Back to Path Finder page
Path Finder free download for Mac

Path Finder Reviews

9.0.5
02 December 2019

Powerful, award-winning Finder alternative.

The Philosofox
02 November 2019

Most helpful

I'm still in love with Pathfinder, although the time with PF8 was filled with rough experiences and feels like an abusive relationship in hindsight. At the same time, PF seems to be back to a 18month release schedule. Upgrade price was 18$ this time... (by the way, all PF8 users got promised 12month of up to date usage, seems somehow fair). I'm happy the developers keep working on it and I'm willing to continue the ride, but they are cashing in on my good will at the moment. If it's another rough ride, I'll hand in the divorce papers for sure. But for now, I'm still willing to let the app be my work horse on the mac.
Like (6)
Version 9.0

Read 488 Path Finder User Reviews

Rate this app:

Heinzy
26 November 2019
Daily crashes. OS Catalina 10.15.1
Like
Version 9.0.4
dwp-1
21 November 2019
No access to iCloud or Documents in PathFinder or am I hopefully missing something? Been a paid user on and off since you came out ;) I do have to admit you have been more than fair with the pricing on your updates and for people to complain is just plain ridiculous. Most people don't get how difficult and time consuming managing a project of this size. I feel for you and wish you the best. I think it is Steve, correct?
Like
Version 9.0.4
Lvdoc
21 November 2019
I'm sticking with Version 8 since I don't want to get caught up in a yearly subscription. However, at this juncture, version 8 keeps popping up an "upgrade to version 9!" message frequently. I dismiss it, but it's really annoying, especially since I turned off "Check for new updates" in preferences. I may go to ForkLift if this keeps up. I've loved PF for many years, but either sell me a license for a given version or leave me alone.
Like
Version 9.0.4
Amgwanagitbhuti
16 November 2019
In the new version, does the drop stack remain open? I can't seem to keep it open in version 8. It always collapses eventually and I have to open it prior to dragging files into it. Really useless.
Like (1)
Version 9.0.3
1 answer(s)
Cocoatech
Cocoatech
16 November 2019
This bug was fixed right away. Please download the latest maintenance update.
Like
Version 9.0.3
KatRoss
15 November 2019
I followed Path finder since the beginning , bought every update . Now I cannot even try it , the window goes crazy each time I click on update or try It's a mess again! Back to Path Finder 7, the last useful one. Please fix the bugs
Like (2)
Version 9.0.3
1 answer(s)
KatRoss
KatRoss
15 November 2019
Plus there is no help at all! If you click on PathFinder help you get to Path Finder 8, very generic help
Like (2)
Version 9.0.3
vgelfand
07 November 2019
The application is very good but the store is glitchy and customer support does not exist. They charged me twice (once the discount upgrade price, once the list price) and I still had a hard time entering the license number (the software reported that my email address is incorrect). My
Like (1)
Version 9.0.2
3 answer(s)
KatRoss
KatRoss
15 November 2019
I had a similar issue! Still waiting an answer .
Like
Version 9.0.3
KatRoss
KatRoss
15 November 2019
I'm still waiting for an answer about email issue
Like
Version 9.0.3
Cocoatech
Cocoatech
16 November 2019
We will process your refund for duplicate purchase as soon as possible. Sorry for the delays, they may happen after a big release.
Like
Version 9.0.3
ecxstar
04 November 2019
We've been using PF since it first came out (long time). I still have receipts as far back as 2006 from our first purchases. While PF9 is the new shiny version, we'll be sticking with PF8 for a while. PF is getting mature enough that we feel we don't need to upgrade (even with Catalina) to every new version. Back in the early days of Mac's finder app, PF was a necessity! Now it's a nice to have product.
Like (1)
Version 9.0
gryphonent
02 November 2019
No release notes for Pathfinder 9 on MacUpdate nor the developer's website? Strange. But looking at the features one understands why: This is a mere bugfix release offering compatibility to Catalina. That's it. No new features as far as I can see. Plus, with the upgrade to version 9 your serial will only be valid for 1 year, whereas if you stick to version 8 it's valid as long as the app runs on the Mac OS. Sorry, but I keep my USD 18.- for the time being.
Like (1)
Version 9.0
3 answer(s)
Cocoatech
Cocoatech
04 November 2019
Path Finder 9 brings back collapsible module shelves. There are four shelves, on each side of the browser window. But now, each shelf is fully customizable and can accommodate for arbitrary number of freely arranged and customized modules. The new license system is not a subscription - if you buy Path Finder 9 you will be able to use it forever and the license will not stop working. More than that - if you bought Path Finder 8, say, 6 months ago, you can use Path Finder 9 six more months for free (so one year in total) and only then be prompted for the upgrade price. You can see this as a grace free period time offer for those, who already own a license. And once more: any version you buy will be valid forever. So this is definetely not a subscription.
Like (1)
Version 9.0
WetNet
WetNet
04 November 2019
Cocoatech < So I currently upgraded to PF9. All will continue to receive updates to PF9 for as long as I have it. When PF 10 is released then I would have to pay for that version and receive updates as I did on PF9?
Like (1)
Version 9.0.1
WetNet
WetNet
04 November 2019
Cocoatech < So I currently upgraded to PF9. And I will continue to receive updates to PF9 for as long as I have it. When PF 10 is released then I would have to pay for that version and receive updates as I did on PF9?
Like
Version 9.0.1
The Philosofox
02 November 2019
I'm still in love with Pathfinder, although the time with PF8 was filled with rough experiences and feels like an abusive relationship in hindsight. At the same time, PF seems to be back to a 18month release schedule. Upgrade price was 18$ this time... (by the way, all PF8 users got promised 12month of up to date usage, seems somehow fair). I'm happy the developers keep working on it and I'm willing to continue the ride, but they are cashing in on my good will at the moment. If it's another rough ride, I'll hand in the divorce papers for sure. But for now, I'm still willing to let the app be my work horse on the mac.
Like (6)
Version 9.0
Big77
02 November 2019
All I can tell from the version 9 release notes (on their blog, since they are missing on the Release Notes section) is that Pathfinder 9 now is a subscription even though Cocoatech says it's not. Basically, it appears that now you rent Path Finder a year at a time and when your year is up, Path Finder stops working. How is this not a subscription? Or do I misunderstand?
Like (1)
Version 9.0
4 answer(s)
snozdop
snozdop
03 November 2019
Their blog explaining the new licensing system must be the most confusing description of a buying process I've ever read. I think it means that whatever version of PF you purchase is yours to use for as long as you want (or can) but to keep getting the version upgrades you have to pay annually. Which, yes, sounds like a subscription to most. The only difference with this and an Adobe or Microsoft subscription is that you can keep using the exact version you initially "purchased" forever (even if you've subsequently upgraded to a later version during your year of updates).
Like (1)
Version 9.0
gryphonent
gryphonent
03 November 2019
I read it the other way. PF9 will stop working after 1 year. PF8 will run forever (theoretically).
Like
Version 9.0
Cocoatech
Cocoatech
04 November 2019
We are sorry for not being clear enough in explaining our license model. The new license system is not a subscription - if you buy Path Finder 9 you will be able to use it forever and the license will not stop working. More than that - if you bought Path Finder 8, say, 6 months ago, you can use Path Finder 9 six more months for free (so one year in total) and only then be prompted for the upgrade price. You can see this as a grace free period time offer for those, who already own a license. And once more: any version you buy will be valid forever. So this is definetely not a subscription.
Like
Version 9.0
Big77
Big77
04 November 2019
Thank you for clarifying. I don't have much of an issue with the licensing scheme then. As long as the existing app keeps running and I can upgrade to latest when and if needed, that's fair to me!
Like
Version 9.0.1
Dixie44
08 October 2019
I’ve been using PathFinder for 3 years, but had some issues with PF8. I tried to uninstall according to their instruction but could never get it to be completely uninstalled. I finally used Find Any File to locate PathFinder files in an obscure location not mentioned in their documentation. I’ll NOT reinstall this application in the future
Like
Version 8.6
mui68k
14 August 2019
In the years since Apple changed up the fonts and shadows used throughout macOS - Path Finder hasn't kept up one bit.. It's probably a good product now at version 8. I only have license for Path Finder 7 and that suits me well.
I don't use PathFinder currently and probably won't ever again after seeing the mess that is PathFinder 8.

I contacted the team? behind Path Finder; cocoatech a long time ago about the times when I want to use PathFinder as a complete Finder replacement, including using the desktop portion of Path Finder for the complete package.. It looks terribly wrong with modern macOS - sometime after Mavericks the font and shadows on the desktop hasn't been the same.

I haven't gotten any reply to the feature request. via Twitter.
And now the application is at version 8.6. I would be very surprised if cocoatech changed the font appearance on the desktop for the Show Path Finder Desktop feature. I will revisit my comment after trying the new version which claims to have macOS Catalina compatibility.

So one last time I'm downloading PathFinder 8.x.

Edit .. Less than one minute later and PathFinder is downloaded and tried the Show Path Finder Desktop. It looks no less than awful still. What an oversight..
Like
Version 8.6
john-1234
30 June 2019
It looks promising, but still can't get the tiny useful details correct.
Like
Version 8.5.4
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
13 August 2019
Can you please give an example of what constitutes a tiny useful detail that isn't correct? Thanks.
Like (1)
Mcr
26 June 2019
Feeling nice today, so just leaving a Comment instead of a star Review. I've tried every major release of PF since v4, because I know someday my tried and true TotalFinder will no longer be available as Apple continues to lock down the OS. I can not give a vote of confidence to PF v8. Main issues, aside from the looks, which is a matter of taste anyways, is 1) high CPU usage, even when 'dormant', 2) Favorites keep disappearing or reset.; 3) inconsistent search results.....there's more but let's just stop there. On a top of the line Macmini 2018 with i7 6 core/12 thread cpu, PF still intermittently pauses briefly, CPU spikes, while not performing any other user operation other than just scrolling through folder lists. Seriously, what could it POSSIBLY be doing that requires that much CPU. My main need is having a fast and responsive dual pane file manager, seeing two lists side by side, the rest is just icing (to me). But, I am used to having a Sidebar too, so dual pane apps like Commander One etc, without a sidebar don't appeal. At some point, TotalFinder and XtraFinder will be dead (already on life support).....ah, what to do, what to do .....
Like
Version 8.5.4
dwp-1
25 May 2019
I for one appreciate that the developer sticks to developing PathFinder. Last I knew he did most of the coding himself which tells me he is an extremely intelligent person. Coding a front end for a operating system is extremely difficult and I believe he has done very well keeping up with the Finder, adding additional features not available in the Finder. PathFinder is stable and of course has bugs as does **every** software package on the market. I applaud the developer for sticking with PathFinder for all these years. I personally have purchased and used every version of PathFinder since it was released and am proud of it. Instead of ripping the developer apart because he doesn't have a feature you want, develop your own front end for macOS, Jeshush and Xipper, you two both sound like geniuses.
Like (4)
Version 8.5
5 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
10 June 2019
Jordan from the Path Finder Support Team said this in the support forum in Jan. 2019:

"I'd like to point out that PF8 is a foundation for further updates and improvements which are coming as soon as our developers deal with the major issues."

So there's apparently multiple developers.
And they sold a foundation as a finished project.

That's like a construction company passing off a foundation as a finished building and saying they'll add rooms later once they finish dealing with the major issues like cracking concrete.

IMO anyone who was duped into buying their "foundation" is owed a refund. We are paying customers, not unwitting beta testers willing to wait god-knows-how-long for the "major issues" to be worked out.

PF8 should never have been released with known MAJOR ISSUES!

Version 7 has its own issues, but at least it's more than a foundation and that's why I've continued using it.
Like
dwp-1
dwp-1
10 June 2019
First the Major Issues may not have been known until PF 8 was released. Developers does not have the ability to try their software on every different combination of hardware on the market. This is why you often see a .01 release shortly after a major update. It is the developer fixing all the bugs found from the major release.

I did say "last I knew", not that it makes a difference how many developers are actually writing PF8. I do know it is a major undertaking writing a front end for any OS. The added features that PF8 brings to the Mac is the reason people purchase his software. What are the major issues you are experiencing? I am sure the Developer would want to know about these major issues in order to fix them.

Duped? Who duped you?

I suggest you stick to the Finder and ask for a refund if you are unhappy.
Like (1)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
10 June 2019
No one duped the Big J.
I tried v8, thought it sucked and reverted to v7.


PF8 was released on 5/23/18.
Eight months later they were still saying there were "major issues."

Well then, IMO all the unsatisfied guinea pigs should have received a refund! They paid for functional, ready-to-use-software, not a broken foundation.
Like
dwp-1
dwp-1
10 June 2019
I agree, I don't think anyone could dupe you. I just implied from your statement that you feel duped. "IMO anyone who was duped into buying their "foundation" is owed a refund. We are paying customers, not unwitting beta testers willing to wait god-knows-how-long for the "major issues" to be worked out" mean't you felt duped, since you actually stated that. My bad!

You don't seem to want to state exactly what problems you are having. Your response seems to based on something you read and you don't even have a problem with the software. Am I wrong? Anybody can say pretty much anything on the internet. I am confident that the developer would want to know of a Major Issue. If there was one.
.
Did you ask the developer for a refund?
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
11 June 2019
"WE" was obviously a reference to EVERYONE who used the app.

I'm not having ANY problems with PF8 because, AS I SAID, I am using version 7 now after a very brief trial of PF8.

As i said, I did not like it. That's personal experience, not "something I read on the Internet."

Obviously the developer IS aware of major problems because THEY SAID SO in January.

THEY called it a foundation with "major issues," NOT ME.

Someday I may try v9 if PF ever matures that far and is vastly improved. Even with its many flaws I still prefer PF7 to Apple's version.
Like
Xipper
14 January 2019
This used to be my goto app as a Finder replacement, however the developer now cashes checks but delivers no value. It is fraught with bugs and major defects that last for many versions that completely prevent it from being usable. It corrupts your ability to use Finder, it is a resource hog and contributes to many system hangs and crashes.
Like (3)
Version 8.3.7
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
09 February 2019
STILL full of bugs?!

I keep checking to see if they've got their shit together.
Apparently not, so I'll continue using PF7 for the foreseeable future.

This is a perfect example of why I'll NEVER pay for a subscription to ANY software. I'd be extremely PO'd right now if I'd been paying monthly for software with never-ending problems.

BUILD IT, TEST IT RIGOROUSLY, RELEASE IT.

Cocoatech builds it, releases it and expects paying users to test it.
Like (1)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
25 May 2019
Which bugs, specifically? It's been working fine for me, for many, many months.

How, specifically, does it corrupt your ability to use the Finder?

These are strong claims you make that do not coincide with direct experience. I ask you to please provide actual evidence to back this up. Otherwise, please temper your claims.
Like (1)
Scott-C-H-
02 November 2018
Bloated, and quite frankly, unnecessary. I use ForkLift or Terminal commands if I need to perform some UNIX-ish file operations. I used it for several years until v.7 but I found myself not using it for anything. So I ditched 1.5 years ago and never missed it or felt inconvenient at all.
Like (4)
Version 8.3.2
Maclover1-1
28 October 2018
I randomly lose some customisations and way too often. I'll have to get back to just Finder and Default Folder combo. less customisation, monochrome sidebar icons and non-adaptative column width.. but PF has been giving me much heartache and wasted a lot of my time, which no productivity tool ever.
Like (1)
Version 8.3.2
rw49
28 October 2018
Thanks for all the work you've put in to make this a very pleasant use with Mojave and the dark theme, which you've finally got right! Like lots of others I found the change from version 7 difficult with Modules instead of the sidebar but the learning process wasn't difficult and I'm more than happy with version. Too many people don't RTFM!! ;-)
Like (5)
Version 8.3.2
mb-14
26 October 2018
Works nicely, now also with dark theme.
Like
Version 8.3.2
Rjmorita
23 October 2018
Works and looks much better now.
Like (1)
Version 8.3
2 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
24 October 2018
I agree. It certainly started with a slew of changes and problems, but maybe no one's noticed that, over the past few weeks, they've come out with quite a few updates. They're clearly working to get on top of things.
Like
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
28 October 2018
That’s good to hear, Rjmorita.

By the time they kill all the bugs in these shitty beta versions it’ll be time for v9.

There are now more than 20 pages of issues posted in the support forum for v8. http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems
Like (2)
CynicalMike
22 October 2018
8.2.3 Llaunches but then freezes/hangs every time. Using Mac OSX 10.13.6 and PF 8.2.3. Useless!
Like (1)
Version 8.2.3
3 answer(s)
CynicalMike
CynicalMike
22 October 2018
Reverted back to 8.2 and works fine. Something wrong with this updated version. Not quite ready for prime time.....sigh......
Like
VRH
VRH
23 October 2018
Same problem here...
Like
WetNet
WetNet
23 October 2018
Go to your Security & Privacy settings and make sure you add PF8 in the Privacy tab and give it Full Disk Access. Mojave's Gatekeeper is a major pain in the a$$!
Like
ralph-22
20 October 2018
CAUTION ! Don't download. It is crashing running on Mojave !!! Vendor doesn't answer after getting paid. The worst you can get.
Like (2)
Version 8.2.3
1 answer(s)
CynicalMike
CynicalMike
22 October 2018
Same here and I'm not on Mojave yet. Launches and freezes every time. Mac OSX 10.13.6 and PF 8.2.3. Useless!
Like (3)
mb-14
03 October 2018
Path Finder is version 8 still has some problems. In particular in macOS Mojave. Also I don't like the permanent nagging to update to PF 8 when you still use PF 7. But: there is no other file manager that comes close to the feature set and usability of Path Finder.
Like
Version 8.2.3
nikabuz
01 October 2018
Path Finder has some good features such as a dual pane view and tabs. The Drop Stack feature is useful, and batch rename function.
Its also highly customisable.

However the app is quite buggy - performing like a Beta version.
I find that when transferring files in P.F. it affects both audio & video playback. When I change tabs it sometimes can take 10secs or more for P.F. to show the files especially if there's a lot of files or folders.

Other quirky things like the app has put me back into trial version mode. I'm unable to access the registration window to insert my serial number.

If the developers got this app right it would be great, but at the moment its too buggy to recommend. And each update seems to throw up new issues.
Like (2)
Version 8.2.3
Rjmorita
25 September 2018
As much as I love this app and think it's one of the best apps, it looks so antiquated and outdated compared to the new look of the Finder in Mojave. I'm sticking to the Finder, for now.
Like
Version 8.2.1
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
30 September 2018
I won't dispute the beauty of the new Finder in dark mode. But with a minor bit of tweaking in PF (Preferences -> Appearance as well as View Options), I've gotten PF to look much better than the Fiinder. I have alternating row colors, a much larger font (nice for older eyes), etc. One of the selling points of PF, for me, was the ability to do these kinds of customizations.
Like (1)
Creidenouer
25 September 2018
I rarely write reviews and almost always Upgrade. This time it's different. I feel compelled to beseech the developers to scrap some of the changes they made and re-look at the good of their old functionality. Many many people were upset with this one. This time I was put the pain of reverting back. Not next time. I'll have to move onto a different app b/c I'm not being supported with functionality I needed: the reason I initially chose PathFinder.

I put the app at 4 starts. It's still great, with the options presented. But as time goes by, I can't see this being the case.
Like
Version 8.2.1
Lvdoc
11 September 2018
Okay, I just updated to version 8.2 from within PF. There's now tentative support for dark mode. I'm running the Mojave beta, so I've had a chance to look at it. It's nice, but you might be unpleasantly surprised by the default look. I had to tinker with the color settings to create something that works well. If you're not familiar with those, you might well find the experience frustrating. I also notice that when switching to a new tab, I can't immediately scroll. I either have to wait a second or move the cursor to a different position to get the scrollling going. These are my very preliminary observations.
Like
Version 8.1
2 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
25 September 2018
There is one rather noticeable problem that's still not fixed in 8.2.1, and that is that if you select multiple items, you can't move them all at once. Nothing happens when you try. Cocoatech is aware of the problem, but I wish they'd prioritize getting this fixed. It's a pretty fundamental feature of a file management system, no?
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
30 September 2018
I'll say this: They got on top of some of these bugs and did several rapid updates over the course of just a few days. It's working a lot more efficiently now.
Like
Kd2020
04 September 2018
Pathfinder used to be one of the first things I would install on any new Mac. However, Pathfinder 8 has been a huge mistake. I deleted it and reverted back to Pathfinder 7. I'm not alone in this, the feedback for PF 8 shows similar issues from MANY people.
Like (1)
Version 8.1
1 answer(s)
MacDev
MacDev
16 October 2018
Yep, I did the same thing. Didn't see the advantage of 8 over 7. Plus, when I downloaded 8, it was early on after being released and lots of things didn't work. No time to be a beta tester for production software so I went back to v. 7, which works great.
Like (1)
Yoshita
30 August 2018
As someone who's been using this invaluable utility for about 12 years, version 8 feels like the company fired their quality control and just released an early beta. The list of oddities isn’t exactly short but the way the new search function forces me to fall back on Apple’s native Finder (as PF8 doesn’t give me the full path of the results) and how the info window doesn’t reveal the size of a file with a longer filename, combined with plenty of spontaneous freezes, makes it impossible for me to use or recommend v8. I truly hope Cocoatech survives this disaster and gets back on track.
Like (1)
Version 8.1
soniccat
19 August 2018
Great app for everyday usage. Bought it 5 years ago. LunchBar support is very much appreciated.
Like
Version 8.1
KatRoss
10 August 2018
I really used to love Path Finder, one of the best app ever but since a while they are loosing contact with what users need. Too complicated. Sticking with the old version.
Like (3)
Version 8.1
Maclover1-1
10 July 2018
The really aggravating thing i that after all these years you still cannot backup your customizations/configurations and periodically lose some of them if not all of them ? This is total insanity, this should be so evident that such a cutomizable tool needs users to feel safe they have not wasted ample time over time... multiply that by all the users... support tells me that have that in their dev. roadmap.. for when, ready in another 12 years or so ?!!! Cocoatech: implement this it once and for all on your side FFS! And stop wasting your users' time and grinding their nerves.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.3
Lvdoc
06 July 2018
I had initially written a negative review but asked MU to remove that in order to write this new one. Having recently upgraded from El Capitan to High Sierra, I've discovered that several of my applications were functioning oddly; and I was getting system freezes regardless of PF. I initially thought PF was the culprit, but now I believe it's something else. I did a very clean reinstall of High Sierra and gave PF another spin. Overall, it seems to be working okay. So I now want to review it in this new light. Like others, I miss some features from the PF of old; and some of the new features don't really grab me. (For instance, I prefer to be able to just have the sidebar open and close, rather than mucking with it as a module.) I also can't fathom why the sidebar can't show color icons. It seems to me that PF's sidebar is proprietary, so they should be able to have it do anything they want. The PF of old appeared to work with Apple's Finder; add an item in one, it shows up in the other. That's no longer true. So adding color shouldn't be a problem. But there are other features of PF that (for me) make it an essential alternative to Apple's Finder. In particular, I like being able to set font sizes to be much larger. (Apple, please hire some older developers so that they'll understand how aging makes tiny font hard to deal with.) I also like the legacy labeling rather than the tiny tag dots. (Although it appears you can also use tags if that's your preference.) I also appreciate the discounted upgrade price. For me, the loss of features is a quibble compared to what I can do with the program overall. I really hope they accommodate Mojave's dark theme. Overall, I recommend this new version.
Like
Version 8.0.3
1 answer(s)
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
13 July 2018
Whoa! Do I owe them a great big apology.

I just was tinkering and discovered settings for the sidebar that let me customize it quite a bit, including the colored icons.

The program still likes to freeze up on me quite a bit, so I'm keeping the original rating. But if they can fix that, then this is shaping up to be pretty good.
Like
phil-harvey
26 June 2018
I have been a big fan of PF or many years ad it is still one of my most trusted applications. PF 8.x is a little different from PF 7.x and I find I must get used to it al over again. If I were to give it a star rating it would probably be '4.5' but I first need to gain more experience of using it.
Like
Version 8.0.3
Lvdoc
22 June 2018
I'm trying out the new version, and I'm curious about something. I used PF 7 for many years and had configured it in a particular way with font sizes and colors. Before trying PF 8, I had wiped my drive clean and updated from El Capitan to High Sierra. There should not have been a trace of any files related to PF on that drive. I would assume it would open with the default configuations. Yet as soon as PF 8 opened, a number of those same font size and color settings were there. I'm hard pressed to believe that those are the default settings. How can this be? Does PF store information that gets sent from my computer? Did it transfer that information from PF 7 to PF 8? Anyone have any guesses?
Like
Version 8.0.1
2 answer(s)
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
27 June 2018
If you wiped the drive then installed High Sierra and subsequently all your apps, there would not have been any trace.

But if you installed HS and then migrated all your data to it, it’s likely your old prefs were transferred to the clean install.

No, PF does not transmit your preferences.If your prefs were restored, you did it.

Funny that you’d update to HS now, right after a newer version was announced. Personally, I’ve seen no reason to upgrade from Sierra to HS and plenty not to. But perhaps you saw something you wanted in HS or found support lacking for El Cap. software and didn’t want to wait.

I do plan on installing Mojave when it hits .3, possibly even .2 if there don’t appear to be any outstanding critical bugs.
Like
Lvdoc
Lvdoc
27 June 2018
I didn't migrate any data and did a clean install. That's what makes this so peculiar.

I prefer El Capitan, but I'm also planning to upgrade to Mojave. (Candidly, I'm suckered by the dark theme.) I upgraded to HS only because I wanted to see how most of my applications would work under it. I figured that if I was going to go to Mojave, it would be better to find out now what would or would not function well and look for alternatives as needed. Some didn't do so well.

There are also some programs I've been wanting to try that require at least 10.12 to work. So, I'm treating all of this sort of as an experimental thing.
Like
Jeshush
19 June 2018
I have been a PF fan for many many years. Unfortunately, Path Finder has been significantly degraded in version 8. Some dipstick inexplicably decided to remove the shelves which once made PF a significant Finder-killer. The newest result (8) is a pretty boring gelding that crashes often and only resembles a swiss army TotalFinder. I hate it when developers over time snip features off their apps that I love. I frickin hate it. I'll stick with the now-abandoned PF6—even though I bought into PF7 and don't use it—apparently the same dipstick hacked at PF7, too. BTW, this is just my FN opinion. Rant over. Out!
Like (12)
Version 8.0.1
9 answer(s)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
24 June 2018
Actually you have not taken the time to understand sidebars (I made the same shallow dumbass comment when it came out, so I pled guilty).. So the shelf paradigm has changed a bit but is now more powerful, more customisable etc. Sure humans are creatures of habit but a little breathing and thinking goes a long way "dipstick" ;0)
Like (3)
Enkaytee
Enkaytee
30 June 2018
I'm not a fan of version 8 and I'm losing trust in cocoatech to continue meaningful development of the app. The new 'feature' of modules is a step backwards from the simplicity of the browser window with retractable shelves, which have now been removed. The sidebar module layout isn't reliably saved so 8 times out of 10 my carefully constructed set of favourite locations gets wiped and replaced by the default layout. There doesn't appear to be a roadmap to deal with an increasing number of issues being reported on the cocoatech forum and long term users are looking elsewhere.
Like (3)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
30 June 2018
@ Enkaytee.. I only started using it in 2006 so I wouldn't know how long-term users feel ;0) I did go to TotalFinder during PF7 but PF8 won me back over. Oh well, to each his own.
Like (1)
Enkaytee
Enkaytee
30 June 2018
@Maclover1-1 I don't know when version 4 was released but that was the first one I used so I reckon I just qualify as long term ..;-) As you say - each to his own...:-)
Like
Kd2020
Kd2020
04 September 2018
I agree - I deleted PF 8 and reverted back to PF 7. I disagree with Maclover- simplicity is the key, and it should be intuitive. I hate PF 8, and given all of the negative feedback it has acquired, I'd say it has been a major mistake.
Like (1)
Rjmorita
Rjmorita
24 October 2018
I initially felt the same way, Jeshush. But shelves are very much alive and well. You just have to create them yourself and it's very simple to do.
http://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/100454-shelves-in-pf8
As you work with PF8, you will find how powerful it is. 8.3 seems very stable in Mojave.
Like (1)
Stephen-Strum
Stephen-Strum
06 December 2018
OK, I have read every single review and the closest to the harsh reality is Jeshush's comments. Someone at Cocoatech must be an entomologist because version 8 is loaded with BUGS. You cannot color label files in version 8 then UNDO that selection because there is no "x" choice.
You cannot search version 8 if you select "computer" in the drop down menu. Using either Alfred or command-spacebar to find a folder or file and hitting enter does not work with version 8. It's not an issue of the modules that are selected via the "Windows" selection in the menubar, it is all the other stuff that is screwed up in version 8. I am one of the original users of Path Finder and I just deleted version 8 and reinstalled 7. I just informed my Mac User's Group NOT to be version 8, unless they like bugs, and lots of them.
Like (2)
Megavolt17
Megavolt17
22 December 2018
https://support.cocoatech.com/discussions/problems/100454-shelves-in-pf8 shows how to customize to add shelves to PF8
Like (1)
jemcbride777
jemcbride777
01 April 2019
Not a big fan. Never seems to be able to do what the Finder can do easily. Great concept if it only worked like it was supposed to.
Like
lwbrown
16 June 2018
long, long user
Like
Version 8.0.1
Thevzitor
14 June 2018
Long time user of PF. This new version had made me restart many times. Freezing and huge memory consumption... I'll wait a bit for PF8 to be mature and go back to PF7 working fine (apart from a glitch in the drop stack...)
Like (4)
Version 8.0.1
Fennec72
10 June 2018
just essential!
Like
Version 8.0.1
1 answer(s)
Fennec72
Fennec72
23 June 2018
If I could change my rating, I would no longer put "5 stars", but "4.5 stars" because when upgrading from version 7 to version 8 preferences are not transmitted from one version to another.

Also, unless I missed the option, the favorite folders on the left sidebar no longer synchronize with the Finder's favorite folders.
Like
Dellu
10 June 2018
The Dual browser is great; the modules are very functional:

I love how modules are incorporated in the new version. Attributes and Info on the top half, preview on the lower half of the last column, with the Dual browser setting, I find my perfect workflow to preview & move files, as well as edit metadata, at the same time (without juggling windows around).
Like (1)
Version 8.0.1
p6xu-8kwh
06 June 2018
It's good and works well. However, the developer has put out an incomplete version with V8 and removed some essential features.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.1
Janichsan
04 June 2018
Just a quick warning: when you have PF7 installed and want to try out PF 8, this will break PF 7. It will completely stop to launch unless you fully deinstall PF 8, including all settings, which were originally your PF 7 settings.
Like (2)
Version 8.0.1
fmprdwg
03 June 2018
New version is quite similar to other versions, but when I really get to use the program more I may find it an improved one.
Like
Version 8.0.1
Maclover1-1
25 May 2018
Ok I judged too quickly, several improvements were made, no more sliding panels is a big one.. and left or right targeting choice as well. PS: I just wish DropBox would obey Path Finder as the default file browser instead of launching Finder.. but maybe it is a DropBox issue.. as other tools I use, like Default Folder or DropZone do recognize Path Finder as the default browser.. DropBox never did..
Like
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Ghillis
Ghillis
28 June 2018
How is removing sliding panels an improvement? For those of us using laptops being able to see a lot of information quickly then dismiss it is what made Path Finder so useful. I do not care that they cleaned up the code since it was working fine. They screwed up and I won't update until the feature is restored.
Like
zzzuppp
24 May 2018
What happened to 'Places' 'in v.8? the single most useful feature for me, where I could drag all the things I need to open all the time... and as for all the new modules, I don't see the point or what they are for. So, back to v.7 for me.
Like
Version 8.0
1 answer(s)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
25 May 2018
You can make Sidebars to put things in.. and name them. Things are a bit different than they were; I think you were referring to "Shelf".. well Sidebars takes care of that now.. I was quick to find faults too, but this version is actually quite good, it takes a bit of looking around.
Like
Maclover1-1
23 May 2018
Version 8.. When you add a second Toolbar in dual mode (to the right) you still have to click the window you wish to use so that the toolbar selection then applies to it.. damn.. TotalFinder had that right since the beginning.. CocoaTech.. get serious. If I select something in the left side toolbar I want it to show in the left side and for a right toolbar selection, in the right window.. That should be so obvious !! Several people pointed this out many times in their forum over the years. At least they got rid of the sliding panels !
Like
Version 8.0
2 answer(s)
epatrick
epatrick
24 May 2018
Works on version 8
In the preferences of each toolbar, you can assign which window you want to use: Left, both or right.
Like (2)
Maclover1-1
Maclover1-1
24 May 2018
THANKS!
Like
Joeldi
22 April 2018
This is a great program, but the latest version will chew up CPU cycles like no other. Been this way with the latest build for months. I had to quit using it because it ate up my MacBook Pro battery all of the time. I recently switched to Forklift 3 since Cocoatech support is unresponsive. Many others are having the problem for months and they don't seem to care about fixing it. Forklift 3 seems to be just as good and has a cool dark mode!
Like
Version 7.6.2
1 answer(s)
Joeldi
Joeldi
12 June 2018
Nice try, but no one paid me to post here. I just want to let other frustrated users to know that there are good alternatives out there.
Like
Chris-Morley
01 March 2018
Absolutely indispensable utility for macOS. This is what the Finder should be.
Like
Version 7.6.2
Sgspecker
06 February 2018
First program I load to any Mac I own. Apple's Finder has slowly added many of the features Path Finder brought to the Mac, but somehow Path Finder still seems to stay ahead and make everyday chores easier to accomplish.
Like (2)
Version 7.6.2