Back to FinderPop page
FinderPop free download for Mac

FinderPop Reviews

2.5.7
28 September 2014

Adds enhanced contextual menu features to folders in OS X.

Jazzyguy
22 July 2013

Most helpful

OF all the applications available for Free this older app stands out.It is a wonderful app made by a Developer who really cares about his users. It belongs in a Hall OF Fame for all apps shareware or free.
Like (11)
Version 2.4.9

Read 205 FinderPop User Reviews

Rate this app:

Eric•Woehler
27 May 2018
Works under High Sierra by disabling SIP (restart in Recovery mode, fire up Terminal, type 'csrutil disable' (without the ') and reboot. It's a 5-star app, highly customisable, highly recommended. Long-time user. I have set up folders with symbolic links to most-frequently used files, external volumers, core services etc - all available at anytime by the press of trackpad. Feature set/options unique and best in class. Recommended without qualifications.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
2 answer(s)
jehpo
jehpo
23 September 2018
Should we leave SIP disabled, or can we enable it again after installing FP and a first use ?
Like
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
24 September 2018
FinderPop is dead - I am no longer using it. Try FolderGlance - works under High Sierra. I keep SIP disabled as I run various apps and mods that SIP kills (cDock etc)
Like (1)
nobody2011
07 April 2018
Still NOT working under MacOS High Sierra (10.13.4)
Like
Version 2.5.7
1 answer(s)
neartheredrocks
neartheredrocks
13 April 2018
Did you disable SIP (as described on Turly's website)?
Like
Aargl
28 February 2018
There's a v2.5.9beta available here: http://www.finderpop.com/fnarr/fp/t_348.html (with some workarounds to make it work in recent OSes) Unfortunately, Turly is retiring after 20 years of finderpopping: http://www.finderpop.com/fnarr/fp/ As he says, the Mac as we used to know it is slowly vanishing in the haze of an iOS like os, and utilities like FP or DragThing, etc. are not keen to attract new users. Thanks, Turly, for all those years!
Like (3)
Version 2.5.7
1 answer(s)
zlazkow
zlazkow
08 April 2018
Mac and thousands of applications for it will exist for at least 20 more yrs. Unless something very new comes out of China or India or Japan, or maybe very well be that Apple at some point in time will go down, before Microsoft or after Microsoft. Nothing is forever. But for now and for the next 20 years Mac guaranteed to be here. Not everything can be done on stupid mobile phones or smartphones, not even on tablets. All professional graphic designers, online shop owners...etc. need a desktop computer to do the work.
Like
neartheredrocks
17 October 2016
Still working under MacOS Sierra. Deserves another five stars.
Like (4)
Version 2.5.7
billybillybilly
19 September 2016
I noticed that another SIP-centric app (Bartender) was able to disable SIP, install the app and then reenable SIP, and have it work. (It has since been upgraded to v.2 so it isn't necessary anymore) Seriously thinking about disabling SIP, because I miss FP. Has anyone tried this method?
Like
Version 2.5.7
RogerKatz
13 December 2015
The current version is 2.5.7. The Developer's website says: "FinderPop will NOT work on OS X 10.11 El Capitan unless System Integrity Protection (aka "Rootless Mode") is disabled. For normal users, I would not recommend disabling SIP, though it is possible to disable it and get FinderPop to (mostly) work."
Like (1)
Version 2.5.6
3 answer(s)
Panocha
Panocha
15 May 2016
Yeah, right. lol. Not disable it??? It's one of the first things I did. SIP is horrible, it screws up everything! I guess if you are a novice, regular old user, then it wouldn't be that bad, but if you are one of those, then you wouldn't be using FinderPop!
Like (2)
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
04 September 2016
Works!
Like
Jeff-H-
Jeff-H-
05 September 2016
I'm sad to see that "Move to trash" is now gone (or I'm overlooking it). I really relied on that.
Like
Noivad
04 November 2015
We should send Turly(?) more pint money so he gets drunk enough to decide to update FinderPop to work with 10.11 without disabling SIP. The dev for Default Folder X said it is no easy feat to make it work with 10.11 with SIP enabled, and given both of these devs have been writing for Mac OS and OS X since the 90s, I believe them. Also, I gotta mention this was one of the first things I installed on my new macs for at least a decade+ (same with DFX—since the 90s for both). Power Users need/want these sort of productivity boosters. I wish they had the resources to make these transitions easy, and I wish Apple would reach out to help them given the long track record of value they’ve added to the platform.
Like (10)
Version 2.5.7
djcz
04 November 2015
The latest version (2.5.7) of this product is NOT compatible with OS X 10.11 and later. When you click on the FinderPop System Preference, it throws up a message stating that it is not compatible. At this point, even though there is an "OK" button, you cannot dismiss the dialog box and System Preferences must be force quit.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
misterjspencer
13 October 2015
Can't get this to work in El Capitan...man these stupid OSX names are getting me down,
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
1 answer(s)
MichaelHaeusler
MichaelHaeusler
31 October 2015
Disable System Integrity Protection. FinderPop 2.5.7 works great here (10.11.1).
Like (1)
Eric•Woehler
08 October 2015
This is a no-brainer, must-have, no question about it utility for Mac. Been using it since the earliest versions (System 8 I believe). Apple's El CRAPITAN has killed so many of my GUI tweaks (Flavours, ASM, cDock, Finderpop, FolderGlance etc) that the simple choice is between SIP/system lockdown/vanilla GUI designed for 8 year olds or full-blown customization. Easy, disabled rootless and starting to rebuild MY computer and MY software and MY gui etc as I want it, not Tim!!
Like (2)
Version 2.5.7
1 answer(s)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
27 May 2018
Works under High Sierra by disabling SIP (restart in Recovery mode, fire up Terminal, type 'csrutil disable' (without the ') and reboot.
It's a 5-star app, highly customisable, highly recommended. Long-time user. I have set up folders with symbolic links to most-frequently used files, external volumers, core services etc - all available at anytime by the press of trackpad. Feature set/options unique and best in class. Recommended without qualifications.
Like
Panocha
06 October 2015
Please don't stop development just because Apple is really stupid. The first thing I did was disable SIP even before I got to testing FP, because none of my other system modifications that I have made myself worked. Apple has gone overboard for a platform that doesn't even have any viruses. If it ever gets to the point of not being able to customize our own computers, then there will be no point in having a Mac anymore.
Like
Version 2.5.7
1 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
07 October 2015
Disabling SIP seems fairly easy so if that gets me FP back plus the ability to change some of those crappy Ives system icons it will be done, I've had Macs for nearly 20 years and never had a virus, sooner or later Apple Computer Company will morph completely into the Apple Gadget Company run by the suits, with customers forced to have their computers running in a giant uncustomisable sandbox, then it might be time to move on...
Like
Panocha
06 October 2015
This is one of those "can't live without" utilities, and it should be working. The beta for El Capitan has been public for a very long time. I wonder what the lag is. I know a lot of us can't afford the developer tools, that's what's killing a lot of stuff on the Mac. Apple is really stupid in this matter. Why would anyone pay thousands of dollars so they can make free and donation-ware? With that said, El Capitan has been out for months on torrents. Apple really needs to do something to help the little guy.
Like
Version 2.5.7
bikerbob38
05 October 2015
Just upgraded to El Capitan on 04 Oct. FinderPop would not work. Downloaded the latest version on the same day and that won't work either. Sure hope they fix it.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
Knowhowe
02 October 2015
The first thing I install on any Mac I come across. But having to do without it now as it won't work in El Capitan. All of a sudden, finding files is a right pain. Hurry up and fix it Turly! :)
Like (2)
Version 2.5.7
2 answer(s)
Kihoalu
Kihoalu
02 October 2015
Indeed. it doesn’t work in El Capitan.
Like
Knowhowe
Knowhowe
02 October 2015
2.5.7 not working either. Have resorted to X Menu for now.
Like
MichaelHaeusler
26 August 2015
One of the best auxiliary apps for the Mac. Works great on Yosemite. I just hope it will work on El Capitan with all those new system restrictions.
Like
Version 2.5.7
2 answer(s)
Diarbyrag
Diarbyrag
01 October 2015
Anyone know if it works with El Cap yet please ? And yes it should be Sir Turly !
Like (1)
Boysetsthefire
Boysetsthefire
01 October 2015
Does not work with El Capitan. I have an email out to Turly.
Like
glandfield
21 March 2015
Turly should get a knighthood if not immediate canonization. FinderPop is as essential as a comfy chair and in a not dissimilar way.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
dalesorel
07 March 2015
Is anyone getting a "Contents" submenu in OS X 10.10.x with a right-click?
Like
Version 2.5.7
Cowicide
24 February 2015
Turly has been updating this for many years and it's still as vital as it was ages ago before even OS X existed. I still use it to click-n-hold to pop up a hierarchical list of folder contents in the Finder and explore sub-folders instead of mindlessly clicking folder after folder in the Finder. Saves a tremendous amount of time as it has many advantages in speed and functionality. While this app is free like it's always been, I would suggest sending a donation to Turly for his beer, for thanks and to promote further development in the future.
Like
Version 2.5.7
Yazarim
28 November 2014
Very good and useful application, indeed. Happily using it for many years. But in Yosemite it seems to have a strange behaviour. Very difficult to trigger. Happens only to me?
Like
Version 2.5.7
Boysetsthefire
28 September 2014
Best of all Mac applications - has been since the beginning.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
Kobalt
27 September 2014
Thanks for the Autumnal Equinox update, Turly. I'm not running Yosemite yet (my setup is for production and no way am I going to run the risk of a beta OS), but that's only a matter of time. At least I'll be ready as far as FinderPop is concerned.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
WordWeaver
27 September 2014
An indispensable part of my daily workflow. Easy to install. Easy to use. Thanks Turly for fixing the alias issue. Much appreciated.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
Lightning
27 September 2014
I'm using Yosemite beta and FinderPop wasn't working for a couple of days (until this update) and that made me realize how much I missed it. This app is GREAT! Just give it a try.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.7
Kobalt
22 July 2014
A must-have addition to any power-user's Mac. I wouldn't want to be without it.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.6
Gaberdine
16 July 2014
Get it. Use it. Donate. It's really that simple. This baby is integral to my Mac experience and essential to my workflow. I'd forgotten how much I use Finder Pop until I turned it off to upgrade... suddenly I realised my Mac "didn't work" anymore. All those handy contextual menu extras were gone. What the...? I'd become so used to the seamless way that Finder Pop integrates with Mac OS, that I was taking it for granted. Not any more. Pints of Beamish will be winging their way towards you Señor Turly. Many thanks.
Like (1)
Version 2.5.5
Jason-Milles-76
09 June 2014
One of the best free must have for every Mac OSX user. Terrific tool !!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.5
wickedsp1d3r
09 June 2014
It would be perfect if it worked with Chrome(ium). This is not due to developer, though.
Like
Version 2.5.5
1 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
10 June 2014
Look what Turly replied on 08 Jun 2014 Chrome have ignored my request to whitelist FinderPop (trying to talk to a real person in google is impossible) so in the end I took matters into my own hands: http://www.fnarr.net/fp/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=305 Note: this is extremely naughty but has been working fine for me for months.
Like
Spudboy
09 June 2014
Still not "Sherlocked" with the release of Weed!
Like
Version 2.5.5
rwe250
09 June 2014
I've sent Turly many pints over the many years that we've used FinderPop. We hope you folks will do the same. This prefpane should be an integral part of the Mac OS but is not. Thank you very much Turly, you have been a true benefactor to the Mac community! With Sincere Appreciation, Russell
Like (4)
Version 2.5.5
Jimw
08 June 2014
This product should get some kind of an award for being one of the best additions to Mac OS ever created along with ease of use, stability, good user support, and longevity. It is simply a must have for any Mac user. If you haven't tried it yet you have no idea what you are missing and how it can improve your productivity and reduce navigation frustration.
Like (7)
Version 2.5.5
DonM7173
08 June 2014
Been out since 26 April 2014 and only NOW appears here?! hmmm. . . .
Like
Version 2.5.5
1 answer(s)
Aargl
Aargl
08 June 2014
Turly labels them "béta" until no other bug is found, then "removes the BETA designation, when he thinks it's good to go", as mentioned there: http://is.gd/jChW6N ;-)
Like (2)
JamesHarrisPhoto
08 June 2014
This is absolutely one of my favorite Mac utilities EVER... when it works. It seems that every installation I've done with the next new version of FinderPop, it works for a while, and then completely stops working. There seems to be nothing I can do to get it working again. To be fair, I do not know if this is a problem solely with FinderPop, or if another utility is somehow interfering. But I love FinderPop so much that I'm going to install it again! :-)
Like (2)
Version 2.5.5
1 answer(s)
Kobalt
Kobalt
09 June 2014
On occasion I, too, find that FinderPop (FP) stops working in the sense that FP no longer shows the FP Items folder items, or only the first level. I don't know why this happens, but it's easily resolved by going to the System Prefs, turning FP off, closing System Prefs, opening it again and turning FP back on. In my experience, doing this brings back the FP alias folders.
Like
Kobalt
24 October 2013
Hey Turly, thanks fo Ralph the Wonder Llama!
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
lazr5943
23 October 2013
Was hoping FP would finally work while in Chrome. Still fantastic! laz
Like (1)
Version 2.5.1
1 answer(s)
turly
turly
08 June 2014
Chrome have ignored my request to whitelist FinderPop (trying to talk to a real person in google is impossible) so in the end I took matters into my own hands: http://www.fnarr.net/fp/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=305 Note: this is extremely naughty but has been working fine for me for months.
Like (4)
Jazzyguy
23 October 2013
Incredible Application,To have it back in Mavericks is a Godsend! Without it I felt Mavericks was without the most valuable tool which I prized!
Like (2)
Version 2.5.1
GianMarco-Tavazzani
05 August 2013
6 STARS IF… it could solve the problem of not popping up in the menubar if Chrome (or its relatives) is frontmost app. But by time this problem stays not solved so… ONLY 5 STARS, sorry Turly!!! :-D
Like (1)
Version 2.5
3 answer(s)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
06 August 2013
Turly… allow me to add that you could be so kind to explain some more about the FinderPopExtras, which I believe to can use even more, with your help :)
Like (1)
turly
turly
08 June 2014
See my reply to lazr5943's post above.
Like (1)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
08 June 2014
IT - WORKS! DEFINITIVELY!!!! (…confirming once more, if necessary, that 'naughty stuffs are the most effective ones!' ;-)
Like
The-Equalizer
01 August 2013
I keep downloading "damaged archives." I've tried several different computers in different locations... Always great to see an update to this brilliant app.
Like
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Jess-MacUpdate
Jess-MacUpdate
01 August 2013
I've tried the download, THe-Equalizer, and it downloads as a complete ZIP archive (2 MB) which fully expands with no errors.
Like
Stephan2nd
01 August 2013
Must have free utility !! BTW it doesn't work with OSX10.9 atm - any fix for this?
Like (1)
Version 2.5
cmotdibbler
31 July 2013
Quit reading, install this and give 5 stars. Developer has been around since the OS8 days. Incredibly useful contextual menu handler.
Like (3)
Version 2.5
Jimwoolum
31 July 2013
One of the finest time savers and ease-of-use add-ons EVER. Rock solid.
Like (2)
Version 2.5
Frank-O'Connor
31 July 2013
Apple should license this puppy to be included standard as part of MacOS X. The developer should be canonised, and worshipped from afar. This is one singularly useful little package.
Like (4)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
Cheops
Cheops
31 July 2013
And buy the developer a pint!
Like (1)
Mariopue
25 July 2013
Great little app. Does what it states, and does it well. Definitely my preferred one for file managing, smoothly, quickly and easily. The best is, it is free. A BIG thanks goes to developer.
Like (5)
Version 2.4.9
Jazzyguy
22 July 2013
OF all the applications available for Free this older app stands out.It is a wonderful app made by a Developer who really cares about his users. It belongs in a Hall OF Fame for all apps shareware or free.
Like (11)
Version 2.4.9
1 answer(s)
Knowhowe
Knowhowe
22 July 2013
Couldn't agree more.
Like (2)
VictorPrijker
22 July 2013
thank you, thank you, thank you!
Like (2)
Version 2.4.9
Eric•Woehler
22 July 2013
A genuine 5-star app! Solid and works like a charm, highly customisable, you can do so much with it. I am a long-time user (since the days of System 9) and I install it as soon as I can on any new mac. Highly recommended.
Like (5)
Version 2.4.9
Kobalt
21 July 2013
One of my 3 most useful System Pref extensions. Of course, I could live without it, but why should I? And all for the love of it, so it seems (mind you, well worth the voluntary price of a round of pints). On ya, Turly!
Like (4)
Version 2.4.9
hwgray
22 May 2013
An oldie-but-a-goodie. Now at v2.4.*7*, updated for Mountain Lion. FWIW, on his site, Turley refers to all released versions as "beta."
Like (1)
Version 2.4.6
Stephen-Fry
22 May 2013
This app is the reason why many other apps do not work fine on a MBPr So if you have a MBPr don't use this because it crashes other apps that uses the Finder APIs.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.6
4 answer(s)
Agrothey
Agrothey
21 July 2013
I have no idea which apps you are talking about here. Can you give an example? FinderPop is one of the most stable and useful apps I use on my MBP. It is one of those little things which improves productivity a lot!
Like (2)
Eric•Woehler
Eric•Woehler
22 July 2013
I have used this on several MBs, MB Pros and most recently on a MB Air. At no time did FinderPop cause any grief. With more than 200 apps on my laptop, it works just fine with all of them, as well as the finder. Works in the menu bar and everywhere I initiate it! It's a 5-star app!
Like (2)
Knowhowe
Knowhowe
22 July 2013
That's bollox
Like
Okuyukashī
Okuyukashī
31 July 2013
Does not work with Google Chrome. . . But I have to disagree about not working with the other apps. . .
Like
RavenNevermore
28 February 2013
Boy, this brings back memories! It was always one of my favorite add ons for OS 9. Great to see Turly back on the Mac!
Like (2)
Version 2.4.6
Magosilvan
11 January 2013
Really useful! A must have! Thanks to the developer.
Like
Version 2.4.6