Back to SecuritySpy page
SecuritySpy free download for Mac

SecuritySpy Reviews

25 February 2021

Multi-camera video surveillance app.

How would you rate SecuritySpy?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ben-marko
ben-marko
Aug 26 2018
4.2.6
4.0
Aug 26 2018
4.0
Version: 4.2.6
Works great. The quality and reliability of this software is the main reason why I dumped my Nest cams with their limited utility.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jun 8 2018
4.2.5
0.0
Jun 8 2018
0.0
Version: 4.2.5
Needs Canary All In One support! Their website does not say if it is supported or unsupported...
Ekimsknird
Ekimsknird
Sep 11 2017
4.1.7
5.0
Sep 11 2017
5.0
Version: 4.1.7
This is an amazing product, by far the best available for Mac or PC. Works with hundreds of cameras and records in ultra high quality, maximizing your security budget and making sure your business or home is protected. Make no mistake this is professional gear, although super easy to use and simple to setup. I've been using for years and installing for friends. They are also amazed by the quality. The phone app makes it all the better with notifications and secure remote access, this is clearly the only option.
lightbusters
lightbusters
Nov 25 2016
4.0.9
5.0
Nov 25 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.9
I have been using Security Spy since version 1. This new App is so easy. All you need is your username and password. I had 2 iPhone and 2 iPad set up in maybe 10 minutes. Plus as a bonus it works on the Apple TV version 4. I was on my Apple TV and saw it under purchases, downloaded it and it was just as easy as the iPhone and IPad to set up. Overnight I can view my cameras on 5 new devices and that doesn't include Macbooks, iMacs, and the rest. They did a good job on this. Try it out.
mccartney1950
mccartney1950
Nov 25 2016
4.0.9
5.0
Nov 25 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.9
SecuritySpy continues to be great software, through the new version 4.0.9. I have used the analog cameras for over 10 years and have been able to continue using the now somewhat outdated cameras and a/d converters all along. SecuritySpy seems to offer an endless set of ways to use the program. Lately, as a new user of network cameras, I find the features even more interesting. The ability to drill down into settings to set up a camera is impressive. But, most of the time a given network camera has already been set up by SecSpy profiles; this makes it very easy to get the camera working. A bit about software support should be noted. BenSoftware has a lot of easily understood explanations of issues, setup, problem solving on their website. I go through them carefully and usually get my answers there. But, if I'm stuck, I have had very helpful replies quickly from the company. SecuritySpy offers the ability to easily look at camera video and audio on smartphones. I use and iPhone and am running the new SecuritySpy for iOS, Apple TV, etc. This free companion really broadens the usefulness of the security system. All in all, the software is terrific!
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Nov 23 2016
4.0.9
0.0
Nov 23 2016
0.0
Version: 4.0.9
Needs Sparkle framework for automatic update downloads!
Tim-Holman
Tim-Holman
Nov 7 2016
4.0.8
5.0
Nov 7 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.8
This program is pricey, but you get what you pay for. The author has kept SecuritySpy updated and working smoothly on MacOS Sierra, and that is far more than others can say. I run a 12-camera system into my Mac Pro at home, and the effect on system responsiveness is barely noticeable. Contrast that with other programs that either crash or cause your Mac to grind to a halt, and the choice is clear.
mrperfect
mrperfect
Sep 22 2016
4.0.6
5.0
Sep 22 2016
5.0
Version: 4.0.6
My highest recommendation. I use it with one Facetime Camera. I am happy with the stability, features, ease of use, the documentation, and the customer support.
hardwic
hardwic
Sep 14 2016
4.0.5
3.0
Sep 14 2016
3.0
Version: 4.0.5
I have been using SecuritySpy for years and it hurts a bit to write this review. It has always been expensive and even though I have to pay 149 pounds to upgrade just on a year ago, I thought it was worth it - until now that is. I also bought 16 camera license for work at the same time (Aug 2015). Personally I only needed 1 extra camera (9 in total) but you can only buy 1,4,8,16 licenses. But now version 4 has released and less than a year passed since I purchased but yet both are not eligible for upgrade. Version 3 is not longer supported so I fully expect it to break with the next release of OS X. I have no problem paying a premium price for a quality product but can't help feeling ripped off by this greedy attempt to force more money out of existing users. If you look on Bensoft's web site you will see that you are only entitled to updates for 6 months. So basically your investment can be devalued by 65% in 6 moths which I think is unreasonable. Now if the update included face or human recognition and not just 64bit (which was dues long ago!!) it maybe worth paying for some real benefit. But right now you are being forced to pay (and a lot) just to keep the app current with OS X releases. So sorry Ben but this is just poor judgment.
Mindsnare
Mindsnare
Aug 15 2016
4.0.4
0.0
Aug 15 2016
0.0
Version: 4.0.4
Precapture does not work in v4... Back to v3.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jun 21 2016
4.0
0.0
Jun 21 2016
0.0
Version: 4.0
Finally 64-bit! Does it work with Canary? It seems not. *sigh*
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jun 27 2015
3.4.7
0.0
Jun 27 2015
0.0
Version: 3.4.7
STILL not 64-bit...
Jef4
Jef4
Jan 28 2015
3.4.4
4.5
Jan 28 2015
4.5
Version: 3.4.4
Best video security software for mac. I installed this at +10 custommers and its running very stable for years.
Elijahg0
Elijahg0
Jan 27 2015
3.4.4
3.0
Jan 27 2015
3.0
Version: 3.4.4
The app works well, but the interface is very outdated and it's way, way overpriced. £29 for a single camera license is steep, but when you start looking at multiple camera licenses it's just a joke.
Claude-Demierre
Claude-Demierre
Sep 29 2014
3.4.2
2.5
Sep 29 2014
2.5
Version: 3.4.2
Nice app. but way to expensive and the UI is out of age! D-Link cams come with free software up to 32 cams on web and iOS that dose the same ...
Jcodirewolf
Jcodirewolf
Apr 12 2014
3.3
4.0
Apr 12 2014
4.0
Version: 3.3
I love this software (at least the demo.) However, the posting here appears to be a scam. The software is worth $50 as posted here. But when I went to the dev site to buy it (it doesn't appear to allow you to buy it through MU.) it turns out the $51.50 version only supports 1 camera. This software is NOT worth $260 to support all 8 of my cameras. http://store.bensoftware.com/store-securityspy?currency=USD Back to Zoneminder for free.
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Rasputinsrevengereloadet
Dec 3 2013
3.2
5.0
Dec 3 2013
5.0
Version: 3.2
Now after over a year of nonstop security video recorded I can say that it works just like expected, what is very unexpected for a software with all that features. Great job on that old school peace of software.
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Feb 21 2013
3.0.1
0.0
Feb 21 2013
0.0
Version: 3.0.1
I would suggest they add support for Monoprice.com cameras!
Benmac
Benmac
Jan 21 2013
2.2.4
5.0
Jan 21 2013
5.0
Version: 2.2.4
It's the best video surveillance program for the mac. I've got 13 ~1 megapixel cameras mirrored between two sites and the program runs without a hiccup.
Deanl
Deanl
Jan 3 2013
2.2.3
0.0
Jan 3 2013
0.0
Version: 2.2.3
Version 2.1.4 is the last version to run on PPC. All versions after that are Intel Only (10.5+).
Squigles
Squigles
Jul 27 2012
2.2
0.0
Jul 27 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
2.2 appears to have a problem with 10.8! Installed but App refuses to remain open, continually quits after installing?
Wozardofiz
Wozardofiz
May 11 2012
2.1.3
0.0
May 11 2012
0.0
Version: 2.1.3
Not bad software, does everything I need, however, once I add over 3 wireless cameras, frame rates drop to almost 0-1 fps.
kingsnight
kingsnight
Sep 19 2011
2.1
5.0
Sep 19 2011
5.0
Version: 2.1
Short and sweet. Thank you for a great program, I have been using it for over a year now and have never had a glitch! I can not say the same for non Mac owner friends that are trying to use programs for their security cameras. Best of luck and keep up the fine work; you will always have my vote from across the pond.
osxer
osxer
Aug 21 2011
2.1
3.0
Aug 21 2011
3.0
Version: 2.1
Nice app. but way to expensive! Should be one price for all camera settings. $ 50 would be ok but only for at least 4 cameras. $ 252 for 8 cameras is ridiculous.....
Mindsnare
Mindsnare
Jul 25 2011
2.1
0.0
Jul 25 2011
0.0
Version: 2.1
How about a text overlay that shows the outside IP of the cam or the computer it is connected to? Would be useful at times.
Lexicon5
Lexicon5
Oct 25 2010
2.0.9
0.0
Oct 25 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.9
Great app even if the GUI needs work. Apple standards not followed. Preferences available in two menu lists. Settings are 7 separate windows instead of one with a drop list to change to the desired setting. Camera status is reminiscent of OS 9 days. If you launch from the disk image, the app tries to open BSLCrashRecovery app within the app package itself. Message displayed by the OS when the app tries to call the hidden app; “BSLCrashRecovery” is on the disk image “SecuritySpy 2.0.9.dmg”. Interesting. I've not installed it to my Applications and wont until I get to a test machine and let BSLCrashRecovery run to see what it's doing.
dwp-1
dwp-1
Jul 19 2010
2.0.7
0.0
Jul 19 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.7
Awesome application, best of class.
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Mar 24 2010
2.0.3
0.0
Mar 24 2010
0.0
Version: 2.0.3
Schedules on version 2.0.4 (this version listed here in MU is old....) does not work. Setting a schedule does nothing. The camera is active and stays active until it is manually switched to passive. It then stays passive until manually changed to active regardless of any schedule setup.
Squigles
Squigles
Nov 4 2009
2.0.1
0.0
Nov 4 2009
0.0
Version: 2.0.1
1.6.2 no longer fully works with Snow Leopard! The Web Server is broken, continually getting; 404 File not found Error code: 50,0 Will there be a fix for this ?
dgraen
dgraen
Nov 28 2008
1.6
4.0
Nov 28 2008
4.0
Version: 1.6
I love this app! I've been using it to watch over my home for years. Fortunately, it's only caught my cat jumping onto my desk so far.
Osxi
Osxi
Sep 4 2007
1.5
0.0
Sep 4 2007
0.0
Version: 1.5
I had tried the previous version and saw great potential for use as a mini home alarm system. Have you considered allowing a remote method of arming and disarming such as SMS text messages or even a paired Apple Bluetooth remote?
Binarypackrat
Binarypackrat
May 26 2007
1.4.1
0.0
May 26 2007
0.0
Version: 1.4.1
Fantastic software. Tried running PC software for our cameras first nothing on the pc side compared to the way this software worked . All of the features were easy to use.
Squigles
Squigles
Feb 19 2007
1.4
0.0
Feb 19 2007
0.0
Version: 1.4
10.4.8 no problems using this software, having just added a Panasonic BL-C30 camera to my setup, I find I cant disable the Panasonic software in order for SP to take full control.
Guest
Guest
Oct 19 2004
1.0.3
5.0
Oct 19 2004
5.0
Version: 1.0.3
Great software! works with 10.3.5, no problems found. The interface and options are numerous and usefull.
Guest
Guest
Mar 10 2004
1.0
5.0
Mar 10 2004
5.0
Version: 1.0
why isn´t´there any sound?
Guest
Guest
Jan 27 2004
1.0b40
0.0
Jan 27 2004
0.0
Version: 1.0b40
Great Software. It has almost everything you need for surveilance. The integratetd E-Mail, FTP and Webserver is just what this pice of software a must. We are doing surveilance of Pool Hall in Switzerland and are very happy
Davidlaska
Davidlaska
Jan 10 2004
1.0b38
0.0
Jan 10 2004
0.0
Version: 1.0b38
works with IREZ pcmcia video capture card by the way.
Guest
Guest
Jan 9 2004
1.0b38
0.0
Jan 9 2004
0.0
Version: 1.0b38
Great program, it has all the functions of other pro surveilance programs like the 'Milestone software' for Windows. And it is compatible with almost all firewire, USB and Network camera's and devices. It's stable, easy to use and being a surveilance programe it is VERY CHEAP indeed. ( Milestone costs about 1200 dollars) Hereby a big compliment fot Ben Bird.
Guest
Guest
Dec 26 2003
1.0b37
5.0
Dec 26 2003
5.0
Version: 1.0b37
Really great! really expensive though. Not worth the price at all!!!