Back to Audio Hijack page
Audio Hijack free download for Mac

Audio Hijack Reviews

2.2.6
21 October 2007

Record audio from any application.

Mactoe
06 February 2008

Most helpful

This product is no longer available. They only offer the Pro version on their site now and it's twice the money at $32 so if you have a simple need, such as just recording radio streams from iTunes you may want to find other solutions.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.6

Read 25 Audio Hijack User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bruce-y
18 January 2011
Just an FYI if you are looking for this version (Audio Hijack 226, not Pro version). The MacUpdate link no longer works. It is available from Rogue Ameoba on their 'Legacy' page: http://www.rogueamoeba.com/legacy/ Rogue Amoeba lists it as compatible with 10.4 Tiger, 10.5 Leopard, 10.6 Snow Leopard.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.6
Mactoe
06 February 2008
This product is no longer available. They only offer the Pro version on their site now and it's twice the money at $32 so if you have a simple need, such as just recording radio streams from iTunes you may want to find other solutions.
Like (3)
Version 2.2.6
1 answer(s)
Nmege
Nmege
02 August 2013
Try Fstream to record radio streams (it's free)..
Like
Easer
17 November 2006
With all of the fuss going on abut iTunes 7 and problems with both OSS 3D and VolumeLogic, I'm surprised this program isn't getting more of its due. Not only does it provide me with a broad range of effects, but it also lets me choose which programs I want to have enhanced. OSS 3D is system-wide. VolumeLogic is currently iTunes only but appears to also be developing a system-wide approach. I don't want a system-wide approach; everything on my system slows down noticeably and significantly. With Audio Hijack, nothing slows down. Give this program a try! (The developer is also very responsive to e-mails.)
Like
Version 2.2.5
Justinnorman
04 July 2006
Audio Hijack is one of those programs that I don't use regularly, but which works well I need it to. Being able to record bits of online radio shows or the audio off Quicktime or RealPlayer movies and DVDs is a nice ability to have, and relatively easy to execute. However, I was a bit confused with one thing when I first tried the program out. In order to "hijack" the audio of a program, you must add it to a list. When you click the "New" button at the top of the list to add a new program, an "Untitled Session" appears in the list, rather than opening a dialogue box to allow you to choose the program. Instead, you must use the Inspector window and click "Select" to get the program. It seems as though it would be less confusing and easier to use, if this step was skipped, but it's nothing major. Audio Hijack does waht it says, and does it well.
Like
Version 2.2.5
Anonymous
26 August 2005
I recently registered Audio Hijack. Not knowing much about audio software, I'm surprised at how easy it is to use Audio Hijack. It's a high-quality program. It works great! Thanks to the developers. BTW, before I registered Audio Hijack, I emailed the developers, a couple of times, with a few questions. They promptly replied. Excellent customer service.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.2
Anonymous
14 July 2005
What an excellent application. Easy to use, very powerful. Record from file, app, URL, whatever! Great higher end features such as its collection of filters. This company puts out grade A software!
Like
Version 2.2.2
Anonymous
19 June 2005
FANTASTIC! Works perfect. Got it with Roxio's Boom Box - it's the full version and I love it.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
16 August 2004
I just found this after trying out their Nicecast product, and I find it to be very useful. I've started capturing BBC streams overnight with it,and it works great. It's also a great price. Should I upgrade to Pro?
Like
Version 2.1.4
Anonymous
10 August 2004
I prefer Wire Tap.Is free.
Like
Version 2.1.4
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 November 2004
WireTap is a kernel extension, Audio Hijack is an application enhancer. Audio Hijack can't hose your entire system if something goes wrong.
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 January 2005
Wiretap is no longer free...it becomes WireTap "Pro"...
Like
Version 2.2
fred rodrigues
10 August 2004
kull
Like
Version 2.1.4
Roth
23 February 2004
I mix using Disco 2.3 and I needed a program that could record my mixes. Audio Hijack does just that, and with ease! And the price dosen't hurt either!
Like
Version 2.1
Jim Bishop
30 January 2004
I teach in a college in China. Everything downloaded fine. This is the application I have needed for a LONG time and it works GREAT on my G 4/933/OS X 10.3.2. I have been using a Mac for 20 years, and this is the most exciting piece of software I have seen in a long time. Well worth the money. Thanks!
Like
Version 2.1
22 September 2003
HiJack does perfectly and easily what's it's supposed to do, even here in France. It works well on my IMac OSX and let me collect valued audiofiles. Thanks jac
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
05 September 2003
Do not throw away your Audio Hijack 1.6.5 until you read this! v 2.0 drops support for third party VST plug-ins and its own "crystality" effect. I have to admit I like the v2.0 interface and its ability to work with Eye TV, but calling a program with a reduced feature set an "upgrade" is somewhat misleading. Below is a web site with the older version. http://www.mp3-mac.com/AppsDload/AudioHijack.html
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
08 August 2003
it is really nice for ripping the videos on iTMS. i am cheap.
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
14 July 2003
I had just posted a review about AH and through my own trial and error process, I wanted to make a note: If you're interested in Ah and AH Pro, you cannot use AH 1.6.5 while AH Pro is also installed. I wanted to compare the two so I simply downloaded both apps. But in attempting to open any audio program through AH, the program would crash before recording would start. The developers replied with prompt emails every time and told me that I needed to uninstall AH Pro. Save yourself some time and wipe out everything that's installed, so start from a clean slate by reinstalling AH 1.6.5 by itself. Doing this worked. I thank the developers for giving me the info, which I'm passing on to you. I had already rated the pgrm with 5/5 in a review post, so will not rate again.
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
14 July 2003
Definitely worth the $16, not only for the app, but for the rather prompt responses from customer support. The authors have a money back guarantee, also. Try thumbing with the filters as you record while listening to the music in some headphones to get the full effect of how your audio changes. I'm even considering upgrading to the pro version, but I'll see how far I can push the limits of Audio Hijack... but AH has some wide- ranging capabilities, probably more than I may need. I will also post a note in troubleshooting as well from something I learned during my initial use. Bottom line: Easy install, easy use (I use Quicktime as my audio source for mp3s) and versatile use. Mac OSX 10.2.6, Quicktime 6.3 on a Beige G3/233 MHz.
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
10 June 2003
I paid for it a few hours ago but if you'll notice on the support page it says it can take up to 48 hours to get the code so relax...
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
10 June 2003
Um...I coughed up the sixteen beans so where's my registration code?
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
18 April 2003
First of all, I want to thank their Customer Service Dept for being responsive to all my questions and emails. Once I understood everything I realized the process is easy and great. Have since recorded songs with no problem. Highly recommend.
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
01 February 2003
Terrific.
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
20 January 2003
Great!! I have been looking for a program like this on the mac ever since the windows program called totalrecorder came out. Now I also can record songs like my
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
30 December 2002
I use it to record live realaudio streams so I can listen to them later. It works very well. Only problem is that the real player must not be running (audio hijack has to launch it) which is not really a problem but it won't quit the application when it is done recording. This defeats the ability to do more than a single unattended recording. Otherwise, very well done.
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
25 December 2002
The best 16 dollars I've ever spent on software. Does everything it claims, and more, and brilliant help files make using it for the first time a piece of cake. In short, can convert any piece of sound from any application into AIFF format, and can boost sound output at the same time. Too many other bells and whistles to mention. Buy this today.
Like
Version 1.6.5
Anonymous
12 December 2002
Excellent software! Countless uses, and a great price. Download it now.
Like
Version 1.6