Back to iTunes-LAME Encoder page
iTunes-LAME Encoder free download for Mac

iTunes-LAME Encoder Reviews

2.0.9
26 October 2007

Boost iTunes' sound quality with LAME encoding.

darukaru
06 June 2003

Most helpful

Let's face it. A LAME '--alt-preset standard -Z' encode is going to beat out just about any other MP3 or AAC file you create, from any encoder. Sure, it's slower than the iTunes standard, but good things come to those who wait.
Like
Version 2.0

Read 29 iTunes-LAME Encoder User Reviews

Rate this app:

macupdate-179
26 January 2018
Used to uses this before with Snow Leopard. In later Mac OS Versions it stopped working. Then I started to use XLD, what is great, too. No it works again with High Sierra and iTunes 12.7.3 on my Macbook Air! What a surprise! I have an older Lame version (3.97) installed and with that it works superp. Use this preset with Lame versions 3.97 and higher: -V2 --vbr-new --vcomment
Like
Version 2.0.9
daveghax
04 October 2012
I've used/loved this for years. Just updated to Mountain Lion/iTunes 10. Now it hangs on "gathering information". Any help?
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
2 answer(s)
Philips666
Philips666
01 January 2013
iTunes LAME is still plugging away for me even in iTunes 11. If it hangs at *gathering information* it might not be able to find your source files. This has been the case with me in the past.
Like
davidinracine
davidinracine
03 March 2017
Same here. I used to love iTunes-LAME through about 2010 but it hasn't worked since then... it always hangs at "gathering information" on every track. LAME still works fine via the command line, but that's a pain in the backside. So sorry to lose this once-glorious front end to LAME! I wish somebody would fill the gap.
Like
OsloX
01 January 2012
Any update on this? Doesnt work with iTunes 9 or 10.
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
1 answer(s)
Caschreier
Caschreier
01 March 2012
It does work with iTunes 10 under OSX Snow Leopard. May be not with Lion, I haven't made the switch yet because of some PPC applications I still use. But if you are not going to write a review, don't give a bad score, just write a comment. I still use this program and it works flawlessly.
Like
anonymous-thrush-1239
31 January 2008
Better with tags, but slower: I'm glad to see they've worked out the tagging issues. Now all the tags seem to make it to the encoded files, though some Unicode still gets mangled (accented Greek characters, so far, in my experience). Still, a definite improvement over 2.0.8, which just lost ~75% of tags! I do notice, though, that this version runs at about 40% the speed of 2.0.8 on my Core 2 Duo 2gHz Macbook. I thought maybe I had a PowerPC version, but Activity Monitor shows it as Intel. I used to get around 12x encoding with "--preset standard", and now I'm at 4.5x. Any ideas?
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
Shock-J
01 December 2007
This no longer works for me in iTunes 7.5 and Leopard on MacBook Pro. Not sure if it's an iTunes issue or a Leopard issue. Anyone got this working in these conditions?
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
2 answer(s)
Shock-J
Shock-J
02 December 2007
I got it working. I had a separate install of the LAME framework installed and I think it was conflicting with this one. As soon as I removed the extra framework, this encoder started working.
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
Mdewakanton
Mdewakanton
25 December 2007
I too had this trouble updating iTunes to 7.5 under Tiger 10.4.9 and could solve it in a different way (Import with LAME didn't show up in Scripts menu): Show package contents > Contents > Resources > Import with LAME....scpt, I put a copy of this script in iTunes Scripts folder and then it correctly showed up in menu and launched iTunes-LAME Encoder. Hope this helps.
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
Cbx322
01 December 2007
SUPERB!!! Finally this version of iTunes-Lame is working flawlessly with iTunes > 7.02. No lost tags anymore, no need to rewrite tags. Tags are already written as v2.4. Still recognizes own compiled lame binary. Just perfect. Works in Tiger and Leopard. Thank you so much!
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
Cbx322
30 November 2007
Are the tagging issues solved? (lost tag information with version 2.08 and iTunes > 7.02)
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
Itbjorn
27 October 2007
where can I find the script that helps me open it from inside iTunes?
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
2 answer(s)
Itbjorn
Itbjorn
28 October 2007
Did what you said, and nothing new shows in the sripts menu.
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
Itbjorn
Itbjorn
28 October 2007
Thanks a lot!
Like
Version 2.0.9-34
Osxpowerbook
12 October 2007
iTunes-LAME is a fantastic program, but several months ago it started giving me problems. Would not import all of the tracks, or wouldn't put all the information (ID tags) into the tracks that would actually import. I think because iTunes seems to have an update every couple of weeks, it has changed enough that there are now compatability bugs with the last version of iTune-LAME... if it were brought up to date with the LATEST version of iTunes, the problem would probably be resolved. I MISS using LAME!
Like
Version 2.0.9b4
Markoh
02 October 2007
http://sbooth.org/Max/ you won't need anything else. I once used to use iTunes-LAME... when it used to work.
Like
Version 2.0.9b4
Canoeberry
05 June 2007
I used iTunes-LAME for years but I am having trouble for the first time. The AIF tracks have all the track information in them, including now, for the first time, Album Art. I am having trouble when the mp3 files are created, the ID3 tags are not making into most of the tracks. So the Album field is often blank, for example. My current theory that I cannot quite test at the moment is that the album art in the AIF file (which is a new feature of iTunes) is causing problems. Anybody else experienced this problem?
Like
Version 2.0.8
G8tgod
03 August 2006
Okay, I'm convinced. I had heard that the mp3 encoder for iTunes was not very good, and that LAME was essential. But I figured people were just being overly picky. Not so. I have one CD that is just not bearable using the iTunes encoder, even at 192. But have you ever tried to use LAME? Not exactly user friendly. The iTunes-LAME script is simple and it works; it's great! One question: this says it's v. 2.0.8, but when I open the script, it says v. 2.0.7. Am I missing something here?
Like
Version 2.0.8
akasrp-1
11 March 2006
This is an essential script. I would gladly donate to keep the author in business and to see updates incorporating the latest preferred LAME builds. In the meantime, for those wishing to use iTunes-LAME 2.0.8 with LAME 3.97b2 (preferred build as of this writing), see: http://alpharuin.blogspot.com/2006/01/guide-itunes-lame-correct-way.html
Like
Version 2.0.8
Anonymous
22 July 2005
iTunes-LAME doesn't do one nice thing that iTunes does when using it as an encoder. If you're reencoding tracks already in your library, iTunes will preserve all the tags (including artwork) that aren't changed by the new CDDB lookup (including artwork) and then it will remove the original track. So you can easily rerip stuff at different rates without having to reenter tags and without having to remove the original tracks from your iTunes database. Also, I see horrible performance in the phase where it's updating id tags. I'm actually using a SMB share over the network, so it's probably doing individual file writes for each tag instead of batching hem together (just guessing here). It sort of negates any benefit I get to using multiple encoders and caching.
Like
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 October 2005
I disagree that it would be a feature to delete the original. It would be a feature to optionally delete the original, but the default should always be conservative. For example, I plan to rip uncompressed for house use, but have the LAME encoder create the MP3's for iPod use. It would be an unpleasant surprise to find the originals in the trash. As far as the actual product, it is hard to get from the developer's site due to their requiring Javascript. And they only show 2.0.7 so I wonder what is going on....
Like
Version 2.0.8
Anonymous
21 September 2004
is LAME still the best encoding option now that AAC is here?
Like
Version 2.0.8
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 October 2004
Some people can tell the difference, some can not. You should judge for yourself, since you will be listening to the music. :) Another concern is MP3 files are *much* more portable than AAC files are. If you are concerned about being able to play your music in a variety of locations, stick to MP3.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Anonymous
11 June 2004
Love the Script, I use it all the time. 2 things I'd like to see in the next update though: 1) Being able to encode selected (highlighted) songs in a Playlist or the Library, instead of entire Playlists only. 2) Being able to encode directly from an Apple Lossless Audio encoded DVD-R. I make backups of my CD's and encode them in the Apple Lossless Audio format and burn them to DVD-R's. When I try to import these DVD-R's again using ITunes-LAME encoder, I keep getting the message, "Select a CD or File Playlist." It obviously doesn't recognize the encoding on the DVD-R. Overall it's one of the best iTunes scripts available and I would love to see these features implented in a future release.
Like
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 September 2004
To Anonymus with the fix list, you can already encode single files by checking/unchecking songs in a playlist--the same as with iTunes imports.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Anonymous
30 April 2004
Writes files which have correct size and length but there is no data in them - just disk-space wasters. I have all the latest updates as of this post date.
Like
Version 2.0.7
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
20 September 2004
hi there. do you mean that there is audio but no iformation in the tags ? i had this problem until i realised that my MP3 folder was named "• MP3" iTunes and iTunes-LAME do not like symbols like "•", "-", "/"... etc. Just "MP3" did the trick for me.
Like
Version 2.0.8
Anonymous
17 March 2004
I would like to know how to retain album art for those songs that get encoded with LAME. Can you tell me how?
Like
Version 2.0.7
Anonymous
02 March 2004
#!/bin/sh if test $1 then for file in "$1"/*.aiff do lame -h -m s -b 192 "$file" "$(basename "$file" .aiff).mp3" done else echo >&2 "Usage: $(basename $0) /path/to/cd" fi
Like
Version 2.0.7
Anonymous
23 February 2004
I would like to know how to have a new playlist created when I encode...... I would love to have that feature but I don't see it.
Like
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
23 February 2004
It should happen automatically in 2.0.6 and higher
Like
Version 2.0.7
Anonymous
18 February 2004
Just so great! Much faster with LAME 3.95 and the feature that creates a new playlist when u encode is back. I missed that one.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
17 January 2004
I like the integration with iTunes, however there are a couple of bugs that will keep me using LameBrain for now. Firstly it only writes ID3v2 tags. There's no way to enable ID3v1 tags which sometimes are all that's needed. LameBrain writes ID3v1 and only ID3V2 if there is need. Secondly, for some bizarre reason it refused to name the "artist" folder it created according to the actual artist name. Instead it kept calling it ""Compilations". Again, no such trouble with LameBrain. I prefer the look of this app though as LameBrain isn't without bugs either, but these issues would need to be addressed :)
Like
Version 2.0.5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 January 2004
Ichigo Milk, it uses the same concept with handling ID3 tags as LameBrain, first v1 if more fields required v2. To avoid the Compilation folder, simply choose get info for all the songs of your CD and uncheck Compilation prior to encoding. I find this option extremely useful as it puts all the various artists into one folder.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
02 December 2003
Having lame encoding in iTunes is great. However there is ONE FATAL FLAW. If you don't have an internet connection, and import the tracks, you cannot get the CDDB info later on. If you use the built-in iTunes encoder this is possible... but not if you use iTunes-LAME! BUMMER. So get ready to type it all in by hand if you use this program without a net connection... *sigh*
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
05 October 2003
never use --r3mix, use --alt-preset standard. r3mix hasnt been used in years.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
26 September 2003
Works flawlessly. The only thing that was keeping me from using iTunes was that it did not use Lame. Now iTunes can, and it is great because now ripping is sooooo easy. Use the lame flag "--r3mix" for brain-dead simple great-sounding rips.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
22 August 2003
crack crack crack , that's what I hear. Nice GUI but it bugs a lot :-(
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
22 November 2003
Eh? This is just a GUI, and LAME 'crack'ing? Methinks your trouble lies in front of the screen.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
20 August 2003
Smoooooth with a capital smoo!
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
20 August 2003
This thing rawks! No copy of iTunes should be without it. I use this to downsample files to 56kbs for my shoutcast stream, and this 2.0.3 version will downsample any music file that iTunes can play. Get this script, and make a donation to this guy!
Like
Version 2.0.3
darukaru
06 June 2003
Let's face it. A LAME '--alt-preset standard -Z' encode is going to beat out just about any other MP3 or AAC file you create, from any encoder. Sure, it's slower than the iTunes standard, but good things come to those who wait.
Like
Version 2.0