Back to BGBlitz X page
BGBlitz X free download for Mac

BGBlitz X Reviews

2.8.4
11 January 2016

Ultimate backgammon game.

Flash1296
19 April 2008

Most helpful

I love BG Blitz. There is simply nothing near its level for Macs. "Absolute Backgammon" is just for casual players. THIS is for those who wish to IMPROVE their game, taking it to a new level. I have played in tournaments across the USA between 1985 and 2006. I know of what i speak, and I have the trophies to prove it.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.2

Read 20 BGBlitz X User Reviews

Rate this app:

iGaucho
01 August 2019
I've used BGBlitz on Windows and it's fantastic. However, it immediately crashes on launch on Mojave. I've got the latest Java installed too.
Like
Version 2.8.4
1 answer(s)
iGaucho
iGaucho
12 August 2019
This turned out to be a problem on my side.
Like
Simonm
01 March 2013
BGBlitz was the king of backgammon games on the Mac, but sadly I no longer play it because I simply refuse to install Java. I hope it gets rewritten but it's starting to look suspiciously like abandon-ware. A shame.
Like
Version 2.7.3
2 answer(s)
frank-5
frank-5
20 November 2013
Hi Simon, thanks for your accolade. Why do you refuse to install Java? I assume for security reasons? If yes, this is not an issue because Java is disabled in the browser, so no security risk is involved. Depending on your OS different Java versions will be offered. Please use this version: http://support.apple.com/kb/DL1572?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US You may contact me by email if you have further questions. Finally: yes i was much slower with development in the last years than I wanted, but I hope to publish a new releases in the next 2-3 month and I still have fun doing BGBlitz, so concerns that BGBlitz will be abandoned are not necessary.
Like
frank-5
frank-5
10 January 2016
Hi Simon,
From BGBlitz version 2.8.2 you can install BGBlitz on Mac OSX 10.8+ without installing Java. And no, you don't have to suspect that I abandon BGBlitz. Its just to much fun for me...
Like
ZenMaster-Flash
11 August 2012
Absolutely awesome application. Amazing feature set. Bargain priced for what it is.
Like
Version 2.7.3
bygeorge
27 December 2011
Poor interface/Menus. Not even minimal effort to adhere to Mac look and feel guidelines. Lazy. Numerous short cuts don't work. Poor dice randomization. Favors the computer player. Makes for frustrating play. Wonder what else doesn't is broken.
Like
Version 2.7.3
1 answer(s)
frank-5
frank-5
22 September 2012
It would have been nice and helpful if you would have told me what particular things are so rude violations of the Mac l&F or don't work that lead to your harsh judgement. There surely are some quirks. Even applications from Apple have been violating their L&F sometimes. Your note to the dice randomization is enlightening. With a little work you can *prove* the dice are fair (see www.bgblitz.com/cheat.html ). Naturally it is much easier to complain than to check or be constructive... Oh... and by the way one of the managers of the Appstore (and BGBlitz user) has asked me why I'm not in the appstore (BGBlitz is written in Java so currently no way)... so that makes me think BGBlitz adheres at least to some L&F rules. In fact I can't remember a complain in the last 5 years and usually I fix such things pretty fast. ciao Frank
Like (1)
Holypoly
21 May 2011
Version 2.7.2 is online. when TachiAI III was used, the level of play was always Expert, independent of the selected playing strength. What a pain for casual players this must have been. Sorry! under heavy load the wrong dice could be displayed. Fortunately this was rare. a memory leak was plugged some erroneous Tutor hints were removed a deadlock could happen pressing ^G if ^F was already pressed and some small improvements at the first roll, one dice is shown on the left and one on the right side of the board BGBmips support for 3, 6 and 12 CPUs improved visibility of numbers on white checkers better detection of usable screen area on Linux drag & drop support for position database files
Like
Version 2.7.0
Espiridion
05 October 2010
It's nice to see an update and some new themes. I've tried other backgammon games on the Mac and find BGBlitz to be both challenging and educational. I can't say the same thing about the other games, since I was constantly winning when I played those and did not learn a thing. BGBlitz offers some very good tips during play. Although I use the free version, eventually I will purchase the Player or the Professional version. Purchases include all minor updates and one major upgrade. This is a generous policy, unlike the 6 months I got when I purchased David's Backgammon. That was a big mistake. Although I've never contacted the author, I've enjoyed reading his comments. Other backgammon developers are not as civil. Highly recommended.
Like (2)
Version 2.7.0
Flash1296
19 April 2008
I love BG Blitz. There is simply nothing near its level for Macs. "Absolute Backgammon" is just for casual players. THIS is for those who wish to IMPROVE their game, taking it to a new level. I have played in tournaments across the USA between 1985 and 2006. I know of what i speak, and I have the trophies to prove it.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.2
Corpsecorps
10 March 2007
_ Nothing else to say, except "Absolute Backgammon". .
Like
Version 2.2.1
3 answer(s)
frank-5
frank-5
11 March 2007
It would be nice if you would argue somehow, what do you like at Absolute BG. Then I could answer to you. By the way: I regard playing strength as important. If you believe it's comparable or even better than BGBlitz, what about about some money games. My only requirement is that I want to be sure to play against Absolut BG. I want to be fair: I strongly recommend you to ask someone that knows about BG. If he knows both programms he will warn you.
Like
Version 2.2.1
frank-5
frank-5
11 March 2007
One addition: I just checked your posting about Abs. If you really want to improve your playing skill in BG, you should closely look at BGBlitz. If you have problems with whatever I can help you, but if you want to play better than so so there are only two programs on the Mac available. Abs BG is not one of this.
Like (1)
Version 2.2.1
Holypoly
Holypoly
16 March 2008
And the rest be silence ;)
Like
Version 2.5.1
Pimentos
29 December 2005
Simply the best backgammon game presently available for mac user's. Nothing else to say.
Like
Version 1.9.5
Anonymous
19 September 2005
What a bunch of ungrateful dorks! This game rocks! What a concept...a Mac game, with no blood, and you actually have to think. Yea, it kicks my @ss if I play stupid. That's with it set to intermediate skill. I thank those coders who work endless, thankless, payless hours, to create for Macs. In case you haven't noticed...elegant & innovative Mac software has steadily faded away over the years (think Adobe and StuffIt just recently). Blame King Jobs. Many great wares started on Apple, now they don't remember us any more. Soon you'll have just Solitaire, Mines... Thank you Frank, MacAddicts DO appreciate your efforts!
Like (1)
Version 1.9.5
frank-5
26 June 2005
Have you used the BGBlitz_Tiger starter? Or the BGBLitz_Panther starter? The later is in fact unplayable slow, thanks to the new Java release in 10.4. The BGBlitz_Tiger has no problems, at least till now it had worked for all people that tried it. If you have problems with BGBlitz_tiger please email me. ciao Frank
Like
Version 1.9.4
Anonymous
26 June 2005
trying this out on 10.4.1, PB G4, 2gb RAM. The graphics are extremely, unplayably slow, on 'fast checker' when you click on a piece to move it. I tried to tweak the other settings (dynamic, etc) but it was all extremely sluggish. Anyone else have this problem?
Like
Version 1.9.4
1 answer(s)
frank-5
frank-5
26 June 2005
Have you used the BGBlitz_Tiger starter? Or the BGBLitz_Panther starter? The later is in fact unplayable slow, thanks to the new Java release in 10.4. The BGBlitz_Tiger has no problems, at least till now it had worked for all people that tried it. If you have problems with BGBlitz_tiger please email me. ciao Frank
Like
Version 1.9.4
Anonymous
09 September 2004
AARGH! Clicking the download link causes the file to download as code to the browser window. (in Camino, at least) Fileserver filetype needs to be fixed! Camino 8.1 never recovered, even after the file was finished. -- Great game BTW ---
Like
Version 1.9
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 March 2005
I fixed the file type. Thanks for the hint.
Like
Version 1.9
frank-5
13 February 2004
Developer Author: Frank Berger frank@bgblitz.com Could you please send me the games log file (log.txt) or the game if you saved the game? You're the first complaining this error. Did this happen more than once or is it even reproducable? Please contact me so I can try to find out what was happening. If this a frequent error BGBlitz wouldn't have achieved the title of a World Champion recently.... (2/13/2004, Version: 1.7.1)
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
18 January 2004
Playing v.1.6 with three men left for black and two for white (ThaiAI), black rolls double 4's and removes all men, game continues and white (computer) rolls double 5's and wins games. Odd and unacceptable.
Like
Version 1.7.1
2 answer(s)
frank-5
frank-5
13 February 2004
Could you please send me the games log file (log.txt) or the game if you saved the game? You're the first complaining this error. Did this happen more than once or is it even reproducable? Please contact me so I can try to find out what was happening. If this a frequent error BGBlitz wouldn't have achieved the title of a World Champion recently....
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 March 2005
Finally I could reproduce the problem. Has been fixed with 1.8 and 1.9 Thanks for that hint
Like
Version 1.9
Anonymous
05 December 2003
I love BGBlitz. I don't think it cheats. In fact, it's interesting. I REGULARLY feel like Jellyfish is cheating, and have literally hundreds of instances where I would "undo" a joker and have it reroll only to have it reroll a joker the next 10 to 12 times. For example, need a 2 to hit and come in against a 5 pt. board. JF has regularly rolled it 10 times in a row and up. I never get this with BGBlitz. JF absolutely slaughters me, which is interesting, because I seem to play roughly equal with Snowie and BGBlitz! So something "fishy" is going on.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
13 June 2003
The best backgammon software for Mac. Period.
Like
Version 1.5
frank-5
30 April 2003
Since version 1.3 the graphics are lightyears better. (game author)
Like
Version 1.4
frank-5
25 November 2002
I (as author) agree with the reviewer that the usability and Graphics can be improved (and this will be a central point in the next few month). I don't agree with the assumption that Bgblitz cheats. The Random number generator is deterministic. Just enter at "Game/seed" a value and the same sequence of dice will come ever and ever again, totally independent from the position on the board. You may contact me for a method to prove that. BGBlitz like the other 3 top backgammon programms (JF, Snowie, GNU) just plays far better than most humans. They simply don't need to cheat. I hope I convinced you and you enjoy BGBlitz.
Like
Version 1.2.0
Anonymous
25 November 2002
Funny game this... as long as you don't dare to double against the machine. From that point on "it" throws doubles like you have never seen it, and miraculously wins every game. Not urse if this is due to the fact I was just in trial mode, but it certainly doesn't make me feel like paying shareware fee. Too bad.
Like
Version 1.2.0