Can the permissions for an installation of OS 10.7.5 on a portable USB or FireWire drive be accurately fixed by Apple’s Disk Utility from an OS 10.6.8 startup disk? In other words, are permissions OS-specific, or can one OS’s Disk Utility accurately fix the perms of a different OS?
Foulger
Foulger
Jan 8 2014
8.0.3
4.5
Jan 8 2014
4.5
Version: 8.0.3
I regard this maintenance app as probably the best in its class. However what I have found is that of late, the author is not answering E-Mails. -I have sent 3 E-Mails now asking if MCC also cleans out the caching server on Mavericks server, which is very important in fact,and have so far received no reply. Maybe Alaska is frozen over but that should not affect good manners and communication. I still rate it highly but am disappointed at the non communication issue.
edadorcey
edadorcey
Jan 3 2014
8.0.3
3.5
Jan 3 2014
3.5
Version: 8.0.3
I’ve been using this cache cleaner for some time now and I didn’t encounter any problem so far. I think it’s worth the penny I paid for, fair enough.
richardt2742
richardt2742
Nov 28 2013
8.0.2
2.5
Nov 28 2013
2.5
Version: 8.0.2
Meh ... I demo'd for awhile, then deleted. the trouble is, I can't get rid of the reminder that it's shareware, even though it no longer exists in my computer.
MacGrobo
MacGrobo
Nov 23 2013
8.0.2
0.5
Nov 23 2013
0.5
Version: 8.0.2
on my Mavericks i7 27" iMac w 16GB Ram it's totally unresponsive. Bad programming makes me loose confidence in a tool targeted at system maintenance tasks. Stay away.
DigiMonk
DigiMonk
Nov 21 2013
8.0.2
0.0
Nov 21 2013
0.0
Version: 8.0.2
Oversized application created with a basic-compiler. Includes some other external tools. Depends on many things not coming from Apple. Why not use a native Cocoa-Application for such a task or at least something that does not depends on so many things. Interesting fact: often, developers inform us proudly how they created their application (... is a native Cocoa-Application written in Objective-C with Xcode 5) but I never saw that when it comes to a RealBasic-Application. They really try to not mention it. There must be a good reason for this.
Foulger
Foulger
Nov 9 2013
8.0.1
4.5
Nov 9 2013
4.5
Version: 8.0.1
I too have used this maintainence app in all its variants since Tiger. I have ALL the maintainence apps both free and paid and without a doubt this is the most comprehensive. I especiall like the ability to install it on a thumb drive for registered users, which is just so convenient. I too use spaces and haven't had the trouble the previous reviewer mentioned (9 desktops)
anonymous-squirrel-4040
anonymous-squirrel-4040
Oct 31 2013
8.0.1
4.0
Oct 31 2013
4.0
Version: 8.0.1
I've used this app since Tiger, but this latest Mavericks release has a bug that I had hoped this release would fix (reported to developer but no answer yet). I have apps assigned to various spaces, each with a different desktop. Cleaning the launchpad database resets all my desktops to the wave default. Previous versions retained my customized desktops. Have returned to Launchpad Editor for cleaning up and arranging items.
702p-expert
702p-expert
Oct 31 2013
8.0.1
0.0
Oct 31 2013
0.0
Version: 8.0.1
Misleading description of the application. The only award listed on the developer's web page dates back to 2006 and refers actually to Tiger Cache Cleaner.
Leesa
Leesa
Oct 31 2013
8.0.1
0.0
Oct 31 2013
0.0
Version: 8.0.1
Awesome client! Always works perfectly. Never ever had a problem! But... MacUpdate's little Preview Picture is of Mountain Lion Cache Cleaner, not the Maverick's version. The Mavericks version is more nifty. Its big and chunky and round (in a neato way) and looks like it was designed by Lego or some other Toy Company.
robfol
robfol
Oct 23 2013
8.0
4.0
Oct 23 2013
4.0
Version: 8.0
Brilliant app with excellent 10.9 upgrade, but IMHO new graphics are horrible! totally 'Toy Town' looking pre-OSX and having no visual relationship with a Modern Mac or the OS. Also the main icon is decidedly blurry and non-retina. Still the best Mac maintenance app by far, but would be much more enjoyable to use if they could hire a serious graphic designer!
robfol
robfol
Oct 23 2013
8.0
4.0
Oct 23 2013
4.0
Version: 8.0
Still a brilliant app, but th new graphics are totally Toy Town looking like a pre-OSX app and the icon is not-retina. Please Northern Softworks, hire a proper designer! Still the best Mac maintenace app though
Tomeg
Tomeg
Apr 6 2013
7.0.7
0.0
Apr 6 2013
0.0
Version: 7.0.7
I only use only two OS X maintenance +/or tweaking utilities: this one and Onyx. For regular maintenance the easier and more satisfying one for my methods and purposes is Onyx' Automator checklist task manager. For selective tweaking of the OS my preferred app is MLCC, for the same reason. I too have used xLC/xxLC apps since generation one, and I don't mind the occasional upgrade fees because, well, because a top notch developer well deserves to earn h(er)is daily bread, adjusting for cost of living, like the rest of us who work to earn our living. Both Onyx and MLCC, despite their modest price (free for Onyx!) are truly premium apps which justify every penny and more. Thanks to you developers who design real-world problem solving utilities of highest quality!
Afcgbbob
Afcgbbob
Apr 4 2013
7.0.7
5.0
Apr 4 2013
5.0
Version: 7.0.7
If you wish to read my reviews look below. This is more a response letter to a comment. The biggest comment I saw that bugged me was the statement of why MLCC is not Intel only. Why are you snubbing the PPC users of it just because you use a Intel Mac. This program goes back to Jaguar and the author has always kept it usable for as many users in the database for use as long as possible. So who are you to say that he should cut the rope on PPC users which I am am one. I live on SSDI and do not have $3000 to get a new tower which is all I have used over the years. My G5 2.7 LC Cooled works great for me and since I still do some reviewing, I have all the software I need and do not feel that I am suffering from the Intel only SW. There is even a site that tweeks SW to work on PPC Mac. I am glad that there are people like the Author of MLCC who keeps it as a UB. It shows how he cares about all Mac users. I looked at the recommended software and not one of them come near what MLCC can do. In fact some of the ones below have toasted my system to the point of having to reinstall my system. You just need to just look at the menus and you will see the difference. I only have one grievance about MLCC. I wish you could pick which drive you wish to work on. Otherwise MLCC is a 5/5 and has been that way since its' inception. Just one last thing, if you are new to MLCC, please read the manual before you leap into it or you may get an unexpected result or loose data. The only other SW that comes close to MLCC is Main Menu.
robfol
robfol
Mar 15 2013
7.0.6
4.0
Mar 15 2013
4.0
Version: 7.0.6
My most regularly used app. The main functions are invaluable, but the best bits are the automated maintenance functions and the emergency script accessible on boot-up. Plus it will install CLAM AV and keep it up to date. I make all my Mac friends buy this and install it. Get it, set it and forget it. God support too
GeogProf
GeogProf
Mar 15 2013
7.0.6
0.0
Mar 15 2013
0.0
Version: 7.0.6
Why is this a Universal Binary? I thought Mountain Lion doesn’t run on PPC processors — am I wrong?
gameboyalpha
gameboyalpha
Dec 23 2012
7.0.5
5.0
Dec 23 2012
5.0
Version: 7.0.5
I had 2 tabs open to write a review for and I wound up placing this in the wrong place under VLC. This is a full review since I have used, reviewed and demoed at my Utility SIG in Houston. I started when it was JCC and kept up with it over the years. So for those who dislike my lengthy reviews can read the other comments. Now the review: I have looked at the SW recommended above and many of you are missing the point of the category MLCC belongs in. The programs listed are tweekers or system enhancement programs more along the line of Secrets. MLCC is in the category of fixing and maintaining your Mac and it does it very well for a shareware program. I was looking over my past reviews and found a review I did when it was JCC. It is curious that over the years it has not changed much in features but did improve in performance. Just look at the menus and then look at the other SW listed and you will see the drastic difference between it and those listed. If you are new to this type of program, take some time and read the manual. It will help stop you from making any errors while using it. MLCC belongs in the fix-it category such as Disk Warrior, Drive Genius, Main Menu and DiskTools Pro. These are designed to FIX problems with you drive and not just turn on hidden options. There has been many a time when my system was giving me serious trouble and I used LCC (or JCC, TCC, SNCC and so on) as my first line of defense because it does not require you to unmount the boot drive and it still works with leopard. Even though it hits major areas on your Mac the learning curve is fairly easy. There is one caveat in the program though. If you are using Leopard or higher do not select the the Update Prebinding under the Maintain menu. That is for OS 10.4 and below. Use the Rebuild the LS Database instead. If you are a first time user, take some time to read the manual. This is a powerful program and from the programs listed above, people really do not realize the true design of this program. The interface is easy to use. One thing that tends to bother me is how long it takes to load the main window but, understand the window is not where the tools are. They are found in the menu. Now I may be on a G5 but, it is a dual 2.7 liquid cooled with 3.5 gigs of RAM and an ATI X 800 XP Pro for graphics. I also wish that you could select the drive you want to use it on instead of booting to that one. As you use it, it will ask you to do a restart after finishing some operations. Up to this point I usually dismiss it and go on to finish what I need to do first. After I get all the operations done, I will then reboot. Just bare one thing in mind, make sure you have saved all work in progress because it might do what is called a dirty reboot and you will lose any unsaved work. This can happen when you do a cleaning of the system cache and depth you choose. MLCC is well over 10 years old and it is one program you can use with confidence with all the operations it does. In all the years I have used it it has never crashed on me. For the price, MLCC matches what it does for the money. I know that like myself most Mac users like to learn by just jumping into the program and not reading the manual. That has been true since the 128 Mac. With all the deep operations it does it is better to read so you know what each function does. Seasoned Mac users probably have been using this for a long time and already know how to use it. But, to the newbies out there all I can say is read. One of the most important feature any application could garnish would be how it stands up over the years. MLCC as I said goes back to JCC, and if you ask me it passes with honors and is why I keep it Under the Hood of my Mac. End of Line... [Version 2.0.5]