Back to IconBuilder page
IconBuilder free download for Mac

IconBuilder Reviews

8.5.3
02 December 2011

Photoshop filter for creating icons with ease.

Corpsecorps
16 November 2007

Most helpful

IconBuilder is very versatile and powerful, but as ever when i've tried it in the past, i find it's methodology of getting the job done overly complex, what with having to use grid files, and get them synchronized with settings in the filter window, and the rest. The ability to create custom grid files and work on toolbar sets *could* be handy for somebody. Perhaps for a pro requiring the cross-platform support it would be worth it to have all the flexibility of going back and forth between various formats and to pay $80, but i could come up with a dozen ways to make a simpler UI that didn't require all these grid files to get proper alignment. It would make more sense to have something similar to the simplicity of Apple's IconComposer, that would include dropping variants and output to formats other than .icns files, and have it integrated with Photoshop (or not). This to too much money for a bizarre UI. .
Like (5)
Version 8.5.1

Read 13 IconBuilder User Reviews

Rate this app:

mstsuji
01 January 2012
Still doesn't work with CS5.1/64 bits. Unacceptable.
Like (2)
Version 8.5.3
Tim27
06 December 2011
So, I'm not sure about all these icon creation utilities anymore. Apple has a free one in their free Xcode kit called Icon Composer. Seems to work pretty well, can make both icns and ico resources, and…free.
Like
Version 8.5.3
Macrophelia
20 November 2010
Worked great for CS4 but isn't recognized in CS5
Like (1)
Version 8.5.2
2 answer(s)
Cd-Miller
Cd-Miller
11 April 2011
Icon Builder 8.5.2 and CS5 work if you start Photoshop in "32 bit mode". Quit CS5, then in the Finder use "Get Info" on the CS5 program and check "open in 32 bit mode", and the iconbuilder plugin will now appear.
Like (1)
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
03 December 2011
8.5.3 still doesn't work in 64-bit Photoshop. Into the trash it goes.
Like (1)
Corpsecorps
16 November 2007
IconBuilder is very versatile and powerful, but as ever when i've tried it in the past, i find it's methodology of getting the job done overly complex, what with having to use grid files, and get them synchronized with settings in the filter window, and the rest. The ability to create custom grid files and work on toolbar sets *could* be handy for somebody. Perhaps for a pro requiring the cross-platform support it would be worth it to have all the flexibility of going back and forth between various formats and to pay $80, but i could come up with a dozen ways to make a simpler UI that didn't require all these grid files to get proper alignment. It would make more sense to have something similar to the simplicity of Apple's IconComposer, that would include dropping variants and output to formats other than .icns files, and have it integrated with Photoshop (or not). This to too much money for a bizarre UI. .
Like (5)
Version 8.5.1
Sheik-Yerbouty
05 May 2007
If you're looking for an application that does everything you wish for creating icons, then IconBuilder is the application you're looking for: it saves icons in all possible formats, comes with great documentation, GUI is nice to look at an user friendly, easy to implement in a workflow, stable, great website, good support, great community, etc. I been using it several years to make all my icons and couldn't live without it. As Luther mentioned, the first steps are not easy. You have to know the different icon formats to make the right icon. Beginners want to create quickly without reading a manual. So, if you only make icons once in a while and just for your self, then yes there are easier tools available and you should avoid IconBuilder at all costs. Those tools will mostly let you save your icons in 1 or 2 formats and avoid trouble by giving you only a few features. But! If you're serious about icons and you don't want to be limited then there is only one, IconBuilder, no other app does what IconBuilder can. Professional icon makers have NO choice, if they want to be called professional that is. The combination of Photoshop & IconBuilder has brought me to 'Icon Nirvana', and it's good living there. About the price: I'm split in 2 on this one. As a non professional icon maker I would like IconBuilder to be cheaper. $79 is too much for me and most people, free would be good :) But for the creation needs that I have, no single app can fulfill them, except IconBuilder. Unless I buy several apps that would complement each other, but that would be tedious to work with and make a it hard to implement in a work flow. Also, you must know that there businesses that depends on this little gem. From this point of view, IconBuilder is quite cheap. It all comes down on how frequently you make icons and which are your targets. If it's only 1 icon in a year and only for 1 platform, then there are much cheaper and easier tools that will do the job and give you a satisfactory result. As a professional, you have no choice, this is the one, the only one.
Like
Version 8.5
Mac-Adam
12 April 2007
Add bug bar ?!? If is because is pirated Serial, I Will search for other app, because 79$ for made icon is sod, isn't it ?
Like
Version 8.1
iPhone4S
24 May 2006
I had always downloaded Mac icons other people made to replace my hard disk icon. But now I purchased a MacBook, and the only MacBook icon I found was a little small, so I downloaded IconBuilder to try to make my own MacBook icon using Photoshop Elements. After spending over an hour reading the tutorial and attempting to create my own MacBook icon, I failed. Then I ran across Easy Bake Icon and IconDroplet, and with those freeware tools, I was able to create my own MacBook icon in a matter of minutes! IconBuilder may be right for others, but for me, the freeware tools were the way to go. It was so fun and easy, I might just make myself a few more icons.
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
Anonymous
08 August 2005
Excellent plug - thanks a bunch
Like
Version 8.0
Anonymous
06 August 2005
Scandalously overpriced! It's just not that difficult to create icons with Photoshop and a couple of cheap, or free utilities.
Like (1)
Version 8.0
3 answer(s)
Ifwebmaster
Ifwebmaster
08 August 2005
If you are creating "one-off" icons for just the Macintosh platform, there are indeed several good, free or inexpensive icon editors available out there. If however, you are creating more than a few icons for multiple operating systems, or need to quickly and easily create toolbar, or image format icons then IconBuilder might be right for you. Also, if you have never built icons before and have a client that requires an icon that works perfectly on Windows 2000 NT, and you're not sure what resources should go into the icon, IconBuilder would be just what you are looking for. No other icon construction software helps the user to determine what is and isn't necessary based on platform or particular OS. This is just one of the many, powerful features of the filter.
Like
Version 8.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 August 2005
(I'm not the same guy as first comment) but it's still pretty expensive for what it does compared to like say "Graphic Converter" I don't think it's right to give only 1 star for value 'cause it's a very well designed plug-in but I wouldn't pay that much either. But I guess the developers studied their target market and think they can get away with it so arguing about it is kinda pointless and I just wasted 5 minutes of my life right there :P
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
16 August 2005
I agree. $80 for shareware? Should be more like $29. there are only a handful of apps that should be labelled "shareware" and over $50...and this one is not. GraphicConverter is DEFINITELY a worthwhile shareware. But this plugin should not be HALF the price of a Photoshop CS 2 upgrade!
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
Anonymous
06 August 2005
"expected this update to fix the strange "black bar bug" in 128x128 icons. but OH NO it's still there! you're lucky if you can still get a version 4.0" That means your using a pirate serial, or have done in the pasted lol
Like
Version 8.0
Anonymous
18 March 2005
expected this update to fix the strange "black bar bug" in 128x128 icons. but OH NO it's still there! you're lucky if you can still get a version 4.0.
Like
Version 5.1
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 March 2005
Contact the Iconfactory technical support and they will send you instructions to fix the problems with the black bars.
Like
Version 5.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 March 2005
yeah, they'll tell you to buy a license instead of using a pirated serial number ;)
Like
Version 5.1
Anonymous
17 March 2005
It's not really worth the money when Apple's own Icon Composer application (part of the developer tools) does a better job (even when creating the sub-128x128 sizes) and in less time.
Like
Version 5.1
1 answer(s)
Ifwebmaster
Ifwebmaster
17 March 2005
Last time we looked, Icon Composer didn't save out Windows based .ico files. Nor did it tie in directly with the programs most icon artists use to create their icons - Photoshop and Fireworks. The ability to work on PS layers and then build desktop icons directly from them is something that registered users of IconBuilder have cherished since its release. In addition Icon Composer doesn't save out desktop icons (resource files) or open/drop states based folder icons typically used by hobbists. These are just *some* of the reasons why IconBuilder Pro is worth the price of admission.
Like
Version 5.1
Anonymous
07 May 2004
it seems there is a graphic bug while export from Photoshop CS : a tiny black line on icon : strange !!!
Like
Version 5.0
8 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 June 2004
i've experienced the same thing. why is this happening?
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
24 July 2004
i have the same problem
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 September 2004
Contact their technical support, they cleared the problem up for me
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 September 2004
Very helpful. Thanks!
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
13 November 2004
How exactly can this problem be solved???
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 November 2004
"it seems there is a graphic bug while export from Photoshop CS : a tiny black line on icon : strange !!! (5/7/2004, Version: 5.0)" That'll be because you're using a pirated serial number mate. Support the developer and buy a license!
Like
Version 5.0
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 March 2005
Switch back to Version 3.5 and the black line will be gone. That's why I never update my version higher than 3.5
Like
Version 5.1
Yar-Matey
Yar-Matey
13 April 2006
I read that the lines are present if the software has been serialed with a pirated number at some point. Nothing you can do except call tech support and pray for forgiveness.
Like
Version 8.0.1