Back to Civilization IV Complete page
Civilization IV Complete free download for Mac

Civilization IV Complete Reviews

1.0
06 October 2007

Guide your civilization from the dawn of man through the space age.

Brian Kendig
09 October 2007

Most helpful

There's a typo in the link on the page for the 1.74 patch download; they misspelled a word as 'patcches'. Delete the extra 'c', or just download it from: http://downloads2.macgamefiles.com/files/aspyr/patches/Civ4_1.74.dmg
Like (1)
Version 1.74

Read 20 Civilization IV Complete User Reviews

Rate this app:

seba-szwarc
14 February 2015
This is sucks. I've bought in long ago with MU Promo Bundle. I wanted to play this after upgrade to Yosemite...no luck. Patch arrived only to Steam version. I've tried to activate this game on Steam - with serial keys provided by MU game WILL NOT Activate...very dissapointing :(((((
Like
Version
2 answer(s)
twobobtoo
twobobtoo
28 May 2015
Do a google search. It will work with some stuffing around. Need python 2.3. Might need to make an alias inside the package but don't give up. I am in the middle of this at the moment and trying to get BTS to work. I upgraded the wife's MAC and all is good on hers. I have the game on Steam as well, and the graphics do not work properly....
Like
Zmen
Zmen
27 July 2015
You can contact Aspyr support and they'll email you a Steam activation code for a version that works on Yosemite.

See here:
http://support.aspyr.com/hc/en-us/articles/203405074-Civilization-IV-is-not-launching-on-10-10-Yosemite-
Like
jmhbpc
09 March 2012
I am downloading to see if compatible with Lion. This is not a review, but I should comment that the 73mb referred to above is a bit shy of the actual demo download of 461 mb.
Like (1)
Version
1 answer(s)
jmhbpc
jmhbpc
09 March 2012
and it would be nice if the Special Instructions for purchased downloads were more clear regarding the _two_ Civ IV downloads along with the expansion packs
Like (1)
Guizmo85
14 February 2012
This game rocks, but Aspsyr support is innexistant. I had to contact twice MacUpdate Support for a non-working CD-key. Aspsyr did not even reply to MacUpdate Support, I was in cc: of their email. When I reinstalled the game, after I downgraded back to Snow Leopard(since Lion is a piece os crap), my CD-key was invalid. It looks like you can only install it once, and then the CD-key does not work anymore. This is the kind of DRM that makes you go the pirates way... The Support button to contact Aspsyr support redirect you to a blank 404 error page also. The game is good, but the publisher of the Mac version is crap. I bought it on Windows and have been playing ever since via BootCamp. Funny thing, there's no activation or CD-Key for the Windows version...
Like
Version
1 answer(s)
Ochre
Ochre
07 August 2012
I had the same problem, and contacted Aspyr regarding this back in July last year. They were prompt in their responses and, when I had exhausted all their troubleshooting measures, they sent me out the full Civ4: Gold DVD free of charge. Sorry to hear your experience wasn't as satisfying. FYI: on the down side, the DVD they sent me has SecuROM DRM that requires the disc always be in the drive, which isn't great for portability, or for playing Civ4 on my new optical drive-less Mac mini. Swings and roundabouts, I guess. A third-party no CD patch is available that swings things back in the legitimate purchaser's favour, however :)
Like
avi2kat
21 September 2011
Won't run without 'disk' and won't run with the disk I purchased with kit.
Like
Version
citlalimcdowell
15 August 2011
LOVE IT, I just love this game. The patch, it took me like 4 hrs. to figure it out.
Like
Version
citlalimcdowell
14 August 2011
I hve a MacBook Pro 10.6.8 and no problems playing but, I can't install the patch to play online. Help anyone? 10.3.9 users note: Civilization IV 1.74 can not be installed while the game DVD is mounted. And then after I agree to license: An Internal error has occurred You will not be able to install this software It says that no software could be found to update!!!!!PLESE HELP!!!!!!
Like (1)
Version
1 answer(s)
citlalimcdowell
citlalimcdowell
14 August 2011
Once you download the .dmg file, double-click it to mount the drive on the desktop. Open the drive and you should get a window with the installer file. Drag this installer file to where the game is installed and THEN run the installer. You will still get an error and need to click OTHER to locate the file, but this time it should recognize the game file and you should be able to click on it. Then the patch should should install and work without any problems.
Like (1)
hvdkooij
02 August 2011
In general it works well. I have not seen any crashes. But after some time (usual several hours) the graphics seems to get mixed up. Saving the game, stopping and starting the application again is a workaround that always works.
Like
Version
Jeroentbt
26 March 2011
Purchased in the MacUpdate spring 2011 Promo bundle. The serial provided isn't working for me. "You have entered an invalid serial number." Did anyone have any luck with this?
Like
Version
2 answer(s)
Creeper1607
Creeper1607
27 March 2011
I am having the same problem with Civ IV and Monkey Island.
Like
Celso-Dantas
Celso-Dantas
31 March 2011
me too. Having the same problem with Monkey Island
Like
Piquiros
17 March 2011
I have been playing Civilization since the original version was released for the Amiga in the early 90's. This is without a doubt the most established and creative franchise for strategy simulation games for the PC. Civ 4 was a bit of a learning curve for me, it offered complexities that were far more challenging than any of the previous versions. Those complexities and improvements kept the game fresh and insanely addictive for almost 4 years. I still play this, my sad MacBook Pro won't cut it for the newest version Civ5. But I am not complaining, this game still reveals new tricks, advancements and challenges for me. Be careful, this game will become insanely addictive once you master how to engage in combat.
Like
Version 1.74
Damacguy
07 December 2008
Running 10.5.5 on a 2.4GHz MBP. Clean install of Civ IV crashes on launch even with 1.74 patch.
Like
Version 1.74
Rumpelstiltskin
13 March 2008
Was stoked to see this, thinking it meant a patch, as my 1.74 crashes too much! But cannot find a patch just a monster demo. Doh!
Like
Version 2.13
Jerry-Rosen
06 January 2008
I have two new Mac Macbook Pro and Imac running 10.4.11 I had this game using native resolution and it kept crashing on both computers. I reinstalled the game at the root level and not in the applications folder. I dropped the resolution to 1024x768. I installed both patches after the game and the expansion pack was installed.I left auto save on just in case it crashed again. I turned off the opening movie in the ini file. I am now playing the game and it has not crashed. Aspyr tech support was totally useless. The game needs some more revisions to allow it to run in native resolution. Jan 6, 2008
Like
Version 1.74
Brian Kendig
09 October 2007
There's a typo in the link on the page for the 1.74 patch download; they misspelled a word as 'patcches'. Delete the extra 'c', or just download it from: http://downloads2.macgamefiles.com/files/aspyr/patches/Civ4_1.74.dmg
Like (1)
Version 1.74
1 answer(s)
Jean-Loup
Jean-Loup
09 October 2007
Good catch BRIAN KENDIG, tks :-)
Like
Version 1.74
Quickben
27 January 2007
Graphics fail to work properly on my Mac Pro (dual 2.66 w/ NVIDIA 7300GT). I tried all the different graphics settings in the game, yet there isn't any background showing up during game play. In other words, the characters appear to be standing in space--nothing but black.
Like
Version 1.61revB
CharlesPickrell
27 September 2006
Reviews I've read on the Web state that people have had no problems running this game on the MacBook. When I download the 1.61 v11864 version I get complete graphics corruption in-game. I've turned all the graphics to their lowest settings, and to medium settings with no luck. Can any MacBook owners get this demo to work? Me: MacBook OS 10.4.7 2 GB RAM 2 GHz CoreDuo
Like
Version 1.61revA
1 answer(s)
Gazman
Gazman
25 January 2007
I get the same deal on my MacBook with a Gig of RAM. On first start-up it also says that my video card is not supported. You sure you weren't reading about MacBook Pro's?
Like
Version 1.61revB
Brian Kendig
11 August 2006
Even with the patch, this game brings my G5 (1.8GHz single) to its knees. Don't try this game unless you have a lot of patience.
Like
Version 1.61revA
Nede
02 August 2006
Had high hopes for this update but the sound issues are still there along with a some new strange clicking sounds. Game still runs slowly on dual processor G5 with RAM to spare.
Like
Version 1.61revA
04 June 2002
quiero saber como obtener algun demo de este fabuloso juego
Like
Version 1.1.7g
beto
20 March 2002
se me hace un juego muy interesante lo provare
Like
Version 1.1.7g
beto
20 March 2002
se me hace un juego muy interesante lo provare
Like
Version 1.1.7g