Back to MacUpdate Desktop page
MacUpdate Desktop free download for Mac

MacUpdate Desktop Reviews6.4.1

19 December 2018

Search and install Mac apps w/ 1-click and keep them updated.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
morten_hansen
morten_hansen
May 8 2021
6.4.1
1.0
May 8 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
WTF is happening? I have been waiting over 6 month for support of Big Sur and yet nothing happens. I'm starting to look for an alternative to Macupdate ... what does you - that is also a frustrated customer - recommend?
Sanchai
Sanchai
May 8 2021
6.4.1
2.0
May 8 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
Macupdate under the new owner (I miss Chad) must be very honest and transparent to supporting customers like all of us that are nagging here. Tell us whether Macupdate is developing new version of Macupdate Desktop and MUMenu that are BiggSur and M1 compatible? If yes, when will we get them. Don’t just keep silent. This is nothing good for 6our supporters. Get back to us with definite answer
hans-muessig
hans-muessig
May 7 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 7 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
So, its bee months since Big Sur was rolled out. What is the status of MacUpdate? Please give us a straight answer and timeline. I paid my recent renewal in January 'cause it's important to support developers but the lack of information is frustrating. Tx
Sanchai
Sanchai
May 6 2021
6.4.1
2.0
May 6 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
How do I cancel Macupdate desktop auto renewal? It does not work with Big Sur. We don’t know when a new compatible version with M1 and Big Sur be released How do I cancel subscription? I cannot find where can I do that Help please
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
kosovarnye@yahoo-com
May 5 2021
6.4.1
1.5
May 5 2021
1.5
Version: 6.4.1
Like I wrote about the menu bar applet: DO not support this developer. They have had an eon to update MacUpdate Desktop and the menu bar app, but have chosen not to. Those of us who had paid subscriptions got shafted when everything MUD stopped working.
Fennec72
Fennec72
May 4 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 4 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Good morning, macOS Big Sur was released almost 6 months ago and you have not yet released a version of Macupdate Desktop compatible Big Sur! That's why I haven't renewed my subscription to Macupdate Desktop yet, although I've been doing it every year for at least 10 years. I'm thinking more and more seriously about switching to one of your competitors. I am really disappointed! Can you finally give news about a Big Sur version? Sincerely, Hervé
Evilneuro
Evilneuro
May 3 2021
6.4.1
0.0
May 3 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
cancelled subscription due to lack of big sur support, really disappointing as there's nothing else really out there that does as good a job at finding and installing updates to non-app store apps.
artsypoets
artsypoets
May 1 2021
6.4.1
3.5
May 1 2021
3.5
Version: 6.4.1
How is it that you can't create a version for Big Sur? We were apparently charged to update in August, 2020, then January, 2021. We should only be charged once to use both computers, not for separate licenses. Other apps don't work as well to keep track of updates. Now, yours hasn't worked for us at all on either computer for 3 months. You need to repair your app immediately and give all purchasers at least 6 months free for the delay. It seems that would be the only way to rectify your delay. I wonder how many others feel the same frustration.
Zippyzap
Zippyzap
Apr 30 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 30 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
It is sad, but perhaps the writing on the wall has been there and we just haven't been paying attention. This app hasn't been updated since 18 December 2018.
johnharbo
johnharbo
Apr 29 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 29 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
I just updated to Big Sur and am amazed that this software no longer works -- six months after Big Sur was released. When will it be compatible?
Spcphd
Spcphd
Apr 29 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 29 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Is this application ever going to get updated to Big Sur? Je ne renouvèlerai pas mon abonnement non plus.
LGLuc
LGLuc
Apr 27 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 27 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Je suis déçu par cette application qui n'a pas de mise à jour pour Big Sur et sans doute aucune pour les suivantes. Je ne renouvèlerai pas mon abonnement.
sadsongs
sadsongs
Apr 25 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 25 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
Why doesn't 6.4.1 work now with macOS Mojave 10.14.6? When I click on the Upgrade links, it says "Application error".
davetark
davetark
Apr 24 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 24 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
This used to be the go to for Mac app updates but after about five-six months of - we re still updating it for Big Sur - I've moved over to Macupdater which works superbly.
glampool
glampool
Apr 23 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 23 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
no Big Sur support. ;-(
RussellCardwell6489
RussellCardwell6489
Apr 23 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 23 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
The app does ot work. It will download and install, but will do nothing else. It shows a box saying there are XX outdated apps that need to be updated. It does not show the apps. It offers to do so after upgrading fo Pro for $20. But the button to upgrade only shows "Application Error". On the website, the button to sign up for pro does nothing at all. Since there is no way to see what apps are outdated and no way to upgrade to pro, this website is effectively defunct. It appears that MacUpdate is out of business and this is a zombie website.
gmantov
gmantov
Apr 22 2021
6.4.1
2.0
Apr 22 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
I have cancelled subscription because it doesn't seem that there will be a version for Big Sur. a shame, it was a very useful tool. But there are plenty of similar apps that work with Big Sur, so I recommend migrating to those.
galanti
galanti
Apr 18 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 18 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I've finally given up hope that the app will ever be updated to run on Big Sur.
JacquesSM
JacquesSM
Apr 16 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 16 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Support lately has been pathetic!. I did not renew my subscription because the software keeps crashing on my Mac OS 11.0.x When will a fix be released. It has been months now!
suds
suds
Apr 14 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 14 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
These Mofos just did an auto-renew on me! I do not have autorenew turned on. I NEVER have that ANYWHERE!!! Friggin THEIVES! Gonna have my CC do a charge back and let them get the ding.
Dddeane
Dddeane
Apr 13 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 13 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Goodbye MacUpdate. I've been with you since before you started charging money for your use. I just tried one of your competitors (MacUpdater) and they work just as well as you used to and they ARE compatible with Big Sur. I am truly mystified why MacUpdate is still not compatible with Big Sur. The icing on the cake was receiving an email today advising me that my subscription was now due.
jazdingo
jazdingo
Apr 11 2021
6.4.1
2.0
Apr 11 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
Just came back here for my monthly check to see if they've upgraded for Big Sur users. Nothing to see here; move along, folks. MU was great while it lasted, but seriously, what's the holdup?
Sanchai
Sanchai
Apr 10 2021
6.4.1
2.0
Apr 10 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
AFter being a subscriber of Macupdate for over 8 years, no Big Sur compatibhle version of Macupdate Desktop and MUMenu after half a yeasr release of Big sur is completely B**LSH*T
cava-1
cava-1
Apr 9 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 9 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Not compatible with BigSur after 9 months from the official release and almost 2 years since the developer version. Ridiculous. You should be ashame of yourself!
Ok14me21
Ok14me21
Apr 9 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 9 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
When will MacUpdate works on Big Sur?
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
Apr 9 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 9 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
With absolutely no response from the new users I fully expect MacUpdate to shut down soon. They must be losing subscribers in droves.
DKCdad
DKCdad
Apr 8 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 8 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Been a subscriber for 10 years, but won't be renewing, appalled at how long it's taking to produce a release for Big Sur. Where's the subscription extension at the very least? Dreadful support for $40/year
Wknight
Wknight
Apr 7 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 7 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Are subscribers going to get their subscriptions extended at no cost b/c of no Big Sur support?
Rstamberg
Rstamberg
Apr 7 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 7 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Where's the update for Big Sur? I pay for this app and haven't been able to use it for months. C'mon.
morten_hansen
morten_hansen
Apr 6 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 6 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Any forecast for the Big Sur version is ready? I'm about to cancel my subscription - or at least not extend my subscription. This has simply taken to long ...
Paladin3
Paladin3
Apr 6 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 6 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I want to renew and I'm willing to renew but if the software doesn't work on my computer, why would I pay for it? At this point, I've switched to other solutions. When (if?) you get Big Sur working, I'll come back (unless this repeats with 11.1). Maybe make a. beta available?
robert-hurd4
robert-hurd4
Apr 4 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 4 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
No Big Sur. Complete waste until that's fixed
Jf29
Jf29
Apr 4 2021
6.4.1
0.0
Apr 4 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.1
With no update for BigSur I wonder if the crrent owners rare hoping to convince as many idiots as possible to renew their subscriptions before they pull the plug completely
suds
suds
Apr 1 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 1 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Utterly useless. The plist is BEYOND fragile and I have to delete it EVERY TIME I try/want to run this pile of poo. ZERO reason to renew (I'm smart enough NOT to upgrade to BigSur for COUNTLESS draconian reason.) I'll just script up something to do the same thing.
boozemun
boozemun
Apr 1 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Apr 1 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I would give zero stars if that was avaiable.
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
Mar 30 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 30 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I think I’m done with MacUpdate. The new owners promised great things but nothing so far. The MacUpdate Desktop app has not been updated in a long time. It is not Big Sur (or M1 as far as I know) compatible. Lately I’ve been experiencing wonkiness in that I need to reset MacUpdate Desktop to get recent updates. Bottom line my subscription expires in September and if things haven’t majorly improved by then I guess it time to part ways. Sad ending to a once great service.
Jdguidry
Jdguidry
Mar 30 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 30 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Didn't renew - the team still hasn't fixed it to work with Big Sur. Wound up getting Macupdater instead, which does work with Big Sur. After using this for years, kind of upset that the development team would drop the ball like this.
Jeepin-dave
Jeepin-dave
Mar 26 2021
6.4.1
2.0
Mar 26 2021
2.0
Version: 6.4.1
It's been quite a while since Big Sur has been released (and the M1 machines), and still not working - so no need to renew, and I have been without any usable benefit for quite a few months on the current subscription. Maybe I missed it, but there doesn't appear to be any estimated date for a working version, or some kind of credit for the many months of nothing working? When it has been working, this was quite useful to keep things updated, hoping it gets fixed soon, or it's time to look for another solution.
anonymous-crocodile-6109
anonymous-crocodile-6109
Mar 25 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 25 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
No Big Sur version available, so I won't be renewing
Biox
Biox
Mar 24 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 24 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I bought years of service in advance, and soon they stopped supporting it. This borders on fraud.
Nathanbhoffman
Nathanbhoffman
Mar 24 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 24 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I no longer can use this service UNTIL it is updated. How is it that you still have not released a Big Sur compliant update? I completely agree with Jromer79’s comments. I’m sorry I’m paying for an App that simply does not work. The developers should be offering rebates and free subscriptions IF and when it finally does the work to update what WAS a valuable service. But it is NOT now.
Gulliver
Gulliver
Mar 24 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 24 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
After my comment from last week here I yesterday received an E-Mail that my subscription was cancelled
jromer79
jromer79
Mar 22 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 22 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
What a joke. Like many other loyal subscribers I am paying for a service I cannot use under Big Sur. Did I get an email or reminder of the issue? No. Did they charge me for the service after knowing it would not work? Yes. Their explanation of the issue? They are completely rewriting the application from the ground up. Do I care? No! Does their website say anything about the issue? No. Their customer service remark about the issue: "We are sorry you are disappointed with our service. We are rewriting the application from the ground up an expect to be completed by end of 2nd quarter. .... ... In the meantime you can update your apps under an older operating system. .... Say what?
MarvinWeide2410
MarvinWeide2410
Mar 22 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 22 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
I am paying for an app that doesn't support my operating system Big Sur.
johnholley
johnholley
Mar 21 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 21 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Hopeless. Can't recommend given 4 months of still not having Big Sur support.
Vamfoom
Vamfoom
Mar 20 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 20 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Crashes on Big Sur.
Buzzwords
Buzzwords
Mar 18 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 18 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Still crashes every time. They auto-renewed my subscription in December. No plans to update to Big Sur compatibility, I guess. I really liked this product. No more.
Gulliver
Gulliver
Mar 18 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 18 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
3 months into Big Sur and still no version compatible?
Pavini
Pavini
Mar 18 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 18 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Four months after Big Sur was released – and MacUpdate still hasn't updated their client. What about my subscription? :/
JRT1969
JRT1969
Mar 18 2021
6.4.1
1.0
Mar 18 2021
1.0
Version: 6.4.1
Its pretty outrageous that its now mid-March – four months after Big Sur was released – and MacUpdate still hasn't updated their client. Its not like their subscribers are interested in having up-to-date software or anything, right? Having been a customer for 9+ years, I've set my subscription not to renew. Totally disappointing, but clearly the company is going out of business. Moving forward, MacUpdater seems to do a nice job filling the gap. Cheers, MacUpdate. It has been nice knowing you.