Back to DiskCatalogMaker page
DiskCatalogMaker free download for Mac

DiskCatalogMaker Reviews

8.1.1
26 March 2020

Catalog your disks.

mtkushner
12 October 2019

Most helpful

Fast. Efficient. Complete. Everything you could ask for in an app.
Like (1)
Version 7.5.6

Read 131 DiskCatalogMaker User Reviews

Rate this app:

sunsurfer
02 April 2020
It's a must-have app for anyone with a lot of content organized across multiple volumes. Delightful to use and saves me tons of time especially when I need to find some offline asset from an old project who's name I can't quite remember. I have terabytes of 4K, HD, and SD video, photos, and other personal and professional content...some projects from 25 years back. As a bonus, the developer is responsive and continues to refine the app and keep it up to date.
Like
Version 8.1.1
luclevy
30 March 2020
Nice, efficient app. Do the job.
Like (1)
Version 8.1.1
Alphadoug
20 March 2020
I have used this app for years. It is the fastest and easiest way to see everything that is on an external drive. And it is easy to drill down to the details. Highly Recommended.
Like
Version 8.1
soundsnap
20 March 2020
Best app I've found to catalog multiple removable drives (and networked drives). Surprisingly fast scanning. Simple, efficient layout. Easy to navigate interface. Able to search all scanned volumes at once.
Like
Version 8.0.1
richard-221
18 March 2020
This app doesn't do your laundry or take the dog for a walk but it does exactly as the title says. It is the best and most affordable method of tracking content spanning multiple disks and keeping track of what the stuff is. I have 50 hard drives in storage that are filled with my photo archive spanning 40-years. I never know where anything on those drives are and it use to take me ages going through drives to find what I needed. Now I just use Disk Catalog Maker and it takes minutes or less. Great program. A must have.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
mrt209
04 March 2020
Works great, indexes fast, and developer is very responsive. Very useful, thanks!
Like
Version 8.0.1
adam-144
03 March 2020
Fantastic app for keeping track of data spread across a shelf full of drives. Simple and fast!
Like
Version 8.0.1
meganwaxeloquent
19 February 2020
We have been using Disk Tracker at my office, but when I did the Catalina update on my Mac, Disk Tracker would no longer work! I did some research, and we decided to go with DiskCatalogMaker as our replacement. After reading so many good reviews, I am very hopeful that this will work!
Like
Version 8.0.1
Anters
17 February 2020
This app is the best in class. I previously used NeoFinder, but it was soooo slow and affected the speed of my Mac. I found it awful. I was so glad when I found DiskCatalogMaker, because it is way faster at scanning, super fast at searching my catalogues and takes up hardly any system resources. One thing that both apps can't do is scan NAS drives. I hope the DiskCatalogMaker developers work out how to do this in future and then it will be even better.
Like
Version 8.0.1
1 answer(s)
Anters
Anters
17 February 2020
I've just discovered v8.0.1 can scan my NAS drive (NetGear ReadyNAS NV+) and was wicked fast.
Like
Version 8.0.1
archhill
01 February 2020
Was a user of DiskTracker but it died with Catalina. This looks like a good upgrade from that program.
Like
Version 7.9
abbashousemedia
23 January 2020
Love this software for cataloging. I have SO many drives with years of video on them, so I would be lost without a way to easily search for files.
Like (1)
Version 7.9
Tmatre
18 January 2020
This works great. I have a lot of different Harddrives with Video jobs on them and now i can find the jobs on my drives very quickly. Scans are super Fast
Like
Version 7.9
hongchan2
04 January 2020
It even supports Traditional Chinese titles.
Like
Version 7.8
fopazo
01 January 2020
Very useful software to keep track of all my Photo backUps! necessary update to fit with the latest MAC OS
Like
Version 7.8
Laptopleon
19 December 2019
I have been using it for almost seventeen years. Back then I tried several apps and this one was the best by far. Ever since, it has gained a ton of options and it's kept up to date with the latest version of macOS. I don't need it every day but it is of great value to me.
Like
Version 7.6.0
markfogarty
19 December 2019
Fast and very user friendly. Excellent App
Like
Version 7.6.0
teddykumpel
16 December 2019
Great replacement for Disk Tracker!
Like
Version 7.5.9
yannsi
06 December 2019
Application très complète et unique en son genre : je n’ai jamais trouvé d’équivalent.
Like
Version 7.5.9
alessandrosollecito
05 December 2019
simple, useful and amazing.... I should have had installed before
Like
Version 7.5.9
ross_1
03 December 2019
Great App for content creators. There's no easy solution to data management as a videographer but this app helps me know exactly what HDD to plug in for the file I'm looking for.
Like
Version 7.5.9
xianxiangzhu
28 November 2019
I used it to manage my videos, digital books. If you have many external disks, this app is a perfect tools. You can't find better one.
Like
Version 7.5.9
yoshihiroaoki
26 November 2019
This is good software, I have used this software since over 10years ago
Like
Version 7.5.9
ash-trey
14 November 2019
This app is a life-saver for me with 20+ large hard drives full of client footage to keep track of. I love that I don't have to have a drive plugged in to know what's on it, or use some archaic Terminal command that does half the job that DCM does.
Like
Version 7.5.9
Tonda
14 November 2019
Great, fast and stable software. I use it for many years without any problem and it works fine even with huge catalogs with millions of files inside.
Like
Version 7.5.9
Misha-Video
06 November 2019
Great. I think it's pricey at $40 (38.99) but it does a great and apparently, unrivaled, job.
Like
Version 7.5.8
kota94103
29 October 2019
HDDだけでなく、ディスクやLTOなどのカタログファイルを高速に作成できるため、重宝しています。
Like
Version 7.5.7
pooterthecat
23 October 2019
This is how we keep our media vault system organized for our agency. It's amazing. I use it for my personal media/drives as well. As a video professional, the amount of drives can be overwhelming. This solves all our issues.
Like (1)
Version 7.5.7
info-908
17 October 2019
love it!
Like
Version 7.5.7
mtkushner
12 October 2019
Fast. Efficient. Complete. Everything you could ask for in an app.
Like (1)
Version 7.5.6
kajn
09 October 2019
A great tool to keep track of files on drives and disks! I use it daily across several different drives.
Like
Version 7.5.6
Zentinel
18 September 2019
High responsive developer. And a great option for upgrading from DiskTracker, which is 32-bit.
Like
Version 7.5.5
Cwchester
03 September 2019
I have many external HDs that I use to archive video and photo files. I've used DiskCatalogMaker for many years and I appreciate the fact that the developers have continued to update it as the demands of new operating systems have made other disk catalog programs obsolete.
Like
Version 7.5.4
hellyeah-1
23 August 2019
Very useful.
Like
Version 7.5.4
michael-375
15 July 2019
Very fine app, does what it should do
Like
Version 7.5.2
pinaxa
30 May 2019
very useful app! it helps me retrieve very old files easily
Like
Version 7.4.14
Tituss
28 May 2019
Have only recently started to use this app, but it seems incredibly quick at cataloging my Backup DVDs - it will make my life a huge amount easier. The file browsing in the archive is just lik ethe Finder, so very intuitive, and the thumbnail rendering is very quick. Would recommend
Like
Version 7.4.14
Garybx
10 May 2019
DiskCatalogMaker is the best catalog program I've found.
Like
Version 7.4.13
john-484
21 April 2019
Extremely fast and easy to use. Just what I wanted for cataloguing my offline movie archive disks.
Like
Version 7.4.12
Mfhej
14 April 2019
Works as intended.
Like
Version 7.4.12
fonseca94
12 April 2019
Upgraded from the roxio edition that came with toast, great way to catalog spanned BDR backup discs for files I need.
Like
Version 7.4.11
Kenm22
04 April 2019
Does the job easily and scans are very fast. Easy to retrieve information. Excellent application. I highly recommend. it.
Like
Version 7.4.11
Mark-7faf4d14
11 March 2019
It is an excellent app. with my 3 computers and 15 external drives I would br lost serching documents I need as a journalist
Like
Version 7.4.10
temporary12107
04 March 2019
DiskCatalogMaker has helped us wrangle at least 50 separate hard drives for a small video production company. Very helpful
Like
Version 7.4.10
Friwis
03 March 2019
Didn't really need it
Like
Version 7.4.9
yopyoppy
18 February 2019
Très bonne application
Like
Version 7.4.8
Bob-m
18 January 2019
This app solves the issue of 'what is where' and that's a big deal. Spotlight can only search what's on attached drives and DiskCatalogMaker will index drives and let you remove them. The reason that this is useful is that I keep backups of everything on 2 drives (minimally). I also burn DVD backups of pictures and go-pro videos. As long as I have a decent name I can now find something that I 'archived'. Very handy and performance is acceptable. I haven't found anything else in this area that works as well and I'm happy to be done storing filenames in text files.
Like
Version 7.4.7
VICTOR-DRIVER-neha
13 January 2019
I give this software 5 stars! It is fast and thorough. I also like the fact that the software doesn't lockup and shutdown in the middle of operations.
Like
Version 7.4.7
1 answer(s)
Hanspoot
Hanspoot
17 September 2019
Five ? 5 ?
Like
Version 7.5.5
Barry5p
03 January 2019
Very fast and easy to update the database with the rescan drive feature.
Like
Version 7.4.6
Mark-7faf4d14
27 December 2018
I really need DiscCatalogMaker with 35 external discs and 2 TB of icloud. What could be wrong with it?
Like
Version 7.4.5
i0tlh
27 November 2018
I tried all of the current cataloguing apps for OS X and DiskCatalogMaker was the fastest and most intuitive of them all. Happy with my purchase.
Like
Version 7.4.4