Back to macOS Server page
macOS Server free download for Mac

macOS Server Reviews5.11

16 December 2020

Quickly and easily turn a Mac into a server (was OS X Server).

How would you rate macOS Server?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
schmelding
schmelding
Oct 10 2019
5.9
1.0
Oct 10 2019
1.0
Version: 5.9
Tim Cook needs to be iFired. Apple is just over-priced, glued together novelty junk now. Pains me to say it.
C-dLt
C-dLt
Sep 30 2018
5.7.1
0.5
Sep 30 2018
0.5
Version: 5.7.1
Apple removed the open source stuff in the last version 5.7.1 It is now pretty useless for me.
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Apr 25 2018
5.6.1
0.0
Apr 25 2018
0.0
Version: 5.6.1
The following Apple guide tells you how to replace Server App with open source code. It is only 42 pages, what could be simpler than that? ;-) https://developer.apple.com/support/macos-server/macOS-Server-Service-Migration-Guide.pdf In case you are wondering, I’m not serious about this being simple. Although it does open a third party opportunity for those with programming skills to fill the void, left by Apple.
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Apr 17 2018
5.6.1
0.0
Apr 17 2018
0.0
Version: 5.6.1
v5.6.1 was released April 16, 2018. Unfortunately, the page here at MU only describes v5.6. Apple has released an updated 'What's New' specific to v5.6.1 here:

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208646

MU shouldn't feel bad about not yet updating their 'What's New' information. Apple hasn't either over at their Mac App Store! (o_O) Disappointing.

Side Comments:
-> The panic over Apple pulling open source software from macOS Server is overblown. All of it is still available as, for course, open source software available to all. What's lost is the convenience of accessing these programs from within the macOS Server installation. However, Server does "guide customers to acquire these same services directly from the open source providers."
-> Of late, Apple has developed a POOR reputation for supporting the Mac. Part of the problem is obviously Intel's repeatedly slipping CPU release schedule, making the release of new CPU Macs slower. For the time being, Moore's Law is clearly dead. But the continual Apple Bungles®™ regarding macOS 10.13 High Sierra, APFS, the lack of a Mac mini update, as well as the delayed repair of the ongoing mess that is Mac Pro have all brought shame on Apple. I consider this to be a management problem. Reorganization is in order as well as sending all executives back to Jobs school.
chasjunk
chasjunk
Apr 17 2018
5.6.1
0.0
Apr 17 2018
0.0
Version: 5.6.1
I like how all the panicky/hostile reviews this month don't bother quoting the whole message from Apple. For those with reading comprehension issues, here's the rest: "To help prepare for this transition, these services -- which are still included in macOS Server 5.6 --will no longer be visible in the Server App sidebar for new installations. Existing installations that update to macOS Server 5.6 will be unaffected and will continue to work as usual. We continue to actively develop and support the other features of macOS Server, including Open Directory, Profile Manager and Xsan management." So let's review for the slow ones in the back: 1. The open source stuff will no longer be bundled in, BUT Apple will include guidance on how to get these things directly. 2. So that means Server users can keep these vital components updated much more quickly than waiting for Apple to issue a new version of Server. GEE THAT SOUNDS AWFUL. 3. The parts of Server that Apple develops will continue to be developed. ERMAGERD WHAT A DISASTER. So as it turns out NOTHING is deprecated, but security is considerably improved by letting admins update the open source components as they are updated rather than having to wait.
cooper-6
cooper-6
Apr 2 2018
5.6
0.0
Apr 2 2018
0.0
Version: 5.6
People need to begin seeing the truth. Apple is not killing the Macintosh Server; Apple is killing the Macintosh in it its entirety. It is a process. First they kill AppleScript on Pages, Numbers, etc., calling it an improvement, then they slowly stop supporting the OS itself, then they kill Server, etc. Eventually they will stop making Macintosh. Their money is in iPhones/iPads/ etc. When Steve Jobs died, Apple died. Apple never learns. This is what nearly killed Apple post Jobs the first time, and it is what will eventually be the downfall of Apple in the future. Jobs had vision in a company he loved, Cook has a job that pays him millions in a company that is nothing more to him but a cash cow..
Ced
Ced
Mar 30 2018
5.6
5.0
Mar 30 2018
5.0
Version: 5.6
It was too great, so apple decided to abandon it.
rlf
rlf
Mar 30 2018
5.6
0.5
Mar 30 2018
0.5
Version: 5.6
"This Fall, Apple plans to cease bundling the open source services (Calendar Server, Contacts Server, Messages Server, Mail Server, DNS, DHCP, VPN Server, and Websites) in macOS Server" I want my money back!
mvot
mvot
Mar 30 2018
5.6
0.5
Mar 30 2018
0.5
Version: 5.6
Is this a joke? Apple is killing server app. All the services "Calendar Server, Contacts Server, Messages Server, Mail Server, DNS, DHCP, VPN Server, and Websites" will be disabled. I want my money back. How can I now sync contacts and calendar with apple tools and not use their could services which I will not use?
wblume
wblume
Mar 30 2018
5.6
0.0
Mar 30 2018
0.0
Version: 5.6
"cease bundling the open source services (Calendar Server, Contacts Server, Messages Server, Mail Server, DNS, DHCP, VPN Server, and Websites" Just everything I bought Server (and my Mac Mini) for. How do they still call this "Server?" Will they take it all back, please?
Phoenixdownunder
Phoenixdownunder
Jan 28 2018
5.5
0.5
Jan 28 2018
0.5
Version: 5.5
Don't touch this software. Apple has completely destroyed what we know as a Server product. Everything is being deprecated. Don't waste your money. Apple is no longer a user friendly organisation. This has been evident really since they refused to support NFS variants a few years back. Networking is obviously too difficult for Apple's Snowflake engineers. 0 out of 10.
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
Jan 25 2018
5.5
5.0
Jan 25 2018
5.0
Version: 5.5
Evidently Apple is in the process of killing macOS Server: https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT208312 This is a great – under appreciated app that is a stable, powerful and secure solution for schools, small business, and education. Apple's lack of vision and support of Server is inexcusable.
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
Sep 26 2017
5.4
0.0
Sep 26 2017
0.0
Version: 5.4
Dear Tim, What would be really useful to go with this software would be A NEW MAC MINI or a NEW MAC PRO MINI, using an iMac or Macbook as a server just doesn't seem right to me...
Apveenstra
Apveenstra
Oct 26 2015
5.0.15
0.0
Oct 26 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.15
Does anybody know if this adds the ability to configure RAID sets, or do we have to live without RAID support on El Capitan, even on the server version?
Mcr
Mcr
Sep 28 2015
5.0.4
0.0
Sep 28 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.4
MESSAGE TO MACUPDATE: this description needs updating. OS X Server version 5 runs on BOTH Yosemite and El Capitan. Server software is no longer tied to OS version.
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Sep 22 2015
5.0.3
0.0
Sep 22 2015
0.0
Version: 5.0.3
version 5.0.4 is out. go to app store to update.
iSkippy
iSkippy
Sep 21 2015
5.0.3
4.5
Sep 21 2015
4.5
Version: 5.0.3
Love that Server is now OS-independent, and that the version I own now will work perfectly on El Capitan. Previously, a version of Server that ran on, say, Mavericks, required a paid upgrade to a version that would work on Yosemite. Server 5 appears to have eliminated that. So what's the big deal about $20 a year? Most corporations can swing that, right? Well, I'm not a business…I'm a home user. So why do I use Server? Read on, and you might decide to use it yourself. My household has three Macs: my mid-2011 iMac (which is running Server); my mid-2012 MacBook Air; and a late-2007 iMac. There are also two current iOS devices: my iPhone 5; and an iPad 2. In my setup, Server's caching server is a godsend; I download an app or software update on one device, and, so long as the update is compatible, other devices are able to use a cached download on my iMac instead of having to fetch it from Apple's servers again. Even though I have a reasonably fast internet connection, the caching server seems a lot faster than redownloading the app or update. As well, this helps with bandwidth concerns; if your connection is metered and you have a lot of devices to update, caching server should prevent you from using too much bandwidth. Another great feature is centralized Time Machine backups. Now, in some cases, an AirPort Time Capsule may be a better option, if, say, you didn't want to leave a Mac on all the time, or you want to upgrade your network to a fast 802.11ac connection. However, if you don't want to spend the money on a Time Capsule (for example, if your networking hardware is good enough, or you've got ample storage on an external drive already connected to a Mac), Server facilitates setup of a centralized point for Time Machine backups, appearing much like a Time Capsule would. Each of the Macs in my household does have its own external hard disk for backups, but I do like the redundancy of having a second centralized backup on my 2 TB external drive connected to my iMac. Backups aren't as speedy, of course, but I'd say they're about comparable to the speed of my cousin's 802.11n Time Capsule. (Also, for the longest time, I couldn't figure out why my iMac would wake up in the night, go back to sleep, and repeatedly wake and sleep again; turns out Power Nap was enabled on my MacBook, and it was trying to back up to the sleeping iMac, which was kindly waking for network access. Problem was, it was waking *me* too, so Power Nap got turned off.) The only problem I'm having with Server is that I can't seem to get NetInstall working properly. NetInstall, if it worked properly, would allow me to have network-bootable versions of OS X, as well as OS X installers and a back-to-basics restore image. It probably has something to do with the network infrastructure in my home, but I simply can't get any of the other computers to boot from a NetBoot, NetInstall, or NetRestore image. All in all, even home users can benefit from having Server on a desktop Mac. Even if you don't use anything else, the caching server and Time Machine server can prove indispensable for a home setup.
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
Aug 16 2015
4.1.5
5.0
Aug 16 2015
5.0
Version: 4.1.5
Flawless install on each of five servers we admin. The UI is clean, easy to decipher, and powerful. Stability and reliability have been exceptional with 99.99+% uptime, usually only downtime is for updates. All services and cross-platform capabilities run efficiently even on older hardware. For SMB, home, or educational use – cannot recommend anything easier or better.
mrsidoric
mrsidoric
Jul 4 2015
4.1.3
5.0
Jul 4 2015
5.0
Version: 4.1.3
Been using Apple server software ever since ASIP 6.3.1 – and currently admin four OS X Servers on the latest release of Yosemite and Server for several non-profits and a large museum. OS X Server is easy to install and upgrade – and offers the novice or seasoned admin powerful tools lurking under a user-friendly, approachable GUI. Our uptime is consistently > 99.9% and CPU utilization rarely hits above 20% under heavy load. I would also add that when other boxes in our datacenter bow under a DDoS flood – OS X Server remains online under brutal conditions. Properly configured – there is none better. Best practices is the secret: and there are many excellent ebooks and print to get you there. Arek Dreyer's are some of the best. In competent, careful hands – OS X Server is reliable, economical, and robust.
Foulger
Foulger
Jan 7 2015
4.0.3
4.5
Jan 7 2015
4.5
Version: 4.0.3
Installed very well but confusion in that performing a get info shows it only to be version 4 as before, not 4.03
Deemery
Deemery
Oct 27 2014
4.0
1.0
Oct 27 2014
1.0
Version: 4.0
For some reason, Mavericks Server last update messed up my AFP file mounts. So I thought "good reason to roll forward". That was a big mistake! Yosemite Server installed on top of Yosemite installed on top of Mavericks was a total mess, nothing worked right. Trying to reload server settings from stuff saved under Mavericks server was an exercise in futility. Then I did a clean install (from the downloaded installer onto an erased volume) of Yosemite followed by Yosemite Server. The key thing I need to get my minimal server installation file sharing to work is to -make sure the User UID and group GID under the new server installation match the old installation. The on-line and Apple.com help say "Control-Click on the username to see and set 'Advanced options'" That does NOT (bleeping!) WORK. I'm sure there's some way to fix this using the Command Line, but I'm really tired of having to work around obvious bugs in Apple's software, particularly server software. The only good thing I can say about Yosemite Server is that at least it seems to have fixed the continuous nag about Certificates; it understands and uses its own self-generated certificate. But that's not much use if I can't get File Sharing to work with my existing files and previously established accounts.
Makosuke
Makosuke
Oct 24 2014
4.0
4.5
Oct 24 2014
4.5
Version: 4.0
Server 4.0 (Yosemite) is, at least on my network, the first version since Snow Leopard Server that is fully functional with Windows clients (I'm using a Mini server in a mixed environment of about two dozen Macs of varying vintage and Windows 7 clients, mainly as a file server). I never even tried 10.7. The SMBX server in 10.8 was apparently an improvement, but was still so broken for me (and many others) that I was forced to replace it with Samba. 10.9 was a lot closer, but still had bugs that would cause some Windows clients problems when saving Office documents directly to the server. Based on the related thread on Apple's forums, this is a common issue. 10.10 *finally* fixes every issue I've personally seen in my environment (most of the people I've seen posting during beta testing and since release back this up as more broadly accurate). Migration is easy, it actually serves files to Windows clients reliably, and it's cheap. At long last. It may lack a few of the industrial-strength features of 10.6, but for most purposes it's easy to install, easy to set up, and very easy to administer. it's definitely the first release since 10.6 that I'd personally recommend in a mixed environment. One tip: If Windows clients are either old (XP) or have the security level overridden to be below 3 (don't require NLTMv2), they will fail to connect to Yosemite server on a "bad password" error, although that has nothing to do with the actual reason for the failed login. You will need to edit the registry to fix this (either overriding the default on XP or correcting the lowered level on 7 or 8), but this reliably fixes the issue, and improves overall security, too.
Foulger
Foulger
Sep 18 2014
3.2.1
4.5
Sep 18 2014
4.5
Version: 3.2.1
For the first time ever, new server came up with "A problem was detected with Server. Please redownload server from the app store". Problem turned out to be /Library//PrivilegedHelperTools/com.apple.serverd file. Removing that cured the problem but my server ended up being renamed "mail" instead of "server". First time I did an upgrade without repairing permissions, so perhaps it was me but I thought I would publish the fix.
Teksestro
Teksestro
Apr 26 2014
3.1.1
2.0
Apr 26 2014
2.0
Version: 3.1.1
PROS: - easy to instal and get going, even for newbie administrators without much knowledge of networking protocols - good range of BASIC services available (basic web server, basic basic contacts/calendar/file server) - integrates well with Apple ecosystem - iPhone, iPad, Macs CONS: - FTP server is ridiculously underdeveloped (capable of serving only one single directory). Yes, ftp is an outdated protocol, but still widely used and supported by most web development programs and workflows. - Mail server is plagued with bugs, caveats and functionality issues - ie., you are unable to easily setup redirects to outside domains (trying to do this using Server.app will mess up your Open Directory domain and cause network address issues). The Mail server gets 'too busy' very often, failing to respond to client requests, which cause Apple Mail to constantly present error dialogues to clients (and cause endless support requests). - Wiki has a lovely interface, but is only appropriate for use in a LAN server: it has MAJOR security flaws that can put your company at risk if visible to the outside world (i.e., extremely difficult to disable 'People' pages, 'All Activity', and others). Also: impossible to truly customise the look or functionality of the Wiki, if needed. - Message server requires iCloud, which negates the need for a server in the first place. Also: Message server not supported by Apple's own Messages client app. - SSL Certificate creation and management is difficult rudimentary - extremely awkward to create wildcard or multi-domain certificates, and using different certificates for different services may cause incompatibilities and bugs - Several services are of extremely limited value to the vast majority of small-to-medium sized businesses (Xsan, Xcode, NetInstal) and it may have been better for Apple to have focused its R&D on fine-tuning and polishing the other services (i.e., making custom web apps easier to configure and instal or improving FTP and Mail Server). CONCLUSION: Apple's Server seems not to have found a useable balance between usability and functionality: it is too complex a Server for small business users to set up on their own, and does not have the required flexibility and reliability for usage by savvy System Admins. Some of its parts are barely usable (FTP, Mail, Message), others have gaping holes that prevent their use outside the most restricted contexts (Wiki), and others still have very limited appeal (Xcode, Xsan). While this is a slight improvement over Mountain Lion Server, it is simply does not provide a usable solution yet to neither small business owners operating on their own, nor larger companies that need more reliability and configurability in its server parts.
Ali-Kaylan
Ali-Kaylan
Feb 26 2014
3.0.2
1.0
Feb 26 2014
1.0
Version: 3.0.2
Updated to 3.0.3 this morning
Deemery
Deemery
Oct 24 2013
3.0
1.0
Oct 24 2013
1.0
Version: 3.0
Do not Install Mavericks if you need VPN! There are substantial problems with VPN running on on this. Installing base Mavericks will (not surprisingly) disable previous Server product. I'm also having problems with mobile account synching. This was NOT ready for release. Someone wrote on an Apple support forum, "I paid $19.95 to Apple to beta test Server 3." I have a lot of sympathy with that perspective.
Deemery
Deemery
Sep 18 2013
2.2.2
1.0
Sep 18 2013
1.0
Version: 2.2.2
I'm getting an error from "Profile Service", but that's not something I depend on. Anyone else seen that? Anyone got a fix/workaround?
Macbookpro
Macbookpro
Sep 18 2013
2.2.2
0.0
Sep 18 2013
0.0
Version: 2.2.2
Seems to be working fine with 10.8.5 on mac mini server.
KarlH9898
KarlH9898
Sep 18 2013
2.2.2
4.0
Sep 18 2013
4.0
Version: 2.2.2
No Problems.
Winet
Winet
Aug 6 2013
2.2.1
2.0
Aug 6 2013
2.0
Version: 2.2.1
We had to change the Hardware. So I Setup the RAID first and then TimeMachine rollback. In fact that was running smooth and easy. But then the Server App starts to crash many times a day. I removed the BackUp Disk and it is getting better (the same disk is working on My mac without a problem) but still the server App is crashing on regular base. It is very frustrating. As somebody said earlier I would pay more money for a clean Server Software but this one is crab. We have to run a company and we not playing around just for fun. So apple move and get this fixed.
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Feb 5 2013
2.2.1
0.0
Feb 5 2013
0.0
Version: 2.2.1
Anyone know if this means we can push Apple App Store updates to users with the same "softwareupdate -i -a" command we've used before for normal OS X updates?
Panpagan
Panpagan
Feb 2 2013
2.2
0.0
Feb 2 2013
0.0
Version: 2.2
Ok, that's it. I'm back on 10.6 Server. I experimented with 10.7 Server and 10.8 Server. In comparison to older versions they suck. I have a small company network with servers and lots of fibre channel datastorage to run. Maybe it's good for SOHO, but not for company use. I'm still willing to pay 400 to 500 bucks or even more for decent server software. Seems like I have to look for alternatives in future.
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Cerniuk (Captcha H8r)
Dec 30 2012
2.2
2.5
Dec 30 2012
2.5
Version: 2.2
Still continues in the right direction with a very polished Apple-esk interface. Unfortunately still hindered by the malfunctioning hobbyware open source server software products below the hood. Today's challenge: to get RADIUS server working against a Time Capsule. Epic Fail. Using the Server app, logged into the Time Capsule via the Airport management interface "Enter your Airport password to manage Airport settings with Server". Checked the box on using username and password for logging into wifi network. That disabled access to the wifi network completely. Reset the Time Capsule via hardware reset using pin. Tried to login to Time Capsule from Server app using default "public" password for a reset Airport / Time Capsule. No go. Had to use Airport Utility to set the Time Capsule back up from scratch. Tried to login to the newly setup Time Capsule via Server app, all I get is "Incorrect Password". managing Airport settings with Server is SNAFU in Mac OS X Server 10.8 using Server app.
Edified
Edified
Dec 8 2012
2.2
0.0
Dec 8 2012
0.0
Version: 2.2
Anyone able to find or post the documentation for 2.2's new caching feature? Does it require that the machines subscribe to a directory server?
Deemery
Deemery
Oct 4 2012
2.1.1
1.0
Oct 4 2012
1.0
Version: 2.1.1
Well, my Server installation got 'confused' after applying this update. Apparently not all of my settings were converted/rolled over. I -think- going back and updating/changing the system name fixed things (afp:// mounts weren't working, and that was a real problem! ftp:// mounts worked OK, and DNS records were configured.) I must have done something right, because a few hours later afp:// mounts started working. I -hate it- when something breaks and fixes itself, and I don't know why. The intent is good, the potential is there, but Server is NOT READY for SOHO use. In my case, I have some Unix SysAdmin experience and a lot of Unix user experience, so I can do some digging under the covers when things start to break.
bobbistyle
bobbistyle
Sep 21 2012
2.1
1.0
Sep 21 2012
1.0
Version: 2.1
They killed the real Admin app in 10.8 and this update brings back the DHCP option, but it doesn't work as required. No NAT control at all and the default DHCP always tries to share the incorrect port!! (And auto corrects custom settings). Neither an upgrade from a 10.7 Server or clean install option work. Useless for NAT/DHCP *unless* u own an AirPort Xtreme.... !!! PLEASE bring back some REAL control OR rename it something other than Server.... i.e. Sharer.... Grrrr!!
bmantzey
bmantzey
Jul 27 2012
2.0
2.5
Jul 27 2012
2.5
Version: 2.0
I just downloaded and installed Mountain Lion (the day after its release). The next day I decided to install Mac OS X Server, so I dished out $20 and downloaded it from the App Store. "setting up your server is incredibly simple" - Yeah okay. This is exactly what I do: 1) Open server. The "Set up your server" screen comes up. 2) Click "Continue". 3) Click "Agree". 4) Authenticate I get a dialog box that slides down and says, "Could not connect to the server." The only option is "OK". 5) I select Manage->Connect to server..., and choose "This mac" from the list and click "Continue". It brings me back to the same screen that I started with. 6) Repeat 1-4. Same results, except that the application exits. There aren't many options at all and I can see nothing else I can even try. I'm on a Mac Pro connected wirelessly to a Time Capsule. My ISP is Comcast. Do I need to do any special configuration to my router or adjust any other settings? There's no documentation out there for this new product and nobody else has had any similar issues. Any help is greatly appreciated.
bmantzey
bmantzey
Jul 27 2012
2.0
2.5
Jul 27 2012
2.5
Version: 2.0
I just downloaded and installed Mountain Lion (the day after its release). The next day I decided to install Mac OS X Server, so I dished out $20 and downloaded it from the App Store. "setting up your server is incredibly simple" - Yeah okay. This is exactly what I do: 1) Open server. The "Set up your server" screen comes up. 2) Click "Continue". 3) Click "Agree". 4) Authenticate I get a dialog box that slides down and says, "Could not connect to the server." The only option is "OK". 5) I select Manage->Connect to server..., and choose "This mac" from the list and click "Continue". It brings me back to the same screen that I started with. 6) Repeat 1-4. Same results, except that the application exits. There aren't many options at all and I can see nothing else I can even try. I'm on a Mac Pro connected wirelessly to a Time Capsule. My ISP is Comcast. Do I need to do any special configuration to my router or adjust any other settings? There's no documentation out there for this new product and nobody else has had any similar issues. Any help is greatly appreciated.
bmantzey
bmantzey
Jul 27 2012
2.0
2.5
Jul 27 2012
2.5
Version: 2.0
I just downloaded and installed Mountain Lion (the day after its release). The next day I decided to install Mac OS X Server, so I dished out $20 and downloaded it from the App Store. "setting up your server is incredibly simple" - Yeah okay. This is exactly what I do: 1) Open server. The "Set up your server" screen comes up. 2) Click "Continue". 3) Click "Agree". 4) Authenticate I get a dialog box that slides down and says, "Could not connect to the server." The only option is "OK". 5) I select Manage->Connect to server..., and choose "This mac" from the list and click "Continue". It brings me back to the same screen that I started with. 6) Repeat 1-4. Same results, except that the application exits. There aren't many options at all and I can see nothing else I can even try. I'm on a Mac Pro connected wirelessly to a Time Capsule. My ISP is Comcast. Do I need to do any special configuration to my router or adjust any other settings? There's no documentation out there for this new product and nobody else has had any similar issues. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Deemery
Deemery
Jul 25 2012
2.0
1.0
Jul 25 2012
1.0
Version: 2.0
Documentation on Apple's ML Server page points to Lion Server documentation. Anyone have info on what's changed/added/deleted?
Virtualruffy
Virtualruffy
Jul 25 2011
10.6.8 v1.1
0.0
Jul 25 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.8 v1.1
What, are they afraid to call it OSX 10.6.9?? It would be the best named OS of all time. Colbert would have a blast asking if people had '6.9 their computer.
star-affinity
star-affinity
Jan 7 2011
10.6.6
0.0
Jan 7 2011
0.0
Version: 10.6.6
Great! The AppStore is just what we need for the ten Mac OS X Server machines we have here at work. Ehh, wait... :)
Factac
Factac
Nov 17 2010
10.6.5
0.0
Nov 17 2010
0.0
Version: 10.6.5
10H575 is still the newest. This update is 10H575. The one from Nov. 10 that was pulled is 10H574.
Sp0radic
Sp0radic
Nov 15 2010
10.6.5
0.0
Nov 15 2010
0.0
Version: 10.6.5
It looks like Apple have removed the update from their servers.
MacUpdate-Trevor
MacUpdate-Trevor
Apr 13 2010
10.6.3 v1.1
0.0
Apr 13 2010
0.0
Version: 10.6.3 v1.1
"If you don't see the Mac OS X v10.6.3 Supplemental Update in Software Update, you don't need to install it."
Spectral7
Spectral7
Sep 11 2009
10.6.1
3.0
Sep 11 2009
3.0
Version: 10.6.1
The worlds most advanced operating system, patched very quickly ;-)
macman33
macman33
Jan 18 2009
10.5.6
0.0
Jan 18 2009
0.0
Version: 10.5.6
This update gave my computer all kinds of BUGS, including a bug that Apple had never had to deal with before. Tech Support agreed with me that the beast thing to do was to use timemachine to return the sustem to its preupdate state, and then apply the combo update (Doing repairs at every stage of the fix). This seemed to fix everything except that my Logitech Wireless laser mouse goes crazy every day, and I have to use the power button to shut down my computer and reboot it.
Mark-C
Mark-C
Mar 21 2007
10.4.9
0.0
Mar 21 2007
0.0
Version: 10.4.9
The 10.4.9 Server update has seemed to kill our email services. it appears that it has damaged the Pearl core in some way. We are not able to send or receive ANY mail. WAIT FOR NEWER UPDATE!!!
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
Mar 18 2007
10.4.9
0.0
Mar 18 2007
0.0
Version: 10.4.9
From MacInTouch.com: "The folks at Unsanity may finally have unravelled the mystery of randomly-disastrous Apple software updates: Shock and Awe: How Installing Apple's Updates can Render Your Mac Unbootable and How You Can Prevent it ... When you see the "Optimizing System Performance" phase of a software update, Mac OS X is really updating prebinding. Updating prebinding has a very, very nasty bug in it (look at _dyld_update_prebinding). If multiple processes are updating prebinding at the same time, then it is possible for a system file to be completely zero'd out. Basically, all data in the file is deleted and it is replaced with nothing. This bug is usually triggered when updating Mac OS X and every update to Mac OS X has the potential to render your system unbootable depending on if the "right" file is deleted or not. It's triggered during the "Optimizing System Performance" phase of installing an update. This phase is actually just running update_prebinding. If you launch an application that links to libraries that are not yet prebound, there is a chance one of those files will be zero'd out as dyld automatically redoes the prebinding on that file. I've been tracking this particular bug for about 18 months now. Most of the real "random" failures reported on various Mac OS X "troubleshooting" sites after a user has installed an Apple software update are actually manifestations of this bug. By real I mean not imagined problems or ones that have been there for a very long time but the user is just now noticing it and artificially connecting the cause to the recent update (it's called Pareidolia). Yes, this nasty prebinding bug has been reported to Apple and yes, it is 100% reproducible if you want to reproduce it. Every single time you install an update to Mac OS X whether it be an iTunes update, a QuickTime update, an update for daylight saving time, a security update, an Airport update, or an actual Mac OS X update, you can be hit by this bug. In order to prevent yourself from being smacked in the face by this bug, follow this simple rule: When "Optimize System Performance" appears during the update process do not touch your computer and definitely do not launch any applications. Just back away from your computer box as if it were a swarm of bees. Yes, it does mean that if you install the Mac OS X 10.4.9 update, you may get hit by the bug."
Guest
Guest
Nov 1 2005
10.4.3
5.0
Nov 1 2005
5.0
Version: 10.4.3
After installing the update, my cheapo printer stopped working, my wife left me, and I had *two* heart attacks. Seriously though, I've had no problems at all with the update. I didn't even bother with the superstitious "repair file permissions before and after" mumbo-jumbo. Another solid patch for my powerbook.