Back to Adium page
Adium free download for Mac

Adium Reviews

1.5.10.4
28 April 2017

Popular instant messaging client supports a plethora of services.

Surfspirit
01 November 2010

Most helpful

Video Call Version Finally! Oh no, sorry, I just read the promess log of 5 years ago!
Like (9)
Version 1.4

Read 619 Adium User Reviews

Rate this app:

Albabe
19 December 2017
It says it works with Yahoo Messenger - I don't think so.
Like
Version 1.5.10.4
djcz
27 September 2017
I love this app, but I updated to OS X 10.13 and Adium (version 1.5.10.4) keeps "Unexpectedly Quitting". Open a chat window, then try to close that window and Adium will crash.
Like
Version 1.5.10.4
Derekcurrie
27 April 2017
v1.5.10.3 is a *MAJOR* Security Update, required for ALL Adium users!

If you're using a previous version of Adium: *STOP.* Please read this article...

https://www.theregister.co.uk/2017/03/22/adium_lagging_on_library_security_vulnerability/
Like (3)
Version 1.5.10.3
3 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
27 April 2017
Hold your horses. :-)

The vulnerability is only exposed to users of the Gadu-Gadu service. See https://adium.im/blog/2017/03/adium-1-5-10-3b1/
Like (1)
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
27 April 2017
Robby-is-on: NO actually. Gadu-Gadu is one service that uses the libpurple library, which is the source of the Adium problem. (Adium was slow to update to the patched version of libpurple). If you read this article at Wikipedia, you'll find there are other protocols relevant to Adium that also use libpurple:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pidgin_(software)
Like (1)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
27 April 2017
And which of those are actually affected by the vulnerability then? Apart from Gadu-Gadu?
Like
JennyW8925
23 November 2016
Always use it with my coworkers in the office. The app works just fine to chat over the local network.
Like
Version 1.5.10.2
smileyyy
22 November 2016
Really nice thing. Thanks for devs.
Like
Version 1.5.10.2
distreszed
09 February 2016
still continually asks for Gmail/Gtalk password, as the previous release. Both 10.7.5 and 10.11.3. totally unusable. too bad, it used to be great little app back in the time
Like
Version 1.5.10.1
2 answer(s)
Maltz2
Maltz2
10 February 2016
As I posted below, there's a beta that fixes that, but it was released April 2015, and doesn't include the Sparkle fix. (yet?) http://beta.adium.im/
Like
team-noob
team-noob
13 April 2016
@Maltz2 - Thanks man that worked to fix the gmail issue.
Like
blm
09 February 2016
According to the Adium site, 1.5.10.1 requires 10.7.5 or above, not 10.6.8 as stated above.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.10.1
steve-11
09 February 2016
Have been using 1.5.11b2 for months - it fixed the Yahoo login problem. What is with this one - regression, or roll-up of the 11b2 fixes?
Like
Version 1.5.10.1
2 answer(s)
blm
blm
09 February 2016
Looking at the changelogs, it looks like 1.5.10.1 is just a Sparkle upgrade (and using HTTPS in the update URL), so my guess is it doesn't include the Yahoo! fix. So you can have Yahoo! or secure update checking, but not both... Hopefully the Adium team will update 1.5.11b2 as well, it's a simple change.
Like
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
09 February 2016
Blm is correct.
Like
Josh-
12 December 2015
Is Adium still in development? I've been a fan of the app for years, but Facebook and Gmail are changing, and I can't get either of them to play nice with Adium.
Like
Version 1.5.10
1 answer(s)
Maltz2
Maltz2
09 February 2016
Yeah, but not what I'd call terribly active. lol There was a beta released that fixed the Google issue, though. (Don't know about FB.) You can get it here: http://beta.adium.im/
Like
cophrandy
07 December 2015
Use Adium for jabber messaging. I like the option of skins change. My duck is blue, and yours?
Like
Version 1.5.10
Pitkin
04 September 2015
Not bad! Liked it!
Like (3)
Version 1.5.10
Penguirl
25 April 2015
I’m wondering if the service providers are discontinuing their chat services or if they just aren’t allowing 3rd party apps anymore. Adium cannot connect to Gtalk, Apple’s AIM service, MSN… The only service Adium will connect to for me is Yahoo! IM, that’s it.
Like
Version 1.5.10
Ok, let's remember why Adium MUST live and evolve: -Yahoo Messenger (for Mac) is died, I just use it for file transfer with WC (Window Computer) Yahoo users; I'd like a better integration with it to stop to have to open it. - Facebook: I have more FB accounts, Adium allows me to chat on all, which is impossible through a single browser. - Skype is a tragic must have. The day Adium will be able to allow me to not have to open a Skype 6 (which I use just in desperate case from a disk image, while I've constantly open 2.8) I will even stop to open it! What about the many other chat programs? They are almost all abandoned, maybe the most important integration should be with QQ Yes, a lot of work still to do, to deserve the 6 stars, for now, I'm sorry, just 5!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.10
Macinman
01 April 2014
I used to use adium exclusively years ago and I've also used the cross platform Pidgin from which Adium was created. Now i wanted to find out if there was any reason to continue using Adium at this point. messages/ichat seem to do the most popular services adium was pushed for, there is FaceTime for video/audio there is Skype for cross platform AV for mac to other operating systems to communicate. I also noticed adium isn't updated as much as it used to be so I was wondering if the project is dying off or has died off.
Like
Version 1.5.9
4 answer(s)
@timi
@timi
20 May 2014
I don't use Adium so much for the extended services selection as I do for it's theme-able-ness. Messages/iChat still take up a lot more space on my screen than I'd like (even with today's screen sizes) and I've got myself situated with some very compact themes in Adium. I hope the project isn't dying out as you suggest!
Like (1)
Surfspirit
Surfspirit
20 May 2014
Here in Europe iChat is far from being popular, also I prefer a good multi service app than bunch of apps running at the same time.
Like (1)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
20 May 2014
The Adium Project is alive. We released Adium 1.5.10 yesterday and 1.6 is on the way. :-)
Like (1)
Panocha
Panocha
26 November 2015
@Robby.Is.On -> 05/20/2014: "The Adium Project is alive. We released Adium 1.5.10 yesterday and 1.6 is on the way. :-)"....LOL It's now 11/25/2015, and still only at version 1.5.10. Looks like it's dead to me!!!
Like
Andrew8042
16 October 2013
When will add are new API VK?
Like
Version 1.5.8
1 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
03 December 2013
This would be best implemented as a third-party plugin. Nobody on the Adium Team uses VK.
Like
star-affinity
15 October 2013
"Changed the default tab switching shortcuts for new users to Control-Tab/Control-Shift-Tab, to match Safari." Yes! I think this should be the default shortcut globally for all app and windows where the frontmost window contains some kind of tabs.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.8
Penguirl
14 September 2013
Apparently there are no functional PPC Twitter apps left, Adium was my last hope. Unless someone knows something that I do not.
Like (7)
Version 1.5.7
7 answer(s)
Waveman
Waveman
27 September 2013
Use an older version software? Times are changing, get a newer used mac.
Like (1)
Penguirl
Penguirl
27 September 2013
You buyin? ;-)
Like (5)
Leesa
Leesa
15 October 2013
It is Amazing to me that someone would give you a Minus for your Comment. (If you find someone who is buying... let me know).
Like (2)
Penguirl
Penguirl
15 October 2013
Keyboard vigilanteism don't you know. ;-)
Like (2)
Leesa
Leesa
15 October 2013
@ Penguirl: I think more likely its compensating for a lack of size in another aspect of their length-challenged lives... sigh.
Like (1)
Xenedar
Xenedar
20 May 2014
You can't possibly be surprised or expect people to run to your rescue. It's been just short of a decade since Apple started shifting to Intel. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple's_transition_to_Intel_processors A decade. The "Friends" finale aired the year before the transition was announced. YouTube started the same year as the Intel switch. Do you remember the world before YouTube? Think about that. And maybe adjust your expectations accordingly. PowerPC is dead. It never made it out of the naughties.
Like
Albabe
Albabe
20 May 2014
@ Xenedar No need to be a sarcastic, condescending, smug know-it-all. Some of us can't afford new computers as readily as others.
Like
I don't know if this is happening to anyone else, but I'm having massive trouble connecting to Facebook recently. Through the chat protocols (Jabber), it is a hit or miss if it'll connect each time I start up my system, and under the direct Facebook protocols, it won't even tell me everyone who is online, only a random selection at any given time. I'm starting to get tired of all this because it means a constant battle every day with Facebook, and that messes up my use of it on my mobile, not just my messenger. I tried going to the Adium site, but everything there just confused me, so I don't know if anyone else is having this issue or if there is a solution. I was hoping someone here could help.
Like
Version 1.5.7
1 answer(s)
Tozzo
Tozzo
24 August 2013
This is an issue with Facebook and all chat clients. There does not seem to be a fix, but I did see a post about it on the Facebook developers page...
Like (1)
Monkeyjunkey
03 July 2013
1.5.7 is out.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.6
2 answer(s)
Cgc
Cgc
04 July 2013
Right, that's what MU says so not sure why you always feel compelled to restate what we already know.
Like (2)
Monkeyjunkey
Monkeyjunkey
05 July 2013
Cgc: You don't seem to understand the concept behind this, obviously. Sorry, but the listing was only updated due to my comment. What good is a listing site if it lists outdated software? Don't shoot the messenger (as so common nowadays) and note that the version my comment has been posted to is 1.5.6. Kindly, MJ
Like (5)
HansMueller4641
20 June 2013
best IM client for the mac
Like
Version 1.5.6
Maxter
19 March 2013
Don't know if this is just with us but on our 4 computers with Adium 1.5.6 file transfer doesn't work at all no matter which service we use. The text one types disappear from the chat window after being send. Weird....
Like
Version 1.5.6
6 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
19 March 2013
Regarding file transfer, please see http://adium.im/help/pgs/AdvancedFeatures-FileTransfer.html. I haven't heard of the second issue but it's curious. I would like to take a closer look but this is not a good place for support. Please post to http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewforum.php?f=13.
Like
Maxter
Maxter
19 March 2013
Thanks for the link. Not very useful to me though. Have been a Adium user for many many years and never encountered these problems. Just installed the new version that's it. Didn't change anything in the settings. I have posted on their forum on previous issues. Never got any answer. I'm getting somewhat lazy....
Like
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
19 March 2013
You're saying file transfers worked flawlessly before 1.5.6? I find that hard to believe. For one, because they can be flaky depending on the network you're in and also because there don't seem to be any code changes in 1.5.6 that would influence file transfer functionality. :)
Like
Maxter
Maxter
19 March 2013
There have been occasions when the file transfer crashed the app but rather rare. But since Adium auto updated to 1.5.6 nothing works not even Bonjour. I have been using Adium since it is on OSX. Did have problems from time to time but never that severe. It happen on all 4 Macs since the update (ML & SL) Trying some troubleshooting. Will let you know the results here. Thanks! (Well! Transfers have never been working for us on Yahoo. But Bonjour, Jabber AIM and MSN where fine. Few issues)
Like
Maxter
Maxter
20 March 2013
Re installled the App but keeps on crashing on most transfer.
Like
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
20 March 2013
No matter which service? Again, I don't think this is a good venue for 1-to-1 support. Let's take it to http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewforum.php?f=13.
Like
AlexMagik
19 March 2013
With Skype able to merge MSN and Skype, i'm actually now no more in needs to use Adium, as iMessage does google, Skype does the other 2, QQ still the best alone, and on ICQ i think i'm the last one left (so, no point to even login). Sadly Adium could have been a huge hit if they would manage to do the video / calls. but they never did, so now it's probably going to fall behind... Also in markets like mine where internet is not best, Adium often fails to deliver messages, or retrieve them, making it very unstable, recently just keep disconnecting every few minutes...
Like
Version 1.5.6
Fuhayer
19 November 2012
i did not like UI. i like the way iChat uses. i like the UI Trillian uses but the UI of Adium is really terrible for me. this is the reason i do not use this app for years.
Like (1)
Version 1.5.4
2 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
28 January 2013
Fair enough, I suppose Adium's default appearance could be improved. But you can customise it in many ways to suit your liking.
Like (1)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
GianMarco-Tavazzani
30 January 2013
Can you imagine that I delayed the switch to Adium, years ago, because I preferred the minimalist and not intrusive user interface of Fire??? And the main reason I stopped to use iChat was just it's too 'decorative' appearance? And that the reason why I stay on Skype 2.8 is this again redundant, self pleased, useless and space expensive, bloated like a u.s.a. car of the '60 heavy appearance of the msn's Skype (per!)version???
Like (2)
GianMarco-Tavazzani
08 November 2012
Dear, DEAR Adium Team.. Do PPPLEASE something BEFORE Skype 2.8 will end to work! I swore, I will not ask you any... hem, FOR SOME WEEKS to solve the Yahoo file transfer problem or any other audio/video chat with other chats because THIS is now PRIORITY! Soon, we all fear, Microsh... brain will find the way to avoid any further comparison between the last NOT 'ms' version of Skype (now the ridiculous 6!) and the last one (2.8) made by people who know something about programming (those ''phenomena' of ms are an alphabets!) to stop to be ashamed by the "BUUUUUUHHH" that anyone who can still use 2.8 cries when trying the latest result of the efforts of that 'ms GENIUSES'. It's not a joke but a very serious request: we Skype users are on the Titanic and all our community will soon collapse if YOU can't find a way to integrate Skype in a way that will work as the 2.8! We don't ask more and for sure no one of us needs more that what 2.8 gives! THANKS!
Like (2)
Version 1.5.4
2 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
28 January 2013
It's for legal reasons that Adium cannot add support for Skype. See a recent blog post (http://adium.im/blog/2013/01/microsoft-will-be-dropping-msn-for-skype/) for more information on the Skype/MSN situation.
Like (2)
sbchavel
sbchavel
25 June 2013
There is a Skype plugin: http://www.adiumxtras.com/index.php?a=xtras&xtra_id=5011 But Skype needs to be running. I have Skype automatically hide itself once it logs in. Then I just use Adium.
Like
Steve K
03 August 2012
I wish someone could tell me why we can't send IMs to cel phones from Adium any longer. Haven't been able to in ages. I'm still running 1.4.1 because that's the last version that allowed it. I've opened a ticket on the Adium support site, I've searched support for hours and nothing. Anyone? I love Adium but this is a dealbreaker for me.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.2
Jazzyguy
21 July 2012
Excellent in every way. I feelit is the best instant messaging client for multiple accounts.
Like (3)
Version 1.5.2
RavenNevermore
21 July 2012
What's not to like about Adium?
Like (1)
Version 1.5.2
6 answer(s)
Leesa
Leesa
21 July 2012
@ Davidravenmoon The duck.
Like (9)
Steve K
Steve K
21 July 2012
I haven't been able to send IMs to cel phones since version 1.4.1.
Like (1)
Prlab
Prlab
21 July 2012
Ha. The duck. Best comment ever. :)
Like (5)
dmu
dmu
22 July 2012
i've never been able to receive attachments like photos, they always time out in an error. So there's that. But the good has always outweighed this annoyance... so I stick around.
Like (2)
Stormchild
Stormchild
13 August 2012
Quite a lot, unfortunately. No audio or video chats, no screen sharing, no iMessage, no file transfers (sure, the feature is in there, but it never works). Adium is by far the best IM app for customizability, but there are just too many features that don't work properly. Messages (aka iChat) isn't quite as flexible, but at least everything actually works. For that reason, I was forced to leave Adium behind a long time ago.
Like (2)
moi2fl
moi2fl
13 August 2012
Video.....
Like (1)
Shane-Smith
08 June 2012
Finally, Facebook bug is squashed.
Like
Version 1.5.1
5 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
08 June 2012
Oh, which one? I don't think this release includes any changes with regards to Facebook Chat. :)
Like
Crackerblue
Crackerblue
08 June 2012
What about with my contacts don't see my display picture? did they fix that already?
Like
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
08 June 2012
All I know is before this release I couldn't get facebook chat to work at all. Crashed everyday I added my account.
Like
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
08 June 2012
That's curious.
Like
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
21 July 2012
There was a FaceBook bug? Lately I only use it with FaceBook, as none of my friends seem to be on any other chat service! So the FaceBook chat has been workng fine for me.
Like
Theothertim
17 March 2012
Kudos to the Adium team. Adium just gets better with age. Version 1.5 brings several enhancements and some new UI elements to what is already the best IM client on the Mac. Adium has been stable for me for years and it works great.
Like (3)
Version 1.5
Schwaggy
12 March 2012
Great app but still crashing when accepting an invite to a Sametime group chat. This started when our company updated the Sametime servers to the 8.5.1 branch. Don't know if this is a LibPurple or Meanwhile problem. I'd love it if this crash was fixed so I could use only Adium for my needs.
Like
Version 1.5rc1
1 answer(s)
jhkrischel
jhkrischel
15 August 2012
Try this version: http://krischel.org/Adium_1.5.3.1.dmg I built off of 1.5.3 a patch someone else figured out for meanwhile: https://gist.github.com/b71c4d570832d9a2dda0 If you want to try building it yourself, here are instructions on how to get a dev environment up on Mountain Lion: https://gist.github.com/abfe3b29db77f93ca818 And here is the full changeset patch you can apply to the adium-1.5.3 branch to be able to build with the fix.
Like
chriss-chriss
14 January 2012
Needed to use several apps for dirrerent messaging systems. Adium replaced them all. A must have app for every mac user.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.4
Steve K
13 January 2012
Does anyone know how to get SMS working again? It hasn't worked since 1.4.2, months ago. There are a couple tickets open at the Adium developer page about this issue but there's been no response. It works in 1.4.1, but Facebook messaging doesn't work in that version. So I have to pick one over the other, and I need both. I love Adium but I miss free SMS. :(
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
Robby-is-on
Robby-is-on
18 January 2012
I responded here: - http://forums.cocoaforge.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=23976#p132146 - http://trac.adium.im/ticket/15510.
Like
Steve K
06 December 2011
I try every update but I wind up reverting back to 1.4.1 because that's the last version that allows me to send IMs to cel phone numbers through AIM. Still a fantastic app, though.
Like
Version 1.4.4
Shane-Smith
06 December 2011
Since this update adding facebook crashes the program every time.
Like
Version 1.4.4
1 answer(s)
Shane-Smith
Shane-Smith
23 January 2012
Still not working in 1.5rc1
Like
silverhand31
05 December 2011
Very good but one thing need to talk about. I can't send files for my friends (diff apps). Only they can send me but I have to enable auto received file.
Like
Version 1.4.4
silverhand31
05 December 2011
Very good but one thing need to talk about. I can't send files for my friends(diff apps). Only they can send me but I have to enable auto received file.
Like
Version 1.4.4
freiheit
03 December 2011
I have work people on MSN, friends on AIM (iChat) and friends on F*book. Adium lets me chat with all of them through one interface. Love it! However if I set up F*book using the F*book option, it doesn't connect even after I authorize it through the site; had to set it up using Jabber as the protocol, but found instructions for that on F*book. Adium is great!
Like
Version 1.4.3
2 answer(s)
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
05 December 2011
It's now fixed.
Like (2)
freiheit
freiheit
06 December 2011
Thanks Davidravenmoon. Now I have nothing to complain about with Adium. It's perfect in every way. ;-)
Like
Doug-S-
12 September 2011
There are so many areas in which Adium works great. You can customize it so easily, it supports so many different clients... But there is a very specific reason it's getting a star of one: I was on my laptop, about to switch to my desktop and saw a friend I had online. I haven't talked to her in ages because I never see her on. So I shut my laptop, hopped on my iMac and... She's gone. That sucks. So I text her because now I want to chat. She says she's still on. No she's not... I check on my laptop. Yep, there she is. Desktop? No. Same account, same settings. I literally cloned my desktop to my laptop when I installed Lion. Adium has been uninstalled. Given the other fiddly issues with stability and the fact that it ALWAYS asks me to double-check my passwords when I sign in... Never again. I've given them so much time to work out the bugs and they never do. They worry about new, pointless features instead.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.3
Crackerblue
06 September 2011
I love this client and I was HOPING that with the 1.4.3 release they were going to fix the very basics bugs! But I have been testing it and they didn't. Sometimes I can't receive message and/or sometimes I can't send messages. My display picture isn't displayed on my contacts (win) MSN clients. File - transferring... well you know. By now I have to stick with Microsoft Messenger, otherwise I can't communicate with my friends and family. I'm sorry about this great app, but this need to be fixed.
Like (3)
Version 1.4.3
Leo-Telles
06 September 2011
I really love Adium and how i can use Facebook chat, twitter and man messenger at the same time. I love the freedom i have to customize everything, i like how the updates comes and really improve things. I wish in near future they`ll make a way so i can save all me settings, because every time i reinstall it in different computers and everything i need to make all my customization again.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.3
Derision
05 September 2011
I might take a lot of flack for this review, because Adium is universally loved by Mac users, but… well, it's just my opinion, and nobody has to agree with me. For me, though, Adium is kind of redundant. When I first switched from OS9 to OSX, back in those heady Jaguar days, Adium was the ONLY IM client I would use. AIM, ICQ and Yahoo were bad Carbon ports, MSN was indescribable, and iChat was, er... weird. In addition, Skype was barely a glimmer in anybody's eyes and, though Gizmo was cool, only three people worldwide seemed to ever use it. At that point, Adium -- and, to a lesser extent, the now defunct Fire and the husk of what was once Proteus -- was a breath of fresh air. It was a convenient, solid, feature-rich application that easily blew away any of the official offerings. It was also extremely customizable and, well... it was very "Mac". Time marches on, though, and the official clients have gotten better. While this has occurred, it has seemed to me as if Adium continues to tread water, a bit. It is still a very solid application and it is still a very convenient way to keep all your contacts in one list, but it doesn't have video or audio conferencing -- which even MSN has now -- and it falls short in some very basic areas as compared to the official offerings. I have rarely been able to get file transfers to work and, at times, it can act just plain goofy. Now, that said, I am absolutely not trying to disparage this application. I still love Adium to death and I keep installing updates, but... to be honest, I just don't find myself using it very often anymore. Maybe if I needed to be logged into eight different IM clients, or several different screen names, then I'll start it up, but... for the most part, it sits there looking at me, and just doesn't get used. Which is kind of a shame, because it still has what it has had since day one, back in those OSX 10.2 days -- loads upon loads of amazing potential that it just... doesn't... ever... quite seem... to reach. AJH
Like (5)
Version 1.4.3
Paul04
14 August 2011
A solid Instant Messenger. Every new Mac user should be aware of this good old IM client. Knew about it before I switched to Mac in July 2009. Although I should point out there is something here or there that you feel might need to be addd or improved, and in all honestly not that I don't appreciate it or it's not updated, I just feel myself wanting to click to check for updates menu on occasion to see if it gets polished a little, or something new comes.
Like (1)
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Crackerblue
Crackerblue
27 August 2011
Sometimes I fell they have just abandoned this project :(, take so long to patches and stuff like that. I'm using Amsn right now due to constant bugs on Adium, like my contacts not receiving messages, they can't see my picture, can't send/receive file transfers etc. I hope they fix it soon cuz i loved Adium. < 3
Like
djcz
11 August 2011
Ever since I've upgraded, I've had an issue with Adium autocorrecting text. I wouldn't mind so much if it got it right, but it's ALWAYS wrong and it's always something crazy. I've looked for a setting to turn this off, but can't seem to find anything. Does anyone know how to fix this?
Like
Version 1.4.2
5 answer(s)
-M-S-
-M-S-
11 August 2011
Are you sure you're not referring to Lion's auto-correct feature?
Like
djcz
djcz
11 August 2011
I'm on 10.6.8.
Like
-M-S-
-M-S-
11 August 2011
Ah. This might be helpful: http://trac.adium.im/ticket/12942
Like
djcz
djcz
11 August 2011
AH! That was it, found it! Nice! Thank you Misha! I never would have thought to right click the word and change the setting there. Although, I have no idea how that setting would have magically turned itself on, but it's fixed now.
Like
-M-S-
-M-S-
11 August 2011
Happy to help! We like to make MacUpdate awesome for our members :)
Like
Mrcoffeeluver
10 August 2011
I use Adium daily. But sadly QQ connection does not still work and video, I really want video on MSN. The Microsoft Messenger for OS X has so lousy video also. God I am envy of my Windows friends sometimes. :)
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
gatovadio
gatovadio
14 September 2011
they should just remove qq support since its protocol/api is very unfriendly and keeps changing. i use the official qq client now, which also has webcam support since the latest non beta release. as for adium webcam support, an acceptable workaround would be to use the mebeam plugin (now it's koowy) or something similar and open it in its own webkit window without the need to open the browser.
Like
Penguirl
05 August 2011
I just discovered that you can send free text (SMS) messages through Adium from Address Book (at least in the US anyway) - another feather in Adium's cap! The only thing missing that I can tell is A/V chat, which I don't use anyway.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Gryffin
17 June 2011
I've been using Adium since forever, but this is the first time a full update caused me a problem. In this case, since installing 1.4.2, I can no longer create hyperlinks. When I right-click, the "Add Link" item is there, but doesn't do anything. Ditto the main menu item. Checking the console, I'm seeing this, twice, fer every attempt to create a link: 6/17/11 10:37:02 AM Adium[30127] +[AHHyperlinkScanner isStringValidURI:usingStrict:fromIndex:withStatus:schemeLength:]: unrecognized selector sent to class 0x21e5140 Gonna see if I have a copy of 1.4.1 laying around, and roll back.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Zephyris
15 June 2011
Adium, kicking ass since 2001! Thanks to the devs for keeping it free.
Like (2)
Version 1.4.2
1 answer(s)
Jimblue
Jimblue
15 June 2011
10 years of hip-hop, pop, rock and R&B.
Like (2)
Mac007
13 June 2011
I finally fixed my lost contact list problem but lost all my custom settings which I'm trying to get back to what I had before the update to the newest version. I still have yet to figure out why it shows all my contacts as offline when that is not the case when I check my browser. Whatever they have changed has ruined this application for me. Fortunately I have Trillian which is what I will be using until they get things fixed.
Like
Version 1.4.2
Yoshinatsu
13 June 2011
Please note that Adium 1.4.2 uses an updated version of libpurple, and as a result, direct file transfers, user icons, and receipt of custom emoticons are currently broken. If you'd like to help the developers of Adium to resolve these issues, please visit http://adium.im/help/
Like (5)
Version 1.4.2
6 answer(s)
Regular-Warren
Regular-Warren
13 June 2011
That's good to know. Thanks for pointing that out!
Like (1)
Whytoi
Whytoi
13 June 2011
So should 1.4.2 considered to be an upgrade or downgrade?
Like
Yoshinatsu
Yoshinatsu
13 June 2011
@Whytoi, if you check out the changelog, you'll see that the Adium team has managed to eliminate some annoying MSN bugs, and crashes. Also, you can now stay logged in from multiple clients and devices because it uses a newer MSN protocol, MSNP16. Somehow, the team decided it was more important (for now, at least) to release those fixes ASAP, and fix the new bugs at a later time. I can't say I fully understand this, I'm sticking with 1.4.1 myself, but maybe this is because those bugs might be resolved pretty quickly after all. Who knows.
Like
Mrcoffeeluver
Mrcoffeeluver
10 August 2011
Oh that explains why no one suddenly can send me anything! Have to start especially for that the Windows Messenger everytime someone wants to send a photo. Hope the team can fix this soon! Still waiting....
Like
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
04 September 2011
Does 1.4.3 completely fix the problems you mention?
Like
Yoshinatsu
Yoshinatsu
05 September 2011
Sure, the issues have been fixed. You won't be able to login from multiple clients though, they haven't yet implemented this.
Like
jamesnrth
14 May 2011
Best IM program for Mac. Small, lite, free, supports many chat networks. Thumbs up!
Like (1)
Version 1.4.1