Back to Watson page
Watson free download for Mac

Watson Reviews

1.7.5
01 November 2003

Bring news, stock quotes, and more to your desktop; discontinued.

Anonymous
13 March 2002

Most helpful

If you were looking for a reason to upgrade to 10 this is it! Indispensable.
Like
Version 1.1.1

Read 22 Watson User Reviews

Rate this app:

MacUpdate-Lon
05 September 2007
Watson still works on a MacBook Pro 2.33GHz, late 2006 model, running 10.4.10. Of course, it is running through Rosetta, but it still works great.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Anonymous
02 February 2004
Just great software. I use it constantly. Only trouble I have ever had is that a couple of times the Google search failed to connect to Google. Hardly Watson's fault nor the Google tool's fault. Support by Karelia is terrific, exceptionally good. I got prompt email responses from them the times that the Google tool seemed to not work. Turned out it was the Google service at fault.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Anonymous
31 October 2003
Solid software, well-written, easy to use. Watson is exceptional and worth the download.
Like
Version 1.7.5
Anonymous
25 September 2003
Watson continues to the best of breed. Apple's Sherlock rip-off and Macromedia's new Macromedia Central just don't compare.
Like
Version 1.7.4
Anonymous
08 July 2003
This program is *so* cool. Well worth the price. Please keep developing it -don't give up just because Apple tried to copy you!
Like
Version 1.7.2
Farhad
19 June 2003
I wish the remote control had a stop botton,so you could stop the tape.Pause botton is not enough.Also the resolution could be improved so you could use the whole screen not just the smaller windows.Other than that Eyetv is a great thing to have
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
21 May 2003
Watson is *way* better than the new Sherlock. Apple tried to copy them but did a lousy job. Watson is cool! I've been using this program since it was released - well worth the registration fee.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
09 May 2003
This app is Sherlock on steroids. Worth every penny.
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
09 May 2003
Better and faster than Sherlock. I paid my $30 for this app and never looked back. It is updated frequently and I love it! New channels are being added all the time. Now if they can just add a MacUpdate channel. ;)
Like
Version 1.7.1
Anonymous
16 March 2003
The best shareware app I've ever used.
Like
Version 1.6.2
Anonymous
09 February 2003
Watson is a superbly designed piece of software for it's intended use - and audience (ie, USA), that point cannot be argued. As for the vocal non-American users voicing their grief here, you'll have to excuse my lack of empathy...that there apparently is not a single enterprising programmer outside the US who could create such an app for European and other markets, well, that's quite frankly not Watson's fault now, is it?
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
15 January 2003
macmend: what do you mean "europe"?? (j/k) :-)
Like
Version 1.6.1
Macmend-com
16 December 2002
another USA is the only country in the world app, I am so bored of this stuff, its as if europe didn't exist.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
12 December 2002
Watson gets better and better. As for the comment of including MacUpdate instead of VT, I absolutely object. VT updates regularly and often. M.U. lags behind sometimes for a day or two (and sometimes for aehemmm... a month. Of course MU. will delete any negative comment). So Watson will keep doing great as long as he sticks to the professionals.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
11 December 2002
In many respects absolutely useless to non-US users. (Just like Sherlock.) Weather forecasts, TV… of the US are as necessary to me as the temperature on the back side of the moon.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
11 December 2002
Well, it still beats Sherlock, except for the price. I use it every day for TV listings and zip codes.
Like
Version 1.6.1
Anonymous
26 November 2002
Wouldn't it be nice if Watson used MacUpdate - a site that actually SUPPORTS that Macintosh community instead of feeds off of it. (cough, VT, cough)
Like
Version 1.6
Paul
12 November 2002
Watson appears to be a great tool and a nice supplement to Sherlock 3. Yes, I know they are similar, but approach the problems in slightly different ways. Sherlock has a cleaner interface than Watson because it eliminates the sidebar popping. Watson clearly has more options at the moment. I particularly registered this for access to recipes and the phone integration. It has plenty of features, but could have a map and ski plugin. I find it is easy to use except for the sidebars. Value is hard to determine because Sherlock is free and has the same potential. Version 1.6 has some strange menu quirks and a couple of crashes.
Like
Version 1.6
Anonymous
31 May 2002
Watson's very cool. The TV and Movie listings alone are great, but adding in all the other features (and more seem to be coming all the time) - this is a terrific product.
Like
Version 1.5.3
MacManX
25 May 2002
I wish people's reviews would be focused on the product.
Like
Version 1.5.3
Anonymous
29 March 2002
hope there will be more options for european (german) users
Like
Version 1.5
Anonymous
13 March 2002
If you were looking for a reason to upgrade to 10 this is it! Indispensable.
Like
Version 1.1.1