Back to QuickTime Player page
QuickTime Player free download for Mac

QuickTime Player Reviews

7.6.6
04 August 2011

For Mac OS X 10.6.3 Snow Leopard users only.

Chas-m
11 May 2010

Most helpful

Younkint: In point of fact, there are more Intel Macs in service now than PPC machines by a wide margin. Many millions more, in fact. From 2001 to mid-2006, Apple sold about 18 million PPC Macs total (none of the figures I'm using include iPods or iPhones of any type -- just Macintosh computers). Let's assume, for the sake of argument, that EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM is still running. I'm being *incredibly* generous on the numbers on your side of this equation, btw. (the totals above are sourced, btw, from Apple's own quarterly reports as compiled by Gartner.) So Apple has been selling all-Intel macs and nothing but intel-based Macs since mid-2006. From mid-2006 to mid-2010, Apple has sold at least 36M Intel based Macs, more than double the number of PPC Macs sold from 2001 to mid-2006. In fact, Apple has sold as many Intel-based Macs in four years as the total number of PPC Macs sold from 1996 to the end of the PPC era in mid-2006, a period of over 10 years. In short, your assertion that PPC Macs outnumber Intel-based Macs is simply laughable.
Like (12)
Version 7.6.6

Read 163 QuickTime Player User Reviews

Rate this app:

martinb2
13 November 2013
I can not understand why people rate this software so bad. Even if it is not supported for 64 bit applications, it is still working for 32 bit applications (i.e. on Mavericks). Together with the two QuickTime extensions Flip4Mac (WMV) and Perian (AVI, DivX, MKV and others) it can read / play all common video formats. Everybody know the videos which play video and audio un-synchronized - this will only happen if QuickTime is not used.
Like (2)
Version 7.7
3 answer(s)
Mikael-B
Mikael-B
12 January 2014
It's just that open source software like VLC play back video much much better than Quicktime Player. Even .mov files.
Like (1)
martinb2
martinb2
13 January 2014
Sorry, but you can not compare QuickTime with VLC. VLC is just (!) a player, whereas QuickTime is much more: 1.) Convert and edit videos (cut / copy / paste), create new videos, and much more. 2.) QT VR (panoramas) can still not be played by VLC. 3.) I would (not) like to dispute if VLC is really playing videos better than QT.
Like (2)
Kzx72
Kzx72
08 March 2015
Here's one example: I shouldn't have to wait twenty minutes while quicktime "converts" a video in order to watch it first. VLC does it automatically or at least there's no wait time. It's just another example of a native built in app in OS X that under performs.
Like (1)
An-onymous
22 August 2012
It looks as if this app is no longer being developed. A pity, for it was quite acceptable 4 years ago... Its most striking proof of neglect is the disrespect of Apple GUI code (eg the green dot in the window bar for enlarging the view does not even work). A stain on Apple's image.
Like (3)
Version 7.7
1 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
07 August 2015
Not being maintained, but v7.6.6 is still functional on the latest OS.

I've been using v7.6.6 on 10.4.4 instead of Yosemite's Quicktime Player which rarely plays any video I try to open with it.

Stay away from v7.7 if you're using Yosemite (Mavericks too?) - it would seem to be an update to 7.6.6, but I've read where others couldn't use it and had to revert to 7.6.6.
Like (1)
Thefinaleofseem
13 June 2012
I don't think Apple is ever going to fix the broken Software Update in Leopard. iTunes will get updated to the very latest version, but Quicktime? Nope. It'll remain at sub-7.5.5 levels, which means you have to manually run out and get it because iTunes WON'T WORK without it! What the heck Apple? This has been a problem for months! Anyone doing a clean install of Leopard could be in for a rather rude awakening, especially if they don't know enough to go hunting for QT 7.7.
Like (1)
Version 7.7
stupidass
13 April 2012
Apple is a greedy company...they freaken charge you for using their QT Pro feature..i mean come on...it should be standard....after all the money i spend on their hardware products.The program suck really bad...everytime i try to play movie in other format..they ask me to install plug in which cost even more.... Anyways...VLC all the way...
Like (2)
Version 7.7
1 answer(s)
R33c3
R33c3
23 April 2012
Perian is a free plug-in that works discretely in your system preference pane. It allows Quicktime to play formats which are currently unavailable to play. Keep me updated if you have any queries.
Like (1)
vit120555
03 February 2012
--5!
Like
Version 7.7
sjk
23 November 2011
On a clean installed Lion system, I did something (that I can't recall) with a video file that triggered being prompted to install QuickTime Player 7 (similar to what happens with Java). Is that familiar to anyone and do you know what can cause it? Thanks.
Like
Version 7.7
1 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
17 February 2012
Helpful info from Apple: "A Mac OS X v10.6 and OS X Lion-compatible version of QuickTime Player 7 is available for use with older media or with AppleScript-based workflows. QuickTime Player 7 can be used to playback formats such as QTVR, interactive QuickTime Movies, and MIDI files. Also, it supports QuickTime 7 Pro registration codes for access to QuickTime Pro functionality."
Like
MacUpdate-Lon
04 November 2011
Sure am glad that I kept QuickTime Player 7.6.6 on my new MacBook Pro with equally new Apple external display. QTPlayer 7.6.6 lets me do what QT Player 10.1 will not: play movies on my secondary screen. Incredible blunder on the part of Apple devs to create a QT Player that will NOT play movies on a secondary screen. Gee, thanks guys!
Like (2)
Version 7.7
1 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
25 January 2012
Everything about quicktime 10 sucks. Its appearance its functionality. I'm staying with v7 which works great.
Like (3)
Rubaiyat
05 September 2011
I think I am not alone in wondering what I get for my money and what exactly the difference is between QuickTime Pro and QuickTime Player 10. I am on Snow Leopard and the principle 2 things I want to do is trim movies accurately and to capture tutorials form the web to view offline. It would be nice if I could also create tutorials, combining text and video but that is not the main reason for upgrading. QT Pro is not cheap and I really would like to know it it will work not just in SL but Lion in the future. Any advice?
Like
Version 7.7
1 answer(s)
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
25 January 2012
Some of what you want to do can be done in MPEG Streamclip -which is free- Cut & edit and convert movies. Also the only program I've seen that allows you to fix timecode errors. And it's FREE. Love it.
Like
nobody2011
04 August 2011
Info from the Apple website: QuickTime 7.7 improves security and is recommended for all Mac OS X Leopard users. System Requirements: Mac OS X v10.5 through v10.5.8
Like
Version 7.7
GeogProf
03 August 2011
The installer for OS 10.7 Lion no longer offers an optional QuickTime 7 installation. So I crossed my fingers and downloaded this, but the QT 7.7 installer wouldn't allow it to install in Lion, and the .mpkg installer won't even allow looking int3o it. Does anyone know another way to install a version of QT that will work in Lion — and where to find it?
Like (1)
Version 7.7
11 answer(s)
RoyPDX
RoyPDX
04 August 2011
I may be misinterpreting. Assuming you already have Quicktime 7 installed in 10.6x, does it no longer work when you upgrade to Lion?
Like
-M-S-
-M-S-
04 August 2011
My QT 7.6.6 installation that was installed under 10.6 still runs under 10.7, although I haven't used it since installing Lion since QuickTime X (under Lion) has all the features that were in QuickTime 7 Pro but not in QuickTime X under Snow Lion.
Like (3)
Djrose
Djrose
04 August 2011
Ok, I upgraded from SL to Lion and Quicktime 7 was on my HD than and is still on my HD and works fine. I checked and the version is 7.7.1 (2246). It must have upgraded with the Lion install (I had no reason to check before). If that was the case, than this release is to bring SL users up-to-date. My two cents.
Like (1)
RoyPDX
RoyPDX
04 August 2011
Except, apparently it's only for Leopard users, not Snow Leopard--how do SL users upgrade?
Like
Djrose
Djrose
04 August 2011
My bad. I checked Apple's website and for SL, QT 7.6.6 is the current version. QT 7.7 is only for Leo users. According to Jon Walker in the Apple Support Communities: "Since the changes are predicated on OS and not feature enrichment, the changes are issued as needed to improve performance and/or security concerns for the associated operating system." So, if you are using SL, than you are fine with QT 7.6.6. If you are using Leo, you should upgrade to QT 7.7. And for Lion, all I can say is that the version that is on my HD is QT 7.7.1. My two cents. :-)
Like (3)
GeogProf
GeogProf
04 August 2011
I should have explained that I did a clean install of Lion (wiped the HD, then installed it) in order to obtain the system speed improvement that only a clean install can deliver. Even when there’s no OS update, I still back up and clean install the OS every 10 months or so because it defrags your HD (sort of) and nukes all the cruft accumulated from installing & uninstalling new apps, working with large video files, etc. Afterward, I usually startup from a different drive and open Disk Utility to fix my new Lion installation’s permissions and run Repair Disk, then I run DiskWarrior on it — all of which are now NECESSARY after installing Lion — especially DiskWarrior — because its installer does a worse job of optimizing and cleaning up than previous OS installers (don’t know why). Then I run CleanMyMac or some other such program to get rid of all the language files, the PPC component of 3rd party Universal Binary apps. etc. This time ‘round I got a substantially larger increase in speed compared to the 3 Snow Leopard clean re-installs I performed during its tenure on my machines, which IMHO verifies up Apple’s claim that Lion is an overall faster beast than previous cats, though that may simply be a function of switching to a more or less pure 64-bit system, but I doubt it. Anyway, clean installing Lion means you will trash everything from the previous OS — including QuickTime 7.6. So now I have to find and separately install it. Thanks for all your help and opinions!
Like
Jean-Loup
Jean-Loup
04 August 2011
GeogProf, did you try to install "QuickTime Player 7.6.6 for Mac OS X v10.6.3" ? => http://support.apple.com/kb/DL923
Like
-M-S-
-M-S-
04 August 2011
To clarify, there are two version #s associated with QuickTime... that for QuickTime Player (which under Lion for me is 7.6.6 (1710)) and that for QuickTime itself (which under Lion for me is 7.7.1 (2246)). Can anyone with 10.6.8 tell us what those versions # are for them (load QuickTime Player 7 and choose "About"). Also, any reason to really use QT7 under Lion anymore? I used it a lot under SL for the Pro features, but those are now in QuickTime X 10.1 under Lion.
Like
sjk
sjk
04 August 2011
On 10.6.8: QuickTime Player 7 Version 7.6.6 (1709) QuickTime™ Version 7.6.6 (1783) Copyright © 1989-2010, Apple Inc., All Rights Reserved.
Like
Albabe
Albabe
04 August 2011
Well, now I'm really confused. I'm on 10.6.8 and I have two versions. The last one has two names: Version 10.0 (128) Version 7.6.9 (1680.8) QuickTime™ Version 7.6.6 (1783)
Like
GeogProf
GeogProf
12 August 2011
Jean-Loup, no I didn't try to install "QuickTime Player 7.6.6 for Mac OS X v10.6.3" because everyone's great replies to this post got me to thinking that QT X in Lion may be more functional than I thought it was, so I checked it out more thoroughly and discovered that you're all right -- QT X now has everything QT 7.6.x had on Snow Leopard. My post, which kicked off this thread, was written when I thought QT X in Lion is still hobbled like it was in SL -- dopey me!
Like
Nairb
15 June 2011
Turns out it's a problem with QT in Safari, works fine with any Firefox and others.??
Like
Version 7.6.6
Nairb
15 June 2011
ECHO For years Quicktime just worked so well that you never knew it was there.Suddenly there is an echo every time I try to watch anything on line. I have reinstalled the newest QT 7 for 10.6.7 and it seems to solve the problem then..... echo echo
Like
Version 7.6.6
Libertyforall1776
29 January 2011
We need AirPlay in the QuickTime Player!
Like (8)
Version 7.6.6
2 answer(s)
Libertyforall1776
Libertyforall1776
27 February 2011
Add your request to Apple HERE: http://www.apple.com/feedback/quicktime.html
Like (5)
Ikir
Ikir
24 March 2011
I agree! i don't understand who can downrate your comment.
Like (4)
Poikkeus
20 December 2010
Used by itself, Quicktime can be a useful set of media tools; after being upgraded to its Pro version, one can edit and convert - a fairly good investment. It wasn't designed to have the same precise control of other standalone software; and its editing controls are imprecise at best. Perhaps the main flaw comes from the fact that VLCPlayer offers a more comprehensive playback package - for free.
Like
Version 7.6.6
1 answer(s)
Waveman
Waveman
03 August 2011
VLC is great, try Perian with QT=awesome. QT Pro wil let you do quick edits and all kinds of crazy stuff, well worth the 30 bucks but it should be included for free IMHO.
Like (1)
Albabe
08 December 2010
My Software Update told me yesterday that there was new Quicktime software available... So I let it install. It says it's 7.6.9. I'm confused. I'm on a G5 OS X 10.5.8.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.6
2 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
10 December 2010
QuickTime 7.6.9 is only available for users of Leopard (10.5) and Windows. The updates available in QuickTime 7.6.9 are already included in the 10.6.5 update for Snow Leopard (10.6) users. The update for Leopard is only available via Software Update and can not be downloaded, hence, no change is shown here on MacUpdate. Here are the details: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT4447
Like (1)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
10 December 2010
CORRECTION: It does appear that you can download 7.6.9 for Leopard, even though it's not listed on the main support downloads site. Just go here: http://www.apple.com/quicktime/download/
Like
siamlotus
12 May 2010
Nothing serious but I was a little confused seeing the QuickTime X icon for QuickTime 7.6.6.
Like
Version 7.6.6
Dokter-mac
11 May 2010
There is still a 7.6.6 Version for Leopard. And: Mac OS X v10.5 Leopard requires: A Mac computer with an Intel, PowerPC G5, or Power PC G4 (867 MHz or faster) processor 512 MB memory or more A DVD drive for installation 9 GB of available disk space or more Some features require a compatible Internet service provider, fees may apply. Some features require Apple's MobileMe service; fees apply.
Like
Version 7.6.6
1 answer(s)
Albabe
Albabe
12 May 2010
Cool... Thanx. I noticed that right after I started talking through my... sigh.
Like (1)
Version 7.6.6
Albabe
11 May 2010
No more Quicktime for us G5 folks, I guess. I'm curious if anyone knows how many working Mac computers out there are still PPC? What's the percentage difference between PPCs and Intels? Are there that many more Intels in use, so that Apple has dropped support for their computers only 5 years old?
Like (6)
Version 7.6.6
Smactron
11 May 2010
Why did Apple post this update today? I have already had QuickTime 7.6.6 for quite some time now.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.6
2 answer(s)
David-Empson
David-Empson
11 May 2010
I expect the main reason that Apple has published this "QuickTime 7.6.6 for Snow Leopard" is to provide a convenient way to install QuickTime Player 7 from the Internet, rather than having to dig out your Snow Leopard DVD, install QuickTime Player 7 via Optional Installs, and reapply the latest Combo Update. (Similar to how they are distributing Rosetta for Snow Leopard.) I'll need to do a detailed comparison to confirm there is no difference between them.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.6
David-Empson
David-Empson
11 May 2010
The code in this QuickTime Player 7.6.6 is identical to the one supplied with Snow Leopard and subsequently updated via the 10.6.3 combo update. The only difference is that most of the help files have been updated. All references to "QuickTime", "QuickTime Player" or "QuickTime Pro" now mention version 7, and there have been other changes in the help.
Like (2)
Version 7.6.6
Chas-m
11 May 2010
Younkint: In point of fact, there are more Intel Macs in service now than PPC machines by a wide margin. Many millions more, in fact. From 2001 to mid-2006, Apple sold about 18 million PPC Macs total (none of the figures I'm using include iPods or iPhones of any type -- just Macintosh computers). Let's assume, for the sake of argument, that EVERY SINGLE ONE OF THEM is still running. I'm being *incredibly* generous on the numbers on your side of this equation, btw. (the totals above are sourced, btw, from Apple's own quarterly reports as compiled by Gartner.) So Apple has been selling all-Intel macs and nothing but intel-based Macs since mid-2006. From mid-2006 to mid-2010, Apple has sold at least 36M Intel based Macs, more than double the number of PPC Macs sold from 2001 to mid-2006. In fact, Apple has sold as many Intel-based Macs in four years as the total number of PPC Macs sold from 1996 to the end of the PPC era in mid-2006, a period of over 10 years. In short, your assertion that PPC Macs outnumber Intel-based Macs is simply laughable.
Like (12)
Version 7.6.6
7 answer(s)
St00pid-M0nk3y
St00pid-M0nk3y
11 May 2010
Thank you. I can't stand statements based on ignorance.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.6
Dokter-mac
Dokter-mac
11 May 2010
Well I strongly believe that there are more PPC Macs in use, attached to the net (but not always), in companies (mostly not attached to the net) like mine, etc., at this time (05/11/2010). I just bought 4 new Intel Macs, great machines btw (when they work), but my previous PPC Macs will run for certain another year or two! Apple knows that... So in my house we are running 3 PPC Macs and 3 Intel Macs. Only one, a MacBook (built to order), went to a new user! My godchild from twelve years old. That's 1 new Mac user, but not in sale numbers of course :). Here are some facts, real life facts (so not that easy to copy/paste in a post) ;). -Fact one: As a developer I'm not going to move all my stuff to the new Mac or start doing all the things I did on my previous PowerMacs G5. That's just stupid... On delivery one of two new 27" iMacs came with a broken part inside. Luckily the Core i7 iMac is complete. Another Mac, a Core i5 MacBookPro (widescreen, 500Gb/7200rpm) for my daughter, is complete. So a third of my almost 7.000€ or +-8.950USD investment in new hardware failed on delivery! As a long time user I've never seen this before. For the first time I bought AppleCare for all three Macs... -Fact two: My mom is still using a early iMac G3. Every day, for mail, a little bit surfing, importing some photos she toke the other day, scanning much older analog photos, etc. My sister, 40 years old with 2 kids and a husband, still uses a PowerMac G4 (a dual G4 @ 1,25Gb) on a daily base! Leopard 10.5.8 installed & running very happy. -Fact three: Unlike PC's running Windows, PPC Macs are much better build then the current Intel Macs. Apple needs to do something about that! But that's another discussion. But this means that some users have to count on their dual cores G5 PPC Macs until this is properly fixed... -Fact four: Maybe you and a minority can buy every (x) year(s) a new Mac? Most of us are suffering from the global crisis we live in. Thank you Apple for understanding this :) ... I can go further and make this list very long (making other people angry for the pollution) because why Apple is doing what they are doing. I'm not going to use this thread for this. Bottom line is: You can prove everything with numbers. If you're a long time Mac user, look around you and you will see a lot of older 'non Intel Macs' that are still in use. If you are new to the Mac and you switched from another OS, you will see PC's everywhere you look. A small difference between both groups is this: 'Some PPC users are/where in a state of shock after the switch to Intel. Still it is/was a business decision, we understand it and give it a place in our lives :). All those long time loyal users knew for a fact that the PPC architecture is far more superior compared with Intel. It was a step backwards, from years of 64bit computing back to (temporally) 32bit, etc. That and a few others just invested in brand new PowerMacs G5 :).' It's so much more then numbers... Far more nuanced... With very kind regards. PS: And for 'God' sake, it's a small software update! From a small piece of software which has been part of the Mac OS since almost the beginning of Apple...
Like (5)
Version 7.6.6
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
11 May 2010
First of all, there is absolutely no reason to drop PPC 10.5 support unless they add a major new feature. PowerPC is a modern, 32/64bit CPU with media acceleration features. It is not 80286. Second: Stop your apologizing for Apple, this is exactly why Apple is misguided in wrong directions. It is NOT YOUR BUSINESS how many PPC macs out there or logical (!) reasons to drop Quicktime support for them. Do you have a clue what kind of message it sends to Business users to drop support without any reason? When you go to your bank and see Dell junk instead of Unix running Mac Minis, that is the major reason for it. Enterprise doesn't trust to Apple and with a community like that, they will keep that mistrust.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.6
Demoray
Demoray
11 May 2010
DOKTER_MAC, you seem to misunderstand the meaning of the term "fact". While you certainly have some strong opinions, the only fact in your list is about your mother and sister. Not exactly an overwhelming statistic. Facts generally don't use words like "stupid", "much better" or "maybe". If you want to familiarize yourself with some genuine facts, read the above post from CHAS_M.
Like (2)
Version 7.6.6
Section8
Section8
11 May 2010
dammit Ilgaz, everyone knows PPCs are for nubs :P UPGRADE already! :D unless you want to be stuck with JVM performance on the PPC... I know how much you LOVE JAVA :D
Like (2)
Version 7.6.6
Younkint
Younkint
22 August 2010
CHAS_M - You are correct and I stand corrected. My information is now out-of-date. While our main "money-making machines" here are still PPC, the handwriting is on the wall for them - no doubt. We now are using more Intel than PPC. BTW, what's with the venom about this from some other posters...?
Like
Version 7.6.6
Section8
Section8
23 August 2010
hehe, its not venom, i know Ilgaz from elsewhere :P
Like
Version 7.6.6
An-onymous
31 March 2010
Thank very much you LVDOC, for indicating a way to go against Apple's tentative to prevent QT 7.6 from being the default app for .mov films. Concerning the other inacceptable limitations of the new QT versions, I forgot to mention the fact that it is no longer possible to have several QT windows opened simultaneously. Progress, indeed.
Like (1)
Version 7.6.6
Leoofborg
30 March 2010
Oh, the mis-information here about QT X. Boggles. Apple is still maintaining Quicktime 7 Player for the older QT Pro users who are still used to the older timecode / video editing workflow. You can install Quicktime as a custom install from your Snow Leopard DVD, and the reason there's no explicit update for Snowy is because the QT 7.66 update is built into the 10.63 update. I just checked my QT7 player and guess what? It's already 7.66. Apple is being reeeeeeeeally nice to PPC users, in that you're getting as much under the hood fixes as anyone on Intel who's running Snow Leopard right now. It just doesn't look as pretty, but thems the breaks.
Like (5)
Version 7.6.6
6 answer(s)
Younkint
Younkint
31 March 2010
Perhaps the reason Apple is "being reeeeeeeeally nice to PPC users" is because there are still far more PPC Macs that there are Intel Macs?
Like (2)
Version 7.6.6
umaromc
umaromc
31 March 2010
I've a 2009 MacPro... but I'd be quite upset were I a G5 user and Apple cut me off as game developers seem to have!
Like (2)
Version 7.6.6
Stormchild
Stormchild
11 May 2010
I don't suppose you have any actual evidence to back up that claim? Every single Mac user I know is using an Intel Mac. I don't know anyone who even owns a PPC machine anymore.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.6
Espiridion
Espiridion
11 May 2010
Most of the Mac users I know still have PPC machines, although some also have Intel Macs now. I have a G4 and G5 PPC. I don't know if this still applies, but years ago many people would not get rid of their old Macs. A friend probably still has an Apple II (I think). We used to play Castle Wolfenstein and Olympic Decathlon, which was published by Microsoft :-)
Like (1)
Version 7.6.6
Demoray
Demoray
11 May 2010
LEOOFBORG, you are correct about QT 7.6.6 being part of the SnoLeo 10.6.3 update. But that's what makes this QT update so confusing. This MacUpdate page says this QT update is only for 10.6.3 users... which is rather odd considering that 10.6.3 users are the one group who already have 7.6.6. Like you, I've been using QT 7.6.6 since the OS X 10.6.3 update. What am I missing?
Like (1)
Version 7.6.6
Chas-m
Chas-m
11 May 2010
Please see my longer post above this one (under the same user name), but in a nutshell -- the myth that PowerPC Macs still outnumber Intel Macs in the installed userbase is a fantasy that hasn't been true for several years now. In FY2010 alone, Apple will likely sell almost as many (Intel) Macs as were sold in the ENTIRE period from 2001 to mid-2006. Assuming that every PPC Mac sold from 2001-2006 were still working (ha!), that would amount to ~18M PPC Macs. Apple has since sold well over 36M Intel Macs. Even if you assume that the earliest Intels are no longer in service, Apple has still sold millions more Intel Macs in four years than they sold PPC Macs in almost six years. In short, no contest. I'm not dissing the PPC Macs -- I owned and loved several of them -- but that was then. This is now, and the reality is that PPC Macs are not even a significant part of the installed base anymore (maybe 25% at best) -- in part because in the five years since the move to Intel, Apple has more than tripled its annual volume of Mac sales.
Like (2)
Version 7.6.6
An-onymous
20 January 2010
I HATE this app. - It is incredibly slow (both for loading films and exporting them) and it had better be called SLOWTime - It cannot edit .wmv movies without paying an extra for Flip4Mac (even when the pro QT has been bought) - It can no longer be chosen as the default app for opening .mov films. It = s now a Ugly QT 10 (why TEN ?!) which imposes itself at each time (there's NO WAY to get read of this QT10 reader's priority. Congratulation to Apple for its user friendliness and system's customizability Indeed, the last good version of QT was 6.5.2 (unusable on intel). It provided quickly some very useful functions like removing at once the video or the audio track. Now, with QT7, one as to export the whole movie just to remove a track. QT7 is so clumsy and limited - even in its paying "PRO" version - that it is no surprise Apple does not install it automatically on the new Macs. One is clearly pushed to buy Final Cut.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.4
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
30 March 2010
You can get QT 7.6.3 to be the default app. Find it (the one in the Applications/Utilities folder, NOT the newer version that's in the Applications folder), right click on it, and choose "Show Package Contents." Find the "Resources" folder and open that. Scroll down until you find the "QuickTime Player Launcher" program. Delete it. (You'll have to enter your password to do so.) From that point forward, you will be able to make 7.6.3 the default app. (Note: I made a backup copy of the QuickTime Player Launcher, just in case. But I've had no problems with this method.)
Like (6)
Version 7.6.6
Maclover1-1
26 November 2009
Why are there 2 Quicktime players now concurrently living in my system ?? Quicktime Player and Quicktime 7
Like (1)
Version 7.6.4
3 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
23 December 2009
Because you're running 10.6 and chose to install QuickTime 7, also. So now your Mac has QuickTime X and QuickTime 7.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.4
An-onymous
An-onymous
21 January 2010
Because ugly and invasive QT X player is based on QT7. Otherwie, it seems that Mac would have simply removed QT7 from the machines, thus leaving them WITHOUT A DECENT AND AFFORDABLE movie editor. What I find untolerable is that ANY movie reader can be assigned for opening .mov films except QT7. In other words Apple does not want QT7 to compete with the lousy QT X.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.4
Leoofborg
Leoofborg
30 March 2010
Um, what's your point? QT or QT7 can open any movie that you've installed a codec for, so go snag Perian. Also, have you tried opening MOVs with MPlayer or VLC? Of course you can! For MPlayer make sure, again that you have the proper codecs (but seriously, in a default install of MPlayer whether its the original, OSX Extended or other 80% of what's needed is there already). As to not being able to open *.wmv, that requires a license from MICROSOFT or Telestream, the Flip4Mac folks. If you want to open WMV on Quicktime, pay Telestream, but don't go whining to Apple about formats that do not matter to video editors except as an OUTPUT format for Windoze users.
Like (3)
Version 7.6.6
Solo68
23 November 2009
The help file is broken/missing. When I click a link inside the QuickTime Help window it does not navigate. And when I search a topic it does find results, but when I click on a result it does not navigate. I called Apple Care and was elevated to a so-called specialist who was clueless. Is anyone else having a problem with getting the help file to work?
Like
Version 7.6.4
Espiridion
20 September 2009
It's sad that QuickTime is called "The multimedia cornerstone of Mac OS X." It is a terrible application. For years I've had to rely on alternative programs to play different media, and as of version 7.6.4 this is still the case. Fortunately there's VLC, MPlayer, Perian, WMV Player, etc. QuickTime is not good enough on its own, and the lack of upgrade path for Pro users adds insult to injury.
Like (4)
Version 7.6.4
Pettifogger
11 September 2009
MANY thanks!
Like
Version 7.6.4
Pettifogger
10 September 2009
Does anyone have the direct download links for the Tiger and Leopard versions of QT 7.6.4? I have to download the DMG files via a Windows machine but the Apple Quicktime download page repeatedly sends me to the Windows download page? :-(
Like
Version 7.6.4
1 answer(s)
anomia
anomia
10 September 2009
http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/QuickTime/061-6742.20090909.TgQt4/QuickTime764_Tiger.dmg http://appldnld.apple.com.edgesuite.net/content.info.apple.com/QuickTime/061-6738.20090909.tq764/QuickTime764_Leopard.dmg
Like (2)
Version 7.6.4
Kobalt
09 September 2009
Okay, so not for Snow Leopard. Note: QuickTime 7.6.4 is for computers using Mac OS X v10.4.11, Mac OS X v10.5 through v10.5.8, Windows XP SP2 or later, or Windows Vista
Like (3)
Version 7.6.4
4 answer(s)
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
10 September 2009
I would suggest reading macupdate about new apple updates but sticking with "software update" control panel (check for updates) until this snow leopard dust settles down. That is what will I do with the 2 snow leopard installed macs at this house, at least until I figure what is the position of Quicktime X (framework?application?) like core system parts. Will be a bit waste of bandwidth of course but it seems as only solution. Snow Leopard as it has "pure 64bit" has some special needs like that especially for deep level frameworks like quicktime and itunes (which has dev. drivers).
Like (3)
Version 7.6.4
JSH56
JSH56
10 September 2009
My Snow Leopard install has Quicktime Player 7.6.3. Do I update this one to 7.6.4 even though it's not Leopard now?
Like
Version 7.6.4
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
11 September 2009
If you needed the update, it would appear in software update (run from Apple menu). I think Apple is holding the 7.6.x update for a reason and I don't think they forgot their own new OS. If you run SL "activity monitor", you will see 90% of processes are 64bit, especially Apple ones. The version advertised here is 32bit. As I said, stick with software update if in doubt.
Like (1)
Version 7.6.4
Holypoly
Holypoly
12 September 2009
Version 7.1.4 adds support for iTunes 9. However, it won't show up as an available update in SL, and the standalone installer refuses to run under Snow Leopard, as QT 10 is already installed (which is true). Dig into the .mpg package using "Show Package Content", expanding the Archive.pax.gz file. A new folder labelled "Archive" will show up on the Desktop. Open it, locate the "Applications" folder inside, which contains the Quicktime Player application. Runs fine here under 10.6.1 .
Like
Version 7.6.4
Mullin
20 August 2009
It' is the best version available, real smooth
Like
Version 7.6.2
Pepperjack
24 February 2009
cause some game programs to crash or stop working, wish there was a rollback to 7.5. while I am wishing I wish they would do a better job of testing before releasing .
Like (3)
Version 7.6
Poetry
27 January 2009
Mono Audio files still don't play. This has been the case with every version of Quicktime 7. Any ideas out there?
Like (2)
Version 7.6
Supermacnerd
22 January 2009
Everything seems to be running smoothly on 10.5.6 with this update, had a couple ichat crashes initially but a reset did the trick.
Like
Version 7.6
Youdamnkids
22 January 2009
I'm running 10.4.11, and I'm also having the issue of my desktop icons blinking about once every minute or two. Also when it does this, it switches the system's focus to the finder from whatever program I'm using. I find it difficult when typing something.
Like (2)
Version 7.6
1 answer(s)
Alittledesign
Alittledesign
23 January 2009
I am experiencing exactly the same thing with the Finder after updating Quicktime 7.6. Finder window blinks and no matter the application window I will be reverted to the Finder and have to "click" back into the application. Have tried the link suggested for stuffit system preferences and so far, so good. http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?story=20090121223437550
Like
Version 7.6
Michaelc
22 January 2009
I downloaded thru software update.. the Quicktime player seem fine.. however I am having issues with my icons on the desktop blinking on and off I am running Mac os 10.4.11
Like (3)
Version 7.6
5 answer(s)
Mcraigchr
Mcraigchr
22 January 2009
I'm having the same problem. 10.4.11 ... Finder crashing constantly.
Like (2)
Version 7.6
Youdamnkids
Youdamnkids
22 January 2009
Woops, didn't see that you could reply to other comments, but yeah, I'm having the same problem in 10.4.11, and it did auto update.
Like (1)
Version 7.6
Youdamnkids
Youdamnkids
22 January 2009
I don't think it's a sytem version issue, because I just installed the Tiger version linked at the top of the page, and I'm still having the same problem.
Like (1)
Version 7.6
Youdamnkids
Youdamnkids
22 January 2009
Two things: !) I've noticed it's not just changing the system's focus, it's actually restarting the finder every couple minutes. Icons blink, system focus changes, and any open finder windows close. 2) Reverting back to an older version of Quicktime doesn't stop this from happening.
Like
Version 7.6
Youdamnkids
Youdamnkids
23 January 2009
Here's a fix for anyone still needing it: http://www.macfixit.com/article.php?story=20090121223437550
Like
Version 7.6
Gregm
21 January 2009
GRRRRRR- Software Update got this for me. I need to go back to 7.5 --- my test video (that I have used for years) is heavily pixelated. Still looks OK in VLC. 12" PowerBook 1.5GHz G4
Like (2)
Version 7.6
4 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
22 January 2009
Might be an issue with the test video, then. VLC is more forgiving of encoding errors than QuickTime is, but that doesn't make it any 'better'. What codec does the video use? When was it encoded, and using what?
Like (1)
Version 7.6
Gregm
Gregm
23 January 2009
MISHA Created June 2004 Apple Cinepak 320 x 240, Millions 8-bit Unsigned Integer, Mono, 22.050 kHz Dumped Perian, thinking that might be a conflict --- QT 7.6 still pixelated, 7.5.5 OK
Like
Version 7.6
-M-S-
-M-S-
23 January 2009
Wow, Cinepak... haven't heard that name in years. That's an ancient codec, great for its time in the '030/'040 and 386/486 days but pretty ancient by today's standards and seldom used. Not saying that's a reason why it *shouldn't* playback in QuickTime anymore, just that that probably shouldn't be your benchmark for whether QuickTime playback is performing up to expectations. For that, I'd check out something newer... like a video encoded with h.264 at an HD resolution, such as one of these: http://www.apple.com/trailers/disney/earth/hd/ If you're still using Cinepak, I'd be curious to know why... unless you need compatibility with really old hardware, h.264 is the way to go. The baseline profile is relatively lightweight (which is why even 5G iPods can play back video encoded with it).
Like (1)
Version 7.6
Ilgaz
Ilgaz
10 September 2009
Why would anyone have cinepak encoded videos? Same reason like why we video guys still have to keep U-Matic around. You can't transcode cinepak to a modern lossy format since it was already horribly lossy in original so it will end up really bad. You can't get rid of original video since content matters... That is the case for U-Matic. Couple of U-Matic to Digital Betacam converts are OK but when there are millions of hours, it is way more feasible to keep that dinosaur player around.
Like
Version 7.6.4
Rickseg
21 January 2009
I downloaded and installed this update from Software Update and, after doing a checkout of all my systems and software, haven't seen or had any problems. Can't say that there is any noticeable change, good or bad. At least it seems to be safe. Rick
Like (1)
Version 7.6
1 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
22 January 2009
...and three stars for that! Right... oO
Like (2)
Version 7.6
Echorob
19 September 2008
Since the upgrade all i get now when trying to play a movie in iTunes is a white movie windows i can hear the movie playing but just get a white picture any ideas ? Thanks
Like (1)
Version 7.5.5
1 answer(s)
Echorob
Echorob
19 September 2008
Sorry forgot to say i am running 10.4.11
Like
Version 7.5.5
Melman-Flink
10 June 2008
Installed without any issues on a G4/533 DP and a G4/400. Nothing, negative or positive, to report, so far. Comment nit: Might be nice to see the type of Macs being used when evaluating software here. After all, not all Macs are the same and some issues are model specific.
Like (2)
Version 7.5
Crawthorn
19 April 2008
Why, when I click on an MP4 document am I getting audio, but no video? I know there's video in this document too.
Like (1)
Version 7.4.5
1 answer(s)
Lesoth0
Lesoth0
10 June 2008
Use VLC player and you'll be able to see your MP4 content! It has pretty much replaced Quicktime Player for me.
Like (1)
Version 7.5
sonichooha
03 April 2008
Doe anyone know why whenever I try to loop audio within Quicktime it snaps at the loop point? It never used to do this, and I know my loops are perfect..
Like (1)
Version 7.4.5
Rekramer
07 February 2008
If you work with windows machines this update does not appear in Apple SW Update on the windows machines. You have to fire up Quicktime and check for updates (takes you to Quicktime for windows web page) switch from iTunes to QT only and run the update.
Like
Version 7.4.1
Ronl
16 January 2008
Installed iTunes 7.6 first after running DFA and Repairing permissions and while Safe Booted. Then installed QuickTime 7.4 on 10.5.1. All is working fine. If you do the above you should have no problems. It often appears those that don't follow safe installations are the ones that have glitches.
Like (2)
Version 7.4
1 answer(s)
Helfire
Helfire
17 January 2008
Average Joe is supposed to know to repair permissions? and on 10.5 you get kicked out of the finder when it starts installing then it restarts, how are you supposed to follow your directions then? If permissions needed to be repaired apple should do it at the end. BTW: I lost audio on .mov files, nothing seams to bring it back, as have numerous other people.
Like
Version 7.4
Serbian
15 January 2008
Unfortenatly this update broke the ability to load MPEG2 video track together with .wav or .aif audio - e.g. when you click on .m2v /MPEG2 Video track/ and if you have the .wav audio with the same name in same folder as video, QT 7.4 wont open audio, only video...Which is a dissaster for many apps including mine - MPEG2 Works 4..Now I have to figure it out what a hell is goin on again..
Like
Version 7.4
2 answer(s)
Dai-Yi
Dai-Yi
16 January 2008
I'm having issues as well. Apple sends me an email to check out the the MB Air, which of course I do. Video plays fine but no audio. Other sites are working, however. So I, too, have to figure out what is going on here. Not good for Apple from a PR perspective, however.
Like
Version 7.4
Serbian
Serbian
18 January 2008
I finally found a way to fix my app and now exporting from MPEG formats to QuickTime is working again as it worked before...Had to write some lines of new code but all is fine now...I hope Apple will fix these glitches with 7.4 in next update...
Like
Version 7.4
Rich-K-
19 December 2007
QT 7.3.1 broke the ability to import CDs in itunes 6.0.5. Itunes just crashes on attempting to import.I've tried all the usual fixes and i have read other reports from usrs elsewhere of the same problem Bad Apple
Like
Version 7.3.1
Ray16
14 December 2007
This might sound odd, I installed 7.3.1, when I went to startrek.com to play the clip of the day, and it seemed that QT dropped my cable connection. I tried ichat, no go, ym, no go, I even tried another webpage, still no connection. I had to restart to regain the connection. I don't know if this happens on other sites with QT content, but thismight be a bug that needs to addressed. I this helps, I downloaded from software update.
Like
Version 7.3.1
Arkham6
14 December 2007
I pity the modem users. :) but again, if Apple beleived they still exist, they would have included a modem 56k in their box. :)
Like (1)
Version 7.3.1
Horatio
06 November 2007
After updating to 7.3 video in keynote presentation is broken. Black screen and audio only. Seems to be a hasty update. Hope they'll fix it quickly
Like
Version 7.3
Lesoth0
05 November 2007
At least it's stable, but basicallly agree with everything said by POIKKEUS below. VLC player does most of my playback, as well if not better than Quicktime Player or any other. Quicktime still needs to sort it's AVI, Xvid and all the other flavours of codec before even competing with VLC. Even the Pro version doesn't come close. Getting there Apple, but you need to get the basics right first.
Like
Version 7.3
Poikkeus
21 October 2007
No one player takes top honors. It's hard to ignore the advantages of VLC: flexible, free, easy to use. It accepts a wider spectrum of media (including a number that Quicktime outright rejects), and easily plays subtitles. Most of the time, I find myself using VLC, if only because you can play just about anything. In its Pro version, Quicktime has its own special advantages. It's much more capable at audio/video editing, and significantly more stable with large files. There's a slight bump in speed, as well. I find myself using both, but can't imagine doing my computing with only one. VLC fulfills 70% of my needs, but Quicktime (Pro) fills in the gaps . One only wishes that the latter, an essential app, could view a wider variety of content.
Like
Version 7.2