Back to Transmit page
Transmit free download for Mac

Transmit Reviews

14 April 2021

Excellent FTP/SFTP client.

MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Apr 15 2021
5.7.3
3.0
Apr 15 2021
3.0
Version: 5.7.3
Unable to move files around using a Wacom Tablet.. may have somethng to do with "Security & Privacy".. Devs never reallly cared to support my multiple requests over the years. PS: Cyberduck does not allow column view, Forklift has its issues.. there is still space for an FTP App on Mac to get it right. Don't understand why PathFinder will not integrate a network transfer tool in its toolbox.
dupap56
dupap56
Dec 7 2020
5.7.0
3.0
Dec 7 2020
3.0
Version: 5.7.0
This is not bad but IMHO Cyberduck and Forklift are both better.
denisguiet
denisguiet
Sep 13 2020
5.6.6
3.0
Sep 13 2020
3.0
Version: 5.6.6
(From long-term paying user) Transmit is pretty, like all Panic products. But on recent MacOS (including latest Catalina, with latest Transmit) you get scattered zero-byte transfers, without warning or message of any kind. Not good. You're left digging through multiple folders to find where those files are, which is not what trustworthy FTP should be about. Also (maybe related) first single-file transfer after a connection can take up to 10-15 seconds, even for a tiny file. But yes, the software is pretty...
E-pieczatki24
E-pieczatki24
Mar 2 2020
5.6.3
5.0
Mar 2 2020
5.0
Version: 5.6.3
It's good paid FTP app if you doing webs development professionally.
Aargl
Aargl
Nov 14 2019
5.6.1
3.0
Nov 14 2019
3.0
Version: 5.6.1
I'm also a long time user, so my review is more global: I've always preferred Transmit's interface and feel over the other FTP clients, but I've always also had issues while syncing "huge" folders (if you can consider 100Mb huge, nowadays...) I still haven't found another app that does it with no alert of any kind or not having connection issues, so I suspect that FTP on its own is already an issue, but I can't believe there's no cure for such things in 2019... :-/
ocean442
ocean442
Nov 6 2019
5.6.1
4.0
Nov 6 2019
4.0
Version: 5.6.1
When I see "FTP", I think of Transmit.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jul 7 2019
5.5.1
3.0
Jul 7 2019
3.0
Version: 5.5.1
Having a lot of ftp connection issues with the last few versions (post 5). Have used this app since its birth so don't want to judge and re-rate just yet.. Am a Coda user as well and having much better luck using it as an ftp uploader.. what's going on Panic?
If I did not use Coda.. and if Yummy did no sport such a crappy antiquated UI.. and if ForkLift imported Transmit bookmarks (I have looooads).. I'd have moved away already.. (on top of that support is not very good, in my perception at least).
OhEssex
OhEssex
Jun 20 2019
5.5.1
0.0
Jun 20 2019
0.0
Version: 5.5.1
I don't really like this much. I use Transmit to connect to a local linux box in our office via sftp. If I select a remote file (e.g. a tiny text file) from the Transmit window and edit and then save it in a Mac text editor, it can take up to 30 seconds before I get the notification from transmit that the file updated at the linux box. It's definitely not a bandwidth issue on our LAN.
Lesoth0
Lesoth0
Jun 17 2019
5.5
0.0
Jun 17 2019
0.0
Version: 5.5
Having moved over from my beloved FETCH 5.77 (used since the 1990s) as Jim Matthews is still creating the 64-bit version for the modern era, there's lots to like about Transmit, except it has already crashed on me 3 times in the past hour after Purchasing a couple of copies for Work.

Still lots of v5.5 bugs for them to follow-up on within OSX 10.14.5 Mojave. I've sent Crash Reports to Panic Dev.
Toad
Toad
Jun 15 2019
5.5
0.5
Jun 15 2019
0.5
Version: 5.5
Have used Transmit for many tears. Installed v5.5.0 after which it has forgotten my Amazon S3 login details and refuses to connect when I supply them.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Apr 1 2019
5.2.4
5.0
Apr 1 2019
5.0
Version: 5.2.4
With a different FTP program, I was having problems uploading my files. I got disconnected all the time. I then switched to Transmit, and voilà: no more disconnections! Wonderful program!
Programhappy
Programhappy
Feb 1 2019
5.2.2
2.0
Feb 1 2019
2.0
Version: 5.2.2
Since updating to 5.2.2, connections no longer resume after restarting the application. HUGE fail. BTW, darkening the active tab is moronic and entirely unintuitive. Put it back to the way it used to be: active tab light; inactive tabs dark!
cig0
cig0
Jan 20 2019
5.2.1
2.5
Jan 20 2019
2.5
Version: 5.2.1
Overpriced for what it does when you got much more with less-pricey apps like ForkLift from Binary Nights.
cig0
cig0
Jan 20 2019
5.2.1
2.5
Jan 20 2019
2.5
Version: 5.2.1
Great app but not worth its price, when you think you can get ALL of its features and more for less money, with apps like ForkLift or Commander One PRO.
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 8 2019
5.2.1
0.0
Jan 8 2019
0.0
Version: 5.2.1
Current full fledged file managers have pretty much all integrated FTP and support for multiple file protocols (icloud etc). This is a natural evolution; to the everyday user, the protocol should be transparent, from user's perspective it's all about moving files back and forth, whatever the source/destination, transport medium or protocol. Users think less in terms of local versus remote these days. Transmit have a hard time justifying cost; when the file management capabilities are not on par with likes of Forklift, Pathfinder etc, especially the dual pane UI. I know the 5 version improved greatly, but IMO, the file management aspect is still lagging behind. Forklift is only $29 and also supports SFTP, FTP, WebDAV, Amazon S3, Backblaze B2, Google Drive, Rackspace CloudFiles, SMB, AFP, and NFS
Scion777
Scion777
Sep 29 2018
5.2
0.0
Sep 29 2018
0.0
Version: 5.2
With FTP increasingly being dropped - you can't even connect to Mozilla's internal servers any more - I'm afraid this once very useful application is going to be marginalized to personal ftp servers. Sad. But, security is paramount, I guess.
garochristian
garochristian
Jun 14 2018
5.1.4
0.0
Jun 14 2018
0.0
Version: 5.1.4
What other file transfer protocols does Transmit support? I'm currently playing with the free trial and, notably, SMB, AFP and NFS (among others) seem to be missing... ?
castro15
castro15
May 22 2018
5.1.3
1.0
May 22 2018
1.0
Version: 5.1.3
I loved v4 and before, but v5 has a terrible, bloated UI and crashes at least twice a day. I'm hopeful with every upgrade that Panic fixes these bugs, but they never do. I'm now looking for an alternative after all these years. Too bad Interarchy 11 is vaporware. Any suggestions?
turnkit
turnkit
May 14 2018
5.1.3
3.0
May 14 2018
3.0
Version: 5.1.3
Good app but on large sftp multi-file transfers over night it will stop without error messages and not having finished any of the files.

The next day requires quitting and relaunching to transfer anything. Sad because it is often as much as twice as fast as Cyberduck or Fetch.
Dusan-Pecko
Dusan-Pecko
May 11 2018
5.1.3
5.0
May 11 2018
5.0
Version: 5.1.3
super ftp program
mayymoton
mayymoton
Apr 26 2018
5.1.1
4.0
Apr 26 2018
4.0
Version: 5.1.1
Its a good app. I like how it makes my work easy. Good job.
Lpeting
Lpeting
Apr 2 2018
5.0.5
0.0
Apr 2 2018
0.0
Version: 5.0.5
Transmit 5.1.1 is out now.
Rikyman
Rikyman
Mar 3 2018
5.0.5
5.0
Mar 3 2018
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
Love this app, simple and fast.
TCalhau
TCalhau
Feb 20 2018
5.0.5
0.0
Feb 20 2018
0.0
Version: 5.0.5
I would love to see CloudApp support implemented in Transmit 5. That would help me a lot, a lot, a lot.
Larsen2k4
Larsen2k4
Feb 14 2018
5.0.5
3.0
Feb 14 2018
3.0
Version: 5.0.5
Still no localisations after all these months. Even though the new design is sleek and fun to use, it's sad not to get appropriate language output at this price point - especially because this has been standard until v4.
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Dec 18 2017
5.0.5
3.0
Dec 18 2017
3.0
Version: 5.0.5
I use a Wacom Intuos, Transmit does not support stylus, basically you can pretty much drag an drop a file/folder once (sometimes not even once) in the Transmit browser, and after that you're stuck using the trackpad (or a mouse.. I have not used a mouse for 20 years..). as Transmit does not respond to the Intuos beyond one or two actions at best... So today I moved a whole bunch of files.. I had to use a couple of fingers from each hand to drag and drop using the trackpad (about as pleasant as driving with a steering wheel covered in oil) and what had to happen happened, I let them go in the wrong folder, hundreds of files.. Big mess, had to reinstall the whole site from backup. Panic knows about this Wacom issue, and keeps telling me they'll fix it.. When?! In version 12 ? I'll have retired by then. Also Panic said that Coda and Transmit would share the same bookmarks.. but years after saying this. one still has to export and reimport.. no automated syncing, Will this feature ever see the light of day.. why talk about it if you never come around to implementing it.
Scott-C-H-
Scott-C-H-
Oct 27 2017
5.0.5
5.0
Oct 27 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.5
It's an excellent paid FTP app if you do web development professionally. Folder syncing, the "Mount as Disk" option and fast file transfer performance are all reliable and very helpful in development work. Strongly recommended if you are a professional web developer using a Mac as a primary development environment.
mrperfect
mrperfect
Oct 5 2017
5.0.4
5.0
Oct 5 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.4
Easy to use, applescript scriptable, fast, good features, nice UI
anonymous-gerbil-5319
anonymous-gerbil-5319
Oct 5 2017
5.0.4
3.0
Oct 5 2017
3.0
Version: 5.0.4
Cannot connect to multiple hosts on 10.11.6 (05-10-17 08:04:52,599 Transmit[19669]: [Crashlytics:Crash] Warning: NSApplicationCrashOnExceptions is not set. This will result in poor top-level uncaught exception reporting.) Contacted Panic multiple times, are not really interested in fixing. Works en looks very well on 10.12, just a pity about 10.11 not being up to par with that. The best part of good software is good support and that leaves room for improvement at Panic. So 3 stars instead of 5.
arimatheia-otto
arimatheia-otto
Aug 16 2017
5.0.1
5.0
Aug 16 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0.1
Very good. The best one.
MichelH8564
MichelH8564
Aug 2 2017
5.0
5.0
Aug 2 2017
5.0
Version: 5.0
V 5 is elegant, more powerful (more functions) and objectively faster. I absolutely recommend it.
RJC.NJNYC
RJC.NJNYC
Jul 27 2017
5.0
0.0
Jul 27 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0
The developer states that there is one price $35, whether you are an existing customer or a new customer, and uses the fact that it has not had a paid update since 2010 to justify. The bottom line is existing customers are not getting any usual discount, as newbies are getting for the same price. That's not how you show existing customer appreciation or keep brand loyalty.
pettifogger0712
pettifogger0712
Jul 22 2017
5.0
0.0
Jul 22 2017
0.0
Version: 5.0
Have used Transmit since V3 - one of my "must have" apps for any Mac user and I have no problem whatsoever shelling out the $35 for a new version :-)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jul 21 2017
5.0
3.0
Jul 21 2017
3.0
Version: 5.0
Ok now I can review it.. I've used Transmit since.. forever ( I also have Yummy and Forklift) and even though I like forklift as it is almost a Finder, I keep getting back to Transmit as it always seems to work when I face rights issues etc with others, I also feel Transmit to be faster for transfers.. Since version 4 and now 5 the UI has gotten much better, always very Mac-like and almost playful.. which I like (the kid in me.. love the little truck). All the connection options are great.. and there is a soft spot in me for the company that brought us Audion.. way back :0) As for the price, indeed they have not charged for ages.. time to show a little love/money !
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
Jul 21 2017
5.0
3.0
Jul 21 2017
3.0
Version: 5.0
Version 5.. not able to be used in split view (side by side) with another application like say.. Finder. Are you kidding me?!
Aargl
Aargl
Feb 27 2017
4.4.10
3.0
Feb 27 2017
3.0
Version: 4.4.10
I can't think of a better FTP tool! (tried Fetch, Cyberduck, and others) After so many years of basic use, I've just read the "Learn 15 Secrets of Transmit 4" page (link above) and guess what: I've discovered a few useful features I didn't know! Great! :-) There's also a 4.4.12 update for Transmit Disk: https://library.panic.com/transmit/td-install/
lqcindy
lqcindy
Jun 16 2016
4.4.10
5.0
Jun 16 2016
5.0
Version: 4.4.10
It is really wonderful as a FTP client. Simply and fast!
krizzli
krizzli
Jan 28 2016
4.4.10
4.0
Jan 28 2016
4.0
Version: 4.4.10
I have been a happy user of Transmit for a few years now, and I can say I am very happy with it. The remote server mounted as a disk is a brilliant idea, and although some servers don't play well with it, I have had very few bad experiences during the countless hours I've spent using it. Synchronization is a feature that could be improved in some ways, for example: simulating the sync is great, but why can't I choose which files I want or want not synchronized after getting the result of the simulation? What I do is export the list to a rtf file, then manually copy the files I'm interested in sync'ing, but it's far from ideal. 4 stars!
Macinman
Macinman
Oct 4 2015
4.4.8
0.0
Oct 4 2015
0.0
Version: 4.4.8
I want to leave a comment with a work around for those who use transmit disk menu and who want to upgrade to El Capitan. By Default El capitan ships with SIP enabled, a new feature implemented by Apple to increase security to protect the OS and the user from malicious activities. As a result of this certain system utilities will no longer function until updated to take into account of these features. People like me3 who have older software that either hasn't been updated , or the cost isn't worth upgrading for just that one feature. There is a work around apple has included. Boot into Recovery mode by holding command+r on boot. when the os x utilities windows appears select terminal from the utilities menu in terminal type: csrutil disable and hit return. A message should appear saying the protection was successfully disabled type reboot into the terminal to reboot the mac and your third party utilities will function again. Keep in mind NOTE" don't do this unless you know what you're doing or have a real reason to do so because you are taking away security that will protect your system. If you are good with computers and understand security or have experience with unix or linux systems outside os x you may proceed as you will already understand the risks. I personally like full control of the system and not have security policies in place I can't control. Hope this helps have a great day! By the way, you can re enable SIP by repeating the above steps but typing csrutil enable at the terminal prompt.
Macinman
Macinman
Sep 5 2015
4.4.8
0.0
Sep 5 2015
0.0
Version: 4.4.8
As a Beta tester of El capitan, I wanted to inform people that transmit menu is currently broken. The issue is documented on Panic's site in their troubleshooting section. It's due to the new security changes apple has made to 10.11. I also wanted to mention that the site doesn't specify a time it will be fixed, but they suggest it will be fixed in the future at some point. the site for reference is: https://library.panic.com/transmit/td-troubleshoot/
stapoz-2
stapoz-2
Aug 28 2015
4.4.8
4.0
Aug 28 2015
4.0
Version: 4.4.8
It works great. I'm not saying I use this as my FTP client for everything. Because I never liked their UI. But they have improved a lot over time. When I need manage my sites with FTP... Viper FTP is the way to go.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Aug 20 2015
4.4.8
0.5
Aug 20 2015
0.5
Version: 4.4.8
Mounting and using remote filesystems with TransmitMenu is extremely torturous. Hanging and disconnecting all the time. Oh, and if you want to refresh Finder, well, remounting is the only way. The "Refresh Finder" function does nothing. In my opinion, this is completely useless feature and can be removed from the app without any further development. Half-star to TransmitMenu.
JohnF1664
JohnF1664
Jul 31 2015
4.4.8
5.0
Jul 31 2015
5.0
Version: 4.4.8
Simply the best
timmerk
timmerk
Jul 16 2015
4.4.8
2.0
Jul 16 2015
2.0
Version: 4.4.8
I used to love Transmit, and it's still the best FTP/SFTP client for OS X. However, I noticed over the last few months that after using Transmit for extended periods of time, sometimes it fails to upload all files and folders in a folder that you upload. There are no errors, and it shows that it completed successfully. Even the transcript doesn't show it attempting to upload the missing files. Re-uploading doesn't fix it, either. You have to quit Transmit, reopen, and then it works. I've been burned many times because missing PHP files. Lastly, still no automatic refresh of directories? No one wants cached directory listings.
69number69
69number69
Mar 16 2015
4.4.8
5.0
Mar 16 2015
5.0
Version: 4.4.8
The best ftp application for mac.Simple & fast!
larrykoo
larrykoo
Mar 15 2015
4.4.8
5.0
Mar 15 2015
5.0
Version: 4.4.8
Good
m-dave
m-dave
Feb 25 2015
4.4.8
5.0
Feb 25 2015
5.0
Version: 4.4.8
By far the best SFTP client. Been using it for years.
john-ht
john-ht
Jan 4 2015
4.4.8
4.5
Jan 4 2015
4.5
Version: 4.4.8
Works good
john-ht
john-ht
Jan 4 2015
4.4.8
4.5
Jan 4 2015
4.5
Version: 4.4.8
Works good
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Dec 31 2014
4.4.8
5.0
Dec 31 2014
5.0
Version: 4.4.8
I inadvertently hit the sad-face icon for Transmit when I was over at the Cyberduck page. We recently had to select an FTP client for an enterprise company. We evaluated all the available solutions. After thorough testing the decision was made to go with Transmit. I have several FTP clients on my MBPr, but I consistently use Transmit. Its easy to use, easy to manage, and does what I expect it to do reliably and consistently. Costs a few dollars, but its fair to pay a developer for a quality product, happy to do so.