Back to USB Overdrive page
USB Overdrive free download for Mac

USB Overdrive Reviews

4.0.1
02 November 2019

USB driver for USB and Bluetooth peripherals.

Jer
10 November 2018

Most helpful

Fantastic app, if you can get it to work. The developer appears to be continuing development but it seems like there are more and more problems with each new macOS. Eventually through many reboots, reinstalls, device unplug/plugin, then the device is recognized. Then randomly, there are other issues that happen with the cursor which rebooting fixes. I have emailed the developer with no response.
Like (1)
Version 3.4

Read 136 USB Overdrive User Reviews

Rate this app:

joel-73
04 February 2020
Brilliant, nearly irreplaceable, when it works. Don't pay for it though, it'll stop working when it feels like it. In the decade I've used it the developer has never once replied to an email. As of a month ago it doesn't work properly on exactly one of two identical installations. With no technical support options, all I can do is try Karabiner or Controllermate next.
Like
Version 4.0.1
Full Score
31 October 2019
Using Mojave (v 10.14.6) with a Kensington Slimblade Trackball and USB Overdrive (v. 3.4) I had no problems. After switching to USB Overdrive 4.0 I have lost the ability to scroll. I have had to revert to 3.4. A great pity as this is a terrific little utility which I've used fondly for many years.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Jer
10 November 2018
Fantastic app, if you can get it to work. The developer appears to be continuing development but it seems like there are more and more problems with each new macOS. Eventually through many reboots, reinstalls, device unplug/plugin, then the device is recognized. Then randomly, there are other issues that happen with the cursor which rebooting fixes. I have emailed the developer with no response.
Like (1)
Version 3.4
t-g-anger
20 October 2016
As already told here, after Sierra update there is an issue with selection or files dragging, while scrolling the mouse wheel. Hope it will be fixed soon. Otherwise it is a great product! Using it to remap A4Tech mouse soft-keys to copy/paste, it highly increases the workflow.
Like (1)
Version 3.3
Endymion0000
27 September 2016
Anyone else having a drag while using the scrollwheel issue? This happens throughout all applications, but here's a specific case in the Finder. If I select a file and drag it, then use the scrollwheel to move more quickly in the window list view, the file is immediately dropped when the scrollwheel is used and whatever file is under the pointer is then picked up until I use the scrollwheel again and the issue repeats. If I disable USB Overdrive, then select/drag and use the scrollwheel works as expected allowing me to scroll to a new location before I release the mouse button to drop the file. This is also how USB Overdrive worked prior to macOS Sierra. I'm using a Logitech Marathon M705 mouse. I've submitted the issue to Alessandro, but haven't heard anything back yet.
Like
Version 3.3
danilichdim
16 August 2016
Saver usb driver! I've bought myself a mad catz rat 3 and what a disappointment it was for me to see, that there was not hover function and madcatz driver did nothing to fix that. But thankfully I've found this treasure! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!
Like (1)
Version 3.2
1 answer(s)
danilichdim
danilichdim
17 August 2016
Actually, it worked for one day and then stopped for unknown reason.
Like
Reddog99
16 December 2015
FYI, if you use a Magic Mouse2 and have trouble with kernel panics whenever the mouse is activated, then this 3.2 update should fix that. (using 10.11.2).
Like
Version 3.2
Big Johnson
11 August 2015
Generally works okay with my Logitech MX Revolution mouse, although not as useful as SteerMouse. I miss having the cursor move automatically to the default button in a window. And I ABSOLUTELY HATE that this app WILL NOT FUNCTION after rebooting until I open it in System Preference, then I can close it and move on. Didn't have that problem with SteerMouse. Right now the Status pane contains a list of devices that are "handled by USBO." The list contains most of my USB devices currently in use, including laptop speakers, an external hard drive and a USB headphone amplifier/DAC. I don't know what USBO thinks it's gonna do with those, but they're in the list. The only item in the list actually being handled by USBO is the Logitech USB receiver for my mouse.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
3 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
17 January 2016
The annoying problem of not functioning after reboot was either fixed in v3.1 or was due to a problem on my last computer running Yosemite.
A month ago I got a new computer with El Capitan and installed v3.1and it launches properly upon reboot, thus eliminating one of my complaints about the app.

My review was written while using 3.0.1, despite it showing 3.1 in the corner.

Now I'd like to see more functions added to rival Steermouse, specifically moving the cursor to predefined buttons in windows or dialog boxes automatically (with options for immediate or moving cursor).

Right now the price matches that of Steermouse, yet Steermouse includes more features.

Like (1)
Uncoy
Uncoy
19 August 2016
I've noticed OS X behaving much better as El Capitan (later versions) than any version of Yosemite. I can't get click to scroll to work though under USB Overdrive 3.2 on Kensington trackballs (two different ones).
Like
fred_ugly
fred_ugly
28 April 2017
Works fine with old Logitech MX 700 mouse and keyboard with the charging cradle. Plug it in and USB Overdrive recognizes it right away.

Does not immediately recognize newer Logitech Performance MX mouse with universal receiver. Nothing appears in status pane. Plug it in and have to restart the Mac for USB Overdrive to recognize it.

Just an annoyance. I would happily pay for the shareware if this problem was fixed. External mouse is unusable without it (speed, acceleration, reverse scroll vs trackpad).
Like
Levelbest
16 March 2015
Today is 16 March, 2015. I wrote this developer almost 2 weeks ago, no reply. I don't know if this is still in development. I need something to use an old Kensington Expert Mouse (Trackball). It is a PS/2 model that needs a PS/2 to male USB connector. I got one of those two into one dongles but the software recognizes the footprint of the dongle, not the trackball. I need to order a small pass through connector like this unit came with. I can accelerate my trackball with this software but It appears to not understand the buttons very well. I was hoping the developer could help or offer a suggestion but, he appears to be not answering his emails.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
2 answer(s)
Ikir
Ikir
26 July 2015
Sometimes the author takes a lot to reply! He should update website more often. He is a very nice guy, but i think USB OverDrive is not his priority anymore.
Like (1)
Uncoy
Uncoy
19 August 2016
No, the older PS/2 Kensington Trackballs don't do too well under USB Overdrive unfortunately. I have one too. Detecting the clicks through an adapter is a pretty thankless job. The Kensington Blade Trackbacll is the best of the modern ones. New Expert Mouse is garbage (good for a couple of years at best, cheap feel in use).
Like
Achim2
23 October 2014
It's impossible to set the side buttons of a generic mouse to trigger forward/back in Safari (on a German system - cmd+ö and cmd+ä). Support is lacking - I never got an answer to a question. It doesn't work well together with a Wacom Intous4, the tablet will stop working as it should. So I switched to ControllerMate, which doesn't have those issues.
Like (1)
Version 3.1
Xenophile
24 July 2014
Since updating to Mavericks, USB Overdrive is disabled whenever my Mac Pro sleeps. To reenable it, I have to open System Preferences, select the USB Overdrive pane, and then select my trackball settings in the dropdown menu. I hope this isn't abandoned because it's the best USB driver for my needs. If the sleep issue isn't fixed soon, I'll have to migrate to ControllerMate.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
16 October 2014
It's months later but it's updated for Yosemite. :P
Like
Mac2Win
20 November 2012
This will do for some but if you want 100% windows like mouse acceleration you need to get ControllerMate 4.6. Like many who download this I too was frustrated by the os x mouse acceleration. My wrist was getting sore from using the mouse under os x. I've tried SteerMouse, Mousefix 2, killamouseaccel commands, download MS drivers...nothing worked but ControllerMate. Not Advertising for them, but I am compelled to write here as I know somebody will find this info helpful. I realized that every solution I found on the internet has been written by somebody willing to sit down and take their time to write about it. So here is everything I learned about OS X mouse acceleration issue: 1) There is no easy System Preference to turn in off in 2 seconds. 2) There IS a difference in mouse acceleration between WIN and OSx (your not imagining it). 3) The only real solution is ControllerMatte unit some small app comes out that solves this. 4) SmoothMouse is an app with a lot of hype that is being worked on right now, but it is not out yet. Now you go out and write about something that will help others.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
2 answer(s)
Cgc
Cgc
12 March 2014
SmoothMouse is a free option that can give you a very Windows-like mouse acceleration curve. ControllerMate has the most horrific interface I've ever seen.
Like
Psychiatry
Psychiatry
29 May 2014
I think Mac Mouse Acceleration is a lot better than Windows Mouse Acceleration. I hardly have to move my OS X Mouse to get it anywhere on the screen. On Windows, I have to move the mouse larger distances. In OS X, you have to learn to use your fingers, to flick the mouse, not your wrist. When you do, you'll realize how much easier it is to use the mouse in OS X. You don't use your wrist at all.
Like (1)
Aargl
25 September 2012
Wonderful! This product comes in where big corporates selling high priced trackballs such as Kensington have abandoned support for their old customers! My Expert Mouse works perfectly on Mountain Lion and better than with Kensington's original driver on Snow Leopard! (I had strange behaviours in Firefox that seem to have disappeared with this driver! It definitely deserves the money!
Like (4)
Version 3.0.2
Lopoz
12 August 2012
Finally, all Logitech MX518 buttons can be programmed! Now I can get rid of SteerMouse :) Side note: I had to reboot twice to be able to fully program my mouse buttons. Not sure if it's a problem on my end, but thought I'd mention it.. I deducted 1,5 stars for the lack of response on earlier support questions (made by me) by the developer. When someone purchases a software, some support should be given, IMO..
Like (4)
Version 3.0.2
1 answer(s)
nguarino564
nguarino564
16 June 2015
I have same problem any can help
Like
Velgor242
10 August 2012
This update makes my week. Many thanks to the developer!
Like (3)
Version 3.0.2
Ronl
10 August 2012
Excellent software!! The first third-party app I install when doing a new installation. Thanks for the update Alessandro!
Like (2)
Version 3.0.2
Rich-K-
10 August 2012
Wow an update :-) I don't wish to sound mean but could the dev not have fixed the conflict with the Magic trackpad a couple of years earlier? Other than the patchy update schedule this for me has to be the best 3rd party usb driver. It makes my old Microsoft mouse sing and dance! Thanks for keeping it alive Dev.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.2
Xenophile
07 August 2012
Doesn't remember settings on ML until I open the preference pane, click all the mouse butttons, and then close the pane. I hope there is a fix for this soon.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Velgor242
27 July 2012
Works fine in Mountain Lion, though this doesn't excuse apparent abandonment by the developer. I would jump at another option, but USB Overdrive is the only driver that allows for separate settings per input device. Sigh.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
lostczech
25 July 2012
Does not install on Mountain Lion! You get a security warning saying "Install USB Overdrive.pkg can't be opened because it is from an unidentified developer."
Like
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Amergin
Amergin
27 July 2012
This is because GateKeeper is on by default in Mountain Lion - it can be turned off in system prefs. I presume the developer will get around to signing it at some stage but in the early days of Mountain Lion there are bound to be a number of apps from smaller developers that are not yet signed.
Like (2)
lostczech
lostczech
27 July 2012
Spot on Amergin! I fixed this by going to System Preferences > Security and Privacy > General, and checking Allow App Downloads from Anywhere.
Like (1)
Wizardling
29 March 2012
The latest (though rather old now :-( ) version of USBO is less intuitive, offers no real value unless you're in Lion and must run this version, is buggy, has broken features (selecting Diablo II for example makes the USBO Pref pane bug out and I have to force quit System Prefs), and support emails go unanswered months later :-( What a shame formerly excellent software was never at least fixed in OSX 10.6, let alone 10.7. Worse is the developer continues to sell it without at least making it free or removing it for good. If something doesn't happen soon, I'll be demanding a refund, though actually getting through to someone to make such a demand is another matter... I've used versions of USBO since I got my Lime Rev. c iMac back in 1999 - the first Mac I ever used with USB. It really is a pity the developer is ruining USBO's formerly great reputation through inaction.
Like (7)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Wizardling
Wizardling
25 May 2013
Well, nearly _16 months_ on since I first tried to get email support for v3's broken and buggy features. I have just sent yet another email - my fifth now - requesting a refund for my purchased upgrade to v3 from v10.4.8 which I have long since downgraded to. Thank goodness I still use OS X 10.6.8 on my Macs, which continues working fine with USBO v10.4.8. I honestly don't expect a reply, but out of principle I am asking anyway.
Like
Wizardling
29 March 2012
After I go "Choose Application…" from the Application menu and try to select another app, the USB pref panel becomes buggy, whereby the ok and cancel buttons becoming non-responsive. Also the application I select, e.g. 'Diablo II' will not show up in the Application menu after selecting it in the open file dialog. To get out of the New Duplicate Settings pane I have to force quit System Prefs. Mid-2007 24" 2.8GHz iMac, 4GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256MB VRAM, OS X 10.6.8 I sent the above to USBO support two months ago - still not had a reply :-( I'm not very happy and may have to downgrade to the old 32 bit version. In fact I'm seeing zero useful improvements in the 'new' (cause it's not really now - is USBO still being supported??) 64 bit version. It's not very good at all :-(
Like
Version 3.0.1
Wizardling
17 December 2011
Where did clicked-wheel-up and down go in v3? :-( I think I might have to downgrade to v10.4.8 and request a refund for v3 :-(
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Wizardling
Wizardling
17 December 2011
Never mind, I found out how, but it sure wasn't obvious (just use the click-wheel-up/down while in USBO to get it to appear).
Like
Molamola
27 September 2011
With OS Lion, I started to experience kernel panics right after startup. I deinstalled USB Overdrive and am testing SteerMouse now, seems this solves the problem. So to me and also from the reports it seems that USB Overdrive has some issues with Lion and is in need of an update. I would love to continue to use it, but at this time I'd recommend to annybody to wait for some sign of live from the developer if USB Overdrive is still under active development und if there will be a new Version updated for OS Lion before purchasing a license. I will get my SteerMouse license if there are no news here within the next 30 days (which is when my SteerMouse trial period will end).
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Ronl
Ronl
04 January 2012
USB Overdrive works fine for me with Lion 10.7.2 (FWIW)
Like (1)
Molamola
Molamola
12 January 2012
If the developer still cares he should at least update the website and state 10.7 compatibility. The last time he touched the site was 2009... I don't think this would be to much of an effort if he still wants to sell licenses.
Like (7)
Lesoth0
05 June 2011
I noticed on installing Snow Leopard that there's a huge conflict between both versions of USB Overdrive (v1.48 and 3.01) that disables the keypad on extended Mac keyboards... never had a problem on Tiger though Anyway, here's the fix: - Settings > Any Keyboard, Any Application -- UNtick the Enabled checkbox That turns everything back on on the Keypad bar the Eject button... which I've gone past anyway with the far superior Dock app called "DiskEject" which is more powerful (even ejects "stuck" DVDs/CDs etc. in all your attached drives). You can get it from here MacUpdate.com and it's FREE.
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Ronl
Ronl
04 January 2012
Typo... DiskEject should be DiscEject... otherwise you won't be able to find it on MacUpdate.
Like (2)
Lesoth0
Lesoth0
05 January 2012
well spotted.
Like (1)
Ronl
07 January 2011
Excellent app!! I've been using it for over a decade and it is one of the very first things I install on a new installation. Excellent support also. Very quick and courteous. An absolute must have app.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
5 answer(s)
Rich-K-
Rich-K-
08 January 2011
"Excellent support also. Very quick and courteous." i don't think so..... hey Ronl, perhaps you could you ask the dev why he has never replied to my emails and is he planning to over come the conflict that his driver has with the Apple magic trackpad?
Like (6)
Ronl
Ronl
08 January 2011
Rich K. I don't want to _accidentally_ turn this in to an argument, but... I only know that in the decade I have been using this app Alessandro has always been very helpful and quick to respond. And... the reasons I have contacted him has virtually always been either my fault or... the hardware was using a proprietary code that did not allow him to manipulate it (Logitech for instance... and though I have been using their input devices as long as I can remember... they aren't always perfect... and one of their buttons can not be controlled by Alessandro. Just look at Logitech's own mouse drivers... pathetic. Anyway... I have had such excellent support from Alessandro over the years that when he tells me it is not possible... I believe him. So it _MAY_ be that you are asking him to do something that can not be done. Just a guess... and again... I am not attempting to start an argument... nor am I suggesting you may be attempting to start one. I'm just saying what my own experience has been. To see that I am a professional and appreciate excellent apps and hardware... please click on my profile and go to my website. I need my apps to work to create the images I do... USB Overdrive is critical in making my job MUCH easier and quicker. Again... good luck with your Apple magic trackpad. Good luck..
Like (5)
Roger-Wilco
Roger-Wilco
15 February 2011
Sadly I have to agree with Rich. I've been using USB Overdrive for 11 years and it's been great. Unfortunately it made my new Magic Trackpad inoperable. A very courteous and complimentary email to Aleesandro has gone unanswered, as others have also noted. I suggested that if he can't fix it, he should at least say so on his web page.
Like (5)
Mart°n
Mart°n
21 March 2011
I also have written to Alessandro a few weeks ago asking if USB Overdrive is still developed or abandoned. One may think the latter as USB Overdrive, his website and his iPhone app are updated in 2009 the last time and no news are heard since then. I’m currently in trial mode to finally use my Griffin PowerMate. While this device works fine with USB Overdrive, my MightyMouse doesn’t. I would buy it instantly after a MightyMouse supporting update or at least a note with a predicted timeframe. But I’m probably too old to buy a two year old software which doesn’t fully support my current hardware from a developer that seems to have submerged two years ago.
Like (2)
ollielewis
ollielewis
04 January 2012
support, lol. all links and support have been disabled on site, obviously a lot of angry customers-me included. Messed up my time machine, also after uninstall, start screen asking for payment still pops up.
Like
Lemming
21 December 2010
USB Overdrive X 3.0.1 is unusable on my MBPro running Snow Leopard. Whenever I enable screen sharing to my Mac Mini, my mouse becomes erratic and unpredictable: mouse clicks some working, I can't quit apps, the mouse will random grab objects or windows and won't let go. There is some nasty conflict between USB Overdrive and Screen Sharing. It's frustrating. This used to be a great mouse controller, but no more. At least not for me.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Pres!
15 December 2010
I've been using USB Overdrive since 2000, and have been totally happy with it. I've been running v10.4.8 and just tried installing the newer v3. I don't know if it was a conflict with its own older version or what, but it wouldn't recognize my wireless trackball. So I uninstalled v3 and re-installed the old v10.4.8 and all my settings were still there. I don't want to go digging around in my System folder to troubleshoot it like the support page suggests, so I'll just stay with the old version that seems to be working fine for now. I don't think I have any other drivers that would have conflicted with v3, so I'm a bit disappointed that the v3 installer wasn't smart enough to clean up after the older version of itself. But since I didn't even get this version functioning I'm not going to give it a rating.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
macmaarten
09 December 2010
Although USB Overdrive does allow for configuring all buttons of any USB device, I somehow can't get it to launch/dismiss Dashboard at a click of a button of my Logitech mouse. Therefore I reverted to Logitech's bulky (but free) mousedriver today, which does its job well at zero costs!
Like
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Johnmhammer
Johnmhammer
14 December 2010
USB Overdrive is great. I've used it since the Mac OS 9 days. However, Logitech's own drivers are much, MUCH better than they used to be. Try downloading the latest Logitech Command Center. USB Overdrive can still do some things LCC can't, but LCC is better at detecting older Carbon applications, especially certain games likes Starcraft (Broodwar) and Age of Empires II, both of which USB Overdrive can't even detect for purposes of setting up a control set. But to directly address your issue: Within System Preferences->Expose and Spaces, define either a function key or a mouse button to toggle Dashboard. Then go into USB Overdrive and set the button on your mouse which you want to use to toggle Dashboard to emulate the keypress or mouse button you set for Dashboard within the Expose and Spaces preference pane.
Like
Lopoz
28 November 2010
Don't expect any support from the developer after purchasing this driver. I've mailed him several times regarding a number of buttons that aren't working in USB Overdrive, but are in SteerMouse. Never received an answer...
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Rich-K-
20 September 2010
Just adding my lament for the demise of this once great usb driver. I used version 2 for many years with my 5 button mouse but since the dev changed the interface and other things in ver 3 things have gone downhill. The UI looks like some kind of convoluted Microsocks UI with multiple hidden menus and options plus I wasted a day of my life due to a conflict with the griffin Powermate and now I have had to uninstall it completely due to a conflict with the Apple Magic Trackpad. I paid the dev for a license for v2 and upgrade to v3 and i think it was worth it for 8 years of extra mouse functionality, but now its time to say goodbye and try to find a driver which doesn't conflict with the Magic trackpad. Adios USB Overdrive, I knew you well........
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Thus-spake-z
Thus-spake-z
17 October 2010
version 3.01 works just fine for me....I haven't had any problems setting it up or using it. You can always go back to the previous version; its download is still available on the developer's website.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Thus-spake-z
Thus-spake-z
17 October 2010
Ok, I overlooked the part about your conflict due to having a 'Griffin Powermate' and an 'Apple Magic Trackpad' installed. I've got neither of them. Guess you'll just have to live without 'USB Overdrive' then.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Justanthrguyhere
13 August 2010
What a bummer to see this die. I've had to uninstall it due to incompatibilities with the Magic Track Pad. I've been a paying user since the OS 9 days and always appreciated that is was out there. It was nice while it lasted!
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Megaman
29 May 2010
I've been watching the developer's site for a while waiting to see an update that addresses a couple of bugs I've had, as well as Magic Mouse compatibility. Nothing is happening. I had emailed the developer ages ago (twice) about a couple of issues I was having, received no response. I think this (potentially great) program is dead.
Like (3)
Version 3.0.1
Timmyb
07 April 2010
Having trouble with clicks not working properly. Emailed developer twice. No response within two weeks...
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Ream
19 March 2010
I installed it. It says restart, I restard and my mac DIES!!! I think it killed my iMac20!!! The screen is black and I can only hear the Drive spin, but it never makes to OSX as I cannot hear no sound when changing the sound level. How the hell am I going to sue them, if there is no way I can prove it caused the problem.
Like
Version 3.0.1
2 answer(s)
Arthur-Battram
Arthur-Battram
26 April 2010
did you fix it? if not, or even if you did, you really need applejack - only thing that revived my seemingly dead iMac g5 20Ò and btw, if you have the fan problem, clean the fan intake - only on g5s- that is HIDDEN directly under where the stand goes into the bak of the iMac. this one foxed even my Mac dealer's techies. download and install applejack then use it if there are any problems. by using a safeboot and typing the applejack magic it runs and fixes stuff. good luck!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Ronl
Ronl
07 January 2011
Quote: "I restard and my mac DIES!!!" Right... I'm sure you couldn't have made a mistake. I've been using this app. for over a decade and it's stable as any app I've ever used on a Mac.
Like
Zeebie
09 January 2010
Does not work properly with gamepad here. When I configure special settings for a certain game amd start the game it uses the "Any Gaming, Any Application" keys. Completely useless for gaming.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Had the same exact issues. KPs every 3 days or so. Uninstalled USB Overdrive 3.0.1 about a month ago and haven't had a KP since.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
yamagato
31 October 2009
If installed (3.0.1), interferes with Apple's Magic Mouse drivers. Will allow MM use as a 2-button mouse and nothing more. Must uninstall USBOD to gain access to the multi-touch MM features in Apple's driver.
Like (7)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Iacas
Iacas
04 February 2011
Ditto the Magic Trackpad of course. Won't even pair.
Like
Doug-Engelbart
29 October 2009
In my old "Overdrive X 10.4.5" everything worked fine. Now I switched to this new v3.0.1 and re-configured my old settings (more than 30) with success, but I also got the following issues (OSX.5.8, G4): 1.) I cannot choose these two games anymore to configure mouse key settings: "Diablo II (Carbon)" and "Baldur's Gate II". I can select each applications' file in the "Choose" dialog, but when I click "Open" there to choose the application, then the application is not chosen (the popup field still says "Application: Choose Application...") and "Cancel/OK" hangs so that I must force-quit the dialog. 2.) This new Overdrive now can export settings (as documented). But it can only export each single setting for each single application separately. How do I save my whole bunch of more than 30 application settings in one single export file?
Like (2)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Wizardling
Wizardling
29 March 2012
Hey! That happens to me too with the new 64 bit version of USBO and selecting Diablo II! I also end up having to force quit System Prefs :-(
Like (1)
Megaman
13 October 2009
I've been getting major kernel panics with 3.0.1. I've written to the developer a couple of times now with no response. Anyone else having problems?
Like
Version 3.0.1
Thmghtd
10 October 2009
I'm a little embarrassed that I can't seem to find a definitive answer to this. Maybe my Googling isn't what it used to be. Or maybe it was never that good. Either way: I'm wondering if USB Overdrive can work, in any capacity, with the thin/aluminum Apple USB Keyboard with Numeric Keypad. The model number is A1243, Apple Part # MB110LL/A) It's plugged in to a 13" MacBook Pro with its lid kept shut and an external Cinema Display as the primary/only monitor. The Status tab of USB Overdrive shows the Apple Optical USB Mouse (which is plugged into the keyboard), but no keyboard. I'd love to be able to customize... well, to be honest, the whole keyboard, but that's a different app, I'm sure. Farting around with the media keys would be great, though, and my (misguided?) understanding is, somehow, there's a way to do it. I've been sure to remove all the SteerMouse components, and I had FunctionFlip installed but disabled it and made sure none of its agents are running. I fired off an email to their support address, but since it's the weekend I don't expect an immediate reply and figured I could ask around... Thanks in advance!
Like
Version 3.0.1
Gordon142
29 September 2009
OK, I think this is back to being my favorite universal USB HID Device Controller. This version finally allows me to use all buttons on my logitech mouse, and almost all extra functions of my Microsoft Keyboard. The new interface is elegant and easy to configure. I've been using Steermouse for a long time (an excellent programme, by the way), but I think I'm going to move to Overdrive for now.
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
1 answer(s)
Thmghtd
Thmghtd
10 October 2009
Ditto that -- big fan of both, but I think USB Overdrive has just now (and just barely) edged out SteerMouse. For me, anyway.
Like (1)
Version 3.0.1
Itistoday
29 September 2009
With this one piece of software I can do away with Logitech's drivers for my keyboard, and Microsoft's drivers for my mouse. Truly ironic and ridiculous how this independent developer can provide better quality software than those two giants--to their own products. All I can say is "thank you!"
Like (4)
Version 3.0.1
Steven-Goodheart
21 September 2009
Bought a license 9 years ago...used it for quite a while, and then had various Microsoft Intellitype keyboards and used MS's pref pane instead for customization (I'm no fan of MS, but they make a damn fine, comfortable, usable keyboard) Then, with Snow Leopard, the IntelliType and IntelliMouse pref pane/driver mostly broke, and the MS site says there won't be a SL compatible pref pane until mid-October. (I posted info and the MS link at a recent review of the Intellitype software here on MacUpdate.) Since I make a living with my keyboard, I really was in a bind, because I can barely type on a regular keyboard after being so spoiled by the comfortable, splayed-hand layout of the IntelliType boards....so, I thought, "Well, USBOverdrive was always rock solid for me, wonder if it will talk to my IntelliType Natural Ergonomic 4000 keyboard." I downloaded it, tried, and was able to get back 95% of my IntelliType's special keys (the only thing USBOverdrive can't seem to program are the special "My Favorites" keys (1 through 5) although it *can* program the "star* key that the MS pref pane uses to program those 5 keys. Also, USB doesn't see the Windows "Apps" key on the right side of the keyboard, but I never used that even with the MS pref pane.) So, to save my bacon, I happily bought a new copy of USBOverdrive and consider it money very well-spent. Not only can it program the heck out of just about any keyboard, including MS's Ergonomic Seri9es, but almost any mouse, giving full-functionality to my MS Laser 6000 cordless mouse to boot. (Of course, it also does all kinds of joysticks and other USB devices, but I don't use them.) If I didn't want to be able to finally program "My Favorites" keys, I probably would just dump the MS pref panes for good -- but when MS finally comes out with the new pref panes, I'll probably want to program my "My Favorites" -- it's so handy to punch a button to open an app, switch, run a script -- almost anything you can think of. In the meantime, I'm very, very happy with USB Overdrive X 3.0 and am making my own "favorites" with various F-key combos. Hmmm, maybe I won't go back after all. :) Anyway, this is a rock-solid, feature-packed piece of software with a very reasonable price and I highly recommend it to anyone who want to program their keyboard or mouse. It was a real god-send to me in my work.
Like (9)
Version 3.0
Deanro
20 September 2009
Disabling mouse acceleration does not seem to work 100% in this new version
Like
Version 3.0
Doug-Brandt
16 September 2009
OK... got it working. Did away with all my old Logitech prefs and that did it. Thanks for the heads up!
Like (3)
Version 3.0
Easer
16 September 2009
My problem is that, whereas the program is working, it did not keep any of my settings from the previous version. There is an "import settings" function, but what, exactly, am I supposed to be importing? It defaulted to the "Documents" folder, where there was never any kind of USB Overdrive file before. I went into the "Preferences" folder and, no, that got me nowhere. So, are you telling me that I now have to literally reconfigure everything I had spent so much time configuring in the past? This new version has no ability to automatically maintain the settings I had? It accepted my old license code; I appreciate that. But this is really annoying. If I'd doing something wrong, I'd sure like to know about it. No other program I've used that's been updated to SL has acted like this.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
2 answer(s)
Weaselboy
Weaselboy
16 September 2009
The support page explains the saved user settings from the previous version cannot be imported due to changes in the core of the program.
Like (2)
Version 3.0
Easer
Easer
16 September 2009
Well, it could always be worse. At least the upgrade to this version is free, and it seems to work well.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Gordon142
16 September 2009
Looks really nice, but still does not allow all buttons on the Logitech VX Revolution to be configured. Back to Steermouse for now.
Like
Version 3.0
1 answer(s)
Ozean
Ozean
28 September 2009
I also could not get the two scroll buttons on my Logitech MX500 to work (the ones above and below the scroll wheel). But after checking Alessandro's website it seems that he has already fixed problems with the non-standard behavior of some Logitech mouse buttons (G5, MX500, MX518, MX700, MX1000) and also with the freewheel scrolling of the MX and VX Revolution models. I guess we'll have to wait a few days for 3.0.1 to be back in blissful mouse-land :)
Like
Version 3.0
Weaselboy
16 September 2009
Just installed this new version 3.0 on Snow Leopard with my Logitech MX Revolution mouse and it works perfectly. It took me a few minutes to figure out how the config panel worked, but once I got past that everything was fine. I was able to setup all the buttons on the mouse. USB Overdrive allows much more customization than the Logitech driver. The best thing is I no longer get my console log filled with error messages from the Logitech LCC driver software. Those having trouble should make sure the OEM Logitech mouse drivers have been uninstalled before installing USB Overdrive. The LCC Uninstaller app must be used to do this.
Like (4)
Version 3.0
Doug-Brandt
16 September 2009
I am using 10.6.1 and downloaded and installed USB Overdrive X 3.0 and I couldn't get anything to work either. Didn't recognize my Logitech MX Laser 1000. I uninstalled 3.0 and went back to 10.4.8..... which works great.
Like
Version 3.0