Back to TextSoap page
TextSoap free download for Mac

TextSoap Reviews

8.4.10
18 January 2019

Automate tedious text document cleaning.

Pdxmph
03 April 2007

Most helpful

I've been using TextSoap for work for some time now. I'm an editor dealing with an international bullpen that submits material in all sorts of formats and encodings. A big part of my job is normalizing text before editing it for content & style and handing it off to a CMS. TextSoap was great when it provided nothing more than a GUI for some useful text transformations, but when the developer added regular expression support, it became something I don't want to be without. I can draw on a lot of the knowledge I earned on the Unix command line with tools like sed to handle the edge cases TextSoap's numerous out-of-the-box filters can't. When TextSoap can't handle something specific, it's trivial to drop it into a larger AppleScript, because it has a clean, usable syntax for doing its thing in that context. If you can't do it in TextSoap but can do it with Perl, sed or similar, handling it with "do shell script" then handing the result off to TextSoap for its much easier AppleScript text processing works like a charm. I probably use TextSoap 20 or 25 times a day, often to condense workflows that would take several minutes and be much more error prone into just a few seconds. I could handle a lot of stuff TextSoap does with a little thought, a few raids on CPAN, and a lot of hacking. TextSoap saves me that trouble, and it has paid for itself in terms of time saved on an almost weekly basis for years. Great tool. Great fusion of Mac simplicity with more powerful Unix idioms. The developer is responsive if something doesn't work, and he answers mail quickly, always looking for a way to help fix or explain things. For a text-munger like me, who'd prefer to concentrate on content instead of fiddling, TextSoap is indispensable. The one thing I'm waiting on and hoping for is some sort of interface with external Unix pipes. The developer said he's looking into it. Even if he never implemented that, I'd still be very happy with his product.
Like (3)
Version 5.5.2

Read 79 TextSoap User Reviews

Rate this app:

Pavel231
26 November 2017
TextSoap is my goto app for quickly changing text. I use it weekly, if not daily, to convert cases, smarten/straighten quotes, sort lines ascending/descending, remove extra spaces, change line breaks... TextSoap does it all in the flash of a second. The application has become ever more powerful over the years, now featuring numerous ways to customize cleaners based on personal preferences and needs, and the developer is very helpful. Highly recommended.
Like (1)
Version 8.4.5
Riptide360
09 October 2017
TextSoap is seriously one of those apps anyone struggling to reformat text needs! I use it to strip out weird formatting. It uses the REGEX find/replace language so if you need to do something there is a way. For most folks just learn enough to create a couple of scripts to do what you need. Two companion apps you'll probably use is Excel/Numbers for sorting and PopClip (they have a TextSoap extensions) for quick copy/paste cleanups. The support forum is a Google Groups that is pretty helpful. The app could benefit from a PopChar font function to show extended characters. Struggled with figuring out how to search on keyboard items like the "TAB" - which really should be in help and in Find/Replace dialog. The running query of paragraphs, words and characters is useful! Would be nice if there was an online library for sharing scenarios and scripts that solve a problem, along with a service where you could pay a few bucks to have someone create a script for your custom scenario.
Like (1)
Version 8.4.2
1 answer(s)
Unmarked Software
Unmarked Software
09 October 2017
One tip: click the Insert button, you will see a popup of special characters that you can insert (like TAB, RETURN). Using the menu button, you can also insert common patterns and ICU properties (like \p{UppercaseLetter} or \p{Lu} ). If cursor is in Replace field when you click Insert, it will let you specify Regex capture groups ($0, $1). Not quite PopChar, but hopefully useful.
Like
johngagardner
13 July 2017
great little App. I've ended up using it as my main editor for short notes, minutes etc. A lot of what I write assembles comments and emails from disparate sources. There are multiple formatting optoins as any decent WP and I can easily format all the pieces into a common layout. I suspect there is considerable power in its cleaning system A better manual would be handy...
Like
Version 8.4.1
robfol
21 April 2017
V8 is In daily use and multiple times. I have my own personal list of fonts etc in the menu bar and this helps me keep all my text consistent. Dead easy to use after initial setup and a brain if you work with text all the time, especially if you copy text from website etc.. Regularly updated and fine on OSX 10.12.4
Like
Version 8.3.4
Michael-Vilain
09 February 2017
8.3.1 crashes on 10.11. Sent a crash dump.
Like
Version 8.3.1
Macbookpro
22 December 2016
Seems latest version is 8.2.1 not 8.3.
Like
Version 8.3
2 answer(s)
Unmarked Software
Unmarked Software
22 December 2016
Sorry about that. I temporary pulled 8.3 update when a problem showed up for 10.10 users. Tracked it down to a build issue that was fixed. 8.3 update is back online.
Like
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
22 December 2016
Thanks so much for your response. I was just pointing out that the build listed by MacUpdate was not the build at the time of download.
Glad you are so actively addressing issues. Thanks again.
Like
MattSD
15 July 2016
I purchased a license randomly when I saw version 8 was released and had seen this app get great reviews for years. I work with HTML and text files daily and I didn't realize how much time I spent fixing small things over and over. Every time I caught myself correcting something more than once I created a new action in TextSoap. These actions are grouped in to custom cleaners which can be run with a single click. It's now saving me a few hours every week and one of my most used apps. I really started to get the most use out of it by spending a couple of hours learning how regular expressions work. Regexone and RegExr are two great website starting points for learning. I'm now able to create more powerful find and replace commands within TextSoap.
Like
Version 8.0.9
brian-dunnell
15 July 2016
It really saves a lot of time fixing up the wrong typing. I like to use Text Soap as it makes me feel sure my text will be perfect. The developers made this app very customized so you can setup your own options in preferences, like to convert to uppercase or capitalize words. TS is worth that money you pay. Try it to see the difference.
Like
Version 8.0.9
LeMerlot
25 January 2016
I bought version 8 immediately since I work with TextSoap every day cleaning up my "Dragon Dictate" files very fast and easy since years. But version 8 still has some glitches: E.g. "Capitalize Sentences (Alt)" doesn't work – ALL words besides of the first one in a phrase become lower case which makes this (at least for me as a German) important action unusable. Also the new UI could be a bit more streamlined: To change custom cleaners I first have to open the Customize Navigator via menu while at least a related button in the Clipboard Workspace or a right click menu in the cleaner list would make access much faster and more convenient. But I'm optimistic that it will be ironed out soon by the developers.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
4 answer(s)
textsoap
textsoap
26 January 2016
Capitalize Sentences (Alt) does a lowercase, then capitalize. You probably want "Capitalize Sentences", which keeps existing case of words, only capitalizing the first character of a sentence. Please contact support if this is not the behavior.

> Customize Navigator
Right now, you can use Window menu, cmd-opt-0, and the groups menu to access the Customize Navigator. There are some additional options planned as well.
Like (3)
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
28 January 2016
Great support, developer offered the solution of an issue immediately – many thanks! I'm happy, that I upgraded – was worth it.
Like (2)
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
08 February 2016
Indeed, the first version had some issues. 8.0.2 seems to have cleared up all those I found. The developer was super responsive in the support tickets I produced and fixed all the issues I reported. Can't ask for better support of this fine product.
Like (1)
Niran-Sabanathan
Niran-Sabanathan
03 April 2016
I have found the developer extremely responsive. I had an issue while doing during the trial . The developer worked diligently to resolve it. I became a paying customer that day .
Like
dwp-1
22 January 2016
I've been using TextSoap for years and find it to be a huge time saver. You can find some of TS features available in other apps but being able to build and save your own text manipulation cleaners is just awesome. It may not be something you use every day but when you need it to make changes to a large document, TS could save you hours of time. I actually use it as my text application. TextSoap 8 is on sale for $29 right now, great time to buy, only $10 more than my upgrade price. BTW: No affiliation with developer, just a very useful application
Like (1)
Version 8.0
bobembry
21 January 2016
I've been using TextSoap 7 with OS X El Capitan 10.11 many multiple times per day and it works great.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
3 answer(s)
JohnnyFave
JohnnyFave
21 January 2016
Does anyone else feel this app is far too overpriced as a one-trick pony? I've tried it in the past and do feel it's good at what it does but heck, one can purchase highly rated multi-use graphic apps such as Pixelmator or Acorn at less cost. Just sayin'
Like (2)
bobembry
bobembry
21 January 2016
I probably have 100 or more custom cleaners that I use many times per day.

TextSoap is invaluable to me.

I can live without Pixelmator and Acorn — I have both.

Just one cleaning operation can easily replace 10 manual operations that might take 1 minutes each.

I have one cleaner that processes a long body of text and splits the sentences into separate paragraphs with a marker between the original paragraphs. Can you imagine how tedious this would be if done manually.

I want the developer to stay in business and be motivated to keep improving the app. I don't want to have to switch to something else and start all over.

I'll be upgrading very soon.
Like (1)
textsoap
textsoap
25 January 2016
> Does anyone else feel this app is far too overpriced as a one-trick pony?

Most apps (save Works or Office suites) tend to be one-trick ponies, depending on how one defines the trick, whether it is a word processor, text editor, image editor, etc.

If pricing is the big concern, now would be the best time to purchase it – since it has a limited time price of $29.99 for the major version launch.
Like
Big Johnson
01 January 2016
No longer being updated? No El Capitan update. Unmarked and unmaintained software.
Like
Version 7.4.3
7 answer(s)
Jlock
Jlock
08 January 2016
I currently use this application on El Capitan and it works perfectly! They did a great job at future proofing their software!
Like
textsoap
textsoap
14 January 2016
Perhaps consider contacting the developer before throwing around such inaccurate assertions. There is a link to the website right on this page if you have a specific question.

Version 7.4.3 was tested against El Capitan and no update was necessary.

As for no updates, the fact is I have been developing a major new upgrade over the past year. I've even started posting sneak peeks on twitter (@textsoap) in recent weeks as the release nears.
Like (4)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
14 January 2016
There's no comment in the description that it works with El Capitan.

It does say it works with 10.6.6 or later, but that was written before El Capitan was released, so there's no telling if if still works or not.

If the developer intends for users of newer OS's to use their product then they need to make clear that it's still being maintained and works properly on those OS's.

All I see is an app that hasn't been updated since Nov. 2014, and nothing to indicate that it's still being developed or that it has been tested on OS X 10.11.

Even on the dev's website there's no mention of El Capitan, but the minimum OS is different than above:

"Requirements:
Mac OS X 10.7 or later"


Jlock, they couldn't truly "future proof" their software because in 2014 they didn't know what changes were in store for El Capitan. Many apps were broken due to SIP or other changes Apple made. If TextSoap continued to function perfectly on El Capitan, it's only due to luck, not planning.
Like
textsoap
textsoap
14 January 2016
Future proofing is not luck. It is happens when you follow Apples guidelines and recommendations. Yes, there are disruptive updates, but El Capitan is not one of them. TextSoap has nearly 18 years experience at this. The 7.4.3 update addressed issues related to Yosemite and those changes where satisfactory in maintaining compatibility with El Capitan.

Yes, communication on OS X support could be better stated. Thanks for your feedback.
Like (4)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
14 January 2016
There's still some luck involved since not all El Cap changes were known in 2014.

Other developers followed Apples recommendations too, but saw their software crippled by SIP (Default Folder X was one).

A lot more apps were affected by changes in El Capitan and required compatibility updates (CCC, Cocktail, Little Snitch and SuperDuper! are four).
Like
textsoap
textsoap
14 January 2016
While it is always possible that Apple changes an OS enough to warrant problems for standard apps, it is not usual. However, TextSoap 7.4.3 was tested against each new release and *if* there were any issues, they were addressed. There were no issues were found and that was expected (as the changes in 10.11 did not intersect with any of the dependencies of TextSoap).

The apps you mentioned all tap into the OS at much lower levels than TextSoap 7. So while it is possible that something breaks, it's not commonplace, as is evidenced by 7 versions of TextSoap across 13 *major* OS releases (OS 8 - OS X 10.11).

Your argument of unmaintained software might hold more weight if you tried to contact the developer asking about compatibility and they were either gone or completely unresponsive. You simply made inaccurate assumptions and made inaccurate assertions based on those assumptions.

Yes, the communication of OS support could be better and is noted. While I did post notices on twitter & Facebook when OS X 10.11 was released, updating this site in timely fashion would help avoid any confusion. Thanks for your feedback.
Like (4)
pl-svn
pl-svn
22 January 2016
a(t least a) word from developer about his plans for MAS v7 owners would be very appreciated

while I do understand using Twitter and Facebook =:-/ I don't understand *not* using also app's website :-0

thanks for listening
Like
Andrewrodney
22 December 2015
Huge time saver, superb tech support and customer service. Just loving it!
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
bobembry
28 October 2015
Incredibly useful — hundred times per day. Teamed with Keyboard Maestro, Scrivener, DEVONthink Pro, BBEdit and similar leads to text heaven :)
Like (1)
Version 7.4.3
itsdailynews
09 July 2015
I normally don't write reviews but I came here to write the review for it since it's such an excellent software. Much more than I expected and can do really powerful stuff with texts. It also comes with the menu at menu bar which makes it easy to transform the text in any app and I can even assign hot key to them. Excellent Software!
Like (1)
Version 7.4.3
rmattbill1
19 April 2015
Incredibly powerful app. The Google forum run by the developer is very helpful (and without it I would not have been able to figure out the many powerful tools available). For me, a must-have and worth every penny.
Like (2)
Version 7.4.3
mike-rosene
20 March 2015
This product ROCKS!
Like
Version 7.4.3
Taz-G
01 January 2015
I adore this application. Truly. While it does have a bit of a learning curve, it's WELL worth it. It's saved me countless hours over the years. Wouldn't know what to do without it.
Like
Version 7.4.3
Exactjustice
13 November 2014
Gets better and better
Like
Version 7.4.3
Exactjustice
05 October 2014
Essential for anyone that cuts and paste from the web or PDFs.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.2
DCT
11 September 2014
Use it all the time for web development converting documents created in Microsoft Word to web friendly text. Fast, easy, reliable, and feature rich. The money spent for this application was saved hundreds of times over in added productivity.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
David1
11 September 2014
TextSoap continues to be the most complete and reliable software for dealing with third party texts. I've used it daily for years and wouldn't be without it. Developer response is good, both in support situations and in finding ways to expand the program's features.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.1
One of my favorite apps for cleaning up text.
Like
Version 7.4.0
ddchene
13 February 2014
Powerful program. I find it indispensable for text manipulation. It’s easy to use on selected text almost anywhere through its own menu in the menubar. Creating macros is simple. Unmarked Software has updated it frequently.
Like
Version 7.3.8
Willoneal
12 January 2014
Easy, fast, and it works exceedingly well.
Like
Version 7.3.8
bumper314
02 December 2013
I find myself using TextSoap on a weekly basis. It's nice looking and very well laid out.
Like
Version 7.3.8
michael-sebban
22 November 2013
Is this app work well with Nisus and Mellel and deal special characters (hebrew, arabic) and is there a way to Find and replace in several files together?
Like
Version 7.3.8
1 answer(s)
Mark-Munz
Mark-Munz
28 December 2013
TextSoap can read/write RTF documents & clipboard contents as defined by Apple, so it should generally work with Nisus & Mellel documents. It also supports Unicode. The Batch File Cleaning Window & File cleaning Automator Action allow for processing multiple files.
Like (1)
Peterinwiesbaden
16 November 2013
If you have to copy & paste a lot of text (all kind of source, into a WordPress installation), TextSoap makes it very easy to get rid of all nasty characters.
Like
Version 7.3.8
Robingo88
26 October 2013
like many others, have been using TextSoap for close to 10 years (maybe more?)… i probably only use a fraction of its power but its my go-to text manipulation tool when moving between word, email, web pages, pdf's, etc… not sure i could calculate how much time (and how much more aggravation) this little tool has saved me!
Like (1)
Version 7.3.8
Dee4
26 October 2013
I like all of the options. I have used TextSoap for many, many years, and it just keeps on getting better and better. It solves so many of my text problems without my having to go through complicated routines, multiple programs, or scripts. It has become easier and easier to use over time. I love the System Menubar item that I can always just go up to use in whatever program that I am using. It's so much fun to watch it just clean everything up!
Like
Version 7.3.8
Maclover1-1
05 September 2013
Tabs would be great, I could see it as a mix between Ulysses and a markdown app..
Like
Version 7.3.7
Alexwoolfson
16 August 2013
This is one of the finest examples of productivity software around-- right up there with 1Password and TextExpander. This is one of those apps that's hard to realize how awesome it is until you try it and then once you figure out its power, there's no turning back. Luckily there's a free trial. What can it do with text? Pretty much anything you want and in any application. For example, thank to its TextSoap menu, in an email, with one keystroke, I can have it search for and italicize each and every use of a title of my book. I don't even have to select text. It happens automatically and instantly. So if I'm typing quickly and forget to italicize my work, one keystroke and it's taken care of. Bang, done! But that's easy. What about the hard stuff? Well, I post transcripts of pages of my comic up on the web. These need to be converted from Rich Text Comic Book Scripts to specifically formatted HTML, but not only that, it's just supposed to be the dialogue, so I have to remove all the written descriptions while keeping everything else. I have to bold the character names (which aren't bolded in the Rich Text) with tags and I need to place both and tags around the words my characters emphasize. What I'm saying is that its totally repetitive gruntwork, but kinda tricky too, with lots of fiddly moving parts. Before TextSoap, it would take me about 10 to 20 minutes a page. Now it's another instantaneous keyboard command. And what's especially amazing? I wrote to the developer with a couple questions about how to tackle this problem and HE HAND-CODED THE WHOLE WORKFLOW FOR ME. I didn't even ask for that. The guy who does ScreenCasts Online mentioned he did that for him, but I figured that was because he had a huge following for his screencasts. I'm nobody. But he just did it! And every interaction from him has received a response in less than 12 hours. And a thoughtful/helpful one too. If you are wondering if this app is worth your money, let me tell you it absolutely is. Frankly, I wish the developer made more apps so I could have even more apps of this quality and from someone so extraordinarily responsive. Don't hesitate. Download the trial. And then buy it. This is the real thing.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.7
Bigg-E
07 August 2013
Incredible software. Feature-rich, flexible, stable and powerful. Manipulates text incredibly well -- if you can think it, then TextSoap can likely make the manipulation automatic. I have been a loyal customer since version 3 at least. This product has only gotten better and without any bloat.
Like
Version 7.3.7
wokole
07 August 2013
I rarely use this software as I do not involve regularly with the works of coping texts from one form of document to another. However, every time I use it, it works perfectly.
Like
Version 7.3.7
RichardGuay1742
31 July 2013
This is a must have app! I use it all the time and love it. Coupled with Alfred 2 workflows really makes this one shine.
Like (1)
Version 7.3.7
gbdoc
31 July 2013
Great little app (little, but powerful!), has always been a great help, gets better with each iteration.
Like
Version 7.3.7
David1
02 July 2013
Have used TextSoap constantly for years. Nothing else even comes close to meeting my needs.
Like
Version 7.3.6
3quarters
02 April 2013
Easy to use. VERY flexible. Regularly saves me lots of work. Nice product.
Like
Version 7.3.6
crm128
04 March 2013
Great app, very useful and constantly updated. Very reactive developer with a sense of humor (open app on specific dates like Halloween to understand).
Like
Version 7.3.6
Tekl
25 January 2013
Interesting tool. Well, it's way to complicated for casual users. So it would be nice to be able to create droplets for those guys.
Like
Version 7.3.5
2 answer(s)
Mark-Munz
Mark-Munz
27 January 2013
Can you contact us via our website or send an email to our support with more specifics on what you are trying to accomplish? I believe you want may already be possible.. but if not, I would still like to understand the problem for future feature consideration. Thanks!
Like (1)
blair57
blair57
05 May 2013
TextSoap is easy to use, I don't agree it's complicated for casual users with so many cleaners already available straight from the menu. Certainly, employing regular expressions might cause some head scratching but there are plenty of resources to help novices like myself.
Like
anonymous-thrush-1205
24 September 2012
Like it very much!
Like
Version 7.3.3
Cowicide
14 August 2012
MacUpdate, as of 8/14, this is version 7.3.3
Like
Version 7.3.2
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
14 August 2012
Looks like we've had this listing updated to 7.3.3 since yesterday. Correct me if I'm misunderstanding your comment. Thanks!
Like
Arthur-Milholland
21 July 2012
I have often used TextSoap 5,6, and now, 7, which is even better with "TextSoap Menu" that works with text in your application, without the need to put it into Clipboard first. Each new version is worthwhile and worthy of financial support. Hats off to the highly responsive developer, too.
Like
Version 7.3.1
Cowicide
19 June 2012
Probably my only real compliant is I wish there was more metadata attached to the cleaners so they are a little easier to locate with a search. Otherwise, this is a fantastic mainstay of the Mac OS that been around forever and once you get the hang of it, it can be indispensable. I DO wish it had more GUI options with regex, specifically make it easy to generate a sequence number in a replacement string. As a matter of fact, if TextSoap did this, it would be the ONLY app on the Mac platform to offer this, AFAIK. On Windows you can do this with the awesome TextPad program using \i and \i (N,M) You can tell the developer works very hard to keep improving TextSoap. For one thing, I've noticed it keeps launching faster with every upgrade along with all the added features, etc. Great app, but like any great app, there's some room for improvement... but unlike some other great apps, this dev is dedicated to ongoing improvement.
Like (1)
Version 7.3
2 answer(s)
Mark-Munz
Mark-Munz
21 June 2012
I could not find an online reference to the TextPad sequence number feature you mentioned. Can you email me a feature request on the the "generate a sequence number in replacement string" with specific details on how you would want this to work. And thanks for noticing the launch speed improvements.
Like (1)
Cowicide
Cowicide
21 June 2012
I made this to show it in action: http://i.imgur.com/jIyTI.jpg
Like (1)
gbdoc
19 June 2012
Great cleaner-upper! Been using it for years, never a problem, gentle learning curve, wouldn't be without it.
Like (1)
Version 7.3
1 answer(s)
Cowicide
Cowicide
21 June 2012
Dev, I also sent you an email via your website form with more details.
Like
bobembry
19 June 2012
I use this constantly. Plain text to HTML. OCRed text to each sentence treated as if it were paragraph with markers in between. Cleaning up articles I clip from the Internet to DEVONthink Pro. There are lots of different uses.
Like (1)
Version 7.3
Bigg-E
28 May 2012
I've used this software for many years. It is indispensable. Very well-featured, and without real bloat, it allows an incredible degree of customization and integrates into workflows with automator and applescript. The ability to string together actions, including applescript and unix intermediate steps is incredibly powerful. Regular expression support is robust and extends this program's range considerably. Given the feature set, there is a good learning curve, but it well worth it. One can preview results of cleaners and easily undo them. Absolutely a well-crafted program, with lots of thought and commitment from the developer. I have emailed in numerous times and received timely and useful replies.
Like (2)
Version 7.2
helicos
30 March 2012
After trying some other text cleaning software, I stumbled upon this gem. TextSoap has a huge number of ready-made "cleaners" or text converters that are neatly organized into groups. But for me, the ability to customize my own cleaner was its best feature. This software is also very well supported by the developer. I am a student and I needed a complex workflow to make changes to all my class notes--I was spending hours doing this before I found TextSoap. I was clueless about using regular expressions so I asked the developer for help. As it turned out, my workflow needed more than a few regular expressions. The developer spent a great deal of time over the course of more than a week helping me create a custom solution that integrated both the cleaners in TextSoap and Automator actions. What took me hours before now takes me a few seconds with the custom cleaners. I wish I knew about TextSoap before I wasted time and money trying other software.
Like
Version 7.2
arnaud-
29 November 2011
Simply the best!
Like
Version 7.1
Yildi
13 November 2011
This soft has just made to gain hours of time by automating the fine-tuned conversion of a whole bunch of documents from Latex to Lyx. I use it as a service everyday in many other softs, my customized cleaners are just at the tip of my mouse cursor. If you edit and clean text manually and repeatedly, you definitely need this soft.
Like
Version 7.1