Back to MacUpdate Desktop page
MacUpdate Desktop free download for Mac

MacUpdate Desktop Reviews

6.4.1
19 December 2018

Search and install Mac apps w/ 1-click and keep them updated.

Eveningclouds
05 December 2019

Most helpful

Increasingly ridiculous performance issues on the desktop app. I was caught in an endless update refresh, which is typical: always quit and restart the app or the updates won't be current. And now I can't log in to the app, although the password is accepted online. $20 every 6 months for this kind of unreliable and frustrating performace is simply not acceptable. After many years, time to cancel before the next renewal.
Like (4)
Version 6.4.1

Read 1502 MacUpdate Desktop User Reviews

Rate this app:

trevor-6
03 April 2020
US$20 for 6 months is too high - I am sure if you dropped the price, (like half) the increase in customers would cancel that out. Every 6 months I am right on the verge of cancelling .... you survive yet again - but not at all sure what I will do in 6 months!
Like
Version 6.4.1
jalimuna358
22 March 2020
good afternoon so far this extraordinary corona situation might be made us think how to improve our levels and try to discover.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Patrick-Linehan
19 March 2020
Does not work and the website crashed when I tried to log in to change my credit card to prevent auto-renewal. Used to be good, but now it's a rip-off
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Yaroslav
Yaroslav
31 March 2020
Please accept my apologies for the trouble. We have canceled your subscription for you. Please, check your email for continue this case.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Cookie08
19 March 2020
Used to be much better many times does not even pick up the new app which are on the website app page. Other times very slow or says there is no up dates when there is is. For many weeks or months could not login to website or account wierd. Also when you quit the app it leaves a datamon running taking up a lot ram in the background why is this not quoting and clearing the ram not good practice.
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
31 March 2020
Thank you for leaving a comment! It is much appreciated! We contacted you via email (support@macupdate.com). Please, check your inbox
Like
Version 6.4.1
cbleadon
18 March 2020
Not very much!
Like
Version 6.4.1
Richard-Cupka
15 March 2020
I have used it for a long time....and I, really, would hate this computer if it wasn't"t for MacUpdate. It has saved me so darned much "time" and aggravation. At age 85 I don't have much time left and I, simply, will no longer buy in the often aggravating open market unless I absolutely have to. On a scale of 0-10....I Give MacUpdate a "12" ! [sig] Cupcake
Like
Version 6.4.1
Peter-Lovell
03 March 2020
There was a time when MacUpdate was delivering well (I have subscribed for over 8 years), but sadly that has not been the case for a few years now. The Desktop App has not been updated for a long time, despite having long-term bugs that reduce its usefulness and make it a bit of a pain to use - I have raised these by email with MacUpdate with little effect and with no responses whatsoever from them to the last two emails I sent (I have now given up trying). The email alerts about App updates have recently changed to become far less useful because they no longer carry information about the new version number or the specific changes in the new version of an App. And the changes to the web site have made it less useful, especially removal of the side box which showed more detailed, helpful information about an App and moving of the links to similar Apps to the bottom of the web page. I have just signed up for another year, but the cost is hard to justify and, with so many Apps now self-updating, I doubt I will do so again unless MacUpdate get their act together.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Rmoran
03 March 2020
I now requires the Mac App Store, CleanMyMac X, and MacUpdate to actually keep my Mac updated. Six months is an odd interval for a purchase to cover. Furthermore, even with the 6 month period, an annual amount paid in advance should be less than 2 X the 6 month amount!
Like
Version 6.4.1
SilentUpdate
02 March 2020
I expect from an Update app that it can check my system and show the current versions and the available version of every app and show the newer ones in a color that I know there is a difference. In earlier days the app did so. But now I get a watching list very different from my current system installation and another list showing my installed apps, but I cannot do here anything. The update list shows only updates for an expert from my total installation list - 22 of 200. Ca. 5 apps of 50 are older in the MacUpdate Desktop list compared with my installation. I can use MacDesktop to find some updates, but I have to use more sources to find it all. There are apps which have a different build number for the English and German release, but MacUpdate Desktop lists it using the English version only. So the German user is looking for updates which is not available from the programer for his language version or the automatic updates changes his regional language version into English. Same with Firefox or Thunderbird.
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
18 March 2020
We reached out to you via email. Please, take a look into your inbox!
Like
Version 6.4.1
Ralph-H-George-Jr-
28 February 2020
Extremely unsatisfactory "app" - $20.00 every 6 months for an "app" that does NOT perform the way it is sold! Example - I have tried to update MacUpdate Desktop to 6.4.1 numerous times ~ even with "GUIDANCE" from your so-called experts. With the expert(s) direction (I was provided step-by-step directions via email) I deleted all files related to the prior version "6.4 app" 3 times, I tried to download the upgrade to 6.4.1 to no avail. The performance of the "app" and "support staff" has been totally UNACCEPTABLE. Please MAKE THIS "APP" PERFORM ACCCURATELY. Case Closed.
Like
Version 6.4.1
2 answer(s)
frwiller75
frwiller75
29 February 2020
calme toi Ralph... chez moi ça marche, alors pourquoi pas chez toi ?
Like
Version 6.4.1
bjs81
bjs81
19 March 2020
having same issue. not happy.
Like
Version 6.4.1
DaveM5495
25 February 2020
Not impressed with this software.
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
frwiller75
frwiller75
29 February 2020
pas impressionné Dave ? normal ce n'est pas une imprimante ni un appareil photo...
Like
Version 6.4.1
Gary41
25 February 2020
I keep getting emails about update but they're never in the Desktop MU so I end up updating manually. Very disappointing. It didn't use to be that way.
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
frwiller75
frwiller75
29 February 2020
Gary, un conseil, clique sur l'é-mail pour accéder à la page de mise à jour
Like
Version 6.4.1
Jeff-Schlueter
18 February 2020
Great Program!!!
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
dendenden
dendenden
19 February 2020
How do you use it? Didi you download on desktop or in downloads? Do you have an icon? Is it supposed to be uploaded to websites to be used on 2-3 of them and what about using it for FB? den.denden@yahoo.com Pls help
Like
Version 6.4.1
ClairCrookston
13 February 2020
The MacUpdate Desktop works the first time I run it after a restart. Then it just runs in endless loops until it time out. work work again until I restart. I have uninstalled and reinstalled. I have been a MacUpdate user for 15 years and I am looking for another alternative.
Like
Version 6.4.1
umappleman
09 February 2020
In years passed I use VersionTracker for Software Updates for my Macbook Pro. Finally retired the Macbook and decided that MacUpdate was almost better than VersionTracker. I purchased the app because MacOS 10.15 is anything but EASY. Then I saw a email from MacUpdate that reminded me what I had done after VersionTracker. The big problem was the new iMac, and many of the apps could not be updated in the normal way. I have not seen the issues listed above by Eveningclouds. I think his issue was the price. While $20 every 6 months is just a tad much for updates that can be downloaded for free from the providers, but I am a Tech, and simplifying the download process is easier using the app. That being said, as long as the price doesn't go up, am likely to keep this app for the foreseeable future. Like I mentioned, VersionTracker simplified my life, and since acquiring this 10.15 iMac didn't simplify anything until I started getting the apps back that I needed. Now I need to update the catalog I now have of apps that work with 10.15. So far, so good. Only 4 stars due to doubling annual cost.
Like
Version 6.4.1
ErrolN3976
08 February 2020
Used MacUpdate for years and find it very useful in ensuring my Apps are up to date or referring me to the supplier to take recommended action associated with the App.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Ward
06 February 2020
Like others have reported, I encountered the problem with Check for Updates failing with "Connection error! The request timed out." I submitted a Support Ticket and received a response within 3 hours: It's a known problem that will be fixed in the next release. Until then, there's a workaround: (1) Disable the "Launch at startup" option in the app Preferences, (2) Restart your Mac, (3) Run the MacUpdate app when you want to Check for Updates.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Hogaku
30 January 2020
Cumbersome! Does not find too many of my apps. No update information for Digital Performer, Ableton Live, Finale, Photomatix Pro, on and on. Worthless at this point.
Like
Version 6.4.1
movementdoctor
29 January 2020
After having this app for many years I won't renew. It would be too expensive even if it worked - which it doesn't. I have a receipt but it endlessly just tries to get me to renew even after reboots. ZERO stars
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
beverlytinlin
beverlytinlin
04 February 2020
If I could cancel the renewal I would. Can’t seem to do it
Like
Version 6.4.1
Mikoolook
29 January 2020
My last update ! MUD freezes (request expired syndrom) each time I press on the Search button. I need to kill the process and restart it. Moreover, the price doesn't reflect the usage. I guess it's twice the normal price. According the number of applications under App Store, this application becomes less and less useful.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
steve6AQ
27 January 2020
Keeps getting stuck trying to check apps, then gives a connection error. Restarting does not help much as the behaviour comes right back. Sometimes it manages to check but mostly it fails.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Ward
Ward
06 February 2020
See the workaround I just posted.
Like
Version 6.4.1
thanasikala
26 January 2020
Should be $20/year. Not buying an update app for $40/year. Way too expensive for what it does and the app isn't reliable anyway.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
Bobbattye
24 January 2020
I have been unable to update the apps in over a year it gets stuck in a loop and then times out! I thought the3y would have it fixed by now.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
Bobbattye
24 January 2020
Every time I request app update it times out, I have never been able to complete this task, its been like this for over a year!
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
peter_27
18 January 2020
MacUpdate BLEW IT TOTALLY with their transparent greed. Just now, I decided to pay them after a trial period in which I was not totally confident but decided to see. Now, instead I am doing a total removal of the software and blocking their emails. The 6 months update is ridiculously egocentric, greedy and an obvious trap - I am well off fiscally but do not do business with obvious crooks. I tried to find an annual deal of a reasonable $25-$30 for the minor convenience but this greedy developer tried to lock me in at $20 for 1st 6 months. That means they will try for higher rip-offs in 2nd 6 months obviously! Then I read the other reviews and agree with most of the negatives. THIS DUMB DEVELOPER BLEW IT WITH GREED AND NEARSIGHTEDNESS. It's a simple service they offer but they are being amazingly stupid. Incidentally I was once the largest Mac dealer in Canada. I see thru this stuff. They deserve to go out of business and hopefully will do so due a smarter competitor. SHAME ON MACUPDATE.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
cincyross
17 January 2020
Seemed to work OK, but when downloading was finished it (or I) had cancelled a current app and I wound up with the earlier version that had been replaced in 2016.
Like
Version 6.4.1
SaintSteven
17 January 2020
I found it confusingly difficult to renew.
Like
Version 6.4.1
pattes
16 January 2020
I'm sorry to need to pay each six month twenty dollars, yes I know that you need to pay (people, developpers, hardware and more) but a another software exist and I pay only 40$ for one year and It make more to search software update...
Like
Version 6.4.1
Markfn
16 January 2020
MacUpdate has proven to be fairly useful over the years, however, like others I don't appreciate the six month renewal either. A bigger problem for me is the need to restart the application almost every time I want to check for updates. I almost always get the message "Connection error!" The fix is fairly easy, quit the application and restart. Given this has been a problem for over a year now and not fixed this will be my last renewal if it's not fixed this time around.
Like (3)
Version 6.4.1
perthoper20
14 January 2020
. Please reference California Privacy Rights in your subject line.
Like
Version 6.4.1
macleod-nigel
14 January 2020
Anything useful this software can do is more than offset by the unbelievably awful 6 month renewal process. I just renewed and received lots of emails. None of the links work and I am left with just a trial version. I am done with this BS.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Vitalii@macudate.com
Vitalii@macudate.com
14 January 2020
Sorry for all the inconveniences. We are working on the improving our notification system. Your feedback is noted and will be reported to our development team.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
drupalrocks
13 January 2020
Unfortunately the eMail spam grows in 2020. Can´t stop it. Too expensive IMO.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Frakun
12 January 2020
Helps. But not good value for money
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Hdms
10 January 2020
PITA every SIX months! Yes, a subscription service for something like this is fair enough. But to gouge every six months is obscene. The majority of apps I use now either auto-update or are App-Store, so do their own thing when ready. In the old days when I did Mac tech support, this was a must-have. It's now devolved into a cynical cash-grab. There's no value-add, beyond website scraping. Sorry. Enough.
Like
Version 6.4.1
celis.raphael
08 January 2020
An indispensable software who make your application program u to day fast every week.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Eveningclouds
08 January 2020
I have been a subscriber to MacUpdate for many years. This year I have decided not to renew. I do appreciate the value of the app, but the performance has been very frustrating. Every time I need to refresh the update list I need to logout, quit, restart, login. The UI has not been significantly improved in years. I'm not going to pay $40 every year until things improve. I'll check back in a few months to see if there's a significant upgrade. If not, I really have appreciated the convenience the app provides, and I look forward to joining the family again.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
dayersman
06 January 2020
I've used this app for a few years now. It is a big help in keeping applications updated.
Like
Version 6.4.1
kenmitch7
06 January 2020
Excellent app, the steep increase in price over last 12 mths puts pressure on value.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Saintlouisranger
02 January 2020
I’m not very happy. I’ve been using MacUpdate for years. This version will NOT accept that you updated me, I paid automatically. It tells me that I need to pay again. I’m not going to do that. I feel like I paid to not run beta software. Not acceptable. You have my money and I have nothing.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
JillS
02 January 2020
It has stopped working! None of the troubleshooting tips on this site or elsewhere are able to solve the problem. I will not be continuing my subscription. It's a waste of time and money.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Mullenweg42
26 December 2019
thanks for updates
Like
Version 6.4.1
natamdennis61
24 December 2019
How do I get my current password sent to me it locks up
Like
Version 6.4.1
lkrupp215
23 December 2019
Starting this past Friday (12/20/2019) the app is timing out when doing a manual scan. It must be the entire system because I received a Watch List email stating one of apps (VueScan) was updated. Yet opening the Desktop app show nothing in the update view. And a manual scan times out like it has for days now. Is the admin taking an extended Christmas vacation?
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
natamdennis61
natamdennis61
24 December 2019
Sme problems
Like
Version 6.4.1
MichaelP3926
23 December 2019
MacUpdate Desktop is an awesome idea and very helpful when it doesn't time out when scanning my Mac for applications. I do appreciate the email notifications when updates are available though.
Like
Version 6.4.1
jondurst_1
08 December 2019
I purchased the update and its been four days and I am unable to use it because it wont install. So they have my money and I got nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
15 December 2019
We are sorry for the inconvenience! Please, contact support@macupdate.com with your request and additional information regarding your issue.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Eveningclouds
05 December 2019
Increasingly ridiculous performance issues on the desktop app. I was caught in an endless update refresh, which is typical: always quit and restart the app or the updates won't be current. And now I can't log in to the app, although the password is accepted online. $20 every 6 months for this kind of unreliable and frustrating performace is simply not acceptable. After many years, time to cancel before the next renewal.
Like (4)
Version 6.4.1
2 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
06 December 2019
We are very sorry things does not work as expected! Please, contact our support@macupdate.com email address so we can help you out!
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
wnmills3
wnmills3
13 December 2019
Same problem for me. App had worked well for a while but something is wrong with their server.
Like
Version 6.4.1
johngitt21
05 December 2019
J2
Like
Version 6.4.1
Dr-Sparks
02 December 2019
I was a paid subscriber, and after several months I decided not to use MacUpdate Desktop any more, so I didn't renew my subscription. The main reason was that MUD updated programs (and deleted old versions) that were actually updates that had to be paid for. In some cases MUD even installed updates that required newer versions of macOS than the one I used. So MUD caused me considerable consternation and became a nuisance about every time I let it run freely. I now rely on the very welcome emails I receive from MacUpdate every time a program where I clicked "FOLLOW" is being updated. Then I update manually, if I need the update. I miss that button in the new web design.
Like
Version 6.4.1
2 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
03 December 2019
We are very sorry you feel this way about MacUpdate Desktop! There were some temporal issues with macOS version recognition when new versions were coming out (Mojave and Catalina to be specific). Overall, MacUpdate Desktop recognizes what macOS version you have installed on your computer and won't offer you updates for applications, that are not compatible with your older OS. Only if you manually tell it to install an app for newer OS it will do so, but it won't update automatically. The same goes for "paid upgrades" - MUD won't automatically update a paid upgrade application unless you deliberately tell it to.
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
03 December 2019
Re. Watch Lists and the Follow button - current look of MacUpdate.com is not a final revision yet, we are still working on transferring old and introducing new features. The "Follow" button is one of the features we work on bringing back in the near future.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Frodo-life
01 December 2019
looong term user but not to happy anymore with MUD, first of all don't like the re-designed web site at all, it's less compact and less user friendly in my opinion. Also $40 which is over AU$50 a year is to expensive for what it does. I now switched to MacUpdater which is $10 a year a far more reasonable amount for what it is
Like (3)
Version 6.4.1
baxsur
26 November 2019
$40/year is too much for what's offered. $20/year would make it attractive for me.
Like (5)
Version 6.4.1