Back to Prefling page
Prefling free download for Mac

Prefling Reviews

2.1.1
14 May 2005

Access System Prefs via the Dock.

Vv  Sam  I  Am  vV
08 May 2002

Most helpful

Very handy tool for lazy people like me... it is quick and simple.
Like
Version 1.6

Read 22 Prefling User Reviews

Rate this app:

Bcwinters
14 March 2007
I'm pretty reliant on this little utility but it seems every time there's a system update it ceases to work for a while. I've never been able to figure out what gets it to kick back in again. It would be nice to see a quick maintenance update to address this. Otherwise, it's a great timesaver that I use just about every day!
Like
Version 2.1.1
Kioshi
29 January 2006
I love this. but it doesn't work in my 10.4.2 anymore, even after restarts or trashing the prefs file. Any suggestions? thanks!
Like
Version 2.1.1
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
11 August 2006
Prefling works fine, as it always has in every iteration, on my PowerBook(s) and iBook(s), currently running OS X 10.4.7. It just works, no user intervention required on my Macs.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
15 October 2005
Work well,. but would be nice to be able to use the same icon that System Preferences uses. Also it would be better if you could put it anywhere in the Dock, not just next to the Trash. Excellent app! Thanks!
Like
Version 2.1.1
2 answer(s)
Amar Sagoo
Amar Sagoo
25 October 2005
You can in fact move Prefling to any position in your Dock, on either side of the divider line. Amar
Like
Version 2.1.1
David-Shanoff
David-Shanoff
17 January 2007
I have moved it into the larger section of the dock and it works just the same. I have had problems with it not working from time to time, have trashed the preferences file, and then had it working again. It is frustrating to have to do this from time to time.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
14 July 2005
Works fine as ever on my PB15 running OS X 10.4.2 Great software, thanks go to the developer.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
17 May 2005
This tool is very usefull, but since today and after the OS X 10.4.1 update it doesn't work anymore. I hope there will be an update soon. :)
Like
Version 2.1.1
3 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
28 May 2005
I'm using the curent version in 10.4.1 on my dual G5 that's been clean installed from scratch and on my G4 laptop that was upgraded to 10.4.1. Not a problem with either, yet.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
29 May 2005
I'm also using it on my G4 in 10.4.1
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
29 May 2005
The original poster probably forgot to logout and login after the install.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
14 May 2005
This is a great freeware, very handy. I've used it since it was publicly released and it has never given me any trouble. I'm surprised this has not been downloaded more times.
Like
Version 2.1.1
Anonymous
12 May 2005
its very usefull and quick. two thumbs up. a must have for sure.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
05 May 2005
Works fine for me in 10.4; now using instead of Dockprefs, which doesn't work properly at present (lists some items multiple times). Drag Prefling to your hard drive, drag it to the dock, then logout/login to get it to work.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
03 May 2005
Don't work here either (Tiger). Console log: 2005-05-03 02:11:45.418 SystemUIServer[2328] failed to load Dock Extra: NSBundle (not yet loaded) Reverted to 2.0.
Like
Version 2.1
4 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 May 2005
I guess 2.1 does not work for the same reason that Spotlight doesn't in the System Prefs. Mine hasn't since I installed Tiger. Prefling 2.1 too. I guess some old prefpane has some bug (or missing info) that prevents both from work. :\
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
09 May 2005
Found it: the problematic prefpane was: WinShortcutterPrefs.prefPane. Now both Prefling and Spotlight in the System Preferences work fine. :)
Like
Version 2.1
Amar Sagoo
Amar Sagoo
12 May 2005
Hi, I can't find that WinShortcutterPrefs.prefPane anywhere on the net. Could you tell me where I can download it or the product it's part of? Alternatively, could you maybe send it to me as a ZIP file at ? Thanks Amar
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
Anonymous
15 May 2005
Sure. Her's the homepage: http://www.lobotomo.com/products//WinShortcutter/index.html Cheers and thanks for the nice dockling (I do love docklings). :D
Like
Version 2.1.1
Vitaly
02 May 2005
works fine on g5 2.5 duo under 10.3.9, but does not work on PB g5 1.25 under 10.3.9. still very useful wish it could also show prefpane icons (like unsanity's fruitmenu does). thanks
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
01 May 2005
Doesn't work on my PM G5 2.0 (Rev. B) under 10.3.9 and I don't know why. It SEEMED to work once (it showed a menu of various prefs) but I didn't highlight any of them. Now it won't even show the list. Disappointing.
Like
Version 2.1
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
01 May 2005
You need to either logout or restart your Mac, then new version Prefling will work.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
01 May 2005
This is a really nice bit of work, I've used it since its inception. I consider it to be a 'must have'. Much thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 2.1
Anonymous
06 October 2004
very nice dockling! a must-have!
Like
Version 2.0
bcwinters
05 November 2003
I find it incredibly annoying to use a Mac without Prefling installed. It's one of those indispensible, tiny programs that instantly become hard to live without. One minor issue: pref panels that start with lowercase letters (uControl, iChatStatus) are shunted to the bottom of the list instead of being alphabetized "normally." Hope that gets tidied up soon.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
30 October 2003
it's one of the very best things. been using it since it was released, can't say enough good about it.
Like
Version 2.0
Anonymous
23 September 2003
I love it :-)
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
22 August 2003
Works great, always has for me... A very useful and inobtrusive dockling.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
14 March 2003
Have tried logging out In 10.2.4, I do get the warning. Have tried logging out and back in, and removing it from the Dock and adding it again but still cannot get it to work again.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
12 March 2003
This should work fine in 10.2.4, apart from the warning on first use. Please try logging out and back in, or removing it from the Dock and adding it again.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Bierboy
20 February 2003
Broken in 10.2.4. I assume the author will post a fix?
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
07 October 2002
Not that it's a huge problem, but I'm kind of surprised that Apple didn't think about the time-wasting task of opening the entire Prefs panel to get to the one particular preference that's needed. Prefling is basically a one-click way around that irksome task. I love it. Prefling needs to be scarfed up by Apple as a standard OSX feature. Kudos to the Prefling team. Michael Wheeler
Like
Version 1.6.1
Vv  Sam  I  Am  vV
08 May 2002
Very handy tool for lazy people like me... it is quick and simple.
Like
Version 1.6