Back to Audacity page
Audacity free download for Mac

Audacity Reviews3.0.0.0

18 March 2021

Audio recording, editing and mixing tool.

How would you rate Audacity?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
anilmushi
anilmushi
Dec 1 2020
2.4.2.0
5.0
Dec 1 2020
5.0
Version: 2.4.2.0
Great. My go to for quick audio editing and format conversion.
AnthoLogical
AnthoLogical
May 18 2020
2.4.0.0
5.0
May 18 2020
5.0
Version: 2.4.0.0
Wait before installing v2.4.0 !!! audacityteam.org: "We're currently looking into a serious bug with 2.4.0 and have paused release of it." But you can still download it from macupdate.com...
ertidshehu
ertidshehu
Mar 27 2020
2.3.3.0
0.0
Mar 27 2020
0.0
Version: 2.3.3.0
good
dwchandl
dwchandl
Mar 26 2020
2.3.3.0
5.0
Mar 26 2020
5.0
Version: 2.3.3.0
I have used Sound Studio for years, but rather than spend $40 to upgrade I decided to check out Audacity. It does everything Sound Studio does with a clean intuitive interface.
Penguirl
Penguirl
Jan 28 2020
2.3.3.0
0.0
Jan 28 2020
0.0
Version: 2.3.3.0
Haven't been able to DL for a couple days now, Cloud Flare error message. I hope it's not been abandoned.
bilancia051
bilancia051
Mar 31 2019
2.3.1.0
5.0
Mar 31 2019
5.0
Version: 2.3.1.0
Ho zbagliato instalarlo e lo rifaccio dinuovo
rajeckas
rajeckas
Mar 23 2019
2.3.1.0
4.0
Mar 23 2019
4.0
Version: 2.3.1.0
Love Audacity. With a paucity of sound editing/mixing apps I love Audacity for its comprehensive toolkit and ease of use. Unfortunately the latest version screws up the menu bar on any open audio file, I am running High Sierra OS.
Scion777
Scion777
Sep 20 2018
2.3.0.0
0.0
Sep 20 2018
0.0
Version: 2.3.0.0
There is no mention of any release 2.3.x on the Audacity home site. Is this a real release? MU should delist this until it is confirmed.
anonymous-antelope-2748
anonymous-antelope-2748
Jul 11 2018
2.2.2.0
5.0
Jul 11 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2.2.0
A great free audio recorder, editor.
www-purabume
www-purabume
Jul 10 2018
2.2.2.0
5.0
Jul 10 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2.2.0
nice
Atalantia
Atalantia
Mar 26 2018
2.2.2.0
4.0
Mar 26 2018
4.0
Version: 2.2.2.0
Ist schliesslich brauchbar geworden. Weiter so. Das Program wird langsam richtig gut.
Hilbo60
Hilbo60
Feb 22 2018
2.2.2.0
5.0
Feb 22 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2.2.0
Use it almost exclusively for changing tempo of my backing tracks, and as such, it performs superbly, being the quickest and fuss-free way of doing this I know!
stevenortonson
stevenortonson
Feb 12 2018
2.2.1.0
4.5
Feb 12 2018
4.5
Version: 2.2.1.0
I found it finally! Thanks. =) This one it great!
anonymous-squid-3114
anonymous-squid-3114
Feb 12 2018
2.2.1.0
4.0
Feb 12 2018
4.0
Version: 2.2.1.0
Very convenient
sektor1992
sektor1992
Feb 12 2018
2.2.1.0
5.0
Feb 12 2018
5.0
Version: 2.2.1.0
Simply one of the best audio editor ever.
NathanJ.
NathanJ.
Dec 5 2017
2.2.0.0
3.5
Dec 5 2017
3.5
Version: 2.2.0.0
Audacity had been working well though there is room for improvements, however, being free you can't really complain. While it provides you with the tools you need to edit, it does crash a lot and the latest updates are rather confusing!
starikovd108
starikovd108
Sep 4 2017
2.1.3.0
4.5
Sep 4 2017
4.5
Version: 2.1.3.0
Очень удобная программа!
Mcr
Mcr
Jun 6 2017
2.1.3.0
0.0
Jun 6 2017
0.0
Version: 2.1.3.0
Note that all versions of Audacity including current 2.1.3 (as of this writing) have only partial support for macOS Sierra 10.12.x. See notes on dev's site for details and partial workarounds: http://wiki.audacityteam.org/wiki/Partial_Support_for_Mac_Sierra_in_2.1.3
Atalantia
Atalantia
Oct 19 2016
2.1.2.0
4.0
Oct 19 2016
4.0
Version: 2.1.2.0
Ein Frickelprogramm, welches in den Tiefen nicht richtig funktioniert.
Liselotte
Liselotte
Jul 8 2016
2.1.2.0
2.0
Jul 8 2016
2.0
Version: 2.1.2.0
I understand this a free audio editor and cannot expect a useful audio editor that works smoothly and crash free. Sadly, I have yet to see a workable version. It is crash prone, has very slow GUI updates and look like it was made for Windows95. I recommend looking at Triumph. A bit complex to start with but the possibilities are awesome and only seen in very expensive tools. The layers in Triumph is truly amazing.
Staps Fanny
Staps Fanny
Feb 16 2016
2.1.2.0
5.0
Feb 16 2016
5.0
Version: 2.1.2.0
My fav - and free - audio editor.
Hkim
Hkim
Oct 10 2015
2.1.1
0.0
Oct 10 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Audacity 2.1.1 bombs under OSX 9.5, with no warning. It simply will not run, thus I'm reverting to the previous version that runs with no problem.
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Aug 16 2015
2.1.1
1.0
Aug 16 2015
1.0
Version: 2.1.1
2.1.1 is the first version that even opens on my Mavericks machine. Yay!
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
Jul 27 2015
2.1.1
0.0
Jul 27 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Needs an version check built-in!
Dom21
Dom21
Jul 26 2015
2.1.1
0.0
Jul 26 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Doesn't crash for me. OSX 10.6.8
Arvidtp
Arvidtp
Jul 26 2015
2.1.1
0.0
Jul 26 2015
0.0
Version: 2.1.1
Crashes on launch for me – OS X 10.9.5. version 2.1.0 works fine
Dmitry-Novikov
Dmitry-Novikov
Jul 23 2015
2.1.0.0
2.0
Jul 23 2015
2.0
Version: 2.1.0.0
crashes a lot, but at least find missing blocks in audio file after that
WisdomL0RD
WisdomL0RD
May 28 2015
2.1.0.0
1.5
May 28 2015
1.5
Version: 2.1.0.0
Bloated, slow, ugly GUI and crashes a lot. Even for free it is worthless. If you really need a good audio editor take a look at Triumph. It is by far the most powerful audio editor and uses the latest OS X features to keep it simple.
Niku1000
Niku1000
May 1 2015
2.1.0.0
1.0
May 1 2015
1.0
Version: 2.1.0.0
I'll have to keep looking. I've known of Audacity's reputation for many years, of course, but it always seemed to be much too difficult to use. However, none of the other programs I tried were satisfactory, so I thought I'd give it a try. IMPOSSIBLE! I'd never be able to learn how to use it, so Ill have to keep looking. I'm giving it on 1-star for ease of use.
Geekkkker
Geekkkker
Apr 7 2015
2.1.0.0
5.0
Apr 7 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.0.0
No.1 app for audio editors.
PedantMac
PedantMac
Mar 31 2015
2.1.0.0
5.0
Mar 31 2015
5.0
Version: 2.1.0.0
Velmi dobrý audio editor s dlouholetým vývojem a s cenou free mu asi bude těžko kdo konkurovat
Ian-Adkins-yqep
Ian-Adkins-yqep
Jan 31 2015
2.0.6
4.0
Jan 31 2015
4.0
Version: 2.0.6
All good for me!
michaelbalderstone612
michaelbalderstone612
Dec 18 2014
2.0.6
5.0
Dec 18 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0.6
One of the most productive audio editors which I used, what is especially important because of not wide range of quality audio tools for MAC. Thanks to developers for making this!
steve-11
steve-11
Sep 30 2014
2.0.6
1.0
Sep 30 2014
1.0
Version: 2.0.6
V2.0.6 will not launch on a Mac - complains that the identity of the manufacturer cannot be verified.
TR2
TR2
Jul 31 2014
2.0.5
5.0
Jul 31 2014
5.0
Version: 2.0.5
Excellent and very fast ! very useful ! Thank you !
Forn
Forn
Oct 22 2013
2.0.5
5.0
Oct 22 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.5
I keep my promise. Excellent and very fast work. Thank you!
Forn
Forn
Oct 15 2013
2.0.4
5.0
Oct 15 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.4
Crashes immediately when importing a larger file. Better rating when no crashes anymore.
oaksey
oaksey
Sep 20 2013
2.0.4
4.5
Sep 20 2013
4.5
Version: 2.0.4
This is one of the most useful free applications I know of. Provides everything I need for editing audio. (Although I can't speak for the Lion version that some people seem to be complaining about). I really don't understand the people who complain about the interface. I can only assume that either they haven't read the documentation, which - unlike most free software - is thorough and clear, or else they are obsessed with things looking "Mac-like" in which case I have to say - get over it! It's only "skin deep" you know! It's a tool not a decoration, and I know of nothing better for editing audio.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Sep 10 2013
2.0.4
0.0
Sep 10 2013
0.0
Version: 2.0.4
Latest version crashes immediately when opening a mp3 file. Using latest ML.
Kobalt
Kobalt
Aug 1 2013
2.0.3
5.0
Aug 1 2013
5.0
Version: 2.0.3
Based on RAZZ's review below, I downloaded this app and used it to extract a chapter from a spoken book. Damn, that was easy! I know nothing about working with sound files but even without reading the instructions (are there any? I didn't actually look), I had the job done in 30 seconds, no kidding. Five stars from me because I can't give six.
Razz
Razz
Jun 21 2013
2.0.3
4.0
Jun 21 2013
4.0
Version: 2.0.3
This program is fast to learn, easy to use and fun! I recommend it to the 90% of everyone who wants to edit audio. The other 10% are welcome to buy other packages for whatever reason they feel it necessary. Thank you Dominic!!!
RecordJunkieTN
RecordJunkieTN
Feb 16 2013
2.0.3
4.0
Feb 16 2013
4.0
Version: 2.0.3
I have always preferred Bias Peak Pro for a two track editor / DAW, but is no longer being developed. However, this program does a better job than many of it's counterparts that charge quite hefty sums. Thanks so much to the developers for bringing us this fantastically versatile piece of software, and please do keep up the good work!!
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
Jan 30 2013
2.0.3
1.0
Jan 30 2013
1.0
Version: 2.0.3
Unfortunately Audacity just jumps in the dock in both OS X 10.6.8 and OS X 10.7.4 on 3 different machines. This is have been the experience of more people than myself. Also I had to use sudo ditto to install as the permissions on the dmg seem faulty. I selected Ocenaudio instead, currently free in beta.
GeogProf
GeogProf
Jan 23 2013
2.0.3
0.0
Jan 23 2013
0.0
Version: 2.0.3
Been using it for years, but I must agree that the interface is absolutely horrible and I hate using it. Looking around for a better alternative.
Gitte79
Gitte79
Jan 22 2013
2.0.3
1.5
Jan 22 2013
1.5
Version: 2.0.3
A free audio editor so I can not complain. It kinda works but the userinterface is so ugly, unintuitive and windows-a-like I truly hate using it. Screen updating is terrible slow on my Macbook Retina i7 when zooming into a wav, plugin support is buggy and scrashes a lot with high end VST plugins. If you are serious about editing audio on Mac OSX I can highly recommend Triumph.
Derby
Derby
Dec 31 2012
2.0.2
0.0
Dec 31 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0.2
I downloaded Audacity today and found I needed FFmpeg (0.6.2 OSX 10.4+ DMG) from the Lame site. Downloaded it and was able to export my m4a file to the folder where I wanted it in the iTunes subfolder with other songs. It shows to be there and looks good in Finder (right next to the other songs that were converted into iTunes). It does not show in any of the actual itunes listings.
Timmyb
Timmyb
Mar 19 2012
2.0
0.0
Mar 19 2012
0.0
Version: 2.0
I didn't get the SO quarantine warning when launching this (version 2.0) for the first time. Weird. 10.6.8
Derision
Derision
Mar 16 2012
2.0
4.5
Mar 16 2012
4.5
Version: 2.0
I love Audacity. I've been using this application for years, all the way back into OS9, and it has become sort of my Swiss Army knife of audio editing. Sometimes, okay, it's a little flaky. Sometimes it might crash, though such crashes are exceedingly rare in my experience. And there may be commercial programs that do the same kind of thing better, though for some amount of money. But, c'mon... it's free! And it's still actively supported! Aaaand it's cross-platform! When my Windows using friends ask what a good audio editor is, I can point them towards Audacity, and can be fairly certain that they're getting the same experience that I do. So far, nobody has accused me of steering them wrong. Either way... very useful, well made app, and well worth the download. D
Spike Jones
Spike Jones
Mar 15 2012
2.0
4.0
Mar 15 2012
4.0
Version: 2.0
I had some high hopes v2 would have a decent up-to-date GUI. But no, the devs keep grabbing back into time for the most outdated audio editor on the market. And the biggest bug is not fixed: crashes at random when using VST plugins. But hey, it is free and it works fine for simple tasks. I can highly recommend Wave Editor. It is not free but imo the best audio editor for OS X.
Mikofox
Mikofox
Mar 15 2012
2.0
5.0
Mar 15 2012
5.0
Version: 2.0
Have been an Amadeus user/fan for a long time, but Audacity has many similar features and is free. Have used it a few times to remove dead space from lectures/audio books for shortening and it works quite well.