Back to yKey page
yKey free download for Mac

yKey Reviews

2.7.0
30 January 2018

Use shortcuts to automate repetitive tasks (was iKey).

Colette
30 October 2008

Most helpful

Very helpful program.
Like (10)
Version 2.3.1

Read 86 yKey User Reviews

Rate this app:

Plum Amazing
19 October 2018
For Mojave all users should have a look at the manual. Apple has changed the security and requires that you readd yKey to the Security&Privacy area in the System Preferences. It's easy just follow the instructions in the manual. Thanks. The installation section of the manual is here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1vkViQWAlNA-kbE4_cski2n1bw_Nvl8VUmAENtm_1Q4E/edit#heading=h.ca74359a9103
Like
Version 2.7.0
polocanada
30 October 2016
Another issue - the DELETE button in the application menu behaves in an odd way. I try to delete SHORTCUT or MENU (in the main window, not actual step in the editor).. Pressing the DELETE button somehow deletes the steps in the MENU/SHORTCUT item even though the actual editor to edit the MENU/SHORTCUT is not open. Several presses later, the MENU/SHORTCUT item is deleted. However, I noticed if I have MENU and SHORTCUT both having same name it deletes steps in both of them. Something wrong with the database. The only way to be sure is to export the MENU/SHORTCUT and backup them before doing changes. Lowering the rating to 3 starts because of this and the GUI as mentioned below.
Like (2)
Version 2.5.2
1 answer(s)
Uncoy
Uncoy
09 September 2017
You might prefer KeyboardMaestro from Peter Lewis which is pretty straightforward (for a macros program).
Like (1)
polocanada
29 October 2016
It works well but why on earth does the software distinguish between "SHORTCUT" and "MENU" or "PALETTE". It makes things confusing to have 3 user boxes. I know It's question of training but I don't read manuals, knowing the app works well from the past, I went on and spent 1 hour creating a workflow saved and all good and dandy, only to find out I created a "MENU" instead of "SHORTCUT" so there is no way to execute it. It's just menu popping up. To get workflow I need to create "SHORTCUT". I went on to move the item from MENU to SHORTCUT, but forget it, no way to move. Tried to expert and import, nope. Tried to edit the file, forget it. So now I had to basically redo everything from scratch. This is an oversight but again, dividing the 3 types of items makes little sense, sufficient one box for Menu/Shotcut/Palette and set the type in the editor. Can't rate 5 stars, sorry.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
Jim-Leff
11 December 2015
This has been replaced with ykey from the same company, currently at v2.53 http://plumamazing.com/mac/ikey
Like (1)
Version 2.5.2
sbchavel
21 October 2014
I have long loved this remarkably durable piece of software. Yosemite seems finally to have affected it. System-wide shortcuts still seem to work, but application-specific ones do not.
Like
Version 2.5.2
Aargl
28 June 2014
iKey for Mac OS X Changelog Version 2.5.3 Release Date: 6/17/14 [New] Developer Signed Application, library and frameworks. [Updated] Clean up code base (upgraded may legacy calls & less log messages) and removed unused/old code. [Updated] Now prompt on startup to give iKey access to Security -> Privacy ->Accessibility to allow it to control your computer. - More updates and new features coming. - Thanks to all users for the feedback.
Like
Version 2.5.2
Kenm22
10 April 2014
While iKey works fine in Mavericks the "Launch iKey at startup" function does not. I have to manually add it to my Login Items. I have written the developer but have not received a response.
Like
Version 2.5.2
1 answer(s)
Kenm22
Kenm22
16 April 2014
I haven't had that problem with previous versions.
Like
Aargl
20 January 2014
I've noticed (on Intel) that if you come from an earlier version (say 2.4.9), you have to ditch the iKey folder and com.plumamazing.ikey.plist in the account's prefs then reinstall current version to have it working. Of course, backup your shortcuts before. ;-)
Like
Version 2.5.2
Robert-Poland
20 November 2013
I have used and loved this app for years but now it doesn't seem to work with Mavericks so that's why the one star rating. Since it no longer works I cannot rate "Features", etc.
Like
Version 2.5.2
2 answer(s)
Kenm22
Kenm22
05 January 2014
I'm using iKey 2.5.2 with Mavericks. No problems.
Like
Robert-Poland
Robert-Poland
05 January 2014
I reinstalled it and it seems to work now. I notice that the developer, on his website, says it is only good for up to OS 10.7. Too bad support for this wonderful app has ceased.
Like
Tom46
05 May 2013
A bit hard to use, but quite powerful. Unfortunately, support seems to be non-existent.
Like
Version 2.5.2
Grandpa-John
22 January 2012
I posted a troubleshoot report yesterday and for some reason it was deleted. However, I am glad to report that the problem (two launches of the same application - and having to quit the launched application twice) has been solved by simply trashing the preferences of the previous version and rebuilding the settings of the new one. Since 1Key is extremely easy to set up and modify, this was not a big deal.
Like
Version 2.5.2
Rubaiyat
10 December 2011
A simple upgrade and I hit the "Terminate previous version" dialog. How? It has no front end or preference panel anywhere I can find. And why would you create such a stupid situation?
Like
Version 2.5.2
2 answer(s)
Verne-Arase
Verne-Arase
27 August 2012
Did you try quitting the Engine out of the iKey menu?
Like
Rubaiyat
Rubaiyat
27 August 2012
Since I don't successfully get an install to see a menu, that is a little difficult.
Like
Aargl
01 June 2011
I tried this 2.5.1 version on iMac G5 10.5.8, I've got a number of error messages on launch for every type of shortcut... (says 'some component missing') I've tried on a brend new account, just in case: same thing...
Like
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
20 January 2014
I retried recently with version 2.5.2 and same thing, so if you're still using a PPC, stick to version 2.4.9.
Like
sbchavel
23 May 2011
Great new application icon. Please apply to menubar icon.
Like
Version 2.5.1
GNews
21 April 2011
iKey 2.5.0 has been solid on OS X 10.6. After moving from 10.5.8, it started crashing, but on the advice of tech support, I exported my shortcuts; deleted the Preferences Folder; re-installed; and re-imported the shortcuts. I've had no trouble since.
Like
Version 2.5.0
Beige
21 February 2011
great app with tons of options. Stable too. After leaving Quickkeys a few years ago, I'm really happy with this.
Like
Version 2.5.0
dwp-1
22 November 2010
Used iKey for a number of years until Keyboard Maestro was updated. Made the switch to KM and haven't looked back. May be time to take another look at iKey.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.9
2 answer(s)
sbchavel
sbchavel
28 December 2010
I have been using iKey for almost years. The UI is not great. The terminology is not great. But it is deceptively simple to use and incredibly versatile. And through all this time Apple has not succeeded to break it. Highly recommended.
Like
Verne-Arase
Verne-Arase
27 August 2012
I tried Keyboard Maestro - even paid for it - but can't for the life of me figure out how to launch Nook Study with a command-shift-n and still have command-shift-n work in Mail to get new mail. This was trivial in Quickeys and is trivial in iKeys (which I haven't paid for yet).
Like
Beige
22 November 2010
great software
Like
Version 2.4.9
W-Pyper
06 July 2010
I work with Finale a lot, a very powerful but complex program for typesetting and generating sheet music. If you are a keyboard player -- which I am not -- you can play notes into the score with a midi keyboard. But the rest of us have to enter notes manually either from palettes or the computer keyboard. Now if you are entering chords with actual notes -- as opposed to just chord symbols -- this is a very tedious process that requires multiple keystrokes. But with iKey it is a breeze. You just make your macro, press the trigger, and watch the notes appear as if by magic! iKey has greatly increased my Finale productivity. It is easy to use, and at this point, I wonder how I ever got along without it.
Like
Version 2.4.8
Tom46
21 May 2010
iKey is great, but every time I try to update it from within the application, it hangs. No help from the developer.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.5
1 answer(s)
Julian-Miller
Julian-Miller
25 May 2010
can you write direct to me. let me know if using the check for updates for 2.4.6 did not work. thanks julian at plumamazing.com
Like (1)
Version 2.4.6
isilver
01 April 2010
Dear Devs, Why the heck must we have have a help page opening up with each install? I've been using this for years, how inconvenient ... and there's been plenty of these installs lately. I'd prefer not to keep iKey in the Applications folder ... and it certainly doesn't need an installer. The "iKey Preferences" menu item from the iKey menu has never worked for me, how about having a look at that. Now that you've changed your name and website perhaps you can address the above issues?
Like (1)
Version 2.4.3
1 answer(s)
Julian-Miller
Julian-Miller
20 June 2010
all fixed.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.8
dwp-1
31 March 2010
Got so discouraged with iKey I switched to Keyboard Maestro and have never looked back. Give Keyboard Maestro a try.
Like (4)
Version 2.4.3
petert89
25 March 2010
One step forward - three backward. Come on guys (talking to the dev(s)), this release should not have seen the light of day. The download links to a file called 'iKeybeta.zip' ??? It now uses an installer that puts the 'utility' in the 'Applications' folder. It auto-opens a URL to an illegible google-docs manual. At least one modal dialogue in the utility is in multiple languages. Oh yeah, and the 'helpful' auto-update from the previous version fails on all three of my macs - thankfully. **** This release gets a 4 star CF award. It would have got 5 but at least it didn't replace my previous working version of iKey, all I had to do was Trash the new version and restart the old.
Like (1)
Version 2.4.2
1 answer(s)
petert89
petert89
01 April 2010
Update to my Comments above:- 20100401-1525: ------ My disparaging comment "It auto-opens a URL to an illegible google-docs manual" was undeserved - it was another @#$%^& font conflict on all my macs. To the Devs; Please accept my apologies for this. ------ As of v2.4.3 I am once again reasonably content with the Utility - I give it 3.5 (positive) stars once again.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.3
Billindg
22 February 2010
With iKey 2.4 I finally made the switch from iKey 1.x. 2.4 works much better with Snow Leopard. Macros run very quickly and reliably---except for macros that simulate the pressing of keys to run commands. In most cases there is a menu equivalent and the menu/submenu commands work very well. I dislike the interface and feel it unnecessarily complicates the interface found in 1.x. However, I've gotten used to it and the native 2.4 works much better than 1.x via Rosetta.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Lezouave
14 February 2010
iKey is kind of good in that it does let you create keyboard shortcuts and macros. But the interface lacks intelligence. There is no unifying philosphy behind the the methods, and the terminology used in the app is obtuse and sometimes confusing. Support for this app is extremely poor, the developers do not respond to support forum posts in a timely manner, and in this latest release is appears that they did not test the app to see if it still worked on the supported Mac OS releases.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Lezouave
Lezouave
14 February 2010
Just wanted to add that I downloaded Keyboard Maestro and had a look at their website. It looks professional. Keyboard Maestro supports the following: Shortcut available only in applications Shortcut available in all applications applications except for Recording Macros Neither of these are available in iKey. Keyboard Maestro is being continuously developed.
Like (1)
Version 2.4
isilver
31 January 2010
I couldn't get the auto-update feature to go from v2.3.4 to v2.4 to work ... it download the update, then offered a message with "terminate" or "cancel" and it did just that "terminated" the upgrade process. I tried it a few times with same results so I had to do it manually ...
Like
Version 2.4
Jmsuijkerbuijk
27 January 2010
Fair is fair. I was an enthusiastic user of iKey until Leopard came out and iKey proved to not being able to write text. Failure to come up with a solution for that shortcoming, I deleted iKey from my system. Failure to answer users on their support forum convinced me my decision was correct. Until today, when I saw an update on iKey (since long, very long) and for some reason decided to give it another try - probably because I loved it so much before Leopard. Well, I was pleasantly surprised to find all things working fine and snappy again (at least all the things I tried and need). I'm very sorry it took so long to get things back on the track, but I'm very glad they did. iKey is back on my system again.
Like (2)
Version 2.4
1 answer(s)
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
27 January 2010
I have to agree, iKey development isn't as quick as it could be, but BOY OH BOY! I'm soooo glad I can ONCE AGAIN retire QuicKeys. :) Still waiting for defaults management of preferences (so we can deploy this baby in enterprise environments, where we need such a solution). Don Montalvo, TX
Like (1)
Version 2.4
Uncoy
14 December 2009
I was an avid iKey v. 1 user. Great program. Version 2 made a mess of everything. I don't think it ever was stable. Fortunately Peter Lewis of interarchy fame took an also-ran off the bench and trained him into a champion. I'm speaking of Keyboard Maestro. Inexpensive. Powerful. Regularly updated. Could be a bit prettier (interface of iKey 1 was easier to use than Keyboard Maestro v. 4) but rock solid reliable. Plays nice with KeyCue and Butler too,
Like (1)
Version 2.3.4
3 answer(s)
Tom-Smith
Tom-Smith
27 January 2010
I wrote to the KB Maestro dev asking how to get it to hold the various versions of "open recent" sub-menus. KB Maestro requires the exact sub-menu name. IK does not. KBM is a very nice program but light weight compared to IK and QuicKeys.
Like
Version 2.4
Tom-Smith
Tom-Smith
27 January 2010
That was "hold open the various versions of the "open recent" sub-menu."
Like
Version 2.4
Uncoy
Uncoy
27 January 2010
I agree with you. I'm in contact with Peter N. Lewis as well and have asked him to do something similar to iKey 1 or Spark in terms of automated menu programming. He's promised to do so. It makes programming of menus/submenus a lot easier. On the other hand, Keyboard Maestro is reliable and powerful. Apart from finicky programming of menu options, I find KM an outstanding tool, even better than the once brilliant iKey 1.
Like
Version 2.4
Tom46
10 September 2009
Great utility, but not updated for Snow Leopard -- inexcusable!
Like (1)
Version 2.3.4
1 answer(s)
Yoxi
Yoxi
10 October 2009
Works fine in SL for me - what problems are you having?
Like
Version 2.3.4
Designr
20 November 2008
I had high hopes for iKey. I even bought it after discovering that iKey 2 was a worse mish-mash of random thoughts than iKey 1. And now, the iKey developer web site is gone. Looks like iKey is now dead. - R.I.P. I never did see a stable version of iKey. The interface remained buggy and poorly thought out to its dying day.* ( * What kind of sick puppy would make every input field automatically select all? And then, automatically replace what you just typed with something else? ) Too bad. ikey's only real competitor, Quickeys, has sucked since they ported the old OS 9 version to OS X. One can't even perform a 'find and replace' in a text selection without having to write an Applescript. But, now it looks like we're stuck with Quickeys for the duration. It's a sad day when a potentially good utility dies from neglect.
Like
Version 2.3.2
2 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Lon
MacUpdate-Lon
20 November 2008
"And now, the iKey developer web site is gone." This software was updated only 6 days ago and the developer site is not 'gone'. I just now visited the site: http://www.scriptsoftware.com/ikey/
Like
Version 2.3.2
Phillman5
Phillman5
02 January 2009
To DESIGNR. There are a number of keyboard shortcut/scripting programs available. Personally I have used Butler which is only donationware. Note I have not tried an ikey version later than 2.2.2., which I still use on my G5/Tiger with little problems. Due to MacUpdate comment I think they should remove this comment or put a warning above it.
Like
Version 2.3.3
Yoxi
18 November 2008
Since installing 2.3.2 I can't save items in shortcuts (for example Switch to Firefox Application) - nothing happens when I click on the OK button, and I can't escape from the panel, and have to Force Quit the app - switched back to 2.3.1 for the moment.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Colette
30 October 2008
Very helpful program.
Like (10)
Version 2.3.1
Simichavel
29 October 2008
True, but this library does not tell you where the conflict is outside iKey. If iKey could tell you that - that would be really helpful. Making it a habit to search through programs to delete keyboard shortcuts in order to control them all through iKey is a good idea. You have to admit though, either you need a massive bloc of time, or you have to do it in small doses.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Simichavel
28 October 2008
It's great to see iKey back in action. But more and more keyboard shortcuts have been built into Apple's OS and apps. iKey gives notice when shortcuts are doing double-duty. What would be helpful would be for iKey to identify where the Apple shortcut is located. Not only would it be convenient, but I do not think Apple maintains a master list (even in the keyboard preference pane). Less significant, the icon is due for a major overhaul. MBP/OS 10.5.5
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Sampler
Sampler
29 October 2008
If you click on the Library button on the right top of the main Editor window, you will see a "Launchers" button. Click it and you will see a "Launchers" section, with a list of the Launchers (keyboard shortcuts). I too think this is a great place for centralizing shortcuts. I tend to delete most application specific shortcuts so as not to interfere with those I create in iKey.
Like
Version 2.3.1
Franks
27 October 2008
This does not work with Tiger (10.4) I downloaded it, installed it and when opened was presented with a dialog the it does not work with my iMac. Frank
Like
Version 2.3
1 answer(s)
Sampler
Sampler
27 October 2008
I can confirm 2.3 doesn't load with OSX 10.4.11 on a PB G4. However iKey 2.2 has been solid for years now.
Like
Version 2.3
Bad-dad
27 October 2008
A lot of complaints about v2.x and Leo, I'm running v1.0.7 both with 10.4.11 and 10.5.5 on a G4 PPC and it seems work fine. I generally use iKey to apply keys to open specific folders, string key commands together, open apps and assign keys to menu commands. It loads at login and behaves well and I've never needed to upgrade in fact after reading the early reviews of v2 and the problems I decided to save my money...
Like
Version 2.3
isilver
27 October 2008
Welcome back iKey, initial testing with a few commands seems to work, look forward to having iKey back on my Mac ... let's hope it lasts!
Like
Version 2.3
isilver
11 June 2008
Well, this is certainly not, in my experience compatible with Leopard. I've installed it made a couple of simple macros to type text and they don't work. I've read about the work-around on their website and they don't work. It's been almost two years since it was updated, it's been about a year since an update was promised so I guess we can classify this application as "abandonware"?
Like
Version 2.2.2
Beige
15 May 2008
I'm with the others here - do not pay for this software until it's updated, which is seeming less and likely every month. It's really buggy in Leopard and it always has been.
Like
Version 2.2.2
anonymous-heron-1581
18 February 2008
It worked with few issues under Tiger, but has serious bugs under Leopard. Hasn't been updated in a year and half, though updates have been promised several times. Don't pay for this unless and until an update appears that certifies the app as fully Leopard compatible and reviewers (here and elsewhere) verify that the bugs have indeed been fixed. P.S. The same applies to any of this developer's software; most hasn't seen an update in months if not years.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Somedude
31 January 2008
I'd been a satisfied iKey registered user for a couple years. Then I updated to Mac OS 10.5, whereupon many of my keyboard shortcuts stopped working correctly, usually appending extra apparently random characters at the end of pasted strings and executed commands. Several people have reported this in Script software's support forums. The developer said that this bug would be fixed "soon", but that was nearly three months ago.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Colourgravity
27 December 2007
I've tried Keyboard Maestro, Spark and QuicKeys but none of them have done exactly what I need in exactly the way that suits me. iKey does. I'm running it on Leopard with no problems at all (so far) and I have to say, despite an earlier reviewer's comments on a confusing interface, I've found the app straightforward and intuitive to use. I can't comment on the documentation because I haven't yet needed to consult it. iKey is very versatile and it allows me to work on my Mac in the way I like rather than the way other applications dictate (using the same keyboard commands for the same function across a range of applications where the commands would normally differ, single key opening and closing of applications etc). I've also been able to set up complex, multi-step macros which save me valuable time and spare me a lot of frustration. Access to recent applications/documents and system preference panes from the menu bar is a useful bonus. iKey is just what I've been looking for. It's more expensive than Keyboard Maestro or (the free) Spark, but for me it's worth the money.
Like
Version 2.2.2
1 answer(s)
Laraine
Laraine
24 February 2008
iKey doesn't appear to be what I'm looking for. I bought Keyboard Maestro because at least it allowed me to open applications using the keyboard commands I used to use in OS 9 with Action Utilities, and I didn't need a manual to work out how to do it. But I still long for something Action Utilities did, and did so well (allowing me to choose an item from the menu and type my own shortcut for it, even if it didn't originally have a shortcut). Photoshop (version 7 anyway) really bugs me in that so many things have to be done using the mouse. For instance, to choose the plug-in for my scanner I have to go to the file men, choose import and then choose CanoScan 8400F. Grr!
Like
Version 2.2.2
Davermont
01 November 2007
iKey 2.2.2 does work with Leopard, but you will need to reinstall it.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Wcitymike
28 October 2007
It appears that v2.2.2 is not compatible with Leopard. I hope the developer will release a compatible version shortly.
Like
Version 2.2.2
Tom46
03 July 2006
User interface is terrible; documentation is confusing. Sorry, but I'll stick with QuicKeys.
Like
Version 2.2.1
1 answer(s)
Tom46
Tom46
04 July 2006
I apologize for my previous hasty review. Further study shows that the user interface really isn't too bad (just takes getting used to). Ths documentation could stand some improvement, however. I think this one may be a keeper (replacing QuicKeys!).
Like
Version 2.2.1
Simichavel
18 June 2006
I have been using iKey for years, from well before the daunting new UI. I have found it consistently to be bug-free and stable. Once you get your mind around the UI, the actual process for setting up shortcuts is not complicated. To the contrary, I have found it quite intuitive. I use Quicksilver as much as iKey, and it is somewhat misleading to compare them. Quicksilver is primarily an app launcher and only minimally customizable. It indexes everything on your computer and gives you access to it, like Spotlight, but better (IMO). iKey is a shortcut program. It doesn't index your computer. You can set up shortcuts to launch applications, but you can create shortcuts for so much more. Actions that normally take several steps can all be set up to run automatically with one key-stroke shortcut. You can program delays between the different steps to give them time to execute. iKey's reach is amazing in this regard. Moreover, the latest release(s) now allow you to use more than one alphabetic key, which extends the number of shortcuts exponentially. I hate to sound like a promo, but what you can do in iKey is almost unlimited. Butler is more like Quicksilver, an access/launcher program for indexed items. I have tried it several times and have found it less simple and elegant and intiutive than Quicksilver, but unless I am selling Quicksilver short, Butler gives you much more reach and customization. On the other hand, Quicksilver works with a key-stroke combination whereas Butler must be visible and open somewhere on your desktop, and I am a nut for the former. Let me point out as well that Quicksilver tends to run slowly, at least in my experience. For a simple, clean app launcher, which is as near as instantaneous as one could get, try Namely. And for AddressBook info, try TapDex. This triples the number of apps and keyboard shortcuts you would use to access data, but it cuts down run time significantly.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Cv186
17 June 2006
In response to claims further down that there are "no other universal launchers" ... both Butler and QuickSilver are (1) still under active development, (2) both work better than iKey, (3) are Universal Binary, (4) are very stable, and (5) they're both FREE! Although not targeted as simple key app-launchers (like iKey) they both serve that function as well as a host of others. I've tried both and they each seem exceptionally stable, though Butler fits my needs a bit better. Previously I was a registered user of iKey version 1.x, but dropped it on the disastrous version 2 release. I then used Keyboard Maestro, which was brilliant and as solid as a rock, but development seems stalled and there's no sign of a Universal binary version.
Like
Version 2.2.1
Jdub800
28 April 2006
Installed it and started having big problems with my UI. Menus overlapped and windows not coming into focus. I remembered another comment about this, so i knew where to look. Since I quit it, all has returned to normal. Maybe when these issues are fixed - For now, zapped!
Like
Version 2.2.1b2
Garyi
23 March 2006
The application is far to complicated, its a mess. Why can't it be simple? In OS7 you had a macro recorder. Press the record button and it would record anything you did until you stopped recording. Give it a name and a lunch button. Job done. This implementation is a complete mess. Developers need to step back from what there are doing and be honest with themselves.
Like
Version 2.2
Ric-Zito
31 January 2006
I've tried almost all the shortcut utilities out there at one time or another. I use them mainly as app launchers, but I do have the odd finder command in there too, like "Empty Trash", "Hide Frontmost" "Hide Others" etc. I also control iTunes via shortcuts. For my purposes, XeyXing was far and away the best, but I decided to give iKey a try, as KeyXing is no longer developed, and iKey is the only Universal Binary shortcut utility thus far. It's over-featured for my needs (although mysteriously there's no way to do something as simple as Empty Trash without a stupidly complex macro!), and the interface is a little clumsy. Still, I managed within 10 minutes to set up about 20 or so of my favourite shortcuts to launch apps. And they worked. Sort of... The main problem with iKey is that it's BUGGY AS HELL. It created a horrific window z-order problem on my iMac. Apps and windows were flashing to and fro from the back to the foreground. The system became impossible to use. I'd click on a window and it'd disappear behind another, or it'd start flashing. Basically iKey had screwed the whole GUI. I killed iKey and everything went back to normal. Useless, for now, until the bugs are ironed out. So I'm stuck. Still waiting for a Universal Binary shortcut utility that works. Perhaps Spark will be the next one ready. I wish someone would resurrect KeyXing and Universalize it...
Like
Version 2.2b3