Back to GPG Suite page
GPG Suite free download for Mac

GPG Suite Reviews

26 November 2020

OpenPGP on macOS.

How would you rate GPG Suite?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Hsmodell
Hsmodell
Sep 22 2020
2020.1
1.0
Sep 22 2020
1.0
Version: 2020.1
I could not get it to install
SRQ
SRQ
Jul 4 2020
2020.1
5.0
Jul 4 2020
5.0
Version: 2020.1
Works great for me.
ileopard66
ileopard66
Jan 18 2020
2019.2
5.0
Jan 18 2020
5.0
Version: 2019.2
This is essential
iMacWare
iMacWare
Nov 20 2019
2019.1
5.0
Nov 20 2019
5.0
Version: 2019.1
Fantastic encryption tools in an all-in-one PGP encryption module.
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Id-Ego-SuperEgo
Dec 20 2018
2018.5
0.5
Dec 20 2018
0.5
Version: 2018.5
Useless rubbish. After installing this rubbish, the Mail.app no longer works.
Kris-nx
Kris-nx
Sep 24 2018
2018.4
0.0
Sep 24 2018
0.0
Version: 2018.4
I was shocked when I updated GPG Suite, opened Mail, only to see a notification windows asking me to Activate GPG Mail, Start Trial or Buy. Yes, GPG Suite is no longer Free! GPG Mail 3 (part of GPG Suite) onwards is a paid product - currently $23.90 US covering 3 machines. I immediately rolled back to the free version to do some thinking and to get out a few emails. GPG/PGP has been part of my workflow far too long to stop using it now - so I'm paying. I'll be reaching out to see if there is any kind of discount as I need to buy 65 licenses. Ouch! While I understand the developers need to survive - they did a horrible job communicating the change. They claim they mentioned the change at the beginning of the year - I don't remember reading about it - I'll just have to take the developers word.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Jul 20 2017
2017.1b3
4.5
Jul 20 2017
4.5
Version: 2017.1b3
I use the GPG Suite often, and it's always great, incl. Apple Mail integration. However, the current developments are downright harrowing. The final update to macOS Sierra has already been released, with High Sierra on the horizon, and GPG Suite is still in public beta, so I'm still twiddling my thumbs on El Capitan. (GnuPG v2.1 integration is also taking forever.) And I don't accept excuses. Other Apple Mail plugin developers have been fast in upgrading their software for Sierra compatibility, again and again, and if the GPG Suite developers can't keep up, they need to think about going for a paid product, not just donations. Don't get me wrong, it's a great software, but the last year—THE LAST YEAR!!!— has been frustrating, to put it mildly. I don't believe the developers realize the negative emotions they're spawning. This needs to stop. This needs to come around fast, super fast, like yesterday.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Oct 15 2016
2016.10
5.0
Oct 15 2016
5.0
Version: 2016.10
The current word from the GPGTools team: "GPGMail, our plugin for securing emails using GPG in Mail.app is not yet compatible with macOS Sierra. If you rely on GPGMail, please refrain from updating to macOS Sierra for the time being!" See Cowcide's post below for the link to a workaround for those of us who moved to Sierra...
Cowicide
Cowicide
Oct 10 2016
2016.08
0.0
Oct 10 2016
0.0
Version: 2016.08
Not working with Mail in Sierra. Bummer. When I launch Apple Mail it says the GPG plug-in isn't compatible and it disables it. Here's a link from dev that acknowledges issue and has temp workaround:

https://gpgtools.tenderapp.com/kb/gpgmail-faq/gpgmail-no-longer-working-after-macos-update

Hope it get fixed soon.
Timmyb
Timmyb
Oct 3 2015
2015.09
0.0
Oct 3 2015
0.0
Version: 2015.09
-When verifying a file or text using the system Service no signing date or time appears to be provided by the tools in GPGSuite.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Aug 16 2015
2015.06
5.0
Aug 16 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.06
GPG Suite 2015.08 - August 14th, 2015 Our newest release is mostly a bug fixing release for the most pressing issues. We are however very happy to say, that one of our longest standing bugs has been squashed. Many of you might have experienced Mail.app no longer signing messages and reporting a "No pinentry" error. The only workaround was to restart your mac. Well, we're happy to say, we've squashed this bug! Since this particular bug also affected other components, all of our tools should now be even more reliable. Work on OS X El Capitan is progressing very well and a first test version will be ready soon. We'll include it in our nightly builds for early testers once available. We would especially like to thank Bruno Bierbaumer for bringing a bug in one of Libmacgpg's subcomponents to our attention which could be abused by a local user to execute shell commands with root privileges (CVE-2014-4677). This security issue has been fixed in GPG Suite 2015.06. Most of our users are already running the latest version of GPG Suite, but everyone who hasn't upated to GPG Suite 2015.06 yet, should update to the latest GPG Suite as soon as possible.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jun 15 2015
2015.03-b6
5.0
Jun 15 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.03-b6
GPG Suite 2015-06 is finished and ready for download!

Everyone should install GPG Suite and climb its learning curve. It's one way We The People can maintain out Right To Privacy. And it's FREE. But I do recommend donating!
TCalhau
TCalhau
Jun 12 2015
2015.03-b6
5.0
Jun 12 2015
5.0
Version: 2015.03-b6
GPG Suite 2015.06 has just been released (June 12, 2015) "We're very happy to announce that we have left our beta phase. The new stable release of GPG Suite is finally ready. In GPG Suite 2015.06 you will find a lot of new features enhancing the usability of our tools, as well as many improvements which contribute to the overall stability and reliability of the entire suite. This release is completely compatible with OS X Yosemite and we have already started working on supporting the just announced OS X El Capitan. To make it even easier for our users to stay up-to-date, we have revamped our update process. Instead of only updating one tool at a time, we're now updating all of our tools at once, when you install an update via our automated update process. A very special thanks goes out to netidee and DuckDuckGo for supporting our work. We hope you like this release as much as we do." Special thanks to DuckDuckGo for helping to keep GPGTools free. ^^
TCalhau
TCalhau
Feb 10 2015
2014.12-b4
5.0
Feb 10 2015
5.0
Version: 2014.12-b4
BETA 5 released!
Jp7
Jp7
Dec 2 2014
2014.11.Yosemite-b2
0.0
Dec 2 2014
0.0
Version: 2014.11.Yosemite-b2
As of 11/30/14 the GPG Mail beta plug-in has expired. At that time, GPG Yosemite Suite 2014-11 beta 3 was released. I wish there was an easier way to be notified.
Pbeaudet
Pbeaudet
Jul 28 2014
2013.10.22
0.0
Jul 28 2014
0.0
Version: 2013.10.22
This version, 2013.10.22, is not yet compatible with Yosemite.
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
May 29 2014
2013.10.22
5.0
May 29 2014
5.0
Version: 2013.10.22
Someone is up-voting TrueCrypt and Cryptix. Cryptix is closed source and close source crypto is really hard to be trusted. I wouldn't! TrueCrypt just shut down operations saying it was unsecure to be used: http://truecrypt.sourceforge.net/ says "WARNING: Using TrueCrypt is not secure as it may contain unfixed security issues." Combine those two and that makes me really think if we have a person on someone's payroll upvoting unsecure software. Hard to proove but the pattern behind this is really strange. Same applies for the Tor Browser bundle page: http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/17679/tor-browser-bundle Again TrueCrypt (unsecure) and Cryptix (can not be trusted and seems to use weak security) are up-voted. Macupdate should really reconsider the entire voting system for similar software. When it comes to security related software this is no fun and can endanger peoples lifes if they use unsecure software.
RustyIron
RustyIron
Nov 9 2013
2013.10.22
0.0
Nov 9 2013
0.0
Version: 2013.10.22
Encryption is a cumbersome process, and decryption is flawed. Keep working at it, boys and girls.
Fightingcat
Fightingcat
Sep 1 2013
2013.08.06
5.0
Sep 1 2013
5.0
Version: 2013.08.06
This solution is the best one who I ever found to encrypt and decrypt mails or text. It's quit simple to install it and config it. Great to see, that this project is now back under 10.8 (sadly this takes a lot of time, because since OS 10.8 it was broken / not fully supported in Apple Mail).
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jul 27 2013
2013.07.27
5.0
Jul 27 2013
5.0
Version: 2013.07.27
As of version 2013.07.27 the project is now calling the full set of tools "GPG Suite". The suite contains the whole show, same as the "GPGTools" package. IOW: New name, new icons, new installer, same stuff: GPGMail GPG Keychain Access GPGServices GPGPreferences MacGPG2 Two new launch agent files are installed with this update: /Library/LaunchAgents/org.gpgtools.patch-uuid.plist /usr/local/MacGPG2/share/org.gpgtools.macgpg2.shutdown-gpg-agent.plist There is an alias to this last file located inside: /Library/LaunchAgents/ You'll also find these older files in the same location: org.gpgtools.Libmacgpg.xcp.plist org.gpgtools.macgpg2.updater.plist You can custom install any part of the suite as you like. I don't yet know if this version works on OS X 10.8.5 beta or 10.9.0 beta.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 21 2013
2013.5.20
5.0
May 21 2013
5.0
Version: 2013.5.20
Gnu Privacy Guard remains geek ware, meaning that it is difficult to set up and use by an average Mac user. The learning curve for new users can be extremely steep with a lot of questions asked along the way. However, patience provides rich rewards because GPG lets you: 1) Digitally sign your email with a verified public key. This let's receivers verify that you, and only you, have sent them an email. This can be extremely important. 2) Use unbreakable encryption on any file and any email. You can even use overkill encryption if you wish to be especially careful. With in already incredible amount of cybercrime and cyber-espionage on the Internet, this can be profoundly important. If you use the email features, keep in mind that encrypting email on your end requires the use of a source email address associated with your GPG key AS WELL AS a receiving email that ALSO has its own publicly available key. Otherwise, no encryption is allowed. However, digital signing is always available. I have so far tested the current versions of GPGTools and GPGMail with OS X 10.7.5 and had total success. The new version of GPGMail provides support for OS X 10.8. I will be testing these current versions with 10.8.3 and 10.8.4 beta. If there are issues with either, I will post here in another message. Installing GPGTools/GPGMail is extremely easy. The hard part begins when you have to create your first key, upload your public key to the public server, and begin to use its features. Never by stymied by the learning curve. All of the features work. It simply takes patience and time to figure them out and gain enough experience to be comfortable with them. Excellent documentation is now available. You'll find links to the docs at the end of the installation process. Read them carefully through, then use them step-by-step to get yourself going. The effort put into creating GPGTools and keeping them compatible with ever changing OS X is slow and painstaking. Please appreciate these efforts by putting GPG to work for you and by donating to the open source project. GPG is entirely free for all Mac users and it works beautifully once you understand the geeky details involved. Thank you to everyone who contributes to this terrific and critical project! If you are a USA citizen and need a reminder of what GPG is for, here is the 4th Amendment of the US Constitution: "The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized." Here is what Benjamin Franklin had to say about liberty and safety:: "They who can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety, deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Bytes
Bytes
May 20 2013
2013.5.20
4.5
May 20 2013
4.5
Version: 2013.5.20
So far a flawless update of a well polished MAC gpg utility. I sent another modest donation today to show my appreciation for a product I could never create myself.
Raro
Raro
May 20 2013
2013.5.20
0.0
May 20 2013
0.0
Version: 2013.5.20
Unfortunately the Terminal command to set the default status for signing and encryption for new mails does not work.
Pirx
Pirx
Nov 18 2012
20120318
0.0
Nov 18 2012
0.0
Version: 20120318
Under OS X 10.8.2. it makes e-mail appear as empty in Mail.app So, as pointed out in requirements above, only use with OS X 10.7.
outer
outer
Nov 17 2012
20120318
4.0
Nov 17 2012
4.0
Version: 20120318
Stay tuned. This is the best MacPGP software out here. Sure, it may not have obscure features that even the Classic MacPGP 262 once offered, but the fact of the matter is that it works for most tastes and occasions. Full Mountain Lion support (Apple Mail isn't officially working) is on the horizon. So far as I can tell, everything else works under Mountain Lion, and you can get the latest builds anytime you'd like - except for Mountain Lion Apple Mail support. Is that worth it for you? It was for me.
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
Mar 17 2012
20120317
4.5
Mar 17 2012
4.5
Version: 20120317
Install 20120317 with GPGMail 201 (a30) at your own risk, if you're on Mac OS 10.6.8. Since installing the new version I am unable to reply to emails or compose a new email from scratch. Other plugins: ASP, Herald, Letterbox, MailFollowUp, MailHub, MailRecent, MailTabs, MailTags, Rocketbox, TruePreview, Letter Opener. The previous version of GPGMail worked fine with Mail and these plugins, so GPGMail is definitely the perp here. Fix this! Now!
Big-Mac-XXL
Big-Mac-XXL
Feb 4 2012
20111224
5.0
Feb 4 2012
5.0
Version: 20111224
Runs super on OSX 10.6.8. Looks beautifully, runs like a charm. Encryption of mails within Thunderbird 8.0 and encryption of files without problems. NOTE: You have to remove the GnuPG.prefPane of the older version 1.2.2 by hand or the prefPane for this version stays empty. Other than that: FIVE STARS!
Michaelpalacio
Michaelpalacio
Dec 24 2011
20111224
0.0
Dec 24 2011
0.0
Version: 20111224
Dear GPGTools Project Team: Thank you very much for this project and your efforts. Just to let you know that with a stable Mac OS X 10.6.8 (10K549) and a stable Mail 4.5 (1084) GPGTools-20111224.dmg (GPGPreferences-0.9.2.dmg also installed) Mail crashes upon launch. Repairing Privileges and after a Disk Warrior 4.4 same problem. Only un-installing GPGTools-20111224 Mail came back to life; but we still need your "little pearl" that was working OK with GPGTools-20111117.dmg Kind regards, Michael Palacio
Tom-bovo
Tom-bovo
Nov 30 2011
20111127
5.0
Nov 30 2011
5.0
Version: 20111127
Easy to install/upgrade, the tools package is turning out to be a real nice direction for MacGPG to go in. Since adding Mail.app/Lion support with GPGMail, there is nothing bad to say! Nice work.
nexus11
nexus11
Nov 21 2011
2011.11.17
5.0
Nov 21 2011
5.0
Version: 2011.11.17
easy and comfortable
Bytes
Bytes
Nov 12 2011
2011.11.10
4.5
Nov 12 2011
4.5
Version: 2011.11.10
A well packaged installer that adds OpenPGP encryption to Mail.app (works great on my 10.7.2 Lion installation). The polish and ease of use, deserves a BIG thumbs up to the authors and I sent them a modest donation to authenticate my praise. Thanks guys!
Tom-bovo
Tom-bovo
Jul 31 2011
2011.07.11
5.0
Jul 31 2011
5.0
Version: 2011.07.11
Not working for me under Lion. I really want it to work, but Mail plug in won't load, and services won't respond. When it does work, it is a great alternative to PGP.
outer
outer
Feb 22 2011
0.8.4
4.0
Feb 22 2011
4.0
Version: 0.8.4
As though it needed repeating... there are several different projects at work here. Why do each of them seem to continue to be released independently rather than as an updated agreed-upon combined release?
outer
outer
Feb 16 2011
20110214
4.0
Feb 16 2011
4.0
Version: 20110214
Why is this being released independently of < http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/11136/macgpg2 > ?
Meiner2er
Meiner2er
Feb 5 2011
20110125
5.0
Feb 5 2011
5.0
Version: 20110125
Installation was easy on my Mac Pro with Snow Leopard. It speaks many languages ;-) and it works perfectly.
Snuffyop
Snuffyop
Jan 25 2011
20110118_beta1
5.0
Jan 25 2011
5.0
Version: 20110118_beta1
All the Unix Features of GPG in a GUI.. and all Macified.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jan 8 2011
1.2.2
5.0
Jan 8 2011
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
Project In Chaos: Avoid For Now. I was once quite a champion of GnuPG for Mac, put up with the massive geek factor and had it working perfectly. But these days GnuPG is broken on Mac OS X 10.6.x. Don't bother playing with it unless you're one of the developers, it's that nasty at the moment. I've attempted many times over the last full year to help the project, saw great hope last spring, only to have hope dashed this winter with a cacophony of developer infighting, endlessly frustrated would-be users, censored list posts, and chaos all round. I have never seen this before and hope I never do again. RUN AWAY from this software for now, until... (all join hands and pray) ...someone sane takes over the project and straightens out the bloody mess. Until then, I wish the project well.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Jan 8 2011
0.3.1b
5.0
Jan 8 2011
5.0
Version: 0.3.1b
Project In Chaos: Avoid For Now. I was once quite a champion of GnuPG for Mac, put up with the massive geek factor and had it working perfectly. But these days GnuPG is broken on Mac OS X 10.6.x. Don't bother playing with it unless you're one of the developers, it's that nasty at the moment. I've attempted many times over the last full year to help the project, saw great hope last spring, only to have hope dashed this winter with a cacophony of developer infighting, endlessly frustrated would-be users, censored list posts, and chaos all round. I have never seen this before and hope I never do again. RUN AWAY from this software for now, until... (all join hands and pray) ...someone sane takes over the project and straightens out the bloody mess. Until then, I wish the project well.
Ozean
Ozean
Nov 28 2010
0.3.0b
0.0
Nov 28 2010
0.0
Version: 0.3.0b
Thanks to the developer for picking up the ball again! It is really nice to see that the GPG Keychain Access app is being developed in such a rapid pace :) Now if only someone would update the GPG 1.4.x installer to the current version (not everyone has Developer Tools installed and can compile stuff on her/his own…) - then everything would be perfect!
Turkchgo
Turkchgo
Oct 13 2010
0.1.2a
0.0
Oct 13 2010
0.0
Version: 0.1.2a
Awesome to see some new developers pick this up and rescue it over at Github! The new alpha actually works great for the few tasks I've asked it to do so far!
Timmyb
Timmyb
Feb 10 2010
1.2.2
0.0
Feb 10 2010
0.0
Version: 1.2.2
Developers site seem to be dead.
Big-Mac-XXL
Big-Mac-XXL
Dec 8 2009
1.2.2
5.0
Dec 8 2009
5.0
Version: 1.2.2
Crashes with gpg2 (GnuPG/MacGPG2 2.0.12). 08.12.09 16:50:43 [0x0-0x1e71e7].com.tomsci.GpgTools[3652] -[NSJavaVirtualMachine initWithClassPath:] FATAL: cannot initialize ObjCJava. Exit 08.12.09 16:50:43 com.apple.launchd.peruser.501[92] ([0x0-0x1e71e7].com.tomsci.GpgTools[3652]) Exited with exit code: 255 Please make it compatible with gpg2 and Snow Leopard!
rspeed
rspeed
Mar 2 2009
1.2.2
0.0
Mar 2 2009
0.0
Version: 1.2.2
Is there anything similar to this application which is compatible with gpg2?
Guest
Guest
Sep 2 2008
0.7.0
0.0
Sep 2 2008
0.0
Version: 0.7.0
Program works well. I've been able to create, install, and maintain keys for myself and others. Some functions work in a terminal window (scripted, no interaction required). The help system is not entirely useful (it opens the Help Viewer, but the links don't work). With the government listening to everything, it's time for heightened security even in your home email.
Guest
Guest
Aug 24 2005
1.2
1.0
Aug 24 2005
1.0
Version: 1.2
A nice front end to GPG which is very much needed considering the arrogance & greed of pgp corp.
Guest
Guest
Aug 6 2005
1.2
1.0
Aug 6 2005
1.0
Version: 1.2
I have just recently installed GPG 1.4.1 and some "cocoa front-end wrapper" programs, Gpg Tools being one of them, on my Mac running OS 10.4.2. I imported my PGP (v8.1) public and secret keyrings into GPG. My secret key passphrase contains high-ASCII characters -- characters such as • (bullet) and umlauted vowels such as ö. My keyboard style is US, so these characters require the use of simultaneous option (or shift plus option) and a character key, and in the case of umlauts, option-u preceding desired vowel to be umlauted. Although I can successfully sign and decrypt files using Terminal's command line (cool to show off my faux unix abilities to friends and family), I am unable to sign or decrypt files using Gpg Tools. Only by changing my passphrase to something not using special characters such as umlauts, etc., am I able to use Gpg Tools to sign or decrypt files. Am I doing something wrong or stupid here? (And don't tell me "yes, you're using high-ASCII") I don't think it is wrong or stupid to include high-ASCII characters in passphrases -- command-line gpg supports it, and PGP 8.1 supports it). Setup/configuration issue? Or a shortcoming of Gpg Tools? If a shortcoming of the program, this is something that should really be fixed, considering that the underlying encryption/decryption engine properly interprets high-ASCII characters in Terminal's command line.
Guest
Guest
Jul 21 2004
1.1.8
1.0
Jul 21 2004
1.0
Version: 1.1.8
From the Gpg Tools FAQ http://www.tomsci.com/gpgtools/FAQ.html#opensource "Why isn't Gpg Tools open source?" "Briefly, because this was a spare-time hobby program, which wasn't intended for a wider audience. Now it has been released I understand the viewpoint that since Gpg Tools' source code isn't available, the application can't be trusted. If you really want the source contact me and we can possibly work something out." Caveat Downloader, I guess.
Macmanx206
Macmanx206
Jul 21 2004
1.1.8
5.0
Jul 21 2004
5.0
Version: 1.1.8
Functional and works as advertised. GUI is simple and easy to understand. Prefs are available through GPG command line and GPGPreferences. This app merely simplifies GPG functionality for the end user and does a good job at it too.
Guest
Guest
Jul 20 2004
1.1.8
1.0
Jul 20 2004
1.0
Version: 1.1.8
Crashes constantly. GUI is ugly as all hell. No prefs to speak of. This is just a hack on the gpg commandline stuff, nothing new or unique.
Guest
Guest
Feb 1 2003
1.1.5
1.0
Feb 1 2003
1.0
Version: 1.1.5
Essential in these days of paranoia ;) You need to know what you are doing when you install, as it's more complicated than a simple click. Worth the effort.