Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to SwitchResX page
SwitchResX free download for Mac

SwitchResX Reviews

08 May 2021

Monitor-resolution utility.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
info-2883
info-2883
Jun 28 2021
4.11.1
0.0
Jun 28 2021
0.0
Version: 4.11.1
My Mac simply refuses to open it. :(
OhEssex
OhEssex
May 29 2021
4.11.1
0.0
May 29 2021
0.0
Version: 4.11.1
This app itself is OK, but when it comes to updates it's just awful - there is a Check For Updates button, but all it does is tell you an update is available. It doesn't offer any ability to self-update (like just about everything else) nor does it provide you with a link to get the update. I have to go to MacUpdate every time, find the app, go to their website, download it and manually install it again. I have mentioned it to the developer but he has no interest in improving this.
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
Mar 31 2021
4.11
3.0
Mar 31 2021
3.0
Version: 4.11
SwitchResX didn't really work for me. The extended resolutions worked perfectly but when I set the resolution higher than 1080 the cursor became VERY jumpy and sluggish, sometimes not responding until I moved it around the screen. At one point I plugged in a plg-n-play wireless mouse to test and see if it was my Magic Trackpad but it was present with the mouse as well. I reset the resolution to factory, restarted, and it seemed ok, at first, but the strange cursor behavior soon returned. I manually tracked down the pref panes and other parts (wasn't an uninstaller with the version I had, or I missed it), restarted my computer and everything was fine again. I really wanted SwitchResX to work but for me it didn't. Hate wasting money but maybe the developer will do more work on it and it may work for me in the future.
Rmilkmilkmilk
Rmilkmilkmilk
Jan 13 2021
4.10.1
5.0
Jan 13 2021
5.0
Version: 4.10.1
Lets me set resolution to what I want, not just what Monitors allows. Also, can save sets of resolutions for work, gaming, presentation/screen share. Only downside is that there isn't a wizard / simple interface for initial setup.
Luke-armstrong
Luke-armstrong
Sep 4 2020
4.10.1
5.0
Sep 4 2020
5.0
Version: 4.10.1
Absolutely superb app that facilitates so much more than the simplified dumbed-down options provided by Apple System Preferences. I had no idea, for example, that my late 2012 Mac Mini could support a 4k display—it now happily runs a 3840x2160 display (at 30Hz via MiniDP) and a 1920x1200 display (at 60Hz via HDMI). Every conceivable option is made available and it will also tame the troublesome MacBook Pro display when used in clamshell mode. I just wish I had discovered it earlier, it could have saved me many hours of frustrated testing and expensive upgrades. Very affordable too.
eikiemer
eikiemer
Jun 27 2020
4.10.0
5.0
Jun 27 2020
5.0
Version: 4.10.0
Been looking for software to disable my screens individually forf'inever! So glad I found this, works like a charm.
paulreuversnl
paulreuversnl
Mar 31 2020
4.9.1
5.0
Mar 31 2020
5.0
Version: 4.9.1
This app is a must-have for everyone who uses a Mac for KeyNote or PowerPoint presentations, as it fixes all problems that Apple has created with the introduction of Catalina. When connecting the Mac (or MacBook) to an HDMI projector, more often than not are the desired resolutions and refresh rates missing from Apple's Display preferences, caused by an incomplete interpretation of the projector's EDID information. SwitchResX fixes all that and allows you to select any possible screen mode that your device supports from a comprehensive (yet easy to use) user interface. As a bonus, the missing screen modes will appear in Apple's Display preferences like magic, as soon as you start SwitchResX. Many thanks for making this app available.
xchaoszox
xchaoszox
Feb 17 2020
4.9.1
1.0
Feb 17 2020
1.0
Version: 4.9.1
This isn’t safe at all I tried everything I went and followed every instruction on the page and I still can’t get rid of the goddamn black screen if I could leave less than a star I would don’t fall for this then they have the nerve to make you pay for it after the trial LOL that’s a joke if you were just gonna mess up people’s computers why even make a custom resolution
r-16
r-16
Nov 25 2019
4.9.1
5.0
Nov 25 2019
5.0
Version: 4.9.1
This software is absolutely great. I use it since over 7 years, and it allowed me even then to output from my old MacBook Full HD Frame Packed 3D images to a 3D beamer. It has incredibly many features. Moreover the developer, Stéphane Madrau, is extremely helpful and fast, if there is any problem. And if you ever bought a version, every update is free. As I said, I bought it over 7 years ago, and the update to the newest version that runs on the newest OSX versions, is still free! Unbelievable. So, I can recommend it completely, if you want to output via monitor settings a special format (like Full HD Frame Packing) that is not supported by default, but still possible by your hardware! Big thanks to Stéphane!
Michael Frankel
Michael Frankel
May 2 2019
4.8.2
0.0
May 2 2019
0.0
Version: 4.8.2
The Developer's website says 4.8.1 is the current version. Who posted this update on here?
Bioxy
Bioxy
Mar 26 2019
4.8.1
0.0
Mar 26 2019
0.0
Version: 4.8.1
Why does SwitchResX want to control Mail and Safari and access their documents? Mojave gave me the option of denying access, which I did. Very concerning such access was attempted or requested.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Sep 12 2018
4.7.2
5.0
Sep 12 2018
5.0
Version: 4.7.2
I use this great little software now for years and never was disappointed. I use it on an iMac and a MacBook Pro too and it works on the newest macOS and on older versions too. Easy to use, very fast and not expensive. And what is very important too: the support by the developer is very fast and helpful. A big thanks therefore...
mwbueno-1
mwbueno-1
Jul 11 2018
4.7.0
5.0
Jul 11 2018
5.0
Version: 4.7.0
I have tried many monitor resolution management apps and this app is the only app I have used that can give me a decent 5K (5120 X 2880) on my LG 43" monitor. which was built as a 4K monitor. In fact, it offers clear up to 7680 X 4320 @ 60Hz which does work but, it too small for this monitor. I am very happy and give it 5 stars.
jturko
jturko
Oct 17 2017
4.6.6
0.5
Oct 17 2017
0.5
Version: 4.6.6
This app is utter garbage. I was unable to correct the display for my external monitor, and now even after deleting the application my screens are overscanned and there I am unable to reverse this effect.
Wts
Wts
Aug 8 2017
4.6.6
5.0
Aug 8 2017
5.0
Version: 4.6.6
I have been using the current version is 4.6.6 for nearly two weeks. You certainly can rely on MacUpdate to keep us up to date. Never the less, i rate the app at plus 5. I use it to quickly change screen resolutions to match my different software needs especially when playing games that require full screen settings or only windowed screens.
Computerlarry
Computerlarry
Sep 12 2016
4.5.6
5.0
Sep 12 2016
5.0
Version: 4.5.6
I have a KVM switched monitor which I couldn't get the right resolution for in the Display preferences. I installed SwitchResX, and restarted, and the monitor attached to the KVM was recognized. I had a client who needed just one Application to be enlarged on the screen, and SwitchResX automatically switches settings whenever they start the app.
Aargl
Aargl
Oct 24 2015
4.5.1
0.0
Oct 24 2015
0.0
Version: 4.5.1
Latest version is 4.5.2.
carolusmagnus
carolusmagnus
Jun 26 2015
4.5.1
2.0
Jun 26 2015
2.0
Version: 4.5.1
i seem to be too dumb for the user interface. i want to create a custom resolution. however, i can't save or activate the new setting. why would you make this so complicated? just offer an "add/edit resolution" in the list of existing settings, and you're there. to only switch available resolutions, i can use the system settings (use option key to reveal hidden settings, btw). on a sidenote: a trial version is not "shareware". if you can test drive a car, it's also not becoming shareware. it's just a commercial product with a test period.
Kenbotwinick
Kenbotwinick
May 4 2015
4.5.0
0.0
May 4 2015
0.0
Version: 4.5.0
4.5 was released a year ago. http://www.madrau.com/srx_download/srx_download/history.php Why is it showing up in MacUpdate today? I've been seeing this a lot on many different apps. Weird.
Dedalus271
Dedalus271
Jul 15 2014
4.4.0
4.0
Jul 15 2014
4.0
Version: 4.4.0
Mavericks 10.9.4, MBProRetina and it works everything. Even with DisplayPad, a small app to use an iPad as second display.
Etherialgirl
Etherialgirl
Jul 13 2014
4.4.0
5.0
Jul 13 2014
5.0
Version: 4.4.0
I LOVE this app! I'm on a non-retina MacBook Pro 13 (late 2012 model), and I was constantly getting stressed over not enough screen real estate. Especially on web sites where I couldn't scroll to where I needed to go. Or even the AirMail app, where I couldn't make the right email viewing panel wide enough to see the whole width of an email. But now all this is fixed! Of course it isn't as crisp as the retina display MPBs, but it will work for now.! I also want to thank the developer, Stephane, for helping me get this working. He really went above and beyond — emailing back and forth many times — on a Saturday — until we could figure it out. The problem what that I didn't realize I needed to select "scaled" for my custom resolutions. The custom resolutions I now am using are: 1360x850 (+1/16th), 1440x900 (+1/8th) and 1600*1000 (+1/4). When I now look at the original resolution of 1280x800, I doubt I'll ever go back to that. I'm really happy with the 1440x900. HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS!
Duncan-Adams
Duncan-Adams
May 13 2014
4.4.0
0.5
May 13 2014
0.5
Version: 4.4.0
Be vary carful . Do research . It may work for some .. but for me it was a failure . Mac Book Pro I7 Processor Ram 8 gig . OSX Lion It will NOT UNINSTALL. Found this out after the fact and much research . Then used the notes I found from Stephane on a web search . On searching for SwithRes files and deleting them. Well that does not work either . When I used thunderbolt for external display . THe MBP display went to about 5 in by 5 in in size with default rez. I could read it but it made it ineffective to use with demo / projector .... Tried everything I could think of sent her an Email but did not wait to see if I get response . I have to get it fixed . Had to wipe the drive ... reload with Lion and I will migrated an old back up taken PRIOR to the poison that Switch Res X has put into the MBP . Needless to say I have killed several hours of my life with this . Thankfully it was a 10 day trial and I don't have the hassle of getting a refund ... thank you for that Stephane. If this works for other people great ... to me this was like a one night sand with a venereal disease . It just would not go away unless I purified the machine . Duncan
Hokusai
Hokusai
Jan 7 2014
4.3.6
5.0
Jan 7 2014
5.0
Version: 4.3.6
Excellent program, does what it does well. Running it under Mountain Lion (no Mavericks on my Macbook yet). Bought it to disable a display when it wasn't in use anymore and it does that perfectly.
MikeU9139
MikeU9139
Dec 9 2013
4.3.6
0.0
Dec 9 2013
0.0
Version: 4.3.6
!!! DO NOT BUY THIS APP !!! I tried to get this application to work on OSX MAVERICKS for a week and a half, until the Author writes me an e-mail telling me that IT DOESNT WORK ON MAVERICKS! I wasted two weeks trying to get this piece of garbage to work!! The guy who wrote it Stephane, still sells it to people knowing it DOESNT WORK ON MAVERICKS, I am threatening to take him to the better business bureau. !! DO NOT BUY THIS APP !! PIRATE IT TO SEE IF IT WORKS FIRST! DOES NOT WORK FOR MAVERICKS. To the Author, You suck!
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Nov 16 2013
4.3.6
5.0
Nov 16 2013
5.0
Version: 4.3.6
This is a very useful small program which helps me configuring and testing my monitors since many years. Ok, compared with some UI's on the market it is not up to date, but it works and it works very good. And the developer helps always to solve problems and adapts SRX to every new system without any update fee. Therefore I thank him very much...
Thoby
Thoby
Jul 6 2013
4.3.5
2.5
Jul 6 2013
2.5
Version: 4.3.5
Horribly confusing UI and buggy as well - no thanks
Tsehov
Tsehov
Feb 16 2013
4.3.4
5.0
Feb 16 2013
5.0
Version: 4.3.4
Excellent piece of software! I just purchased SwitchResX to manage my MBP's and external display's features. This software is better than I could imagine in my use.
Afcgbbob
Afcgbbob
Feb 14 2013
4.3.4
5.0
Feb 14 2013
5.0
Version: 4.3.4
OK, I took back all I said about Unsanity and any connection to SwitchResX but I found a few thing the author of SRX that you may not be aware of. Although you say you have nothing to do with APE, in fact APE has something to do with you. I was once again doing a search with EasyFind (An excellent search app that can just about can find files inside apps and invisible files. I found APE on any drive or partition that had a system on it. In doing the search I found that it had attached itself to some components onto SRX down to the framework level. Did you have any idea it was doing that? I found this on any of my system drives or partition. Ape was being put every where especially areas that required Adm password to do it. Now how can they get pass that with out it being illegal by Apple terms and use agreement. As I said it attached itself to SRX, Office, and Photoshop. Who gives Unsanity the right to attach themselves to application without ADM permissions? There are many privacy issues being broken here and everyone is looking the opposite way. Then there is the question of why do they bury their SW so deep into the hierarchy of your Mac. As I said, I found a great deal of pieces of APE over 10 folders deep! Now why would do that unless they do not want the files to be found. Again, an invasion of our privacy and I found this elsewhere on other system drives I only use in an emergency. APE is breaking every rule in the book and I am going to call apple again to let them know after uninstalling it reinstalled again and much more than I imagined. If they can do this with APE then what are they placing into your drive when you install one of their Haxies. They could be spying on you right now. If you do have APE on your drive, do a search with a GOOD searcher because SpotLight will not find everything. I have tried many search engines and EasyFind is the best one I have used. Then watch as you go into shock when you see where it placed itself. Mr Madrau do a search and you will see for yourself how it connected itself to your SW. Ape is like a terminal disease where if you think you have all the pieces gone, somewhere there is still one very small not being picked up and will use it to reconstruct APE. All I can say is Buyer Beware when you do buy any Unsanity software. If you have any run a search for your self and see where the parts are located. You may be in for a surprise.
Afcgbbob
Afcgbbob
Jan 29 2013
4.3.4
5.0
Jan 29 2013
5.0
Version: 4.3.4
Over all this a useful program but it does have some cravats. One is if you choose a wrong resolution the screen will go black and hitting the reset keys have no effect on it and to solve it I would have to open another partition and manually yank it from the pref pane folder. Going into safe mode would not help. The only other this and this one I despise is how it install software without asking or letting the user know about it. It totally by passes all administrator protocols and installs it. The program I speak of is APE. The only reason I use SR is because I have a PPC 2.7 dual processor G5 and I will not be updating any more. I know I have made a point about Haxies and how they can cause a meltdown of your operating system and I still live by that. For every program they make there is a stand alone program that can do the same thing without putting hooks into the system. I do not know of any company that installs programs that put hooks into the system folder and get by the privilege protocols. Unsanity is violating your Mac and Apple rules when they do that. I realize that there are many people out there who swear by their stuff and if you do, fine. However, do you want a company violating Mac protocols and installing software behind your back. To me that is highly illegal. This why I am saying it here and not to down SR. SR is a good program as long as the updates come out before any system updates. I a system update does come out, I strongly recommend you wait for the updates on any Haxie program you are using or the upgrade may crap out on you. I know that by personal experience. They do not follow Apple Code when they place the hooks into the system folder and that is why your system my not work right because it is not compatible with those hooks. Now I know that I will get negative points because I speak the truth as a Professional Reviewer but, those bottom feeders can take their head and put it where the sun don't shine. Some people cannot handle the truth. End of Line
Christel1987
Christel1987
Sep 24 2012
4.3.3
5.0
Sep 24 2012
5.0
Version: 4.3.3
Great for Retina users who wants the full monty regarding resolution. A bit expensive though.
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Aug 30 2012
4.3.2
5.0
Aug 30 2012
5.0
Version: 4.3.2
We've used SwitchResX for years in a vision research lab as it is the only software that provides precise timing control for CRT monitors that are still superior to LCDs for research (deterministic timing). But a recent update to a retinaMBP and SwitchResX has taken on a whole new life, I've bound ⌘⌥F1-F4 to switch between the different HiDPI and native resolutions, really great and works flawlessly. This is essential for un-optimised software like Lightroom if you want to work at true 1:1 pixels. Regular updates and a very communicative developer, highly recommended!
meme12
meme12
Jul 16 2012
4.3.1
5.0
Jul 16 2012
5.0
Version: 4.3.1
In the last week, I moved to a new mac running multiple displays, which i do not use all of 100% of the time. Gave the trial a go and soon purchased, very happy!! The ability to turn off a display via software is gold. Works great, THANKYOU! I also appreciate the great depth of monitor/config features available for if i ever need them.
seals
seals
Jul 3 2012
4.3.1
5.0
Jul 3 2012
5.0
Version: 4.3.1
great price, allows use of 2880x1800 MBPwR display :)
meme12
meme12
Jul 3 2012
4.3.1
5.0
Jul 3 2012
5.0
Version: 4.3.1
I've been waiting for this to go on promo for years!!! BUT!! Since then, i've used a little fridge magnet to achieve the same monitor control i was after.. and that doesn't cost 10 bucks. Does it still use that ape api? I can't think of a reason to get this finally after the fridge magnet trick :(
Cowicide
Cowicide
Jun 19 2012
4.3.1
0.0
Jun 19 2012
0.0
Version: 4.3.1
I was about to ask about this, but found my answer at this link: http://www.pcworld.com/article/257796/run_a_retina_macbook_pro_at_full_2880by1800_resolution_induce_eye_strain.html You CAN use SwitchResX to enable full 2880x1800 resolution on the Macbook Pro retina display. But, be sure and read the warning at the bottom of the article about backing up your computer first.
Afcgbbob
Afcgbbob
Oct 4 2011
4.2.6
5.0
Oct 4 2011
5.0
Version: 4.2.6
Up front I HATE HAXIES!. But, since I have a G5 and will no longer be doing major system upgrades, I figured it was safe to try one. The only thing I did not like was the installation of APE behind my back. This is one reason I do not like this company and so does Apple. This I got from people in higher levels at Apple. They just do not approve of software that is placed in the system folder and affects the functionality of the system folder. I just cannot understand why they are so inept at making stand alone sw. Anyhow I digress, SwitchResX is one of the few items they make that I have not found in any other program to do what it does and do it well. It gives you so many features to control your monitor that I have yet to find in any other sw. I have a LG N2051-W with an ATI Radeon X800 XP video card and after doing all the updates I am now able to run it at 1280 x 960 and a refresh rate of 75 HRZ. I can take it even higher but then the refresh rate would suffer. The reason I say this is because this monitor was not designed for this resolution and yet I am getting a perfect screen image and this first showed up in SWX first before showing in the Apple Monitor Preference. I still hate that it is a Haxie and cannot understand why it cannot be written as just a plain application. Why do you have to put your teeth into the system folder??? Apple does not approve of it and yet you just spit in their face and break the developer codes in making your haxies. Unless you are at a point with your Mac where you are no longer updating your system you need to be careful of using haxies. They can totally corrupt your system when a major system upgrade comes out and they had not updated their software. It had happened to me. A major system upgrade was trashed due to a haxie. All I can say is just be careful when you do a system upgrade if the haxie has not been upgraded for it. This comes from over 25 years of reviewing software on the Mac. End of Line... PS: If anyone is looking for a Professional Mac writer please contact me at gameboybobataol.com
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Jul 23 2011
4.2.4
0.0
Jul 23 2011
0.0
Version: 4.2.4
So someone please explain how this $19.00 (actually $24.95 when we try to register) is any better than Display Maestro ($4.99)?
Justmed
Justmed
Jul 14 2011
4.2.4
0.0
Jul 14 2011
0.0
Version: 4.2.4
The download link is for the older 4.2.3 version. I've also had a look on the developers site and the version shown there has also changed back to the older 4.2.3.
Mauromaitan
Mauromaitan
Mar 29 2011
4.2.3
0.0
Mar 29 2011
0.0
Version: 4.2.3
cannot download. The throughput form the website (through MacUpdate and directly), does not go over 205 bytes per second and download stops after a little while (my counter is saying it will take approx 13 hours to download). Access to all other websites and downloads works a charm. I am on a very fast connection. thanks
Thomas1977
Thomas1977
Mar 26 2011
4.2.2
4.0
Mar 26 2011
4.0
Version: 4.2.2
Is there a way to lock a resolution AND graphics mode for Macbooks?
ben-marko
ben-marko
Feb 11 2011
4.2.1
0.0
Feb 11 2011
0.0
Version: 4.2.1
Not sure what the utility is here. Resolution can be changed within System Preferences, and is it really worth $20 to save icon positions?
Andu
Andu
Jan 16 2011
4.2
5.0
Jan 16 2011
5.0
Version: 4.2
with this I could resolve an issue with an external Monitor at MacbookPro 17" (not unibody), that went black every now and then for about half a second: Setting up both monitor with exactly 60 Hz removed the problem. Thanks.
Dualie
Dualie
Oct 18 2010
4.1.8
4.0
Oct 18 2010
4.0
Version: 4.1.8
This seems to be the only solution out there for switching the menu bar to another display without manually dragging it in the Displays/Arrange preference pane. Kudos the S.Madrau for responding to my query about it. Though it doesn't (yet) toggle, there are options for both hot keys and a desktop contextual menu. Awesome.
Jlangman
Jlangman
Sep 6 2010
4.1.7
0.0
Sep 6 2010
0.0
Version: 4.1.7
Hi I downloaded the demo a while ago. I was hoping to get my old g5 to use the VGA input on my old pioneer 53" rear projection tv however I couldn't get it to work. Has anyone had any expeirence with this? Thanks. Jim
Jlangman
Jlangman
Sep 6 2010
4.1.7
0.0
Sep 6 2010
0.0
Version: 4.1.7
Hi I downloaded the demo a while ago. I was hoping to get my old g5 to use the VGA input on my old pioneer 53" rear projection tv however I couldn't get it to work. Has anyone had any expeirence with this? Thanks. Jim
Cortig
Cortig
Aug 12 2010
4.1.7
5.0
Aug 12 2010
5.0
Version: 4.1.7
I love this application. It works like a charm for me. I've had a few issues (crashes) witht eh previous version but the author was extremely responsive and the new version corrects all my problems (and more).
Ean
Ean
Aug 12 2010
4.1.7
4.0
Aug 12 2010
4.0
Version: 4.1.7
I use this to idiot-proof display resolution and configuration changes on a couple of workstations with very complicated video routing setups and it works like a champ. There are occasional oddities in the way active sets are displayed in the menu that come and go with different versions, but they've always only been cosmetic. Have never been able to get the desktop icon position features to work--probably because I wasn't willing to invest more than thirty seconds in figuring them out--but don't actually need them anyway. Being able to customize the menu, removing items I don't want users monkeying with is superb.
Xenophile
Xenophile
Mar 4 2009
3.8.6
0.0
Mar 4 2009
0.0
Version: 3.8.6
This might actually be useful if it could store "sets" containing both resolution settings and colorsync profiles. For now I'll just keep using Apple's menu item to switch resolutions. Nice try, though.
Veryvito
Veryvito
Mar 4 2009
3.8.6
0.0
Mar 4 2009
0.0
Version: 3.8.6
How does this offer anything different from the "Show displays in Menu bar" setting already in the Displays Preference panel?
Xenophile
Xenophile
Jan 5 2009
3.8.5
0.0
Jan 5 2009
0.0
Version: 3.8.5
APE is a system hack that is unsupported by Apple, meaning that it mucks with system-level internals in ways that Apple does condone, and more importantly, ways that Apple has not rigorously tested. To be fair, there is some controversy among geeks who know vastly more than I about OS X as to whether APE destabilizes OSX. So when you're up against a deadline, or you've labored for hours on a complex project since last backing it up, if it gives you a nice warm fuzzy feeling to contemplate a few OS X gurus arguing whether APE destabilizes your system or not, then go ahead and use APE. Me? I don't trust APE any further than I could throw a real ape.