Back to EndNote X9 page
EndNote X9 free download for Mac

EndNote X9 Reviews

26 August 2020

Bibliographic management app.

How would you rate EndNote X9?
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
shreyascts
shreyascts
Jan 28 2021
19.3.3.15659
1.0
Jan 28 2021
1.0
Version: 19.3.3.15659
worst app, totally unfriendly
Vitaly
Vitaly
Sep 20 2019
19.2.0.14655
1.0
Sep 20 2019
1.0
Version: 19.2.0.14655
this, latest version (updated June 2019) is NOT compatible with macOS 10.15.
Vitaly
Vitaly
Aug 28 2019
19.1.1.14483
1.0
Aug 28 2019
1.0
Version: 19.1.1.14483
the application is bloated and not snappy as it used to be. may be they need to spin out endnote just fr storing refs (w/o pdfs and images and online and collaborations) just for people who write papers and need to format references. and then the full version. also, the way the company handles updates is abysmal. Catalina is in its 6th beta and there is n beta or patch for 64 bit endnote. why not provide users with this capability?? ​
AnnL7456
AnnL7456
May 19 2018
18.1.0.12930
0.0
May 19 2018
0.0
Version: 18.1.0.12930
This is funny. The current v.18 receives 5 stars here although NOBODY has written a review and rated this version yet on MacUpdate! The previous 17 version received 5 reviews—all are from the years 2013 and 2015—and the average rating then was 2.8.

But wait a minute, if I click on the "Ratings" button, I see that one person, PRjohnson, seems indeed to have rated the current version with 5 stars. But he or she doesn't seem to have written any review.

Is it possible to rate an application here without writing a review? Ratings without a review can not be accounted as serious. They are useless, misleading and should not be allowed.
Ari-Tj
Ari-Tj
Oct 1 2015
17.3.1.10444
3.0
Oct 1 2015
3.0
Version: 17.3.1.10444
17.4 is out. Still no compatibility with Word/PowerPoint 2016 (15.xx) for Mac.
Aaron-T
Aaron-T
Aug 24 2015
17.3.1.10444
5.0
Aug 24 2015
5.0
Version: 17.3.1.10444
The best biblio app. Survived my EndNote App with ease.
NSA-not-horray
NSA-not-horray
May 31 2015
17.3.1.10444
0.5
May 31 2015
0.5
Version: 17.3.1.10444
Incredibly confusing software. Couldn't manage to grab metadata for a local PDF file I imported. This was much easier using Bookends, so in the end, I went with that.
Almar
Almar
Jan 6 2015
17.1.0.9529
0.5
Jan 6 2015
0.5
Version: 17.1.0.9529
Now at v. 17.2.1, on Yosemite is a total disaster. Tech Support is minimal, everything moved to TR Community forum and "Connect" (beta) on MyEndNote Web. With MS Word is now in tune, perfectly integrated in the same swamp of malfunctions .. I spend enough time to run the two together, and I miss just to stand and chat on forums. Life is short. The final decline of a poor software, expensive without merit.
gramuel
gramuel
Mar 3 2013
16.0.2.8570
5.0
Mar 3 2013
5.0
Version: 16.0.2.8570
I had to write the Bachelor's Thesis with MS Word. Not a big deal I thought because I like text editors like Word and Pages. I bought Bookends some time ago in a MacUpdate Bundle so it was my first choice to go to. Unfortunately I didn't manage to make the in-text citation links Bookends needed for the bibliography. The institution wanted some special sort of in-text citations I wasn't able to configure with bookends. So I turned to EndNote X6 on the one hand I didn't have to pay for as student at my university and on the other hand it was promoted with a very good Word Plugin. Well, after about 2 hours I had this special configuration I needed. That was so easy that I decided I will not give Bookends another try - at least for this thesis ;) I never had ANY problems with EndNote. One Time I had a corrupted Word document that caused End Note to give out some errors while creating the bibliography. Turned out Word always had some sort of crash with one in-text citation. Deleted that and inserted it once again, then I had no problem. All I can say is that I didn't need the whole bunch of features. I was using City while you write the whole time, inserted new sources into my EndNote library and let it create the bibliography. The Word plugin is indeed a very good one that made it easy for me. For me it's 5 stars!
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Jan 27 2013
16.0.2.8570
1.0
Jan 27 2013
1.0
Version: 16.0.2.8570
This update is designed to work around a bug in 10.8.2 which has hit lots of other apps, appleeventsd causes freezing and other problems. With no 10.8.3 in sight, Endnote have had to implemet a workaround. Search on appleeventsd and 10.8.2 for all the details...
Ajmac25
Ajmac25
Dec 1 2012
16.0.1.8432
0.0
Dec 1 2012
0.0
Version: 16.0.1.8432
Can MacUpDate get the version number for Endnote fixed on their webpage? The current version for both Mac and PC is X6, not 16 as listed here. Very confusing. www.endnote.com Thanks!
Ferg
Ferg
Sep 27 2012
16.0.0.8318
4.0
Sep 27 2012
4.0
Version: 16.0.0.8318
I'm surprised by the negative reviews here. I've used EndNote for several years and I've found it to be a great program. It works well with both Pages and Word and I've not had the problem with crashes some of the other reviewers mentioned. I will admit that it's a bit pricey, but the quality is excellent in my opinion.
George-e-marcus
George-e-marcus
Sep 27 2012
16.0.0.8318
1.0
Sep 27 2012
1.0
Version: 16.0.0.8318
I used to use Endnote (going back to the very first version which was developed solely for the Mac).. when it got bought by Thompson it got large, cumbersome and unstable. Then, when OSX and Pages came out, they were slow to come out with a Pages compatible version. After searching (Sente, etc.), I opted to go with Bookends - and have never looked back. Bookends has excellent features and has exceptional support. I highly recumbent it.
Lidador
Lidador
Jan 18 2011
14.0.0.6695
3.5
Jan 18 2011
3.5
Version: 14.0.0.6695
I bought EndNote 3 some ten years ago, and stopped using it at version 5. Some six months ago then offered me a nice price for an upgrade and I accepted it. I am now using EndNote X4 the present version. I had not a single problem with EndNote X4, I am using it daily to manage my 2500 work references mostly for academic work and do automatic references and citations/bibliography with Microsoft Word 2008. Stability has been solid, features are extensive.
Neuron
Neuron
May 28 2009
X2.0.1
0.0
May 28 2009
0.0
Version: X2.0.1
I now realize that I have to use Endnote again. I love both Bookends and Sente, and Bookends has been my workhorse for the past 3 years. However, because nearly all of my colleagues use Word and Endnote (mostly on PCs), its almost unbearable collaborating on documents if I use Bookends to generate a bibliography. My main question before I plunk down $99 for the Endnote upgrade is the compatibility between PC and Mac Endnote-generated bibliographies in MS Word files. Specifically, if someone generates an Endnote bibliography on a PC in word, then sends me the references to import into my Mac Endnote, can I work with this Word document seamlessly using my Mac and Endnote? Any help is greatly appreciated. If I will have difficulty using a PC Endnote-bibliography with my Mac Endnote, then it will not be worth buying. I'd rather continue my collaborative struggles with Bookends.
Drbarnes
Drbarnes
Feb 21 2009
X2.0.1
1.0
Feb 21 2009
1.0
Version: X2.0.1
Absolutely Awful - Sente seems much more stable; it doesn't have Cite While you Write (CWYW), but then again EndNote's CWYW crashes virtually every time anyway. Having previously used EndNote fairly reliably on a PC, I bought it for Mac before the 'X versions'. That version rarely worked, but given the hype about the newest refined X2 version and CWYW fixes, I paid again for the latest update (another £75 or so!). It is every bit as buggy, and has virtually no innovation over previous versions. In contrast, I am now looking at Sente, which lacks the much hyped integration with Pages, but will produce bibliographies for Pages outwith the application itself after inserting easil formatted citations. Sente also features a much more intuitive interface, web search facilities that actually work, and a great system for linking downloaded PDF files to the citation database. It can be a little slow opening my 50k database, but not intolerably. Unlike EndNote, it also has a trial.
Nontroppo
Nontroppo
Oct 29 2008
X2.0.1
1.0
Oct 29 2008
1.0
Version: X2.0.1
Horrible interface, buggy, poorly featured, slow program updates. The only reason Endnote exists is that many people don't research the software they buy and Endnote lives off its name (our Department buys a site licence only for this and not other better options). Both Bookends and Sente are significantly better, and their developers are very receptive to input.
Lev
Lev
Oct 29 2008
X2.0.1
1.0
Oct 29 2008
1.0
Version: X2.0.1
FYI, Bookends sucketh not. Nor does Sente. Either are way ahead of EndNote with better online functionality and better customer support. EndNote is a dinosaur; as medics are no longer allowed to write on patients' notes, it's T.F. BUNDY. (= "Totally f***** but unfortunately not dead yet.")
Sunburn
Sunburn
Sep 4 2008
X2
0.0
Sep 4 2008
0.0
Version: X2
This is totally ludicrous. These clowns want $100 a year for upgrades to piece of software that STILL sucks even after years of upgrades. This is PC software with a bad UI and mediocre functionality. I'm done with what is essentially an annual subscription. Right now, for HALF the price of the _upgrade_, I can get a bundle which includes Bookends. Even if Bookends also sucks (I haven't tried it yet, but I'm about to buy it anyway), there is virtually no way that EndNote X2 is twice as good as Bookends. Of course, there is no way in heaven or hell that anyone from the developer will ever see this. ISI is a lumbering hulk to whom "customer service" means nothing unless you are a huge on-line library or publisher.
Flori
Flori
Apr 10 2008
10.0.2
0.0
Apr 10 2008
0.0
Version: 10.0.2
I have been using Endnote for many many years. The last stable, and reliable (with Word), version was v.5 on OS9. None of the OSX versions have been properly fixed for bugs and the latest (10.0.2) is unstable in both Mac and Windows versions. Even a successive search enquiry can crash it. If you are using Word (2004 or X) and cite-while-you write, keep regular backups! I had a large scientific review document completely corrupt on me. Endnote has increasingly added new and attractive features, but never seems to provide adequate bug-fixes for each version. Rather a new (and to be paid for) version is released with additional features. My colleagues and I have been hit with so many of these upgrade charges - always hoping in vain that things will improve - that we are seriously looking at alternatives. What are the chances that v. XI will be any better?
Lev
Lev
Jul 19 2007
10.0.2
1.0
Jul 19 2007
1.0
Version: 10.0.2
Corrupted my library, crashed itself repeatedly, crashed Word repeatedly, wouldn't work with Mellel, didn't attach pdfs properly... oh, I could go on. I only revisited this achingly terrible app because of the need to collaborate with a colleague; it proved easier, quicker, better and cheaper (WAY cheaper, time being money) to convert said colleague to Bookends. The whole experience was like meeting an ex in the street and thinking "Wow, was that a lucky escape when we split up." ISI should be ashamed of themselves, but I don't think shame is in their corporate repertoire.
Anon-Bud
Anon-Bud
Apr 1 2006
9.0
2.0
Apr 1 2006
2.0
Version: 9.0
Two words: SLOW, EXPENSIVE Using a 1ghz PowerBook G4 it took over five minutes to add just one reference to a brand new database using the online search method. Scrolling is extremely slow. Images and objects are not added to references. I'm new to this, but I am also new to Bookends and find Bookends to be extremely fast, low learning curve, works with Mellel seamlessly. It only took me thirty seconds to search and add a reference from the Library of Congress site. All this, and it is almost a third the price!
Guest
Guest
Sep 16 2005
9.0
1.0
Sep 16 2005
1.0
Version: 9.0
I tried many times, but one conclusion: EndNote 9 don't want to open on my Mac OS Tiger... Quit unexpectedly... each time. other guys have the same problem?
Guest
Guest
Sep 2 2005
9.0
1.0
Sep 2 2005
1.0
Version: 9.0
Downloaded demo of version 9 and it won't convert my EndNote 6 library despite saying that it can. It appears to go through the process, but then errors out saying that it cannot save the file. I have tried creating a new copy of my library in EN6 before converting, and that hasn't helped. Beware, their tech support is a toll call, you will wait on hold indefinitely, and then most likely have to leave voice mail and wait for a call back. I'm still waiting.
Vitaly
Vitaly
Sep 1 2005
9.0
1.0
Sep 1 2005
1.0
Version: 9.0
this is a good release, fast and stable. BUT it should not have been a paid new version. instead, this should have been an update for v8 which is less than a year old and is incredibly buggy. the company seems to produce one major release, charge for it, and make it so full of bugs that the users have no choice but buy the next version
Guest
Guest
Nov 3 2004
7.0
0.0
Nov 3 2004
0.0
Version: 7.0
I used Endnote on a Mac for years when it was sold by Niles. I loved it. It was priced right, versatile and was well supported. Then they sold it to Thomson. Then PubMed downloads didn't work and I paid $99 to upgrade to version 6. Only then did I discover that you couldn't format an RTF document with version 6. That made EndNote 6 worthless to me. To get this feature that had always been available before, would cost another $99 for version 7. I switched to Bookends, which is great, and has great support. Reference Miner is also a great utility. I think the new EndNote business model is to charge $99 a year to maintain compatability. It's not worth money.
Hawker
Hawker
Oct 30 2002
6.0.1
3.8
Oct 30 2002
3.8
Version: 6.0.1
This is a great piece of software, but it could be improved by taking advantage of services and by integration with wordprocessors other than M$ Word.