Back to MacUpdate Desktop page
MacUpdate Desktop free download for Mac

MacUpdate Desktop Reviews

6.4.1
19 December 2018

Search and install Mac apps w/ 1-click and keep them updated.

Jacblac
26 June 2014

Most helpful

I've relied on MU for years, & have been very satisfied w. its prior versions through 5.2.3, up to the new version 6. The star rankings i chose feel arbitrary, because i would easily give 5 stars if the new version was revised to include all of what it previously included in 5.2.3. I ran version 6 a half hour ago, & it not only missed the newly available updates as of this morning, but it also flagged a number of supposed updates which are not updates. One feature that 5.2.3 had that 6.0 does not is the possibility of "marking as current" an update which isn't an update. Another feature that 5.2.3 had that i liked, (eliminated in 6.0), is that the list of apps to be updated did not change until you quit MU - which made possible identifying where the app. is located if, like me, you have subfolders which group applications according to function - something i find very useful, given that i have close to 2,000 apps. For related reason, i also liked the separate window showing the apps being updated. There are other features that i'm used to which are now missing in version 6. One new feature in version 6 that i quite like is the fact that it is aware of apps located on the internal drive outside the Applications folder - something i was unable to do in 5.2.3 even when trying to add items to the Watch List. In short, this review has one goal: to urge the developer to restore in version 6 the features it removed which were present in version 5.2.3. I consider myself a supporter of MU.
Like (41)
Version 6.0

Read 1448 MacUpdate Desktop User Reviews

Rate this app:

YurTech
11 November 2019
App is still working on Catalina. But would like to point out on strange new web design. Previous was better as for me. And where is 'Follow button'?
Like
Version 6.4.1
marta-muzyka
07 November 2019
I would try, but think that 20$/6 months is too much
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
jon-113
07 November 2019
It is a bit buggy and slow sometimes, but it still works decently on Catalina.
Like
Version 6.4.1
jmartin78
07 November 2019
Excellent
Like
Version 6.4.1
mikismau
06 November 2019
FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO ARE UNAWARE: MacUpdate Desktop, since version 6.0 (years ago released), collects ALL of your app data and sends it to MacUpdate's servers. This means they are tracking what apps you have installed, when they were last launched, etc. and tying it to user-identifiable information (your name and email address). The "old" MacUpdate that was founded in Michigan 2 decades ago was sold a couple years ago by the infamous J MUELLER. It is now under the ownership of a UKRAINIAN company, hence MacUpdate's company address now being in the BRITISH VIRGIN ISLANDS. This is shady stuff guys, be careful with what apps you allow to "scan" your Mac....
Like
Version 6.4.1
bsmit
30 October 2019
Awesome app prompted me to update a bunch of stuff
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
gigadivamail
17 October 2019
no comment
Like
Version 6.4.1
cathy247
13 October 2019
MU often identifies and downloads the same app multiple times which uses up my download quotas and costs me money needlessly. It also failed to identify problems with the latest operating system upgrade Catalina which has rendered most of my games inoperable, so much so that although they haven't run very smoothly or fast lately has left me contemplating reverting to Yosamite just so I can play something, especially given I paid for all the games that I am unable to use now.
Like
Version 6.4.1
yahyah
10 October 2019
I got this account to get access to an application that said I needed an account to download it. After I paid for the account and got access to the link to download the application it took me off of this site and onto the developer site and for some reason I couldn't download the application. The point being... this MacUpdate account was unnecessary and serves absolutely no purpose for me. None whatsoever.
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
11 October 2019
MacUpdate.com does not require users to have an account to download software. MacUpdate Desktop is a piece of software we created to track updates and automatically update apps on your computer. You are not required to have it installed on your computer to download applications off of MacUpdate.com. There are "Download" and "Install with MacUpdate" buttons available on each app page. The latter requires you to have MacUpdate Desktop installed, yes, but there's always the first one there to get the installation file itself onto your computer. May I ask you what is the application in question here so we can double-check it? Additionally, please contact our support@macupdate.com email address if you have any additional questions or requests! Thanks, and have a great one!
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
IMRAN™
27 September 2019
Overpriced and buggier every version.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
xcoxco
23 September 2019
Liked the look and feel of the old MacUpdate website much better. For one, the current design does not frame the displayed pages, making it more confusing to view content, especially on large displays.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
xcoxco
23 September 2019
Liked the look and feel of the old MacUpdate website much better. For one, the current design does not frame the display, making it more confusing to view content, especially on large displays.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
Tchernob1l
18 September 2019
I never needed it. I spend too many money.
Like
Version 6.4.1
arintoul
17 September 2019
Very little, really.
Like
Version 6.4.1
DragonMaster
08 September 2019
No issues except that it periodically objects to mt VPN.
Like
Version 6.4.1
cdpeek
06 September 2019
Too many problems on current version. Does not pick up all apps in apps folder. Often calls for an update that is not needed - app is already updated. If these problems are not corrected, I will not renew. Used to be a time saver but no more.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
W-g
26 August 2019
I have used these guys for years. One great advantage is that if you are away for a couple of weeks, you can easily update your computer in a flash. Nice little product.
Like
Version 6.4.1
willemd
25 August 2019
A very helpful app, but if you purchase some apps and try to download them when a newer version has already been released the serial number no longer works. Understandable for paid upgrades, but this is true for free ones as well. Also, my recent purchase contained two apps whose serial numbers have not yet been deposited (including MacUpdate) after several days when they were supposed to have been deposited within 24 hours. But this app makes updating a cinch, even for apps that were not purchased through MacUpdate. The app suggestions are 5-star. Thanks MacUpdate!
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
wrfunk-1
24 August 2019
App keeps updating the same packages despite doing so the day before. I'd like my money back
Like (2)
Version 6.4.1
Saintfu
23 August 2019
This works well enough, although it sometimes misidentifies some of my apps. Also, I wish they would change the ⌘Q -⌘⇧Q behavior. When I tell an app to quit, I want it to quit.
Like (1)
Version 6.4.1
willemd
22 August 2019
Very helpful app that is also useful in suggesting what related apps might be of interest.
Like
Version 6.4.1
arno_1
19 August 2019
The ordering process was a nightmare. I had to contact support to get help, as I was not able to log-in.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Delainex
16 August 2019
Appears not to work properly......Keeps prompting me to download MacUpdate which i already have. Its very confusing at times and im sure i have doubled up on my subscription more than once! Its really only the memory of how good this program was when it was first released [and for a yearly subscription, too!] that keeps me around, but there are limits and im sure im approaching mine!!!!
Like
Version 6.4.1
evertbeckers
13 August 2019
I had to update my subscription to be able to update some essential apps. I found the procedure to do so very confusing. As a result I bought the same product, for the same device, twice...
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Viktor MacUpdate
Viktor MacUpdate
03 September 2019
We apologize for the inconvenience, sir! We reached out to you via email we have on record on August 14, at 7:23 PM and are still awaiting for your response! Please, check your inbox (or spam folder) to see if there's a letter from us with a "Double Payment" subject.
Like
Version 6.4.1
wzerkow
07 August 2019
Excellent product. Very useful for timely updating apps!
Like
Version 6.4.1
Zigang Pan
05 August 2019
I meant to renew for six month. But accidentally paid twice. Please correct this
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
Zigang Pan
Zigang Pan
06 August 2019
Things are great. The customer service is great. My concerns are resolved immediately.
Like (1)
TomHawk
02 August 2019
Nothing works. My purchases nor updates display. I get emails that updates have occurred but not in the app
Like
Version 6.4.1
hlaugle
01 August 2019
I did not renew this. In fact, I logged on and made sure it was NOT set to auto-renew. Not worth it and I want my money back. I'm only giving it half a star because I had to give it something to be able to post the review.
Like
Version 6.4.1
howardym
31 July 2019
Didn't approve yet they renewed & won't refund money.
Like
Version 6.4.1
1 answer(s)
STL@MacUpdate
STL@MacUpdate
31 July 2019
Hi,
I apologize for this inconvenience., Sir. In case you would like to cancel the subscription, please let us know via email support@macupdate.com or send us a ticket on support.macupdate.com. We definitely want you to have a good experience here.
Have a great time
Like
You are make a very helpful work, letting people being always up to day for their applications, If we should me this work bay ourselves, it would take a big amount of time. Thank you!
Like
Version 6.4.1
juventus_28
29 July 2019
I purchased the app but it disent work
Like
Version 6.4.1
craig-marshall
29 July 2019
It does what it promises fairly well. The occasional glitch is usually resolved fairly well and I would say the cost is well worth the time it saves me in manually updating software.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Peter-Humm
23 July 2019
could be less expensive
Like
Version 6.4.1
LGLuc
22 July 2019
Transaction parfaite.
Like
Version 6.4.1
craigfin74
22 July 2019
I like this very much. It allows me to receive update notifications, install with a single click, retain the dmg file to install on other computers, and I can also see what other users think of the software programmes on offer.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Megavolt17
20 July 2019
I am still using MacUpdate Desktop, but am also trying out MacUpdater (not listed on MacUpdate website) by CoreCode [https://www.corecode.io/macupdater/]. So far they both work well. MacUpdater scans less often by default and seems more primitive, but it is also much lighter weight and has never hung while scanning or been unable to find ANY of my installed apps as if often the case with MacUpdater.
Like
Version 6.4.1
AlainC6412
20 July 2019
helps me very much
Like
Version 6.4.1
ThePongster
18 July 2019
MUD 6.4.1 on macOS Mojave 10.14.5 has constant "time out" errors. Must quit the application then restart for it to work correctly. Unacceptable for a paid service.
Like
Version 6.4.1
hirshnoc
18 July 2019
It doesn’t work with current versions of macOS.
Like
Version 6.4.1
achwell
15 July 2019
Paid subscription, they took my money, but the subscription isn’t active.
Like
Version 6.4.1
slagell
15 July 2019
Finally was able to pay to renew after that was broken. But now they took my money and the subscription isn’t active. Doesn’t even show up in my account.
Like
Version 6.4.1
smaltivi
12 July 2019
Don't waste your money. https://www.corecode.io/macupdater/ 100% better and cheaper!
Like
Version 6.4.1
dsoderdahl
10 July 2019
i use MUD a bunch, but i must say that it has not always been so accurate with Mojave. i am sure the team in working on a robust fix. a terrific, user-friendly, intuitive product! KUDOs to you!
Like
Version 6.4.1
Bdudek120
08 July 2019
I have used this for a long time on and off . It doesnt really work anymore . Update times out all the time . Its gotten way too expensive too . Like so many things ( most things it seems ) it aint what it used to be .
Like
Version 6.4.1
JonThaler
07 July 2019
The interface is too confusing for me. Also the links to new versions is not reliable. I just use it to tell me what apps have updates, and I do the update by hand from within each app. I agree with others that $40/year is too expensive.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Swingscars
04 July 2019
MacUpdate does not find any application to the demarcation of my Mac 27 under Mojave 10.14.5. I can only find applications that in manual search with the keys "cmd and Alt, which is the solution
Like
Version 6.4.1
2 answer(s)
brandon_1
brandon_1
04 July 2019
You could try rebuilding your app index by quitting Desktop completely using the “gear icon” in the menu item. Then relaunching MacUpdate Desktop while holding both the Command + Option (⌘⌥) keys. I will warn you, this process may reset some of your custom settings (such as apps you may have set to "skip this update" or "ignore forever"), and may require you to reconfigure your custom MacUpdate Desktop settings. However, this process can be very effective at helping to eliminate some persistent app scan issues.
Like
Megavolt17
Megavolt17
20 July 2019
Log out with MacUpdate app, then log back in.

What you are describing happens to me frequently but this fixes it.
Like
evoth-1
04 July 2019
Great little app... but seems quite costly, of late. Why not offer renewing customers a 50% discount? Runs well on my Mojave.
Like
Version 6.4.1
Brokerdon
02 July 2019
GREAT product / service which saves us HOURS of time keeping our macOS apps up to date. AutoRenew is quirky since it alerted us that our MUD subscription was expiring... but renewed us anyway.
Like
Version 6.4.1
jyotilimaye.limaye
27 June 2019
very very Poor rating.Minus 5StarTobe exact.Wasted my money on a bogus assurance..You are cheats.I am not getting any update whatsoever although I hsve chosen Automatic Update optiom It appears you are cheaters.
Like
Version 6.4.1
lkrupp215
25 June 2019
Using MacUpdate Desktop 6.4.1 and for some time now I’ve seen the Check for Updates feature lag. Sometimes now the progress bar goes real slow and takes several tries before any updates appear. Just before writing this comment I tried twice and both times was eventually greeted with the “connection error. request timed out” message window. I’m thinking MacUpdate needs more server bandwidth to handle all the hits from the app in its installed base.
Like
Version 6.4.1