Back to Quicken page
Quicken free download for Mac

Quicken Reviews6.4.1

27 September 2021

Complete personal finance solution.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Aapple
Aapple
Sep 24 2021
6.4.0
0.0
Sep 24 2021
0.0
Version: 6.4.0
Quick rev is indeed 6.4.0 but the MacUpdate download is 6.3.3. Intuit's download file naming scheme is between difficult and impossible to decode.
Mac007
Mac007
Aug 11 2021
6.3.1
0.0
Aug 11 2021
0.0
Version: 6.3.1
Too bad this app went to the subscription mode. I don't mind paying once for an app but I refuse to pay a monthly fee to use it. Time to look elsewhere.
adrienemarroquin
adrienemarroquin
May 28 2021
6.2.1
4.0
May 28 2021
4.0
Version: 6.2.1
I've used this app for several years and it is a solid choice, though, especially now that it's possible to connect to my bank and automatically update all accounts.
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
Dec 8 2020
6.0.1
5.0
Dec 8 2020
5.0
Version: 6.0.1
Quicken 6.0 and later is now a universal binary that will run on Intel Macs as well as run natively on the new Apple Silicon M1 Macs. I subscribe to Quicken Deluxe and have been very pleased. Reports are up to par now. Portfolio management is adequate. My IRAs, Bond Funds, Securities all auto-update and provide me with a clear picture of my investments. Quicken has become indispensable to me.
anonymous-impala-6250
anonymous-impala-6250
Dec 2 2020
6.0.1
1.0
Dec 2 2020
1.0
Version: 6.0.1
This product does not provide the functionality they advertise. On the page get.quicken.com (as of 12/2/2020) it clearly states that savings goals are part of the product. When I called in to support, the support person told me that is not a quicken site (now that is really stupid). I have a screen shot of the page. He denied it over and over.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Sep 11 2020
5.17.6
1.0
Sep 11 2020
1.0
Version: 5.17.6
Stunning. I rated Quicken recently at four-stars. But the latest reporting changes make Quicken 2020 essentially useless for small business use. It's tax season for late business filers. But I cannot get the data out as with prior versions. The new reporting framework is entirely misplaced. Why oh why did they not learn from the original Quicken 2007 of the Mac. It's easy to record data, near impossible to report it in a meaningful fashion. For example, I merely want to summarize by category the income and spending related to a single account, irrespective of whether the funds are linked to another account. That's simply not possible with the latest report generator. Those transactions that originate in another account are treated differently and not summarized by category.
mikemellin1
mikemellin1
Apr 30 2020
5.15.3
1.0
Apr 30 2020
1.0
Version: 5.15.3
VERY LIMITED TO 6 CHECK PAYMENTS, CANNOT CONVERT FROM BILL PAY, CANNOT MAKE A CHECK PAYMENT ON A SPECIFIC DATE, CANNOT SPLIT PAYMENTS, QUICK PAY DOES NOT RELATE TO ANY OF MY ACCOUNTS, BANK PAY IS ALSO WORTHLESS, I GUESS IT IT TIME TO MOVE ON WHAT WE PAY FOR PREMIER SUPPORT - 6 CHECKS SERIOUSLY, OH YES TRY TO DO A RECURRING PAYMENT WITH THIS NOPE- I WILL PASS ON TO MY CLIENT, FRIENDS, AND EMPLOYEES AND CANCEL NOT WORTH IT.
FEdward
FEdward
Apr 24 2020
5.15.3
4.0
Apr 24 2020
4.0
Version: 5.15.3
I held on to Quicken for Mac 2007 until Catalina. Had previewed several previous incarnations (and competing financial apps), and finally made the leap. The transition was not as smooth as I hoped, importing transactions and categories and I'm still on the learning curve after 9 months. Does operate in decidedly different ways than it's predecessor. The 2020 version does all I need it to, and is worth the subscription price, so far....
Iliketrash
Iliketrash
Apr 22 2020
5.15.3
1.0
Apr 22 2020
1.0
Version: 5.15.3
There are THREE versions of Quicken, costing $35, $45, and $69 PER YEAR. MU needs to update this page or make three pages.
Tankknight
Tankknight
Apr 8 2020
5.15.3
3.0
Apr 8 2020
3.0
Version: 5.15.3
First time I have bought quicken since the 2007 version. It works pretty well, but many features either don't work or do nothing. Like for a loan I have, I tried to do a 'What If'. Three options are available, but nothing happens Calculate button is clicked. No matter what option you choose or criteria entered. Must use vapor code.
Localboy56
Localboy56
Mar 5 2020
5.15.1
5.0
Mar 5 2020
5.0
Version: 5.15.1
It's now Quicken 2020 as of version 5.15.1. I use it every day and I find it's well worth the subscription price. Nice and fast and the developer keeps it regularly updated. Keeper.
skiniak
skiniak
Feb 1 2020
5.14.2
1.0
Feb 1 2020
1.0
Version: 5.14.2
A time suck vs a time saver. You will spend more time trying to fix data corruption from updates and software bugs than you can possibly imagine. When I called tech support on screen sharing, we hit a bug every few minutes. Despite seeing the issues in real time, support was unable to solve the issues. REALLY REALLY BAD.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Jan 19 2020
5.14.0
1.0
Jan 19 2020
1.0
Version: 5.14.0
The new owners of Quicken have done a terrific job so far! The most important enhancements required for me going forward: continued improvements to the reporting features. The key part of any finance software package is flexible, relevant reporting capabilities.
Localboy56
Localboy56
Nov 1 2019
5.13.0
5.0
Nov 1 2019
5.0
Version: 5.13.0
I'm now relying only on Quicken 2019 ever since Catalina broke Quicken 2007 as was expected. Q2019 does meet my needs pretty well. It is nice and fast and the company updates and improves it frequently. Q2019's reporting capability is almost on par with Quicken 2007's QuickReport, I just wish it could run subtotals and I'm still hoping it will soon.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Jun 21 2019
5.11.0
4.0
Jun 21 2019
4.0
Version: 5.11.0
Pretty impressed this time. I haven't encountered any bugs yet, which is a first. I love the simple clean interface, and its ability to interface with my banks/creditors asap. Very little fuss, and the budget features are awesome.
Ghorne
Ghorne
Apr 7 2019
5.11.0
1.0
Apr 7 2019
1.0
Version: 5.11.0
I found that I would have to learn this as a new app for all had changed and I am 85 and I have no time for that.
Bpage33
Bpage33
Mar 30 2019
5.11.0
0.0
Mar 30 2019
0.0
Version: 5.11.0
I have upgraded to Quicken 2019
wintermute
wintermute
Jan 12 2019
5.9.2
0.0
Jan 12 2019
0.0
Version: 5.9.2
For those tired of Quicken's unreliability and bugs, I encourage you to try SEE Finance. I switched years ago and have been very happy. My only concern is that many banks seem to abandoning Direct Connect access which Quicken, SEE Finance and other personal finance apps use to directly download account data. Banks have to pay for Direct Access and are trying to save money by abandoning this protocol in favor of Web Connect... but Web Connect requires logging in at each bank or brokerage site and then navigating through the menus to manually download the data files one by one, which can get very time consuming. People are apparently trying online personal finance aggregation services like Mint or Personal Capital which do not use Direct Access (they use web scraping), not realizing that these services mine your data and sell this information to advertisers, insurance companies, etc.--- which can make your rates go up, etc. (i.e. If the insurance company sees that you bought alcohol or medications, they may have reasons to hike your rates.) So with less users demanding Direct Access protocol, less banks are now offering this service.
iMac-A
iMac-A
Jan 5 2019
5.9.2
0.0
Jan 5 2019
0.0
Version: 5.9.2
Hey Quicken, awake ! There's a new MacOSX Mojave out there ! Why Quicken doesn´t support the "Dark Mode" ???
marksilvester07
marksilvester07
Dec 29 2018
5.9.2
2.0
Dec 29 2018
2.0
Version: 5.9.2
I’ve been using Quicken for almost 30 years (Quicken for DOS starting in 1989, before Windows). My habit, up until now, was to upgrade every other

year since financial institution interfaces lasted for 3 years with each upgrade. I’m going to wait until 2019 comes out before I upgrade, and then I’m

going to take a look at other programs before I commit to an annual purchase for an unreliable product
To me, the biggest issue with Quicken is the “fragile” data base. I admit I haven’t cleaned out my Quicken file in about 12 years now (accounts have data

going back to 2006) so I’m probably stressing the file more than I should. But a fully functional financial program should use an SQL database with new

tables for each year (or fiscal year). An annual closeout, that closes the previous year and starts a new one, should happen automatically on the first

entry for the new (fiscal) year. I had a situation recently where
I withdrew a large chunk of money from a Savings Goal. The withdrawal from the goal worked but Quicken must have crashed before it put the money

into the originating account, leaving me $thousands short of cash until I found the error. Recently (starting in July), Quicken started duplicating some

downloaded transactions in multiple accounts:
I have 4 accounts with my investment broker and when a dividend was received in 1 account, Quicken put it in 2 others, even though those accounts

didn’t have any of the stock that was paying the dividend. I discovered this in August through a reconcile process that wouldn’t balance: Quicken had

$hundreds of “bogus” transactions that had to be manually deleted. I don’t know if this was the fault of Quicken or the financial institution.
https://www.quickenassist.com/quicken-starter-for-mac/
Red Deb
Red Deb
Dec 24 2018
5.9.2
0.5
Dec 24 2018
0.5
Version: 5.9.2
After years I'm finally ditching the annual cash grab and general hot mess that is Quicken. Every time they add something new they break at least two different things. Finally had enough after finding over two month’s worth of recent records missing from my file. Their iPhone app is a joke and never synced correctly. I’ve been demoing several apps over the past month and am moving on to See Finance which is solid, hasn’t crashed once and has an iPhone app that syncs great. It was very exhilarating to turn off the auto-renew on my Quicken subscription. So long Quicken!
thieb1024
thieb1024
Dec 14 2018
5.9.1
5.0
Dec 14 2018
5.0
Version: 5.9.1
Works for me. At first I was upset about having to pay a yearly fee for what little I use.. I use it as a glorified check book, but with free upgrades and help if I need it, I'm glad I have it.
Localboy56
Localboy56
Oct 28 2018
5.8.2
5.0
Oct 28 2018
5.0
Version: 5.8.2
By the way, version 5.8.2 updated Quicken 2018 to Quicken 2019 according to "About Quicken" within the application.
Localboy56
Localboy56
Oct 26 2018
5.8.1
5.0
Oct 26 2018
5.0
Version: 5.8.1
I finally bought a subscription to Quicken 2018 in anticipation of Mojave finally breaking Quicken Mac 2007. Q2018 is OK although I much prefer the Quick Report functionality of QM 2007. Since it turns out QM2007 still work fine in Mojave I guess I'll continue running parallel for another year.
ronaldwowens
ronaldwowens
Sep 28 2018
5.8.0
0.0
Sep 28 2018
0.0
Version: 5.8.0
Removed Quicken 15 from one computer because I am currently using Quicken 17 on another computer.
Juancab
Juancab
Sep 7 2018
5.8.0
0.0
Sep 7 2018
0.0
Version: 5.8.0
Price is $44.99, it has NEVER been $29.99. Also, that is a 1-year subscription, not a perpetual license. So you are paying $45/year to use this. You can decide whether that is worth it or not, but the MacUpdate information on Quicken is incorrect.
macindigo
macindigo
Jun 21 2018
5.6.3
2.0
Jun 21 2018
2.0
Version: 5.6.3
Quicken popup upgrade & subscription nagware problem solved. Basically, when you start Quicken, the software contacts Quicken’s servers and the server responds and tells Quicken what kind of popup to display. The trick is to prevent Quicken from contacting the server in the first place. But how? You can’t do this with the MacOS firewall. Nor can you do it nor with a firewall built into your modem because firewalls only block incoming data. We want to block Quicken’s outgoing signal to the server. The answer is a $9.00 utility named Radio Silence. You can choose which software to prevent from initiating outgoing communication. Radio Silence is available here: https://radiosilenceapp.com Quicken is not the only company to do this popup business. Adobe is also notorious for this and Radio Silence solved both of these annoyances for me.
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
Jun 1 2018
5.6.2
5.0
Jun 1 2018
5.0
Version: 5.6.2
Quicken is getting better with each update. Lots of minor glitches getting fixed. Online account downloads much smoother and with much less “Try Again” messages. For the macOS version I sill would like to have the ability to archive a data file based on a date range. My data file goes back to 2011 and takes awhile to load at over 100MB. I know some are always complaining about reports but I have no issues and my tax accountant is happy with the reports I generate from Quicken
Scrags
Scrags
May 26 2018
5.6.1
4.0
May 26 2018
4.0
Version: 5.6.1
Finally made the jump after 2007 stopped downloading from one of my credit card accounts. I had tried all of the interim versions (Essentials, 2016, 2017) and had a horrible time trying to upgrade from my 2007 data file. I also tried a few of the competitors - Moneydance, iBank, but always missed the simplicity and comfort zone of Quicken. This time the import and upgrade of my data file worked like a charm. I was up and running and paying bills within an hour. Very impressed. I did have one hiccup with Direct Connect Bill Pay. The help file said if you had it working with 2007 it would automatically work with the new version 2018(?). Kinda true, kinda not. I had to go to a setup page for Wells Fargo and log in and then it gave me a 10 minute window to enable Bill Pay in Quicken. Anyway, I HATE subscription models. That said I got the top of the line subscription for $99 for two years. Since the company is updating the product constantly (unlike Intuit) I figure I would've paid that in version upgrade dollars over two years anyway. And I only paid for the Premier version because I assumed I would need the priority access to customer support - which it looks like I won't need (fingers crossed). And for now I can use my banks Bill Pay, even though I'm paying for Quicken Bill Pay. So, next time I'll downgrade to Deluxe for $70 for two years. $35 bucks a year is abut what annual upgrades would cost for a product that is updated as often as this seems to be. Kudos to Quicken.
Layla87
Layla87
May 14 2018
5.6.0
4.0
May 14 2018
4.0
Version: 5.6.0
This works great for me and very helpful.
Jsalba
Jsalba
May 11 2018
5.6.0
5.0
May 11 2018
5.0
Version: 5.6.0
I almost left Quicken for Mac some years ago when the bare bones Quicken Essentials was released. I am glad I didn't as the program has gotten better and better. I think the new owners have done a great job of aggressively improving the program. To me the price is very reasonable. I use Quicken Mac on a daily basis to manage all aspects of my financial life. 5 stars
AlanPress
AlanPress
Apr 13 2018
5.5.7
4.0
Apr 13 2018
4.0
Version: 5.5.7
I updated yesterday and now Fidelity Net Benefits won't update. Repeatedly ask for username & Password then fails. Worked fine for months before this update.
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Apr 13 2018
5.5.7
0.0
Apr 13 2018
0.0
Version: 5.5.7
What is the next best thing? I like Quicken, but am ABSOLUTELY, POSITIVELY, NOT going to buy it as a subscription product.
bradley-dichter
bradley-dichter
Feb 27 2018
5.5.4
0.0
Feb 27 2018
0.0
Version: 5.5.4
The image shows the icon for Quicken 2017 but this is actually Quicken 2018, a paid subscription product. Quicken 2017 is currently at version 4.6.8
Harv
Harv
Feb 27 2018
5.5.4
0.0
Feb 27 2018
0.0
Version: 5.5.4
I too am most reluctant to partake in the subscription plan though I might go $125.00 for five years, I do however enjoy the irony. How can Quicken help me save money when they have it all?
MtBreeze
MtBreeze
Feb 16 2018
5.5.3
4.0
Feb 16 2018
4.0
Version: 5.5.3
There is a problem with this Quicken post from MacUpdate. The icon on this review should show it as Quicken 2018, not Quicken 2017. (Note the 17 in the red Quicken icon) According to the Quicken website the current version of Quicken 2017 is 4.6.8. and the current version for Quicken 2018 is 5.5.3. If this is a review for Quicken 2018, as it appears to be, the icon should be changed .
NedC
NedC
Feb 15 2018
5.5.3
0.0
Feb 15 2018
0.0
Version: 5.5.3
I use 4.6.8 and the software says no updates available. What gives? or is this update for 2018 users only?
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Jan 30 2018
4.6.8
0.0
Jan 30 2018
0.0
Version: 4.6.8
I just checked their web site, and Quicken 2018 is ONLY available via the subscription model.

If that matters to you, as it does to us, then you may want to look elsewhere. We certainly are!

The software developer DOES have a right to do this. And we have a right to BUY SOMETHING ELSE!
Joel-Wolfe
Joel-Wolfe
Oct 27 2017
4.6.7
1.0
Oct 27 2017
1.0
Version: 4.6.7
Just updated to the latest version (4.6.7), and account updates is dead. There's a workaround for me, but I spent well over an hour with support, and it was a waste of time. It was working fine before the update.

I've used Quicken for years, and have paid for upgrades. I'm not sure what's wrong now, but be careful. I haven't decided to abandon the platform, but I am investigating other software. I would love a recommendation.
Michael-Vilain
Michael-Vilain
Oct 2 2017
4.6.6
0.0
Oct 2 2017
0.0
Version: 4.6.6
Quicken seems to be upgrading users piecemeal. During this project, I managed to install a more current version of Quicken 2017 but it never was the most current. Today, I was able to upgrade to 4.6.6 BUT I couldn't migrate my existing Quicken 2017 ID. It kept asking for a verification # sent to my phone, I'd put it in and it would bounce back to ask for my existing Quicken ID. Whomever is overseeing this transition isn't doing a very good job. Parts work and others don't. At least I have the current version. I'll check back in a week or so after the dust settles and see if they fixed it.
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
Sep 17 2017
4.6.2
0.0
Sep 17 2017
0.0
Version: 4.6.2
Still looking for a program that lets my spouse and I work on the same financial database, at the same time. If Quicken did this, they could sell one for every family member.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Sep 16 2017
4.6.2
1.0
Sep 16 2017
1.0
Version: 4.6.2
Much better than before. BUT ... The basic data reporting framework, a holdover from Quicken Essentials, is still horrid. That is compared with the old Quicken 2017. I use Quicken for running a small business. It is FAR better under the new ownership than when Intuit ran the show. Actually, in its formative years, the original qQuicken was a terrific product. If the current owners overhaul the reporting to allow for far better customization of the data elements, how they are combined and output, that would be terrific. I use reports not only to output data in Income and Balance sheet forms but also, and this is important, to search for anomalous data elements (eg, incorrect or missing data). All too often, in my professional experience, database designers focus on data entry foremost and then consider how the user might want to output the data. As for the latter flexibility is the key. That is, the developers will never be able to readily anticipate users needs. Though, if they are also users of the product, that does help make for a better product overall. So keep up the good work Quicken. But PLEASE a radical overall in Quicken's reporting and data auditing capabilities is needed. It would cut down by 50% that amount of time it takes ensure the database's data are in good and consistent order for timely and meaningful reports. Thanks you!
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
Sep 16 2017
4.6.2
5.0
Sep 16 2017
5.0
Version: 4.6.2
I would suggest people already running Quicken 2017 refrain from downloading this new release and instead wait for your Quicken app to offer it to you. There are major changes coming including creating a new Quicken user id and password. The new Quicken.com is moving its secure servers away from Intuit to their own servers. The update is being rolled out incrementally and should be complete by 9/30/2017.
xcoxco
xcoxco
Jun 2 2017
4.5.6
1.0
Jun 2 2017
1.0
Version: 4.5.6
Quicken 2017 is getting better and better.

Still lacks the powerful reporting, and flexibility, of Quicken 2007.

But the new team, in the new company, is doing a *great job* of making up for lost time. Years of lost time ...

Looking forward to yet more functions for both individuals and small businesses. My faith in Quicken is being restored ...
Thinking-Differently
Thinking-Differently
May 21 2017
4.5.4
0.0
May 21 2017
0.0
Version: 4.5.4
We are one of many families with multiple computers. It would be really, really, nice to have a financial package the let both my spouse and I make updates to the family financial at the same time, each from our respective Macs. If Quicken did that, then they'd be able to sell our family two copies, instead of the current zero.

Quicken doesn't do this. Does any Mac financial package??
lkrupp215
lkrupp215
May 9 2017
4.4.3
5.0
May 9 2017
5.0
Version: 4.4.3
Hallelujah! New version 4.5.3 adds Loan functions(many loan types supported + online if your loan company participates), revamps Budgets, bug fixes, and more. My faith in Quicken is restored.
ben-marko
ben-marko
Mar 11 2017
4.4.3
4.0
Mar 11 2017
4.0
Version: 4.4.3
Has the best GUI out of any finance app, and some very useful features. But it cannot show pending transactions and pending balances. This killed this purchase for me.
lacwbo
lacwbo
Jan 16 2017
4.4.2
5.0
Jan 16 2017
5.0
Version: 4.4.2
I cannot understand all the negative comments here about Quicken 17. I find it to be the best of the money management applications for the Mac. Only critical comment I have is that I would like to see the quotes updated earlier for download. Banktivity gets the updates much sooner.
mrdhs-1
mrdhs-1
Dec 15 2016
4.4.0
0.0
Dec 15 2016
0.0
Version: 4.4.0
I cannot seem to find how and where to upgrade from version 2016 to 2017. Any help out there?
W-g
W-g
Nov 25 2016
4.3.1
1.0
Nov 25 2016
1.0
Version: 4.3.1
Don't touch this. It screws up your passwords. See the Quick Forums, laughingly called "Get Satisfaction." You will be changing them every month and then it wants you to change the passwords to your financial institutions via their software. Who knows what they are doing with all this data. I am pretty much done with it and I went through all the pain of every update from Essentials to this preposterous piece of code. Stay away.