Back to Adobe Photoshop Elements page
Adobe Photoshop Elements free download for Mac

Adobe Photoshop Elements Reviews

18.0
16 October 2019

Consumer photo editor/organizer.

zlazkow
16 October 2019

Most helpful

I'd gladly use again PSE, if Adobe cuts the price to more realistic, and more competitive with GraphicConverter, which I use extensively and exclusively. NOT $100...not $80 and not $50. It was the best, but it is not anymore. I'd pay not more than $30. Like Pixelmator. That's the REALISTIC price.
Like (1)
Version 2020

Read 66 Adobe Photoshop Elements User Reviews

Rate this app:

DragonMaster
03 November 2019
Don't waste your money.
Like
Version 18.0
zlazkow
16 October 2019
I'd gladly use again PSE, if Adobe cuts the price to more realistic, and more competitive with GraphicConverter, which I use extensively and exclusively. NOT $100...not $80 and not $50. It was the best, but it is not anymore. I'd pay not more than $30. Like Pixelmator. That's the REALISTIC price.
Like (1)
Version 2020
Plotzenhots
15 October 2019
PSE ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, 19... 20 yeahh.. much to expensive for longtime users ..
Like (1)
Version 2020
hmfwic47
22 October 2018
I use APE 12 only to make final panoramas and Apple's Photos 4.0 app for other editing.
Like
Version 17.0
1 answer(s)
hmfwic47
hmfwic47
02 April 2019
Just bought 2019 for $79.99 for the update.
Like
Roger-Rodrigues
12 June 2018
Is upgrade pricing available?
Like
Version 16.0
IngeMortier
08 October 2017
Still a master in editing photo files. Easy to use with great wizards for many effects. Industry standard stuff really.
Like
Version 16.0
Plotzenhots
16 December 2016
PSE ..., 12, 13, 14, 15, ... yeahh..soo expensive for longtime users ..
Like (3)
Version 15.0
ashishmm
02 November 2016
Bought Photoshop elements 14 and Premiere elements 14 few months ago for INR 9,500. The version 15 upgrades cost INR 11,000 on the Adobe website. Should never have bought this in the first place when so many cheaper options with same functionality are available.
Like (3)
Version 15.0
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
19 October 2018
despite the comment is 2 yrs old, I'm sure today you don't regret buying PSE.
It's still the best for what it can do, and it is the second best next to full version of PE.
Like
gryphonent
06 October 2016
No no no no... after paying each year for upgrades to Adobe Photoshop I've had it now. Adobe never addresses bugs and tends to "fix" them with upgrades as opposed to updates. This is it for me.
Like (4)
Version 15.0
ashishmm
23 January 2016
memory hog. Have to force quit this app some times because it just hangs even on the latest mac book pro.
Like (3)
Version 14.0
1 answer(s)
martin-eudall
martin-eudall
31 October 2018
Try affinity photo from serif - better than photoshop and MUCH cheaper
Like (1)
MichaelM3902
27 September 2015
I tried this v14.0 and it lasted for about 5 minutes. I like v6 and that's what I use. Everything since that seems to be geared for the inexperienced.
Like (2)
Version 14.0
macus
25 September 2015
Installer crashes immediately when you try to enter your Adobe ID. Another in the endless stream of major issues with the Adobe installers over many years.
Like (2)
Version 14.0
1 answer(s)
Claude-Hammer
Claude-Hammer
26 September 2015
Same problem here. I can't install the demo.
I've already tried Adobe CC cleaner and to reinstall AAM.
It was a real pain to register Lightroom 6 with my "perpetual licence". Perhaps I've done something wrong when cleaning all thoses CC things.
Like (2)
Porpentine
25 September 2015
$79.99 for an upgrade? Geez Louise!
Like (3)
Version 14.0
Rjmorita
29 November 2014
For some reason, I cannot even open version 13.0 on my Mac running Yosemite. I'm still using version 11.
Like (1)
Version 13.0
Javaman
29 November 2014
Mac users are fortunate to have several good alternatives to Adobe Photoshop. One of them is Photoshop Elements! I’ve downloaded Gimp several times and have always come away feeling, “Yuck!” Sure, it’s capable (and free), but why would you own a Mac to use something like that?! Just my opinion! :) I have Graphic Converter (version 5 or so running under a virtualized “Snow Leopard”). It’s a handy tool to have at one’s disposal and it can manipulate files that other apps (including PS Elements) would choke on, but its GUI is awful, and for most people it’s not a real choice for an “everyday” photo editing app. Acorn is a fine Mac app ( I have version 4.5.x) but it feels more like a paint app than a photo app. That leaves Pixelmator. (I have version 3.3.) It is THE alternative to Photoshop (Elements or otherwise) for Mac users. The price is right, it is a true Mac app, and it’s powerful! (My only real complaint is the plethora of palettes that one has to deal with when using it.) So Mac users these days have plenty of alternatives to Photoshop outside of Adobe, but that doesn’t make PS Elements a bad program, Adobe haters notwithstanding. Although I’m not a fan of the Adobe hegemony, Elements still remains my “go to” app for photo editing. It has a familiar UI, it packs some serious power, it’s feels snappy, it’s not neglected by its developer, it consistently ranks high when reviewed by independent publications, and there are a ton of books, magazines, and websites that provide tutorials and step-by-step guides for about any task that you would want to use it for. I bought PS Elements version 1 on June 15th, 2001 and have been using various iterations of the program ever since. It’s ironic that the first decent, powerful, reasonably priced alternative to Adobe Photoshop, dating back to 2001, was produced by...uh...Adobe! BTW, at the time of this comment (Thanksgiving weekend, 2014), you can/could download Elements 13 from Amazon for $49.00.
Like (4)
Version 13.0
Plotzenhots
28 November 2014
an expensive bugfix for older Photoshop Elements – I don´t like it.
Like (1)
Version 13.0
Whisperquiet
28 November 2014
If you're not already 'into' or caught up in Adobe; save your money and the hassle. Just go for something like Graphic Converter!
Like (1)
Version 13.0
1 answer(s)
M-Luther
M-Luther
29 November 2014
I went with Pixelmator, which is half off right now at only $15 from the App Store. Seems like a powerful program and a worthy Photoshop substitute for many users, including myself.
Like (4)
Plotzenhots
25 October 2014
..don´t like it because there are many many good reasons to try other better and (long time) much cheaper tools
Like
Version 12.0
Maxter
28 March 2014
Forget about this overpriced piece of junk an it's antediluvian installer and for less than half the price fetch a copy of GraphicConvertrer. It does all this does and more faster and better.
Like (1)
Version 12.0
hmfwic47
19 March 2014
There is a Adobe Community: Photoshop Elements 12.1 Application Update now available http://forums.adobe.com/message/6194380 Guess it's been out for awhile.
Like
Version 12.0
Tubo
24 February 2014
Normally you have to install a download manager first... Here are more direct links for adobe products: http://prodesigntools.com/photoshop-elements-12-direct-download-links-premiere.html
Like
Version 12.0
CynicalMike
25 November 2013
One of the worst pieces of software I have EVER tried to use. As I have used PS CS5 in the past and not keen on buying Creative Cloud I made the mistake of buying this, having used an ancient version. What a piece of $%h&!. Frequent errors - corrupt catalogs that can't be repaired (and I have just started to use it - catalogs are corrupt already - seriously!!), can't apply names using face recognition, often won't let me apply ratings or move items to an album because some mysterious process is 'busy'. I could go on but having tried many different photo organizing software and editing software this is easily the worst - not to mention the 1990's PC user interface. Stay away, far away.
Like (2)
Version 12.0
Nealnt
25 September 2013
Tried to download demo. Installer failed with message: Configuration error in application.
Like (1)
Version 12.0
Eyeless
24 September 2013
Still available in only three languages for the Mac, but a lot more for Windoze - guess they got their priorities a bit off these days ... .
Like (2)
Version 12.0
SickTeddyBear
11 November 2012
On sale at Costco and Sam's Club for $50: http://costco.com/.product.688840.html http://samsclub.com/sams/photoshop-elem-11/prod7900028.ip
Like (1)
Version 11.0
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
15 November 2012
Now on sale for the same price at Amazon: http://amazon.com/Adobe-65193986-Photoshop-Elements-11/dp/B0093FROMA/
Like
Janichsan
26 September 2012
What the hell? Is PSE getting yearly installments now?
Like (2)
Version 11.0
1 answer(s)
Janichsan
Janichsan
25 September 2013
To answer my own question: yes, it is... almost to the day exactly one year between PSE 11 and PSE 12.
Like
wilykyley
04 January 2012
It's not worth it to upgrade from version 9. I did not see any differences.
Like (3)
Version 10.0
2 answer(s)
pcharles
pcharles
26 September 2012
What about version six?
Like
-M-S-
-M-S-
27 September 2012
Here's a list of the biggest new features in 11: http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop-elements/features._sl_id-contentfilter_sl_featuredisplaytypes_sl_new.html There's also an entire photo management app (Photoshop Elements Organizer), so it's not just for editing anymore.
Like (1)
Joeschisa
31 December 2011
I have to say I like it, despite the adobe thing and all that. Been using for years, tried others, but for purely editing personal photos, either scanned from 100 years ago or taken last week, the program does what I need it to do though sometimes I got to mess around to get things looking OK (enough memory for undos make this not so bad). Can't compare with other programs much as I've stuck with this, despite upgrade fees. Don't think I'd use it to make a graphic from scratch and don't use it for importing photos/scans, but it's name doesn't imply those tasks. Rate today as I'm scanning whole heap of old photos taken out of storage.
Like (2)
Version 10.0
Rubaiyat
14 November 2011
I can't find any references. Does Photoshop Elements export to cmyk and grey scale?
Like
Version 10.0
2 answer(s)
D9
D9
25 September 2012
Version 10, at least, only does RGB, Indexed, grey scale and bitmap images modes. No CMYK. http://help.adobe.com/en_US/photoshopelements/using/WS287f927bd30d4b1fffab87f12e28a86132-7ffa.html#WS287f927bd30d4b1fffab87f12e28a86132-7ff6 /
Like (1)
Gslusher
Gslusher
26 September 2012
CMYK color mode is one of the features/functions that Adobe usually reserves for the "full" version of Photoshop. If you really need CMYK, you're probably a pro in some way and could be better off using Photoshop.
Like
Plotzenhots
08 November 2011
Buggy since jears!! Can´t open animated gif, expensive, poor usersupport, the dont fix bugs in time. A good alternative is "Photoline"
Like
Version 10.0
2 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
08 November 2011
I'm not sure how many Photoshop Elements buyers are really interested in animated GIFs...
Like (5)
Penguirl
Penguirl
09 November 2011
Honestly I have two freeware animated GIF apps, I've never launched either one of them. Animated GIFs are not at the core of Photoshop/Elements users needs. If only Graphic Converter, Pixelmator, or Acorn could use plugins/filters I could kiss Photoshop/Elements goodbye.
Like
Laos
18 April 2011
This is real bloatware. It uses massive amounts of memory on your harddisk and RAM. Beyond this, it is incredible slooooow. I really regret paying money for this.
Like (8)
Version 9.0.3
Leoofborg
06 January 2011
"Error Loading Updater Workflow" . Nevermind, back to Indie software I know works. Next!
Like (4)
Version 9.0.2
Robert-Poland
06 January 2011
Review of updater The update stops with "Error loading updater workflow" Downloaded again hours later and got the same results.
Like (2)
Version 9.0.2
Poikkeus
03 January 2011
I've realized that Photoshop Elements lacked the most important features for me: importing and scanning files, comprehensive filters, a concise selection of tools. If the only thing you're looking for is fixing photos, Elements offers a concentrated approach to image editing.
Like (3)
Version 9.0
Bigboysdad
12 December 2010
After working with this for a month, I chose not to buy when the trial period ended. There's something about this which doesn't quite sit right. There's nothing wrong with an application that works on both platforms, for example, the excellent Lightroom which imo just works better than Aperture. But this is just too "Windows" in unnecessary bloatware and feel. Unfortunately, the bloat outweighed the useful features. If you've got a working copy of version 8, stick with it, but if your version 8 is affected by un-fixable bugs like mine is, then its time to look for alternatives.
Like (2)
Version 9.0
Alper
26 September 2010
I dont understand why we have to install Adobe Elements 9 Organizer with Adobe Photoshop Elements 9. I dont need organizer. but adobe installer dont give choose. Also Adobe Photoshop Elements 9 need too much disk space pixelmator just need 50mb.
Like
Version 9.0
2 answer(s)
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
27 September 2010
I agree - using File Buddy, I just searched for the Elements Organizer app and all its associated files then deleted the lot. After doing that, the main Photoshop Elements 9 app still works fine.
Like (1)
Version 9.0
Alper
Alper
27 September 2010
@BIGBOYSDAD: If I delete all Elements Organizer files, Photoshop elements always ask country.
Like
Version 9.0
Bigboysdad
23 September 2010
On the plus side, its nice to say bye bye to the bugs of the previous otherwise excellent version 8 (the Error 150: 30 Bug, the inability to blend panoramic tiff files and big memory usage were the bugs that got me). Its a shame that at 2 gigs, this new version is 1 gig heavier than version 8. It's also a shame that that Bridge is no more. The replacement for Bridge, Elements Organizer, is just plain slow and unintuitive by comparison and feels a bit like a bloated windows app. The presence of this is a real waste on the HD space. The new PSE features however are genuinely useful, and should be used by any regular users upgrading from version 8.
Like (2)
Version 9.0
1 answer(s)
Bigboysdad
Bigboysdad
23 September 2010
Rating - 4 stars
Like (1)
Version 9.0
Plotzenhots
22 September 2010
does anybody know something about the big fat unfixed bugs "in save animated .gif for web" since PSE 6 and PSE 8.. are they still exist in PSE 9?
Like (1)
Version 9.0
Harry-Macbeth
22 September 2010
It occurs to me that Adobe might well be trying very hard for the most disingenuous "big-box" developer award. And do not ever hope for useful customer support, folks; they have perfected the "ticket-based" support runaround. Eventually, weeks & weeks later, you'll just give up out of dispirited fatigue, none the wiser - for all your patience. It actually fills my heart with joy that Steve Jobs slipped them the high, hard one.
Like (6)
Version 9.0
1 answer(s)
Stronachab
Stronachab
23 September 2010
Couldn't agree more. What makes it really sad is that seven or eight years ago Adobe Customer Support was among the best in the business. One toll-free phone number and you got straight through to an operative who stuck with you, over several days if necessary, until the problem was solved. Now? Adobe web support is like entering a black hole. You leave after a wasted hour none the wiser. Then you get an e-mail survey asking if the problem has been resolved to your satisfaction. You click on the "reply" link, only there's nowhere for you to enter a reply. Adobe products are among the best in the business if you accept the steep learning curve to get the best out of them. Just hope that you don't hit any technical difficulties
Like (2)
Version 9.0
Mckryak
21 September 2010
Did somebody know, is this version of PSE for Mac compatible with non-English primary language or it has the same bug as the previous version (PSE 8)?
Like
Version 9.0
RC62
21 September 2010
I just spent 20 minutes searching their site for "upgrade" pricing. The links to "upgrades" is circular eventually taking you back to the page you started from and never showing an upgrade price or even how to purchase an upgrade. Oh well, I don't really need it anyway...
Like (3)
Version 9.0
1 answer(s)
Javaman
Javaman
21 September 2010
I don't think Adobe has ever offered an "upgrade" per se for PS Elements. (And, as of this post, there is no upgrade link on the PS Elements page to which MU links.) In the past, Adobe's only concession to owners of a previous version was to offer a $20.00 rebate. However, it now appears that they are offering a $20.00 rebate to all customers. Bottom line: If you want to keep up with the latest PS Elements, you're going to have to be prepared to put out the coins every year or so. Or, you can do what I do, and just buy a new(er) copy every 4 or 5 years at the best price you can find. For example, I bought version 8 about five months ago for around $50.00, but if you want to get version 9 for that price your gonna have to wait a while.
Like (4)
Version 9.0
Harry-Macbeth
05 November 2009
Doubtful that I'll bother with this dreadful company any more. No wonder they are haemorrhaging customers. With no upgrade paths for new customers, and astonishingly poor customer service, there are compelling reasons for Mac fans to cut this shiny, but ultimately rotten bait. Fool me once, Adobe: shame on you. Fool me twice: shame on ME....
Like (9)
Version 8.0
Abelle
04 November 2009
Reduction of the window very convenient, most complete, beautiful and interesting version.
Like
Version 8.0
hmfwic47
22 October 2009
After installing APE 8 on my Mac, I double-clicked on the app icon and got an error message. Did a restart, reopened it and got the same message. Had to call Customer Support who sent me to Tech Support. The error code listed was, I believe 150:30. Did what they said and it started up like it should.
Like
Version 8.0
Snappir
20 October 2009
couldn't resist to post my reply to all the ugly comments for PE. Those who say that PE is "not friendly", have never used it, and never tried to learn a little. It's easy, super friendly and loaded with more features than any other photo editing program for MAC. True, it's heavy and slow to open. Yes, 3 minutes is slow. But at that time you can do something else, check your email, or browse... The moment it opens - normal speed and no problem at all. Pixelmator is a smooth looking program, but lacks a lot of essential features. One of them Shadows/Highlights, which is for me one of the most essential features when I open a photo.And it's not even close to PE. Those who couldn't install this version, rushed and probably did something wrong in one of the steps. I would suggest, go to adobe website and try to download there. And read and write down the instructions - important!!!
Like (3)
Version 8.0
2 answer(s)
Josh-C-
Josh-C-
21 October 2009
I have to start by saying that I have always enjoyed working with Photoshop Elements. My problem is, that I am simply tired of having to upgrade in order for any of the bugs I have come across to be squashed. Why do they consistently refuse to release any kind of incremental update, are we not paying enough for their products, don't we deserve some kind of support? What if your soul purpose for purchasing one of their products didn't work, wouldn't you be a little bitter too? Maybe we should skip 8 and upgrade to 10 in a couple of years so we get a stable 8. Ut oh! 10 has bugs too, son of a biscuit!
Like (4)
Version 8.0
Archaeogeek
Archaeogeek
21 November 2009
Considering the well known history of bugginess of adobe applications, I seriously wonder who, exactly, you are after reading your string of comments regarding PSE and Adobe apps in general, and maybe a bit who is your master.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
Snappir
20 October 2009
ILGAZ.... what are you talking about...???!!! iPhoto is not an editing software, it only has a few editing features, 0.001% of PE. Kodak...??? again, it is not for editing, no editing there, NOTHING!... printing only. PE was and remains #1 best light photo editor.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
21 October 2009
iPhoto is a great photo catalog/database and putting its functions to Photoshop Elements is not an upgrade.
Like
Version 8.0
Snappir
20 October 2009
couldn't resist to post my reply to all the ugly comments for PE. Those who say that PE is "not friendly", have never used it, and never tried to learn a little. It's easy, super friendly and loaded with more features than any other photo editing program for MAC. True, it's heavy and slow to open. Yes, 3 minutes is slow. But at that time you can do something else, check your email, or browse... The moment it opens - normal speed and no problem at all. Pixelmator is a smooth looking program, but lacks a lot of essential features. One of them Shadows/Highlights, which is for me one of the most essential features when I open a photo.And it's not even close to PE. Those who couldn't install this version, rushed and probably did something wrong in one of the steps. I would suggest, go to adobe website and try to download there. And read and write down the instructions - important!!!
Like (1)
Version 8.0
3 answer(s)
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
21 October 2009
You wrote:- "Those who couldn't install this version, rushed and probably did something wrong in one of the steps. I would suggest, go to adobe website and try to download there. And read and write down the instructions - important!!!" That is utter garbage. I did nothing wrong at all. Followed the instructions carefully. But it refused to install. This morning I went out and BOUGHT the DVD. STILL it refuses to install. This product is a bloody lemon. BEWARE !!!!
Like
Version 8.0
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
21 October 2009
Have a read of http://forums.adobe.com/thread/508211?tstart=0 You will see that others are having the same installation problems, or similar, as myself. The installer, as I have said before, is a damn kemon. And Adobe itself plainly doesn't know what to do about it.
Like
Version 8.0
Legal-Eagle
Legal-Eagle
21 October 2009
"lemon Sorry for previous typo error
Like
Version 8.0
Legal-Eagle
20 October 2009
I downloaded the Trial Version of PSE 8 and tried to install it. After never-ending installation failures and further attempts to install it, I trashed the whole application in disgust. Not at all impressed Adobe : - ((
Like (3)
Version 8.0
Ilgaz
26 September 2009
So they added a single feature and abandoned all powerpc users and asking for $80. While it is not widely known for some reason, you don't have to abandon any powerPC user for "intel 64bit", you can even release full 64bit PPC/Intel application on 10.5 leopard. IMHO time is coming for shareholders to take action against this kind of management.
Like (4)
Version 8.0
2 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
19 October 2009
Where do you see that they only added a "single" feature?
Like (1)
Version 8.0
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
20 October 2009
@MISHA this is OS X, iPhoto can do all the stuff it does in regards to Library. IMHO there is absolutely zero need to duplicate Photo library of iPhoto. If it was the case, I would go for Kodak's free software which does great job in regards to Print and online sharing. One feature I mention is "group photo". Now, that is a new feature but did they have to abandon PPC users for that single feature? This is the same company shipping Flash 10 with same features to PPC owners.
Like
Version 8.0
Fairmeadow
23 September 2009
Full version of PE8 £65, upgrade from PE6 £55 (+VAT). How does this encourage customer loyalty, or indeed how does it encourage existing users to upgrade?
Like (13)
Version 8.0