Back to KoalaCalc page
KoalaCalc free download for Mac

KoalaCalc Reviews

4.5.3
26 September 2012

Free scientific calculator.

Roro01
06 November 2007

Most helpful

THE BEST CALCULATOR Thank you very much, developer, for this gift.
Like (3)
Version 4.3.1

Read 29 KoalaCalc User Reviews

Rate this app:

RoyPDX
06 May 2015
The currency converter doesn't include the Russian Ruble. I understand if they can't include every country, but Russia is probably more important than many that are included.
Like
Version 4.5.3
Richard-Ripley
07 March 2014
Seems the KoalaCalc site is back up and running! Yes!
Like (1)
Version 4.5.3
Farrow
22 December 2013
What has happened here? A great piece of software that was extremely useful, quick and easy to use, especially for currency conversions seems to have bitten the dust (my currency conversions no longer work!). As the last reviewer points out, the web site seems to have completely vanished off the planet. SHAME!
Like
Version 4.5.3
Herbert-Kroemer
20 December 2013
Nice, up to a point. But unfortunately, the "convert" feature of this calculator has a bad bug: I tried to do a calculation where a non-metric quantity first had to be converted to metric units, with some subsequent calculations to be performed on the metric values resulting from this conversion. The calculator contained the required conversion routine (electron volts to joules), but the final result after the subsequent calculation was obvious garbage, off by a huge factor. Trying to track down this bug, I found that all unit conversions, while showing on the display, are totally ignored in all subsequent operations; the program always uses the original pre-conversion values. This makes the program unusable for me. Yuck!
Like
Version 4.5.3
Richard-Ripley
08 December 2013
Has this app gone the way of all flesh? The link to the developer's site seems to be broken.
Like
Version 4.5.3
johnny-sizzlechest
29 January 2013
This is a nice little freeware calc, I especially like the fraction and expression calculators. But why was the window 'minimize' function removed from the program? It's a minor quibble, but frustrating nonetheless.
Like
Version 4.5.3
haridsv
31 August 2012
Why does a simple app needs to be a installer package and require my admin privileges to install? Why can't I just copy the .app to where ever I want? I would like to know what the installer actually does.
Like
Version 4.5.2
Drscott
07 July 2011
I downloaded KoalaCalc out of curiosity to see the fractions feature. It installed itself as root! All of my attempts to change its owner and group (via the Finder, Path Finder and the terminal) have failed since it immediately switches back to root, so I can't even move it to the trash. There is absolutely no reason why a calculator program should be installing itself this way.
Like
Version 4.4
4 answer(s)
Drscott
Drscott
10 July 2011
I finally managed to change the permissions (by changing theACL), and deleting KoalaCalc. I hope that the author corrects this.
Like (1)
MacropodSoftware
MacropodSoftware
11 July 2011
Sorry about that. There was a glitch in the version 4.5.1 installer. I have updated it so that it now installs with regular user permissions. I just happened to stumble upon this bug report here. In the future please report bugs to the tech support e-mail address on the Macropod Software website at www.macropodsoftware.com. Otherwise it might never get fixed.
Like (3)
Hal-Itosis
Hal-Itosis
11 July 2011
A "glitch" that creates an ACL huh? Must be another sign of 'the end of times'. ;)
Like (1)
MacropodSoftware
MacropodSoftware
11 July 2011
Not sure what is being implied here. I used XCode's Packagemaker app to create the installer as recommended by Apple and had the permissions of the installed files set to root as owner and the group admin. To delete the file, you simply drag to the trash and enter your admin credentials when prompted. As reported above, the installer settings have now been changed so that the files are installed using the user name as the owner.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
06 July 2011
I d/l the zip file here and got operation not permitted. I then went to the Developer's web site and got the same results.
Like (3)
Version 4.4
Espiridion
06 July 2011
It's great to see this gem updated. I used it regularly many years ago. I eventually replaced it with PCalc, but KoalaCalc was quite good and free (open to donations). Nice to see it's still being supported.
Like (2)
Version 4.4
Trashie
16 February 2011
Awesome! The fraction part is really well designed. That saves the hassle of paper. A graphic artist needs to make them a new icon though! Must be someone who will donate one that uses this.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.1
Roro01
06 November 2007
THE BEST CALCULATOR Thank you very much, developer, for this gift.
Like (3)
Version 4.3.1
Josh-G
27 December 2005
A Great Product. Fantastic for those who like Apple's own calculator but need that extra "Oomph". Highly Recommended.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.1
Anonymous
25 August 2005
Last I heard, 6+14÷5-3=5.8, but in Simple mode, KoalaCalc told me that 6+14÷5-3=1! Hmm!
Like
Version 4.3.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
KoalaCalc is a linear calculator so it deliberately ignores order of operations and brackets when they are not printed on the screen as this can lead to confusion. Thhat is, operations are processed in the order they are entered. For order of operation calculations and brackets, use the built-in expression calculator by clicking the "Expression" tab when the calculator is in advanced mode. The expression calculator was designed speciifically for the feature you requested. Macropod Software
Like (2)
Version 4.3.1
Anonymous
03 August 2005
It's nice again to have an update, but could you please tell us what's new in this version? Thank you ...
Like (1)
Version 4.3
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
The following changes were made to 4.3 (available on the included version history file): currency exchange rates are now served directly from Macropod Software to greatly improve availability of exchange rates memory buttons now visible in simple mode at startup if user selects this preference setting changed functionality of percent key: for example, to subtract 25% from 200, enter 200-25%= added units for constants in constants menu fixed bug where KoalaCalc could appear off screen when switching to a lower screen resolution fixed bug which printed the wrong symbol in the tape when the divide key was pressed button help information no longer inappropriately appears when pointer hovers overs memory storage banks after pressing M+, M- or MR keys
Like (1)
Version 4.3.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 August 2005
Thank you again. This is definitely today's best Calc with the best support. Insanely great.
Like (2)
Version 4.3.1
Anonymous
31 July 2005
Please don't distribute it as a StuffIt archive. With Tiger ommitting expander it's become a pain.
Like
Version 4.3
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
Tiger is by far the lowest Mac OS in population - and Stuffit Expander 9.0.2 is bug-free, easily obtainable, and FREE.
Like
Version 4.3.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
"Tiger is by far the lowest Mac OS in population" Horse manure! And just where do you get your figures to back up that preposterous statement? Every poll I have seen shows that Panther has been all but left behind.
Like (1)
Version 4.3.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
Both ZIP and SIT distributions are now available on the Macropod Software Web site at this location: http://www/macropodsoftware.com/download
Like
Version 4.3.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 August 2005
Apologies for the typo in the above URL. The correct link is www.macropodsoftware.com/download
Like
Version 4.3.1
Anonymous
18 July 2005
This free calc has mucho more functions than Apple's! Great ... Just one prob: I left it on my second monitor, but now I only have one monitor attached to my G4 so that I cannot see or grab the calc and tape windows anymore ... Can you help?
Like (1)
Version 4.2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 July 2005
maybe, find its .plist (preferences) file and delete it
Like (1)
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
14 April 2005
Well.. this doesnt do much that the Mac OS X system calculator doesnt do the same, or better. And the System calculator has more features too. But as this is free who can complain.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
01 March 2005
Eh, it's okay. Very powerful, yes, but it seems very sluggish on my 867mhz G4 PowerBook. High points for features and value, low points for ease of use.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
01 November 2004
Excellent App! Sleek, functional, comprehensive list of functions. The best calculator for OSX I've found. A little request though: Would it be possible to have the option of respecting operator priority in the calculation, so that typing: 10+2*3 would calculate: 10+(2*3)=16 rather than: (10+2)*3=36 at the moment? Thanks a lot anyway for this great product.
Like
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
17 September 2004
Expression calculator doesn't work. Quits when selecting a function from menu and typing a numeric value inside parenthesis.
Like
Version 4.2
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 September 2004
This problem is fixed in version 4.2.1.
Like
Version 4.2
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 September 2004
Yay: Expressions and functions work in v4.2.1, but there should be a "raise" item (^) in the functions menu because it is hard to find on different keyboards/languages. And: The expression sqrt((11^2)+(8.5^2)) works fine, for example, but if you add ^2 to this expression, an error occurs: failed assertion: minilinker.cpp line 607
Like
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
07 September 2004
Can no longer connect to the IMF server for currency conversion tables.
Like
Version 4.0.3
1 answer(s)
Macropod Software
Macropod Software
14 September 2004
This problem was introduced when the International Monetary Fund modified their online currency rates. The problem has been resolved in the current release (4.1).
Like
Version 4.1
Anonymous
10 August 2004
great
Like
Version 4.0.3
Doug Engelbart
23 June 2004
Yepp; it's quite ;-) perfect, but not completely perfect: We are missing a simple parenthesis function ["(" and ")"] which is very often used and important and on every "real" solar calculator. And: The windows' sizes AND positions AND font sizes should be saved on quit or in preferences. Pleeeeeeease, do it. And then (!) it's really perfect. =) Thanx for being better than Apple.
Like
Version 4.0.3
5 answer(s)
asmeurer-1
asmeurer-1
16 September 2004
That's what the expression pane is for.
Like
Version 4.1
Macropod Software
Macropod Software
17 September 2004
The tape window size and position are saved between launches in the latest version (4.2). Brackets are deliberately not supported in the main calculator (a linear calculator). Using order of operations and brackets when they are not printed on the screen can lead to confusion. Instead, use the built-in expression calculator by clicking the "Expression" tab when the calculator is in advanced mode.
Like
Version 4.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 September 2004
Yeah; thank you! =) Brackets work great in the Expression tab. We only need a simple little button that puts the expression result into the calculator display and into the Tape respectively. And: The Tape's contents should be saved on quit so that they are there again when you restart this brilliant calculator. And: Sometimes the Tape's size is *not* saved on quit in v4.2.1 (sometimes it works, sometimes not). Thanks again . . .
Like
Version 4.2.1
Macropod Software
Macropod Software
19 September 2004
If you click on the expression calculator's result, it will be transferred to the main calculator for further action (no need for an extra button). The result will subsequently appear on the tape when it used in a calculation, or you can force a manual print by pressing the equal key. Can you submit a bug report of the conditions in which the tape size isn't saved between application launches? I can't replicate this behavior. Thanks, Macropod Software
Like
Version 4.2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
25 September 2004
Doug Engelbart? Uh... no way... are you really THAT Doug Engelbart? o.O
Like
Version 4.2.1
Jasmin
14 December 2003
Yes! Yes! Now its window positions and tape size are saved on quit, so that it appears where you left it. Therefore it now is p e r f e c t . . . =) (... and fits Apple's GUI Guidelines.)
Like
Version 4.0.3
Anonymous
27 October 2003
The best of all. Its window positions and tape size should be saved on quit, so that it appears where you left it. Then it would be p e r f e c t . . . =)
Like
Version 4.0.2
Anonymous
26 September 2003
The best calc in MacOS X.
Like
Version 4.0.2
Anonymous
22 August 2003
Best calc, keep it freeware.
Like
Version 3.5
Anonymous
05 January 2003
I formerly used iCalc on OS 9 and liked it a lot, but when I couldn't find it for OSX, I found Koalacalc. I do a lot of calculating expressions, so it fills my needs quite well. I haven't used much of the rest, just some conversion and some probability.
Like
Version 3.1.1