Back to Diablo II: LoD Updater X page
Diablo II: LoD Updater X free download for Mac

Diablo II: LoD Updater X Reviews

1.13d
31 October 2011

Diablo II expansion update.

Anonymous
16 August 2005

Most helpful

I am absolutely pleased that Blizzard is still working on updates for a 5 year old game. What other company would do that? It's akin to a well designed automobile- made to last rather than made to make money right now and forget about keepingit on the road. Verison 1.11 is blazingly fast using software mode on my 300mhz G3 using OSX 1.1.5. The difference is remarkable. I couldn't even play using OSX before the update. BRAVO! I did have to install the update using Battlenet however. My computer wouldn't let me unstuff the downloadable versions available here. Anyway, stop complaining about how Blizzard "let you down" and start enjoying the fact that there are still good companies out there who care about their products enough to support it for 5 years!
Like (2)
Version 1.11

Read 40 Diablo II: LoD Updater X User Reviews

Rate this app:

Doug-Engelbart
29 September 2012
Update/patch for OSX.8, please! Blizz!
Like
Version 1.13d
umaromc
15 May 2012
Diablo III is available NOW!!! diablo3.com
Like
Version 1.13d
Albabe
01 November 2011
Working good for me. On a 2.8 Quad-Core Intel Xeon. Kudos to Blizzard for still supporting a 12 year old client!!!
Like (1)
Version 1.13d
Adventure-Seeker
31 October 2011
I have a 2 gHz dual core G5 running 10.5.8 and the updater repeatedly hung on startup. Unusable.
Like (1)
Version 1.13d
Jon555
30 October 2011
Haha, I can't believe Blizzard is still updating this game. Props to them for doing it. Gotta love those guys. Anyway, here's the official patch notes for 1.13d from the Blizzard forums: Patch 1.13d - 10/27/2011 New Features Ignoring players is now saved between sessions of the game. All ignores are now written out to disk (file: 'ignorelist'). This feature can be toggled by issuing the command '/ignorepersist'. Users can now filter messages based on content by issuing the command '/filtermsg '. To unfilter content issue the command '/unfiltermsg '. (The maximum length of a filter pattern is 128 characters) Users can now set their home channel by issuing a new Battle.net chat command '/home ' while in the Battle.net chat interface. Users can return to their home channel at any time by issuing the command '/home' while in the Battle.net chat interface. Major Bugs Fixed a known dupe method. Fixed another issue where players were able to stack auras in an unintended way. Minor Bugs Fixed a bug where Mercenaries wouldn't have multiple auras active when they should have. Fixed an issue where players could create games prefixed with color codes. Potentially fixed an issue where players would be disconnected when watching the cinematics when in a Battle.net game. Fixed an issue where the game would crash when running in windowed mode with sound disabled and the game tried to play a cinematic.
Like (1)
Version 1.13d
Tim27
10 August 2010
As far as I can tell there is nothing new when you kill the bosses. I've killed two of them and it's the same old stuff.
Like
Version 1.13c
Dan-Buchan
30 June 2010
Ugh, this update has made things WORSE! Constant freezes/crashes/unrecoverable errors have made this unplayable. Thank God for Time Machine backups!
Like
Version 1.13c
Gamegoldies
18 June 2010
Diablo, in my opinion, is the first completely successful combination of role-playing and real-time action to hit the PC. There have been successful RPGs and great action games, but never a combination that played so easily and offered so much as the first Diablo. This updater fixed some bugs and it works with the free diablo download from http://www.gamegoldies.org - MAC (woohoo) and PC.
Like
Version 1.13c
Mechamania
06 March 2007
They still support it because they still sell it.
Like (2)
Version 1.11b
Anonymous
16 August 2005
I am absolutely pleased that Blizzard is still working on updates for a 5 year old game. What other company would do that? It's akin to a well designed automobile- made to last rather than made to make money right now and forget about keepingit on the road. Verison 1.11 is blazingly fast using software mode on my 300mhz G3 using OSX 1.1.5. The difference is remarkable. I couldn't even play using OSX before the update. BRAVO! I did have to install the update using Battlenet however. My computer wouldn't let me unstuff the downloadable versions available here. Anyway, stop complaining about how Blizzard "let you down" and start enjoying the fact that there are still good companies out there who care about their products enough to support it for 5 years!
Like (2)
Version 1.11
Anonymous
15 August 2005
As Jerry notes, the link here is for the Diablo II Classic (as in not the expansion) update. Use the link cited in his post if you've installed the LoD expansion.
Like
Version 1.11
Horseagle
05 August 2005
I installed the update, following all directions, (even from the Blizzard site), and for some reason the game never finishes loading. It will give me an error saying that it will only work with the "Classic Diablo Application". Has anybody else had this same problem? Any input would be appreciated.
Like
Version 1.11
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 August 2005
I had the same problem when I made the clean install of the game and tried to upgraded directly to 1.11. Do upgrade first to 1.10 and then to 1.11. Anyway, it's mentioned at the bottom of the upgrade description - requirements...
Like
Version 1.11
StRaNgeR
StRaNgeR
28 August 2005
Had the same prob, i reinstalled d2 and exp n now it works.
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
05 August 2005
This link gets the update for Diablo II. Get the update for LOD from: http://ftp.blizzard.com/pub/diablo2exp/patches/Mac/LOD%20Patch%201.11%20OSX.dmg
Like
Version 1.11
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 August 2005
THANK YOU JERRY! I originally posted about that mysterious error message... it was simply the result of running the D2 updater on a D2+LOD installation! The correct updater runs fine.
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
03 August 2005
Just downloaded and installed the patch. Make sure to have you game CD mounted, and I found it works best to put the patch application in the same folder with the Diablo application and data files. Before patching I changed owner/group to the patch and Diablo files to root:admin and changed permissions so all files were owner:group writable. Perhaps, the error stems from the file not being group writable? Just a suggestion.
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
03 August 2005
I have not been able to apply this 1.11 patch to an existing 1.10 install. It produces an error, Error: 34080:105 and then shows an error log with more details... ERROR: unable to add file 'data\global\chars\AI\S2\AIS2HVYNU2HT.dcc' to archive 'Diablo II Patch (Carbon)'. The latter file exists and is writable by me, the owner. The error message suggests trying again on a fresh install, but since this is a royal pain it'll have to wait for the weekend (and maybe there'll be a 1.11b updater by then, if this isn't just me with this problem?).
Like
Version 1.11
Goles
29 January 2004
All seems to be awesome , but there is a WEIRD bug that happens on battle.net for me. Sometimes when there is a lag, diablo freezes my computer and I have to turn it off to be able to reestart it. Anyone knows something about this? I am on pa nther 10.3 on an 800 mhz g4 , 640 RAM
Like
Version 1.10
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 November 2004
Yes, the glitch is with the "DirectX" and it is due to your graphics card, and DirectX not agreeig on who should have controlling factors of the CPU. (Thus, causing it to lock up.) One error message you probibly get from time to time is a ERROR: a "Sprite" did somthing, etc, etc, and the other few error messages contain a whole bunch of numbers, However, you probibly do not get to see them due to the fact windows is in the background, and D2 is in the forground, so try to use ALT+TAB to drop it to the background, and if it does, you will probibly see the error messages. At this point you can clik the OK button(s) and D2 will exit, leaving windows in control.. DO NOT try to restart the game untill you have restarted the PC. (If you do, the screen goes weirding, and it really is completely locked up!) Only fix for this is to UNINSTALL DirectX, and reinstall the newest version you can get. (Now I think it is directx_9c_redist.exe) God luck, have fun..
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 December 2004
its your ram. take out your ram memory. it happened to me twice. Mac comps are really picky on the type of ram u put in. always do a system check when u instal the ram
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
Anonymous
03 August 2005
"Yes, the glitch is with the "DirectX" and it is due to your graphics card, and DirectX not agreeig on who should have controlling factors of the CPU. (Thus, causing it to lock up.) One error message you probibly get from time to time is a ERROR: a "Sprite" did somthing, etc, etc, and the other few error messages contain a whole bunch of numbers, However, you probibly do not get to see them due to the fact windows is in the background, and D2 is in the forground, so try to use ALT+TAB to drop it to the background, and if it does, you will probibly see the error messages. At this point you can clik the OK button(s) and D2 will exit, leaving windows in control.. DO NOT try to restart the game untill you have restarted the PC. (If you do, the screen goes weirding, and it really is completely locked up!) Only fix for this is to UNINSTALL DirectX, and reinstall the newest version you can get. (Now I think it is directx_9c_redist.exe) God luck, have fun.." Mr. Potatoehead!!! HEELLLLOOOOOOO!!!!!!! THIS DISCUSION IS ABOUT THE MAC VERSION!!!!! SHEESH!!!
Like
Version 1.11
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 August 2005
Hello, I've encountered the same problem -- usually occurs whenever I try to create or enter an on-line game. Diablo II freezes and I have to Option+Comand+ESC in order to terminate and restart. I've e-mailes Blizzard tech support, but haven't heard back yet. G4 867 mHz Quicksilver, Geforce2 MX, 1 GB RAM.
Like
Version 1.11
Barabbas
28 January 2004
This update for Diablo II LoD adds is great. It ads alot to the game: more unique items, better set items, skill synergy bonuses plus many other enhancements and tweaks. There are still a few bugs and errors that Blizzard is workin on to fix. One of the great new features of this Update is that you can select how many players are in the game. This is great because if you type "/players #" into the chat window, the computer believes that there are that amount of players in the game, which means x# of experiance and magic find chance. Many of the monsters are beefed up on Nightmare and Hell mode, providing the extra challenge for gamers out there. This is a must have update for all Diablo 2 fans.
Like
Version 1.10
1 answer(s)
Denis
Denis
06 December 2004
dude thats sick. I never knew about the "/players#" thing = more experience and this will probably help me ALOT in my game and improve my characters hopefully to the max soon:D. the only thing i wish is that Items were easier to get and that necro items would show up more often ... i have about 380% mf but still my meteor sorcy can find anything good in Hell and that gives me a headace. thanx anyways for the info if you could email me back with more info about the new features or if u could give me some pointers about how to make a good bone spirit + poison necro.
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
01 November 2003
1.10 was great.. Until it killed my character.. I still don't understand why it happened. It doesn't open some of my characters, specially necromancer. So I start a new character, but when I was level 10, it quit and then never opened this character. Is there anyone, who played this game for a long time and meet this kind of problem?
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
31 October 2003
For god sake READ THE DIRECTIONS! For OSX users, TWO updates must be implemented in a specific order. First is the OSX update, THEN the v1.10 update. And the v1.10 updater has a slight bug, if you were a beta tester. This updater will update the beta version, instead of an older full version (i.e., 1.09). So you need to: 1) Save the character files you want to transfer from the beta version, 2) Delete (or hide in an archive) the beta version, 3) Install the OSX update over the orignal version on your HD, 4) Run the v1.10 updater 5) Copy the beta version characters in the saved folder in the orignal version. Now for the update itself. On my 800Mz G4 it seems much faster, in OS9 and especially OSX. This is clearly apparent when the automap feature is off. So far it seem stable as a rock. A significant improvement for OSX. The changes seem to have even out the character classes a lot and the impoved interaction between the various skills is a nice enhancement. Overall, major improvements in stability and speed (especially if you are using Jaguar). Game play modifications are not as signficant, makes Sorceress and Amazon slightly less powerful but slight enhancement to the other classes. I think the game play changes are a nice tweak, but if speed and stability are currently satisfactory then this update is a take it or leave it.
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
29 October 2003
I would rather see Blizzard make this game playable in OS X/OpenGL rather than add features to the game. If you are running 10.2+ then I would stay away from this update, it does break software rendering.
Like
Version 1.10
Pawn1
29 October 2003
I've waited so long for this update... and for what.. nothing. it crashes in software mode at boot up. its extremely slow in openGL mode, this patch is unplayably slow on my mac.... 400 mhz G3 (ATI Rage 128 *16mb*) 384 mb RAM isnt openGL mode supposed to be faster then software mode, in games? every game i've played that was true.. except for diablo II.. why is this??? why do i need a super computer to run this old software comfortably?! Now how about the os 9 version of 1.10 well now it works in all modes, software,RAVE,OpenGL.. but performance is remarkably slow and it chugs alot... in version 1.09d RAVE used to be SO fast it made the game fun... but they did something and now RAVE is SLOW! this game , in my opinion needs much more optimization for the mac platform. but what does blizzard care, they get most there money from windows users. what do all the game testers care, they're all windows gamers who probly don't care about optimization on the mac side of things..
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
11 September 2003
Re: b3 beta version. Game enhancements are signficant. The question is speed and stability and at this stage of the beta that appears to be very dependent on the OS. 0S9: This release of the beta appears to have fixed some of the major stability issues, but game speed still seems to be suffering fairly signficantly (as compare 1.09). If you have a fast enough machine (1GHz G4 or faster), this version is probably worthwhile otherwise wait for a while. OS 10.1: The big winner. Performance and stability much much better than 1.09. OS 10.2: The big loser. Speed is improved but stability is much less.
Like
Version 1.10b3
Anonymous
05 August 2003
running it in panther doesn't really work properly. OpenGL works fine but that has always been painfully slow on os x and 10.3 is no different but now software mode doesn't work either. I suppose i can't really dock any points for this cause they are both betas.
Like
Version 1.10b3
Nightowl
28 July 2003
So far this Beta hasn't given me any trouble. I've noticed some of the improvements in some of the graphics, as well as some game attributes too! I'm looking forward to the final release!
Like
Version 1.10
Iamblank
22 July 2003
The following are comments that I have about this beta patch. Am testing this patch on double 450 ghz G4 with 1.25 gb RAM, OS X 10.2.6, software rendering on (as this seems to fix the choppiness of gameplay), and I'm playing around in SP. 1. I'd really like to get to see how the synergies work, but at lvl 24 (started a new character just for testing: Druid, WW, summoning) its rather hard to see how synergies work so far. They, at least on the druid, seem to be mostly summoning and casting-- WW and WB don't seem to utilize any synergy, other than lycanthropy. Your attacks while in wolf and bear form do not use synergies-- feral, poison, multi attacks for the wolf form, specifically. 2. Lots of kewl unique, rare drops. 3. You can gamble sets, though I haven't gotten any. 4. All the act bosses so far have dropped lots of rare uniques and set items! And I've only a measley 75-100 mf on my druid. 5. All in all, so far it doesn't seem any different from .09. But then, I'm not far enough into Nightmare nor Hell to even see how things react.
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
14 July 2003
Note to all the lame whiners bitching about this update: READ THE DESCRIPTION YOU MORONS! This patch is a BETA! Do any of you idiot noobs know what that means?? That means they are testing it to make sure the final 1.10 release works well on our Macs. So unless you want to contribute to making the final release better by reporting bugs to Blizzard (they have a link to a bug report forum right there on their frontpage), then sit down and SHUT UP!
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
12 July 2003
Man I made a big mistake, I wanted to rate 1 this bugware... Please delete my mistake, this is the good review: How many years will we have to wait for a stable version. We have bought the game but we can't use it if we don't own a "OS9 bootable" Mac. Bioware try but these updates sucks. DO OR DO NOT, THERE IS NO TRY.
Like
Version 1.10
MysticalOS
11 July 2003
Actually it was a port. A poor port with a lot of flaws. Lots of known bugs, including one crash bug which is down right nasty and constantly exploited by usrs who think it's funny...1.10 does address most of these issue finaly though from what i see so far....But when 1.09d has serious crash issues that users are using on eachother for over a year, least could havbe done is issue a maintenance release...Especially mac verson which also had numerous freeze issues and unsyncing with bnet issues like the versioncheck failure making you wait 2 minutes to reestablish syncro with bnet... That issue specifically was fixed in PC version long go...Mac has always been second to blizzard and always will be.
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
11 July 2003
Blizzard is one of the only company's devoted to making games for mac OS's, not ports but true mac platform games. Shame on anyone who attacks them.
Like
Version 1.10
Drinimar
11 July 2003
As a note... Blizzard has very good OS X support, look at Warcraft III.
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
11 July 2003
warcraft 3 runs really really well in OSX you guys are lucky blizzard is even trying to support osx in a game that is so old..
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
11 July 2003
I wait 2 years for 1.10 , and i am sh!77ed on by this peice of crap. Blizzard, mac users will never look upon your once great games company with the same appretiation. You have let us down lamers, way down. So down im in australia.
Like
Version 1.10
Anonymous
18 June 2003
LoD is a great game but OS X version bugs a lot. It is simply useless. I am back to OS 9. By the way, I agree, it is my last Blizzard's game. They are unable to support OS X, I will not buy their games.
Like
Version 1.0.9d
Anonymous
10 June 2003
Man what a POS. Runs OK in software mode on my iBook 800, but try OpenGL and it BOGS way down, add agp texturing and say goodbye to half of the graphics! The menubar mostly dissappears and your character becomes some constantly morphing bits of other diablo graphics....Too bad.
Like
Version 1.0.9d
Anonymous
10 June 2003
That's a shame Blizzard released such a buggy version for OS X. LoD is perfect in OS 9. It's a nightmare in OS X. I'll never buy another Blizzard game. Lamers!
Like
Version 1.0.9d
Anonymous
11 May 2003
I found that after installing the 1.09D patch and this, half the graphics (such as the MENU BAR at the bottom of the screen, and all the skill tree graphics... not to mention, half the words anywhere in the game) are either replaced by random chopped-up graphics from elsewhere in the game, or don't show up at all. What the hell is going on?
Like
Version 1.0.9d
Anonymous
24 October 2002
GOOD!
Like
Version 1.0.9d
Anonymous
02 September 2002
Good that they finally ported it, but blizzard should be ashamed of itself for making such a P.O.S. I can run it in windowed but then it runs so sloooooooooooooooooooow. Not worth it unless you got a decent computer and can play d2 while doing other junk. Starcraft ran awsome in Mac OS X, maybe even better than in 9, what major mess up did Blizzard do?
Like
Version 1.0.9d
Danskinnyman
07 June 2002
KEEPS FREEZING Game runs fine if you run it in windowed mode, but if you put it in full screen i GUARANTEE it will freeze within 5 min. Also runs choppy with sound on
Like
Version 1.0.9d
Fedor
01 April 2002
This is cool :))) How thing could be messed up: "Requrements: Diabolo:Brood War ... " Dear MacUpdate: Diablo: Lord Of Destruction and StarCraft: Brood War Blizzard should be pissed off :)))
Like
Version 1.0.9d