Back to Daylite page
Daylite free download for Mac

Daylite Reviews

6.7.7
24 September 2019

Dynamic business organization tool kit.

wpwright
18 May 2011

Most helpful

I have been using DayLite for over a year now. My employer has invested a lot of time into setting up multiple user access to his common data base. We use DayLite for mail integration, project planning, sales tracking, contact data base, i.e. he runs his business off this software. Prior to working for this 5 person organization I was in a larger corporate environment, 2,500+ employees with IT and DB staffs using Oracle, SAP and fully supported, robust systems. DayLite from my experience is a powerful application, however we constantly have problems and have to reload the DB. I'm on my 4th re-installation of the application within 1 year. I have never experienced a system so unstable as DayLite. Being an engineer with 20 + years of experience I spoke with other experienced users to see if possibly if we were the problem, might be something on our end we were doing to cause the issues. One of my resources began working with Apple in its early days and is considered one of the top Apple consultants in the Dallas area. Several years ago she had 3 or 4 consultants that worked for her that wrote custom applications for her clients using DayLite. All of these consultants have moved away from DayLite due to the issues with this platform. I asked what is the issue and here's what I was told. DayLite was developed as a standalone, single user application and modified to work as a multiuser application versus being designed from the ground up as a multiuser application. I understand from other users it works fine as single user system. It seems to work OK if as multiuser system if one works off the live DB (shared), however you might as well go make a sandwich and come back each time you hit the live DB (10-30 second lag or longer). Yes, we tested our DNS and the quality of our connections (2 Mbps up/ 25 Mbps down). To make DayLite work due to this lag, each user has to work of their own "Offline" DB and we have it set to synch with the live DB every 5 minutes. According to my Apple consultant, this is a sign of a poorly designed DB. There are other DB's you can work off (live) from one's remote location that don't have this type of lag, which should tell one, there is an issues with DayLite. Synching is the last method one should employee to work with a DB. You are setting yourself up for corruption of your DB, which has happened with us more than once. On one occasion our synching caused the DB to duplicate records throughout the DB multiple times. With over 7,000 contact with mail integration, it took my employer several weekends, hundreds of hours to clean out the DB. He tried reloading the DB from an older copy and that failed as well. Right now I'm working of MY PC as DayLite on my Apple is being re-installed (offline DB) for the 5th time. It has been running now for 1 entire day, which is what is required. Getting back to my Apple consultant, all her clients have moved off the platform due to the reasons I'm having to live through with my current position. I next checked the web and found an attorney who had a DayLite blog, but noticed there weren't any postings from him on his blog since 2008. I contacted this attorney and he moved off the platform to cloud computing. DayLite required a lot of attention to maintain the data base and his server and he believed it was older technology and moved to cloud computing where someone else took care of these problems. Checking DayLite out myself out, they advertise 10 years, 28 employees, and customers in over 100 countries. My 1st question is how could 28 employees support a DB if it has a large user groups in 100 countries? Wouldn't they be stretched trying to support that many users? From my experience it is difficult to get help from DayLite with issues. My employer in now on his 2nd DayLite consultant. My advice, if you are a single user, probably OK but with one of the top Apple consultants warning me about using this and spending probably 10% of my time fighting this DB and loosing time, I would not recommend using this as multiuser platform in synch mode. After having worked with Oracle and other robust platforms, if you're from a similar environment, do your homework before making the decision to use this DB. There is a reason why some very talented and exceptionally sharp professionals have moved away from this platform. Just my opinion.
Like (16)
Version 3.13

Read 71 Daylite User Reviews

Rate this app:

xcoxco
23 September 2019
The Daylite hosting solution does not include encryption-at-rest on the MarketCircle servers, only encryption-in-transit. As Daylite has added email to its CRM solution, that means email is stored in an unencrypted state in addition to all other DL hosted data.
Like (1)
Version 6.7.7
xcoxco
23 September 2019
The Daylite hosting solution does not provide encryption at rest on the marketCircle servers, only encryption in transit. As Daylite has added email to its CRM solution, that means email is stored in an unencrypted state as well as all other DL hosted data.
Like
Version 6.7.7
xcoxco
01 August 2019
No substantial upgrade in key functions since Dec 1, 2015, when Daylite version 6.x was first introduced, apart from the backend cloud service.
Like
Version 6.7.4.1
Teksestro
07 June 2019
I used Daylite for many, many years, and over many versions, It is indeed a solid, stable product, with lots of useful features - the main one being its unequalled Apple Mail integration, which basically allows you to run your life from inside your Mail app. Other useful features include its free-form database, where you can basically link any piece of information with any other data. Think of linking people to each other, to companies, to emails, to notes, to projects, to quotes, etc. Makes it great for looking at your data from different points of view: click on a client's record to see everything that is relevant to it, on a project to see all related people, etc. These features have ensured it has kept a loyal user-base over the years. Unfortunately, as the years went on, Daylite did not progress as quickly as the marketplace, and its shortcomings became more and more obvious - specially as they keep on going unaddressed. First and foremost: Daylite is basically a group DATABASE, but any database is only worth the data you can get OUT of it. Reporting is *key* to any successful database platform, and being able to get custom reports on your data is crucial. Daylite reporting is dismal, to say the least. It comes with a 'report editor' where you can, supposedly, create your own report templates. Unfortunately, the process of report creation is not 'drag-and-drop': you need to have a basic grasp of programming, and understand the object-hierarchy that Daylite programmers use, in order to be able to get your data out. Even if you can get the data you want, making it look nice is no easy feat: there will be a LOT of unfriendly tweaking of templates. As with all things Daylite, you can always choose to pay (good money) to one of their 'qualified experts' to create the reports you want... Then, there is the fact that Daylite was NOT written as a cloud tool, and that trying to integrate it with other tools in your workspace will probably require a myriad of plugins, if at all possible. Want to integrate it with your accounting package? Plugin. Want to get submissions from your website directly into your database? Plugin. Time-tracking? Plugin. Code revision, or ticket management? - sorry, not available, but you can try using the Zapier API.. Or you can always pay a 'qualified expert' to develop it for you!... Last of all, there is the pricing. Daylite is not targeted at large corporations, but at small-to-medium businesses. For those businesses, $30/user/month is an unrealistic price point. There are many, MANY other online-based solutions that can offer either more specific, or more customisable solutions, for a lot less. There are general-purpose tools that allow you to easily "build-your-own" solution, for either very little to no cost at all, such as Coda, ZenKit, AirTable or Notion. There are project-management tools that focus on team collaboration and communication, with amazing features and integrations, like ClickUp, SamePage, ProofHub and Monday. We are now spoilt for choice, which makes the case for Daylite very weak. I give it 2 stars for having fantastic integration with Mail app, and being a well-built, cross-linked database. But I take away 3 stars for the dismal reporting capabilities, lack of true, easy integration with external services, and the ridiculous pricing.
Like (2)
Version 6.6.6
1 answer(s)
xcoxco
xcoxco
17 July 2019
I generally agree with the overall complaint of the reviewer above, as a dedicated longtime Daylite user. The application works well, but has seen little real functional improvement for several years, apart from moving the backend to the cloud.

Further, Daylite is extremely expensive, at $288 per user per year regardless of the level of use ( we don't use many of its features ).

Rather than improving the basic functionality of Daylite ToDo's etc, Marketcircle forces users to buy third-party products to make up for Daylite's current deficiencies. Daylite boasts connectivity with third-party apps through Zapier, which we don't use, and third-party Daylite add-on's often with what should be standard features.

Thus the application's true ppy cost can exceed the $288 figure.

I wonder whether the demand elasticity for the product differs from what the Marketing gurus at Daylite think. That is, they would see a net revenue increase with a different pricing structure. At present the marginal cost of adding users is simply too high, especially for those of use who use less than the full array of its functions.
Like (1)
Masorey
17 April 2019
I was using Daylite since lot's of years ago (v2). So far, I was happy with the app but in latest times, the company policies stinks. First, they force us, longterm customers, to move to the cloud, even if you don't need/ask for it. To do so, they said that new OS will not be supported... If this was the case, it is difficult to argue against as it is a business decision. What is a nasty move and talks really bad about them is creating an specific version for "legacy", with a cuestionable red ribbon, remove the regular versions from their website and worst still lye to users. Version 6.5.11 works perfectly on Mojave but legacy even refuse to install. But version 6.5.11 will not be downloaded from their website. Daylite, you cheat us! This nasty approach (bad praxis) is exactly the same on the OS part. The latest upgrade broke the sync... Again, bad praxis. Honestly, if you look fro a CRM on mac, don't trust these people as their actions talk about them. Probably it will be better to look for other solutions as, if I need to go cloud, why not to go to real cloud solutions like Hubspot? I've been a loyal user of Daylite and always told great about the product. But the way they are working now is absolutely a red flag to ask yourself what will be next? No software will last forever but approach like Marketcircle ones, stinks.
Like (4)
Version 6.5.5
LeMerlot
06 October 2018
I bought Daylite some years ago… – expensive but kind of useful – and excellent integration into Apple's Mail app. I spent additional money over the years on upgrades (expensive again)… – and now with MacOS Mojave, the developer tries to force us all into a cloud-based (expensive again) subscription model. Sorry, that's the time to leave. I'm always willing to spend a lot of money in excellent software but after having spent so much money for Daylite already the forced subscription move for existing long time and paying users killed my trust into this service. Yes, they would offer a monthly reduction of 7 bucks for existing users but given the high monthly subscription fee of 30 USD that's not an option for me. Other companies with a strong reputation have shown that one can treat its existing user base with much more generosity… – e.g., DayOne.
Like (1)
Version 6.5.5
3 answer(s)
ltravassos
ltravassos
08 October 2018
Hi Lemerlot
I have also Daylite , and I ahem the same opinion .

What was your choice tio replace Daylite

Thanks
Luis
Like (1)
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
11 October 2018
Hi Luis, I'm working with a combination of BusyCal, BusyContacts and Things – and I'm more than happy with this integrated combo now.
Like (2)
bill-131
bill-131
13 January 2019
I am yet to find a better Mac application than Daylite.
We have worked with it for 13 years now. Many have gone on about the cost of the subscription but there is not much in it compared to the cost of old updates. If Marketcircle made one mistake it would be that they did not charge for updates often enough. Many times the released new versions for free. I think this gave the impression that the software was pretty much zero cost once purchased. So when cloud subscription comes along it is a bit of a sting. You simply cannot find a better app for running your business and there is no other app out there that integrates so tightly into the Mac eco system. It works with contacts and Calendars and the Mail Add-on is the easiest and better out there.
Daylite is a big program - I think of it was Outlook, but the way Outlook should work. Why on earth is it still not possible to link a contact to a meeting or task or note or email in Outlook?
Yet in Daylite all of this is just taken as normal.
Yes you can cobble together BusyCal, BusyContacts and Things together and good luck to you. You can make a brave fist of it sure but your information is stored in different places. And what about sharing with other users (assuming you have steam of course).
So my view on it is that we should use the apps that help our businesses progress and run more efficiently - the return on your investment is found within having all your company communication and knowledge in one place with easy access. That in itself is an asset.
We recently sold a business and were able to provide a fully operational Daylite database to the buyer - amazing goodwill.

Anyway just my thoughts on the matter...
Like
Mr_Mark
22 March 2018
Great app, very useful but using a old swift version resulting in compatibility issues. For Example in Mail with other extensions (mailbuttler + Daylite = Crash because of the old Swift version in Daylite)
Like (1)
Version 6.2.3
YellowSubmarine
22 December 2017
A well made, useful CRM app, with a decent iOS companion.

The main criticism I have is the price.. The annual price is steep for the lone freelancer. The app is made with teams and collaboration in mind, but they should really introduce a 1-user only version for a lower price.
Like (1)
Version 6.2.3
1 answer(s)
Herbert-Hoover
Herbert-Hoover
31 March 2018
I couldn't agree more.
Like
robfol
10 May 2017
I run my PR company on this, has some quirks but overall an excellent app, regularly updated. All my contacts, calendars and emails are fully mapped together and all data can be integrated with matching iPhone / iPad app. Support generally fast and good too. If you use your Mac to run a business I recommend Daylite 6.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.2
acuriousmind
29 February 2016
As a paying customer I'm somewhat disappointed to learn that Daylite 4 will not be supported on MacOS X 10.11 El Capitan. ( I bought my license for Daylite 4 end of November 2013. The upgrade pricing is not especially attractive ). Their reasoning is presented here: https://www.marketcircle.com/help/article/daylite-4-compatibility-on-osx-el-capitan/
Like (1)
Version 4.3.2
jonwade
29 January 2016
The worst customer service I have ever seen. They don't respond, they don't answer their phone, they don't seem to understand that they are a database company and not responding for days when a customer is down endangers their customer's business. I am simply stunned by how they hide when their is an issue. It's clear by now that they either down't care of don't know what to do but can't give us the courtesy of letting us know.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.2
MacUserPro
08 April 2013
I bought Daylite thinking this would be an ample solution to replace Goldmine when we switched from PC to MAC. While I like the features that are offered, they are not the easiest to use and the program in itself has been very unstable. Pipelines are difficult to use and set-up and are not logical. It's obvious that a programmer decided on the set-up rather than a sales person. I have had a number of problems that have cost me days without access to my database. Trying to get help from Daylite support is ridiculous. I'm used to good customer service where you call and get a live person. Before buying this, do an experiment and attempt to contact Daylite and get someone on the phone. 100% of the time I get their voicemail and it takes more than a day to get a response. As a business owner, being without my database, which is my lifeline is not acceptable by any means. Right now, I've left two messages and two emails attempting to gain access as my licenses failed to work. I reinstalled Daylite server, add the licenses again and now I can open the database but it says the administrator has to activate this user. I'm the only user and it's not allowing me in. Now, I am unable to gain access to my leads, call or follow up. I'm actively seeking a replacement for Daylite.
Like (5)
Version 4.2
4 answer(s)
robfol
robfol
29 April 2013
I've never used any programme on the Mac that crashes so much
Like (2)
M-1
M-1
02 May 2013
Sorry to hear about your bad experience. Typically, we respond within 1 hour during business hours (Monday - Friday, 9am to 7pm EST) when a support request is initiated through our ticketing system (in the app. Menu -> Help -> Contact Support). During weekends and holidays, response time could take longer.
Like
Lectrohowie
Lectrohowie
06 March 2015
Just to balance this with another point of view: I've been a Daylite user since its inception many years ago. As far as Marketcircle support I have to say I disagree with this comment. I've had the occasional issue and when contacting support I've always had a response the same day. Yes - Daylite is not a totally simple application that you can setup and master in an hour - it's way too feature rich to expect that. But if you need a very serious contact manager then you'd be hard pressed to find one that offers more function and value than Daylite. If you are willing to take it step by step from installation to setup to daily use, you will find it's actually a beautifully designed interface. It's just that it does so much you need to spend the time to get to know it and customize it to your use case. BTW - not sure why Robfol is having so many crashes - I'm using Daylite latest release on Yosemite and haven't had even a single crash in several months. Also: there is a very active user forum where you can get help and discuss issues with other users. Also - there are many helpful tutorial videos on the Marketcircle website that can be very helpful with the installation and use of Daylite.
Like (1)
stuha
stuha
09 June 2017
Thank you so much for this feedback. I have been TRYING to find out whether there is a stability issue with DAlyite or whether for some reason my own user account is problematic (it just crashes) Unfortunately, although the help desk at Daylite can replicate this problem they are not fixing it (or even talking to me to tell me the status)... did you find a replacement?
Like
Jay-Gardinar
29 November 2012
Good, solid update. 4.1 is likely the release Marketcircle intended to release if it hadn't been for Apple's strong-arm tactics re:sandoboxing that forced them to release earlier (read: in a less stable state). I've been using Daylite 4 since the initial release and it has steadily gotten better, with this release (which had been available in beta for some time) being very stable and fast. Daylite 4's other components (DMA and Daylite Server) have similarly been updated and improved. (There's also a version available for the iDevices). Anyone interested in an excellent CRM should definitively give this version (4.1) a try.
Like (1)
Version 4.1
1 answer(s)
Jay-Gardinar
Jay-Gardinar
29 November 2012
P.S. Not sure why MU has listed Daylite 3 and Daylite 4 as the same produts - there's a clear disctinction ('Daylite 4' v4.1 vs 'Daylite 3' v3.15.x) and they're both sold as separate products.
Like
xcoxco
19 September 2012
Daylite 4.06 is a better, more stable product than before. Yet a number of issues remain. For me, a glaring issue is continued problems with unreliable CardDAV synchronization. For example, synchronizing IM data, such as AIM and GoogleTalk addresses with Contact or AddressBook causes spurious data to be written back to Daylite. Often users are often unaware of the problem until they refer back to records in DL. By then it is too late, the data are corrupted. A more glaring criticism is the new DL user interface. Some tasks take longer to perform (more mouse clicks) than in DL3, and other tasks easily done in the prior version are not possible in DL 4.06. The DL user interface "sheets" methodology also lumps data together such that distinguishing between important and mundane data in the record is now far more difficult. DL3 was better, in my view. I only hope the developers take a hard critical look at what they are putting out for users with these major updates. Too often their major changes are two steps forward and two or three steps backwards in other respects, with users left to suffer. I want to be a DL4 fan. But I recall the days of DL1 which, in its day, was a terrific product with important innovations. Why many of its benefits were cast aside in the creation of DL3 is anyone's guess. And now some benefits of DL4 have been cast aside, for now at least, in the emergence of DL4. Hopefully further DL4 updates will remedy some of these. But alas, DL is the only game in town.
Like (4)
Version 4.0.6
H-a-l-
17 August 2012
Needs to be listed as a Demo. It is not "Free".
Like (1)
Version 4.0.5
1 answer(s)
Jay-Gardinar
Jay-Gardinar
29 November 2012
It *is* listed as demo. Plus the website makes it clear that it is licensed-based anyways.
Like (1)
xcoxco
25 June 2012
Not yet ready for prime time. Too many bugs, resulting in frequent client application crashes and, for us, actual data loss. We were among the first to upgrade from 3.x for 4.01 (and later 4.02). We have recently down-graded back to DL3.x for our production database to await further updates. Version 4.03 should be out soon. Whether that resolves core issues remains to be seen. In any case, we also find aspects of the new DL4 user interface problematic. But we will leave that set of comments for another day. Hopefully DL will get on track in coming months, in which case we will re-evaluate our ratings.
Like (2)
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
xcoxco
xcoxco
28 June 2012
Has anyone tried the new DL4.03 version yet, and what has your experience been in terms of stability?
Like
Koloraro
31 May 2012
Please, check the stability issues. After installing DMI, Apple Mail crashes almost every five minutes, telling me that the cause is that Mail closed while using the DMI module. About the update, this new version introduces very interesting features and its clearly easier than 3.x versions.
Like
Version 4.0.1
xcoxco
02 March 2012
When will we see a proper Daylite upgrade? The application is looking very long in the tooth, to put it kindly.
Like (1)
Version 3.15.1
1 answer(s)
Blloyd
Blloyd
30 May 2012
Today! ;-)
Like (3)
xcoxco
15 October 2011
Daylite (v3.15.0) may not sync properly with iCloud based services at this stage: including AddressBook and iCal. Check with Marketcircle before you buy, or upgrade from MobileMe to iCloud.
Like
Version 3.15
wpwright
18 May 2011
I have been using DayLite for over a year now. My employer has invested a lot of time into setting up multiple user access to his common data base. We use DayLite for mail integration, project planning, sales tracking, contact data base, i.e. he runs his business off this software. Prior to working for this 5 person organization I was in a larger corporate environment, 2,500+ employees with IT and DB staffs using Oracle, SAP and fully supported, robust systems. DayLite from my experience is a powerful application, however we constantly have problems and have to reload the DB. I'm on my 4th re-installation of the application within 1 year. I have never experienced a system so unstable as DayLite. Being an engineer with 20 + years of experience I spoke with other experienced users to see if possibly if we were the problem, might be something on our end we were doing to cause the issues. One of my resources began working with Apple in its early days and is considered one of the top Apple consultants in the Dallas area. Several years ago she had 3 or 4 consultants that worked for her that wrote custom applications for her clients using DayLite. All of these consultants have moved away from DayLite due to the issues with this platform. I asked what is the issue and here's what I was told. DayLite was developed as a standalone, single user application and modified to work as a multiuser application versus being designed from the ground up as a multiuser application. I understand from other users it works fine as single user system. It seems to work OK if as multiuser system if one works off the live DB (shared), however you might as well go make a sandwich and come back each time you hit the live DB (10-30 second lag or longer). Yes, we tested our DNS and the quality of our connections (2 Mbps up/ 25 Mbps down). To make DayLite work due to this lag, each user has to work of their own "Offline" DB and we have it set to synch with the live DB every 5 minutes. According to my Apple consultant, this is a sign of a poorly designed DB. There are other DB's you can work off (live) from one's remote location that don't have this type of lag, which should tell one, there is an issues with DayLite. Synching is the last method one should employee to work with a DB. You are setting yourself up for corruption of your DB, which has happened with us more than once. On one occasion our synching caused the DB to duplicate records throughout the DB multiple times. With over 7,000 contact with mail integration, it took my employer several weekends, hundreds of hours to clean out the DB. He tried reloading the DB from an older copy and that failed as well. Right now I'm working of MY PC as DayLite on my Apple is being re-installed (offline DB) for the 5th time. It has been running now for 1 entire day, which is what is required. Getting back to my Apple consultant, all her clients have moved off the platform due to the reasons I'm having to live through with my current position. I next checked the web and found an attorney who had a DayLite blog, but noticed there weren't any postings from him on his blog since 2008. I contacted this attorney and he moved off the platform to cloud computing. DayLite required a lot of attention to maintain the data base and his server and he believed it was older technology and moved to cloud computing where someone else took care of these problems. Checking DayLite out myself out, they advertise 10 years, 28 employees, and customers in over 100 countries. My 1st question is how could 28 employees support a DB if it has a large user groups in 100 countries? Wouldn't they be stretched trying to support that many users? From my experience it is difficult to get help from DayLite with issues. My employer in now on his 2nd DayLite consultant. My advice, if you are a single user, probably OK but with one of the top Apple consultants warning me about using this and spending probably 10% of my time fighting this DB and loosing time, I would not recommend using this as multiuser platform in synch mode. After having worked with Oracle and other robust platforms, if you're from a similar environment, do your homework before making the decision to use this DB. There is a reason why some very talented and exceptionally sharp professionals have moved away from this platform. Just my opinion.
Like (16)
Version 3.13
Michaelgriffith
09 February 2011
It is interesting how our culture is so driven by complaints. I have been using daylite for a year and half now and every time I have a problem I get an almost immediate response from a team who really seem to understand what they are doing. I am a teacher with multiple projects and since the demise of Entourage I find Daylite a wonderful substitute with many more features. While I agree that it takes time to get to know how the product works, once you have this in place it is a fabulous tool for organizing your projects, your calendar and all the relevant mail associated with your projects. Thank you Daylite for all the hard work you have put into this amazing piece of software.
Like (5)
Version 3.13
2 answer(s)
Espiridion
Espiridion
10 February 2011
What do you mean by "our culture"? I'm pretty sure there's a lot of diversity in terms of gender, ethnicity, country, age, etc., here at Macupdate. Many of us write our comments in English since this facilitates communication here, but that does not mean that we share the same culture. Some people have had bad experiences with Daylite, and your experiences have been positive. Both are valid. Regarding Daylite itself, I've used it since 2002. I've seen it go from really good and very promising to a disappointment with poor customer support and back to "good" in the past years. I no longer use it, though. Regarding Entourage's demise, I'll say that I'm still using it. Checking Microsoft's website, Entourage 2008 Web Services Edition is also available for download. It's good to know that Daylite is working for you, but evidently it has not worked well for others.
Like (6)
Cgc
Cgc
29 August 2011
So nobody should post a negative review to warn others? If all that was posted were positive kudo-type reviews what would the point be?
Like (3)
Jsill
09 February 2011
No CALDAV nor invites to people outside your DL network.
Like (3)
Version 3.13
Drknd
21 November 2010
I'm going to have to stop using it. Nothing but problems when it should just work. Tried uninstalling and reinstalling, but it can't even find its own database. ARGH!
Like (6)
Version 3.12
Cgc
21 April 2010
Apple did the same thing with Tiger (e.g. 10.4.10 and 10.4.11)...not too unusual.
Like (3)
Version 3.10
2 answer(s)
D-J
D-J
22 April 2010
Apple's numbering makes sense. Following 3.9.3 would be 3.9.4, 3.9.5, and then on to 4.0. 3.10 would follow 3.0 or 3.05 or 3.0.9.
Like (2)
Version 3.10
Abe49
Abe49
22 April 2010
@DASEIN888: 10 comes after 9. Nobody said version numbers all had to be single digits.
Like (4)
Version 3.10
D-J
21 April 2010
Wait, it went from 3.9.3 to 3.10? Who's in charge? I want them to fix Daylite Touch. It's been a year and it still won't work. And now my Daylite 3.9.3 is being upgraded 3.10? Pfft.
Like (2)
Version 3.10
1 answer(s)
Abe49
Abe49
22 April 2010
10 comes after 9. Nobody said version numbers all had to be single digits.
Like (4)
Version 3.10
JoeyAnthony
19 March 2010
On paper, Daylite is the perfect fit for my small business. It handles contact management, scheduling and job tracking all within a handsome and easy to use interface. Plus it's made by Marketcircle, the same company that makes Billings and I already *love* Billings so I should love Daylite as well. Unfortunately, however, things aren't quite that rosy. While Daylite does an admirable job of merging various facets of customer management and job tracking, the calendaring application leaves a lot to be desired. You can't copy and paste events, subscribe to calendars or do other basic things that even iCal handles admirably. That's disappointing considering the price and nature of this application. The other, more pressing, problem is stability and performance. Daylite 3.9.7 was noticeably sluggish on my Mac Pro with 10gb of ram. Switching between the various panes of the application was unresponsive at times and I often found myself defaulting back ti iCal and Address book for quick tasks. In regards to stability, I had an ongoing issue with duplicate contacts the entire time I used Daylite. Additionally I experienced many, many crashes, though in fairness to Marketcircle this very well could have been due to some corruption of my sync services. Even still, I use Things, BusyCal and other apps which tap into sync services and I've never had such a problem before. In the end support was very helpful and offered a full refund. And although I kindly accepted it, I have to say that I do miss Daylite. There's a lot of potential here if they can just iron out the bugs.
Like (6)
Version 3.9.7
Epictetus
19 January 2010
I run a management consulting firm. We have lots of contacts, we need to file our contacts, share between our team of about 12, track sales leads through the sales funnel, and coordinate client engagements and internal projects. Ideal for a computer programme, I thought to myself in 1983 when I started working. And eventually in around 2004 I discovered Daylite. It is superbly designed, and does everything we need. However, it is tragically unusable. Despite moving from OpenBase to new database technology, apparently, three sources of instability remain. First, it is a nightmare moving from one laptop to another, when an employee upgrades hardware. How to do this changes every single time (12 employees, 18 month hardware cycle, means we have someone changing hardware every six weeks of so and more often when a laptop goes in for repairs) so we have to pay for an IT specialist familiar with Daylite to assist every time. Secondly, every couple of weeks we have to do a complete clean and reinstall of the database onto our laptops. This is, in technical terms, a right royal pain and massive drain on time. And thirdly, it simply loses data, including key appointments and details of people. So, great design, but barely usable because too unstable and too lossy.
Like (3)
Version 3.9.5
David-Ryan
14 January 2010
I don't really like venting about software developers -- I know, especially in the case of software as ambitious as this, tons of time has gone into development, etc. So what I'm saying here, believe it or not, is weighted somewhat with that in mind. Which is: you may want to try the demo out before trusting your data to anything more than the minimal claims Marketcircle makes. Especially if you'd like to use a rudimentary client/server setup vis-a-vis their Touch Server. Especially further if you have more than a couple dozen contacts or calendar entries you'd like to keep synched up. The program looks great. It's a design marvel. And I have to believe that prior releases were more solid than the current (as of 01/14/10) "Snow Leopard Compatible" build. But my own experience has been dismal: for any increase in productivity I thought I'd get, the numerous problems -- hard crashes, the resulting reinstallation and retooling of data -- have made this a terrible waste of money, resources, and time. Like I mentioned already, the server/client/iPhone Touch implementation has been especially craptastic. It's not that it's necessarily impractical, or slow, or bloated. It just fails -- as in, hangs and needs to be forced-quit (with a requisite reboot), sometimes losing data, sometimes duplicating or triplicating contact info, sometimes just causing mail to crash, or sending the computer into an effective slow-mo spinning beach-ball meltdown. This, despite dozens of troubleshooting attempts: i.e., erasing and replacing plists and/or various builds of the software itself, to simpler fixes like permissions repair and using Diskwarrior. I did all this initially with the recommendations of tech support (the plist, reinstall stuff). But after a bunch of thoughtful back-and-forths (to their credit), I was told that the latest crash log I'd sent indicated the problem was a bug in Snow Leopard. Something that Apple would have to address, and which might take a while. Only a couple of days later I saw on the Marketcircle site that Daylite was now fully Snow Leopard Compatible. I guess in the world of software development, all rules about what's true and what's simply plausibly deniable add up to about the same thing. Occasionally I try this program again -- after, say, an OS X software update comes out -- and it is still disappoints. The only difference is that now I wouldn't dare really trust it to begin with. If I hadn't been through so many weirdly awful iterations of trying to get this to work, I wouldn't write this. But really, be wary. I can't believe how much money and time I've wasted.
Like (4)
Version 3.9.5
Donovan-Roddy
10 July 2009
I've been running a small 5 man team with each person in a different part of th US and other areas internationally. I will say Daylite had very few bugs when I used it as an individual project with billings (billings works great but lacks on features) but as MarketCircle pushed out Daylite server to allow teams to collaborate easier I've only had headache after headache with the the program. For instance, the way they handle licensing is awful, at times if you don't log out prior to closing daylite it will tell you that all your licensing are in use so the person who has access to the Daylite Server has to log in and wipe any local databases in order to get it to work properly. Another thing you may experience is Daylite will continuously crash if the system crashes once and you try to reconnect to the database. The only work around I've found for that is to create a temp database, connect to it and then delete it and then attempt to reconnect to the database that was crashing. The newest bug I've found since the latest build release 3.9.3 (As of July 10, 2009); I have daylite set up as an automatic start up program as with mail, if Daylite has not started completed I receive an error with my mail application saying I can only connect with one database at a time. If I don't use daylite as the start up program Mac Mail starts perfectly each time. Some may say it's a Mac Mail issue (I believe this is a Daylite Mail Integration Issue), being that its an OS native application I think Daylite needs to look into it and give their subscribers on possible issues and keep their customers in the loop which they fail to do (being on twitter and trying to cut bad buzz about their products doesn't count). Another thing potential buyers should be aware of is if you're purchasing this platform to work for teams Daylite currently has it priced at $189.00 but it's $449.99 with support 'Which You Will Need' because for MOST USERS who just expect software bought to 'just work' out of the box you won't find it with this product and if you didn't purchase the support Daylite expects you to wait 3 days for them to respond to any issues you have and if you're like me I can't wait 3 days or more to have data that is critical to my business working. I questioned Daylite Staff on that issue and their reasoning was because they released a new product (Daylite Touch for the iphone) they couldnt answer support questions as fast as they used to because they were busy with the new product, so in other wards what they are saying is we're going to be concentrating on the potential new wave of customers (more revenue) and put the customers that have already purchased on the backburner... temporarily... Ask yourself this question, when Microsoft or Apple pushes out a new product do they do stuff like this to their existing customers...? The bottom line, I'm really upset because Daylites possible capabilities is the best in this realm for Mac users, I've seen the rest and I was really looking forward to using this with my team and being that I've purchased multiple licenses, plugins, hosting & computers It's been a very bad experience. And I will continue to point out all the issues I run into in the hopes that people will not make the same mistake as I did or until Daylite corrects these issues and pays attention to the people that have already paid and not just potential new revenue. Donovan Roddy 1.702.448.3435
Like (2)
Version 3.9.3
1 answer(s)
Cunningone
Cunningone
12 September 2010
comments by Donovan R nail this application dead on. At first blush Daylite looks to answer all of your problems. It's fairly intuitive, simple and straightforward to use. It seems to have enough depth of features to be able to grow with you as your business grows and your needs change. Sadly it's mostly a great facade. Under the covers there are enough real problems that prevent my team from being able to rely on this software. It literally takes more time to manage than it's worth with or without the actual cost of the software. Some of the serious problems we've encountered. - It looses data, repeatedly. From annotations to comments to PHONE numbers. It manages contacts and it looses phone numbers. That alone warrants limiting the rating to 1 star. - It seems that there are regular updates. These updates require database migrations. Each migration causes some sort of problem. - Contact synching is abysmal. You can not synch more than 1500 Contacts without a warning. It can't seem to sync correctly between itself and AddressBook. It can't seem to synch to the iPhone consistently either. - No native support for other phones. eg. Droid - No native support for GMail contact synching. - If you create a mail template longer than two pages it produces the contents UP SIDE DOWN. Hopefully this has been fixed. - Customer support for them is both wonderful and horrid. The people do a great job. But the product itself is so broken that they often simply can not fix or resolve the problems. - We've been asked repeatedly to ship our database to them so that they could fix it. Excuse me? That data is sensitive. Daylite has a checklist of features that look great. If Daylite could do the basics without problems I would be utterly DELIGHTED to recommend it. I want to. Really. I just can not do that. Marketcircle, please PLEASE get the basics right. Don't worry about all of the extra little features. They are killing your client base and have created an opening for competitors. Onward to try out other CRM apps like ContactorizerPro and ContaxCRM or maybe SalesForce. I just want something that works.
Like
Version 3.11
Espiridion
18 November 2008
I think it's important to update my rating for Daylite, since I gave it 5-stars back in 2006. On a positive note, when I launched Daylite a few minutes ago I got a message regarding the new version. Auto-update had stopped working for me for years. Unfortunately, the download was for daylitesuite38, so I had to manually download daylite38. No big deal, though. Regarding Daylite itself, I experienced a lot of unexpected behavior, especially when I upgraded to Leopard. Customer support was good, but it was often non-existent. In the end, they were unable to solve my problem and stopped all communication. I got Daylite to work again by doing an "Erase and Install" of Leopard, and reinstalling Daylite. MarketCircle also seems to be a bit unresponsive regarding bug fixes or adding features to their software. Once bug fixes and added features are available, they come in the form of a paid upgrade or additional expense (e.g., modules, connectors.) Billings 3 is another example of a paid upgrade that should have been a free update. I'm not giving MarketCircle $25 for that upgrade, which is interesting since this week I'm buying 2 applications which sell for $269 and $299. They simply do not deserve my money. I actually stopped using Daylite a while ago and now use Contactizer Pro. Both have their positive aspects as well as their limitations and room for improvement, but by now I prefer to support other developers. I also use Entourage quite a bit. Other options: Chandler looked promising but it still has a long way to go. NightHawk's evolution is painfully slow. I sometimes miss using Consultant or Now Up To Date and Contact under OS 9.
Like (8)
Version 3.8
Eight
09 October 2008
Since two month the technical support is not able to slove a problem with Daylite log-in. The log-in process takes about 8 minutes, which is quite inacceptable. Finally Daylite admitted that they don't know how to solve the problem. That's what the call customer support. New clients should be very careful in choosing Daylite. It is full of bugs obviously and a decision of purchasing a CRM software should be considered carefully. Out of my experience, I wouldn't recommend Daylite any longer. It has great features, but they are worthless if they are not working, aren't they?
Like (4)
Version 3.7.6
Jeff-Nailen
14 January 2008
Thanks A.J. and team for listening to your users! Integration with an accounting package is something I and many others have been asking for. This will put Daylite way ahead of alternatives. As usual, MarketCircle seems to have chosen it's partners wisely. MoneyWorks has the best reputation among the major commercial accounting packages for the Mac platform. It has the highest user ratings on MacUpdate as well. Well done. The new integration with LightSpeed seems to do the same thing - integration with best-of-class point of sale on the Mac. Daylite is turning into the indispensable hub of my business, integrating with all the apps I need to run my business from a central location. There's nothing else like it. Jeff Nailen BioFit Solutions
Like (4)
Version 3.7
adfasdfasdfasdf
19 December 2007
I have bought DL - and I've trashed it now. It messed up all Address Book entries again, duplicated those with non-latin characters and changed the characters to ASCII nonsense. These guys just don't figure it out...
Like (1)
Version 3.6
2 answer(s)
IMRAN™
IMRAN™
14 July 2008
Glad to see someone else is validating my complaints that DayLite will corrupt Address Book data. It also cannot handle synch if you have more than 1500 or so contacts. This is what I posted on another blog (of someone singing the praises of the product {that they got for free from the developer or something like that}.... Imran Anwar Says: November 17, 2007 at 2:40 pm I am happy to find you blog. But, I guess it has come to this, that DayLite is giving away the product to get hopefully some good reviews. I am hoping that your readers and you want objective reviews/comments, I strongly suggest that people considering DayLite look at all available info to ensure they don't shoot themselves in the foot. I used to praise DayLite and MarketCircle. But, several of their upgrades have caused me (and others) grief. Check out their Forum discussion areas to see. Search for Synch Problems type threads. The current version is BUGGY still. They are good people who try hard to dix their product, but right now, the product CAN CAUSE DATA LOSS. I repeat, be prepared to do lots of work over when a synch will destroy what you put in. Normally, that can be a mere annoyance, but it is doubly horrible when you take some important phone numbers during a call, enter them in, clearly see them, and after a synch find the number, or URL, completely disappeared. It's a great effort on MarketCircle's part to make this product, but it is dangerous until they fix the issues I and others have sent in hundreds of crash reports on. Then there are ridiculous examples of poorly thought integration. Their field names and headings do not match up with AddressBook. Any developer writing to Mac OS X should be thinking that most people will get core functionality (and integration benefits) of the Mac's awesome synching capabilities, through the use of built-in iSync capabilities, so one would expect them to ensure their field names etc. matched up at least to that core minimum. Not so DayLite. Instead of my opinion, feel free to follow the threads on their forums. I have not even opened the Pandora's Box of what installing Leopard will do - so I am sitting waiting to install a perfectly good brand new Leopard DVD until I know for sure it will not cause DayLite to destroy more data or time or effort than usual. I am anxiously awaiting these issues being resolved before I buy more licenses, install them on new Macs and ship them to my team in USA and Pakistan. Imran IMRAN.TV ==== With Leopard and even with updates, DayLite failed to synch. I even installed it fresh on a brand new BRAND NEW iMac 24" and it crashed on the first sync.
Like (3)
Version 3.7.4
Abe2
Abe2
15 December 2008
That IMRAN guy is full of hot air and because he's got a lame TV show thinks he's the authority on everything and keeps spreading MISINFORMATION - do NOT rely on anything that guy says.
Like (2)
Version 3.8
Deibel
19 December 2007
I am a daily user of Daylite since about a year. All in all I am very pleased with the software. Of course, in the recent months two major hurdles, in integration of synchronisation as well as the Leopard upgrade had to be overcome. After the appearance of the 3.6 betas, and now the final version, I must say that Marketcircle did rather well. Also, the support appears to be pretty responsive and helpful. Some features could be improved though. The report generator is a good start, but not easy to get used to. I personally prefer to alter the report templates by hand, and am pretty happy with the outcome (e.g., sorting tasks by status: open tasks first, cancelled tasks last). A certain project hierarchy (project with subprojects) would be nice. Drag and drop of Daylite notes should IMO result in an export of the notes title+contents, not the title only. And so on. However, I can live with these issues. I assume that the Daylite developers will have more time now to focus on ease-of-use etc, and am looking forward to future versions of this very useful and well-performing product.
Like (2)
Version 3.6
Studios-drakkar
12 December 2007
Not compatible with Leopard yet. Many features are buggy, especially under Mac OS 10.5. Poor integration with Apple Mail, iCal and Address Book. Daylite doesn't integrate these programs very well. I used to work with Daylite, but it was buggy and not very stable on Mac Os 10.5 Leopard. i just started using Cntactizer which is the the best PIM on the market.
Like (1)
Version 3.5.2
1 answer(s)
Smksensei
Smksensei
19 December 2007
Wow, I just download Contactizer..... Man, you weren't kidding! I am SO impressed with the far superior integration and usability. After 6-months of OJT with Daylite while starting my own business, I was still not "getting it" with actually seeing how my work-flow would form. I spent about an hour with Contactizer and I'm already up and running!
Like (1)
Version 3.6
Akrobat
17 July 2007
Till now this is in my opinion the best PIM out there. I used to use Palm Desktop, but the lack of updates for 2 years led me to look further. The mail integration, Task/Project management and automatic syncing when in a network is a real winner for me. Everything is in one window and I don't need to use a seperate IGTD program which means the integration is not an issue. PLUS the fact that I can make changes on my laptop, come home plug in the ethernet cable and have those changes immediately reflected on my eMac is probably for me the biggest 'feature'. Falls short on simple things like copying an appointment or event and being able to drag it to wherever you want (such as in Palm Desktop). Why they refuse to implement week numbers I don't know. In Contactizer (a gloryfied but potentially good PIM) there's a Day Preview window that you can toggle when in the Month View... really handy to quickly check what's going on in a particular day. Hopefully this app will get better, but for now I'm satisfied.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.3
Teksestro
30 May 2007
I have evaluated every minor revision of Daylite that comes out, since version 3.0. I keep coming back, and trying it again, because from a design perspective, this software has some much potential! Unfortunately, every time I try it, I must give up on it, as there are always 1 or 2 features that are deal-breakers, and whose implementation falls short. The user-management is fantastic. Features such as 'opportunities', and projects with pipelines show a great deal of thought for business processes, and could quickly become indispensable. And the fantastically flexible and customisable reporting capabilites are amazing - and getting better with every revision. Where the package falls apart for me is in the CALENDARING, which in my business, is the MAIN component, and where I spend most of my day. Daylite's calendar interface is, in my opinion, archaic, and buggy. Simple operations, like being able to option-drag an appointment to make a copy of it at a different time (a feature of just about every other calendaring application) does not work. Making an appointment by dragging a contact into the calendar, ignores appointment preferences (I need all my appointments to be 15 minutes long, but dragging a contact into the calendar ALWAYS creates an appointment that is 1-hour long, regardless of how I've set my preferences). Changing the status of an appointment (to, let's say, 'completed') gives you NO visual indication in the calendar - neither is there an indication for when an appointment has alarms, or is being repeated (another standard in just about every other calendaring program). I need to make tens of appointments everyday, which often extend beyond a year, and I need to keep track of which appointments have been kept, which have been missed, and print appointment reports. So, calendaring is a pretty intensive part of my business, and although I'd truly LOVE to adopt Daylite - it would perfectly fit into all my other business processes - the calendar module still keeps letting me down. I hope that the Daylite programmer(s) will eventually put some time aside, and update the calendaring module, to make it as feature-full and up-to-date as the rest of the program.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.3
Ronaldjohn
08 May 2007
I am and have been a licensed owner of DayLite for some time now and it just sits on my hard drive due to instability and an overly. I find Contactizer Pro to be more intuitive, stable and effective at handling the rigors of keeping on top of projects and contacts. The product is actively being developed and I've had no problems with the tech support. I think Daylite to be a good but unfinished product that may yet, once polished, be a worthy competitor.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.3
Hanzer
21 March 2007
I am looking for a solution sooner rather than later. I would just like some way to meet my needs now rather than waiting for future promises. If other mac software, such as Entourage can Sync to a WM5 device, what does MC need to do to allow the same thing to happen?
Like
Version 3.2.2
Hanzer
19 March 2007
I have been using Daylite 3.2.1 for about 10 days of the free trial. Compared to a Windows CRM program I used, Daylite is a breath of fresh air. I have found it relatively easy to use and do the things I want. I know I have only scratched the surface of the program's capapbilities. I have one complaint, and it is a big one. I need to be able to synch to my Windows Mobile 5 device. It needs to be simple, and I don't want to buy anymore software. I already have MissingSync, and it worked fine with Entourage. Why can't Daylite integrate w/ ical or provide info to give MissingSync conduits? Although my experience w/ Daylite has been good so far, the inability to easily sync may be a dealbreaker.
Like
Version 3.2.2
1 answer(s)
hmurchison
hmurchison
21 March 2007
Daylite will improve but quite honestly Sync Services and iCal support in Tiger are relatively incomplete. Apple has improved iCal support and Sync Services in Leopard and we should see improvements. I don't know if SS will obviate the need for Missing Sync but we'll see.
Like
Version 3.2.2
Tongzie
06 February 2007
It's nice to see a developer make an effort to respond. Actually, i participated heavily in beta, and had good communication with the developers. and i felt good about the product. since release, i have to go through tech support, which is not so good. i will see if they will switch over my licenses, and hope that will fix the problems. thanks to the developer for responding.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Tongzie
22 January 2007
complex, but nice product made useless by a licensing scheme that doesn't let you use the product, and support which reacts in weeks, not days, and is unable to resolve the issue for you. OK for a single user - if you never plan to upgrade. I've had a terrible experience with them, which is a shame, because it otherwise could have been a good product. I'm now an ex-user, looking for something else with a licensing system that actually works, so I can use the product I paid money for. I feel totally ripped off. I've sales for my money back, but like support, they don't answer. For telephone 'support' I need to pay them more money.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
1 answer(s)
M-1
M-1
27 January 2007
First of all - our apologies. The license system does get a bit confused when you mix upgrades, dl, dps and dmi. It was our attempt in trying to make things easier. It works fine if you just have dl & dmi separately or dps licenses. We will working to resolve this. In your case, I think the best thing to do would be to swap out your licenses. Please contact us and we will make that happen. Once again - please accept our apologies.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Espiridion
29 December 2006
I've been using DayLite for years. I did have some issues with the earlier betas, but they were betas. As a DayLite user I provided feedback to the MarketCircle people, and their program has vastly improved. I find it hard to believe that CAUSTICT has even tried the software. It does have a learning curve, but there's a manual, a forum, support, FAQ's, and videos. Most people will not need all of this resources to create a Task or a Note, which are two features that seem to be giving a problem to CAUSTICT. It takes just a few seconds to add tasks or notes, by the way. I've used other alternatives, and for years used Now Up to Date and Contact. I'm very happy to be using DayLite now. I will be happier if they would include Billings as well, once it's out of beta, for free :-) I would rate it a 5 if it included email integration and Billings. For the price, I have to rate it a 4 in terms of features and value. Ease of use also gets a 4. It's easy, but it pays to read the manual and watch some videos. There are other reviews on the web that go into more detail.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.1
Cookiehead-Jenkins
16 August 2006
Geez, I hate Now Contact as much as the next guy (and have been hating it ever since OS X), but for the life of me, I cannot get Daylite running to even see if it would be a viable replacement. It complains that it can't create a new database in the location it selected during installation (/Users/Shared/), which apparently cannot be altered by me, it quit unexpectedly while I was looking for a preference pane to see what it could have screwed up during a default install script, and it won't open any databases I create using OpenBase manager. WTF. Oh well, Marketcircle. I guess you don't get the 120 seat license. Salesforce.com here we come. There simply are no decent CRM apps for Mac OS X.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
4 answer(s)
Gwatson
Gwatson
22 August 2006
Hello, If you contact Marketcircle Support they will be able to resolve the issue of the permissions, for you. Mention to them the crashing and we can look at addressing this too. We are not aware of any bugs with the preference at this time.
Like
Version 3.1.1
Lectrohowie
Lectrohowie
29 August 2006
If you think SalesForce is a viable alternative to Daylite I think you'll be quite disappointed. I have and use both and there is no comparison. I'm not sure what is going on with your install of Daylite, but surely there is an explanation if only you'd avail yourself of their customer support or Public bulletin boards. There's an old saying: cutting off your nose to spite your face.........
Like
Version 3.1.2
Cookiehead-Jenkins
Cookiehead-Jenkins
08 September 2006
okay, i figured out the permissions thing on my own -- it may have been related to a previous demo installation of Daylite (version 2.whatever, if memory serves) and the fact that my user has been migrated to at least two new machines in the last year. anyhow, it's kind of frustrating to have a *demo* cause such issues. if anything, it should be on first date behavior. :-) all that aside, we'll give it a spin and hope for the best.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Lectrohowie
Lectrohowie
08 September 2006
I know the feeling! I've been bitten by computers umpteen times too - but I've also learned not to bite off my nose to spite my face :-). Anyway, there is a nice community bulletin board of Daylite users. Perhaps you'd like to join? http://forums.marketcircle.com/eve Regards, Howard
Like
Version 3.1.2
wpdv
02 August 2006
If you are looking for a powerful application, capable of tracking all of your client emails, attachments, files, tasks, notes, appointments, quotes, etc., then this application is for you. Daylite creates a copy of these important communications, so that even if you delete the original emails, photos, files, etc. from your computer you will still have them within Daylite's database. This is a serious business application meant for those of us who are serious about storing and accessing all of our client information from one application. I would highly recommend this program to anyone in sales. I use the 'estimate' template daily to generate all of my quotes and the 'opportunity pipeline' (which can be customized) for tracking and organizing my current sales progression 'timeline', as well as any future sales opportunities.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.1
Lectrohowie
20 July 2006
With this latest update Daylite 3 really adds the little convenience features missing from the first 3.0 release - things like the contextual menu support and easier report printing make a nice improvement. Daylite is still the best of this type of application for the Mac and while it's not the easiest program to master, a little effort gets you an amazingly capable CRM with a full cocoa interface - very Mac-like! Especially if you are in a workgroup situation, Daylite is really worth checking out! Even better, the developers are very responsive and are very actively improving the program with every update.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Daycare
25 May 2006
Seems to be very powerfull - and to have manymany features. When trying out the basic features (for my needs!), I wasn't able to create a quick list of items (i.e. all of project 'abc'), report is way too difficult to create (for me) - also I couldn't get an overview (i.e. as the standard calendar view by NUD, Palm, etc.). So, I decided that this isn't the app' for me. The worst of all comes when one wan'ts to uninstall - incredible, found myself back in the ooold Unix/VAX - days. Disappointed.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Ronaldjohn
20 May 2006
Unfinished. I believe, once all the kinks are out (and I mean to tell you there is a mess of 'um. Since downloading the program last evening I have had no fewer than 15 crashes on an Intel iMac) this might be one heck of a productivity tool. To be honest I am quite shocked given the quality of of everything. I wish these guys the best but somehow think they may be wishing they waited a bit longer before letting the genie out of the bottle.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
M-1
M-1
24 May 2006
Try v3.0.3. We fixed a crashed that occurred if you enabled 'assistive devices'. Some apps auto enabled that system preference so you may be unaware that that preference is turned on. In any case, that issue has been resolved. That is the only known causes of multiple random crashes. Let us know if 3.0.3 does not resolve the crashes. Thanks.
Like
Version 3.0.3
Jump420
11 May 2006
no integration with Apple Address Book. That really disappointed me. I mean come on. Do they really want me to manually input all my contacts and/or not sync when a change is done in either one. I am not going to import everyday to have it updated.
Like
Version 3.0.2
2 answer(s)
M-1
M-1
24 May 2006
Daylite does synchronize with the Apple Address Book. Go to File -> Database -> Sync with Address Book.
Like
Version 3.0.3
Jump420
Jump420
25 May 2006
thanks. but i already uninstalled it.
Like
Version 3.0.3
Macal
08 April 2006
I was very excited about this program as I've tried most of these kid of programs and hoped this would give me everything I was looking for so downloaded the evaluation version and Mail intergration. Problems Contextual menus caused mail to freeze. Some address were imported from Address book without all the details, others were OK!! Incoming mail wasn't linked to contacts - And yes, I read the user manuals and looked at the site's videos. Oh yes, couldn't find how to localise for non-US addresses (small point!)
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1