Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to A Better Finder Rename page
A Better Finder Rename free download for Mac

A Better Finder Rename Reviews

16 July 2021

File, photo, and MP3 batch renamer.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
ivryernest
ivryernest
May 12 2021
11.32
0.0
May 12 2021
0.0
Version: 11.32
I never use software whose name contains "Better"
ivryernest
ivryernest
Mar 29 2021
11.30
0.0
Mar 29 2021
0.0
Version: 11.30
I will never use software whose name includes "a better"... In fact, better than what ?
Mcr
Mcr
Jan 5 2021
11.26
0.0
Jan 5 2021
0.0
Version: 11.26
this is now a universal binary app supporting Intel and Apple Silicon chips natively
lyndajdesign
lyndajdesign
Jul 20 2020
11.19
0.0
Jul 20 2020
0.0
Version: 11.19
I'm trying to do a basic bulk find and replace using a spreadsheet but I can't get it to work. The spreadsheet has in column one the current name, column two has what I want column one to be replaced with.
lyndajdesign
lyndajdesign
Jul 20 2020
11.19
0.0
Jul 20 2020
0.0
Version: 11.19
Can someone tell me how to use wildcards and a spreadsheet in this app?
André__
André__
Jan 7 2020
11.09
5.0
Jan 7 2020
5.0
Version: 11.09
Great piece of program, the droplets are really handy and the ID3 music tag renaming possibility is very useful, too. Also the developer is super responsive, I mailed him a little bug yesterday and today it's already fixed. 5 Stars !!
edgould1948
edgould1948
Dec 4 2019
11.08
0.0
Dec 4 2019
0.0
Version: 11.08
A faster, better file manipulation cannot be found. I use it so many times a day I have it in the toolbar. I manipulate sometimes 1000's of files each time I use this. I will admit in the early releases of the product, it was at times unreliable. Since then it has become a hardened tool that I fully trust.
Aglee
Aglee
Nov 27 2019
11.07
5.0
Nov 27 2019
5.0
Version: 11.07
Have used this app for years. Simple when I need simplicity, powerful when I need power. I appreciate the developer's dedication to a quality product.
ocean442
ocean442
Nov 6 2019
11.04
5.0
Nov 6 2019
5.0
Version: 11.04
I'm still trying to find a renaming task that this app wouldn't be able to handle. Haven't found any so far. The best renamer on Earth!
Derekcurrie
Derekcurrie
Oct 16 2019
11.00
5.0
Oct 16 2019
5.0
Version: 11.00
$12.95 upgrade price to v11.
Maudlin
Maudlin
Sep 13 2019
10.45
0.0
Sep 13 2019
0.0
Version: 10.45
Ridiculous that the "most helpful" review displayed at the top of the page is a 10 year old post by "Bluestar" complaining that ABFR is supposedly updated almost every day. This may have been true when it was posted in 2009 - but it's not the case in 2019 and is now irrelevant.
Fishboy
Fishboy
Jul 31 2019
10.44
5.0
Jul 31 2019
5.0
Version: 10.44
The best file re-naming solution available for photographers, studios & anyone who works with large digital libraries. Highly recommended.
WordWeaver
WordWeaver
Jul 25 2019
10.43
0.0
Jul 25 2019
0.0
Version: 10.43
I have been a registered user of File Buddy for a number of years now. Version 10 still works with Mojave, and there is a version 11 in the works, although the developer has been dragging his feet about it.

File Buddy is similar to ABFR and has a lot of great features and functions, some of which ABFR may not have. However, I would seriously consider switching to A Better Finder Rename if -- as other commenters note below -- it incorporated an undo option.

Sometimes we make mistakes, or perhaps change our minds about a naming change. When you are working with dozens, hundreds or even thousands of files, as I do, being able to undo a change on multiple files becomes very important. Developer, please consider implementing undo in ABFR. Thank you.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Jul 24 2019
10.43
5.0
Jul 24 2019
5.0
Version: 10.43
It can do so much, it is amazing! It is the best one for renaming.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Apr 1 2019
10.40
3.0
Apr 1 2019
3.0
Version: 10.40
BEWARE - there's still no undo function!

That's unconscionable in a seasoned app like this, and is vital!

Even Path Finder has that available for its renaming window, and renaming is just a secondary function, not its PRIMARY JOB!
Mcclough
Mcclough
Dec 6 2018
10.37
5.0
Dec 6 2018
5.0
Version: 10.37
Suoperb tool. By far the best in it's class.
MacDefender
MacDefender
Oct 7 2018
10.34
5.0
Oct 7 2018
5.0
Version: 10.34
My favorite tool to automate renames of pictures according to their EXIF data. I hate all those cloud or library „You shouldn’t know how we store your data“ solutions like Apples Photos and prefer to have them stored without overhead of GB wasted space. A Better Finder Rename helps there a lot renaming my photos according to EXIF data. This would be an app I really miss if it’s gone.
bobembry
bobembry
Sep 21 2018
10.33
5.0
Sep 21 2018
5.0
Version: 10.33
Very useful and flexible. Works great ★★★★★.. Give it a test drive
spinzore
spinzore
May 31 2018
10.29
5.0
May 31 2018
5.0
Version: 10.29
Does what it claims to do in a pleasant and easy to understand GUI.
Aargl
Aargl
Feb 10 2018
10.25
5.0
Feb 10 2018
5.0
Version: 10.25
As a basic user, you don't often need to rename huge quantities of files, but when you need, you worship an app like this! With the use of RegEx (in Advanced & Special), it gives you nearly infinite power! Here's an example: being French, I've appended the date in French format on many files names across the years (DD/MM/YYYY) — which was not a good idea to keep them sorted... :-/ With ABFR, It took just the time to figure out how to do it, and I've renamed them all with YYYY-MM-DD instead. Awesome!
markrf
markrf
Jan 29 2018
10.24
5.0
Jan 29 2018
5.0
Version: 10.24
I've been in IT for over 45 years and, for at least the last 15 of them (when I switched to Mac), A Better Finder Rename is the most useful, reliable, easy-to-use program in my toolbox. I haven't been able to say that about ANY other program I use (and I'm a techie and a photographer). Thank you for your consistently good work.
Funjoy
Funjoy
Sep 13 2017
10.21
5.0
Sep 13 2017
5.0
Version: 10.21
I've been using this app for many year, along with its sister app A Better Finder Attributes (which I use a lot less often). Solid, powerful, sophisticated. I don't use it as much as I used to ever since Lightroom built in rename-on-import, but it's a good tool to have for other renaming of files.
Fangoo
Fangoo
May 9 2017
10.16
4.0
May 9 2017
4.0
Version: 10.16
I have and used v9 for some time. What it does is fine, but the Mac Finder now has a built-in file renamer and others are available for free. The $20 price tag seems high and the $13 upgrade fee is also a bit much. In my humble opinion it doesn't to that much more. If it does something you really need, it may be worth it, but I'm making do without the upgrade. I'm not buying apps that charge everytime Mac upgrades.
wickedsp1d3r
wickedsp1d3r
Oct 15 2016
10.10
0.0
Oct 15 2016
0.0
Version: 10.10
"Toggle Preview Pane": setting not saved across launches. Why?
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jul 28 2016
10.08
3.0
Jul 28 2016
3.0
Version: 10.08
Make sure you enter your Unlock Code AGAIN after upgrading and BEFORE renaming files!
It's frustrating that the code doesn't carry over to newer versions!

I installed and opened 10.08, then renamed a half-dozen files. Needed to Undo, but that function was greyed out. Entered Unlock code and Undo function STILL wasn't available.
Fortunately the files aren't crucial and I can give them new names.

WTF Dev.?
juanwayri
juanwayri
Jul 27 2016
10.08
5.0
Jul 27 2016
5.0
Version: 10.08
Great App!
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jun 15 2016
10.07
3.0
Jun 15 2016
3.0
Version: 10.07
This app has not yet been updated to protect against the Sparkle updater framework vulnerability that was discovered in Jan. 2016. Apps that use a vulnerable version of Sparkle and an unencrypted HTTP channel for server updates are at risk of being hijacked to transmit malicious code to end users.
steveoliver360
steveoliver360
Jun 7 2016
10.07
5.0
Jun 7 2016
5.0
Version: 10.07
This is by far the best app of it's kind. You can perform just about any type of rename you can think of. I mostly use it to rename music files to my own particular needs. It's well worth $20.
Fishboy
Fishboy
Oct 22 2015
10.00
5.0
Oct 22 2015
5.0
Version: 10.00
"...Re: Version 10: It seems the "upgrade" price for current registered users is nearly the same as the purchase price for a new customer..." It may not look like much of a break at $12.95 vs full price of $19.95 but it includes minor revisions up to, but not including version 11. per the website. It's a great utility, photographers will love it. I've used A Better Finder Rename without any issues for years. A real time saver. Recommended.
mrperfect
mrperfect
Oct 21 2015
10.00
0.0
Oct 21 2015
0.0
Version: 10.00
The video here is for the old version 9.
Quiiick
Quiiick
Sep 16 2015
10.00b2
0.0
Sep 16 2015
0.0
Version: 10.00b2
A very useful utility, no doubt about that. But since it moved to version 10, it would have been a great opportunity to also have "A Better App Rename" ...
Ibeme
Ibeme
Sep 3 2015
10.00b1
5.0
Sep 3 2015
5.0
Version: 10.00b1
As far as I'm concerned, this app is a no-brainer for any list of mac essential software.
OhEssex
OhEssex
Sep 3 2015
10.00b1
0.0
Sep 3 2015
0.0
Version: 10.00b1
I have a forever license so this is free for me :-). Great program, but I just thought I'd stop by to say the new icon does nothing for me... I'd rather see the old icon (with maybe a different colored ink to signify a new version) any day instead.
mike-evangelist
mike-evangelist
Sep 3 2015
10.00b1
5.0
Sep 3 2015
5.0
Version: 10.00b1
Fantastically useful application that has saved me many many hours of work over the years.
Big Johnson
Big Johnson
Jul 30 2015
9.52
3.0
Jul 30 2015
3.0
Version: 9.52
"A Better Finder Rename offers a complete set of renaming options..."

Well, not quite a "complete set."

Almost a month ago I sent a request to the developer asking for a naming function I need that is not included. I was told "I’ll file a feature request based on your idea."

It wasn't included in today's update and I've no indication if it ever will be.

I use Path Finder's renaming function a lot more often than ABFR because it's already open, thus quicker. I only open ABFR when I need more advanced options or when renaming files in more than one folder all at once.

It is nice to be able to save presets and droplets for repetitive tasks, but oddly those features aren't mentioned in the description.


This review is based on v9.50, the latest I've used.
anonymous-gerbil-5319
anonymous-gerbil-5319
Jun 10 2015
9.51
4.5
Jun 10 2015
4.5
Version: 9.51
Good software, great support.
Philosopherdog
Philosopherdog
Mar 29 2015
9.49
5.0
Mar 29 2015
5.0
Version: 9.49
Simply a brilliant app. Run out and get this app. Forthwith!
Chaloots
Chaloots
Feb 11 2015
9.45
0.0
Feb 11 2015
0.0
Version: 9.45
Interestingly, after receiving an email alert from Macupdate that a new version was available and out of curiosity I opened the existing 9.44, where the app update stated that I had in fact the latest version. I then opened Macupdate Desktop and updated, successfully, to 9.45 Developers: if you're listening, what might be a reason for this?
Pugwash
Pugwash
Jan 12 2015
9.43
5.0
Jan 12 2015
5.0
Version: 9.43
A fantastic app! Easy to use, well laid out interface, lot's of options and fast. From start to finish it took me about two minutes to rename approximately 500 photos from a single shoot just then. Worth every cent!
Quiiick
Quiiick
Nov 8 2014
9.41
0.0
Nov 8 2014
0.0
Version: 9.41
The AppStore version of A Better Finder Rename has not yet been updated to version 9.41. Any reason for that?
Lounge-Deluxe
Lounge-Deluxe
Sep 24 2014
9.40
0.0
Sep 24 2014
0.0
Version: 9.40
This app continues to improve itself, and has been rock solid. The only feature I'm missing is the ability to edit tags from music files (including aiff). It's got nothing to do with file renaming but it would be an awesome addition to the existing great feature set.
IngeMortier
IngeMortier
Jul 28 2014
9.38
5.0
Jul 28 2014
5.0
Version: 9.38
Useful app. Not cheap though
Mr-Mike
Mr-Mike
Jul 22 2014
9.37
5.0
Jul 22 2014
5.0
Version: 9.37
Best app of its kind. Ever.
marco-cina
marco-cina
Jul 22 2014
9.37
5.0
Jul 22 2014
5.0
Version: 9.37
just does the work in a simple way, never crashes, its fast
mreithme-com6539
mreithme-com6539
Mar 27 2014
9.31
5.0
Mar 27 2014
5.0
Version: 9.31
With 30 years of PC use under my belt not many apps make me smile. This one does. The insight of the developer into the needs of the user are on spot. It's easy to use and the graphical interface is intuitive. As for usability and the "sure am glad I purchased this" factor, I rank this on my list with Transmit, 1Password, and MacJournal, my list of currently pleasing and delightful apps.
Bento de Espinosa
Bento de Espinosa
Feb 19 2014
9.30
5.0
Feb 19 2014
5.0
Version: 9.30
The best one!
clamatacgmail-com2189
clamatacgmail-com2189
Aug 29 2013
9.24
0.0
Aug 29 2013
0.0
Version: 9.24
I am testing the demo for the fist time, just a few files. I have made just a test changing '. ' to ' ' The app ask for my session password for each file!!!! is it like this or I am doing something wrong? Thanks
rapidler
rapidler
Apr 24 2013
9.19
4.5
Apr 24 2013
4.5
Version: 9.19
Unverzichtbares Tool am Mac - ein Segen beim Multi-Edit von mehreren bzw. vielen Dateien! Leider lässt sich Multi-Step Drawer nicht immer verstecken, gelegentliche (eher seltene) Abstürze.
kdfukuyama
kdfukuyama
Mar 28 2013
9.19
5.0
Mar 28 2013
5.0
Version: 9.19
A Must have program for any person who has a lot of photos to organize. The Droplet, which basically is like a shortcut icon with preset renaming rules inside, change file names in Drag-Drop-Voilà!
Alfie
Alfie
Mar 13 2013
9.19
4.5
Mar 13 2013
4.5
Version: 9.19
Brilliant if a bit hard to get the full overview of capabillitys at once.