Back to CandyBar page
CandyBar free download for Mac

CandyBar Reviews

3.3.4
04 August 2012

Customize your OS X toolbar icons and much more.

Jazzyguy
03 August 2012

Most helpful

So many years and so much INTEGRITY. A real credit to Mac users everywhere. When they saw they couldn't effectively use their app in Mountain Lion they made it free. I wish other Developers would copy their style. They are so classy!
Like (12)
Version 3.3.4

Read 155 CandyBar User Reviews

Rate this app:

jeffstarkman
26 November 2018
?? Can Candybar allow me to change the font and/or color of a folder's name? MACOS will allow me to do this with ALL folders but not one individually to, say, allow for one folder to be named with a larger green font...!?
Like
Version 3.3.4
1 answer(s)
4KarmicJustice
4KarmicJustice
14 April 2019
You gave a 3 star review and you don't know the basics of that this program does?
Like (1)
Steve K
17 February 2014
I included this info in a reply but I'm including it here in a new review so hopefully people will see it and resurrect their copy of CandyBar. Still the best. :) -- I used Update #2 (scroll down a bit) found on this page to update CandyBar so it works with 10.9 and 10.9.1. Works perfectly. http://idevicedailys.com/os-x/howto-use-candybar-os-x-mavericks/
Like (1)
Version 3.3.4
2 answer(s)
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
17 February 2014
Mudflapper, Thanks for the heads up! I to used Update #2 and had to run Onyx for CandyBar to be fully functional but now this has breathed new life into a useful program. I don't know if you use LiteIcon but it works perfectly on Mavericks as well.
Like
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
17 February 2014
Addendum: This fix worked on my 2010 iMac but not on my late 2012 iMac.....Repeated the steps X2 to include Onyx but no luck on the 2012 iMac. Not sure what the problem is.....
Like
Brooklyn-Al
18 September 2013
Any hope that this would be updated to work with Mavericks?
Like (3)
Version 3.3.4
8 answer(s)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
26 October 2013
So far, it doesn't work with Mavericks. Such a big loss. I can't stand the plain blue folders in OS X.
Like
Edu-mac
Edu-mac
27 October 2013
It seems working but when I can't apply changes because "Apply button" is unreachable (top of screen)
Like (1)
Edu-mac
Edu-mac
27 October 2013
LiteIcon 2.0.0 can changed some icons of Mavericks. An update is planned. Be Patient.
Like
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
27 October 2013
IconBox can do everything CandyBar can do and it has an active developer unlike CandyBar which was abandoned by its developer. But, IconBox cannot yet customize system icons in Mavericks. So we will need to wait.
Like
Charnk
Charnk
06 November 2013
Thanks Edu_mac. LiteIcon does work! I've banashed my blue folders and now I'm in a better mood. Note: I needed to restart for changes to work instead of the app only requesting a log out, but thats no big deal. Again, thx
Like
Leoofborg
Leoofborg
20 November 2013
CandyBar *can* work on folders and volumes but the 'integration' isn't there. Cntl-Click, 'Copy' the icon, then get info on the folder or volume and 'Paste'... Too many things have changed on the System side (like fundamental changes to the Dock) that other tweaks previous to Mavericks just do not work anymore. It WOULD be nice if Panic updated Candybar for Mavericks.. but if they do, I expect to dropped or disabled features.
Like
Brooklyn-Al
Brooklyn-Al
20 November 2013
All....LiteIcon has been updated for Mavericks with the new version I have changed the icons flawlessly.
Like (1)
Steve K
Steve K
17 February 2014
I used Update #2 (scroll down a bit) found on this page to update CandyBar so it works with 10.9 and 10.9.1. Works perfectly! http://idevicedailys.com/os-x/howto-use-candybar-os-x-mavericks/
Like
Kenbotwinick
15 March 2013
Can anyone confirm how well this works on 10.8.3? I can't afford to upgrade and have tools I depend on break...
Like
Version 3.3.4
1 answer(s)
Magentis
Magentis
22 April 2013
I've changed app and system icons but not without some glitches. The blurry icons are still around, search doesn't seem to work, it's crashed twice, when I drag and drop icons sometimes they won't appear, when I'm browsing a large folder some icons are temporarily invisible, etc. A restart fixes most of the issues but it can be a pain.
Like
Majesty30
26 February 2013
I can't ever decide between this app and IconBox.
Like
Version 3.3.4
NarcolepticSceptic
21 September 2012
I love this app and have been using it for years. It's a shame what Apple is doing now to the freedom of the user. I am sure that Mac users want to customize all their icons. There is also a bug since 10.5 with blurry/pixelated icons which is clearly a OSX bug !! Apple didn't fix this bug in 10.8 and now even doesn't allow to change icons??? I can't believe this is happening!
Like (2)
Version 3.3.4
Kentr
07 August 2012
Thanks for releasing this cool program already updated for Mountain Lion. I'm having a lot of fun with it.
Like
Version 3.3.4
Mac-Mail
04 August 2012
It's not 'FREE'. It's 'FREE DOWNLOAD'. Be more specific!!!
Like
Version 3.3.4
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Nick
MacUpdate-Nick
04 August 2012
Mac-Mail, The Iconfactory has stated that they're unsure of the future of being able to customize icons in OS X, and have thus provided a serial number for everyone to use: PPQA-YAMA-E3KP-VHXG-B6AL-L. Additionally, CandyBar is now unsupported.
Like (9)
Aanhorn
04 August 2012
I find the recent direction Apple is heading with OS X to be very troubling. Taking choices and power out of the customer's hands and locking down their software. It's a very sad thing to watch for someone who's been a faithful Apple customer for more than 20 years. I have nothing but respect for Cabel and Panic for supporting an excellent product like CandyBar as long as they have, but at this point, Apple has made their decision for them.
Like (7)
Version 3.3.4
Khadrelt
04 August 2012
One of my favorite apps ever. I've had it for years. It's understandable that they decided to stop maintaining it, though, with Apple continually making it harder and harder to customize OS X. I still intend to keep CandyBar around as long as possible, though, for the icon storage part if not the icon replacement features.
Like (3)
Version 3.3.4
Mr-Zark
04 August 2012
That's a bummer. I was about to buy this app after my trial ended since it's a much quicker way to change icons. I haven't had any problems changing the App Store icon because it never reverted back to the original icon on launch. Same goes for the other system icons so it's sad to see this will no longer be supported.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.4
Franko
04 August 2012
While I am sad to see CB (purchased a license 2 or 3 years ago)coming to an end, the folks at Panic deserve huge kudos for making it free. Unlike other devs who'll go unmentioned who know their app is nearing the end but keep charging for it.
Like (5)
Version 3.3.4
Stringer
04 August 2012
Love this App soo much been using it for years bought a licence few years back. Changes all my system icons easily and stores my icon collection no problem 5000+ icons. Yes sad day seeing as how it is free now and has become un supported :( hope someone picks it up.... Thanks for all the years iconfactory!!! :)
Like (2)
Version 3.3.4
1 answer(s)
smtips
smtips
07 August 2012
I agree, and Cabel & Panic always have been one of the kings of software on the Mac. This Hotline icon now..there is a familiar logo and a familiar face from days-gone-by. Stringer was an icon king in his own right, how well I remember "Stringer's Icon Archive." Still have it someplace in fact! Cheers to you my friend, LTNS :) -SuperMatt
Like (1)
Zephyris
04 August 2012
I likes free candy!!!
Like (3)
Version 3.3.4
It's sad to hear that CandyBar will no longer be supported, but I have to agree with Jazzyguy. It says a lot about the developer to know they recognized the lack of current/future capabilities for CandyBar and therefore decided to release it as a free application. I entirely respect and appreciate their decision.
Like (3)
Version 3.3.4
Jazzyguy
03 August 2012
So many years and so much INTEGRITY. A real credit to Mac users everywhere. When they saw they couldn't effectively use their app in Mountain Lion they made it free. I wish other Developers would copy their style. They are so classy!
Like (12)
Version 3.3.4
1 answer(s)
anonymous-rooster-2921
anonymous-rooster-2921
03 August 2012
You nailed it on the head.
Like
schmelding
03 August 2012
All I have to say is a heartfelt, "Thank you." You guyses rawk da haus.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.4
markrfriedman
03 August 2012
It's been a great ride and we're going to miss you
Like (3)
Version 3.3.4
F451
03 August 2012
To say I have a soft spot for Panic and the IconFactory would be an understatement. I've never ever hesitated to pay for an upgrade when needed. Nothing but top-tier here and their presence in the Apple world is as much as Apple itself. Many, many thanks to Panic; what a class-act.
Like (4)
Version 3.3.4
adarkenigma
01 August 2012
disappointed I'm afraid it's no longer possible to customize the Dock in Mountain Lion. Thanks for writing! Best, Tim Panic Inc.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.3
2 answer(s)
Fking
Fking
03 August 2012
mirage can at least give you an 'invisible' dock (ie icons & indicators only). anyway, sad to see this app retired. thanx for the years of support!
Like (1)
Kentr
Kentr
03 August 2012
Cool beans! Thanks for the gift.
Like
Vitaly
28 July 2012
all works now after the recent update. in my experience the developer updates the app very quickly after every major OS X release. thanks
Like (1)
Version 3.3.3
wickedsp1d3r
04 June 2012
Too many crashes these days. Used to be stable, lovable piece of software. Pity.
Like
Version 3.3.3
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
26 July 2012
I haven't had a single crash in Lion, and so far no crashes in Mountain Lion. The system icons are not up to date for ML, but overall, the program still works.
Like
Willpower-art
29 May 2012
best icon change app
Like
Version 3.3.3
Stormchild
29 May 2012
So yeah, CandyBar 3.3.3 is officially hosed in OS X 10.7.4. If you can even get it to launch without immediately crashing, you might be able to select one or two icons and copy/paste them manually, but good luck getting the system icon replacement feature to work. I can't even seem to switch between different icon sets without it crashing. It's pretty clear that CandyBar is now a backburner project for Panic, so I wouldn't expect it to be fixed anytime soon.
Like
Version 3.3.3
Stormchild
28 May 2012
I used to love CandyBar, but the long term neglect is really starting to show. It takes forever to import a new set of icons, there are frequent graphic glitches (such as icons that temporarily appear corrupted, but look fine the next time the app is launched), and it's become extremely unstable, crashing constantly when trying to make changes to system icons. (This is before I've even tried to apply the changes, when I'm just choosing the icons I want to use.)
Like
Version 3.3.3
Mistersquid
10 May 2012
Prior to Mac OS X 10.7.4 and CandyBar 3.3.3 I have been able to change Finder.app's icon with CandyBar. Is this still possible? I'm asking because I cannot figure out how to change Finder.app's icon atm.
Like
Version 3.3.3
3 answer(s)
Hachepunto
Hachepunto
11 May 2012
Same proble here.
Like
Mistersquid
Mistersquid
12 May 2012
Fixed as of Fri, 11 May 2012 16:33 Pacific. Restart CandyBar and accept update. Icon for the Finder will again be visible System Icons > Dock Icons. THANKS PANIC!!!
Like
Hachepunto
Hachepunto
12 May 2012
Thanks dude. it works
Like
zx
14 November 2011
THE SAME BUG SINCE 2009!!!!!!!! *If you trash some icons, let's say from my-icon list (while still keeping it in the trash). The next rebuild will bring the icons back!! Over the years, I have contact the developer a few times and they did respond. But i got the feeling that they are not taking CandBar seriously. Its all about Coda now.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
3 answer(s)
Raddle
Raddle
15 November 2011
That small bug is worth a half star rating? Wow.
Like (11)
zx
zx
19 November 2011
@Raddle When it messes with your 3000 icons Library it's not even worth the half star!!! Also, the company knows about this bug since 2009...yet they choose to put all their effort into Coda.app!
Like (1)
5henhua
5henhua
13 December 2011
Cannot reproduce this bug here. Any screencast?
Like
Khadrelt
26 September 2011
Great overall. As an icon collector nut, CandyBar is indispensable application, and it has been well worth the purchase. I have only one complaint: their Smart Collections don't have an option to find icons by an icon's pixel size, only its file size. Which means you can't make smart folders that include certain sizes of icons (i.e., if you want a collection that only has icons with a 512x512 size). Actually, come to think of it, Smart Collections don't seem to work reliably in any case. But I don't really use them much anyway (mostly because of the lack of pixel-size options, I must add). I've had no problems on Lion. In fact, the icon replacement seems to be working better for me on Lion than it did on SL. You can't, however, use CandyBar to change the icons of apps downloaded from the Mac App Store—they're grayed out with a lock over them, and not even changing the app's permissions seems to fix that. probably not CandyBar's fault, I'm sure, but Apple's.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.2
orhon
24 August 2011
I wish this would go on sale sometime... Also another question, does it replace the icons and dock in the system folder or do I have to run it every single time? Cheers
Like
Version 3.3.2
Gn-0000
18 August 2011
Candybar 3.3.2 will not update itself to support Mac OS X 10.7.1! Poor man! System Icons no longer able to be applied!
Like (1)
Version 3.3.2
Stringer
27 July 2011
Love this app bought it about 3 yrs ago. I have had no problems with this app also it seems to be working fine for me on Lion. I use it mainly to change the system icons but also have built up quit the iContainer collection 4000 + icons and it handles them with no problem.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.2
1 answer(s)
Thresher-the-Shark
Thresher-the-Shark
06 August 2011
Wow, your avatar sure brings back memories.
Like (1)
Hike77
27 July 2011
Works great and has a very clean design.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.2
Der~bot~haus
27 July 2011
Seems to be fixed with 3.3.2. Icons changing as expected. Animations are smoother as well.
Like (2)
Version 3.3.2
Der~bot~haus
22 July 2011
3.3.1 is broken for me. Reverted back to 3.3. Can't change any icons. Goes through the motion but I am never asked to relaunch Finder or Dock and nothing ends up being changed. 10.7 and 10.6.8.
Like (1)
Version 3.3.1
4 answer(s)
Maulrat
Maulrat
23 July 2011
same issue here ... goes through the motions but doesn't change the icons no matter how many times I press Apply Icons
Like (1)
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
23 July 2011
I thought that 3.3 was bad.... 3.3.1 is worse - most of the time new icon just disappears or at best changed to a very blurry version. It was happening with 3.3 too, but not as often and everybody was blaming the Snow Leo for it. Who or what to blame now?
Like
digidow
digidow
23 July 2011
I'm having the same problem w/ Lion and 3.3.1
Like
Andrewm8
Andrewm8
24 July 2011
It is definitely a huge problem with CandyBar. I have just installed an IconBox as alternative, exported all my CandyBar (over 2,000) icons into iContainer and then imported said iContainer into IconBox. Now all icons that were causing either blank or blurry replacement in CandyBar show as blank in IconBox dropbox. But when I add problem icons to IconBox manually from the original file they are fine. It means CandyBar is messing up with some icons, regardless what was the file format of the original source (icns, png, jpg, tiff...). It's time for CandyBar developers to clean the mess.
Like (2)
Gn-0000
06 July 2011
I found a new bug of Candybar 3.3 in Mac OS X 10.7 Lion that the applied icons in the new feature of Lion called "Launch Pad" will NOT be changed. Which means 3.3 has not be evolved to align with the new OS. What a disappointed.
Like (3)
Version 3.3
3 answer(s)
iGlobal
iGlobal
11 July 2011
Are you jumping head first into water where you can't see the bottom? People are going to be ranting about many apps that don't conform to the Lion release instantaneously. Just sayin'
Like (2)
Steven-lee
Steven-lee
21 July 2011
Well since Lion is released to public, I believe this is indeed a bug that should be looked into.
Like (1)
Weberwithoneb
Weberwithoneb
25 April 2012
Who uses Launchpad, anyway? Panic doesn't support lame ideas. ;)
Like
Zephyris
06 July 2011
Seems to be working fine on Lion but Finder would not restart on its own. I appreciate the speedy release as always.
Like (2)
Version 3.3
HugeBubba
06 July 2011
It seems to me a good app, 3 stars because of the price. Guys, 30 bucks is too much for this app. Need more money for smokin'.
Like (6)
Version 3.3
2 answer(s)
iGlobal
iGlobal
11 July 2011
Definitely agree on the price being way too high, but Panic puts out some pretty slammin' apps. I personally use Unison, Transmit and Candy Bar. Panic does empty your pockets a bit, but you get quality programs as well.
Like (1)
Tedds
Tedds
01 August 2011
all for the price. This app works well, but the price is a little bit higher.
Like (1)
n@ncy
02 March 2011
Used to love it, but last update is from 2009. Is this one abandoned? Mac now always needs a reboot in order to have the icons changed in the dock, a simple finder restart or even login/ logout doesn't work anymore. I've switched to IconBox for now, which seems to work just fine at the moment.
Like (4)
Version 3.2.2
1 answer(s)
zx
zx
18 March 2011
And so many bugs are unfixed!!
Like (1)
xati-ba
18 February 2011
Looks good, but Is it worth $30?
Like (4)
Version 3.2.2
Djefis
12 February 2011
Good App.
Like
Version 3.2.2
iminlalaland
14 January 2011
I must say...I am a little disappointed when I tried this out. It is a wee-bit confusing, cannot really detect the icons I have installed in my folder and a little hard to configure. The icon pack they gave looks good though.
Like
Version 3.2.2
Graphic-Mac
17 December 2010
CandyBar is just one of those apps you're glad you have when you use it. Is it necessary? No. But it sure makes dealing with icons and the Dock much easier.
Like (2)
Version 3.2.2
zx
01 September 2010
*One year later and still no fix for the horrible reappearing deleted icons bug!!! (also see @ACCOUNTCLOSED comment) **For users that don't know yet, with version 2.0.2 it is possible to import your CandyBar collection into IconBox! http://www.iconboxapp.com .
Like (2)
Version 3.2.2
Vince730
22 August 2010
Good app. Makes changing Icons easily done. I do have an issue where my Dashboard icon won't restore back to the original, but I'll be able to change it back once I get around to downloading the original icon online. Granted that shouldn't happen, but its not the end of the world. IF you do use this app for heavy duty icon changing, I recommend you make a backup of the icons you change first, as I have found the restore setting to be iffy.
Like
Version 3.2.2
Px9-855
06 August 2010
So Panic, how about fixing some of the still remaining bugs in this all but deserted app? While still useful, there is now some competition in IconBox 2. While IconBox might not be all that just yet, it at least show signs of progress... On a side note, I really wish there would be some filter of abandoned apps/age barrier on MacUpdate to note those apps as 'history'. Especially since some things tend to break between large system updates and some of the software here is so old that even their own developers probably don't remember them anymore. :P
Like (4)
Version 3.2.2
Ixmac
18 March 2010
awesome!!!... just one word. do your own icons and docks, then apply them with this app and see them on your mac has no price...(excuse me for my terrible English) ;-)
Like
Version 3.2.2
zx
18 February 2010
BUYER BEWARE!!! Read @ACCOUNTCLOSED & @ZX Still no fix! while Coda is getting updated frequently..CandyBar seems deserted! .
Like (3)
Version 3.2.2
Memnarch113
13 January 2010
Look, Candybar is a great app. I love it with all my heart. A nice, easy to use, powerful utility. But, I just don't think it is worth $30. Yes, it looks nice, yes it gets the job done, but I think you could use something else just fine. That being said, Candbar is in fact one of my favorite applications of all time. I enjoy using it a lot. If you are willing to pay for your apps, this is a good one. If not, I suggest you get a free counterpart.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
C32077
09 January 2010
I read the reviews about the price hike for the upgrade. I had CB2 and thought it was ok. I decided not to judge the price until I had experienced the product. Perhaps they had done something really exciting which would make the price worthwhile. NOT! They actually have less. I bought it and I am quite pi**ed off. The main reason I bought it was to change my .zip, .sit, .sitx. icons etc. They are no longer accessible? WTF? I create my own icons which fit my company's brand or identity. I bought the app, then created all of my new icons to swap into the default ones. I opened the app and spent about 45 minutes looking for the .zip icon to replace it. Couldn't fin it anywhere. I searched the web and found out that some icons are bundled inside other icons which are no longer editable. BS! Why release a product that does only half of what it used to and then charge such a premium price for it. I am totally out $24 for nothing. I am sending them a letter to explain my discontent with their product. I know I will not get a refund but I am so pi**ed off. I want them to know I will not EVER consider their products in the future. No matter how great the reviews may be for any app that comes out of there, I will not pay for it. Even if they offer me a $24 credit towards some phenomenal, super stellar new app with great reviews I will turn it down on principal. They screwed me out of money. That happens only once for me and I no longer trust that individual or entity.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
zx
14 November 2009
Buggy! buggy! buggy! . 1. If you trash your icon, let's say from my-icon list (while still keeping it in the trash). The next rebuild will bring the icon back!! 2. You can't empty your trash manually. You must use the file/empty trash apple menu. If you wont do that, the icon will return. 3. ... I contact the developer a few times and they did respond. But i got the feeling that they are not taking CandBar seriously. Its all about Coda now... .
Like (3)
Version 3.2.2