Back to OmniGraffle page
OmniGraffle free download for Mac

OmniGraffle Reviews

7.11.4
11 October 2019

Create diagrams, flow charts, and more.

peter24099
14 May 2019

Most helpful

Love this app. I use it every day and it is one of the most user friendly graphics apps I have on my mac!
Like (1)
Version 7.10.2

Read 35 OmniGraffle User Reviews

Rate this app:

Rpitcairn
26 June 2019
I am using Sierra on my iMac and OmniGraffle will not open on it.
Like
Version 7.10.2
peter24099
14 May 2019
Love this app. I use it every day and it is one of the most user friendly graphics apps I have on my mac!
Like (1)
Version 7.10.2
Nazaire
16 November 2018
Nice program but way too powerful and complex for my needs. I used to work with Diagram! on a NeXt station, then that became OmniGraffle frankly I miss the old versions. It is as if my bicycle had become a Jumbo Jet with the years !!!

Maybe Omni could add the option/preference of a simple program/interface, a bit like TextWrangler was to BBedit. I do not mind paying OG price but I want simplicity : no layers, few options, etc. The *** rating is for too much complexity.

Bring back Diagram!
Like (2)
Version 7.9.2
evilinstone
25 September 2018
Yeah! Dark Mode support!
Like
Version 7.9
gcbernstein2
15 February 2018
Upgraded to High Sierra and the older version I already bought and paid for no longer works.
Like
Version 7.7
1 answer(s)
Nevron-Software
Nevron-Software
23 May 2018
You can give MyDraw for Mac (www.mydraw.com) a try - the application provides support for macOS High Sierra (minimum system requirements: Apple OS X 10.7 and higher).
Like
nickod2
07 July 2017
Still using OmniGraffle v4.2.3 from 2008 on macOS Sierra! It works amazingly well on Sierra and supports the Sierra tabbed window interface. Unbelievable for 9 year old software and I tip my hat to Omni Group for making their software future proof.
Like
Version 7.4
Now version 7.3.0. I do not know release date.
Like
Version 7.2.2
anonymous-thrush-1121
18 October 2016
tryout noting, direct or Mac App Store only ?
Like
Version 7.0.3
Frankp
14 June 2016
Love the capabilities, and they're probably worth the price. But the UI is as counter-intuitive as any application I can think of. Unless I use it regularly I spend a lot of time looking up how to do things. Went back to the reincarnation of Canvas. Much easier to use.
Like
Version 6.6
anonymous-thrush-1121
28 February 2016
https://www.omnigroup.com/omnigraffle ver.6.5.1 now.
Like
Version 6.5
AMGDA
02 January 2014
As to the price, everyone should think about the benefit in a long run. Think about these cheap, so-called easy to use apps that actually make things not easy and disturbing to go before this one, they are not pricey, but you know what? They can’t even be used when needed.....YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR, that’s something you should remember about. Now back to the app, it almost covers everything in my work that I have to get done with, mainly the flow charts and org charts. Previously a crash problem happened when canceling an export while the Font Panel was showing, now that the bug has been fixed then things went pretty good I think. Overall, it’s worth a try and a pretty much reliable one.
Like (2)
Version 6.0.3
2 answer(s)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
24 January 2015
You are, of course, right. One note, though: .graffle is a proprietary format. What happens if, one good day, they send you an e-mail saying ‘beginning with April 1st 2xxx we will no longer support Omni Graffle. Existing users should export their files to a generally readable format’.
Omni products are wonderful, I once had a licence for some of them, I abandoned them later due to the frequent upgrades and obvious overpricing. I would be interested in purchasing ALL their products. I am a professor, and have 3 children. They do not have any bundle price and no educational offer.
I would gladly give up some of my pleasures if they offered 1. a bundle price at 2. educational level. I have been waiting for this offer for years. I have the feeling this is like waiting for Godot.
Like (1)
Cattus-Thraex
Cattus-Thraex
24 January 2015
I have to make a correction: I did not notice their button with edu offers, via an e-mail sent to them. This is what I am doing now, asking for an edu global pricing.
Like
Bluestar
15 November 2013
Use OminGraffle everyday for work. Version 6 totally sucks. Hate the UI. Back to version 5.
Like
Version 6.0.2
DJSquint
26 September 2011
I use this for drawing flow charts and it is a breeze to use. No other app comes close. But it is very expensive imo. A price tag for around $25 would be more acceptable.
Like (3)
Version 5.3.4
2 answer(s)
Aetnaria
Aetnaria
08 November 2011
Diagrammix may be more in your (and other's) ideal price range.
Like (1)
Eelco-Deuling
Eelco-Deuling
30 May 2012
It is expensive, but they don't charge that often for an upgrade. I use OmniGraffle 3 since 2009 and OmniOutliner since 2005 (?) without extra charge.
Like (4)
22duke
26 April 2011
price is ridiculous in typical Omni Fashion otherwise good software but price makes it a no go. Also templates and objects are design wise fairly outdated could do with some nice web 2.0 templates to create graphs
Like (3)
Version 5.2.3
3 answer(s)
Xplicit
Xplicit
06 August 2012
obviously you have never tried to make a living by creating software
Like (6)
DovTodd
DovTodd
21 November 2012
"templates and objects are design wise fairly outdated" Just learned that you can import symbols from www.graffletopia.com, which has a very large and free library.
Like (2)
Mar6473
Mar6473
15 November 2013
As a long time OmniGraffle user, I'm happy to upgrade. They are MORE than fair. I haven't paid an upgrade fee in years. If you think it is too expensive, consider that you are buying from a solid company that is in business for the long haul. I can't count how many $9.99 apps I have tried since the App Store opened that have not been updated or have been dropped. The feature set is worth the upgrade price alone, plus the company is solid. They have great education discounts too.
Like (3)
Moofing
07 June 2010
download link broken NoSuchKeyThe specified key does not exist.software/MacOSX/10.5/OmniGraffle-5.2.3-beta-2.dmg91884DB8E88FF051iDmKitt9LAERozwDxYfncwi5QmYz0WJC+3oZ5uWTYFXDW7rU7ECOW8WyJaadSAYK
Like
Version 5.2.3 beta 2
Laurent-Couvreur
17 December 2009
Since Snow Leopard OmniGraffle is very very slow to launch ... the colored wheel turn and turn... Unfortunately, I love this software ;)
Like
Version 5.2.1
Pablito
17 April 2009
It's amazing. A little bit pricey, but worth every penny! the best software that I have used these days. Stable, full of features, easy to use. I also use it to design spaces in my courses in college. Fully recommended.
Like (6)
Version 5.2b1
Pablito
17 April 2009
It's amazing. A little bit pricey, but worth every penny! the best software that I have used these days. Stable, full of features, easy to use. I also use it to design spaces in my courses in college. Fully recommended.
Like (2)
Version 5.2b1
Djerkwhad
03 July 2008
So you gave OmniGraffle 5.x a 1 star rating in every category because there wasn't a curly bracket stencil. Reported for being an ass.
Like (34)
Version 5.0.1 beta 5
Artwilson22
17 March 2008
I was looking for a Visio-type program for the Mac and was very excited to find OmniGraffle. The program appears to be an excellent solution for Mac users needing diagramming tool. However, don't be fooled. After one hour of pleasant use, I needed a curly bracket/brace {} stencil. For the next hour I scoured the entire program looking for this basic stencil to no avail. This is one of the most basic of tools in Visio and is even easy to find in PowerPoint. A simple web search indicates that users have complained about this on OmniGraffle's own blog since 2006. Thanks, OmniGraffle for including a country map of Botswana but for leaving out a bracket. 1 star for the wasted time caused by the idiocy of this omission.
Like (3)
Version 5.0
1 answer(s)
John-Tuckey
John-Tuckey
22 May 2008
er, just a crazy crazy thought, but perhaps there isn't a 'bracket stencil' because its quite easy to insert the brackets from the input menu or straight keyboard input? After all, why waste time on a stencil for something included in every font.
Like (18)
Version 5.0.1 beta 2
Anonymous
15 September 2005
Haven't used OG since v2, but just downloaded and subsequently bought v4. So far, it seems to rock.
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Anonymous
15 September 2005
I own a copy of OmniGraffle 3. If I read the 'what's new' list I find mostly bug fixes, which should be made available also to old customers. Now, if I want a fix for the bugs I also need a new license. It looks like Microsoft has taught a good lesson to many small software houses. I have also learnt a lesson and I doubt I will buy anything more from a small software house.
Like (4)
Version 4.0
1 answer(s)
Lev
Lev
29 September 2009
Um... so if you won't buy from M$-style corporate gougers and you won't buy from small software houses, what are you actually going to run on your computer? You do /have/ a computer, don't you?
Like (2)
Version 5.2.1 beta 1
Anonymous
14 September 2005
I really don't like the new layout. When I first tried OmniGraffle 3 I instantly understood the app. Very intuitive. The same cannot be said with version 4. The new tools layout puzzled me for a long time until I quit the app. I will not upgrade! Sadly! Omnigraffle 3 was perfect, why this big change?!
Like (1)
Version 4.0
Anonymous
01 September 2005
For this version (4.0rc2) you need to enter a license key you can found here http://www.omnigroup.com/applications/omnigraffle/4/
Like
Version 4.0rc2
Anonymous
31 May 2005
A great little versatile program to create flowcharts, org charts etc. Drag and drop intutitive and so easy to use! Highly recommended
Like (1)
Version 3.2.4
Anonymous
04 May 2005
I recommend everybody this product. the best feature of it is the easiness and the availability for Mac users. Comparing with other products for Mac, like ConceptDraw, this product is easier in usage and it's not so complicated. Although advanced user would probably look for something with advanced features like ConceptDraw V.
Like (1)
Version 3.2.2
Anonymous
11 March 2005
I am a network designer and I am amazed at how good this product is. After struggling with and cursing at Visio for years, Omnigraffle is refreshing. The fact that it can use Visio XML format is great. Now I can export to my struggling, cursing colleagues!
Like (1)
Version 3.2rc1
Anonymous
25 March 2004
Omni really have done something great with the way they handle graphics. This is simply amazing and breathtaking. If there could be a way to close lines and create a polygone with it. Have Fixed size text zones with text wrapping around pictures! Why not have an internet image lookup system for the stencil, like in appleworks?! They have made the ground-up for a user-friendly page creation application!! (Maybe apple could copy them and do something great with appleworks...
Like
Version 3.1
Anonymous
19 March 2004
I'm a programmer, and use OmniGraffle extensively to diagram object classes. I showed my boss what I had done with little ol' OG, and he cursed that he couldn't run it. (Linux user). Download a copy, and you'll curse that you don't own it. This is a flagship for products that do precisely what they are designed to do, and do it well. For counterpoint, look at Opera Communicator 7.5, or any Microsoft product. And while you're at the moni web site, grab a copy of OmniWeb 5. You'll wonder how you ever got along without browser workspaces.
Like
Version 3.1rc1
Anonymous
14 March 2004
I love omnigraffle - it is possibly my favourite piece of software - inline with photoshop. It allows me to very easily create DTP or diagrams quickly that look visually very impressive, with out needing time and experience like with indesign. I use it extensive for all my electronics diagramming as the lines "connect" to objects - so when an object moves all the joining lines move with it this is also very handy for producing mind maps - and virtually everything. It is extremely mac like and intuitive and functions more like the mac OS than any other prog i know (its only made for mac). I highly recommend you giv this a try - its still functional with out registering - you are just limited to 20 items per document fantastic program - thanks
Like
Version 3.1 beta 2
Anonymous
31 October 2003
Seems like a nice program - lots and lots of options. My only comment is that it seems very *slow*, even on my 667MHz G4 machine. That's not good.
Like
Version 3.0.2
Anonymous
15 September 2003
buggy, buggy, buggy I have too often problems with import and export. Some graphics yield a white page when exported, some exported jpegs have a strange border line, importing jpegs with "place picture" does not work at all. If it worked properly it would be a great piece of software, but meanwhile I regret to have bought it.
Like
Version 3.0.1
Ismail-Özel
20 April 2003
There has to be invented a new verb to describe the efforts of omnigroup. expacially omnigraffle! I never had so much pleasure in working out mind maps, flow charts, schedules and many more. sixth star for compatibility with visio, seventh star for the low price for educational institutes! it's just - omni!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
15 April 2003
What's not to like about this wonderful piece of OS X software? Beautifully executed my only grievance is that OmniOutliner is not integrated into this program. I do not like that it is a separate application.
Like
Version 3.0
Phripley
11 August 2002
A replacement for MacFlow under OSX was my last missing peice to keep me out of classic. OmniGraffle is very intuitive, very OSX. Great for building ER charts and network topography charts.
Like
Version 2.0.6