Back to Bookends page
Bookends free download for Mac

Bookends Reviews

13.2.6
16 September 2019

Reference management and bibliography software.

Causeypike
22 February 2010

Most helpful

EndNote has driven me slightly crazy for the last few years, so I don't really use it any more, but it's cite-while-you-write feature is still more powerful than anything else. Bookends and Sente... Both are excellent programs for managing your pdfs, maintaining a reference library, and generating bibliographies on demand. I've used both very extensively, including current versions and previous versions of Bookends and Sente. Details below... Stability: - Both are very stable programs, and don't crash (unlike EndNote, unless X3 has dramatically improved). They play very nicely with loads of word processors and are very reliable. Searching: - Sente: it's built-in browser uses webkit, i.e. it's basically Safari. You can do standard web searches from within Sente. I like the 'targeted browsing' feature, which quickly shows you what you and don't have in your library already when you do pubmed search. - Bookends has a straightforward PubMed/other site searching window that works very well. It doesn't look like a standard browser page, but obviously does the same thing. Refs already in your library are highlighted in yellow in PubMed windows. It is very good at finding and loading pdfs. Updating incomplete refs: Bookends has a really nice host of tools to update refs. If you have a ref that got loaded in when it was online only, it's quick and easy to use a Bookends menu command to update the reference. There are a couple of ways of doing this, and it works well. Sente is supposed to do some auto-updating, but it doesn't seem to work nearly as well. I really like this handy feature. Speed: On a very large library (7,500 refs), Bookends is noticeably quicker at start-up (about 10 seconds quicker). Searches within the library are faster, and happen live as you type in the Spotlight window in the library. This is more responsive. Pdfs: Both allow you to quickly see your attached pdfs within the main window, open them into a standalone reader, etc. Sente supports pdf comments etc. Custom fields: Both allow you make and view notes etc very easily. Sending to colleagues: Bookends 'email ref' works reliably and attaches any pdfs to your email. Helpful for finding and sending stuff to colleagues. Technical support: Both Sente and Bookends offer good technical support, but Bookends is the best. Jon provides tech support, and is incredibly helpful. It's not that Sente is bad in any way, just that Jon and Bookends is superb. Working with Apple Pages: Both scan open Pages documents. Sente has a re-scan option that they are cautious about recommending. Haven't tried it myself - I use Pages all the time, but don't rescan a formatted doc, I always go back to the unformatted doc to edit. Working with Word: Both support scanning and rescanning with Word. I don't currently use them with Word, but have successfully used Bookends with Word in the past. You don't get the live formatting you see with EndNote cite-while-you-write, but this is no bad thing given the number of times it's caused hangs and crashes in my previous experience. Import/Export: I have a large Sente library which doesn't export the attachments absolutely reliably and puts them in the URL field rather than the attachments field. Bookends gets this right, and therefore it's easier to move a library out to EndNote from Bookends. Both import an EndNote library without problems. User help/ configuration of export filters etc. Online for Sente, a very thorough manual for Bookends. Formatting controls work fine on both. OVERALL: (If anyone cares) I used Bookends extensively, then switched to Sente when it was the first to be able to scan open Pages files. Bookends has now been doing this for a while. It's a bit quicker, and plays more nicely with EndNote (at least as things stand now). Reference updating is a bit easier. I slightly prefer the Sente online search (linking to the PubMed webpage), and Sente is very very slightly prettier, but the speed and other features of Bookends win out. Both are excellent, but I'm going to stick with Bookends.
Like (15)
Version 11.0.0

Read 88 Bookends User Reviews

Rate this app:

Maddogiam66
27 May 2019
Great app. Use it with my Word docs and works flawlessly. Been around forever.
Like
Version 13.2.3
lawmom
13 October 2018
Nice program!
Like (2)
Version 13.1.3
Tedg
26 June 2018
Been using for many years, usually with Nisus, but sometimes Word and Mellel. It has never let me down. I've tried others and nothing else works as well. Constantly updated. Support is fantastic.
Like (5)
Version 13.1
Nontroppo
29 January 2018
Microsoft released a major rewrite of Word, which broke compatibility with Endnote and Bookends. Bookends had a workaround available to users in hours, and has been updated (V13.0.5, and a backport for V12 users too!) now to fix this . Endnote? Forces users to run beta software and no ETA when an official fix will come. This just gives you a flavour of the difference in support you will receive with both pieces of software (apart from the fact Bookends is far more powerful than Endnote, and far cheaper).
Like (3)
Version 13.0.5
chancellor
01 December 2017
Bookends may not be the prettiest software out there but it does the job done. The support is outstanding with the main developer being super-responsive. The community is booming on the forums with a lot of people writing scripts or filters for the others. Bookends has a VERY comprehensive format editor/generator. The manual is something like 450 pages long. The software is also very stable despite being a new major release (as of 01.12.2017, v13.0). I also find Bookends support in almost any third-party software (where applicable) which is a nice surprise as well. The only thing I miss there is the ability to insert a citation without fully switching to BK. Something like Magic Citations in Papers (from which I switched to BK, hence I might be spoiled). This and the somewhat old-looking interface are the reasons I cut half the star.
Like (4)
Version 13.0.0
1 answer(s)
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
28 December 2017
Hi, if you use Alfred, there is a workflow available that enables a similar functionality as Magic Citations. Bookends supports Applescript so you can create these kinds of automations for other tools: https://github.com/iandol/bookends-tools
Like (1)
ealvarez-1
22 November 2017
I'm using Bookends for more than 10 years. Since then, the developper has stayed focused on its software with regular updates and the support is just great. Clearly one of my best choice of software.
Like (4)
Version 13.0.0
Dellu
21 November 2017
Best reference manager ever.

I have tried all of them. I like Zotero. I also use BibDesk and Jabref for my latex references. I have been user of Sente for many years. I have also used Papers for a while. But, Bookends stands as the richest and most reliable of all. I love the Global tools that help me to manipulate my references.
The automatic data extraction has gone from DOI to Justor and recently even to iSBN. You don't have to go and search for reference data from Google Scholar. It magically picks the data from the PDF and autfills it.
Like (2)
Version 13.0.0
Cassady
18 November 2017
Well, probably the best supported, and as a result, flexible, reference managers on the Mac just received a significant update. I purchased it immediately, with a fair amount of relief. Relief since Bookends is easily the most frequently updated applications of all my Mac apps, and I had been wanting to pay again, as appreciation for all the work that is put in to both the Mac (and iOS companion) application. If you are looking for a reference manager, across iOS and macOS, look no further. The others might be bigger, but how many of them frequently pose a question in their forums asking how many would support a user-request change, and then implement that change within weeks, if not days? Bookends has been in existence since the very early days - and it shows, in a mature and powerful app that often is an example of "way more than what you expect under the hood"!
Like (4)
Version 13.0.0
GranadoMJ
12 November 2017
Actually I like what I see from this new version (13.0) thus far. I've always had a license for Bookends, but ended up gravitating towards Papers (so many years ago till the 2nd version started crashing), followed by Sente (till it stopped receiving regular updates a couple of years ago), and now Mendeley. However, now that people using Macs are having problems with Mendeley on HIgh Sierra (with no official support for 10.12 or 10.13), I've begun revisiting Bookends. I always had problems with how Bookends managed and viewed PDFs, which is where Sente and Mendeley excelled (full screen, tabbed views, easy to read, simple and straightforward UI, etc).

This new version of Bookends (along with its reputation of always being updated with stellar support) has me hopeful. I don't have a license for this new version, but I'm going to spend the better part of the next 30 days or so experimenting with it to see how it goes. In the end, I'm not so sure if there really is any viable alternatives on the Mac right now (and don't talk to me about Endnote). Unless Mendeley gets updated or Readcube finally puts it together, I'm going to seriously look at Bookends and I like what I see thus far. We'll see after a month or so.
Like (4)
Version 13.0.0
Nontroppo
12 November 2017
Bookends is overall the best reference manager for macOS. The major advantage lies in the fact its database engine is the most flexible/accessible, allowing powerful group editing of the reference data. Bookends has been continuously developed for the Mac since 1984, and still receives regular updates. In V13 there have been major improvements to the way you can view and annotate PDFs. For example, there is a sticky tab bar for multiple reference PDFs so you can quickly add several PDFs then switch between them effortlessly, while being able to view the annotations note stream (metadata about your PDF annotations are automagically extracted into the main database for you). Full screen is now contextual, if you are editing reference lists, it opens into the reference list, if you have a PDF panel open, it opens into the PDF. The automated Pubmed search has been improved, and it greatly enhances the speed at which we can scan through new potentially interesting references. There are many more interesting features and Bookends really offers the best mix of detailed reference management, search interface, PDF handling, flexible bibliography generation and more.
Like (6)
Version 13.0.0
bdikkat
12 November 2017
Might as well be a subscription now, because that's what these regular price hikes amount to. Or perhaps you could see it as a dilute form of extortion: if you want a 64-bit app (i.e., if you want to keep running the software into 2018), then cough up $40 (*evil laugh*). Not sure it's a wise move, as it may persuade some to just pirate the thing (which is not recommended, unless you want alien custard pouring out of your Mac at some point). So what's new? Well the dev finally worked out how to allow you to actually view PDFs. Whoopee. There's also some stuff like "New AppleEvent for getting the name and paths of attachments".. Really? Is he rambling in code? It's good, but it's not gold dust (except for the developer maybe). Sigh. Oh well, in for a penny...
Like
Version 13.0.0
Deibel
03 February 2017
Best publication database out there, I am impressed by both programme and support. Very stable and functional. I like the new iCloud Sync to Bookends for iOS, giving me access to all metadata and pdfs on the go: awesome.

I also know Mendeley (ok, but ugly and Elsevier), Papers (own V1, 2 and 3, and while V1 was ok, just a bit buggy, I would not recommend the newer versions), Jabref (Non-native but reliable) and Bibdesk (native, free, I like it, but BE has the powerful sync which is difficult to beat).

Bookends: highly recommended.
Like (4)
Version 12.7.8
ES.knight
28 December 2016
Awesome tool for writhing thesis, I was wondering how Bookends would work with my MS Word '16. So, the app surpassed all my expectations. It works great perfectly storing all my books references.
Like (4)
Version 12.7.7
cmezes
10 October 2016
I used Mellel (writing) and Bookends (reference management) to write my PhD thesis. Both applications were very reliable over the years. The developer of Bookends was very responsive when I had questions or discovered small bugs. Of course I still use Bookends (mostly when researching and writing papers) and I think it is a very valuable tool for researchers.
Like (3)
Version 12.7.5
ErvinsStrauhmanis
10 August 2016
As owner of EndNote X5 and X6, and its ex-user, I find Bookends to be more straightforward and user friendly. People at Sonny Software are friendly and responsive too. Highly recommended for any earnest writer—whether you are writing a blog, a research paper, or a book. And it costs less than EndNote too!
Like (4)
Version 12.7.4
michelphilips5771
14 June 2016
Bookends really helps me a lot! It is very brilliant and easy to use. I just spend little time to learn this app and now i can use it very skillful.
Like (9)
Version 12.7.1
Alvin-H
11 June 2016
i love this app, even looks scary on first run, after learn a bit, i can handle it, so i just concentrate to what i what to write not how to write and find reference. i've try the others but found this one is better than what i ever try, trust me download the trial, learn how to use it, the next day you'll enjoy it
Like (3)
Version 12.7.1
Sherman-Wilcox
25 April 2016
I've tried all of them. Don't do that. Buy Bookends, use Bookends. Your writing and your brain will appreciate it. Great app, incredibly excellent tech support.
Like (3)
Version 12.7
Luoto
19 December 2015
Incredibly useful and powerful software. Will I ever learn it all as it is just so giving. Support is amazing; even when it feels one is asking dumb questions. Probably one of the best support experiences to date with software.
Like (3)
Version 12.6.3
fukurokujo
09 November 2015
worse than using bibdesk etc. by hand
Like
Version 12.6.1
4 answer(s)
Jda
Jda
09 November 2015
If you are having trouble with Bookends, please write to tech support at support@sonnysoftware.com and we'll try to figure out what the problem is and solve it.

Jon
Sonny Software
Like (3)
Luoto
Luoto
19 December 2015
You must have been overwhelmed by the sheer power of the software. I know it scared the bejesus out of me, through no fault of its own. You cannot dumb the software down as it is intentionally so powerful, yet the extensive help guides and the excellent support from the developer will get you on the right tracks.
Like (2)
fukurokujo
fukurokujo
19 December 2015
Sheer Power? Compared to papers which is arguably rarely a bit buggy, this does almost nothing and additionally looks like some java dev transitioned to OSX
Like (1)
Luoto
Luoto
22 December 2015
(The endorsement for your last comment was in error, due to trying to find a nested reply).

I can only say your experiences seem to be entirely different to many. Each to their own.

When I looked at Papers, which looks more like "iTunes for References" I could not get on with it. It can't be that i am "old school" who finds flashy GUIs to be a poor substitute for raw power. Yet each to their own.

There are many things I'd like to change with Bookends and I am sure the developer knows this. Rome was not built in a day, but the underlying engine is dependable and needs little maintenance. The developer is (apparently) working on many changes, some to pretty things up, some to provide better functionality due to changing user demands and maybe other things he has not intimated.

Good luck with your package though. I hope it brings you the success you crave with it.
Like (2)
Causeypike
17 February 2015
It's a huge pleasure to review Bookends 12. It is an excellent update to a brilliant program. I have extensively used/tried Endnote, Papers (Papers2, Papers3), Sente, Mendeley and others over the years. I have a large database of >11,000 references, many with PDFs linked. I've therefore needed a flexible, speedy and absolutely robust database system for references, with easy importing and handling, and easy bibliography generation. Bookends scores massively in all these areas. It is very fast, and lean on resources. It is bombproof, and crashproof (EndNote in my experience has always been dogged by crashes and awkwardness). Compared to Papers3 it is lightning fast on searches, finding references quickly and easily. It integrates well with word processors (though the Papers system of citing into any document is clever). I like the flexible built-in browser, the new clip-to-bookends bookmarklet for when I forget to use the built-in browser, and the great PDF handling. It was always nice to display PDFs in the main window of bookends, and now being able to click on the 'paperclip' in the main ref window and launch straight into Preview or Adobe Reader is even better. I also love the ease of customising reference styles. If I'm making a new output style for a grant or paper, it's easy and intuitive. Trying to do the editing for Papers2 and Papers3 took ages, lots of fiddling, and generally a bit of extra swearing. Bookends: quick, easy, obvious. Genius. Above all else, it has Jon. The best support ever, the most responsive designer, and the most courteous service. This really is the outstanding reference manager for Macs. It's been around a while, and others have tried to beat it, but in my experience none come close for speed, reliability, and overall performance. Version 12 has the added advantage of being simpler in layout and look, and a pleasure to use.
Like (9)
Version 12.5.1
Carmelopap
17 February 2015
Bookends is the best.
Like (3)
Version 12.5.1
Shiny22
04 January 2014
Been using Bookends for more than a year now and still sometimes feel that I'm really only scratching the surface - it's the powerful an app. It does the basics very well. Input your sources and you can cite while you write, then scan the document at the end and produce in-text properly constructed citations and a bibliography. That alone makes it worth the price. It also has extensive notes, key wording, ratings and other categorisation tools and it links into other apps like DevonThink. I manage Citations on Bookends and data in DTP. If I had to nitpick: I'd like to be able to choose what fields appear in what tab - for instance, have the ISBN on the main tab of the inspector rather than as additional info - and I've not found a way to do this. That Inspector pane is not the prettiest either. There: a couple of nits, picked. There is a learning curve, and it take take a while to get the hang of some of it, but well worth the effort. That's true of all citation managers. That said, a robust citation manager that does exactly what it says on the tin, with extraordinary support (issues resolved within hours in my case) and well worth the money. By comparison I've used Sente, End Note, Zotero at different times but keep coming back to BE.
Like (8)
Version 12.0.7
ChrisM9317
12 October 2013
Always wanted this.
Like (1)
Version 12.0.5
Sherman-Wilcox
29 September 2013
Bookends is the best. I've tried them all -- Papers, Sente, Endnote. All have nice features (well, it's hard to say that about Endnote). But Bookends has it all: power features, reliability, exceptional customer support, and a long history of continued development and refinement. It may not be the prettiest of the bunch (but Jon is constantly improving that as well, as in this latest update), but this class of application is one where function is more important than style.
Like (9)
Version 12.0.5
1 answer(s)
MickMax
MickMax
14 September 2014
I'm a long time Bookends user and agree with everything Sherman says here. The app is amazingly adaptable. I use it primarily for academic writing, but also for managing a library of pdf articles and books. I have had occasion to contact customer support several times over the last 3-5 years and have always gotten a quick and helpful response. Highly recommend.
Like (4)
Mar6473
04 July 2013
I don't get it. Bookends is so unpleasant to look at. It seems useful, but if I'm going to use a reference manager with such an unsightly UI, I'd just use Endnote. I guess there should be a category to rate the aesthetics of an application. Bookends is functional, but has not even been updated Retina displays. I bought version 10, and now I'm using Sente. It's too bad. Some developers need to hire a designer to help them out a bit. I acknowledge that it has great support too, but people use Macs because they're functional AND visually pleasing.
Like (2)
Version 12.0.1
4 answer(s)
Jda
Jda
05 July 2013
I'll just point out that Bookends 12 is in fact Retina-compatible. Jon Sonny Software
Like (3)
Mar6473
Mar6473
12 July 2013
My apologies. I would not want to undermine your hard work. In my opinion, the interface's icons are blurry when I compare Bookends to other applications. There has also not been any stylistic updates that were introduced in Lion and Mountain Lion. For example, the all gray icon sets (for example, the Finder, Evernote) look very nice I think.
Like (1)
Jda
Jda
12 July 2013
We tinker with the UI all the time (some changes were added in the Cocoa release) and we're actually going to be addressing the icons you mentioned in a future release. Please feel free to contact us (support@sonnysoftware.com) directly with ideas of what you'd like to see, or post on our forum, where others can chime in). Jon Sonny Software
Like (5)
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
24 May 2014
I've tried Bookends, Sente, Papers, and Endnote. Bookends is simply the fastest one in retrieving references. Since I deal with thousands of articles regularly in searches, Bookends is simply much more productive than its competition. After a while, I simply gravitated to using only Bookends.
Like (2)
pprofpopp
18 June 2013
A definite 5 stars. BE11 is one of my most used and best loved software progs and I have just bought BE12. Really looking forward to it. And HUGE praise for Jon at Sonny who must provide the best software support on the planet. Reference manager no-brainer. If you are still using Endnote etc, run while you still can :-) OK bit much maybe :-) but Bookends is the Biz!
Like (4)
Version 12.0.0
Androse
12 January 2013
The best bibliography/reference manager... and it keeps getting better. The best support on the planet. I have a database with over 25,000 references and Bookends handles it with ease. If you are in the market for a bibliography/reference manager look no further.
Like (4)
Version 11.3.5
spacejockey
08 September 2012
I use Bookends together with Mellel for my dissertation and the integration of both apps is very good. My favorite feature: Live Bibliography. Bookends support is very good and fast.
Like (4)
Version 11.3.2
Tedg
21 August 2012
I've tried them all. This is just the very best in features and usability. But I need to mention the very best aspect of this software, and that is the support. Chances are that you will use this the way I do, for mission critical professional work. If something goes wrong, you just cannot diddle. Sonny Software responded quickly when I got into trouble. They didn't even get upset that a good part of the problem was me. You need someone like this covering you. I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Like (3)
Version 11.3.1
Markus-Winter
13 August 2012
I just started a new project (BRAF V600E mutation in cancer) and did a literature search in BookEnds. There were a few little problems which sometimes the author literally fixed within minutes and provided me with a new build - I'm amazed that he managed to stay calm as I must have driven him bonkers with all my requests for improvements or changes (I sometimes send 5 mails within 10 minutes) and I can be quite argumentative ;-) The absolute killer feature for me is the "import pdf from internet (if available)". Out of 3337 citations in my library 1084 now have a pdf of the article attached without me needing to do anything - and if I can figure out how to use the library subscription to access the PDFs on ScienceDirect etc then Bookends should be able to get many more for me without the need for my involvement. I still haven't used all the features - not by a long shot - but usability and support alone make this a 5 star app!
Like (4)
Version 11.3.1
2 answer(s)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
13 August 2012
P.S. I used to use Endnote, have Papers, and tried Mendeley and Sente. I think I will settle on Bookends - the range on features is impressive and makes the competition seem lacking. One minor critique: some features are only accessible from context menus - they are not necessarily in the menu at the top! Mac users tend to rely a lot less on right-clicks and context menus than Windows users, so some functionality is not immediately obvious when looking through the menus for it. So try the context menu (option-click or right click with the mouse).
Like (2)
Markus-Winter
Markus-Winter
14 August 2012
Thanks to some quick improvements by the developer Bookends now finds and downloads a further 243 PDFs (out of 2249 refs without pdf) . Outstanding! :-) I really need to get the linkup with our library going ...
Like (3)
pprofpopp
03 August 2012
After 30 years in the Endnote wilderness I moved to Bookends for my macs. What a joy! So intuitive, so easy but with plenty of 'complexity' and deeper features that are there when I need them. Easy to synch across my iMac, air and iPad too using sugarsync or dropbox. But the 5 stars apply particularly for the outstandingly fast and helpful user support from Jon at sonny software. As a brand new user, no question has been too 'obvious' and nothing has been too much trouble. If only all software and support was like this. LOVE IT!!!
Like (3)
Version 11.3.1
OsloX
19 May 2012
Great app and essential academic writing tool. Though a lower price setting would mean more people can use this. @devs: please consider this.
Like (2)
Version 11.2.9
André-Salval
09 April 2012
I changed the way I manage my bibliography on Mac with this program. You can store your scientific articles, with attached pdf easily and quickly. No more renaming of pdf, you can even retrieve name and every info of a paper simply by searching from the web. It's also useful when you are writing a scientific paper, in building rapidly the references. 5 stars.
Like (2)
Version 11.2.7
Prlab
16 February 2012
Sente is $35.
Like
Version 11.2.6
3 answer(s)
taja
taja
16 February 2012
both Sente's MU listing and their website say $130, or $90 for an academic license. bookends is $99, or $70 for students.
Like (2)
Mar6473
Mar6473
17 May 2012
To be clear, Sente offers a "under-grad" license for $35 which allows no more than 200 references. It's a very good idea, I purchased this license first and used Sente for a few papers before I upgraded. For a lot of users, this is a great choice and a steal. I own Sente and Bookends and they are both great products.
Like
Jda
Jda
18 May 2012
Actually, Bookends offers a free option for those whose reference management needs are not too demanding. The free download available on our Web site is fully functional and does not time-out. There is a 50 reference limit, but that is per library, not total, and you can create an unlimited number of libraries. This should work well for most undergraduates. Those whose needs exceed 50 references/library (i.e. graduate students and professionals) can upgrade to the unrestricted version and continue to use and add to the libraries they created with the demo. Jon Sonny Software
Like (5)
Ollie1972
15 January 2012
Nice. Works as advertised.
Like (2)
Version 11.2.4
Haliomaster
08 January 2012
This is a great app but why is it so expensive? I would certainly buy a license when it was half priced.
Like
Version 11.2.3
7 answer(s)
Jda
Jda
08 January 2012
You can check our web site to see if you qualify for any of the discounts we offer (student, competitive upgrade, etc.). Jon Sonny Software
Like (2)
Farotxa
Farotxa
09 January 2012
It isn't expensive if you consider the alternatives. Endnote is $250 and Sente is $130. Also, the support for Bookends is outstanding.
Like (1)
taja
taja
09 January 2012
The support for Bookends is brilliant - I've asked Jon many silly questions over the years, and he's been unfailingly quick and polite in his response. There are also a number of hefty discounts available for students and researchers. And the upgrade policy has been excellent.
Like (2)
xcoxco
xcoxco
15 January 2012
Let's not be ridiculous. Software programmers must make a living (and eat) too, just like you. The price is entirely reasonable.
Like (1)
Anastasio
Anastasio
15 January 2012
A hundred dollars seem indeed a lot of money, but both the application and the support are outstanding. Money spent on Bookends is very well spent!
Like (1)
taja
taja
15 January 2012
I would also add that the excellent value of Bookends becomes increasingly apparent as you use it more; finding, managing and organising a database of nearly 4000 academic references has saved me an unbelievable amount of time over the past few years. I do really wish the interface was less dated, though. But I've tried demos of Sente, Mendeley, Bibdesk and Papers and at least for the humanities, none of them come close.
Like (3)
Mar6473
Mar6473
17 May 2012
If you think Bookends is expensive, you don't understand what it does. it is very fairly priced for the complexity of tasks it handles. Also, it's hard to put a price on good support.
Like
Hervé1
20 December 2011
It is so great that I switched from EndNote I had been using for more that 15 years. All the features you need for bibliography management. Nice an powerful. Great job!!!!!
Like (4)
Version 11.2.2
Robeesvk
17 December 2011
I am a very satisfied user of Bookends On Tap...been following Bookends development for quite a while, interface is little bit unpolished (compared to Sente 6.5 preview), but Jon's approach and iPhone app beat it... one thing I am quite worried about, I had previous version during my time at university, now I think about buying my own, as I have more Macs, buying on Mac App Store seems like easy solution...but...Sandboxing...one does not have to be a developer to know it will be quite a challenge to keep Bookends there with similar functionality...and 80 Euros is some amount of money I hope Jon will find some sort of solution (he is currently the only one offering his product there, Sente and Papers teams are not interested)
Like (1)
Version 11.2.1
the7thcity
19 November 2011
I had a little trouble at first because of the marvelous capabilities of this program. But those difficulties were taken care of by simple emails to the support staff who helped me at all times of the day. I really like how you can search for items. This factor has allowed me to do a lot of research in a short time. The real savior is the bibliography that the footnotes create. If you are a student who types a lot of papers this is a must have.
Like (2)
Version 11.2
Jxj24
28 October 2011
Bookends is so good that I actually switched to it from EndNote even though I was in the middle of a huge project. I was able to complete the switch in less than two hours, including converting my existing reference database and creating the citation style I needed. (It would be nice if I could have found a way to import my existing custom citation styles, or if I could locate an online repository of them.)
Like (3)
Version 11.2
Vkubalkova
08 October 2011
I have had major problems when we changed to the Lion. I bought it for the second time with a bundle and it works but I hate the idea that yu have to buy a think twice
Like
Version 11.1.7
1 answer(s)
Jda
Jda
08 October 2011
Bookends runs well in Lion (it is developed on Macs running Lion), and there was no need to get another copy of the application. If you run into any problems, please write to us directly and we'll help (support@sonnysoftware.com). You can also take advantage of the Bookends forum (https://www.sonnysoftware.com/phpBB3/index.php). Jon Sonny Software
Like (6)
plainprogrammer
03 October 2011
Bookends is a great product, it is an essential part of my academic writing, especially as I have begun work on my Master's Thesis and am looking beyond that to my eventual PhD dissertation. No other tool is more helpful in keep all your sources under control and easily useable in your writing process. It's only downside is that it's interface feels clunky and inefficient at times.
Like (1)
Version 11.1.7
Joulemark
11 September 2011
I can't find ~/Library/Application Support/Bookends/Tutorial Files/Tutorial Import 1 Am I the idiot?
Like
Version 11.1.7
1 answer(s)
Jda
Jda
12 September 2011
If you are using Lion, you can't get to your user Library folder directly (it's hidden by default). You can open your user Library by holding down the Option key and selecting the Go -> Library menu in the Finder. Please contact tech support at support@sonnysoftware.com if you need more help. Jon Sonny Software
Like
Sbrenner
01 September 2011
I can't make my mind between Sente, EndNote, Bookends, and Mendeley. The primary thing I want to use it for is storing .pdf journal articles I collect so that I can find them later on. Can anyone give me a somewhat unbiased opinion as to which imports .pdf's and parse the title, author etc.? Most of my articles are going to be social sciences from Jstor, no PubMed at all. Thanks, Scott
Like
Version 11.1.7
3 answer(s)
Jda
Jda
01 September 2011
I won't attempt to compare the apps you mentioned, but will tell you that Bookends imports pdfs with their corresponding metadata (title, author, etc.) from JSTOR very easily. Please contact us directly (support@sonnysoftware.com) or post on our forum if you would like more information . Jon Sonny Software
Like (1)
ndewind
ndewind
10 September 2011
Please also consider Papers 2. It does repository searches, imports PDFs and, automatically, the metadata. Plus, it has web browsing and reading (built-in HTML browser and PDF reader), search (within the PDF collection, for anything from author to textword). It automatically generates collections of your PDFs, based on keywords, authors, textwords etc. and an advanced bibliography+formatting feature. So Papers is all you need for browsing, importing, searching, reading and writing.
Like
Lumpo
Lumpo
28 October 2011
I find that BOTH Papers2 and Bookends works for our small research group. Papers2 does the PDF thing and at any time you can load all the citations directly into Bookends from the Export menu.
Like
Pzs
11 August 2011
I have to give my highest recommendation to this company. The developer, Jon, is excellent. He's patient and answers all questions. He's goes the extra distance to help you out. The product functions great. It's efficient and works with many word processors, including Pages. Another key point is that educational discounts are available. As a student who has needed to purchases hundreds of dollars worth of programs in this last year, every bit of savings helps. Thanks for a great product and excellent customer service.
Like (2)
Version 11.1.6
Peternsteinmetz
17 March 2011
I recently tried many of the reference managers for the Mac, including Sente, Papers. I ended up staying with Bookends, principally because it has the best combination of features with keywords, groups, attached documents, etc. The program has many features that aren't clearly documented in the user manual, though they are often obvious enough to try, like dragging a keyword from the keyword list onto a group of selected references to add them to those references. Recent improvements in finding and downloading articles from the pubmed web search make that aspect a snap. And as I've noted before, the support by the developer is great.
Like (3)
Version 11.1.3
Tharpold
30 January 2011
A splendid, invaluable app for anyone who needs this kind of thing. (And, as I insist to my students, every high school, university, grad student, and instructor or researcher needs this kind of thing :-) ) More capable and reliable than its competition, and Jon's support is exemplary. I've been using bibliographic database apps, of my own crafting or commercially-sold, for nearly 25 years. I've tried all of the competing apps for Mac OS -- Bookends is perhaps in need of a UI facelift and a few features could use some tweaking. But: I spend a good bit of my professional life in Bookends. I couldn't do my job without it.
Like (2)
Version 11.1.2
1 answer(s)
Lumac52
Lumac52
01 February 2011
I currently use Zotero and I'm generally happy with it. But I'm interested to know what makes Bookends superior. I had a look at the demo and it wasn't clear to me what the perks are, but I could well be missing something. Could you elaborate? Thanks.
Like
Peternsteinmetz
21 March 2010
Developer support continues to be great. Helped me out of a bind in grant rush deadline, even though the trouble ended up being something very funky with my system install.
Like (5)
Version 11.0.2
Ashkenaz
06 March 2010
On its own terms, this modest incremental upgrade warrants neither a full version bump nor an upgrade fee of nearly a third of the original price. I prefer to think of this as a subscription fee to help ensure that the engaged developer remains so. As such, it's worth giving in to the gentle extortion.
Like (6)
Version 11.0.1
3 answer(s)
Frankeed
Frankeed
07 March 2010
Given that Endnote charges $110 for updates to their buggy software, Bookends' upgrade charges are minimal and the product is vastly superior.
Like (3)
Version 11.0.1
Jda
Jda
07 March 2010
Just to be clear, the changes listed on MacUpdate in "What's new" are for each update, and indeed the changes in 11.0.1 are not major. But the additions to 11.0 were substantial, and 11.0.1 is a free update if you own 11.0. For a complete history of new features in Bookends please see this page: http://www.sonnysoftware.com/new/new.html Jon Sonny Software
Like (5)
Version 11.0.1
Mar6473
Mar6473
12 April 2010
Why are some people so rude on here. This application might not do everything you want or it might not seem useful to you. It might not seem worth the money for you in particular. The developer has spent hundreds of hours writing this application and asks for a $29 upgrade fee. Where would we be without these developers? Give feedback and constructive comments but why use words like "extortion". It's just impolite and not helpful. Bookends is fantastic. I own version 10 and I swung by today to upgrade to 11 as I'm starting a new class in grad school.
Like (3)
Version 11.0.3