Back to Neo page
Neo free download for Mac

Neo Reviews

0.90
19 October 2002

Cocoa shadow client for the Kazaa network.

Anonymous
06 June 2002

Most helpful

Very nice app. I really like the Splash Screen ;) Who ever did the graphics for this app is pretty good ;)
Like
Version 6.0.5C

Read 39 Neo User Reviews

Rate this app:

Szeoli
20 September 2011
Just a note to some people looking for the outlining application called Neo -- this is not it. Check the AppStore for Neo.
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
04 December 2003
You might find "Poisoned" more appropriate - it's a multi ptp network client - at least that's my take on it. Using port scanning CAN get you into all sorts of trouble and is seem by many as a low-threat "hacker" attack. try poisonedproject.com
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
25 June 2003
I've used this program for a while now and have found it incredibly useful for media downloads, is very easy to use, very simple, and very streamlined. A few new features wouldn't hurt, but I think that overall, this is the best P2P for mac right now. TO ANYONE HAVING PROBLEMS GETTING IT TO WORK: If you cannot find anything in a search, go to the smaller of the two windows, click the second button, then hit "Master List" and wait for the host search to finish. You may need to do this multiple times to get the fair majority of hosts. You may change the maximum number of hosts it will scan each time in the Preferences menu. Good luck.
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
12 April 2003
This program is awesome. It's got a nice, simple interface, is as straightforward and simple as possible, quite reliable and much better than LimeWire. If not for only 400 or so servers (much less than compared to other Gnutella clients), this would be better than KaZaA itself. One suggestion would be to get more IP ranges -- cover entire ISPs such as AOL, EarthLink, Juno and many others.
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
04 April 2003
Neo is basically a portscanner, so you want to be careful with it. I stopped it pretty quickly as I realized that I was pinging thousands of IP addresses. I work for a college as a computer technician and I live on campus, so running this could have cost me my job. There's got to be a better way for us mac users to have kazaa. If you're going to run it, be careful, and make sure it isn't against any acceptable use policies or contracts that you've signed.
Like
Version 0.90
Acrappa
30 March 2003
It takes a few minutes of fiddling to get some downloads going, but it works quite nicely. The database can get rather large on the hard drive (mine is around 75 MB after a few Master List retrievals). This may be the best Kazaa that Mac users will get.
Like
Version 0.90
liam-007-2002
26 February 2003
How do i get to use this program?? I type in a file and it does nothing........ help me please anyone.
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
19 February 2003
Finally, something better than Limewire that works!! Yes!!!!!! Now the only thing that would be better is an official Kazaa release for Mac OSX and 9.
Like
Version 0.90
IrnBru001
12 February 2003
I'm very impressed. I can actually find and download files on this program. I have no complants about anything. I think its easy to use, searches fine, simple interface. I don't even mind that it isn't a real Kazaa client. In fact I don't want it to be! This works! Limewire and iswipe have become completely worthless!
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
19 January 2003
I'm amazed that this actually works. It's dawn awkward to use, but I have downloaded plenty of stuff with it. I hope I don't get into trouble with my broadband ISP for running a port scanner. Please let this turn into an official Kazaa client... no wait, that would load it up with spyware and cause it to suck. Anyone porting Kazaa Lite?
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
14 January 2003
Very slow scanning but after hours you can find more than Limewire. i prefer DirectConnect for mp3. http://www.neo-modus.com/
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
13 January 2003
Dear Michael Thole: Thanks for doing the Macintosh (X) community a favour by creating this app. There are many of us who appreciate the effort and level of progress to date, considering there is no other way to connect to the Kazaa network on a Mac. Thanks again for an app and their refinements that have yielded great results (dozens of files I was looking for for a long time using other methods - LimeWire, etc.) within a few minutes of starting it up. You are a real hoser (a Canadian term for a mensch ). CanadianKid
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
04 January 2003
Well done for what it is. Strange how little people that comment here understand that this is the *only* way to access the Kazaa network on a Mac. There is *no* official support and no way to get into their network ! Of course it is far from ideal. But for what it is, it is great. Love the interface. Kazaa on a PC looks crappy in comparison.
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
04 January 2003
Neo is slow to begin using because of having to gather hosts, but then it gives access to a whole new world of files. I use it to complement gnutella clients, but not to replace them.
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
03 January 2003
sorry - I meant finding a connection you actually want things from is slow. there are plenty to look through for people wanting to browse.
Like
Version 0.90
mark
03 January 2003
Slow and steady. Connecting to other computers is very slow, but once you have them up it is fast and stable. But who would give up the pleasure of using macs to use kazaa? Does anyone know when macs will actually be able to use kazaa fully??? -
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
27 December 2002
Okay, this is obviously a work in progress. It's a scanner. Wow, that like... sucks. Keep developing until you can talk to the KaZaA servers. Range scanning is SLOW and tedious. Limewire sucks, but until Neo shapes up, I'm using Acquisition (Download it, I love it).
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
16 December 2002
ah!
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
10 December 2002
Since you can only search one user at a time, it is a severe limitation if you are looking for something besides gangsta rap or porn. Very stable and reliable if you find what you want in most cases, though.
Like
Version 0.90
Michael Thole
28 November 2002
Neo *is* open-source, see http://sf.net/projects/neoclient. And the horrid port scanning solution is the only way to piggyback onto FastTrack, and there is little I or anyone else can do about that. Be appreciative there is anything. :)
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
17 November 2002
Port-scanning IP ranges is not my idea of effective file-sharing. Maybe if established users shared their server lists and the app was open source this might not suck. Makes me glad I have a PC so I can run Kazaa Lite.
Like
Version 0.90
chaz
27 October 2002
This is HORRIBLE compared to Kazaa. You wait FOREVER and there is very little to download. NO speed filters and EXTREMELY slow. Oh yeah, did i say it is VERY SLOW?
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
23 October 2002
Love it! Works great, had it running all afternoon with no problems on 10.2.1 Awesome work!
Like
Version 0.90
Anonymous
20 October 2002
Works great! Finally an alternative to the buggy Limewire....this is much better for music. Glad to have Kazaa access on the Mac.
Like
Version 0.90
vincent
07 October 2002
pouvez vous m'expliquer le fonctionnement de neo pour telecharger des mp3
Like
Version 0.83
Anonymous
14 September 2002
it is an a pretty good program, the only few problems are that it hangs up sometimes during host scans and while downloading the masterlist and it takes forever to get a good amout of hosts to download from, also the .AVI files don't always work
Like
Version 0.83
Anonymous
18 August 2002
oh yeah, i wrote the review right below this one... i'm running a G3 350 on 10.1.5 and have had absolutely none of the stability issues some other people are having. also i should add that while it does search for audio, images, and videos, it's really only worthwhile searching for audio.
Like
Version 0.82
Anonymous
18 August 2002
the find function is very weak (can't specify genre or really anything other than type - audio, images, video) and there is some work involved before you can actually search, but if you know what you're looking for and you have the patience to set it up there's nothing better.
Like
Version 0.82
Anonymous
01 August 2002
Will ANYONE write/port a kazaa client or host scanner for the Mac OS (e.g. 9.2)?????? What's the deal with this, anyway?
Like
Version 0.81
Anonymous
19 July 2002
If you're looking to download music, this is your program. You are presented with a very large server list with the user's name, number of files, total size of files, and ping (the time it takes for a packet of data to be sent to that person's computer and be returend -- the lower the better). I've downloaded more music in the past hour than I have been able to in the past two weeks with any other program. If you're looking for movies, this is not what you need -- unless you're looking for filth. Same with files (sit, zip, etc.) -- there aren't many to choose from. Hopefully they will implement file searching, specifically, in the future. (It now has the option to search for Audio, Images, Video, or All.) (note: I have OS 10.1.5 and the program works perfectly.)
Like
Version 0.80
Anonymous
07 July 2002
A Kazaa "client" for Mac! It's really true... and it works better than Limewire! First you have to scan a network for hosts tho... use <Command>-2, choose a network, and hit the start-scan button. From there you will get hosts in the window at <Command>-1, and can search them using <Command>-F. Wonderful! It's my new "Sharing" program!
Like
Version 6.25A
Anonymous
06 July 2002
I tried it on a G4 running 10.1.5. Overall value is nil as it keeps crashing on starting a download.
Like
Version 6.25A
Anonymous
05 July 2002
Neo rocks, limewire sux, limewire doesn't even work! and neo has better interface
Like
Version 6.25A
Anonymous
22 June 2002
it never started up... quit on start-up.. ive never had this before... i have osx.1.5
Like
Version 6.21B
Anonymous
21 June 2002
Continuous development improves this unique and essential kazaa client. I suggest automatic re-download of partial unfinished files.
Like
Version 6.21A
Ryanjo
16 June 2002
This is a great agent for Kazaa music downloads. It finds search requests rapidly, and displays active connections. The graphics are great also. Keep up the good work!
Like
Version .615A
Anonymous
12 June 2002
This program looks great. It's so nice to see a well done Mac client for one of the big music networks... great interface, and even better, easy access to music on the mac!
Like
Version 6.12A
Jed
09 June 2002
Solid program. It'll be nice when it's a full client. Totally Mac-like and clean. An elegant...dare I say, sexy program.
Like
Version 6.0.5C
Anonymous
06 June 2002
Very nice app. I really like the Splash Screen ;) Who ever did the graphics for this app is pretty good ;)
Like
Version 6.0.5C