Back to Daylite page
Daylite free download for Mac

Daylite Reviews2020.36.3

07 October 2020

Dynamic business organization tool kit.

5
Andygoo
16 September 2020
Version: 2020.29.3

Most helpful

I've been a customer for many years and love Daylite. Plus, beta versions of the Mac, iPhone and iPad apps show that the apps are going to new heights. Also, the wonderful iOSXpert plugins (such as kanban boards) really bring it alive. Hugely recommended!
(2)

How would you rate Daylite app?

Read 18 Daylite User Reviews

5
Andygoo
16 September 2020
Version: 2020.29.3
I've been a customer for many years and love Daylite. Plus, beta versions of the Mac, iPhone and iPad apps show that the apps are going to new heights. Also, the wonderful iOSXpert plugins (such as kanban boards) really bring it alive. Hugely recommended!
(2)
5
x7mac
21 July 2020
Version: 2020.19
Looks quite complicated in a very beginning. but does it job perfect.
(1)
1
wportanova
16 June 2020
Version: 2020.19
Truly awful customer service. Non-responsive. No phone calls allowed. And when they do respond, it’s like dealing with the DMV. Customer service replies worse than bots, and just as unhelpful.
(0)
5
markushesse
12 June 2020
Version: 2020.19
We use Daylite with our consultancy since 5 years. Moved from server to cloud 2 years ago. Great functionalities and integration with tools like Slack or Zoom. Very helpful support.
(1)
5
rbailey-2
11 June 2020
Version: 2020.19
I absolutely love this platform! We've been using Daylite for 15 years and it keeps getting better. In the beginning stages of our firm we basically used it only for managing contacts, tasks etc but over the years we realized we were barely scratching the surface with its capabilities. As we manage a large block of business, it is imperative that we stay in constant contact with our clients. Daylite allows us to do that flawlessly. As our firm has grown, so has our needs from our CRM. Every time we go back to ask "can we do this with Daylite" the answer is yes. I think one of my favourite things about the platform is that it allows our team to be very efficient with how we spend our days. My assistant and I basically "live in Daylite" each day. As I'm working on tasks, the ability to delegate tasks over to another team member allows me to spend more time on what's really important-our clients! Finally, the goal of every client interaction at our firm is delivering that WOW experience. With Daylite running in the background, it allows us to deliver on that experience I'd have no hesitation recommending Daylite to anyone. RB
(1)
JamesHarrisPhoto
09 June 2020
Version: 2020.19
And now it's $24/month per seat. No thanks.
(1)
mydesign
18 December 2019
Version: 6.7.7
WOOOWW So many negative reviews. Are these reviews true. Is this application stable ?
(0)
xcoxco
23 September 2019
Version: 6.7.7
The Daylite hosting solution does not include encryption-at-rest on the MarketCircle servers, only encryption-in-transit. As Daylite has added email to its CRM solution, that means email is stored in an unencrypted state in addition to all other DL hosted data.
(1)
xcoxco
23 September 2019
Version: 6.7.7
The Daylite hosting solution does not provide encryption at rest on the marketCircle servers, only encryption in transit. As Daylite has added email to its CRM solution, that means email is stored in an unencrypted state as well as all other DL hosted data.
(0)
xcoxco
01 August 2019
Version: 6.7.4.1
No substantial upgrade in key functions since Dec 1, 2015, when Daylite version 6.x was first introduced, apart from the backend cloud service.
(0)
2
Teksestro
07 June 2019
Version: 6.6.6
I used Daylite for many, many years, and over many versions, It is indeed a solid, stable product, with lots of useful features - the main one being its unequalled Apple Mail integration, which basically allows you to run your life from inside your Mail app. Other useful features include its free-form database, where you can basically link any piece of information with any other data. Think of linking people to each other, to companies, to emails, to notes, to projects, to quotes, etc. Makes it great for looking at your data from different points of view: click on a client's record to see everything that is relevant to it, on a project to see all related people, etc. These features have ensured it has kept a loyal user-base over the years. Unfortunately, as the years went on, Daylite did not progress as quickly as the marketplace, and its shortcomings became more and more obvious - specially as they keep on going unaddressed. First and foremost: Daylite is basically a group DATABASE, but any database is only worth the data you can get OUT of it. Reporting is *key* to any successful database platform, and being able to get custom reports on your data is crucial. Daylite reporting is dismal, to say the least. It comes with a 'report editor' where you can, supposedly, create your own report templates. Unfortunately, the process of report creation is not 'drag-and-drop': you need to have a basic grasp of programming, and understand the object-hierarchy that Daylite programmers use, in order to be able to get your data out. Even if you can get the data you want, making it look nice is no easy feat: there will be a LOT of unfriendly tweaking of templates. As with all things Daylite, you can always choose to pay (good money) to one of their 'qualified experts' to create the reports you want... Then, there is the fact that Daylite was NOT written as a cloud tool, and that trying to integrate it with other tools in your workspace will probably require a myriad of plugins, if at all possible. Want to integrate it with your accounting package? Plugin. Want to get submissions from your website directly into your database? Plugin. Time-tracking? Plugin. Code revision, or ticket management? - sorry, not available, but you can try using the Zapier API.. Or you can always pay a 'qualified expert' to develop it for you!... Last of all, there is the pricing. Daylite is not targeted at large corporations, but at small-to-medium businesses. For those businesses, $30/user/month is an unrealistic price point. There are many, MANY other online-based solutions that can offer either more specific, or more customisable solutions, for a lot less. There are general-purpose tools that allow you to easily "build-your-own" solution, for either very little to no cost at all, such as Coda, ZenKit, AirTable or Notion. There are project-management tools that focus on team collaboration and communication, with amazing features and integrations, like ClickUp, SamePage, ProofHub and Monday. We are now spoilt for choice, which makes the case for Daylite very weak. I give it 2 stars for having fantastic integration with Mail app, and being a well-built, cross-linked database. But I take away 3 stars for the dismal reporting capabilities, lack of true, easy integration with external services, and the ridiculous pricing.
(2)
Show comment (1)
1
Masorey
17 April 2019
Version: 6.5.5
I was using Daylite since lot's of years ago (v2). So far, I was happy with the app but in latest times, the company policies stinks. First, they force us, longterm customers, to move to the cloud, even if you don't need/ask for it. To do so, they said that new OS will not be supported... If this was the case, it is difficult to argue against as it is a business decision. What is a nasty move and talks really bad about them is creating an specific version for "legacy", with a cuestionable red ribbon, remove the regular versions from their website and worst still lye to users. Version 6.5.11 works perfectly on Mojave but legacy even refuse to install. But version 6.5.11 will not be downloaded from their website. Daylite, you cheat us! This nasty approach (bad praxis) is exactly the same on the OS part. The latest upgrade broke the sync... Again, bad praxis. Honestly, if you look fro a CRM on mac, don't trust these people as their actions talk about them. Probably it will be better to look for other solutions as, if I need to go cloud, why not to go to real cloud solutions like Hubspot? I've been a loyal user of Daylite and always told great about the product. But the way they are working now is absolutely a red flag to ask yourself what will be next? No software will last forever but approach like Marketcircle ones, stinks.
(5)
0.5
LeMerlot
06 October 2018
Version: 6.5.5
I bought Daylite some years ago… – expensive but kind of useful – and excellent integration into Apple's Mail app. I spent additional money over the years on upgrades (expensive again)… – and now with MacOS Mojave, the developer tries to force us all into a cloud-based (expensive again) subscription model. Sorry, that's the time to leave. I'm always willing to spend a lot of money in excellent software but after having spent so much money for Daylite already the forced subscription move for existing long time and paying users killed my trust into this service. Yes, they would offer a monthly reduction of 7 bucks for existing users but given the high monthly subscription fee of 30 USD that's not an option for me. Other companies with a strong reputation have shown that one can treat its existing user base with much more generosity… – e.g., DayOne.
(1)
Show comments (3)
2
Mr_Mark
22 March 2018
Version: 6.2.3
Great app, very useful but using a old swift version resulting in compatibility issues. For Example in Mail with other extensions (mailbuttler + Daylite = Crash because of the old Swift version in Daylite)
(1)
4
YellowSubmarine
22 December 2017
Version: 6.2.3
A well made, useful CRM app, with a decent iOS companion.

The main criticism I have is the price.. The annual price is steep for the lone freelancer. The app is made with teams and collaboration in mind, but they should really introduce a 1-user only version for a lower price.
(1)
Show comment (1)
4
robfol
10 May 2017
Version: 6.1.2
I run my PR company on this, has some quirks but overall an excellent app, regularly updated. All my contacts, calendars and emails are fully mapped together and all data can be integrated with matching iPhone / iPad app. Support generally fast and good too. If you use your Mac to run a business I recommend Daylite 6.
(1)
2.5
acuriousmind
29 February 2016
Version: 4.3.2
As a paying customer I'm somewhat disappointed to learn that Daylite 4 will not be supported on MacOS X 10.11 El Capitan. ( I bought my license for Daylite 4 end of November 2013. The upgrade pricing is not especially attractive ). Their reasoning is presented here: https://www.marketcircle.com/help/article/daylite-4-compatibility-on-osx-el-capitan/
(1)
0.5
jonwade
29 January 2016
Version: 4.3.2
The worst customer service I have ever seen. They don't respond, they don't answer their phone, they don't seem to understand that they are a database company and not responding for days when a customer is down endangers their customer's business. I am simply stunned by how they hide when their is an issue. It's clear by now that they either down't care of don't know what to do but can't give us the courtesy of letting us know.
(1)