Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to MacUpdate Desktop page
MacUpdate Desktop free download for Mac

MacUpdate Desktop Reviews6.4.1

19 December 2018

Search and install Mac apps w/ 1-click and keep them updated.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Jromer
Jromer
Jul 28 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jul 28 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Your company has gone from trusted to a farce, and perhaps a scam. Big Sur is now on release 11.5.1 and you have not been able to provide a working application since its release. You happily want to collect our membership fees and rely on them to do something, maybe buy your Lambo and laugh at all of us, but not provide an application to support tracking of applications on a Mac running Big Sur. Is the name MacUpdate? I can launch all my apps and then check for updates, so getting an email saying I have updated applications is not so useful. Yet all this time any communication to your clients other than "Note: MacUpdate Desktop is not ready for macOS Big Sur yet. We apologize for all inconveniences. Our team is working on this. Will keep You in touch" You have not delivered on even that promise of staying in touch and could perhaps touch up the grammar a bit on the update you do provide.
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
Jul 23 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jul 23 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Not ready for Big Sur yet? What does this tell us? It probably means the new owners have turned development of the app over to incompetent coders who know absolutely nothing about macOS. it also means the updated app, whenever it is released, will likely be a kludged Windows port because that’s all the developers are capable of.
KevinBourque8296
KevinBourque8296
Jul 20 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jul 20 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Does anybody have an alternative to this suck-ware? I'm done with this thing. I don't wanna keep paying these people money when the software literally doesn't work.
DerrickSmith1245
DerrickSmith1245
Jul 20 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jul 20 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Crashes on startup on my macbook
Springbok
Springbok
Jul 19 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jul 19 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
It's nice to see that the website got a refresh. Now, how about getting back to work on the actual application — "MacUpdate"?
Wgibson648
Wgibson648
Jul 10 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jul 10 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
When will you be ready for Macupdate Desktop and MU Menu for Big Sur??
Contempt
Contempt
Jul 10 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jul 10 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Zero support. Used to be great. But the app hasn't been updated in 3 years so what's the point of paying for premium.
Johnmn
Johnmn
Jul 6 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jul 6 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
This was once a great goto application and web site for keeping MacOS software up to date. Not any more since the release for Big Sur. Product stability and updates were slipping long before Big Sur was released but that was the point all functionality of the Application stopped. Now the website is not being properly maintained. Access to individual settings and profile are now throwing CloudFront process errors. This means it is not even possible cancel an autorenewal membership.
Murryfax
Murryfax
Jun 29 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jun 29 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
I have been paying a long time for MacUpdate, although it ceased functioning with BigSur. Now Monteray is soon coming, and now update is in sight. A lot of people have the same problem as I have, as can be seen below, but nobody is answering them. I think this is the moment to stop paying for something which does not function.
morten_hansen
morten_hansen
Jun 28 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jun 28 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
... and that was it - I've been a happy user since 2015 - but now I'm out. I have canceled my subscription !!!
morten_hansen
morten_hansen
Jun 28 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jun 28 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
WTF happens ??? Still no support for Big Sur - we have been waiting for months.
Slarkin
Slarkin
Jun 25 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jun 25 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
HOW can I CANCEL my MacUpdate membership ❓I cannot find a web page where I can stop automatic renewal. My MacUpdate expires 6.27.21, but don’t remember whether I am on automatic renewal or not. It would be great if MacUpdate replied to this post.
DaPlumber
DaPlumber
Jun 21 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jun 21 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
This app used to be worth the $40/yr, but no Big Sur version I’m over a year? I’m unsubscribing and if my card is auto billed again it will be disputed as fraud. Very disappointing.
Sillydg
Sillydg
Jun 14 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jun 14 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Don't think the company plans on updating MacUpdate Desktop. I asked for a refund, and they sent it to me.
Dlimoges
Dlimoges
Jun 13 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jun 13 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
It's to bad that there is not update release for Big Sur. I've been with MacUpdate for many, many years now. But from now one, I will try to see if there is another web site that is up to date and doing update from Big Sur and Monterey. That will be also a goodbye for me on this platform.
Sanchai
Sanchai
Jun 10 2021
6.4.1
2.0
Jun 10 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
I will uninstall both MUMenu and Macupdate Desktop from myM1 Mac. It make no sense waiting. And I havwpe switched to Macupdate, which work fine, and less expensive. Goodbye Macupdate for being together for more than 10 years.
herbs2
herbs2
Jun 10 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jun 10 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
So... is this really dead? it has been 8 months and still no update for Big Sur. And Monterey has been announced at WWDC.
Sanchai
Sanchai
Jun 9 2021
6.4.1
2.0
Jun 9 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
Now that MacOS Monterey beta is released. Will Macupdate Desktop and MUMenu will only be available end of next year for Zmonterey as it happen with Big Sur. LOL
paul-wilson
paul-wilson
Jun 9 2021
6.4.1
5.0
Jun 9 2021
5.0
Version: 6.4.1
this app is good however I have been waiting for over a year for the company to update the software for MacOS BigSur. The lack of attention to this is unacceptable. I would think a development team could update the client for BigSur in a year. Their attention to detail is not there. Apple tells developers ahead of time when they will be updating their product.
Sanchai
Sanchai
Jun 5 2021
6.4.1
2.0
Jun 5 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
Macupdate Desktop has been removed from home page of Macupdate. Are you signaling all of us that the new version will never be developed? Please make it transparent to all your loyal customers.
DreClark
DreClark
Jun 3 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Jun 3 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
I was a longtime member and have not renewed. BigSur has been out (with beta) for a year and there's still no support. This is not good service. It is a shame to see a product like this go down the drain so fast.
dave7702
dave7702
Jun 2 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Jun 2 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
it SUCKS AS I PAID RENEW AND CANNOT LOG IN CANNOT UPDATE WTF?
Sanchai
Sanchai
May 28 2021
6.4.1
2.0
May 28 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
When when when when Macupdate Desktop and MUMenu that is BiggSur and M1 compatible be released. Will it be next year? Please give us definite schedule.
Zoidbert
Zoidbert
May 27 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 27 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
I had gotten accustomed to firing up the Desktop app a couple of times a week and letting it do its thing, so coming to the site is a bit of an anachronism for me. I very recently renewed, being a subscriber for longer than I can remember and a user of MacUpdate.com since the essential dawn of the internet, not knowing there was an issue with Big Sur. I'm hoping they'll automatically extend any subscription renewals.
xcoxco
xcoxco
May 25 2021
6.4.1
4.0
May 25 2021
4.0
Version: 6.4.1
Folks. Please let your (very loyal) MacUpdate subscribers know when we can finally run the app on Big Sur and beyond. MacUpdate Desktop is enormously useful, and worth the subscription. But only when it runs on the latest macOS. Thank you.
Aake-sander
Aake-sander
May 20 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 20 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Hi, Since a few months back my MacUpdate Desktop refuse to open. Have reinstalled the program. Nothing helps. Running Big Sur 11.3.1 on a MacBook Pro. What's up?
rmcdannold1
rmcdannold1
May 19 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 19 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
I am a MacUpdate Desktop user for a long time. I will not renew subscription because of the lack of support for Big Sur and M1 and lack of communication. I now use MacUpdater.
Mikoolook
Mikoolook
May 19 2021
6.4.1
1.0
May 19 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Incredible ! How it is possible to stay so mute in front of such a number of complains / requests / questions ! Hey, guys, if you don't bear us, just close the comments and change your business ! Or just send a message. It's so easy and it would help us to 1/ stay connected with you, 2/ swap to another solution.
Sanchai
Sanchai
May 16 2021
6.4.1
2.0
May 16 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
At least, Macupdate must give commitment on releasing date of both Macupdate Desktop app and MUMenu menu bar app that is Big Sur and M1 compatible.,not just say we are working on them without planned timeline. I believe that there are many subscribers who wait for this. Don’t just float around with we are working on it. There has to be planning and timeline. To bad., I miss Chad the first owner of Macupdate
paulkatchaloff
paulkatchaloff
May 15 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 15 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Extravagant charging policy unsubscribed user. I don’t see another way to « unsubscribe »but to change my card.
Lpitt
Lpitt
May 13 2021
6.4.1
2.0
May 13 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
I've been a fan of MacUpdate for a number of years, until this Big Sur fiasco came along. The product did not work, my subscription renewed and still no update, a three month extension and still no update. Once upon a time I recommended this tool to everyone, sadly I can do this no more. The new operating system was released in 2020, and still this important product does not work. I have moved to MacUpdater, and since that does what I need will not be coming back whether there is a new release or not. This is the digital cloud-subscription world. Customer experience is everything, and a good experience drives stickiness and loyalty - but the downside is that it's also easy to lose both. I'm afraid this is what has happened with me, and it's time to say Goodbye.
Rstamberg
Rstamberg
May 13 2021
6.4.1
1.0
May 13 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I’ve switched over to MacUpdater.
Dc8
Dc8
May 11 2021
6.4.1
1.0
May 11 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I got your mail for extend my subscription, but I didn’t want to . Because I bought M1 Mac mini (Big Sur), MacUpdate Desktop won’t work. So I did nothing to extend subscription. But auto-renewal occurred. “Renew or Extend your membership to enable auto-renew” was already "no mark" in my profile page. I made inquiries twice. Still no answer for 2 weeks. I don't want to imagine that your company almost go out of business.
Andrew-D-Rodney
Andrew-D-Rodney
May 10 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 10 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Here's an email I got from these folks On Nov 18, 2020, at 11:58 AM, Vitalii MacUpdate <support@macupdate.com> wrote: "While I don’t have an ETA on when the app will be available to download, I expect it to be in the next 2-3 months". Perhaps months meant years? Don't waste your time and money with this any longer people. Get a copy of MacUpdater for a faction of the price of half a year of MacUpdate and move on. It's sad to have to say this after many years of paying for this product but it's dead. And there is a better product for less $$.
Ripthorn
Ripthorn
May 9 2021
6.4.1
1.0
May 9 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Just got a reminder email to renew my membership. Hard pass, since I have not been able to use it since the last membership renewal. Very disappointed! Not pay for something that no longer works with not hope of ever working again.
morten_hansen
morten_hansen
May 8 2021
6.4.1
1.0
May 8 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
WTF is happening? I have been waiting over 6 month for support of Big Sur and yet nothing happens. I'm starting to look for an alternative to Macupdate ... what does you - that is also a frustrated customer - recommend?
Sanchai
Sanchai
May 8 2021
6.4.1
2.0
May 8 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
Macupdate under the new owner (I miss Chad) must be very honest and transparent to supporting customers like all of us that are nagging here. Tell us whether Macupdate is developing new version of Macupdate Desktop and MUMenu that are BiggSur and M1 compatible? If yes, when will we get them. Don’t just keep silent. This is nothing good for 6our supporters. Get back to us with definite answer
hans-muessig
hans-muessig
May 7 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 7 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
So, its bee months since Big Sur was rolled out. What is the status of MacUpdate? Please give us a straight answer and timeline. I paid my recent renewal in January 'cause it's important to support developers but the lack of information is frustrating. Tx
Sanchai
Sanchai
May 6 2021
6.4.1
2.0
May 6 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
How do I cancel Macupdate desktop auto renewal? It does not work with Big Sur. We don’t know when a new compatible version with M1 and Big Sur be released How do I cancel subscription? I cannot find where can I do that Help please
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
May 5 2021
6.4.1
1.5
May 5 2021
1.5
Version: 6.4.1
Like I wrote about the menu bar applet: DO not support this developer. They have had an eon to update MacUpdate Desktop and the menu bar app, but have chosen not to. Those of us who had paid subscriptions got shafted when everything MUD stopped working.
Fennec72
Fennec72
May 4 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 4 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Good morning, macOS Big Sur was released almost 6 months ago and you have not yet released a version of Macupdate Desktop compatible Big Sur! That's why I haven't renewed my subscription to Macupdate Desktop yet, although I've been doing it every year for at least 10 years. I'm thinking more and more seriously about switching to one of your competitors. I am really disappointed! Can you finally give news about a Big Sur version? Sincerely, Hervé
Evilneuro
Evilneuro
May 3 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 3 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
cancelled subscription due to lack of big sur support, really disappointing as there's nothing else really out there that does as good a job at finding and installing updates to non-app store apps.
artsypoets
artsypoets
May 1 2021
6.4.1
3.5
May 1 2021
3.5
Version: 6.4.1
How is it that you can't create a version for Big Sur? We were apparently charged to update in August, 2020, then January, 2021. We should only be charged once to use both computers, not for separate licenses. Other apps don't work as well to keep track of updates. Now, yours hasn't worked for us at all on either computer for 3 months. You need to repair your app immediately and give all purchasers at least 6 months free for the delay. It seems that would be the only way to rectify your delay. I wonder how many others feel the same frustration.
Zippyzap
Zippyzap
Apr 30 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 30 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
It is sad, but perhaps the writing on the wall has been there and we just haven't been paying attention. This app hasn't been updated since 18 December 2018.
johnharbo
johnharbo
Apr 29 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 29 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
I just updated to Big Sur and am amazed that this software no longer works -- six months after Big Sur was released. When will it be compatible?
Spcphd
Spcphd
Apr 29 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 29 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Is this application ever going to get updated to Big Sur? Je ne renouvèlerai pas mon abonnement non plus.
LGLuc
LGLuc
Apr 27 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 27 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Je suis déçu par cette application qui n'a pas de mise à jour pour Big Sur et sans doute aucune pour les suivantes. Je ne renouvèlerai pas mon abonnement.
sadsongs
sadsongs
Apr 25 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 25 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Why doesn't 6.4.1 work now with macOS Mojave 10.14.6? When I click on the Upgrade links, it says "Application error".
davetark
davetark
Apr 24 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 24 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
This used to be the go to for Mac app updates but after about five-six months of - we re still updating it for Big Sur - I've moved over to Macupdater which works superbly.
glampool
glampool
Apr 23 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 23 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
no Big Sur support. ;-(