Back to Xupport page
Xupport free download for Mac

Xupport Reviews

3.6.0
31 October 2009

Optimize your OS X installation, configure many hidden options.

Dradrienyouell
16 December 2011

Most helpful

Laurent Müller seems to have gone out of business, no Xupport upgrade for Lion and his web pages are empty. Pity, as others have said, Xupport was the best Maintenance utility. He was slow in getting out the Snow Leopard upgrade. Fare thee well if you are ill Laurent. Adrien x
Like (3)
Version 3.6.0

Read 68 Xupport User Reviews

Rate this app:

Panpagan
23 December 2013
This was my preferred tool for years. I'm sad seeing it going abandoned.
Like
Version 3.6.0
Mark3785
23 July 2013
Abandonware. It hasn't been updated in years and the developer's site is gone. It was nice while it lasted but it has been incompatible since Lion. Annoying since it wasn't cheap.
Like
Version 3.6.0
Dradrienyouell
16 December 2011
Laurent Müller seems to have gone out of business, no Xupport upgrade for Lion and his web pages are empty. Pity, as others have said, Xupport was the best Maintenance utility. He was slow in getting out the Snow Leopard upgrade. Fare thee well if you are ill Laurent. Adrien x
Like (3)
Version 3.6.0
Jbmelby
01 November 2009
Thanks very much for the much-needed update!
Like
Version 3.6.0
Yappa
31 October 2009
This has always been my favourite. Some very powerful features. Lead the pack too, before there was a 'pack'. Since I installed SL (10.6) I have waited, hoping ... :-)
Like
Version 3.6.0
Jbmelby
02 September 2009
It's unfortunate, because I've used Xupport for years and have found it to be one of my most valuable utilities -- but it's been almost impossible for me to find out when, or even if, there will be a Snow Leopard-compatible version. No one at Applicorn ever seems to answer e-mail, and I never hear about updates until I receive a note that one is available. I sincerely hope that a version for 10.6 will come out soon, but in any event, Applicorn's business model obviously leaves a great deal to be desired. It's almost as though they don't care if they have any customers or not -- and maybe they don't.
Like
Version 3.5
Dana-Sutton
13 January 2009
It lets you rebuild your desktop???? Wow, that's a blast from the past!
Like
Version 3.5
Xupport
12 January 2008
This is a developer message to all users who have problems with invisible file. 1. This is not a bug at all - This is a feature. In Xupport-Settings-Finder there is a option called "Show hidden files and folders". If this option is activated the Finder will display "all" files (including hidden system files as .DS_Store). 2. This option can easily be reset. Open Xupport and go to Settings-Finder, deactivate the "Show hidden files and folders" option or click the "Defaults" button. THEN restart the Finder (or the Computer) to make the changes take effect. If you anyway have problems to make them invisible again, please contact me at http://www.applicorn.com.
Like (2)
Version 3.4.2
macroxx-ultra
12 January 2008
I have a problem with invisible files. Xupport made them visible, but it can't make them invisible again. I tried it several times, but Xupport always fails to make them invisible. Xupport also has problems finding the Terminal... I wonder where I have hidden it. Ohh, it's in the standard folder, I haven't moved the Terminal out of it. But Xupport keeps asking for the Terminal. Xupport says it's the "swiss army knife" and that might be true, because both don't really work. :-(
Like (1)
Version 3.4.2
Joshua-Mcglyn
08 November 2007
I used Xupport 3.3 to hide icons from my desktop when I was using Tiger. I've upgraded to Leopard and I want to make icons visible on my desktop. Since Xupport is currently unavailable on Leopard, I can't restore the icons. I tried the uninstaller. Still not working. Any idea to resolve this problem? Thanks.
Like
Version 3.3.3
1 answer(s)
Xupport
Xupport
14 November 2007
1. Open the Terminal application (Utilities folder) 2. Paste the following command line and press enter: defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool No 3. Re-login or restart.
Like
Version 3.3.3
macrat
08 March 2007
Before I upgraded to 3.3.1, Xupport worked very well. However, the first time I used it after the upgrade, it gave me problems...After it finished, I had it set to restart. When my machine restarted, things were messed up. I couldn't use the mouse, PPPoE settings were gone, etc. etc....I'll uninstall it and go back to the previous version or just forget it.
Like
Version 3.3.1
Slob
17 November 2006
I can't say what this version is like but the price definitely is an issue here. I bought v.1 in '03 for $20 and then came an upgrade fee... At the same time Onyx appeared for free which pretty much covers all my needs since. I'd give it another look if the developer would honour his original registration deal and stop trying to do a Norton when the OS gets updated or whatever excuse he uses.
Like
Version 3.3
Unspeakable
11 September 2006
This was once agreat program and was definitely worth the shareware fee. No longer though! I've had a wee problem as this program since installing OSX 10.4.x. Xupport consistently results in an ÒError #13 Ñ Permissions DeniedÓ message post in the log after all attemps to run it. Xupport locks up, apparently running in a loop, and has to be forced quit. I've sent 3 separate emails during the past 3 months to the author stating this problem, and including my registration number and a copy of my purchase confirmation. I have not as yet to received any courtesy of a reply nor any fix to this problem. As far as I'm concerned the author's promise of support is a sham.
Like
Version 3.2.2
Apple-Coder
12 May 2006
Unsure of what you people mean by swapping files, I have never had that need, so $20 for something that I have two apps that do it for free, not worth it. I am sure it is a decent app, but the free one's are not giving me troubles.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Cyril-Blanc
06 March 2006
I have tried to move my VM files to my second HD. Xupport does not propose my second HD in "Swap Storage Volume"
Like
Version 3.1.9
1 answer(s)
Michaeldmartin
Michaeldmartin
13 May 2006
It would be too slow.. VM is already slow on the internal hd, going through USB will make it even SLOWER.
Like
Version 3.2.1
Antisys
03 February 2006
I must authenticate Xupport 3.1.8 three times to work!!!...I'm using Tiger 10.4.4
Like
Version 3.1.8
Anonymous
23 September 2005
Bad tech support. Swap file reallocation does not work in Tiger, 10.4.2
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
12 August 2005
Great! works perfect :-) I've been longing for this Tiger compatible upgrade, swapfile relocation works great too :-)
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
12 August 2005
Crashed after executing Cron? tried trashing prefsb but still crashes
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
12 August 2005
Downloaded to try out, but the Swap file screen is greyed out / can't access it. ???
Like
Version 3.0
Dradrienyouell
26 May 2005
Laurent: When will Tiger-compatible Xupport be released? At present Xupport quits; "Not compatible with OS".
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
11 January 2005
Great app! And also localized into Italian!!!
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
19 December 2004
Excellent Application . No other app lets you move swap files so easily. Sure ther are other apps that do the other functions but the swap thing is killer. Try messing around in the termnal a bit. i'll be you do more harm than good. I'll buy it again if I loose my number.
Like
Version 2.3
Flash1296
18 December 2004
OOPS! Addendum to my review below. At $19 this appl' is not all that overpriced. I would pay $10 and I suppose that if my arm was twisted I could squeeze out $12.
Like
Version 2.3
Flash1296
18 December 2004
Image posted today will NOT mount. It will not verify with Disk Utility. Good appl' but far too expensive when so many other cheaper appl's will run the same routines. Review refelcts impressions of last version(recently) released.
Like
Version 2.3
Anonymous
26 November 2004
'Prevents applescript error message when clicking toolbar items very quickly' Not now, not ever. Jamais. Niemals. Never. When you get AppleScript for 2 MB, sorry, but the best way to optimize your system is to skip the download. This app sure looked ugly once upon a time, and it's looking better and better - but nothing here is not already available on the system. I sure wish this type of application would take a hike - one way...
Like
Version 2.2.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 November 2004
That's a very dumb review. Good application.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Anonymous
09 July 2004
WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY too much money. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Like
Version 2.2
Anonymous
31 May 2004
There are so many other programs (some of them free) that do this same assortment of terminal commands in a GUI interface that there are few points that set Xupport apart. The niceest feature is changing th location for swap files, which is the one and only reason I'd consider buying this porgram. Unfortanetly, it didn't seem to work too well on my system. It changed the location for swap files and them seemed to forget about them after a week or two. Anyway, the other useful features (cleaning caches and maintenance scripts) can all be done with Onyx, so I use that instead now. Good app, though.
Like
Version 2.0
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 November 2004
When your machine "forgets" where the swap file is it's because it had a crash at some point and the swap file got "corrupted". Then when the Mac boots, the swap file isn't marked "clean" and it makes a new one, usually on the boot volume, named the same as your original except it changes it's /Volumes/Drive/ link to /Volumes/Drive 1/ . To fix it, just hit the "restore" button in this application, reboot, then reselect it again. There is a great hint on http://www.macosxhints.com/ on how to add to your rc file a section to delete the corrupt file before checking it's clean, therefor making it boot safely and with your original swap file location you chose. Regards Bobbi
Like
Version 2.2.2
Anonymous
16 February 2004
Awesome! Does some great things!
Like
Version 2.0b11
Anonymous
09 February 2004
Nice and useful, even if for maintenance and optimization I prefer Onyx. Also because it's free. I'm all for developers charging a fair amount when the software actually does things that are not included in the OS and puts a lot of extra care and attention in the development - like say, Transmit for FTP uploads and maintaining a web site, that's well worth the money it costs. But when the whole OS X costs $99, is it right to charge $19 for a simple interface for basic terminal commands? You judge...
Like
Version 2.0b10
Anonymous
18 January 2004
talk about screwng up my OS. After using this I could not move between windows and I could not click on finder and have it come to front. Folders I had made and moved on the desktop would not appear untill I restored back to default in this app. I am sure other things work in this app but nothing was right after I tried it. I am glad I could restore to default.
Like
Version 2.0b7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
21 January 2004
what did you do that screwed up your computer?
Like
Version 2.0b8
Anonymous
31 December 2003
Thanks for creating an app that I can use with ease. This can be seen in the GUI that you can configured. Very Apple-like and a joy to use. Keep up the great work. Thanks.
Like
Version 2.0b7
Anonymous
31 December 2003
I've been using this almost from it's inception. It has always been a stable way to maintain X. The man page browser is awesome stuff. As the system (OS X) evolved, so did this quality piece of software. By the way, it was started as shareware. These last few months it's been in free beta testing. It is well worth $20. Just try it and see for yourself.
Like
Version 2.0b7
Anonymous
31 December 2003
Very nice software, great job. Thank you.
Like
Version 2.0b7
nitpicking the cosmetics those people As long as other apps agree with those moneys giving something doesn't do any damage offering clean socks charging this guy
Like
Version 2.0b7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
31 December 2003
Huh? Is the post above in english?
Like
Version 2.0b7
John Halbig
30 December 2003
Well, and the whole "ugly button" argument is now moot as of 2.0b7: A nicely done row of icons now graces this incredible piece of freeware (that can't be emphasized enough, after all... this handy utility doesn't cost a CENT). Just the man page browser alone is worth the time to download -- add in the system backup utility and swap file tweaking, and it great. "But wait, there's more...", in fact too much to go into here -- I'm STILL playing with it. Nice job!
Like
Version 2.0b7
Anonymous
30 December 2003
Enjoy it while you can. If you look on the web site of this app it appears that this a beta preview and when it reaches final they will be charging $19.00 US per license.
Like
Version 2.0b7
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 December 2003
and, no doubt, this current freeware version will expire about the same time the shareware version comes out. feh.
Like
Version 2.0b7
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 December 2003
shades of Cocktail... and that developer (Cocktail) was *really sneaky about switching over from freeware to shareware. Just not ethical, the way he did that. (YEAH YEAH YEAH he has a right to charge for his work, BUT dammit he was downright SNEAKY about how he did it, so shut up!)
Like
Version 2.0b7
Anonymous
30 December 2003
I have to agree with those people who slam folks for nitpicking the cosmetics. Here's a guy giving something away for free when authors of other apps that do (some) of the same things are charging money, sometimes an absurd amount of money. As long as the software works and doesn't to any damage, we ought to be carrying this guy around town in a sedan chair and offering to wash his car, not taking potshots at him.
Like
Version 2.0b7
Anonymous
12 December 2003
aren't we being a bit shallow! The man writes a free application to help others get more use out of OSX and you shoot him down for his choice of buttons? LOOSER! Get a life, I for one would like to say ..... Thanks!
Like
Version 2.0b6
Anonymous
11 December 2003
"I like the use of the color buttons across the top. It's about time someone noticed and used these in their application's design. " UGH. What are you talking about? Those buttons are hideous. You have to actually work hard to make such bad buttons. Ew, a row of identically colored buttons, my how informative. Why not use icons? As for the rest of the app....who knows. I never made it past the screenshots (which I am thankful for, since I needn't bother downloading the application now).
Like
Version 2.0b6
Anonymous
09 December 2003
great utility My network is better now!
Like
Version 2.0b5
Anonymous
01 December 2003
I like the use of the color buttons across the top. It's about time someone noticed and used these in their application's design. I've been with this utilitiy for some time now -as it evolved with the Mac OS X system. It's simply still the best. It will tell you how to use it right in the application. Follow it's logic, and or read the instructions. It's reallly not that difficult.
Like
Version 2.0b5
Anonymous
09 November 2003
You don't need to use advanced features for this to be useful. If you just like to browse man files, this has a nice interface. It can also run your cron files manually, which may not be getting done, otherwise.
Like
Version 2.0b3
David113
08 November 2003
Not a program to let loose on the amateur - which I am! Screwed up my mail and safari programs.
Like
Version 2.0b3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 November 2003
wait.. you gave it a bad review because of a USER ERROR? what kind of idiot are you... because you were able to screw up yourself doing things that you shouldn't unless you know what you are doing, you give it a bad review??
Like
Version 2.0b4
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 November 2003
iceqube was way too harsh, but i would agree that you should NOT have included ratings with a warning to newbies, since being a newbie is not a function of the software.
Like
Version 2.0b4
Anonymous
01 November 2003
Hey, how do you "Turn on/off Guest Access of Apple File Server" in OS X 10.3? It's no longer in NetInfo Manager. Thank you.
Like
Version 2.0b2
1 answer(s)
xupport
xupport
01 November 2003
In Panther AppleFileServer settings are stored in: /Library/Preferences/com.apple.AppleFileServer.plist I hope this helps you.
Like
Version 2.0b2
Erik
30 October 2003
Deleting LS caches resulted in the finder constantly launching and quitting after reboot. Thanx a lot !!!! reinstalling system upgrades did not alter the block. xoptimize v. 2.0b1 on MacOS 10.2.8
Like
Version 2.0b1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 November 2003
I must point out that perhaps you should have checked into what the software would do and the effects before letting it loose on your system.
Like
Version 2.0b4
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 November 2003
OK, let's put all the blame on the hasty and ignorant user! Anyway: shit happens - and some troubleshooting hint would be very much appreciated by someone who fell into the pit and damaged the system trying to optimize it. Btw: I'm having the same kind of finder problem after I tried to delete LS caches with v.2.0b4. Doing it with v.2.0b3 caused no problems at all.
Like
Version 2.0b5
Anonymous
03 October 2003
Support from the developer and Xupport for my Mac. What else could be better. I find it handy for browsing my system files and folders too, right down to the .tcshrc and .xinitrc- so it is firmly planted in my dock.
Like
Version 1.3.7
David-Zwerdling
15 September 2003
hedemann: swapcop works fine.
Like
Version 1.3.6
Hedemann
30 June 2003
The ONLY utility that successfully moves your swapfile under 10.2.6. And the developer is very helpful. Do not underestimate this utillity.
Like
Version 1.3.4
Neal
24 June 2003
I have used this for several months and find the $20 cost reasonable. I have saved many hours not having to locate tools and/or learn the inner workings of OSX. I agree Apple could have provided similiar controls, but that's what lets folks fill the void(s).
Like
Version 1.3.3