Back to Meteorologist page
Meteorologist free download for Mac

Meteorologist Reviews

3.2.0
27 August 2019

Popular weather app.

Harv
14 January 2010

Most helpful

The developer just posted this: It's great to see that Meteorologist still has so many faithful users, particularly since Meteo hasn't had a release in nearly 2.5 years. I will do my best to release a new version of Meteo in the coming days/weeks, although I'm currently traveling for business. I noticed that a few other people have offered to help patch the code, and I would welcome those patches! Thanks, Joe -- Whew! I have no problems waiting knowing a fix is in progress-
Like (11)
Version 1.4.8

Read 460 Meteorologist User Reviews

Rate this app:

Huevox
27 June 2019
I have used this app for years. I've learned that set one locality in Preferences/Locations and leave it alone. If you screw around with locations 9999 is your reward. Love this app!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.8
2 answer(s)
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
05 July 2019
You were right, I fully deleted and reinstalled it, and now it’s working again. Thanks.
Like
Geography Is Destiny
Geography Is Destiny
05 July 2019
It seems I spoke too soon. After reinstalling the app it worked fine until I shut down the computer, then upon restart it displayed 9999 again. However, it turns out that the problem was the <here> location designation all along. When I changed that to my actual city name, it worked fine. Go figure.
Like
This version is only 6 days old, and already it’s useless. "9999°" is displayed for each and every weather data provider, including Yahoo. I’ve been using Meteo for over a decade, but for too long now it has been a joke.
Like
Version 3.1.8
Sleek
24 June 2019
Since last Two Updates every Half Hour it shows 9999 Degrees Temperature and only Yahoo Weather works, all other Weather, Weather.com, Weather Underground etc. do not work at all. Before it was working great.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.8
RavenNevermore
22 June 2019
This software used to be good. Now it works for a day or two, and then displays 9999° and doesn't know what city you are in. I'll go in and change to a different server and get the same thing. I had it set for Yahoo! and it still did 9999°. I'm running OS X 10.11.6 on an early 2009 iMac.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.8
RogerKatz
20 June 2019
The current version is 3.1.8
Like
Version 3.1.7
Brun0
25 April 2019
Simply DO NOT WORK on Mojave
Like
Version 3.1.7
1 answer(s)
Maxter
Maxter
20 June 2019
Sorry, but it does work on Mojave.
You should look at the forum to get some help.
Like (1)
djcz
07 March 2019
This software has literally become useless. Even with this newest version (3.1.7), it still displays the dreaded 9999. I was willing to give it one more chance with this latest update, but have now officially given up on this software and switched to WeatherMan permanently, which BTW, works perfectly.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.7
1 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
22 June 2019
Same thing here. I was using this and WeatherMan for a while because they gave slightly different readings, and I wanted to see which one was correct more often. But then this would work for a while and give the 9999 display. So I'm on WeatherMan, but I like the graphics better on this one.
Like (1)
VRH
06 March 2019
New version (3.1.7) is out and they provide a 'current location' feature. Excellent!
Like
Version 3.1.6
Just-Fred
10 February 2019
v3.1.6 crashes on launch for me on macOS 10.14.2: Exception Type: EXC_BAD_INSTRUCTION (SIGILL) Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000001, 0x0000000000000000 Exception Note: EXC_CORPSE_NOTIFY Termination Signal: Illegal instruction: 4 Termination Reason: Namespace SIGNAL, Code 0x4 Terminating Process: exc handler [95553]
Like
Version 3.1.6
Dougster
09 February 2019
Absolutely brilliant. Love it. The developer has worked tirelessly to get his app working again.
Saneman, check the Meterologist forum to solve the problem you have with the app.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.6
Saneman1
09 February 2019
It just says "Loading" now and won't display anything after updating to 3.1.6!
Like
Version 3.1.6
Sleek
29 January 2019
Meterologist is Dead, it has became absolute now. Once it was great but no more.
Like
Version 3.1.4
Jimw
05 January 2019
The current issue at this time is not entirely the Apps fault but the weather sources. These sources have been changing their access and interfaces in order to charge subscription fees and profit from information they get for free or very low cost from the US Government which we as taxpayers already pay for. Hopefully the developer will be able to make changes that will allow users to continue to use this free app, without any subscription fees charged by profiteers.
Like (2)
Version 3.1.4
John132
04 January 2019
As of 1/3/19, Meteorologist is no longer working with OS Mojave 10.14.2?
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4
hmfwic47
05 December 2018
It doesn't like The Weather Underground. It leaves nine's for weather info.
Like
Version 3.1.4
2 answer(s)
Jeffrey-Harris
Jeffrey-Harris
05 December 2018
I use Weatherman through the App Store.
It displays Fahrenheit AND Celsius!!!
Like
Poetry
Poetry
04 January 2019
Good news Meteorologist Classic works on OS 10.11 just fine.
Here's the download link...
https://sourceforge.net/projects/heat-meteo-classic/files/latest/download
Like
Rsoldin
04 December 2018
Not sure why this is being posted now. version 3.1.4 was released June 9, 2018? I have this running all the time, its like glued to my menubar. If it's not running, my screen feels lonely.
Like (1)
Version 3.1.4
Maxter
21 June 2018
3.1.4 is out!
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Jim-Leff
09 April 2018
Latest version has been 3.1.3 since last November.
Like
Version 3.1.2
Anthony1947
14 March 2018
I've been using Meteorologist for many years … but, just like a previous time a couple of years ago, it's dead. Unfortunately for me, it's the best free weather program I've found …  Hopefully …
Like
Version 3.1.2
2 answer(s)
Majestik7
Majestik7
14 March 2018
Worked yesterday. But today forever loading it seems.
Like
Poetry
Poetry
04 January 2019
Good news Meteorologist Classic works on OS 10.11 just fine.
Here's the download link...
https://sourceforge.net/projects/heat-meteo-classic/files/latest
Like
Cowicide
07 February 2018
Just a head's up that MU has old version 3.1.2. Dev site is now up to 3.1.3
Like (1)
Version 3.1.2
Poetry
20 October 2017
Version 3.1.0 does not open on Mac OS 10.9.5. as advertised. Had to go back to version 3.5
Like
Version 3.1.0
2 answer(s)
Annie-Walker
Annie-Walker
21 October 2017
I'm also on Mac OS 10.9.5––won't open for me either, even after taking all the suggestions posted here. Tried everything. I would really have liked to use this fine program...
Like
Poetry
Poetry
04 January 2019
Good news Meteorologist Classic works on OS 10.11 just fine.
Here's the download link...
https://sourceforge.net/projects/heat-meteo-classic/files/latest
Like
hmfwic47
18 October 2017
Works OK under macOS High Sierra. WeatherUnderground is not available as a source.
Like
Version 3.1.0
SmokeStack
09 July 2017
Doesn't this app load on startup, or am I doing something wrong?
Like
Version 3.0.4
1 answer(s)
Sleek
Sleek
29 August 2017
Add Meteorologist in your Login item (System prefrences/Accounts/Login items and when you restart Your Computer it will start.
Like
Sgilbert
04 May 2017
3.0.4 is already out. Reluctant to install due to the ridiculous 3.0. Tempted to stay with 2.0.5 which works great!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.3
Dougster
03 May 2017
Brilliant. The best menu bar weather application for the Mac
Like
Version 3.0.3
Cowicide
18 March 2017
This has been an app that's survived many source issues over the years where others fear to tread. I love how after setting up some API keys I now have 3 weather source comparisons at a glance with my most trusted source at top. I wish it had a radar option, but I simply pull that up via a custom-made script I made with LaunchBar, so that's no biggie.

Take off half-star because I'd like more icon options than the two available. Then again, I guess I could dig into the package and change those myself. Also, I wish the icon would change to the moon phase at night and sun/clouds during day for WU. I see the moon images with Yahoo and OWM, but they just don't seem to be able to work with WU, which is my main image I see unfortunately.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Unblocktheplanet
13 March 2017
Meteorologist is awesome--a must-have app! Used Meteo through many versions and multiple upgrades to OS X, I have weather for eight locations including here at home. I know if Mum or our kid in university are suffering and what's the weather for my next trip. Esp like the little icons of sun & cloud, and moon-phase when it's dark out! One criticism is that the latest Meteo can't seen to customise font and colour for each location, restricted to system font in b/w. Meteo just works! Thank you, Heat!
Like
Version 3.0.0
Harv
09 March 2017
I found the new version (3.0) vastly improved, with the most significant improvement being that it allows one to select amongst 6 different sources from where to obtain their weather feed. And, for those monitoring several cities, each location/city could have a different feed. To allow this feature, each weather location must specify the weather source and have a unique API Key. And this is where one may get confused. To get the unique API Key, one must go to the provided link and complete a simple registration. Then, that source provides the API key. It is that API key which must be cut & pasted in the appropriate field in Meteorologist’s Preferences. IMNHO: Because these keys are so long, it probably wise to cut & save them in your own safe place. Note: Yahoo Weather does not requite an API key.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.0
6 answer(s)
Majestik7
Majestik7
09 March 2017
Harv, which Mac Os are you using? Using 10.9.5 on my i7 MBP Meteorologist 3.0 doesn't start.
Watching Activity Monitor I see Meteorologist display for about 3 seconds then disappears from the Activity Monitor list.
Like
Harv
Harv
10 March 2017
Majestik7

My OS is 10.12.3, but AFAIK, 10.9.x should work.

At this point I suspect (guess) the best and easiest fix is to delete Meteorologist 3.0, including all of its prefs, etc. as well as those from previous versions; and then reinstall.

After reinstalling Meteorologist, the temp will be 9999 and the location defaults to Cupertino. Of course, that can all be resolved when editing your preferences and entering the API key.

Sadly, what I think will work, just ain’t always the case.

So if my help is not, I suggest you post the problem on the Meteorologist Forum: https://sourceforge.net/p/heat-meteo/discussion/268087/
Like (1)
Majestik7
Majestik7
10 March 2017
Thank you, Harv. Unfortunately, it didn't help.


Like
Harv
Harv
11 March 2017
Majestik7,

I just found this on the Meteorologist Forum where the developer said: "I brought up a 10.9.5 system and it's crashing for me also. That's the first step. The next step is the hard one, figuring out what's wrong."

At least we now know the issue is not with your machine.

Hate to speculate, but I guess a fix (v3.0.1) will be released in 7-10 days.
Like (1)
Harv
Harv
13 March 2017
v3.0.1 released. Fixes 10.9.x launch issue.
Like
Majestik7
Majestik7
14 March 2017
Yep, and it's working.
Like
GeogProf
06 March 2017
Version 3.0.0 is now available (and according to the autoupdate warning, it’s very different), but it hasn’t yet been updated here. I wish the dev would so so soon because I’m anxious to read the reviews/comments.
Like
Version 2.0.5
GeogProf
15 November 2016
Meteo 2.0.5 just stopped working today. When I restart my Mac or just restart Meteo, it sits there saying it’s loading but won’t do anything, and when I mouse over it the cursor changes to the spinning beachball of death. Using macOS 10.12.1.
Like
Version 2.0.5
3 answer(s)
anonymous-dingo-826
anonymous-dingo-826
15 November 2016
Same thing just happened to me on the same OS. Had to quit Meteo because of the incessant 'loading'
Like
anonymous-dingo-826
anonymous-dingo-826
15 November 2016
A few hours later and it's working.
Like
Anjin-1
Anjin-1
04 January 2017
I am running OS 10.12.2 and Meteo 2.0.5. It was continuously loading so I closed and relaunched it, but it continues to continuously try (unsuccessfully) to load. Is there anyone still developing this app or has it been abandoned? When it works it is a wonderful little app.

Edit: I was about to quit Meteo, but the menu had a "Refresh" option on it and so I clicked on it out of curiosity. It loaded and displayed the temp & humidity!
Like (1)
julia555sara
27 April 2016
It's really a headache! Couldn't see any weather forecast. Trying to check different cities... Nothing! Bad app.
Like (4)
Version 2.0.5
2 answer(s)
Sleek
Sleek
29 August 2017
I am using Meteorologist for past few years on my Mac OSX 10.6.8 on OSX High Sierra and never had any issues, May be you are doing something wrong while selecting your City (presuming that you are in USA).
Like
Sleek
Sleek
29 August 2017
I have set up 3 cities (New Berlin, New York and Washington) and It shows all City Weather.
Like
Anthony1947
20 April 2016
A couple of problems has cropped up for about 2 1/2 weeks now -- the Pressure information (i.e., barometric pressure) has been showing a reading that is in hundreds - even more than a thousand - of inches, clearly a mistake (it does not correct the info if I change the units in the preferences pane); the weather icon is incorrect after dark - it still shows a daytime-appropriate icon. I use Yahoo as the weather source (as per the preferences pane). I have trashed and emptied the preferences, etc. - all to no avail. Just curious what this could be - especially since it seemed to start so spontaneously.
Like
Version 2.0.4
derfnam
21 March 2016
A problem here with a French Mavericks and Meteorologist Classic latest (1.7.4). When using the Yahoo! server, the Extended Forecast submenu doesn't work. I tried everything: trashing preferences and rebooting, installing on a freshly created user account, event installing on an external drive with a freshly installed Mavericks. It just won't work. Does anybody with a French Mavericks have the same issue?
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
Derekcurrie
25 February 2016
Um, huh? It boots on 10.9.5, says its starting up in the menu bar, then... Nothing. It is entirely inaccessible. Nothing to see. Nothing to do. A total FAIL for this specific version. I had to go into Activity Monitor to verify that it was running, then kill the process. So...?
Like
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
15 March 2016
Sounds like you weren't connected to the Internet.
Like (1)
Wts
25 February 2016
Tried this in OS 10.10.5 ( yosemite ) . Setting up a forecast for any given location is sheer torture with this application. Gone back to using " Temps " a more common sense application.
Like (1)
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
15 March 2016
1. Touch menu bar icon
2. Choose controls > preferences
3. Type in a city name and display name
4. Close

That's "sheer torture"?
Like (2)
Frankp
25 February 2016
In the 2.0 version there are only two sources of weather data, and the temperature shown by Meteorologist is as much as 20 degrees F different from the actual temperature in my area. I finally gave up on the app and bought a wifi enabled weather monitor. So now I can see what the actual temperatures are.
Like
Version 2.0.4
1 answer(s)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
15 March 2016
There are only two sources of weather data because those ARE the only usable sources of weather data. If one doesn't work for you, try the other.

Or, sure, spend $$$ for your own weather station. But Meteorologist isn't claiming to be a substitute for that.
Like (1)
lalicata
15 February 2016
Hey MacUpdate, your screen shot of the program is from version 1.6! Come on get with the program. Post a screen shot from any version 2.0.x
Like (3)
Version 2.0.3
Noah R
15 February 2016
I have used Meteo for years. This version has one big drawback - reordering the cities I monitor. I travel back and forth between various places and would like to easily reorder them. Any Idea how?
Like
Version 2.0.3
2 answer(s)
Jim-Leff
Jim-Leff
15 March 2016
click in menu bar
choose controls > preferences
put the cities in whatever order you'd like..
Like
Noah R
Noah R
15 March 2016
That means rewriting each entry. I have 4 cities listed. You cannot move them to reorder. I can rewrite them in a new order but that is tedious.
Like
Jb4
15 February 2016
New version has been operating wonderfully for weeks now... love it... but today, Monday...(using 2.0.3) there is an issue. Open Weather still shows Sunday's forecast and Yahoo goes back to Saturday. This happened a few times during the development phase and hopefully can be fixed quickly. Thanks again to the developer for bringing this great app. back from the grave.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Whipple
11 February 2016
OS 10.6.8
Used it for a year or so then it went down. I was happy to see it return, downloaded for my OS, worked for a day but this morning, awakening from sleep mode, it is not updating. Temp reads 70F when real temp is 52F. Settings refuse to be changed and and weather channel selection gives one choice that will connect, second choice is not available due to "over usage".
3 stars given because it may be a software problem or weather channel problem so i compromised as MUpdate won't let me post without star rating.
Nice little app when it works.
Like
Version 2.0.1
timmerk
08 February 2016
Great app! Been using it for years. Developer very responsive to feature requests, such as using system font in 2.0.1.
Like
Version 2.0.1
droscar
02 February 2016
Version 2.0.1 is available at the developer's site. Scroll down to the changes list and select 2.0.1.
Like
Version 2.0.0
steveoliver360
26 January 2016
When I first installed Meteorologist I was disappointed in the display. I use dark mode in El Capitan and the information wasn't visible unless I rolled my mouse over it. I switched to light mode and everything worked fine. So I switched back to dark and started tinkering with the fonts, that did it. I'm now very happy with this great program!
Like
Version 2.0.0
Unblocktheplanet
26 January 2016
Meteo's back! I, too, had replaced Meteo in the interim but Meteo looks even better in my menubar now. Adding cities is far easier (no lookup) and Yahoo Weather seems to be instant. Love ya, Meteo!
Like
Version 2.0.0
Tryme
26 January 2016
I've had Meteorologist on my Macs for longer than I can remember, since it was very first released. Through the years it has served me well, but there have certainly been some bumps along the way! While I am pleased to see it return, this time I'm not so sure that I will revert to using it - out of necessity I had to find another app, which has actually been a little refreshing. It provides the same information as Meteo, but with a fresh, modern look more in keeping with the latest versions of Mac OS. I'm not going to name it here because this review is about Meteo and it is not my intention to criticise, merely to make constructive commentary. That said, this version updated without a hitch (I trashed the pref file to avoid any potential glitches) and was quickly providing a wealth of weather information in my menu bar - for free. Thank you to the developer for bringing a long time trusty app back.
Like
Version 2.0.0
castro15
25 January 2016
Would be nice if the system font was used as the default, as there is no way to select the system font from the list of fonts in El Capitan. Also, Retina icons would be great. Thanks!
Like
Version 2.0.0
1 answer(s)
timmerk
timmerk
08 February 2016
2.0.1 allows you to select the system font - thank you!
Like
Cameraguy5
25 January 2016
Just installed but won't launch. I've completely uninstalled/trashed (preferences etc.) the previous one and rebooted, but still no love. Anyone have any ideas of what to do? Thanks! (I'm giving it 5 stars, for when it works it's great and I'm sure I'll finally get working again.)
Like
Version 2.0.0
hmfwic47
25 January 2016
I installed it. Ran flawlessly, no problems. Haven't tried if it works on overseas locations. Has anyone tried?
Like
Version 2.0.0
lalicata
25 January 2016
I have been using this program since……forever. I gave input as it went thru alpha and beta testing and can say that is a GEM of a program. I am running it on a late 2011 MBP that was on 10.10.5 and now 10.11.3. It ran well on both. The authors are doing this for no pay, just spending their blood, sweat and tears to make this program phenomenal. It is better than what Apple put in their Notification program. I am outside the USA so I have yet to see Radar but other than that, this is THE GEM of small weather programs that reside on your menu bar.
Like
Version 2.0.0
Jim-Leff
25 January 2016
For those who don't know the backstory, a hobbyist dev took up the job of modernizing this once beloved app. And he overshot his mark....the result (after a LOT....a LOT of work) is better than the old app. Super robust and configurable. A bona-fide gem.
Like
Version 2.0.0