Back to SeaMonkey page
SeaMonkey free download for Mac

SeaMonkey Reviews

2.49.4
16 November 2018

Web browser with IRC chat, HTML editing, and more.

Robertcoogan
21 July 2010

Most helpful

Normally I am a Safari user, but I use SeaMonkey to do online Grad school work. It gives the illusion of being bare bones, but it is anything but. Setup is a breeze, the exact same setup as Thunderbird. Newsgroups format is very simple and setup with UMUC's servers went without a hitch. A very good multi-purpose app.
Like (5)
Version 2.0.6

Read 343 SeaMonkey User Reviews

Rate this app:

Simon3
09 December 2019
Excellent!
Like
Version 2.49.4
Plotzenhots
17 July 2019
Beta 2.49.5. http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/seamonkey/candidates/2.49.5-candidates/build1/mac/
Like
Version 2.49.4
Drforsyth
11 January 2019
Just uninstalled Seamonkey because it has become unresponsive. Will try to download a fresh copy and hope it works because I have depended on Seamonkey for years.
Like
Version 2.49.4
Romalasa
05 October 2018
Less space, other tools doing similar job & more used to them. No reflection on SeaMonkey capabilities or ease-of-use.
Like (1)
Version 2.49.3
cathy247
26 June 2018
SeaMonkey is the best browser I've used. It lets me organize my browsing, sort bookmarks and track data while I investigate issues on the net. I don't need separate applications to work with my email and browsing, SeaMonkey does it all. My only issue is that it can sometimes be slowed down by the spinning wheel, requiring me to press the <Esc> key multiple times to exit from the blockage.
Like (1)
Version 2.49.3
orsobou4
23 February 2018
The first thing this software did, was alerting that the 2.49.2 did not work on my machine, so I tried the 2.49.1 instead. When I tried myself at the add-ons, there was no ad blocker available, so I had to throw this thing out of my system.
Like
Version 2.49.2
cathy247
13 October 2017
This version of SeaMonkey killed my previous Mac to the point I had to buy a new machine. Even now the Mac can browse using his version but as soon as I try to access email it crashes. Its a terrible shame as S/M is my preferred browser.
Like
Version 2.48
1 answer(s)
Scion777
Scion777
18 November 2017
WHAT??? Ha ha ha ha. Sorry, but a web browser does not ruin a piece of hardware. Sounds like some reseller saw you coming - sort of like the wife in a used car lot .......
Like (3)
didifri
06 August 2017
super
Like
Version 2.48
orsobou4
04 August 2017
Every time I tried to open this software, it crashed.
Like
Version 2.48
RogerKatz
24 July 2017
Is the current version 2.48 or is it 2.46? The developer website says the current release is 2.46.
Like
Version 2.46
Derekcurrie
22 July 2017
Despite lagging news on the developer site and blog, this appears to be the Final version of 2.4.8, versus it being another beta release.
Like
Version 2.48
Anon42
04 February 2017
Does not work on my Snow Leopard 10.6.7. Crashes on launch.
Like
Version 2.46
1 answer(s)
pook52mb
pook52mb
04 February 2017
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/seamonkey/tinderbox-builds/comm-release-macosx64/1472897952/seamonkey-2.45.en-US.mac.dmg

The last version that works with Snow Leopard.
Like
Virtualruffy
31 January 2017
New version 2.46 release Dec 22nd 2016 Just when I feared they had died, they came back!
Like
Version 2.40
Plotzenhots
01 July 2016
tangled mess of many unfinished versions of the suite on Mozilla's servers - no evidence of safety critical outdated versions on Seamonkeys website . Is because seamonkey still legitimate?
Like
Version 2.40
Scion777
27 December 2015
SeaMonkey is at 2.39 - why is MU not updating?
Like
Version 2.35
robsta
04 September 2015
Ooops!....downloads the German version! Go to <getseamonkey.com> to download the US English version
Like
Version 2.35
1 answer(s)
Starman535
Starman535
10 September 2015
Already got the correct version directly from Seamonkey's site. Problem is that image-based themes seem to go in the foreground, covering the radio buttons.
Like
Plotzenhots
08 August 2015
long gone lovingly cared for
Like
Version 2.33.1
1 answer(s)
Seedy
Seedy
16 September 2015
Try the 2.38b download, very nice!
Like
badbadger
23 March 2015
This program is almost 10 years old and still looks the same ugly. And even now no longer work correctly.
Like
Version 2.33.1
Seedy
10 February 2015
Review is for any version after 2.26. TLDR: don't bother. Buggy as a summer night. 2 quick ones off top of head...Passwords are forgotten that are suddenly available when going back to 2.26 (but then email passwords are forgotten by 2.26 when regressing), and getting to the ones that are stored is made as stupidly difficult as possible with the "Manager". Cursor arbitrarily stops responding to arrow keys in text fields including emails. I've been a supporter of the SM way since the Mozilla M-builds in the 90's, 2.26 is where I stop following along for a while. This has happened before in the progression, hope they get the car on the road again.
Like
Version 2.32.1
1 answer(s)
Seedy
Seedy
16 September 2015
Self-correction here. Using the 2.38 beta, passwords work, doesn't crash, loads quickly. Very happy with it. We're back on track. There is a little redesign and some of the proportions of window parts are a little altered.

Also, if you want to use a Firefox or Thunderbird plugin with Seamonkey and it won't install, here is a thread featuring a converter and a list of converted plugins that work... http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=40&t=2834855
Like
Virtualruffy
22 January 2015
v2.32 Crashes on start. Nice. Another lousy version. Going back to v26.2 This is getting old.
Like
Version 2.32
PedantMac
17 January 2015
Slušný prohlížeč s integrovaným pošťákem, je by to chtělo trochu dodělat.
Like
Version 2.32
Virtualruffy
10 September 2014
The weird scrolling jumping issue with yahoo is resolved in this version BUT now our work MS Sharepoint site is inaccessible. The links do not resolve to even bring up the page. I think it is choking on the authentication. Verified Sharepoint was up through Safari. Deleted seamonkey 29 and put back 26.1 and Sharepoint came right up. Something in the new version is either not compatible or broken.
Like
Version 2.29
J-Mueller-MacUpdate
05 February 2014
It doesn't seem to be compatible with Retina displays. The rendering of text is very pixelated.
Like (1)
Version 2.23
Plotzenhots
19 November 2013
simply the best :-)
Like
Version 2.22.1
ben-marko
31 March 2013
With the new version, it still is a very stable and powerful application. Why more developers don't try to create an all-in-one Internet application is beyond me. And rather than open a new window for viewing Mail & Newsgroups separately, how about allowing to open different functions like that in a tab? Just one window for all features, with separate tabs. But still to this day, you cannot get blocking abilities incorporated completely. Just AdBlock, really. It would be nice to get DoNotTrackMe to work with it, or even GlimmerBlocker. But no, so I won't use it.
Like (1)
Version 2.17
hikerbiker
27 February 2013
SeaMonkey is the best package for browsing, email, composition and accessing the web. Just an FYI if you have an old G4/G5 based Mac get it out of the closet and on-line with SeaMonkey for PPC http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/45015/seamonkey-for-ppc
Like (3)
Version 2.17
Primal
22 February 2013
I'd been using SeaMonkey as a Browser off & on for years, and kept it, mostly, for Composer. Now, it's the only Browser I use because of its consistent performance. Composer has remained relevant for me. I can do quick content updates as though I was typing in a text editor with its WYSIWYG. For throwing together quick no-nonsense webpages, Composer is all I need. While I'm no WebMaster, I know enough to insert a little CSS here & there. Also, I still think Frames come in handy. Thanks to the Developers. I truly appreciate all the hard work this team has done throughout the years to keep SeaMonkey going.
Like (3)
Version 2.16
GianMarco-Tavazzani
16 January 2013
Importing bookmarks is still impossible...
Like
Version 2.15
1 answer(s)
Slurp
Slurp
10 May 2014
Yes it is!"Export HLM f.i. from Firefox, import HTML in Seamonkey.
Like (1)
Jazzyguy
25 December 2012
Excellent Browser and Usenet Client!
Like (2)
Version 2.15
Prlab
29 November 2012
Want to like it so much but I can't import bookmarks. It just sits there and does nothing with the .html file I exported from Safari.
Like (2)
Version 2.15
4 answer(s)
freevito
freevito
01 December 2012
So, did you file a bug report on Bugzilla? Or perhaps you didn't "want to like it so much" that you would actually take some action to help fix the problem. SeaMonkey is built and maintained by volunteers. It is kept alive by people who care enough to keep it working. Dumping on it here because one feature happens to be (temporarily) broken doesn't help you or anyone else.
Like (2)
freevito
freevito
04 December 2012
Just as a follow-up, this problem is covered under Bugzilla Bug 801450. A patch has already been submitted for review and is currently undergoing testing. I suspect this bug should be fixed in the next release of SeaMonkey.
Like (3)
Prlab
Prlab
05 December 2012
Still not fixed. Guess I'll submit another report.
Like (3)
freevito
freevito
06 December 2012
The bug has been fixed, but it hasn't been integrated into a release version yet. It looks like it's slated for inclusion in Firefox 20 (Firefox is currently at v17.0.1), so there'll probably be a similar time frame for the fix to show up in SeaMonkey. You just have to give it time to make its way into the code base. If you want to follow the progress on the bug, go to https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=801450 and add your email address to the CC list.
Like (2)
Jazzyguy
03 November 2012
Great Browser.I love having my mail and Newsgroups in one place.
Like (1)
Version 2.14
Minz
12 October 2012
How is this version of SeaMonkey V2.13 whiIe have been running version 2.41 for way over a year? I am confused.
Like
Version 2.13
1 answer(s)
MacUpdate-Ryan
MacUpdate-Ryan
12 October 2012
Hi Minz, you're actually running "2.4.1" while the new version is "2.13"; the placement of the decimal point being key :) I'll admit, their version numbering is definitely a bit confusing. You can find a list of all of their past releases on the bottom of this page http://www.seamonkey-project.org/releases/. I'd be sure to update to this version.
Like (5)
slewfoot
17 September 2012
It seems fine except I have never figured out out how to import bookmarks into sea monkey. Until I get that figured out I cannot give sea monkey a real test. Can someone help me? Thanks in advance.
Like
Version 2.13
4 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
17 September 2012
It's pretty counter-intuitive. You have to go to Bookmarks -> Manage Bookmarks and then go to Tools -> Import HTML while the Bookmarks Manager window is open. The Bookmarks Manager apparently changes the menu options. At that point, you can just upload a bookmarks HTML file exported from another browser. http://kb.mozillazine.org/Import_bookmarks
Like
slewfoot
slewfoot
17 September 2012
I followed that advice and those instruction. I also exported the bookmarks from safari to my desktop to get the needed html file. I went to manage bookmarks in sea monkey. I clicked on tools, I clicked on import bookmarks, i clicked on file. I directed sea monkey to the location of the safaribookmarks.html file. I clicked on the proper button but nothing was uploaded to sea monkey. So though I did what your instruction and what the mozilla instructions said I should do I still have no saari bookmarks in sea monkey.
Like
Prlab
Prlab
17 September 2012
I also can not import bookmarks. It just freezes after clicking the Safari html file.
Like
Fyreflye
Fyreflye
11 October 2012
Try this. FIRST go to Safari File -> Export Bookmarks and click on it. You should get a window that says "Save as: Safari Bookmarks.html". In the box for Where navigate to your Desktop and click to confirm it. An .html file will appear on your Desktop. THEN go to Sea Monkey Import Bookmarks and click on it. Navigate to Desktop -> Safari Bookmarks.html, select it and click to import it. Your Safari bookmarks should then appear in the Sea Monkey Bookmarks window. You'll still have to place each bookmark into Sea Monkey Bookmarks manually.
Like
EudoraBryant
13 August 2012
works smoothly
Like (3)
Version 2.12
hikerbiker
25 July 2012
SeaMonkey is definitely the best as browsers go because it is much more than just a browser. BTW if you still have your old PowerBook or G4/G5 Desktop the 2.11 version of SeaMonkey-for-PPC is available at https://code.google.com/p/seamonkey-ppc/downloads/list Spread the word - PPC IS NOT DEAD !
Like (3)
Version 2.12
Jazzyguy
21 July 2012
Excellent Browser,it has a lot of features and I enjoy its ability to view Newsgroups.
Like (2)
Version 2.11
ronaldpr
07 June 2012
Though still labeled here as beta version, version 2.10 was released yesterday. Go to the developer's site to get the release version.
Like
Version 2.10
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
11 June 2012
Thanks. MU should really always make the main download link the stable version, and the extra links should be for the betas. I realize they do that because of their desktop software, but it gets annoying.
Like (2)
freevito
15 May 2012
SeaMonkey is a must for anyone who started out on Netscape Communicator (the original powerhouse web apps suite) and appreciates the value and utility of such a full-featured, well-integrated suite. For those who don’t know the history, Netscape Communicator was succeeded by the Mozilla Suite. When Mozilla Foundation decided to focus on its individual apps (Firefox, T’bird, etc.), SeaMonkey became its own independent project. The apps in the SeaMonkey Suite are both powerful and elegant. The Navigator browser is still my browser of choice, as is the Mail & Newsgroups app. And there is seldom a day that goes by when I don’t use Composer. The Address Book app has been the weakest link in the suite (that was true even in the Mozilla Suite), but its print functionality has improved. I can't comment on the IRC Chat app as I've only used it a couple of times, but it seemed functional enough. Perhaps the biggest weakness in SeaMonkey is its documentation; It could use far more detail to help the user who is unfamiliar with its many powerful features. However, I offer that ONLY as an observation, not as a criticism. I do recognize that the most obvious solution to the documentation problem is to do it myself. After all, the SeaMonkey Project is maintained by volunteers. One of these days I'm going to MAKE the time to improve the documentation. In the meantime, I will continue to use SeaMonkey with nothing but the highest sense of gratitude to its developers. It is an extraordinary achievement. Its power and flexibility probably exceed the needs of most users, but I suspect that there are many folks who would benefit greatly from using it if they only knew what it can do. The price (free!) is certainly hard to beat.
Like (2)
Version 2.10
Andy-Hewitt
01 May 2012
I'd really like to make more of this, and simplify my browsing and mail, but sadly neither BookMacster or 1Password work with it, so it never gets past a quick test.
Like
Version 2.9.1
Leigh-P
01 May 2012
I use Sea Monkey for writing and editing web pages primarily, and while it lacks the functionality of Dreamweaver, the price is right! It beats Amaya, Blue Griffon and Kompozer, which (alas!) has been abandoned.
Like (1)
Version 2.9.1
Leigh-P
14 March 2012
Whoa! Still trying to get this review right! 1. By commenting on the shareware developers, I don't want to dismiss the work done by the Mozilla community pro bono on SeaMonkey. It's awesome! 2. I help an emerita professor (pro bono) with her Mac problems. This extraordinary woman is still writing books in her eighties! Anyway, she has used Netscape Navigator since its inception, so in order to ease her into "the modern age" I segued her into the SeaMonkey platform. This has proved "just what the doctor ordered" for her and has kept things relatively simple for me.
Like (1)
Version 2.8
Leigh-P
14 March 2012
Accidentally I overrated SeaMonkey in my last post.
Like
Version 2.8
1 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
14 March 2012
I can fix that for you. What rating were you trying to give?
Like
Leigh-P
14 March 2012
I use SeaMonkey to create and edit a number of websites. One reason is that I'm cheap and don't want to pay a bunch of money for a commercial or shareware app to do these tasks. Yet I would be happy to plunk my money down if I could be assured that they could give me a better user experience. Having tried trial versions of a number of them, I'm still not convinced that they would. I used to own Dreamweaver, and while I miss may of its features, I can't justify it expense. (Am still trying to get my employer to buy be a copy. So far no luck.) To give credit to those who do create web design apps for the shareware market: I admire what you're doing and would love to choose your product .Yet at this point I'm not sure which one would be best for my uses.
Like (1)
Version 2.8
Fredducker
09 December 2011
By wanting to do too many things, I got the feeling that SeaMonkey ends up not doing anything properly, and loses people in the intricacy of its functionalities and support websites. I tried it for a long moment, then wanted to use the HTML editor, only to find that it didn't behave in a way I could understand and that there was not much help to obtain from the website. It might be a great tool for many people - although I think that as a free alternative, both Safari and Firefox are decent and updated very often - but sea monkey is a very complex world one has to learn its way into. I apologize to anyone if this comment is hurtful, I seem to have missed a point, but when I tried to access a "bug reporting" or "faq" or "suggestions" page, I was all the more lost and didn't feel like my feedback was needed. On top of a poor design, it meant the end for me. And I am still looking for a free, basic and simple WYSIWYG HTML editor...
Like (2)
Version 2.5
1 answer(s)
SickTeddyBear
SickTeddyBear
27 February 2012
SeaMonkey, like Camino, is a Mozilla product specifically designed to fill a certain niche, for people who want an integrated web environment. It's not for everybody. SeaMonkey is part of the same family as Firefox, and therefore, it is intentionally designed not to be exactly like it. They each exist for different reasons.
Like (6)
JohnKHeath
05 October 2011
I upgraded from version 1.6 and this version is just great. Sleek, simple and very fast and has minimal bugs too. Works fine so far.
Like (2)
Version 2.4.1
RoyPDX
05 September 2011
Downloading the 2.3.2 DMG gives 2.3.1 upon opening.
Like
Version 2.3.2
Afields
31 August 2011
One of the best all-in-one solutions for your online life, and even better it's FREE! From browsing the web, to doing your email, to simple website maintenance/updates/development - it's like a swiss army knife for your digital life.
Like (3)
Version 2.3.2
Thresher-the-Shark
07 June 2011
Sigh. Another app's UB bites the dust.
Like (4)
Version 2.1pre
1 answer(s)
umaromc
umaromc
16 December 2011
http://www.rpm-mozilla.org.uk/
Like (1)
Penguirl
14 January 2011
An Intel optimized build can be downloaded at http://wiki.kncn.net/index.php?SeaMonkey%20Intel%20Mac%20build PPC optimized builds can be downloaded at http://www.rpm-mozilla.org.uk/
Like (2)
Version 2.0.11
1 answer(s)
Jazzyguy
Jazzyguy
24 March 2011
Thanks for the Optimized Intel Build!
Like (2)
Knowhowe
26 August 2010
The automatic scrolling of the questions on my favourite IRC trivia channel doesn't work in this version. I had to keep scrolling manually. No good to me so reverted back to 2.0.6 and all is well again.
Like
Version 2.1a3