Back to WeatherPop page
WeatherPop free download for Mac

WeatherPop Reviews

2.6.1
27 March 2007

View current weather conditions in the menubar.

Cmdawson
01 July 2008

Most helpful

I'm thinking development is stopped? The developer site no longer exists, and Glu.com appears to be a mobile phone game developer now :(. Oh well time for a free alternative anyway.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1

Read 73 WeatherPop User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bimi-Bolabo
17 July 2008
Yup, WeatherPop is a dead issue. A great alternative is METEOrologist, and it's free. Get it here: http://heat-meteo.sourceforge.net/
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1
Cmdawson
01 July 2008
I'm thinking development is stopped? The developer site no longer exists, and Glu.com appears to be a mobile phone game developer now :(. Oh well time for a free alternative anyway.
Like (2)
Version 2.6.1
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
01 July 2008
Yep, looks like WeatherPop is toast. You might like WeatherDock, freeware.
Like
Version 2.6.1
Cowicide
Cowicide
17 November 2011
the greedy idiots at weather.com killed WeatherDock, I guess now it's time to use Meteorologist http://sourceforge.net/projects/heat-meteo/files/latest/download?_test=goal
Like
Camino1
12 June 2008
Since I have installed Leopard, WeatherPop has been useless.
Like
Version 2.6.1
Seishizero
23 March 2008
I cannot add my city (Seattle, WA). In fact, I can't add any city at all (New York, NY; Los Angeles, CA; Chicago, IL). I am using Leopard (10.5.2) on an iMac G5.
Like (1)
Version 2.6.1
Bilbar
04 March 2008
I haven't been able to get this working under Leopard.
Like
Version 2.6.1
Lorem-Ipsum
27 September 2006
i put every combination of new york, ny possible, spellings, zips, you name it and it never found it.
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Benagarr
Benagarr
11 October 2006
Hi, This problem is fixed in WeatherPop 2.5.1. Check it out!
Like
Version 2.5.1
Kp-gores
19 August 2006
Meteorologist rocks!Including european cities.
Like
Version 2.4
Hallowspirit
26 January 2006
There maybe be a weather widget in tiger, but i have yet seen it show an accurate temperature. Weather pop allows you to choose from diffrent weather sources.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
20 November 2005
Very useful. Provides a complete overview. Intuitive use of options.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
13 September 2005
If you're too lazy to get Tiger, this is great. However, since dashboard has a widget that will give you a 7 day forecast and the current conditions, this program is fairly useless on Tiger.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Joseph-mckenna1
12 September 2005
WeatherPop includes European Cities Meteoroligist does not So I think Weather Pop is far superior Joseph McKenna Glasgow Scotland
Like
Version 2.2
1 answer(s)
Dejavue
Dejavue
05 February 2006
I am using Meteorologist 1.4.4 for one year. I live in Europe (Balkan peninsula) and I use "Meteo..." for cities in my country (Serbia and Montenegro). So, it DOES WORK for even unknown Europena cities! Thank you. PROF. DEJA VUE
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
17 August 2005
Meteorologist is much better and its free and more stable
Like
Version 2.1
RonL
10 August 2005
I've been using WeatherPop for around 2 years with virtually never a glitch, but now in the recent version it won't allow me to create a new location nor a different weather source... even from within its own list. What gives? OS X 10.3.9 + WP 2.1
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
17 September 2005
Ive got the same problem, its really annoying because tre sources it has now do not allow me to acces the cities i want while mine will...anyone found anything to fix this?
Like
Version 2.2.1
Susan-Rennie
07 August 2005
This is a nifty little app. I just tried out Meterologist since it has a higher rating, but I find WeatherPop to be much superior to Meterologist - which would not add to the list of cities Santa Monica, CA or Venice, CA or Neskowin, OR, which WeatherPop was able to do. WeatherPop also accesses several weather servers unlike the one server used by Meterologist.Also, the weather info is available easily in a very handy interface without additional mouse clicks.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
14 July 2005
Why have this when there is a wonderful application that is accurate and totally cool called Meteorologist (version 1.4.3).And it´s free as well!
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
14 July 2005
2.1 works fine under Mac OS X 10.4.2, so far. BTW, I've got tokyo and Cabo San Lucas (MX) on my list so it's NOT limited to U,S, cities.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
14 July 2005
Only allows US cities. What a piece of crap. PS - Yes, I don't live in the US.
Like
Version 2.1
Ilgaz Ocal
25 June 2005
www.glu.com has changed to www.glulabs.com Not big deal, if one could tell how to alert macupdate about it.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Camino1
20 June 2005
I lost my key code and have been trying for 2 weeks to contact so I can retrieve because I cannot reopen WeatherPop.
Like
Version 2.0.6
3 answer(s)
raazan@mac.com
raazan@mac.com
21 June 2005
Also lost mine... please help raazan@mac.com
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
30 June 2005
http://store.esellerate.net/support Give it your information and it will send you an e-mail with your serial number.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 July 2005
Thanks, Anonymous. It worked.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
18 June 2005
WeatherPop 2.0.8 crashes immediately on 10.2.8. Since 2.0.1 stopped getting updates for my town, I'm now SOL unless this is fixed.
Like
Version 2.0.6
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
18 June 2005
(Sorry, that should have said "2.0.6".)
Like
Version 2.0.6
10 June 2005
glu mobile recently bought glu.com from Glucose Development Corporation, the developers of WeatherPop. They should have a new URL available in the future. In the meantime, you can email Benjamin Garrett (benagarr@yahoo.com) with requests on WeatherPop's status. glu mobile support
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
09 June 2005
www.glu.com now belongs to a new media company...
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
10 May 2005
Still no readings for Amsterdam, The Netherlands though it worked fine in Panther. Worthless as it is now!
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
26 April 2005
Totally useless software now due to Tiger's Weather-Widget =) buuuaahahahahahaha!!!!! it WAS nice while it lastet though =)
Like
Version 2.0.6
5 answer(s)
truthhurts
truthhurts
26 April 2005
However, Tiger's widget has to be summoned along with Dashboard. WeatherPop is still on the menubar at all times and readily visible.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
26 April 2005
I agree with the previous reply. Dashboard requires a keypress. WeatherPop is always visible.
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 May 2005
Not only that, but the current weather-widget is not nearly as functional. With a single click, Weatherpop also gives you other data like wind and dewpoint (if you use it to track conditions for getting outside...e.g. for a bicycle ride, you know how useful this is). Also, it is configurable to take you to the weather website of your choice when you click on it: the current widget takes you to oan extremely lousy weather site. Finally, it shows you the weather in multiple locations. The weather widgets are going to have to get a lot better before Weatherpop is dead. You would think the glu folks would be hard at work on one, no?
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
27 May 2005
Apple weather widget is not working at all : for instance at the moment it is 9° in Paris and 27° wither Weatherpop and I can assure you that summer is already here (in advance) !
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 June 2005
I sure wouldn't call it totally useless! Find humidity, wind, baramoter, visibility, sunrise & sunset or dewpoint on the Widget! I use them both but would Keep WeatherPop if I had to choose only one!
Like
Version 2.0.6
Apoc-metal
19 March 2005
Great software that I've been using for prolly more than a year without problems, although I see other users have discovered it only supports U.S. cities, which is a pity... Otherwise works great! And it also works as a great net status indicator... when my internet connection is down, I see no weather! Haven't paid for it, since I don't really use it that heavily and can't bring myself to spend cash on a little temperature gage... but I may pay eventually.
Like
Version 2.0.5
Anonymous
07 March 2005
Anyone have the problem with the weather reporting Mon, Tue, Wed, Wed? Works great otherwise (ver 2.0.4).
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
05 March 2005
As some people here discovered, the free version only allows for U.S. cities. (you have to buy it to get access to other cities worldwide) If you can live with that, good. If not, try Meteorologist, a darned good alternative to this.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
05 March 2005
to developers.... you can make this utilitie works with "foreigns" cities? example: Pucon, Chile will be GREAT!
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
05 March 2005
Why oh Why don't these people just say when its b***dy America only FFS I type in London, everything but where London actually exists comes up, stick it up your jacksee.
Like
Version 2.0.4
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 March 2005
It's NOT America only. There are many foreign users. Maybe you don't know how to enter your country so it won;t assume you're looking in the US?!?!
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
Anonymous
07 March 2005
British politeness strikes again.
Like
Version 2.0.4
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
07 March 2005
Do not give him hints, we (weatherpop users) don't want to read that crap in support group :)
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
04 March 2005
Well dones app. Thank you for the Free Version. We appreciate it. tbj
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
04 March 2005
I love Weatherpop, it does what it needs to do. I do wish I could change the font color to match my GUI Themes I use (via ShapeShifter) but that's all i can add...Thanks!
Like
Version 2.0.4
Anonymous
03 March 2005
The one thing that keeps me from using any of the myriad other apps out there that are more full-featured is the icon set that WeatherPop uses. I just find the icons more elegant and easier to read than the others. There's also something nice about grayscale icons that looks better. I have WeatherDock on my computer and think it's wonderful, but for everyday use, WeatherPop is still my choice.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
02 March 2005
Try "Meteorologist". Its free, easily customised, and stable.
Like
Version 2.0.3
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
02 March 2005
Your post is NOT a review, it is a COMMENT. You should not have used any star-ratings, not one word of your post had anything to do with a review.
Like
Version 2.0.3
Anonymous
01 March 2005
didn't work with me> I lowered my "favourite cities" to 3 but all I got was the little thermometer in the menu bar with an "X" beside it. When clicking on it, the first choice: "Please choose a US city or upgrade" appeared greyed out. Trying to access the preferences greyed out the rest of the choices. Nice work. Not as advertised.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
01 March 2005
Meteorologist is free and does basically the same thing as the advance version of this application. I'm not so hot on the phallic icon this app has. The pluses are the available sources, but meteo/rologist seems to be 100% better in value and of as good quality,
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 March 2005
Although overall I like Meteorologist better, it's current method of operation (HMTL data extraction) makes it very undependable and subject to the whim of a single source (weather.com). Just the past few days have seen a great amount of user feedback stating the inoperability of Meteorologist (including me). Of course this will change in the future but as of now it is a lot more unstable than even WeatherPop's limited freeware state.
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
01 March 2005
I hate to say this, but I use the free WeatherDock app now---even though I paid for the full version of WeatherPop when it first came out!
Like
Version 2.0.2
1 answer(s)
Brian Kendig
Brian Kendig
01 March 2005
Why?
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
01 March 2005
Does this do Canadian Cities?
Like
Version 2.0.2
Anonymous
20 January 2005
I have found that "Weatherdock" does what this is supposed to do without the problems. "Weatherdock" is free and available here on MacUpdate.
Like
Version 2.0.1
John Dodson
17 January 2005
I like having weatherpop on my computer except that sometimes it is just plain off. Today, which is a Monday it is giving me readings for Friday and Saturday. And I wish it offered more. Like reports from the sea where I live or specific meansurements of rainfall in a given area.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
20 November 2004
Wonderful idea, horrible execution. As mentioned previously, the preference files must manually be removed periodically. This is especially true if there is no response from the selected source server: while awaiting data from the server, the "Preferences" option is dimmed, so one is unable to change the source, resulting in an infinite loop. This is unacceptable for Macintosh software. If this issue is corrected, WeatherPop would be a terrific piece of software. This is a very unfortunate oversight.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
19 November 2004
As a registered user of Weatherpop Advance I can only mention how disappointed I am. It appears to fail at every log out or restart. If you don't mind deleting the preference file every day or more than you should love it. Support? None, not even a auto reply telling you that they don't support paying customers...
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
20 July 2004
no Oporto, nor Lisbon???
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
23 June 2004
No Melbourne in Australia? I can't seem to get this to display the weather in Melbourne. The documentation is insufficient as well.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
12 May 2004
Proxy support! Wherever you open a socket to (say) www.weather.com port 80 and send: GET /path/to/file HTTP/1.0 Headers: stuff Instead, check for a proxy (or let us set it) and use that. Say my proxy is "firewall.example.com" on port 8080, then connect to that and send: GET http://www.weather.com:80/path/to/file HTTP/1.0 Headers: stuff And Bob's Your Uncle, you're magically transported to the right place! Alternatively, if there's an HTTPS proxy set, things are more complex: CONNECT www.weather.com:80 HTTP/1.0 User-Agent: weatherpop and stuff Then you wait for a "200" response, and go on with the regular HTTP conversation: GET /path/to/file HTTP/1.0 Headers: stuff
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
05 May 2004
Anonymous seems to be unaware of how to use this nice little program. I live in Berlin and get as much information on local weather (and on other European cities) as I did in Chicago. Learn to use the program before badmouthing it.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 April 2004
I only used this for a bit and while it was cool, had some serious issues with it. The biggest being, how do you quit? There's no quit command in the menu, there's nothing about it in the force quit window, I had to reboot and be really glad that I had booted it from the DMG and not from thehard drive.
Like
Version 2.0
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
12 May 2004
Command-click & drag it out of the menu bar, it will poof, never to be seen again. This works with most menu extras by the way.
Like
Version 2.0.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 June 2005
I am in 10.4 (tiger) and the command click does not work to get ride of the program. Is there another key combination to remove it from the bar other than restarting
Like
Version 2.0.6
Anonymous
29 April 2004
Useless, unless you live in USA.
Like
Version 2.0
Bob_weiner
28 April 2004
Easy to use, and convenient. Works for me -- great job, developer! Endorsed by pcweenies.com
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
28 April 2004
Great update. I really like the new, updated icons in the menubar. Nice!
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
24 February 2004
Any idea why this simple little app requires over 15 MB of ram??? Seems quite excessive.
Like
Version 1.8.6