Back to MacJournal page
MacJournal free download for Mac

MacJournal Reviews

6.2.1
29 November 2016

Create, maintain, and blog a personal journal.

Schubert
28 August 2008

Most helpful

I have been a MacJournal user since right after I purchased my first MacBook Pro in March, 2007. It has evolved to more than I could have ever expected. I use it almost every day and find it to be extremely easy to use. MacJournal is designed for not only the average person, but also for the seasoned professional who wants to do more in an efficient way. To top it off, the developer provides First-Class customer service. The best method to really understand the perfection of MacJournal is to download the demo and use it. My guess is that you will buy it and wonder why you waited so long.
Like (16)
Version 5.1

Read 278 MacJournal User Reviews

Rate this app:

Derekcurrie
01 June 2019
IMPORTANT: MacJournal is now at version 7.0, FREE and available exclusively HERE:

https://danschimpf.com

DO NOT BUY IT! Mariner now have nothing to do with MacJournal. It has been returned to its original developer as of March 1, 2019. Here is new information from Dan Schimpf:

"A message about the transition from Mariner Software

"Hello everyone! After a long and productive relationship with Mariner Software, MacJournal is returning home to be distributed here by its original developer. There are a few important details that will have to change as a result. First of all, MacJournal will be distributed exclusively on this website for now. The versions on the various App Stores will be removed as current App Store rules do not allow us to transfer them. Secondly, MacJournal will be distributed for free, just as it was when it got started almost 18 years ago. Third, there is a new version out today! You can see details for version 7 on this site and download the release now. Prior versions running on systems that can support version 7 will see an automatic update later this week. And finally, since support will also be back to a single person, support via email will be constrained. I will try to get back to everyone that writes, but there could be some delays so I thank everyone for their patience in advance. I'm excited about this next chapter of MacJournal and about the new release!"

There is no information about MacJournal for iOS at this time. Theoretically, it is, or will be, no longer available. The iOS version still sort-of works but has detrimental bugs that make it annoying to use, the worst of which is when it shoves the body of entries directly under an entry's header text, creating chaos. Please contact Dan Schimpf if you'd like him to revive the iOS version. I certainly do! It used to be one of the best cross platform text writing and editing solutions.

My first impression of MacJournal 7.0 is that it is excellent! I'll be reviewing it as soon as MU catches up with these changes. I see no point in posting a 7.0 review until that time.
Like (6)
Version 6.2.1
1 answer(s)
charti
charti
10 July 2019
THANK YOU!
Like (1)
hustonlydia923
16 April 2019
This is simplest, easiest journal to use. I've been journaling with MacJournal since 2011 and I've never had a problem. Love, love, love this app.
Like (2)
Version 6.2.1
AnthoLogical
26 March 2019
This may be of interest to some MacUpdate readers, as MacJournal seems abandonware here. MacJournal 7 - danschimpf.com << After a long and productive relationship with Mariner Software, MacJournal is returning home to be distributed here by its original developer. [...] Secondly, MacJournal will be distributed for free >> High Sierra and above, there is also a v6.2.2 for Mavericks and above.
Like (2)
Version 6.2.1
Joseluismen
15 December 2018
It does not work with Tumblr. Perhaps it is the page's problem since none of the tested applications, including the official AppStore, works. It does not allow you to identify yourself, and therefore neither publishes nor downloads any of your blogs. As long as they do not check it, the program is useless.
Like
Version 6.2.1
jessiehipolit-3
03 August 2018
Hi, I just love the icon feature in MacJournal. I love images and hooking one to each Journal is so fun. However, they are sooo tiny! i would like to make them bigger to enjoy them more - kind of like you can make the icons bigger in the Mac dock. HINT, HINT!
Like (1)
Version 6.2.1
Scott-C-H-
01 February 2018
No updates since 2016. I bought this app a long time ago and abandoned it after getting tired of bugs in the iOS app. (Using it on both Mac and iPhone was important to me, so iOS usability mattered in deciding what to do with the Mac version.) I'm glad I abandoned it and got the personal data out before the app stops working. It is a class case of why I won't use this type of app again. Day One, etc. are all "roach motel" when it comes to storing your personal data. It's best to keep my personal thoughts in plain text files stored in an encrypted disk image. People waste so much time moving from one app to another every time someone decides to abandon an app like this. Always make sure your data is accessible outside your app.
Like (2)
Version 6.2.1
2 answer(s)
szeoli-1
szeoli-1
11 February 2018
I recently emailed Mariner Software to ask about the future of MacJournal. I got a response fairly quickly telling me they were working on a new version. They provided no details about exactly when it would come out or what it would entail. I am hopeful they weren't just blowing smoke, because MacJournal is a terrific writing app -- unless you prefer editing in Markdown.
Like (1)
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
07 March 2018
@szeoli-1

To me, it's too late. Some of the bugs in iOS app never got fixed, and besides that, I'm sick and tired of how "everything bucket" or note apps always try to lock people into their proprietary data format. You are at the mercy of these apps working or even launching once your data is locked into them. And, I don't count "Export/Import" feature as a pass, because I have seen it fail more than a few times, and when it does, there is no way of accessing my data.

Granted, ultimately, you can't escape it; Illustrator files are tough to open in any other apps, for example. Word files don't render well in other alternatives when they contain complex layout. I have to export them to other generic formats. My point is, why add one more of them to deal with when I can keep my notes and journals in plain text format? I don't want my workflow to be dependent upon some moody indie developers.
Like (2)
Gazman
22 January 2018
No updates since 2016? This app used to be regularly updated and improved once upon a time. Alas, it’s interface now seems outdated and ‘clunky. in comparison to other alternatives. (I know 2016 isn’t that long ago, but I’m pretty sure version 6 has been out for a while before then).
Like (2)
Version 6.2.1
Lord-Lightning
12 February 2017
Use it every day. Brilliant. Does exactly what it says it does on the tin. As far as I can tell it is the only Mariner app that is regularly updated and spiffed up. And that applies to the iOS version for iPads and also the iOS version for iPhone apps.
Like (2)
Version 6.2.1
Macbookpro
27 November 2016
Version 6.2.1 is out. Info about update is here. http://danschimpf.com/macjournal/history.html
Like (1)
Version 6.2
Zx81
26 November 2016
My favorite journaling app for ages ; fast and easy syncing via wifi with the IOS app too.
Steadily supported and updated.
Fast replies from support.
Like (1)
Version 6.2
Dgeo
24 March 2016
My version (6.1.x) uses the old unpatched Sparkle framework. Visited their site but their SSL certificate has expired since 2 weeks ago. Doesn't look good. Better be extra careful these days.
Like
Version 6.2
Jimw
22 March 2016
I use Apple Notes for this. I create folders for months and years, title my days with the date and make my entries using bullets. Backup is automatic, and it can be shared with other devices with iCloud. Notes now allow sorting in various modes (Latest version of El Capitan). It also allows the attachment of documents and graphics. I also have a "Services" as a contextual menu a keyboard shortcut that enters the current date as the title with a single keypress. What more do you really need? Besides that it is already free and installed on every Mac running OS X.
Like (2)
Version 6.2
Jessicajazz
03 February 2016
Just erased all data except for 2 entries. Erased or deleted thousands of phone numbers and other info. I have backups. That is IT. Together gets better. Nvalt is best. Thank goodness for NValt. Simpe = better.
Like
Version 6.1.7
2 answer(s)
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
15 March 2016
In nvALT you can't color important parts of the text. Colors are eye-catching and help me to quickly find the salient points.
Like
Jessicajazz
Jessicajazz
16 March 2016
I miss that too. I use Textwrangler to put everything in albhabetical order. That helps.
Like
Matt-M
22 October 2015
The software works well, and it has been supported for many years by the developer.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.5
Is it just me or do the 'pages' in MacJournal jump and move in jerky fashion when you try to place the cursor in certain places? I keep a lot of notes and often-used stuff in MacJournal but I always have to be careful of the page jumping around, often winding up in another area altogether. My "go-to" has lately been nvALT to store such notes because it's simple and solid, but no longer in development. I'm leaving MacJournal behind because, with all its bells and whistles, it comes up short for blogging and note-keeping. Still a nice, if overdone, app. Simple for me is better. For me.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.5
vicki-syal
24 April 2015
Okay, so I love this app. I've been using it for years. But I am frustrated that the last few updates have all just really been bugged out. The update that I paid to do a year ago- came with some weird glitch that affected all of my color-coding. Then today I just updated to the latest version, and every single button is blank. They work, but they're totally blank- kind of a pain if I want to do ANYTHING. MacJournal, I am torn. I use your Journal more than any other writing program I have, but every update I've done has only caused me grief.
Like
Version 6.1.5
Tomeg
27 October 2014
6.14 hangs on first launch, requiring Force Quit. Completely Uninstalling MacJ, downloading a fresh copy from Mariner's website, entering my registration number (accepted) the program hung again, Force Quit again. OS X 10.10 YOSEMITE -- iMac (21.5-inch, Mid 2011) Model Identifier: iMac12,1 Processor Name: Intel Core i5 Processor Speed: 2.5 GHz Number of Processors: 1 Total Number of Cores: 4 L2 Cache (per Core): 256 KB L3 Cache: 6 MB Memory: 16 GB Boot ROM Version: IM121.0047.B1F SMC Version (system): 1.71f22
Like
Version 6.1.4
1 answer(s)
photo1257
photo1257
05 February 2015
did you ever get a solution for your issue above? I cannot close my macjournal at all. I have tried to force quit, remove from dock, eject disc and anything else I can think of. It just sits in my dock opened. :(
Like
Bytes
15 October 2014
This release (v6.1.3) seems to allow spotlight to index entries and tags inside multiple journal categories once again. Thanks guys for finally bringing this (important to me) feature back to life. I've been a MacJournal user since 2009 and find it indispensable when storing away random thoughts, info, and tips inside an efficient and easily searchable database.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.3
Rampancy
15 October 2014
Ugh. I don't know what happened between MacJournal 5.x and MacJournal 6.x, but for some inexplicable reason it steadfastly refuses to download posts from either my Blogger account or my Tumblr account, repeatedly insisting that the blog server "could not be found" or "does not exist"...even though both accounts work fine in my web browser (yes, I even made sure to log out of all of my other Google accounts before trying with Blogger), and both accounts work perfectly in MarsEdit. Searching for help on the internet yields links to support forum posts from people who've had similar problems in the past, but those are 404'd because Mariner Software has basically deleted their support forums. To add insult to injury, Mariner's new Knowledgebase is completely useless in resolving this issue. Nor is it helpful in providing easy steps for adding external blog accounts to MacJournal, a process which is still opaque, awkward and clunky for users (as opposed to MarsEdit, where it's direct and dead simple). MacJournal is still a very solid app for offline journaling, but for any kind of online blogging, it's frustrating and nigh-useless to me.
Like (1)
Version 6.1.3
Derekcurrie
15 October 2014
The current link to the download is 404-ing. Apparently, we have to go through the marketing ringer in order to directly download it (versus updating from inside MacJournal). Here's the only URL I have found so far. BEWARE the fine print check boxes! https://marinersoftware.com/products/macjournal/#open-download
Like
Version 6.1.3
Complexity abounds here, but it's still my go-to app for all things great and small. Stable and reliable. "Search" never seemed to work for me too well but that's probably me. Good stuff.
Like
Version 6.1.2
Almar
05 April 2014
Sw is fine to me and runs ok on 10.7.5 MBP.
Like
Version 6.1.1
Almar
26 March 2014
Please, why Apple Store is still at 6.0?. Is ti possible to update by MU if I bought on AS? thanx
Like
Version 6.1.1
2 answer(s)
Marinermtg
Marinermtg
26 March 2014
Hi Almar- The new version was submitted last week so it should be approved in the Mac App Store any day.
Like (1)
Almar
Almar
05 April 2014
Thanks for answer, sw is fine to me and runs ok on 10.7.5 MBP. I will rate this. As for several software I bought on App Store, updates usually take months to be approved on AS. This is forcing me in moving to direct download. Cheers
Like (1)
Cocoanut
04 January 2014
MacJournal is wonderful, I've been using it for many years but I'm starting to wish for a real update. It's been a l-o-n-g time since the last major update and the interface is looking a bit out-of-date. I wish MJ would take some interface cues from Evernote which looks really good but I don't use because I refuse to use cloud services for private information. Plus Evernote doesn't have anywhere near the features of MJ such as timed locking, encryption, wifi sync, text tools, blogging and much more. I love it, but please update!
Like (1)
Version 6.0.10
Javaman
13 November 2013
Does anyone know if MJ 5.2.8 is compatible with OS X Mavericks? I did a quick search of the home page and the FAQs on Mariner's site but didn't come up with anything helpful. Thanks.
Like
Version 6.0.10
2 answer(s)
Marinermtg
Marinermtg
14 November 2013
We did a little testing and it seemed ok but MacJournal 5 is definitely not Mavericks supported. I would strongly recommend upgrading to MacJournal 6.
Like
Pik80
Pik80
11 January 2014
Javaman the $20 for the upgrade is totally worth it. Version 6 is an outstanding update at an outstanding price. I has been out for a while now so any glitches that might have been in the initial version should be gone by now. I can't think of any reason not to upgrade.
Like
Pik80
02 October 2013
Awesome update! I would say that version 6 is way better then version 5 which was already a very good product. The different ways to view the dates of your entries are outstanding, the ability to mark your entry by your mood is a nice touch, more space is now set aside for writing in, the icon for each entry is helpful, etc. If you read some of the negative reviews they will talk about how loading your journal online is a problem. I haven't tried this myself but I think this is ok, in fact I prefer for it not to work. I heard an interview with Oprah where she said she didn't want to load any of her journals online since there would always be people smarter then her who knew how to break into them. I think this was a wise thing to say. I keep a journal since there are things I want to keep private and I don't want anyone to read. The more difficult for those people to break into my journal the better. If blogging is so important to the people who gave this product one star maybe they just need to look around at other software that is really designed for blogging rather then trying to use a journal app to blog. I wish I could write a 5 star review to go up against the people on the MAS that gave it one star. That being said here are a few little tweaks I would love to see in version 7. - Make tagging easier, that little tagging box is way to small I can only see about 2-3 tags at a time. Perhaps tagging should work with Mavericks tags but the tags would somehow have to disappear when I lock the journal. Hmm, maybe that wouldn't be possible? - The ability to browse versions of journals over time would be nice (similar to how it is done in Pages.) It looks like MJ has a feature kind of like this but it doesn't seem to work as well as it does in Pages. - Background images - It is quite difficult to determine how a background image is going to look once you import it. If you have a photo that is high res it will only show you a small portion of the image since MJ always displays the photo in 100% view. This is a problem since most my photos are high res. Don't make me have to resize a photo every time I want to use it, there should be a more elegant solution then that. So all in all a great update. I rated the features for this app 4.5 out of 5. Just a few little tweaks and things will be working really well.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.9
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
02 October 2013
oh, one more thing. I would also like a larger selection of entries icons. MJ only gives you about 11 choices I can see how a large selection would be very helpful be being able to visually differentiate between the entries and sort through them later on with smart folders.
Like
anonymous-dingo-653
26 August 2013
I give MJ its due, for it has improved steadily over time. It does now successfully connect to some blog systems with ease (Blogger), though with others it still has problems. And its dependance on Atom instead of the Blogger native API is something of a let down. But more than this, one thing it doesn't do well is provide a legitimate "layout / publishing" functionality where online journaling (blogging) is concerned. Although I am not a "journaler" per se (and not to be confused with a "journalist"), I had hoped for more from MJ in the way of online journaling. That is, formating more than just basic text to make an actual online article look like a semi-professional article. It does not. It lacks some of the basics such as tiered headers, effective indentation, floating / wrap / and gap (margin or padding) for images and other none textual objects. Without these, the interaction between online and offline journaling is incomplete at best... and about 5 years out of date at the worst. Oh well, Mariner, you really need to pay attention. You have the opportunity to do something that would jump you ahead of the pack and bring something to the Mac world for which it has always lagged behind Windows and Linux. Take a hint, this is your opportunity to shine, for there are plenty of basic to advanced diary and journal apps already available for OS X.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.8
Mar6473
19 May 2013
I really like MacJournal and I want to use it; however, it does not work with Tumblr as it claims to. If anyone has got it to work I'd really appreciate it if you could post the settings.
Like
Version 6.0.6
Ron-Magness
04 December 2012
This app just keeps getting better and better.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.6
Bluelemon9
23 September 2012
I have been using MJ for a few years now. Maybe not for its exact intended purpose of journaling or blogging. But to keep track of many things in my life. My question here is how long will this license be good for? I worry that I will buy this version only to find Mariner putting out a new version in 3-6 months that requires me to shell out another $40. I do love MJ...but it is not the only program I could use.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
2 answer(s)
Marinermtg
Marinermtg
24 September 2012
Hi- If you've had MacJournal for a few years you are probably using MacJournal 5. We introduced MJ6 in Dec of 2011. Like most software companies, we charge for major upgrades but minor and slip releases are free. We don't expect the next major upgrade for some time. best, Logan Mariner
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
02 October 2013
@Bluelemon MJ 6 is a very solid product it is easily worth the $40. Also even when they put out another upgrade they don't require you to upgrade. I stayed on 5 a long time after version 6 was released (since my hardware wouldn't support V.6.)
Like
Svenster
22 September 2012
Unfortunately it would appear MacJournal is not comparable with OS 10.8.2 and or iOS 6 as it no longer syncs and the desktop application now just crashes after a few minutes of running. I hope they fix this soon as I use this software every day and at the moment it is dead in the water. Curious that it's on special right now.... I wouldn't make a commitment to it right now if you are on iOS 6 or 10.8.2 as you may be very frustrated by it.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.5
1 answer(s)
Johninsapporo
Johninsapporo
02 October 2012
I have MacJournal running with no problems on iOS6 and 10.8.2.
Like (1)
Achiever
24 August 2012
I am a long time user of MJ, but am no longer sure I can recommend it to others. In fact, I believe the app may be at a crossroads right now (at least it is for me). While MJ is certainly, by some length, the fullest featured, most well established journaling app out there, much of the recently added functionality (especially that added from v. 5.X to 6.x) will not be useful or necessary to the average user looking for a simple journaling application. Power users looking for an app to help them multitask with multiple blogs/journals will likely still find MJ to be the best for their usage. Additionally, I find the interface to be less intuitive as major versions are released, as well. There are a lot of journaling apps which have popped up over the last year or so, and at substantially lower prices (and with substantially better iOS complements and syncing). I would recommend strongly following the development of those apps before jumping in here. I know I am a feature update or two away from jumping to one of them, full time. For those who decide MJ is for them, I would strongly urge you to purchase it from Mariner's website and not through the MAS, where updates can take a long, long time to be released. As an example, a Mountain Lion compatible version (6.0.5) was released to direct purchasers on 7/26. As of the date of this post - almost a month later - no MAS (and hence no ML compatible) version is available through the MAS (and with no word or updates by Mariner to its customers). Also, the iCloud syncing promised on this product long ago has yet to be implemented, so even if you want to buy the accompanying iOS apps, Dropbox is the only way to do so at this point, further negating any reason to purchase through the MAS. Bottom line: while this may be the fullest featured journaling app out there, I no longer feel as though it's feature set is worthy of its very high price tag (relative to the other apps in the category), development of the other apps seems to be progressing at a much faster rate and purchase through the MAS will lead to frustration and delay on the part of the user. Recommended only for power users in need of a blogging/journaling app.
Like (9)
Version 6.0.5
Laurent-Couvreur
12 August 2012
Be careful to update to 6.0.5. I'd to go back to 6.0.3. When I open MacJournal and close the windows, it's unpossible do have another window. Obligation to quit...
Like
Version 6.0.5
John-C
26 July 2012
I've used this for a few months now for a record of daily work and home activities and it works well. I've tried other apps to function as diary record but this is easy to enter data and search and in particular, great syncing. It's great to have diary record on iphone on ipad that I can tag and search easily so when my wife asked me yesterday if I remembered when my daughter's last tetanus injection was (required by her upcoming school camp), I could look it up in a few seconds (and she was impressed). It's not the prettiest interface but very functional. I struggled to import previous years information but worth it in the end to be able to carry around all the information with me.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.5
Lord-Lightning
26 July 2012
Please add support for OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion. I rely on this app for day-to-day work and it is shirking its responsibility. At least it finally made me go to Devon Office Pro and that is great - if a little opaque, not as intuitive as MJ. The old MJ was just so good. I hanker for the elegance and simplicity of that version.
Like (1)
Version 6.0.3
3 answer(s)
Marinermtg
Marinermtg
26 July 2012
Hello LL- This version DOES support Mountain Lion. Logan
Like (2)
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
27 July 2012
Well there is an issue and it is located around the Gatekeeper settings.
Like
Lord-Lightning
Lord-Lightning
27 July 2012
Mea Maxima Culpa!!! Logan is indeed correct. I was using 6.0.3 thinking it was the latest version. Version 6.0.5 does run perfectly well on OSX 10.8. Go bury head in shame LL... Actually it seems faster and cleaner. I have 8.2GB in my MacJournal data base and it is as slick as. No problems with this version.
Like (1)
I have a request. Could we have have the old MacJournal back? One that runs on Lion? After V2, it got really messy. A billion features (and icons) but very difficult to use 'on the fly'. I want to like V6. But it's hard. When I import a PDF, for example, there is no way to resize it. And V6 doesn't want to remember window sizes and positions. Maybe a 'lite' version for those of us who are just too old to waste hours to learn about all the superfluous functions. You could even charge $19.95... I'm getting the distinct impression that to UPGRADE MJ means to get MORE FEATURES. I think upgrading should enhance user accessibility and make the app more human-friendly. Just sayin'.
Like (7)
Version 6.0.2
2 answer(s)
zo219
zo219
06 March 2012
This started happening when Mariner got their mitts on it. I miss Dan, the originak=l dev,
Like (4)
Mariner Software, Inc.
Mariner Software, Inc.
15 April 2012
Hi Jazzica and Zo219- Jazzica- Sorry you are having issues with MacJournal 6. If ever you have problems understanding the features or functionality of the product our Support folks are there to help. Email support@marinersoftware.com and they will assist in any way they can. Additionally, we have online video tutorials and a forum that can be helpful to get up and running. Also, we do have older versions of MacJournal available if you are running an older OS. Zo219 - Dan has been the developer since day one (and is today). Logan Ryan Mariner Software
Like (2)
Anthonyg65
18 February 2012
Love MacJournal! Just updated to version 6 and I use it to collect all my random thoughts, secure data and media clips. Awesome program!
Like (3)
Version 6.0.2
2 answer(s)
Macintosh-Sauce
Macintosh-Sauce
05 March 2012
Do you work for Mariner Software? Just saying...
Like (2)
Pik80
Pik80
02 October 2013
I don't work for Mariner and I just wrote an equally glowing review.
Like
ismos
26 January 2012
Very Nice program. Version 6 adds a lot of useful novel features: Unfortunately, the tagging procedure is not compatible with open_meta applications. This is would be a must to gather macjournal information in a working program linked by various tags
Like (4)
Version 6.0.2
1 answer(s)
Pik80
Pik80
02 October 2013
Even better the Openmeta would be to make it work with Mavericks tags.
Like
Does this update work from within MacJournal? When I click on 'check for updates' I get 'you have the latest version'... I'm of the mind that you don't post your updates on-line until you are completely good to go. And ... I sure do miss the old icons. Option to switch to colored icons hereby requested.
Like
Version 6.0.2
1 answer(s)
Tipp-Flo
Tipp-Flo
16 February 2012
The icons on the new MacJournal made me take a look back to how it was in SnowLeo. Felt that I really liked it more, especially in the Finder, and finally went back to work with SnowLeo again. Apple itself does not strictly use their new GUI-guidelines - take a look at iBooks Autor: all the colored icons are back. Not only that the new icons are grey, they are even smaller with that senseless squared line around, imitating a shadow on a real button. - To MacJournal6: Editing a entry in a new window opens it always a very small window. It does not remember the size and position of the window. This is nasty; you always have to resize it to go on working (if you prefer writing in a seperate window). So I stick here also with the old version.
Like
V6 is OK. My review is entirely subjective. If I could go back in time and get a version of 2.5 that magically ran on Lion I would do it. They are all PPC versions, though. Why? It was just so quick, and simple, and uncluttered. I used it for addresses, emails, and not much else. The search function worked great. But 6 is good. I miss all the icon colors but that's Lion so it's OK... Just very very feature-rich. Tool bar options are innumerable. In the age of Adobe, that's a good thing. I guess.
Like
Version 6.0
Maxter
15 December 2011
I have been using MJ since the free version. Even made a donation at that time (v.2.xx). I have bought licenses for the version 4 & 5. It's a very good app. Using it for data base, blogging, note taking, and much more... All over the years it has been rock solid and well integrated with the OS'(S). Downloaded version 6. It offers some more bells and whistles some are interesting others less. Decided to wait before I pay for an upgrade. Surprise!!! MJ 5 doesn't open the .mjdoc file anymore (message: the file has been modified...). Well, I do have a backup, so the issue was fixed within minutes. My point is: how come there's no mention about this? That's a completely unacceptable behavior. A warning should be the minimum requested. Shame on you Mariner Software. You're a bunch of M***erf**kers, or are you just part of a circus? Well, perhaps, I have to remind you I have bought your app for my work! Moreover one of the issue I've mentioned to you and would have liked to be fixed hasn't been done. Time to look for another journaling app?
Like (5)
Version 6.0
4 answer(s)
Guass
Guass
15 December 2011
Same problem, I tried version 6 but it's not in my native language (italian) yet, so I decided not to upgrade for now and to stay with version 5.x until there will be italian language for version 6. Reopened version 5.2.8 and it told me the file has been modified and it couldn't be used. And I have no backup... Two seconds of panic, then I used the logic... I reopened version 6 and exported the journal in version 5 format. Then, version 6 thrown in the trash (for now), reopened version 5 and imported my journal. So, no problem, it doesn't seem something so dramatic. But I admit that a little advice would be better.
Like (3)
Mariner Software, Inc.
Mariner Software, Inc.
15 December 2011
Hi Maxtar and Guass- Sorry for the confusion with the upgrade logistics. We haven't really heard this complaint arise all throughout the beta cycle and into the first day of the MJ6 release. We will look a better process with the next update. In the meantime, I took the liberty of copying a few pertinent knowledge base articles from our web site that could be applicable for you or anyone else. http://marinersoftware.corphelp.com/kb_article.php?ref=9771-WEYL-8153 http://marinersoftware.corphelp.com/kb_article.php?ref=9326-RUAM-8899 Guass- By the way, we opted to introduce MacJournal 6 as English-only but will be rolling out other languages in the not too distant future. Again, apologies for the issues. Logan Ryan Mariner Software
Like (2)
Maxter
Maxter
15 December 2011
I have been using this app for 10 years. Not getting any answer to any question is what is Xpect from Adobe, M$ or Apple, but some smaller (just as yours) software company do have a better listening to their customer. That's one of the reason why I like them. Your just a shame, and your reckless behavior doesn't encourage me to continue my "collaboration" with your company. Not taking care about their long term user base is Xactly the policy Apple has introduced recently. Up to you to follow them since you're not looking further than your nose!
Like
Mariner Software, Inc.
Mariner Software, Inc.
16 December 2011
Ok What is your question? Maybe I can answer it. Logan
Like (4)
Ericg
15 December 2011
I downloaded MacJournal and everything went perfectly. However, I cannot edit an image once its inserted into a journal entry. Scaling functions do not appear to work. As a result, I can't use MacJournal for blogging.
Like
Version 6.0
3 answer(s)
Mariner Software, Inc.
Mariner Software, Inc.
15 December 2011
Hi Eric- This shouldn't be an issue. Could you try quitting MacJournal 6 and relaunching? Logan Ryan Mariner Software
Like
Ericg
Ericg
15 December 2011
I did just that and it did correct the problem. Now if I could only figure out to have images show up in my wordpress blog through MacJournal, I would be a very "happy camper".
Like
Ericg
Ericg
15 December 2011
MacJournal 6 is not quite ready for 'prime' time. It's handling of photo media is less than poor. App cannot scale images and often crashes when asked to scale. I'm sure that this is something that the developers can correct, but until they do stick with MarsEdit if you're intending to use MacJournal for blogging.
Like (1)
Dsw1958
15 December 2011
I am running MacJournal 5.2.8. When I check for updates it says I am up to date. Why does it not tell me there is an update or upgrade? Even if it is a paid upgrade I would like to know.
Like (1)
Version 6.0
1 answer(s)
Maxter
Maxter
15 December 2011
It's a paid upgrade with no warning. Once you have launched MJ6. The.mjdoc file will not be readable by previous versions. Their behavior is totally unacceptable.
Like (4)
dwp-1
14 December 2011
Consistently crashing for me, V 6.0 ;(
Like
Version 6.0
3 answer(s)
Jfschumacher
Jfschumacher
15 December 2011
Not having the same experience. So far very good.
Like
Ericg
Ericg
15 December 2011
I'm also not having that problem.
Like
dwp-1
dwp-1
15 December 2011
Wonder if it is because I am using a document from version 5.
Like
Kzx72
14 December 2011
I've used MacJournal off and on for a while and consider it probably the best journal program available for the mac platform. For aspiring writers, script writing, novel writing you really can't go wrong. Comes with audio capture, a WriteRoom styled full screen option, the ability to encrypt documents...also has an option to add pictures and songs from iTunes.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.8
Lupowilk
06 December 2011
For me i'st the perfect journal app. I'm using it form 2 years, and had never had a crash, or any kind of problem. I just use it. And that is great and very valuable. If You need a Journal App, that is focus on writing, give a try to MacJournal.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.8
rw49
18 September 2011
It doesn't allow text wrapping round pictures! Sorry but that makes it a complete "No" for me.
Like
Version 5.2.8
Nomislui
07 September 2011
I use it to write blog everyday, which do everything automatically, including easy photo import
Like
Version 5.2.8
silverlaker
24 August 2011
After using MacJournal for five months, I am furious that I lost data today when the application did it's update to a new version. Suddenly I'm missing data-entries left and right. Searching Mariner's knowledge database is near useless; the entries were closed in May, 2011 and there's no way to contact the developer. I've tried what I could google online... finding the backup files has done nothing to resolve this loss of data. Between Mariner's bad customer service and an update that has caused the loss of five months of work information I can only say this is GARBAGE.
Like (3)
Version 5.2.8
1 answer(s)
xXAkumuXx
xXAkumuXx
29 September 2011
Not to annoy you, but you should always do a backup for updating to ANY new version of a program... and to keep a backup of the current version of the app should there be issues with the new version. Also, you should have had a backup of your data either on an external or elsewhere. Things like this happen. If your hard drive were to fail one day you can't blame Apple. Backups are crucial... and if it is something extremely important to you... have backups of your backups.
Like (2)
Jief
19 August 2011
Good, stable, rich and simple. I use MacJournal for private and professional needs. I use it so much, that i only use a word processor to finalize a printable mail or a client offer. I hope a future version can come up with a little more aethetic update.
Like (1)
Version 5.2.7