Back to CrushFTP Professional page
CrushFTP Professional free download for Mac

CrushFTP Professional Reviews

9.1.0
26 April 2019

Full-featured file server.

marnold2000
06 April 2008

Most helpful

I am no expert on FTP clients although I am now using them daily since I started building websites in my spare time. In the last month I have demoed around 30 different clients between Windows and Mac. Out of all of those there were only two applications that were too complicated for me to setup properly, SmartFTP on windows and CrushFTP on mac. I won't hold my own inadequacies against the app but it needs to be made more simple for the average user to get it set up properly, it doesn't have to be hard. More and more people are starting to design their own websites now with the simple webdesign tools like iweb and rapidweaver so there is an increasing market for simple, quick FTP clients and for me anyway, CrushFTP is not one of them. Good luck and keep up the good work.
Like (3)
Version 4.7

Read 18 CrushFTP Professional User Reviews

Rate this app:

aaronjmandel
19 November 2015
This is a terrific tool! Not only is it stable, well designed, cross-platform, non-resource intense, and fun to use but it's *very well supported*. My organization uses the 7.x professional version of this tool and it's rock solid. It enables a fairly easy entry point to sophisticated tools and provides a tremendous depth in the feature-set.
Like
Version 7.3.0
Gent99
15 February 2013
Absolutely perfect. Very easy to administrate although many features. Extraordinary support. I wish some larger companies with larger support teams knows their products as well as this developer. Support the developer by choosing an enterprise license.
Like (2)
Version 6.2
Chops
26 April 2012
I am the web master/admin for a large university art school. Some of our programs like running their own web sites, so they need FTP access to the server. Like others here, I needed an SFTP server that would restrict those users to only the directories to which I gave them access. I tried doing it the Unix way (Mac OS X Server 10.7) but that was frustration incarnate. I spent two days trying lots of "solutions" that didn't work, then I gave up and started looking for third-party solutions. Of those I was able to get only CrushFTP to work. It is very easy to use and meets my needs and more. Support is excellent too. I highly recommend this to anyone who needs to provide secure FTP services.
Like (1)
Version 6.01
Machub
17 April 2012
I was using CrushFTP5 successfully for a while and had now an issue while updating to version 6. Ben Spink reacted within 1 hour (one...!) and fixed my problem. ....highly recommended product and support.
Like (1)
Version 6.01
Frenkieboy
31 October 2010
I'v been using CrushFTP from version 4 for some time now on a Mac Mini server. The software is very intuitive and easy to use. Even if you are new to FTP you'll have a server up and running in no time. The software is very stable, I haven't had a crash yet. The webinterface is revamped since version 5.5 and looks great. The package also comes with excellent support from the maker, Ben Sprink. I've had some issues and he helped me out every time. Ben is very responsive, thuogh most issues were caused by my own inexperience. Thanks for that Ben, 5 stars for you !!!!!
Like (1)
Version 5.5.0
Gcraiga
23 June 2010
After struggling with the limited features of the built in Snow Leopard server FTP service, I started looking for 3rd party FTP server software. Specifically I was looking for the ability to easily lock particular users into seeing only certain folders and also the ability to use secure protocols such as SFTP and FTPS. Compared to the other options out there, CrushFTP is far and above the best software available for the mac -- especially for the price. Some of the user modification interface is confusing, but once you get the hang of it it works well. As a major bonus, the developer makes himself available to fix bugs and troubleshoot issues should they arise.
Like (1)
Version 5.1.1
marnold2000
06 April 2008
I am no expert on FTP clients although I am now using them daily since I started building websites in my spare time. In the last month I have demoed around 30 different clients between Windows and Mac. Out of all of those there were only two applications that were too complicated for me to setup properly, SmartFTP on windows and CrushFTP on mac. I won't hold my own inadequacies against the app but it needs to be made more simple for the average user to get it set up properly, it doesn't have to be hard. More and more people are starting to design their own websites now with the simple webdesign tools like iweb and rapidweaver so there is an increasing market for simple, quick FTP clients and for me anyway, CrushFTP is not one of them. Good luck and keep up the good work.
Like (3)
Version 4.7
3 answer(s)
marnold2000
marnold2000
07 June 2008
Fair enough, no offense, I just post honest opinions on here, good and bad. I never said it was too hard for anyone who knows what they are doing, just for an average user. I always say, anyone who can even create an application of any kind, good or bad to me is really talented. Maybe as I get more and more advanced with this I will learn to appreciate your product. I am better now than when I wrote my review, I will take another look.
Like (2)
Version 4.8
Joellevin
Joellevin
07 June 2008
Oh, this isn't my product, I was just trying to shed some light on to why you may have gotten confused when trying to use it as an FTP client. :)
Like (4)
Version 4.8
Cenocre
Cenocre
10 April 2009
"I just post honest opinions on here" But it appears that you missed Joel's point. You entire comment was off base given that you were commenting about a different type of product. It is not what you were looking for. CrushFTP is not intended for what you were looking for so it is not fair to cut it down for something that it is no supposed to do. It's like cutting down Photoshop because you couldn't figure out how to record movies. CrushFTP is a SERVER and is what web hosts use to pass files on the "client" that you are using. It is a different part of the FTP chain. It is essentially the master and, unless running a web or fileserver, most people will never need to set it up themselves and will never need it on their computers.
Like (5)
Version 4.9.5
Mahalaleel
27 August 2007
This was one of the first apps I bought since I switched from windoze to OS X, and I have no regret at all. It's stable, easy, fast, has loads of options, and the developer solves your problems at lightspeed. Well worth its price, and easily one of the best FTP-servers around! (for me at least)
Like
Version 4.3.5
Pirx
12 June 2007
CrushFTP and AlmostVPN are both in the hall of fame: access to their sites is blocked from China, the censors probably don't want users in China to have access to these powerful tools. A medal of honour.
Like (1)
Version 4.3
Iwamoto
03 May 2007
nice application, used pureFTPd before this, always came up with stuff like broken pipelines, and the user configuration for folders was horrible, this app rocks!
Like
Version 4.2.1
macupdate-303
06 February 2007
FYI, CrushFTP has a "Run in backgorund mode". From the OS X tab, simply select 'Install CrushFTP Daemon'. This feature is only available to registered users though. Just about everything else however is fully functional while unregistered.
Like (1)
Version 4.0.7
3 answer(s)
qwerasdf
qwerasdf
26 February 2007
Yeah, that was added in 4.0 I believe. I love that new feature by the way, great work!
Like
Version 4.0.9
macupdate-303
macupdate-303
26 February 2007
This feature is part of version 4.x, but was also present up to 3 years ago with 3.x as well. Its a little more integrated in 4.x though. 4.x has a ton of new features over 3.x.
Like
Version 4.0.9
qwerasdf
qwerasdf
26 February 2007
Oh, I guess I just didn't notice it then. Either way, I love CrushFTP 4, keep up the good work.
Like
Version 4.0.9
qwerasdf
18 March 2005
It's good, but it needs a "Run in background" feature.
Like
Version 3.8.1
Anonymous
17 January 2005
Great FTP server. Have been using it for a couple of months and has all the features you could possibly want and others you may not have considered. Add to that the most flexible email notifications I have come across. I had 1 issue which the developer sorted out for me in a day. What more can I say, cheap at twice the price.
Like
Version 3.7.1
Anonymous
20 November 2003
gooood ware! I like it!
Like
Version 3.0
Anonymous
30 October 2003
Rock solid performance. Feature rich and elegantly implemented. Easy to setup and administer. Worth every penny.
Like (1)
Version 3.0
Anonymous
13 May 2003
nice app.....realy handy....only thing port 21 wouldn't work, but i changed it to another one somewhere above 1000 and it worked well
Like
Version 3.0b32
Anonymous
11 October 2001
It looks like 3.0b18 just gets better. Frequent updates shows commitment. The IRC bot to announce server stats is really handy. This thing is cool!
Like
Version 3.0b18
Anonymous
09 October 2001
This is by far the best FTP server I have used so far. I can't even begin to mention all the features. It has a simplified mode to help the first time user, and a wizard for setting up users. The virtual file system is really virtual. I was able to share my friends files off of his server as if they were on my own. The built in mirroring it can do, and the full GUI remote administration can't be beat. All the files are stored in a standard XML format as well. There literally isn't anything that the author doesn't give you control over. It even has multihoming support for virtual servers.
Like
Version 3.0b17