Back to Macally USB Mouse/Trackball page
Macally USB Mouse/Trackball free download for Mac

Macally USB Mouse/Trackball Reviews

6.0
16 August 2006

USB mouse and trackball drivers for OS X.

Halcyon-Mac
20 July 2002

Most helpful

Doesn't work with MS Office suite. It used to but after updating it does not scroll with the wheel. I configured the MacAlly software to add applications (including all the MS apps) but still no scroll. Anyone have the same problem or solution?
Like
Version 4.0

Read 16 Macally USB Mouse/Trackball User Reviews

Rate this app:

Tai
05 September 2006
hey spamguy...just happened to me too..exactly that..PLUS i read your comment!! wow...something going on here ;-) curling the curl, like we say in spain... anyway, thx macally!
Like
Version 6.0
Spamguy
17 August 2006
Holy crap! A few days ago I grumbled when I found out my Macally mouse wasn't configurable on my new MBP. Tonight I got fed up and was about to look for third party drivers (if they exist), popped into MacUpdate, and BANG! Here's the Macally update waiting for me. Good timing. :)
Like
Version 6.0
Anonymous
23 March 2005
DUH! after uninstalling the old driver all my startup items in the admin's account have gone! is this supposed to be so!!! DAMN. And naturally, the RFMousejr is still lurking only at the upper edge of my screen, yes yes fine well done. I ll have to start from an external Firewire drive and make a screenshot of my startup items cos I sure dont remember all of them and redo it all? fine, just what I needed today. :(
Like
Version 5.3
Anonymous
13 March 2005
OK, I already rated this driver an hour ago on this site but I'd like to re-rate it again after more use... It actually fixed a major, MAJOR, and I mean major conflict on my machine running OS 10.3.8. The older drivers and OS 10.3.8 just don't get along at all when it came to opening simple finder windows for me. No matter what I did the finder always opened windows as lists and not columns (like I want) and it would never keep the settings. It drove me crazy, actually wanted to throw the Powermac out the window but it's so damn heavy that it discouraged me. Anyway, this new driver fixed this issue so I can't be any happier. I'm only basing this update review on having the iOptinet mouse only and it was a bumpy ride at first (had to install twice and uninstall once-because it helped to remove old drivers). Also fixed another issue (another EXTREMELY ANNOYING one too), at starup my machines (2 of them) would have an erratic spastic mouse (runnning @ insane uncontrollable speeds) all over the desktop. It would only stop as soon as any app would open. Another reason for a perfect rating... Sorry for the novel... N. Rex III
Like
Version 5.3
Anonymous
13 March 2005
It fixed scrolling in Safari. It rendered mouse useless in Halo. Love my Halo... driver uninstalled. I had same problem as other comment. Mouse was very slow, jumpy. In Halo, buttons stopped working at random. What sucks is that it finally fixed the scroll wheel problem with Safari, but has too many other bugs to keep it. I hope we don't have to wait another 2 years for a fixed driver. iOptinet Mouse, G5 Dual 2ghz.
Like
Version 5.3
Anonymous
13 March 2005
It works just fine. I'm using it with a 5 yr old Optinet mouse and it works with the same apps as it always has, nothing has changed except for the cooler looking interface. One annoying thing though is that you have to quit the app before seeing the settings that you changed. It would have ranked higher with me if it wasn't for this annoyance.
Like
Version 5.3
Anonymous
12 March 2005
I love my Macally Optical Trackball, but this new driver is a piece of crap. If the new features only worked they would be great-- sadly that is not the case. Changes only take effect after you quit, so you cannot judge tracking speed as you set it up. Back and Forward settings no longer work, and after repairing Permissions and restarting my trackball is not even recognized. DO NOT INSTALL THIS LEMON!
Like
Version 5.3
Anonymous
12 March 2005
Installed the new driver, now the mouse (icemouse) seems jumpy and uncontrollable, plus it is slower, even with all speeds set to maximum. Now looking for old driver installer!
Like
Version 5.3
Anonymous
12 March 2005
I installed this driver update from a previous version, but now all i get is an error saying: "The MacallyMouse kernal extension is not currently installed on your system. please run the Macally Mouse Trackball installer again and restart you Macintosh to enable the extra features of your mouse or trackball." reinstalling and uninstalling doesn't help. i advise useres to take caution before installing this driver
Like
Version 5.3
Anonymous
14 November 2004
The MacAlly "QBall" is junk compared to the Kensignton "Expert Mouse Pro". Why do I say this??, because when you spin the ball really fast to make the cursor move across to the other side of a screen, the "QBall" loses track of it. It cannot keep up with the speed of the ball, consequently the cursor doesn't move, and sometimes it trends backwards. The Kensington "Expert Mouse Pro" which I have been using for years does not exibit this problem, this is because instead of taking pictures of a "patented glitter ball", it tracks an internal strobe actuated by the opaque ball. When you spin that fast to get to the other side of the screen, it actually keeps up and moves the cursor! Imagine that... I regret purchasing this QBall...
Like
Version 4.2.2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
11 March 2005
The Macally QBALL is the smoothest and most accurate trackball I have ever owned (and I've gone through plenty.) I have all four corners of my screen enabled for Exposé and Screen Saver, and the cursor just flies to them. Not only is the Macally ergonomically perfect, but all five of its buttons are programable to specific applications without the need for third-party software. I'd recommend this device to any right-handed Mac user. Haven't had any problems with the current driver; not tested this one yet.
Like
Version 5.3
Ray
23 July 2003
I became loyal to trackballs from the beginning of my computer punching life. I must say that the Q Ball USB optical trackball is the best one i've ever had.
Like
Version 4.2.2
Anonymous
29 March 2003
After hearing these complaints, I think I'll wait to download these drivers. My iOptiJr works fine with the current drivers, but I have encountered a strange problem when using my mouse. Since it has a transparent case, any large amount of light will completely disable the scroll wheel. I can't scroll while my desk lamp is on, or when there's bright sun coming through the windows. However, if I cover the mouse with my left hand and turn the scroll wheel with my right hand, the scroll wheel functions properly. Anyone else had this problem?
Like
Version 4.2.1f2
1 answer(s)
Anonymous
Anonymous
08 February 2004
Ah... I was wondering why the scroll wheel would be picky at times... Strange thing though. When after plugging back in the keyboard the mouse is attached to, the wheel works perfectly for like 5 seconds. Strange...
Like
Version 4.2.2
Anonymous
29 March 2003
I don't get it, I can scroll in word and all even before this update. scroll wheel is automatically supported in X by something called CarbonEvents, i think
Like
Version 4.2.1f2
Anonymous
12 February 2003
Idiot Proof! Easy Download Easier Install Easiest Interface No Brainer, Get it!
Like
Version 4.0
Anonymous
05 November 2002
Got an icemouse jr today to exchange it for the iOpti jr, which worked fine, but created a very distracting red beacon of bright light! No scrolling here on the icemouse jr either tried the latest driver- no dice. I'm thinking its simply not friendly w/ Jaguar. Suppose in good time an update will come out, but the whole point was to buy a pocket sized, full featured mini-mouse, that didnt blind me, and had scroll wheel functionality.
Like
Version 4.0
Halcyon-Mac
20 July 2002
Doesn't work with MS Office suite. It used to but after updating it does not scroll with the wheel. I configured the MacAlly software to add applications (including all the MS apps) but still no scroll. Anyone have the same problem or solution?
Like
Version 4.0