Back to OnMyCommand page
OnMyCommand free download for Mac

OnMyCommand Reviews

3.2
15 April 2015

Execute command line via contextual menu.

flash-2
01 June 2015

Most helpful

Magnificent.
Like (1)
Version 3.2

Read 24 OnMyCommand User Reviews

Rate this app:

flash-2
01 June 2015
Magnificent.
Like (1)
Version 3.2
Beige
19 January 2011
For anyone looking to make contextual menus for command line operations on files in Snow Leopard, I've done a bunch with Automator. I used to depend on OMC but learned how to make Services with shell script operations to mostly fill what I was using OMC for: http://polygonspixelsandpaint.tumblr.com/post/2187902478
Like (1)
Version 2.3
Kzx72
05 September 2009
The nested contextual menus are NO MORE in Snow Leopard (Hallelujah!) Developer, any chance of an update for this latest OS release?
Like (2)
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
macupdate-robert-dreamcore
22 October 2009
http://free.abracode.com/cmworkshop/macosx_10_6_snow_leopard_and_contextual_menu_plugins.html
Like (2)
Version 2.1
Bubbamac
04 December 2007
One of my favorite programs! Only issue in Leopard (isn't an OMC issue, but a Leopard issue), is the stupid nested contextual menus. Anyone have a workaround for moving everything to the main menu so we don't have to go to "More ->" and wait for the rest of the menu to load? Argg...
Like (1)
Version 1.9
2 answer(s)
tom-dev
tom-dev
04 December 2007
The "More" submenu in Finder is very annoying and I don't know of any workaround for that. Apple did not provide any preference settings to return to previous behavior. Apple will listen only if many users complain, so I strongly advise you to go to Mac OS X feedback page: http://www.apple.com/macosx/feedback/ and tell them what you think about it. Tom Abracode
Like (1)
Version 1.9
Zeba
Zeba
21 April 2009
The developer of Springy seems to have managed it...
Like
Version 2.1
Morjovy
12 September 2007
Super tool! However, OMCEdit is slightly buggy for me. I understand it is free, so many thanks to its developer! In spite of some bugs it is very powerful and handy. -- Also I want to write about my problem, maybe somebody will help me to solve it. In some cases "not Finder Window" doesnt work and command becomes visible when i click between files. anybody knows how to solve this? i cannot find any contact or forum to get support...
Like
Version 1.8
4 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
12 September 2007
At the developer's webpage, at the bottom of the page you'll find this: http://abracode.com/GetInTouch.html
Like
Version 1.8
Morjovy
Morjovy
12 September 2007
yes i know but on abracode page they wrote they dont support OMCEdit. And the contact on Kurt's page (the developer of OMCEdit) returns "Mail delivery failed" message. Contact seems to be dead...
Like
Version 1.8
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
12 September 2007
Well, sorry... I tried using google to find some support info or group and could not find anything useful.
Like
Version 1.8
tom-dev
tom-dev
30 October 2007
Subscribe to mailing list to get informal support from developers and the OMC users: http://abracode.com/mailman/listinfo/omc_abracode.com
Like (1)
Version 1.8
Tuishimi
16 March 2007
Love this app, use it with Finder to bring back some of the things I missed with BeOS. Works well, easy to use/configure. Wishlist: I now use PathFinder exclusively and, obviously, OMC doesn't work with Path Finder (I don't even know if PF has hooks it could use). So, now if I use Finder menu items to use OMC, Finder is started. Otherwise, fantastic little tool!
Like
Version 1.7.2
2 answer(s)
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
Interacto-Labs-Inc-
10 May 2007
I use PF exclusivly too, and OMC works for me (always did).
Like
Version 1.8
Kaz219
Kaz219
04 June 2008
Doesn't for me either. 10.5.3 and Path Finder 4.8.5...
Like
Version 1.9
hced
12 January 2007
I'm utterly amazed how powerful this is. Very hard rocking piece of work. I hope it will continue to work in Leopard and the future.
Like
Version 1.7.2
Hughdro
18 April 2006
Version 1.7 worked beautifully on my G4 running 10.3.9. 1.7.1 doesn't work at all. Where can I find version 1.7?
Like
Version 1.7.1
Jecwobble
12 April 2006
Using 10.3.9 on a G4 iMac, I downloaded and installed 1.7.1 twice and it never worked- my custom context menus did not show up. I replaced 1.7.1 with 1.7 and got my menus back. Perhapds the universal binary isn't working properly
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
24 July 2005
OMCEdit 1.7 final is released and supports all features planned for final OMC 1.7 release. Please note that current OMC 1.7b1 does not support the following features which are already available in OMCEdit UI: 1. output dialog autoclose timeout 2. version requirements checking 3. default filename for "Save as" dialog 4. __FRONT_APPLICATION_NAME__ & __FRONT_PROCESS_ID__ 5. Default text with objects for input dialog (old-style, static default text works as it used to) Tom Abracode
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
24 July 2005
I have been using OMCEdit with On My Command for over a year without any problems. Works well and allows you to edit the OMC sets very easily. If you don't have OMC you should get it and use OMCEdit to manage OMC.
Like
Version 1.7
Anonymous
02 March 2005
I'm noticing a few bugs with 1.7b1. Primarily that scripts are not being applied to all selected items and OMCEdit is playing havoc with the ordering of my menus. Looking forward to b2.
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
21 February 2005
Just fantastic! Definetly an ESSENTIAL piece of software. Way to go TOM!
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
21 February 2005
Version 1.7b1 is one of the most significant updates in OMC history. A lot of effort was put into making it a complete GUI development environment for shell scripts and AppleScripts. With this new version you can build a very powerful applet just by editing resources and connecting controls to scripts. This beta version is pretty stable but please report bugs you find. There are a couple of features which will be added before it is final but the greatest need is for documentation. We would like to ask OMC users to help us write a manual and tutorial. Example applications and scripts are needed too. Final version will also need nice PNG images for predefined custom output windows. Icon artists may contribute droplet icons for use with DropletBuilder. Anyone who helps with OMC will receive a free license of MailTemplate, EntourageTemplate or ClipMasterCM. This tool is unique to Mac OS X and with your help it can become better and attract more Mac users.
Like
Version 1.7b1
Anonymous
22 August 2004
Absolutely essential. Easily replaces about a dozen other CMMs and Services I had installed. If you're more prolific with *nix scripting languages than with Carbon/C++ (or if you just want to do something from a contexual menu without shelling out the $$ for CodeWarrior) this is your answer.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
16 July 2004
The ultimate CM plugin. Easily replace ALL others plugins.
Like
Version 1.6
Jimw
16 July 2004
With the additions of some of the new commands to the library this as already pointed out must have has even gotten better. For example when combined with this authors free Quick Access product and another product, Default Folder, which enhances all of the Open and Save Dialogs of OSX, these 3 products of which the only fee is $25 for Default Folder, replace over $50 worth of separate CM products from another vendor and will launch, move, copy, print, delete, compress, list, navigate and get information about files and folders from your CM Menu. The fact that this developer's products are being offered for free, is frankly unbelievable as these products have a professional and commercial look and feel to them by almost any definition other than price. This product is one of, if not the most incredible values for the Macintosh in software currently available that I know of. Not only that, because of its "toolkit" structure, it just keeps getting better and better because of user contributions. Disclosure: I have contributed a free script to the OMC library that enables Default Folder to be used as a CM in OMC.
Like
Version 1.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 October 2004
JimW, I saw your post about DFX Menu over at the Default Folder review - DFX Menu with OMC does not work for me on OS 10.3.5. I see the plug-in in the Contextual Menu but no SubMenu. Do you maintain a page to explain exactly how your plug-in is supposed to work with DFX? Thanks AM
Like
Version 1.6.1
20 February 2004
Quits immediately after startup. eMac 1GHz, 1GB RAM, Mac OS 10.3.2
Like
Version 1.5.6r2
7 answer(s)
Knut-Lorenzen
Knut-Lorenzen
29 February 2004
Are you running any Haxies from Unsanity? There are known issues
Like
Version 1.5.6r2
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 February 2004
what rot... issues? such as? I have used Unsanity's haxies since they came out and they have NEVER been an issue, never caused ANY problem.
Like
Version 1.5.6r2
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 May 2004
Haxies are, as their name suggests, "hacks" and might use undocumented behaviour of your OS or take advantage of stuff that is subject to change, hence they are prone to errors or even crashes, especially in case you update your system.
Like
Version 1.5.6r2
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 May 2004
yeah, right. i too use several Unsanity haxies and they have always worked perfectly even after upgrading OS X (currently have 10.3.3 installed), stop spreading FUD.
Like
Version 1.5.6r2
Knut-Lorenzen
Knut-Lorenzen
31 May 2004
Works now with Haxies installed :)
Like
Version 1.5.6r3
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
If you two posters had actually read the developer's post, as opposed to being dingbats, you'd have seen that he simply said the following: "There are known issues." He never said with whose software the issues lay. That said, there have been *NUMEROUS* issues over the various versions of Unsanity (I should also mention I am a paid user of several of their products, and that I like them.) software. So, you two are most likely falling into one of three categories: 1. Unsanity propagandists (unlikely) 2. Short-term Unsanity end-users. (unlikely) 3. Lucky. (most likely). That also said, I have had no issues with current versions of Unsanity products installed at the moment (Shapeshifter 2, Silk). Now, where can I get OMCEdit? The dev's site seems to be down.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 July 2005
Okay, found it -- it's now bundled with OMC.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
20 January 2004
A must have. Does what all other simple cm plugins do, plus it's free.
Like
Version 1.5.6
Jimw
20 January 2004
This is one of those tools this will seem very imposing to the naive or casual user, in fact, it can be very scary, but trust me it is worth while spending some time with, figuring out. For once you get it installed and get a few things running, you will wonder how you got along without it. For one thing this is not brain surgery or rocket science. With a little bit of time and effort it can be figured out by most anyone. Secondly while it has many options or commands available you do not have to install them all, or half of them or even 10 of them. Even if you only use a couple of them it can become a very useful tool and a great time saver. Just pick the ones you understand and might find useful. If you don't understand a command or it does not make sense, just skip it or leave it out. That is what makes this tool so great. You can tune it to use the tools that work for you. Not only that, if you don't like what is there, you can build your own. This product does have the potential of replacing just about all the other CM's you own or want. And of course with the added benefit of the fact that it is free, supported by and contributed to by the user community. This is another one of those "must have" products. It is definitely worth giving a try.
Like
Version 1.5.6
Anonymous
27 October 2003
A-WE-SO-ME!
Like
Version 1.5.5
Anonymous
09 May 2003
I recommend it to everyone.
Like
Version 1.5.2
Anonymous
02 March 2003
excellent stuff but get this omcedit thing too for authoring commands
Like
Version 1.4.2
Anonymous
02 March 2003
By far the best CM around. You can do almost everything with this one that all the other CM (even those that wants $$$) are striving to do. There are >100 comands already, simply great. And it is FREE. CHECK IT OUT :)
Like
Version 1.4.2