Back to TextSoap page
TextSoap free download for Mac

TextSoap Reviews

10 March 2021

Automate tedious text document cleaning.

How would you rate TextSoap?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
bobembry
bobembry
Nov 2 2019
8.5
5.0
Nov 2 2019
5.0
Version: 8.5
TextSoap is a core app for me—★★★★★. It works. I use it in conjunction with Keyboard Maestro Palettes and macOS Services to store text in Bear, Drafts, DEVONthink 3, Scrivener ... to format Book and News Article ... to create custom PDFs using Nisus Writer Pro that are then annotated on an iPad PDF app ...
Pavel231
Pavel231
Nov 26 2017
8.4.5
5.0
Nov 26 2017
5.0
Version: 8.4.5
TextSoap is my goto app for quickly changing text. I use it weekly, if not daily, to convert cases, smarten/straighten quotes, sort lines ascending/descending, remove extra spaces, change line breaks... TextSoap does it all in the flash of a second. The application has become ever more powerful over the years, now featuring numerous ways to customize cleaners based on personal preferences and needs, and the developer is very helpful. Highly recommended.
Riptide360
Riptide360
Oct 9 2017
8.4.2
5.0
Oct 9 2017
5.0
Version: 8.4.2
TextSoap is seriously one of those apps anyone struggling to reformat text needs! I use it to strip out weird formatting. It uses the REGEX find/replace language so if you need to do something there is a way. For most folks just learn enough to create a couple of scripts to do what you need. Two companion apps you'll probably use is Excel/Numbers for sorting and PopClip (they have a TextSoap extensions) for quick copy/paste cleanups. The support forum is a Google Groups that is pretty helpful. The app could benefit from a PopChar font function to show extended characters. Struggled with figuring out how to search on keyboard items like the "TAB" - which really should be in help and in Find/Replace dialog. The running query of paragraphs, words and characters is useful! Would be nice if there was an online library for sharing scenarios and scripts that solve a problem, along with a service where you could pay a few bucks to have someone create a script for your custom scenario.
johngagardner
johngagardner
Jul 13 2017
8.4.1
4.0
Jul 13 2017
4.0
Version: 8.4.1
great little App. I've ended up using it as my main editor for short notes, minutes etc. A lot of what I write assembles comments and emails from disparate sources. There are multiple formatting optoins as any decent WP and I can easily format all the pieces into a common layout. I suspect there is considerable power in its cleaning system A better manual would be handy...
robfol
robfol
Apr 21 2017
8.3.4
5.0
Apr 21 2017
5.0
Version: 8.3.4
V8 is In daily use and multiple times. I have my own personal list of fonts etc in the menu bar and this helps me keep all my text consistent. Dead easy to use after initial setup and a brain if you work with text all the time, especially if you copy text from website etc.. Regularly updated and fine on OSX 10.12.4
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Feb 9 2017
8.3.1
0.0
Feb 9 2017
0.0
Version: 8.3.1
8.3.1 crashes on 10.11. Sent a crash dump.
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Dec 22 2016
8.3
0.0
Dec 22 2016
0.0
Version: 8.3
Seems latest version is 8.2.1 not 8.3.
MattSD
MattSD
Jul 15 2016
8.0.9
5.0
Jul 15 2016
5.0
Version: 8.0.9
I purchased a license randomly when I saw version 8 was released and had seen this app get great reviews for years. I work with HTML and text files daily and I didn't realize how much time I spent fixing small things over and over. Every time I caught myself correcting something more than once I created a new action in TextSoap. These actions are grouped in to custom cleaners which can be run with a single click. It's now saving me a few hours every week and one of my most used apps. I really started to get the most use out of it by spending a couple of hours learning how regular expressions work. Regexone and RegExr are two great website starting points for learning. I'm now able to create more powerful find and replace commands within TextSoap.
brian-dunnell
brian-dunnell
Jul 15 2016
8.0.9
4.5
Jul 15 2016
4.5
Version: 8.0.9
It really saves a lot of time fixing up the wrong typing. I like to use Text Soap as it makes me feel sure my text will be perfect. The developers made this app very customized so you can setup your own options in preferences, like to convert to uppercase or capitalize words. TS is worth that money you pay. Try it to see the difference.
LeMerlot
LeMerlot
Jan 25 2016
8.0
4.0
Jan 25 2016
4.0
Version: 8.0
I bought version 8 immediately since I work with TextSoap every day cleaning up my "Dragon Dictate" files very fast and easy since years. But version 8 still has some glitches: E.g. "Capitalize Sentences (Alt)" doesn't work – ALL words besides of the first one in a phrase become lower case which makes this (at least for me as a German) important action unusable. Also the new UI could be a bit more streamlined: To change custom cleaners I first have to open the Customize Navigator via menu while at least a related button in the Clipboard Workspace or a right click menu in the cleaner list would make access much faster and more convenient. But I'm optimistic that it will be ironed out soon by the developers.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Jan 22 2016
8.0
5.0
Jan 22 2016
5.0
Version: 8.0
I've been using TextSoap for years and find it to be a huge time saver. You can find some of TS features available in other apps but being able to build and save your own text manipulation cleaners is just awesome. It may not be something you use every day but when you need it to make changes to a large document, TS could save you hours of time. I actually use it as my text application. TextSoap 8 is on sale for $29 right now, great time to buy, only $10 more than my upgrade price. BTW: No affiliation with developer, just a very useful application
bobembry
bobembry
Jan 21 2016
8.0
5.0
Jan 21 2016
5.0
Version: 8.0
I've been using TextSoap 7 with OS X El Capitan 10.11 many multiple times per day and it works great.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jan 1 2016
7.4.3
0.0
Jan 1 2016
0.0
Version: 7.4.3
No longer being updated? No El Capitan update. Unmarked and unmaintained software.
Andrewrodney
Andrewrodney
Dec 22 2015
7.4.3
5.0
Dec 22 2015
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
Huge time saver, superb tech support and customer service. Just loving it!
bobembry
bobembry
Oct 28 2015
7.4.3
5.0
Oct 28 2015
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
Incredibly useful — hundred times per day. Teamed with Keyboard Maestro, Scrivener, DEVONthink Pro, BBEdit and similar leads to text heaven :)
itsdailynews
itsdailynews
Jul 9 2015
7.4.3
5.0
Jul 9 2015
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
I normally don't write reviews but I came here to write the review for it since it's such an excellent software. Much more than I expected and can do really powerful stuff with texts. It also comes with the menu at menu bar which makes it easy to transform the text in any app and I can even assign hot key to them. Excellent Software!
rmattbill1
rmattbill1
Apr 19 2015
7.4.3
5.0
Apr 19 2015
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
Incredibly powerful app. The Google forum run by the developer is very helpful (and without it I would not have been able to figure out the many powerful tools available). For me, a must-have and worth every penny.
mike-rosene
mike-rosene
Mar 20 2015
7.4.3
4.5
Mar 20 2015
4.5
Version: 7.4.3
This product ROCKS!
TazG
TazG
Jan 1 2015
7.4.3
5.0
Jan 1 2015
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
I adore this application. Truly. While it does have a bit of a learning curve, it's WELL worth it. It's saved me countless hours over the years. Wouldn't know what to do without it.
Exactjustice
Exactjustice
Nov 13 2014
7.4.3
5.0
Nov 13 2014
5.0
Version: 7.4.3
Gets better and better
Exactjustice
Exactjustice
Oct 5 2014
7.4.2
5.0
Oct 5 2014
5.0
Version: 7.4.2
Essential for anyone that cuts and paste from the web or PDFs.
DCT
DCT
Sep 11 2014
7.4.1
5.0
Sep 11 2014
5.0
Version: 7.4.1
Use it all the time for web development converting documents created in Microsoft Word to web friendly text. Fast, easy, reliable, and feature rich. The money spent for this application was saved hundreds of times over in added productivity.
David1
David1
Sep 11 2014
7.4.1
4.5
Sep 11 2014
4.5
Version: 7.4.1
TextSoap continues to be the most complete and reliable software for dealing with third party texts. I've used it daily for years and wouldn't be without it. Developer response is good, both in support situations and in finding ways to expand the program's features.
dianeoforegongmail-com7232
dianeoforegongmail-com7232
Sep 7 2014
7.4.0
5.0
Sep 7 2014
5.0
Version: 7.4.0
One of my favorite apps for cleaning up text.
ddchene
ddchene
Feb 13 2014
7.3.8
5.0
Feb 13 2014
5.0
Version: 7.3.8
Powerful program. I find it indispensable for text manipulation. It’s easy to use on selected text almost anywhere through its own menu in the menubar. Creating macros is simple. Unmarked Software has updated it frequently.
Willoneal
Willoneal
Jan 12 2014
7.3.8
5.0
Jan 12 2014
5.0
Version: 7.3.8
Easy, fast, and it works exceedingly well.
bumper314
bumper314
Dec 2 2013
7.3.8
4.5
Dec 2 2013
4.5
Version: 7.3.8
I find myself using TextSoap on a weekly basis. It's nice looking and very well laid out.
michael-sebban
michael-sebban
Nov 22 2013
7.3.8
1.5
Nov 22 2013
1.5
Version: 7.3.8
Is this app work well with Nisus and Mellel and deal special characters (hebrew, arabic) and is there a way to Find and replace in several files together?
Peterinwiesbaden
Peterinwiesbaden
Nov 16 2013
7.3.8
5.0
Nov 16 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.8
If you have to copy & paste a lot of text (all kind of source, into a WordPress installation), TextSoap makes it very easy to get rid of all nasty characters.
Robingo88
Robingo88
Oct 26 2013
7.3.8
5.0
Oct 26 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.8
like many others, have been using TextSoap for close to 10 years (maybe more?)… i probably only use a fraction of its power but its my go-to text manipulation tool when moving between word, email, web pages, pdf's, etc… not sure i could calculate how much time (and how much more aggravation) this little tool has saved me!
Dee4
Dee4
Oct 26 2013
7.3.8
5.0
Oct 26 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.8
I like all of the options. I have used TextSoap for many, many years, and it just keeps on getting better and better. It solves so many of my text problems without my having to go through complicated routines, multiple programs, or scripts. It has become easier and easier to use over time. I love the System Menubar item that I can always just go up to use in whatever program that I am using. It's so much fun to watch it just clean everything up!
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Sep 5 2013
7.3.7
0.0
Sep 5 2013
0.0
Version: 7.3.7
Tabs would be great, I could see it as a mix between Ulysses and a markdown app..
Alexwoolfson
Alexwoolfson
Aug 16 2013
7.3.7
5.0
Aug 16 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.7
This is one of the finest examples of productivity software around-- right up there with 1Password and TextExpander. This is one of those apps that's hard to realize how awesome it is until you try it and then once you figure out its power, there's no turning back. Luckily there's a free trial. What can it do with text? Pretty much anything you want and in any application. For example, thank to its TextSoap menu, in an email, with one keystroke, I can have it search for and italicize each and every use of a title of my book. I don't even have to select text. It happens automatically and instantly. So if I'm typing quickly and forget to italicize my work, one keystroke and it's taken care of. Bang, done! But that's easy. What about the hard stuff? Well, I post transcripts of pages of my comic up on the web. These need to be converted from Rich Text Comic Book Scripts to specifically formatted HTML, but not only that, it's just supposed to be the dialogue, so I have to remove all the written descriptions while keeping everything else. I have to bold the character names (which aren't bolded in the Rich Text) with tags and I need to place both and tags around the words my characters emphasize. What I'm saying is that its totally repetitive gruntwork, but kinda tricky too, with lots of fiddly moving parts. Before TextSoap, it would take me about 10 to 20 minutes a page. Now it's another instantaneous keyboard command. And what's especially amazing? I wrote to the developer with a couple questions about how to tackle this problem and HE HAND-CODED THE WHOLE WORKFLOW FOR ME. I didn't even ask for that. The guy who does ScreenCasts Online mentioned he did that for him, but I figured that was because he had a huge following for his screencasts. I'm nobody. But he just did it! And every interaction from him has received a response in less than 12 hours. And a thoughtful/helpful one too. If you are wondering if this app is worth your money, let me tell you it absolutely is. Frankly, I wish the developer made more apps so I could have even more apps of this quality and from someone so extraordinarily responsive. Don't hesitate. Download the trial. And then buy it. This is the real thing.
Big E
Big E
Aug 7 2013
7.3.7
5.0
Aug 7 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.7
Incredible software. Feature-rich, flexible, stable and powerful. Manipulates text incredibly well -- if you can think it, then TextSoap can likely make the manipulation automatic. I have been a loyal customer since version 3 at least. This product has only gotten better and without any bloat.
wokole
wokole
Aug 7 2013
7.3.7
5.0
Aug 7 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.7
I rarely use this software as I do not involve regularly with the works of coping texts from one form of document to another. However, every time I use it, it works perfectly.
RichardGuay1742
RichardGuay1742
Jul 31 2013
7.3.7
5.0
Jul 31 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.7
This is a must have app! I use it all the time and love it. Coupled with Alfred 2 workflows really makes this one shine.
gbdoc
gbdoc
Jul 31 2013
7.3.7
5.0
Jul 31 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.7
Great little app (little, but powerful!), has always been a great help, gets better with each iteration.
David1
David1
Jul 2 2013
7.3.6
4.5
Jul 2 2013
4.5
Version: 7.3.6
Have used TextSoap constantly for years. Nothing else even comes close to meeting my needs.
3quarters
3quarters
Apr 2 2013
7.3.6
5.0
Apr 2 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.6
Easy to use. VERY flexible. Regularly saves me lots of work. Nice product.
crm128
crm128
Mar 4 2013
7.3.6
5.0
Mar 4 2013
5.0
Version: 7.3.6
Great app, very useful and constantly updated. Very reactive developer with a sense of humor (open app on specific dates like Halloween to understand).
Tekl
Tekl
Jan 25 2013
7.3.5
0.0
Jan 25 2013
0.0
Version: 7.3.5
Interesting tool. Well, it's way to complicated for casual users. So it would be nice to be able to create droplets for those guys.
anonymous-thrush-1205
anonymous-thrush-1205
Sep 24 2012
7.3.3
5.0
Sep 24 2012
5.0
Version: 7.3.3
Like it very much!
Cowicide
Cowicide
Aug 14 2012
7.3.2
4.0
Aug 14 2012
4.0
Version: 7.3.2
MacUpdate, as of 8/14, this is version 7.3.3
Arthur-Milholland
Arthur-Milholland
Jul 21 2012
7.3.1
5.0
Jul 21 2012
5.0
Version: 7.3.1
I have often used TextSoap 5,6, and now, 7, which is even better with "TextSoap Menu" that works with text in your application, without the need to put it into Clipboard first. Each new version is worthwhile and worthy of financial support. Hats off to the highly responsive developer, too.
Cowicide
Cowicide
Jun 19 2012
7.3
4.0
Jun 19 2012
4.0
Version: 7.3
Probably my only real compliant is I wish there was more metadata attached to the cleaners so they are a little easier to locate with a search. Otherwise, this is a fantastic mainstay of the Mac OS that been around forever and once you get the hang of it, it can be indispensable. I DO wish it had more GUI options with regex, specifically make it easy to generate a sequence number in a replacement string. As a matter of fact, if TextSoap did this, it would be the ONLY app on the Mac platform to offer this, AFAIK. On Windows you can do this with the awesome TextPad program using \i and \i (N,M) You can tell the developer works very hard to keep improving TextSoap. For one thing, I've noticed it keeps launching faster with every upgrade along with all the added features, etc. Great app, but like any great app, there's some room for improvement... but unlike some other great apps, this dev is dedicated to ongoing improvement.
gbdoc
gbdoc
Jun 19 2012
7.3
5.0
Jun 19 2012
5.0
Version: 7.3
Great cleaner-upper! Been using it for years, never a problem, gentle learning curve, wouldn't be without it.
bobembry
bobembry
Jun 19 2012
7.3
5.0
Jun 19 2012
5.0
Version: 7.3
I use this constantly. Plain text to HTML. OCRed text to each sentence treated as if it were paragraph with markers in between. Cleaning up articles I clip from the Internet to DEVONthink Pro. There are lots of different uses.
Big E
Big E
May 28 2012
7.2
5.0
May 28 2012
5.0
Version: 7.2
I've used this software for many years. It is indispensable. Very well-featured, and without real bloat, it allows an incredible degree of customization and integrates into workflows with automator and applescript. The ability to string together actions, including applescript and unix intermediate steps is incredibly powerful. Regular expression support is robust and extends this program's range considerably. Given the feature set, there is a good learning curve, but it well worth it. One can preview results of cleaners and easily undo them. Absolutely a well-crafted program, with lots of thought and commitment from the developer. I have emailed in numerous times and received timely and useful replies.
helicos
helicos
Mar 30 2012
7.2
5.0
Mar 30 2012
5.0
Version: 7.2
After trying some other text cleaning software, I stumbled upon this gem. TextSoap has a huge number of ready-made "cleaners" or text converters that are neatly organized into groups. But for me, the ability to customize my own cleaner was its best feature. This software is also very well supported by the developer. I am a student and I needed a complex workflow to make changes to all my class notes--I was spending hours doing this before I found TextSoap. I was clueless about using regular expressions so I asked the developer for help. As it turned out, my workflow needed more than a few regular expressions. The developer spent a great deal of time over the course of more than a week helping me create a custom solution that integrated both the cleaners in TextSoap and Automator actions. What took me hours before now takes me a few seconds with the custom cleaners. I wish I knew about TextSoap before I wasted time and money trying other software.
arnaud-
arnaud-
Nov 29 2011
7.1
5.0
Nov 29 2011
5.0
Version: 7.1
Simply the best!