Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to EyeTV page
EyeTV free download for Mac

EyeTV Reviews

08 March 2021

Watch and record TV on your Mac.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
treaclespongeuk
treaclespongeuk
Jun 17 2021
4.0.0
0.0
Jun 17 2021
0.0
Version: 4.0.0
I so want to find the silver lining in this product version but can't think of anything. You would have to be absolutely desperate to put up with its major flaws and quirks but quite frankly there is little alternative for watching terrestrial TV on a Mac. Without fail it crashes daily. It can cope with a single channel change but no more before it crashes. The scrub bar, program listing are appalling. EyeTV, I was your number one fan, now you are my worst nightmare.
pfuzerharry
pfuzerharry
May 13 2021
4.0.0
5.0
May 13 2021
5.0
Version: 4.0.0
Watching TV- the time when you can relax and know a lot of news. Now I can watch from my new MAC. I Looooove It!
Bill-601
Bill-601
Mar 8 2021
4.0.0
0.0
Mar 8 2021
0.0
Version: 4.0.0
I have an EyeTV 250 Plus that I've used with version 3 of this software for a long time. I'm to the point where I can't upgrade my OS much further. The developer apparently has a long way to go on the 64-bit version.
michaelbuchmann
michaelbuchmann
Mar 7 2021
4.0.0
1.0
Mar 7 2021
1.0
Version: 4.0.0
Non functional - no service. Just a rip-off!
clemensmug-1
clemensmug-1
Jan 9 2021
4.0.0
1.0
Jan 9 2021
1.0
Version: 4.0.0
Version 1,2,3 all perfect, No4 is very very bad ! No load off all pay channels !!! Can't add 1 channel what is missing. EPG info missing. Bad output options.
Rob-h
Rob-h
Oct 12 2020
4.0.0
2.0
Oct 12 2020
2.0
Version: 4.0.0
I put up with the quirks of the 32bit version and had to upgrade to the 64bit version when upgrading to macOS Catalina. Scrolling through the program guide is a nightmare - you scroll up or down to look for a different channel and the display just jumps back to where it started and it repeatedly does this making it impossible to change channels. Also the fast forward and rewind keys have disappeared since the latest 'upgrade' to v4.0.0 (8523). Wish the developers would just sort it out!
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Sep 16 2020
4.0.0
0.0
Sep 16 2020
0.0
Version: 4.0.0
This app needs a demo mode or demo activation code, so we can see if it all works as expected before outlaying money.
lorastock
lorastock
Aug 11 2020
4.0.0
0.0
Aug 11 2020
0.0
Version: 4.0.0
Eye TV device that you plug into USB port on computer can become loose if you keep inserting & removing, hence stuffing up TV reception.. this has happened with 2 Eye TV devices I bought. And also doesn't take much movement to stuff up reception- slight movement of laptop can be all it takes. Currently have a reception problem with one channel only.. (CHANNEL 9 AUSTRALIA) looks like is not an issue with the device itself, given is one channel only. If ever there's a problem with individual channel reception it's always blasted CHANNEL 9 ??
caubrey
caubrey
Jul 20 2020
4.0.0
1.0
Jul 20 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.0
I've given this 1 star but in fact it is 0. Eye TV used to be a brilliant piece of software but ever since the German company took it over it has become useless. All the reviews below are correct: all sorts of problems occurring with EyeTV3 on High Sierra but poor (and now non-existent) customer service; they sold me the latest software and a new EyeTV Netstream4S (for use on a MacBook Pro with Catalina) knowing there is no Userguide and no export facility - 6 months ago they said they were working on it! This is not fit for purpose as under the 1987 Consumer Protection Act. I can't understand why they bought EyeTV if they weren't going to look after it. I am desperately trying to find an alternative system. Does anyone know of one?
Schramm
Schramm
Jul 10 2020
4.0.0
1.0
Jul 10 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.0
I did not forget the rating. My vote is 0 stars. The 4.0 ist still useable. The export function does not work at all and the App is awfully slow.
Schramm
Schramm
Jul 10 2020
4.0.0
1.0
Jul 10 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.0
The 4.0 ist still useable. The export function does not work at all and the App is awfully slow.
totalfool
totalfool
Jul 9 2020
4.0.0
1.0
Jul 9 2020
1.0
Version: 4.0.0
They took my money and now won't respond with an activation code bunch of crooks
Aargl
Aargl
Jul 9 2020
4.0.0
0.0
Jul 9 2020
0.0
Version: 4.0.0
Website says: "System (minimum requirements) Operating system: macOS 10.14 or higher"
lursay
lursay
May 11 2020
3.6.9
1.0
May 11 2020
1.0
Version: 3.6.9
Crappy software under the new 64 bits upgrade version 4 . It is marred with flaws, specially the editing which is good for the garbage and more recently the lecture of the videos is choppy/jerky. And the sort of assistance one gets is hopeless. Was a charm before under 32 bits. What a waist and a shame
lpowers530
lpowers530
Jan 22 2020
3.6.9
0.0
Jan 22 2020
0.0
Version: 3.6.9
EyeTv used to be a 32 bit program. Once Apple went to 64bit the product stopped working. Emailed so called customer service and they sent me a beta version, that also does not work. Now they won't respond to emails. At one point I asked for my money back and was told I need to tell them where I bought the product, the actual receipt and how much did I pay for every. Now there is nothing...no response from anyone. TOTAL wast of time and Money. Stay away from EyeTv and all of their other products. You will lose in the end....
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
Jan 17 2020
3.6.9
2.0
Jan 17 2020
2.0
Version: 3.6.9
Wow this software has REALLY turned to garbage! This was SUCH a great piece of SW...I used it for close to 15 years but I've really started to look elsewhere for alternatives. I made the mistake of clearing the EPG and it went from an ailing piece of software to just a piece of...well, you know. SAVE YOUR $$$!!! This SW has been going steadily down hill for years.
wknapitsch
wknapitsch
Nov 22 2019
3.6.9
0.0
Nov 22 2019
0.0
Version: 3.6.9
I was very content with EyeTV 3.6.9 until today when I installed Catalina on my iMac. Now it does not work any more, needs an actualization to 64 bit. What can I do?
relax-2
relax-2
Nov 15 2019
3.6.9
0.0
Nov 15 2019
0.0
Version: 3.6.9
It doesnt work - updated
Stephen19
Stephen19
Apr 17 2019
3.6.9
1.0
Apr 17 2019
1.0
Version: 3.6.9
I completely agree with steve-320. I mostly use EyeTV as a browser to find movies and series I want to watch. But TV Guide has not been working for months now, and all Geniatech will say after repeated attempts to contact them is that they're working on a solution. Don't waste your money on EyeTV.
steve-320
steve-320
Feb 12 2019
3.6.9
1.0
Feb 12 2019
1.0
Version: 3.6.9
EyeTV has been going downhill since the damn Germans bought it. First they stopped supporting SiliconDust products. Now, the TV guide will not work (and my subscription is paid through September). I contacted support over a week ago, and got no response. I sent a second request yesterday. DO NOT BUY EyeTV. Stopped working and support is nonexistent.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Oct 5 2018
3.6.9
0.0
Oct 5 2018
0.0
Version: 3.6.9
When the heck is this going 64-bit?!
Micksmac
Micksmac
Nov 16 2017
3.6.9
1.0
Nov 16 2017
1.0
Version: 3.6.9
Be warned: the latest version of EyeTV no longer supports your Elgato/HDHomeRun tuners. Appalling I think.
Winco
Winco
Nov 16 2017
3.6.9
4.0
Nov 16 2017
4.0
Version: 3.6.9
Have been using EyeTV Diversity for nearly a decade. Hardware still functions well with Free-to-air broadcasting except for a occasional freeze requiring an un-plug and re-plug of the Diversity USB hardware.

I subscribe to a commercial EPG service in Australia and it works well. Records 95% of the time but occasionally misses programmes for some reason.

The good news is that EyeTV is now in the new hands of a Chinese software company who appear to be updating the software on a regular basis - bug fixing and making improvements. So 4 stars for keeping it up to date and generally bug free apart from the occasional hiccup.
Cheops
Cheops
Nov 16 2017
3.6.9
0.0
Nov 16 2017
0.0
Version: 3.6.9
This looks like build 7522; build 7521 and above apparently - and deliberately - break support for the Silicon Dust HDHomeRun.
Volcanus
Volcanus
Sep 5 2017
3.6.9
0.0
Sep 5 2017
0.0
Version: 3.6.9
Still not 64 bit! Puts configuration data in weird folders, e. g. /Users/Shared/Library/Preferences The user interface does not follow Apple's guidelines. This program needs severe improvements.
bbitg
bbitg
Jun 16 2017
3.6.9
5.0
Jun 16 2017
5.0
Version: 3.6.9
Best TV App. I am using it for decades and it serves a old Mac mini for Satellite Recordings also very well. In App Update finds this version: Release Candidate eyetv 3.6.9 (7518) Change Log Generic stability Improvements and Fixes Improved DVB-T2 HD AAC 5.1 (fix Audio Issue Dolby 5.1 -> AAC 5.1 on das Erste HD and Arte HD)
Jäarvis
Jäarvis
Apr 19 2017
3.6.9
4.0
Apr 19 2017
4.0
Version: 3.6.9
I've been searching for an app with similar functions for a long time and eventually find this one. It runs well on my updated mac with Sierra. It gave me total control of the content I would like to see and in what order. I hope, it will serve me well in the future too.
Yazarim
Yazarim
Feb 19 2017
3.6.9
3.0
Feb 19 2017
3.0
Version: 3.6.9
My 3.6.9 (7514 & 13) does not work anymore in Sierra (on iMac Retina AND MacBook Pro). Can't understand wether the culprit is the software or the tiny hardware. Version for iPad works perfectly, though. Contacted support, no answer whatsoever. Didn't I pay for their things?
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Oct 31 2016
3.6.9
0.0
Oct 31 2016
0.0
Version: 3.6.9
2016 and STILL not 64-bit! :(
GreenVomit8
GreenVomit8
Aug 28 2016
3.6.9
4.0
Aug 28 2016
4.0
Version: 3.6.9
Good program but can be a CPU resource hog. Admittedly, I have only an early 2009 iMac with a 2.66GHz Intel Core 2 Duo but I can't have it running in the background as it significantly contributes to my CPU to be overutlized.
Macmuser
Macmuser
Aug 21 2016
3.6.9
4.5
Aug 21 2016
4.5
Version: 3.6.9
EyeTV has been running on my Macs since 2002, literally every second my Mac is on. Currently it's working fine under Sierra betas. At the same time I might be running Photoshop filters, demanding games, QuarkXPress, inDesign and Illustrator, etc. EyeTV has never interfered. It has run on my various Powerbooks, G3s, G4s, G5s, MacPros and iMacs. The Elgato 410 Firewire tuner even runs along a FW network and is currently connected to a Thunderbolt port on a new iMac. Otherwise, wireless network connections make it easy to watch EyeTV on iPhones and iPads and also any recording made by EyeTV. The Elgato Turbo 264HD compressor sticks are not necessary on modern Macs but are good on slower ones and also mean you can compress or convert two movies at a time. The Elgato 410 has proven to be the best of their tuners in my area which has patchy TV reception. I have four other tuners from when I did a head to head test for a magazine. I read some of the comments below and am persuaded they are linked to the individual's Mac rather than EyeTV itself. I have had occasional glitches with the software but they are easy to fix, usually by completely uninstalling EyeTV and starting again, a matter of a few minutes at most. There are various guides to do this on the web and Elgato's site which also has free tools to help.
Eimbier
Eimbier
Aug 21 2016
3.6.9
4.0
Aug 21 2016
4.0
Version: 3.6.9
I have been using EyeTV for years with the Elgato TV Tuner on my Mac. It successfully schedules and records programs I want from the Open Source tv program guide, and has the most efficient video editor I have ever used to quickly delete non-essential parts of tv programs. Then I use Handbrake to create an mp4 video. It is difficult to schedule to record parts of shows that are in the same timeslot. Also one is pushed to subscribe to TV Guide, where TitanTV online is far better or one can use the free inferior Open Source version. If a free TitanTV video guide were incorporated into the software, I would rate it higher. Other than those issues, I am very happy with it and use it daily.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 20 2016
3.6.9
3.0
Aug 20 2016
3.0
Version: 3.6.9
If you're utterly confused as to WTF is going on with EyeTV, you are not alone. • If you go to the Geniatech website as of today, it will let you download v3.9.6 (7413). It is dated April 25, 2016. • And yet I already have installed v3.9.6 (7416), dated May 26, 2016 which I previously downloaded from Geniatech. • And now we have via MacUpdate's download link for v3.9.6 (7513), which is indeed the latest version, dated August 16, 2016 So: Why the stupid minor build numbers? Why the jumble of available minor update versions? Why not just get to v3.9.7 already? This is NOT supposed to be a beta test!!! Hello? Anyway, this latest version is successfully booting on my Mac. Hurray for that. But I still keep an archive of v3.6.8 around in case there are further v3.6.9 (whatever) disturbances.
Pxlsmith
Pxlsmith
Jun 27 2016
3.6.9
1.0
Jun 27 2016
1.0
Version: 3.6.9
If I could leave a zero starts rating I would. My TVGuide subscription expired literally 3 days after Elgato sold EyeTV to Geniatech. Geniatech didn't have the ability (at the time) to extend the EPG subscription. So I emailed them both. Elgato was basically "Sorry, talk to them." Geniatech did something on their backend and the EPG data started working again... for a while. When it stopped, right after they released 3.6.9, I went to their website and bought the EPG subscription. I got the activation link, clicked it, and... it didn't work. EyeTV told me it couldn't connect to the internet. Three weeks, 2 unanswered tech support tickets, and several missed recordings later, I finally disputed the charge via Paypal. Geniatech tried to help me fix it ... by re-sending me the automatic email I got when I ordered, with the same non-working activation link. I did get a full refund, which I put towards a SiliconDust HDHomerun. I'm now running the MythTV backend in a VMware VM, with Kodi as the front end on my Mac mini in the TV room. And I'm wondering why I didn't do this years ago.
hiltonb
hiltonb
Apr 30 2016
3.6.9
4.0
Apr 30 2016
4.0
Version: 3.6.9
I have had no luck getting the MacUpdate version to work. I believe it has a bug. Elgato has been bought by Geniatech. I strongly recommend downloading version 3.6.9 at: https://www.geniatech.eu/eyetv/download/eyetv-3-6-9-7412-for-osx-el-captain-version-10-11-3/
John-Lockwood
John-Lockwood
Apr 26 2016
3.6.9
0.0
Apr 26 2016
0.0
Version: 3.6.9
Apparently according to the change list as shown by MacUpdate this new 3.6.9 version adds DVB-T2 support. I find that ironic since Elgato had for years been failing to ship a single DVB-T2 compatible tuner and still at this time do not have any DVB-T2 tuners. It does sound though that the new owners finally plan to remedy this. Too late in my own case as I have switched to using SiliconDust products instead.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Apr 26 2016
3.6.9
1.0
Apr 26 2016
1.0
Version: 3.6.9
Version 3.6.9_7413 could not be opened. I use El Capitan 10.11.4! With version 3.6.8 there are no problems at all.
nnsa-2
nnsa-2
Apr 26 2016
3.6.9
0.5
Apr 26 2016
0.5
Version: 3.6.9
Worthless version 3.6.9 for me. Does not work at all. A shame ! (OS X 10.11.4) No menu-bar, nothing.
Odysseus
Odysseus
Apr 26 2016
3.6.8
0.0
Apr 26 2016
0.0
Version: 3.6.8
The Elgato EyeTV software and hardware have been sold to the German subsidiary of a Chinese company, Geniatech: https://www.geniatech.eu/eyetv/elgato-sells-eyetv/

The latest version of EyeTV is 3.6.9, not 3.6.8.

https://www.geniatech.eu/eyetv/download/eyetv-3-6-9-7412-for-osx-el-captain-version-10-11-3/
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Nov 13 2015
3.6.8
2.0
Nov 13 2015
2.0
Version: 3.6.8
This program has a long-standing bug that Elgato refuses to address: It leaks virtual memory. It absolutely blows up virtual memory and does not release it when the program quits. Eventually there will be 5-6 GB of _compressed_ virtual memory that slows down your system and you have to reboot. SHAME ON YOU ELGATO.
CDavid
CDavid
May 15 2015
3.6.8
0.0
May 15 2015
0.0
Version: 3.6.8
I like the app very much, its interface and functionality are OK, however, I think it could have been a bit cheaper. Unlike many other users here, EyeTV works great for me (OS X Yosemite 10.10.3).
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
May 15 2015
3.6.8
3.0
May 15 2015
3.0
Version: 3.6.8
The currently downloading version of EyeTV is v3.6.8 (7407). (v3.6.8 (7405) has been out since early April).
howard-8
howard-8
Apr 24 2015
3.6.8
0.0
Apr 24 2015
0.0
Version: 3.6.8
Just uploaded and installed newest version and no signal recognised. Checked aerial, cables etc all seem to be OK. Anyone else finding a problem?
lurkingremlin
lurkingremlin
Apr 21 2015
3.6.8
0.0
Apr 21 2015
0.0
Version: 3.6.8
Elgato website says minimum required OS version for EyeTV 3.6.8. is 10.9 Mavericks. 3.6.7 is the last version running on Snow Leopard through Mountain Lion.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Apr 21 2015
3.6.8
1.0
Apr 21 2015
1.0
Version: 3.6.8
I don't find the interface poor as said below! It's a very stable and really good working software with many features and as I find too a real good interface. I worked with many similar programs on Windows 7 and all are more unstable. Maybe some GUI is looking a bit better than here, but all in all this is my favorite TV app.
Diegoz
Diegoz
Dec 1 2014
3.6.7
3.0
Dec 1 2014
3.0
Version: 3.6.7
Nice software but old and poor interface... Hope Elgato refresh soon eye tv UI follow new Yosemite style... I wish see a nice TV guide, better display and flat semi-transparent windows
Macmuser
Macmuser
Nov 17 2014
3.6.7
4.5
Nov 17 2014
4.5
Version: 3.6.7
EyeTV and the EyeTV devices have been the most-used software and hardware I have ever had. They are in daily use and run 100% of the time my Mac is awake. In the foreground I might have Photoshop and other heavyweight apps doing their thing but EyeTV is always in the background, often recording or compressing a movie or TV show. I have been using EyeTV for over 10 years. The publishers are responsive to support requests and the software 'just works'. In that decade I have used the software and allied hardware on very lowly Macs through to the top of the range for the time. Also under every beta version of Mac OSX since EyeTV was available as well as streaming video to Mac laptops, iPads and iPhones throughout our large house and garden. Elgato EyeTV hardware has also been well worth the amount it costs, from the original USB box through to the best they have done IMHO – EyeTV 410 sadly no longer available. My TV signal here is patchy and needs a powerful device and software to filter out the noise. There are some annoyances, such as windows can only being resized from the bottom right corner but these are extremely petty.
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
Oct 18 2014
3.6.5
3.0
Oct 18 2014
3.0
Version: 3.6.5
If you are on Yosemite then there is a Final Candidate version available at http://help.elgato.com/customer/portal/articles/1731720-eyetv-3-6-6-is-available-for-use-with-os-x-10-10-yosemite?b_id=360
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Aug 16 2014
3.6.5
3.0
Aug 16 2014
3.0
Version: 3.6.5
Hey! Version 3.6.5 (7310) is from February 19, 2014. Why it is being listed as new on August 16, 2014 is beyond understanding. Don't freak out if you already have this version installed.
Simon-W
Simon-W
Aug 12 2014
3.6.3
2.0
Aug 12 2014
2.0
Version: 3.6.3
Only what I need is lower cpu usage, 22% it's a big number... with some other little apps I have more than 4k rpm so it's little annoying.