Back to OmniOutliner Essentials page
OmniOutliner Essentials free download for Mac

OmniOutliner Essentials Reviews

5.4.2
09 February 2019

Organize your ideas, projects, and more (was OmniOutliner).

Simonm
26 February 2014

Most helpful

To me, the Omni apps and particularly OmniOutliner have always been a solution in search of a problem. It doesn't help that Omni Group sells three apps that all revolve around project and time management but aren't very well integrated, if at all. I don't think OmniOutliner functions well as a robust financial management solution or business support tool and certainly not a database. As a note-taking app maybe but there are plenty of other probably better alternatives and do you really want to spend $100 on an app to help you write notes? I'm sure there are people that use and enjoy outlining apps but they really don't do it for me and particularly not Omni Outliner.
Like (8)
Version 4.0.2

Read 45 OmniOutliner Essentials User Reviews

Rate this app:

Zarquon
10 November 2019
Does nearly everything I want it to, for cheap. I use it to keep lists of all sorts of things, including my daily routines. I do wish it had an “uncompleted” checkmark option.
Like
Version 5.4.2
gryphonent
28 June 2019
Imagine having a baby, raising him up to age 5, and then chopping off arms, legs, and hands. That's what happened to OmniOutliner Standard or "Essentials" as they now call it. I recently found that Omni Group even removed the ability to paste images into outlines! A feature that was present with the standard version since 1.0! Sad, really sad these business practices.
Like (1)
Version 5.4.2
Funjoy
10 April 2017
For the $10 price, no outliner really matches its abilities or polish. I played with the downloadable demo by importing an OPML file I'd created in my old outliner (Opal) and it handled the import flawlessly and the outliner ran faster than Opal too. So I switched. The Pro version has some nice additional features like attachments (including audio), rich text and extra/better themes, but I'm not sure it's yet worth an additional $40 or so to upgrade.
Like (3)
Version 5.0.1
AppleFriend
31 August 2016
I have tried different organizers but never met such a mulfunctional utility! Really, it's fantastic. All you need is right in one app, moreover it's work very quickly. My friends also use Omni by my recommendations and are totally satisfied.
Like
Version 4.6
CDavid
15 May 2015
It's a good app to keep important things together. It's a lot better than Notes. There are multiple checkboxes, which help to track the completed and uncompleted tasks and many other things. I like it and would recommend it to my friends.
Like (2)
Version 4.2.2
Simonm
26 February 2014
To me, the Omni apps and particularly OmniOutliner have always been a solution in search of a problem. It doesn't help that Omni Group sells three apps that all revolve around project and time management but aren't very well integrated, if at all. I don't think OmniOutliner functions well as a robust financial management solution or business support tool and certainly not a database. As a note-taking app maybe but there are plenty of other probably better alternatives and do you really want to spend $100 on an app to help you write notes? I'm sure there are people that use and enjoy outlining apps but they really don't do it for me and particularly not Omni Outliner.
Like (8)
Version 4.0.2
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
23 October 2014
This is a very nice piece of work: Its being kept current to Yosemite, as the current update shows.

Its not $100 - the Pro version is maybe a bit more than standard version, but the standard is useful & half the price you cite.

I don't think you will be able to browbeat the developer into a cheaper version on a challenge of your perception of other people's usage. I'd like it cheaper too, but I don't think it will coerce anyone.

OmniOutliner does far more than outline a Word document. If that's the scope of your use - probably can see your attitude.

However - the ability to create a matrixed outline with intricate entry types & formatting is worth an investment: Its an outliner combined with a lite version of Excel or Numbers. I've used it as a collapsible spreadsheet - to track may small work projects which may be concurrent activities & used it to outline nuanced decisions, etc.

The other products, OmniFocus - works differently in that it is focused on time managing office tasks & making sure they don't fall off the radar. First understanding that distinction to one's best advantage probably requires a robust test of the tools. I think you could use Outliner for yourself in this capacity, but if there is interface with other team members - OmniFocus shines there.
Like (1)
Kihoalu
17 January 2014
So far, I like it. On a half day’s use. The interface got a facelift & they added a few features. I may have to upgrade to the Pro version upon reading the feature list. • Added column hiding to the desktop version. • Improved the formatting options palette. • Can add alternate row colors to just one column. • The sidebar can show just the bullet family (for lack of a better name) in the list by its itself. • Added a few new template options • Can add style themes to an outline. • They’ve revamped linking! • Re-added the ability to show notes in-line, or in a pane. Too soon to rate stability.
Like
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
07 April 2014
Update to comments, on more than a half day’s use: Its a solid app & the changes in 4.x are worthwhile.
Like
Tim27
28 October 2012
Is this the Halloween edition, with an orange and black icon? :)
Like
Version 3.10.6
Kihoalu
03 April 2011
I've had OmniOutliner since version 2, but stopped upgrading. Its been really fabulous, but every product has is reasonable price point. The inability to link as Circus Ponies is a drawback, they haven't yet enticed me to stay with the product as much as I love its multi-columns. (Useful multi-columns is what Circus Ponies lacks). This is what I used to use the long defunct (OS9 only) InControl PIM for, before stumbling onto OmniOutliner, as a ToDo manager that had a spreadsheet matrix built in. OmniOutliner Standard IS cheaper than OmniFocus, a nice offshoot that they made, as a GTD listmanager, but which they priced far past its a broad customer base. Outliner appears to have gone long in the tooth, because it hasn't really evolved much since the first cut of version 3, from my trial. Although, a matrixed outliner is pretty darn good as a tool. Give me both apps (Outliner & Focus) for the price of Outliner Pro, extend the license to encompass both a desktop & a laptop or iPad, maybe a really good family license price & I could spring for it again.
Like (1)
Version 3.9.5
A-krzyzak
02 January 2009
Fantastic program. Great flexibility for many purposes.
Like (2)
Version 3.8 beta 1
Saggis
19 July 2007
This program is utterly fantastic, perfect for use in lectures, best program to come with my Macbook Pro. This with OmniGraffle make killer programs. My notes are now killer! Cheers!
Like (2)
Version 3.6.2
Gazman
25 August 2006
This, along with OmniWeb, seems to have been at beta stage for a long time for a .1 update.
Like
Version 3.6.1b3
Inik
20 April 2006
Great little outliner. Eminently Applescriptable, file attachable, and generally extensible. There may be better pure outliners, but this is a wonderful general brainstorming and stuff-writing-storing program. It's also lickably OmniSoftware. Mmmm! New beta works great. No problems.
Like
Version 3.6beta3
Anonymous
22 November 2005
Elegant, stable, easy on the eye, great implementation of styles, ultra-scriptable, plays nice with Quicksilver and seems to have become an ubergeek fave. BUT... I do have to agree with previous posters, the absence of even the most primitive form of linking (the ideal would be word-to-word, but even cell-to-cell would be something) is pretty much incomprehensible. NoteTaker, Hog Bay, Tinderbox, TAO, NoteBook et al. can all do it with various degrees of sophistication, and it's useful. Very. So, Omni guys: how about it?
Like
Version 3.5 rc 1
Anonymous
12 June 2005
Sorry, this is not state of the art! Look at the price and compare with others. Omni Outliner "professional" can't even link between items. Looks pretty, that's all. Software from yesterday.
Like
Version 3.0.3b3
Gakesmith
17 May 2005
While I own licenses to both OmniOutliner and Tao, I use Tao for this reason: Tao works properly with SpellCatcher X, OmniOutliner 3.0 does not. The same applies to Grammarian X and other programs. This is because Tao conforms to Apple's prescribed input methods. OmniOutliner 3.0 does not.
Like
Version 3.0.3b1
Anonymous
14 December 2004
Folks, Grow Up! OO2 and OO3 are both very well developed programs.
Like
Version 3.0b5
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
14 December 2004
I think the primary problem is that a lot of us did in fact grow up, and we found that the OO software line really did not. It added tangent features, while neglecting features the rest of the industry has adopted. Sure, it's a finely made program, it just doesn't stack up the way it used to several years ago. Multiple alternatives have columns now, and that was really its only major plus.
Like
Version 3.0b5
Anonymous
11 December 2004
I tried CP Notebook, I tried using Word's Notebook layout view, but in the end, OmniOutliner 3 turns out to be exactly the app that I was looking for to take class notes. It's fast, doesn't get in the way, has styles (and style!), and has an educational discount that I will definitely take advantage of. Simply wonderful...
Like
Version 3.0b5
Omnisupportguy
11 December 2004
Boy; there's a lot to respond to here. Yeah, there are different users out there, and they want different things. When we decided to start in on OmniOutliner 3, there were at least three broad categories of users we could go for. Some folks used OmniOutliner 2 as a to-do list and organizer - they wanted one set of features. Other folks looked at the fact that we had columns and summaries and wanted us to go in a more spreadsheet-y direction. The largest broad category of feedback we got, though, was "I really like writing in OmniOutliner, but I need to export my document to Word, or AppleWorks, or before I can show it to anyone." Many of these users were the folks that ponied up far more than Outliner costs, even at the new pricing for a tool from back in the day called MORE. I used to do a lot of OmniOutliner support, and I cannot count for you the number of times that we got email that began "I really like OmniOutliner, but I used to use this tool called MORE..." This broad class of users was the bigger than the other broad categories, and when you're developing any application, you have to prioritize. The features you *could* implement will always be more numerous than the features you have time to actually implement. So, yes, we focused on better presentation in our documents and on the printed page. We added tools for the folks that we know wanted those things. Those users are lawyers, students, teachers, and authors. If you're the type of user that doesn't care one whit about what things look like, if you're the sort of user whose documents are just used to keep yourself on track and they never leave the format of your monitor, then I can understand you being a little disappointed by version three. It, quite honestly, was not designed for you as a user. And I'm sorry for that; if we had infinite time and infinite resources, we'd have loved to develop everything at once and present you with an app that did the data-driven stuff you're after and had great presentation features. We ran the risk, however, of becoming the Mozilla of outliners, though - nifty, feature-packed code that takes so long to appear that no one really cares any more when it does arrive. Okay. About pricing. For the standard version, we definitely had some people here who opposed increasing the price at all. However, other people felt very strongly that the product was underpriced at $29.95, and the "That's all? Are you crazy?" look we'd get at MacWorld when we demoed version 2 factored into the "what do we price 3" discussion. We definitely do not plan to do this with every iteration of the product. Of course I can't promise we'll never increase the price again, but this was a 'fixing what we thought was wrong' decision, not an "inflate the pricing" strategy we want to adhere to every time we release a new version. As for Pro, we had a lot to consider. We looked at the feature set, we looked at its retail competitors, NoteTaker and NoteBook ($69 and $49), we looked at our past experience selling Pro versions of our software. We offer features no other outliner does (named styles, for instance), in addition to being on par with similarly-priced apps. Of course, charging for the sum of its parts means that some folks only want one feature in Pro, and that one feature costs them the whole upgrade. Other folks, though, get a heck of a deal. And if you don't need any of the features in Pro at all, that's why we offer standard. We look at it as saving some of our customers money, rather than forcing anyone to pay for features that they don't need. And lastly: comparison with other applications. All I'll say is that when you have multiple applications that are doing the same sorts of things, you end up with feature overlap. In some case this is out-and-out copying; in other cases, it's a simple case of parallel evolution. If you don't care a whit about styles, then OmniOutliner 3 may not be for you. We don't hate you for that fact, and all we ask is that you not hate us or our users because they do. If anybody copied anything, Tao, Outliner, and the other Outliners popping up in the last three years all copied from MORE; we just picked different features and we did it in different orders. =)
Like
Version 3.0b5
Anonymous
10 December 2004
If Mac is about GUI, then let apps be about great GUI design. Regarding the previous post: Why should we put up with bad GUI design? Yes, I am a Mac person because the Mac is not only usuable but looks great. Why should I use an app that ruins the experience for me? Why should I put up with Mac app writers who don't know what the Mac experience is? That being said, maybe OmniOutliner 3 is pushing it a bit far. I like OmniOutliner 2 for its clean appearance. TAO may be great in functionality, but come on, polish the app a little bit. Try looking at Hog Bay 3.5beta. That's looking great. It has great functionality and feels great. Also, what's with Omni's outrages pricing scheme and this model of differentiation between normal and pro? That blows it for me. Maybe TAO can become insanely great, but it takes a little more effort, and that's what I like to see with more Mac developers, that little bit extra that makes an app special.
Like
Version 3.0b5
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 December 2004
The Mac is about far, far more than being a GUI. They wouldn't have used UNIX underpinnings if they were only about GUIs. Yes, it has a nice one, but it is a lot more than just that. I have no problem with Apple's design, it is Apple developers that look at the pretty elegence and think that is the only thing. That Apple is "all about the GUI" and they neglect to address the actual needs of their application. OO3 and OO3 Pro are both in that category these days. I've played with both of them, and nearly every update to the core design of OO2 is glitz. Styles? I mean really, it isn't that important. I'd rather have a good feature set which allows me to /outline/ than something which is better done in a typesetter anyway. TAO versus the OO line is really more about where TAO is going. It is only at version one, just released months ago, and already it far surpasses the power of OO1. It is going for a different person than OO was going for, so that is all right. It can sacrifice appearance for power in my opinion. OO3 Pro is "pretending" to be in the same league as TAO, and it really is not. They are completely different beasts. One is for people who really need outlines, and the other is for people who think outlining is handy, but really want a Word document -- or something. I haven't quite figured out OO3's position yet. It is overpriced, and seems obsessed with things that are not worth obsessing over. TAO is clear, it is a power outliner. It looks simple, and that is fine for people who just need what it does and not the glitz. At the rate that it has been improving -- seriously, it is almost updated every day with non-trivial features and tweaks -- I see it as easily surpassing OO3 when it gets to be a few years old. Now that OO is charging as much as it is, it is causing me to think that way. Instead of a $20 or $30 tool, it is now an application along the lines of Office, or Tinderbox -- and along those lines, it just does not deliver for the money.
Like
Version 3.0b5
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 December 2004
I should also comment, I don't think TAO's interface is that bad. It has some rough edges, but generally I find it more /useful/ than OO's interface. Keyboard support is better, mainly, and that makes a lot of difference. I don't think the application looks that bad. It looks like it needs to, and nothing more.
Like
Version 3.0b5
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 December 2004
"The Mac is about far, far more than being a GUI. They wouldn't have used UNIX underpinnings if they were only about GUIs." Why wouldn't they have used UNIX? Why neglect the underpinnings when one wants to deliver a great UI? I believe that elegance and functionality can be combined. Mac OS X proves it. I am not saying that Apple's GUI design is perfect, far from. But with developing apps, design and functionality/usability should be balanced. I own a lot of apps that are very functional and look great. I think all apps should aspire to combine great GUI with great functionality. That is what I think Mac is all about: Not to deliver something good, but go beyond and deliver something excellent. But we are also talking about two kinds of Mac people here. Mac people who are obsessed with how things look. And there are Mac people obsessed with how things function - or are less concerned with UI and more concerned with function. I'm a Mac person who stands in the middle. I believe that Mac stands for the balance - just look at Apple's own apps. You are also right that TAO isn't bad. I am just saying that I wished that more developers would go beyond function and go for that extra spark. I see a lot of good ideas out there, but many suffer from UI design elements that are just not up to a certain level of refinement. And yes, you maybe right that OO may have turned itself to too much glitter.
Like
Version 3.0b5
Anonymous
10 December 2004
You must be the type that buys Apple products because they look nice. Eh, sorry, there is more to a computer than looking nice. The tao is only as ugly as you make it. For me, it looks about the same as OO3 minus the "fancy" item outlines, which personally I find to be a bit much. Try selecting all, for instance, and it looks like a thousand iChat balloons blew up in your Outline. That is not only ugly, it is distracting. TAO just selects lines normally, and it is easy to see what is going on. No confusion. But anyway, if default looks are all you want from an application, then by all means blow your $70 on an outliner! Have fun playing with styles. If OO3 had 1/10 of the power TAO has on a bad day, it would actually be worth that much. I mean, you cannot even clone an item in OO3. That's essential stuff. And I suggest you learn to look beyond the "glitter" in programs. You'll probably save a bucket of money. Often the most "pleasing" way to view something is not the most efficient or functional. What pleasing /does/ do, however, is get loons like you to fork over the dough -- while salivating.
Like
Version 3.0b5
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 December 2004
Actually, new research on emotion and cognition has shown that attractive things really do work better, a fact explored in Don Norman's classic "The Design of Everyday Things".
Like
Version 3.0b5
Anonymous
Anonymous
10 December 2004
There is research that shows the opposite findings, as well. Besides, I did not say that attractive things cannot be functional. I said that often the most pleasing way to view something is not the most efficient. There is a big difference, and I don't think whatever research you are talking about is referring to the latter. Mac OS X is, in fact, a good example of an attractive and highly functional interface. It isn't perfect, but it is a good example. OO3 is a good example of too much glamour being employed, and creating visual confusion as a result.
Like
Version 3.0b5
Anonymous
10 December 2004
TAO? C'mon, that's the ass-ugliest thing I've ever seen. I just can't work all day in an app that ugly. OO looks great, and OO Pro looks better. But for me, Circus Ponies Notebook still has a ton of functionality (indexes, and super find) that I just can't easily replicate/migrate to OO. But TAO? Sheesh.
Like
Version 3.0b5
Anonymous
07 December 2004
TAO does all this and more. $39.95? Now way, no how...too much.
Like
Version 3.0b4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 December 2004
Agreed! I have been using OmniOutliner for years, and lately have given up on them ever seeking the MORE level of power which they used to claim. I don't think they do so anymore. TAO, while still a bit rough around the edges (though not bad for a 1.0 release) is extremely powerful, and has no artificial "pro" features. OO3 is a lot of eye candy and elegence, which can be nice, but it simply isn't enough in this competitive market. Also, look at TAO's update speed. Some say it is too often, but eh, download less often if that is your problem.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
05 December 2004
Check out http://www.omnigroup.com/applications/omnioutliner/beta/ for info on normal and Pro. Doesn't anyone investigate anymore before posting? A little more research will get you there.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
05 December 2004
Check out the omni website. there will be a standard AND a pro version of OmniOutliner 3.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
05 December 2004
Well, I am not sure, but I do see several items listed in the opening "read me" that suggest "Pro-Only" also seen above in the smaller re-cap of what's new, though I do not see a price difference. Could be that these features are limited in the demo version until purchased. Just an observation.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
04 December 2004
Don't know what you guys are talking about.. Omni Outliner only comes in one version. There is no Pro for this program. There is a pro for Omni Graffle but not for Omni Outliner. Suggest looking at the program before writing the review. I have been using Outliner for well over a year and it is a great program. This version looks even better and much easier to use once you learn the difference between vs.. 2 and now 3.
Like
Version 3.0b4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
05 December 2004
I suggest taking a moment to investigate what we are talking about instead of blathering and assuming that everyone else but you is wrong. I've been using OO1, and OO2 for years now. OO3 beta just came out today, and in case you are too wasted to notice, that is what this MU entry is about now, the beta. We are talking about OO3 and its future pricing scheme. Take a look at Omni's page where they clearly list a Pro and Standard version for OO3.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
04 December 2004
Yeah, I second this. There's no need to make an artificial distinction between a Pro and normal edition, not with software like this. I don't like it for a bit. Just give us a nice app packed with features at a reasonable price. I don't want to make choices. That's cruel. It's not the same as with Final Cut Express and Final Cut Pro. The first is for home users who only use DV and who want to have a little more freedom cutting their movies. Final Cut Pro is for the Pro which offers more formats and all the stuff a Pro film maker needs. An outliner like this should come in one version only and offer all the power you can get. Now the normal feels like cutting random features out of the Pro. I don't like Omni's current pricing model.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Mrandre1
04 December 2004
Wow. Really, Wow. This is one of the finest applications I've had the pleasure to use, light years beyond the previous version and its competitors. OmniGroup, my money and my admiration belong to you.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
04 December 2004
Well, so far it looks like a good upgrade. There are still some beta quirks, so I cannot say too much. What I can say is that I am disappointed in the whole Pro versus Non-Pro distinction. That was a bad move in my opinion, with OmniGraffle. I've never been a fan of artifically creating constraints in your software and then selling the unconstrained version for way more than you ever did before. Faceless corporations like Adobe do things like that to their customers. Is that what Omni aspires to? I don't believe so, but you have to wonder some times when you see their pricing scheme as it has evolved over the past few years. $30 for an outliner is about right. That is what OO2 cost, that is what most of the rest are charging. I felt comfortable paying for that. Why the $10 increase for the "basic" outliner? $40 is too much. OO has always been best at making simple outlines which eventually turn into documents. Columns let it do some other stuff too, but honestly I never used it for that because I am also an owner of Tinderbox, so when I need a real power outliner, I don't mess around. OO was perfect for whipping out a quick structure, fleshing it out a bit with notes and then I'm good to go. The fundamental problem I see here, is that OO3 is still essentially the same thing, just jazzed up a bit with links and embeds and a few other things. At the core, it is still a basic outliner which is good for eventually creating documents. It does not aspire to be a power outliner, and that is fine -- so why is the cost creeping upward. If it had true clones (like Hog Bay) saved queries (like Tinderbox), inter-heading/block text linking, gathering, and other such things, then I could see the justification for increasing the price. It would be moving out of the Simple Outliner genre and into the Power Outliner genre. But it hasn't, so why increase the price? I can buy Mellel for that $40, which does what I basically use OO2 for, and a whole lot more. There is no "Pro" version of Mellel either. I pay $40 for the best the developer can offer. I'm very much considering that, now that it has outlines, as that software is updated far more rapidly and solidly than OO2 has been. I'll probably keep OO2 for quick dash outlines (though lately I've been using Hog Bay 3.5 for that more since it has clones and a wealth of other useful things. Then we get to the really dumb thing. The "pro" version. Eighty Dollars for an outliner that has just a few incremental improvements over the Forty Dollar outliner?! You have got to be kidding me. Half of the things in the Pro version *should* be in the basic version, such as hoist bookmarks. Somehow, Hog Bay managed to develop that without needing to charge nearly a hundred dollars. Surely, that cannot be too complicated a feature -- this is what I am talking about with artificial constructs between "versions." I don't know, when I think pro, I'm thinking something far more sophisticated than anything Omni makes. No offense, you guys make a wonderful batch of simple programs that do simple thing elegantly. There is a huge place for that -- but stick to that. I probably won't be buying any of your products in the future. They just haven't been enough of a return for me. Getting charged steep upgrade fees was the final kick. Hey, OO3 looks nice. It is a great step up from OO2, and will be a nice outliner for the community in the future. It's just your pricing/versioning that turns me off.
Like
Version 3.0b4
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 December 2004
Correction: The pro version will be $70 not $80. Still, that is far too much for a basic outliner. You can do far, far more with your dollar.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
04 December 2004
looks great!
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
04 December 2004
Looks great. But why a normal and a Pro, why?!
Like
Version 3.0b4
2 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 December 2004
T, Where did you find a Normal and a Pro version? That applies to Omni Grapple, not this beta release of Omni Outliner. G
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
Anonymous
04 December 2004
Look at the OmniGroup website. Omni will release a Pro version of this app, like with OmniGraffle.
Like
Version 3.0b4
Radd
04 December 2004
Wow! I'll have to spend some time before a true review... but my first impression is definitely one of amazement... VERY different than previous versions... and so far... in a VERY good way! Kudos to Omni for evolving the 3.0 well beyond the limitations of the 2.0. Instead of modest improvements, 3.0 seems fully redesigned to achieve the original goals, but with power and interface enhancements to spare. OmniOutliner definitely seems poised to return itself to my list of "can't live without" apps!
Like
Version 3.0b4
Anonymous
18 November 2004
OmniOutliner is good, but needs an upgrade soon. Come on, give us version 3. Give us more export capabilities. Apart from the lack of update, this app is still good. It's a really solid outliner, one that doesn't get in the way. A really smooth app. But again, please upgrade this app, please... Another fabulous app is Hog Bay Notebook. It is an outliner-style notebook. It is great for organizing ideas and for writing. Forget the 3.1 version. Try the new 3.5 beta. For lists and simple outlines, also brainstorming, I use OmniOutliner. For really getting organized, archiving things, and writing stuff, Hog Bay is the way.
Like
Version 2.2.6
Anonymous
12 November 2004
Horses for courses! I love this app as it fits the way my brain works rather than the way the developers brian works. Or maybe that is it, I just found a designer who thinks like me.
Like
Version 2.2.6
Anonymous
16 June 2004
Bleh! This interface is too confusing. Not a replacement to Organicer yet...
Like
Version 2.2.6
dorian innes
04 September 2003
forget that it says "notes" for iorganize and just look at what it does. It is a lot more organized with the column on the left allowing you to make a title, then on the right you can write pages upon pages. and then you can segment it down even more by adding a completely different category of notes to the top. I'm a writer and i used to use outliner for novel ideas, pieces of chapters, script treatments, everything. But its tedious, somewhat difficult to use considering the program should be very simple, and most of all, it lacks a lot of features i need as far as organizing thoughts and chapters and sequences. when i had omnioutliner i found myself furiously reading over lots and lots of headings just to find the right one. iorganize lets you create your own groups that are stored at the top of the screen. then it is broken down further into little note titles on the left side, and then it allows you to add anything and any amount of data to that note on the right. And the search function for iorganize makes looking for something even easier than it already is. i suggest everyone download each program and try them out and get the hang of them first. you'll eventually see what i mean.
Like
Version 2.2.4
Anonymous
04 September 2003
dorian- i took a look at iorganizex after reading your review and after looking at it I don't really understand your comments. iOrganizeX isn't really an outliner, as far as I can tell, but a note organizer (hence the name). So I don't really see how iOrganizeX "blows the doors" off of omnioutliner when it isn't really an outliner.
Like
Version 2.2.4
Anonymous
04 September 2003
when i first got my powerbook i downloaded omnioutliner and fell in love. I even bought a license. that is, until i downloaded a little program called iorganizeX. It blows the doors off of omnioutliner. It is easier, better organized, better everything. I suggest you give it a chance WAAAAAY before omini outliner. I wish i did before i paid for the omni license
Like
Version 2.2.4
Anonymous
18 August 2003
Want to get blown away with an outliner program that is FREE, MAC oriented to the hilt and graphically beautiful? Then get MyMind! MyMind is the future of outlining and wait until you see how you use it! I like OmniOutliner, but I loved InfoDepot and now I love MyMind. If only MyMind and Tinderbox could get together...hmmmm.
Like
Version 2.2.3
Anonymous
17 April 2003
I use this super application every single day. It grows deeper as I use it more and more. I'm a registered user since version 1.0 and also use OmniGraffle and OmniDiskSweeper. (Drop your Outliner doc onto OmniGraffle for automatic graphic generation.) The app may not fit your needs, but it sure fits mine; it gets out of my way and allows me to be very speedy while outlining, brainstorming and organizing ideas/concepts and infomation. Features: Very customizable display and export, excellent keyboard shortcuts, add blocks of supplementary text to each line item, "hoist"/"unhoist" the current line item so it displays as the top level item, and more. Download and use it for free. The app will allow unlimited use with 20 or fewer items. (And don't even get me started about OmniGraffle.) It's software developers like OmniGroup that empower the Macintosh platform: all Mac and Os X products only.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Anonymous
15 April 2003
Good, but not near as good as the defunct InfoDepot by Chena. I still use an older OS version just to run my beloved InfoDepot. It rocks compared to OmniOutliner.
Like
Version 2.2.1b1
Anonymous
15 April 2003
Solid outlining software. Easy to use interface. And, suprise, it even can read all of my 15-year-old More outline files. Great! Only thing it misses is the ability to increase the linespace between certain level items.
Like
Version 2.2.1b1
Anonymous
08 April 2003
Excellent features. Never had any problems with it and never had a crash. The continued support and integration with Graffle and now Keynote make it invaluable. Excellent program!
Like
Version 2.2.1b1
Knut
08 April 2003
pretty lame no image support.. I go with liner from imediasw.com
Like
Version 2.2.1b1