Back to MacUpdate Desktop page
MacUpdate Desktop free download for Mac

MacUpdate Desktop Reviews

6.4.1
19 December 2018

Search and install Mac apps w/ 1-click and keep them updated.

Eveningclouds
05 December 2019

Most helpful

Increasingly ridiculous performance issues on the desktop app. I was caught in an endless update refresh, which is typical: always quit and restart the app or the updates won't be current. And now I can't log in to the app, although the password is accepted online. $20 every 6 months for this kind of unreliable and frustrating performace is simply not acceptable. After many years, time to cancel before the next renewal.
Like (3)
Version 6.4.1

Read 1481 MacUpdate Desktop User Reviews

Rate this app:

thanasikala
26 January 2020
Should be $20/year. Not buying an update app for $40/year. Way too expensive for what it does and the app isn't reliable anyway.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Bobbattye
24 January 2020
I have been unable to update the apps in over a year it gets stuck in a loop and then times out! I thought the3y would have it fixed by now.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Bobbattye
24 January 2020
Every time I request app update it times out, I have never been able to complete this task, its been like this for over a year!
Like
Version 6.4.1
peter_27
18 January 2020
MacUpdate BLEW IT TOTALLY with their transparent greed. Just now, I decided to pay them after a trial period in which I was not totally confident but decided to see. Now, instead I am doing a total removal of the software and blocking their emails. The 6 months update is ridiculously egocentric, greedy and an obvious trap - I am well off fiscally but do not do business with obvious crooks. I tried to find an annual deal of a reasonable $25-$30 for the minor convenience but this greedy developer tried to lock me in at $20 for 1st 6 months. That means they will try for higher rip-offs in 2nd 6 months obviously! Then I read the other reviews and agree with most of the negatives. THIS DUMB DEVELOPER BLEW IT WITH GREED AND NEARSIGHTEDNESS. It's a simple service they offer but they are being amazingly stupid. Incidentally I was once the largest Mac dealer in Canada. I see thru this stuff. They deserve to go out of business and hopefully will do so due a smarter competitor. SHAME ON MACUPDATE.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
cincyross
17 January 2020
Seemed to work OK, but when downloading was finished it (or I) had cancelled a current app and I wound up with the earlier version that had been replaced in 2016.
Like
Version 6.4.1
SaintSteven
17 January 2020
I found it confusingly difficult to renew.
Like
Version 6.4.1
pattes
16 January 2020
I'm sorry to need to pay each six month twenty dollars, yes I know that you need to pay (people, developpers, hardware and more) but a another software exist and I pay only 40$ for one year and It make more to search software update...
Like
Version 6.4.1
Markfn
16 January 2020
MacUpdate has proven to be fairly useful over the years, however, like others I don't appreciate the six month renewal either. A bigger problem for me is the need to restart the application almost every time I want to check for updates. I almost always get the message "Connection error!" The fix is fairly easy, quit the application and restart. Given this has been a problem for over a year now and not fixed this will be my last renewal if it's not fixed this time around.
Like
Version 6.4.1
perthoper20
14 January 2020
. Please reference California Privacy Rights in your subject line.
Like
Version 6.4.1
macleod-nigel
14 January 2020
Anything useful this software can do is more than offset by the unbelievably awful 6 month renewal process. I just renewed and received lots of emails. None of the links work and I am left with just a trial version. I am done with this BS.
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Vitalii@macudate.com
Vitalii@macudate.com
14 January 2020
Sorry for all the inconveniences. We are working on the improving our notification system. Your feedback is noted and will be reported to our development team.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
drupalrocks
13 January 2020
Unfortunately the eMail spam grows in 2020. Can´t stop it. Too expensive IMO.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Frakun
12 January 2020
Helps. But not good value for money
Like
Version 6.4.1
Hdms
10 January 2020
PITA every SIX months! Yes, a subscription service for something like this is fair enough. But to gouge every six months is obscene. The majority of apps I use now either auto-update or are App-Store, so do their own thing when ready. In the old days when I did Mac tech support, this was a must-have. It's now devolved into a cynical cash-grab. There's no value-add, beyond website scraping. Sorry. Enough.
Like
Version 6.4.1
celis.raphael
08 January 2020
An indispensable software who make your application program u to day fast every week.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Eveningclouds
08 January 2020
I have been a subscriber to MacUpdate for many years. This year I have decided not to renew. I do appreciate the value of the app, but the performance has been very frustrating. Every time I need to refresh the update list I need to logout, quit, restart, login. The UI has not been significantly improved in years. I'm not going to pay $40 every year until things improve. I'll check back in a few months to see if there's a significant upgrade. If not, I really have appreciated the convenience the app provides, and I look forward to joining the family again.
Like
Version 6.4.1
dayersman
06 January 2020
I've used this app for a few years now. It is a big help in keeping applications updated.
Like
Version 6.4.1
kenmitch7
06 January 2020
Excellent app, the steep increase in price over last 12 mths puts pressure on value.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Saintlouisranger
02 January 2020
I’m not very happy. I’ve been using MacUpdate for years. This version will NOT accept that you updated me, I paid automatically. It tells me that I need to pay again. I’m not going to do that. I feel like I paid to not run beta software. Not acceptable. You have my money and I have nothing.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
JillS
02 January 2020
It has stopped working! None of the troubleshooting tips on this site or elsewhere are able to solve the problem. I will not be continuing my subscription. It's a waste of time and money.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Mullenweg42
26 December 2019
thanks for updates
Like
Version 6.4.1
natamdennis61
24 December 2019
How do I get my current password sent to me it locks up
Like
Version 6.4.1
lkrupp215
23 December 2019
Starting this past Friday (12/20/2019) the app is timing out when doing a manual scan. It must be the entire system because I received a Watch List email stating one of apps (VueScan) was updated. Yet opening the Desktop app show nothing in the update view. And a manual scan times out like it has for days now. Is the admin taking an extended Christmas vacation?
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
natamdennis61
natamdennis61
24 December 2019
Sme problems
Like
Version 6.4.1
MichaelP3926
23 December 2019
MacUpdate Desktop is an awesome idea and very helpful when it doesn't time out when scanning my Mac for applications. I do appreciate the email notifications when updates are available though.
Like
Version 6.4.1
jondurst_1
08 December 2019
I purchased the update and its been four days and I am unable to use it because it wont install. So they have my money and I got nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
15 December 2019
We are sorry for the inconvenience! Please, contact support@macupdate.com with your request and additional information regarding your issue.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Eveningclouds
05 December 2019
Increasingly ridiculous performance issues on the desktop app. I was caught in an endless update refresh, which is typical: always quit and restart the app or the updates won't be current. And now I can't log in to the app, although the password is accepted online. $20 every 6 months for this kind of unreliable and frustrating performace is simply not acceptable. After many years, time to cancel before the next renewal.
Like (3)
Version 6.4.1
2 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
06 December 2019
We are very sorry things does not work as expected! Please, contact our support@macupdate.com email address so we can help you out!
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
wnmills3
wnmills3
13 December 2019
Same problem for me. App had worked well for a while but something is wrong with their server.
Like
Version 6.4.1
johngitt21
05 December 2019
J2
Like
Version 6.4.1
Dr-Sparks
02 December 2019
I was a paid subscriber, and after several months I decided not to use MacUpdate Desktop any more, so I didn't renew my subscription. The main reason was that MUD updated programs (and deleted old versions) that were actually updates that had to be paid for. In some cases MUD even installed updates that required newer versions of macOS than the one I used. So MUD caused me considerable consternation and became a nuisance about every time I let it run freely. I now rely on the very welcome emails I receive from MacUpdate every time a program where I clicked "FOLLOW" is being updated. Then I update manually, if I need the update. I miss that button in the new web design.
Like
Version 6.4.1
2 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
03 December 2019
We are very sorry you feel this way about MacUpdate Desktop! There were some temporal issues with macOS version recognition when new versions were coming out (Mojave and Catalina to be specific). Overall, MacUpdate Desktop recognizes what macOS version you have installed on your computer and won't offer you updates for applications, that are not compatible with your older OS. Only if you manually tell it to install an app for newer OS it will do so, but it won't update automatically. The same goes for "paid upgrades" - MUD won't automatically update a paid upgrade application unless you deliberately tell it to.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
03 December 2019
Re. Watch Lists and the Follow button - current look of MacUpdate.com is not a final revision yet, we are still working on transferring old and introducing new features. The "Follow" button is one of the features we work on bringing back in the near future.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Frodo-life
01 December 2019
looong term user but not to happy anymore with MUD, first of all don't like the re-designed web site at all, it's less compact and less user friendly in my opinion. Also $40 which is over AU$50 a year is to expensive for what it does. I now switched to MacUpdater which is $10 a year a far more reasonable amount for what it is
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
baxsur
26 November 2019
$40/year is too much for what's offered. $20/year would make it attractive for me.
Like (5)
Version 6.4.1
RobbNashville
23 November 2019
It would not be fair to say that MacUpdate Desktop is useless. It' not — but it definitely falls below what I consider acceptable. There are items listed as programs that are not programs at all. Some programs listed are actually totally different programs. For instance, the list includes a program named "Letters" which turns out to be Apple's "Pages". Not only that — but I actually have a program called "Letters" from BeLight Software — so you can see how that is very confusing. The program hangs when checking for updates frequently. There are other issues — but you get the picture. The program is not ready for primetime. I will not be renewing my subscription. I already had CleanMyMac X, which has a really good updater built in. AND yesterday, I discovered a program called "MacUpdater". This program is flawless as far as I can tell — and everything I had hoped MacUpdate Desktop would be. You won't find MacUpdater listed on this site. Wonder why? Well, the developer has a note on their site which says that macupdate.com has refused to list their program. Hmm — I was always taught that competition is a good thing. This has also reduced my respect for macupdate.com. I don't think I need it anymore.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
26 November 2019
We are very sorry you feel this way about MacUpdate Desktop! We are working on improving our platform every day, but we totally understand if our software is not something you'd like to keep using. If you found a better alternative - that's great, we respect that. Although, I would like to say a few words about MacUpdater. We do not hide the fact that it exists and you are right! Competition is a good thing indeed! That's why there are a lot of review/comments on this page mentioning MacUpdater and as you can see, they're still up on public. We never edit/remove/hide comments or reviews. If someone enjoys a piece of software that is considered our competitor - we are totally fine with it, it's a free market here. Although, how often do you find a Happy Meal in KFC?
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
winchester-419
22 November 2019
I have used MacUpdate for a few years but recently it does not function properly - it does not complete downloads for updates - and as such I have lost my faith in the software and will no longer be updating my subscription
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
22 November 2019
We are very sorry for this issue, sir! May I ask you to contact our support@macupdate.com address and provide us with additional details about the issue that occurred?
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Gilby101mu
17 November 2019
I have used MU for many years and have been happy with it, so I have renewed again. But this might well be the last time. MacUpdater https://www.corecode.io/macupdater/ is beginning to look like a good (and cheaper) replacement. Has some rough edges, but knows about more apps than MacUpdate.
Like (3)
Version 6.4.1
Wmud
16 November 2019
I've been subscribing to MacUpdate Desktop since 2010. It's been somewhat useful, but never very reliable. It has not really gotten significantly better since DOUBLING its price! It still misses some app updates, keeps alerting for some that do not really exist, and even more annoyingly continues alerting on some updates after I have actually installed them on first alert. I used to report many of those problems, yet they were hardly ever corrected! Also, MacUpdate started flooding my email with tons of "special" offers and plastering the website with misleading cryptic "Download Now" ads that really were not for the app featured on the page but for dubious other (kind of Trojans) with hyped up capabilities. Fortunately it appears MacUpdate has cleaned up its policies regarding such undesirable phishing-kind of promotions, but overall, the price to quality of service relationship is so high that I have become increasingly hesitant to renew the subscription. Today MacUpdate could not process my purchase through PayPal and asked to try again later ... . These semi-annual renewals are a drag to start with. Why do they STILL NOT support Apple Pay? I’m not opposed to subscription services, but they could at least make them available through the App Store where I can easily get an overview of ALL my subscriptions at any time and don't have to waste time with frequent manual renewals. If MacUpdate were capable to provide more comprehensive and RELIABLE update notifications and reinstate the capability to suppress update notifications for specific versions of an app (which I must keep for a certain reason) until its next release, I think an App Store subscription of $3 per month would be a reasonable deal.
Like (4)
Version 6.4.1
2 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
19 November 2019
We are very sorry you feel this way. We definitely want every user to have the best experience with our platform. I would like to point out to us what kind of "misleading cryptic "Download Now" ads" have you noticed and where exactly?
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
01 December 2019
I have seen this inexplicable "Download Now" button several dozen times, after a while I realised it's not valid for the application discussed, but an ad for just about anything. Quite annoying.
Like
Version 6.4.1
YurTech
11 November 2019
App is still working on Catalina. But would like to point out on strange new web design. Previous was better as for me. And where is 'Follow button'?
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Dr-Sparks
Dr-Sparks
01 December 2019
Yes, where is the "FOLLOW" button? For me, the most valuable feature with this website is when I receive emails about program updates.
Like
Version 6.4.1
marta-muzyka
07 November 2019
I would try, but think that 20$/6 months is too much
Like (3)
Version 6.4.1
jon-113
07 November 2019
It is a bit buggy and slow sometimes, but it still works decently on Catalina.
Like
Version 6.4.1
jmartin78
07 November 2019
Excellent
Like
Version 6.4.1
mikismau
06 November 2019
FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO ARE UNAWARE: MacUpdate Desktop, since version 6.0 (years ago released), collects ALL of your app data and sends it to MacUpdate's servers. This means they are tracking what apps you have installed, when they were last launched, etc. and tying it to user-identifiable information (your name and email address). The "old" MacUpdate that was founded in Michigan 2 decades ago was sold a couple years ago by the infamous J MUELLER. It is now under the ownership of a UKRAINIAN company, hence MacUpdate's company address now being in the BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS. This is shady stuff guys, be careful with what apps you allow to "scan" your Mac....
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
bsmit
30 October 2019
Awesome app prompted me to update a bunch of stuff
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
gigadivamail
17 October 2019
no comment
Like
Version 6.4.1
cathy247
13 October 2019
MU often identifies and downloads the same app multiple times which uses up my download quotas and costs me money needlessly. It also failed to identify problems with the latest operating system upgrade Catalina which has rendered most of my games inoperable, so much so that although they haven't run very smoothly or fast lately has left me contemplating reverting to Yosamite just so I can play something, especially given I paid for all the games that I am unable to use now.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
yahyah
10 October 2019
I got this account to get access to an application that said I needed an account to download it. After I paid for the account and got access to the link to download the application it took me off of this site and onto the developer site and for some reason I couldn't download the application. The point being... this MacUpdate account was unnecessary and serves absolutely no purpose for me. None whatsoever.
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
11 October 2019
MacUpdate.com does not require users to have an account to download software. MacUpdate Desktop is a piece of software we created to track updates and automatically update apps on your computer. You are not required to have it installed on your computer to download applications off of MacUpdate.com. There are "Download" and "Install with MacUpdate" buttons available on each app page. The latter requires you to have MacUpdate Desktop installed, yes, but there's always the first one there to get the installation file itself onto your computer. May I ask you what is the application in question here so we can double-check it? Additionally, please contact our support@macupdate.com email address if you have any additional questions or requests! Thanks, and have a great one!
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
IMRAN™
27 September 2019
Overpriced and buggier every version.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
xcoxco
23 September 2019
Liked the look and feel of the old MacUpdate website much better. For one, the current design does not frame the displayed pages, making it more confusing to view content, especially on large displays.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
xcoxco
23 September 2019
Liked the look and feel of the old MacUpdate website much better. For one, the current design does not frame the display, making it more confusing to view content, especially on large displays.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Tchernob1l
18 September 2019
I never needed it. I spend too many money.
Like
Version 6.4.1
arintoul
17 September 2019
Very little, really.
Like
Version 6.4.1
DragonMaster
08 September 2019
No issues except that it periodically objects to mt VPN.
Like
Version 6.4.1
cdpeek
06 September 2019
Too many problems on current version. Does not pick up all apps in apps folder. Often calls for an update that is not needed - app is already updated. If these problems are not corrected, I will not renew. Used to be a time saver but no more.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
W-g
26 August 2019
I have used these guys for years. One great advantage is that if you are away for a couple of weeks, you can easily update your computer in a flash. Nice little product.
Like
Version 6.4.1