Back to Jotz page
Jotz free download for Mac

Jotz Reviews

1.3.60u
11 February 2007

Simple, elegant note pad.

Anonymous
22 October 2002

Most helpful

a very nice little app with a very small and slick interface. Jotz uses drawers (like mail.app) so it actually takes up very little space on your screen. I am going to try it a bit longer and see how it compares to others. I also really like iOrganizeX by Bruno Blondeau, which is also very nice and is perhaps a more fully featured note pad, but as i have a powerbook with a small screen, jotz's small and elegant interface is a big plus. My Dock is overcrowed as well so the "Iconize Jotz" feature is handy. Jotz seems to have the potential to develop into a real killer pea-shooter type app! I will use it a while and see if it holds up over time. This just might be my first ever OS X shareware buy. To the Developers: please keep it small and elegant as you can as you add features.
Like
Version 1.0.7

Read 15 Jotz User Reviews

Rate this app:

Andrew-D-
17 December 2010
Awful, klunky, unintuitive interface. I mean, THE worst I think I've seen. Bloatware. I can see it suiting someone willing to immerse themself in one app, but I just can't be bothered. It has many, many extremely customized features, but you must jump through hoops to find and use them. The menus are crowded, the formatting a mess. I've also had trouble with license codes. I absolutely hate working with it. It is now not cooperating with Dropbox (an AMAZING app) and that is the last straw. Why do I use it? Well, I paid for it ($$), I like the autosave and support for hyperlinks, I have not found a good alternative. Apple Mail/Notes is OK....
Like
Version 1.3.60u
Anonymous
29 July 2005
Long Live the King! Jotz is the monarch of note pads. It is so far ahead of anything else calling itself a note pad that it should really have its own category. The feature set, the ease of use, the wonderful flexability of pad and note design, the constant brilliant development and addition of new features, and much more have made it my one and only information hub. Hats off, gentlemen, a genius program!
Like
Version 1.3.22
Anonymous
29 July 2005
I love it. It may not be for everyone but if other notepads do not work for you then this maybe the one. I really like (1) the iconized pad that is easy to get to. The categorization of notes, encryption and a wonderful todo interface all add up to a great application for me.
Like
Version 1.3.22
Anonymous
17 May 2005
The interface is awful and does not always work right, though they have cleaned up things like the maddening behavior of URL links. It is nonintuitive bloatware that somehow makes simple use ignoring without the bells and whistles difficult. Sure, I could learn everything, but that misses the point of this quintessential simple app. I now have the "counterfeit" license code warning under this version -- reported by another reviewer and while I'm sure I'll figure it out, this is more time wasted. The only really good thing I can say about Jotz is that it is better than the lackluster competition I've seen. This is faint praise indeed.
Like
Version 1.3.16
Anonymous
30 April 2005
I am using a G4 with Mac OS 10.3.6. I get the spurious counterfeit serial number notice when I try to register this version of Jotz
Like
Version 1.3.14
Anonymous
05 November 2004
I trialed 4 other products in this category and decided to finalize my purchase with Jotz. It's fast, reliable and powerful enough to satisfy my hunger for flexibility. I found the other alternatives too simple, simple enough that I might as well just use textedit. This is not true of NoteTaker but this product simply costs too much. Jotz offers the best of all products at a decent price. The interface could use more user friendly icons but that is my only qualm.
Like
Version 1.3.10
Anonymous
12 October 2004
The menu bar does not work at all, ZERO menu items, click but nothing, from File all the way to Help
Like
Version 1.3.06
Geoffrey Walters
20 September 2004
While it appears there are a lot of features in this product, the interface design is inelegant and poor, making them quite hard to figure out. I was unable to truly explore what this program can offer, because the menu bar is completely non-functional. Quitting the app and restarting it does not fix this. The interface is responsive, but the menu bar does nothing. Once this bug is fixed and the interface is cleaned up a bit, this app is intriguing.
Like
Version 1.3.04
Anonymous
19 September 2004
Jotz is simply the best way to organize your life. It's easy to use from the start. If you go further and spend five minutes checking out the excellent online mini-manual, you will appreciate just how good this software is: it is wonderfully customizable, rich in useful and easy to use features, it is lightening fast. It is addictive. I have dumped all the others as nothing can even come close to Jotz in features, flexibility, ease of use. Also nothing looks as good: you can even infinitely customize the look of your Jotz notepads, make every one different too if you like. I now organize everything I need to do: from simple to do lists, to detailed outlining and planning; everything I need or want to know or remember: it's even great for storing quotes or notes for projects (or if you're a student or academic, for papers/articles/books). Jotz is a nice environment in which to think and plan: everything's orderly, everything's at your fingertips for quick and easy reference. Great program! It's a pleasure to use, and I use it constantly.
Like
Version 1.3.04
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 November 2004
I whole heartedly agree. Jotz deserves great recognition. - A Jotz user.
Like
Version 1.3.10
Anonymous
06 August 2004
It may be a fine application, but visually confusing. "Elegant", no!
Like
Version 1.3.01
Anonymous
31 July 2004
The developer is too modest when he states that this is an extension of Classic NotePad. Jotz goes way, way beyond CNP. It saves its "notes" as independently-accessible RTFD files in package format, which means they're always there for export or re-use. Indexing-and-search is phenomenal, with a browser-like search function that takes in an unlimited number of Jotz notefiles. (You can also instantly generate a list of principal words in the notefile.) RTF formatting allows color, highlighting, and the like, yet the user interface couldn't be simpler. Notes can be meta-indexed with class labels. Sorting can be done under several different categories. Drag-and-drop makes import incredibly simple. Having bought a license for it, I quickly made Jotz my principal organizing tool, and I haven't changed my mind yet -- even after trying Alepin, iOrganize, MacJournal, etc. All of them are worthy products, but lacking the perfect balance of features that is Jotz. All this describes the old form of Jotz. The rewritten form (1.3) has few visible differences from the old version, but works (as advertised) much more efficiently and smoothly. The developer knows how to avoid messing with perfection.
Like
Version 1.3
Anonymous
26 April 2003
well I loved this (and bought it) when it started out but now it's such bloatware I can't figure out how to use the damn thing anymore. I know many of the new "features" can be hidden, but it's turned a simple and useful tool into something that's just a pain to look at. What a shame. One "upgrade" froze my s/ware and I couldn't access my vital notes until the fix came out!
Like
Version 1.2.67
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 November 2003
I agree. I was considering registering, but when the e-mail functionality was added I could tell that it was going to turn into bloatware.
Like
Version 1.2.68
Charles Fahey
28 March 2003
As a web developer, Jotz has proven invaluable. The to-do list, and reference drawer are perfect for keeping track of details, or mapping out structures and arrays. Additionally, the basic notepad feature is fantastic. The mailroom feature is also a very handy way to share ideas, etc with colleagues. The basics are all there too; searching, exporting, saving, minimizing, etc. And the license is insanely great! (Jotz version 1.2.67)
Like
Version 1.2.67
Koxinga
15 November 2002
"A note pad should be a note pad, not a database" - wrong. What's the point of having notes if you can't access them easily. Categories, topics, searching, etc. helps you find what you need when you need it. Who wants to go through a hundred notes one at a time ...
Like
Version 1.0.93
Anonymous
22 October 2002
a very nice little app with a very small and slick interface. Jotz uses drawers (like mail.app) so it actually takes up very little space on your screen. I am going to try it a bit longer and see how it compares to others. I also really like iOrganizeX by Bruno Blondeau, which is also very nice and is perhaps a more fully featured note pad, but as i have a powerbook with a small screen, jotz's small and elegant interface is a big plus. My Dock is overcrowed as well so the "Iconize Jotz" feature is handy. Jotz seems to have the potential to develop into a real killer pea-shooter type app! I will use it a while and see if it holds up over time. This just might be my first ever OS X shareware buy. To the Developers: please keep it small and elegant as you can as you add features.
Like
Version 1.0.7