Keep your data private! Install Clario for mobile and desktop.
Try NowAd
Back to QuarkXPress page
QuarkXPress free download for Mac

QuarkXPress Reviews16.0.0

23 July 2020

Desktop publishing solution.

Write your thoughts in our old-fashioned comment
MacUpdate Comment Policy. We strongly recommend leaving comments, however comments with abusive words, bullying, personal attacks of any type will be moderated.
0.0
(0 Reviews of )
There are no reviews yet
mitzipepall
mitzipepall
May 16 2021
16.0.0
0.0
May 16 2021
0.0
Version: 16.0.0
I hate the complete overhaul of Quark 2019. I have been using Quark since the late 80s and I have always loved it. A perfect program. This overhaul is completely pointless and confusing. My fondest wish would be to have it back the way it was. I waste more time ****ing about looking for things I never had to think about. There is no improvement. Just some idiots who decided to put everything we were used to in a different spot.
randyelkc
randyelkc
Feb 9 2021
16.0.0
1.0
Feb 9 2021
1.0
Version: 16.0.0
I am forced to use Quark when working with client files. I cringe every time. I've lost track of the number of crashes.
anonymous-jellyfish-5511
anonymous-jellyfish-5511
Oct 4 2020
16.0.0
1.0
Oct 4 2020
1.0
Version: 16.0.0
Too huge! Too complicated. Support stinks. Horribly expensive. Affinity Publisher a much better choice, a lot less expensive too!!!
johan-73
johan-73
Sep 15 2020
16.0.0
3.0
Sep 15 2020
3.0
Version: 16.0.0
The software itself works very well except from the startup process which takes too long time to be convenient. The installation process was quite complicated and a hurdle since you needed to make go through a special application process to get the validation code -very inflexible method. Quark have stopped the support for Quark 2018 already after two years. No download file at the support pages since they want to force you to upgrade to latest version. After a long time chatting with the support they reluctantly mailed me the download link. So, even if you own the software, it is very difficult to re-install in case of you change computer or need to restore it.
post-182
post-182
Oct 9 2019
14.2.1
0.0
Oct 9 2019
0.0
Version: 14.2.1
I installed MAC OS Catalina and now I cant export quark file to PDF, Ive updated quark etc - HELP
iamdavid
iamdavid
May 29 2019
14.2.1
0.0
May 29 2019
0.0
Version: 14.2.1
Once again, MacUpdate is so late it is laughable... Quark 14.2.1 came out on Jan 24 2019. This is why I canceled my membership
chasjunk
chasjunk
Oct 19 2018
14.1.0.0
0.0
Oct 19 2018
0.0
Version: 14.1.0.0
I only just noticed this but a Mac App Store version called QuarkXpress 2018 Pro is available for $300 (normally $400, apparently) until Nov. 18th, 2018. The MAS version says it does NOT output to Kindle format, and is not scriptable via JavaScript, but appears to be otherwise the same.
Pik80
Pik80
May 23 2018
14.0.0.0
4.0
May 23 2018
4.0
Version: 14.0.0.0
A pretty good step forward! Nice large vertical measurement bar (make the right hand side bar and pointer tool large on retina displays as well please) helpful open type palette, and fonts are now separated by style. One note on that last thing, 2018 takes away the ability to type in a font and it's variation. Bring back the ability to do that immediately!
brunos77
brunos77
Apr 2 2018
13.2.1.0
5.0
Apr 2 2018
5.0
Version: 13.2.1.0
This software works great. I switched to it from InDesign CC which kept crashing. Initially, I was put off by the "old school" interface, but once I really started working on projects with it, I noticed how well thought out all the details are. It looks like in version 2017, they have really listened to customers: whatever I wanted to do, there was a specific feature for it that made it intuitive and easy.
t-smith96
t-smith96
Mar 8 2018
13.2.1.0
1.0
Mar 8 2018
1.0
Version: 13.2.1.0
I havve never been a big fan of Quark. To me its always been the "wanna be" of layout apps. I think the interface is clutsy and non-ituitive and they can't seem to make up their mind what and when to update features. After years of being away, I had to go back to Quark because a client insisted on it. I am recalling why I disliked it, but not I absolutely HATE it. This latest update constantly crashes on me any time I do any work with images. Its baffling and infuriating! I can't wait to be off of this piece of s**t!
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Jan 23 2018
13.2.0.0
0.0
Jan 23 2018
0.0
Version: 13.2.0.0
13.1.1 is what this link goes to; not 13.2, which does not seem to exist.
Pik80
Pik80
Jul 12 2017
13.0.1.0
4.0
Jul 12 2017
4.0
Version: 13.0.1.0
This version of Quark is the first one I have used and I am loving it so far! I can't speak for how terrible previous versions may or may not have been. Be sure to take advantage of Quark's $400 competitive update that allows you to update from several competitors products (such as InDesign) to the latest version of Quark. I generally like this software a lot more then ID CS6 which is what I was using previously (and still use from time to time.)
GraphicsGeek
GraphicsGeek
May 30 2017
13.0.0.0
5.0
May 30 2017
5.0
Version: 13.0.0.0
Modern Quark is just fantastic.
Glenbo
Glenbo
May 30 2017
13.0.0.0
5.0
May 30 2017
5.0
Version: 13.0.0.0
Top notch quality upgrade, very impressed, this is a compelling upgrade from older versions and even from InDesign! The Typography engine is significantly improved, best in the business!
Gregorgy
Gregorgy
May 29 2017
13.0.0.0
0.5
May 29 2017
0.5
Version: 13.0.0.0
It is only $850 if you live in an area that Quark services. In South Africa, we HAVE to go via a reseller, pushing the price to double that. I've complained, quark ignored, indesign won.
Gprovan
Gprovan
May 25 2017
13.0.0.0
0.0
May 25 2017
0.0
Version: 13.0.0.0
I used QuarkXpress for years in the industry. However, they never listened to their users, even as the newer pups came biting at their heels with the features everyone wanted. Transparency anyone? This completely frustrated me and reluctantly after trying my best to persevere, I started using the competitors, and I've never looked back. With the droves of users abandoning Quark, it took them till only recently to start listening, and $849? I can't see them clawing them back now. Possibly if they offered it for $200. It's a shame, as I'd like to see viable competition and InDesign is far from perfect, but you know what they say - once bitten, twice shy.
Tim27
Tim27
May 25 2017
13.0.0.0
0.0
May 25 2017
0.0
Version: 13.0.0.0
Can't wait for Affinity Publisher to come out and drive the final nails in this coffin. $850 for this piece of trash, expensive upgrade prices every time, still horrible UI. How is this company still around? Who is paying upgrade fees for it and why do you do it?
RavenNevermore
RavenNevermore
May 24 2017
13.0.0.0
5.0
May 24 2017
5.0
Version: 13.0.0.0
Nice update... you can FINALLY resize the Usage window! Goodbye 1990's! lol
Ervins Strauhmanis
Ervins Strauhmanis
May 24 2017
13.0.0.0
5.0
May 24 2017
5.0
Version: 13.0.0.0
If you are new user planning on buying the QXP, be sure to visit this page to check if you are eligible for a 50% discount (time limited offer): http://content.quark.com/switch-to-quarkxpress-us.html
bazlane
bazlane
Aug 1 2016
12.1.0.0
5.0
Aug 1 2016
5.0
Version: 12.1.0.0
Well, Quark has risen from the ashes and is now what I believe to be the best publishing app out there. Versatile, fully featured for print and electronic work... No, I'm not an employee and I have no connection whatsoever with the company, but I've used QXP since version 3 and after buying the lacklustre v10 I, too, thought Quark was done for. V11 was pretty stunning, but the new one knocks spots off its competition. If you haven't used QXP for a few years, or you simply want to know what you're missing out on, download a demo. From a company once infamous for ignoring its customers' problems and queries, posts to the company's Facebook page get answered promptly - often within a few minutes - and they help with the older versions, too. I cannot praise Quark or the new Quarkxpress highly enough. Once a no-hoper, Quark is now one of the best, most responsive companies out there. Wish I could give it six stars.
Bort1611
Bort1611
Sep 16 2015
11.1.0.0
5.0
Sep 16 2015
5.0
Version: 11.1.0.0
I learned DTP with Quark on the job, not at college. This was in the days before InDesign, and when Pagemaker was the biggest competitor. I still use it, and have happily upgraded to the latest version out of my own pocket. It is fast, it is stable, it does everything I need it to do. I have stayed with Quark through good times and bad, and will continue to do so. It just works the way I expect it to.
nok99
nok99
Sep 6 2015
11.0.1
4.0
Sep 6 2015
4.0
Version: 11.0.1
v11.1 is out : http://www.quark.com/en/Support/Downloads/Search_Results.aspx?pid=1&oid=2&ftid=1
Gérard-Cousin
Gérard-Cousin
Jun 2 2015
11.0.0.1
0.5
Jun 2 2015
0.5
Version: 11.0.0.1
You can't kill what's already dead…
Donmontalvo
Donmontalvo
Jun 2 2015
11.0.0.1
0.5
Jun 2 2015
0.5
Version: 11.0.0.1
Remind me again how/why QuarkXPress is relevant? We've long switched over production environments to InDesign. What's the compelling reason to consider giving Quark another chance?
Revco
Revco
Apr 30 2015
11.0.0.0
2.5
Apr 30 2015
2.5
Version: 11.0.0.0
>Stunning 64-bit performance.< Rotate a text box 10° in XPress 9: instant. Rotate same text box in XPress 11 (2015): 3 seconds. Yeah, stunning performance.
2y2d
2y2d
Nov 7 2014
10.2.1
0.0
Nov 7 2014
0.0
Version: 10.2.1
v 10.5 is out added Yosemite support : http://www.quark.com/fr/Support/Downloads/Details.aspx?fid=256
Dumond
Dumond
Dec 18 2013
10.0.2.0
0.0
Dec 18 2013
0.0
Version: 10.0.2.0
Yet again, this links to the old updater (v10.0.1.0)... Here's the proper link to v10.0.2.0: http://www.quark.com/en/Support/Downloads/Details.aspx?fid=272 Cheers! ;)
Dlwhite
Dlwhite
Oct 7 2013
10.0.0.2
0.0
Oct 7 2013
0.0
Version: 10.0.0.2
Anyone else find it SHOCKING that Quark 10 and Suitcase Fusion 5 release within WEEKS of each other, but Suitcase does not offer a Quark 10 font auto-activation plugin??? SERIOUSLY?
Dumond
Dumond
Oct 1 2013
10.0.0.2
0.0
Oct 1 2013
0.0
Version: 10.0.0.2
The MU download link brings you to version 10.0.0.1 Here's the link for version 10.0.0.2: http://www.quark.com/en/Support/Downloads/Details.aspx?fid=264 Cheers!
Jan-rybar
Jan-rybar
Oct 1 2013
10.0.0.2
0.0
Oct 1 2013
0.0
Version: 10.0.0.2
Huh... Version 9.x could open docs made in old Czech versions of QXP (3-6) like a charm. Version 10.x only tells it could not open them. :( Useless for non-english users...
Septimus
Septimus
Sep 22 2013
10.0.0.1
0.0
Sep 22 2013
0.0
Version: 10.0.0.1
As I live in Europe I'm obliged to purchase QuarkXPress 10 Europe Edition (download only) for the price of € 1.399 or $ 1.890,61. Nuts. Guess I'll stick with ID which includes many languages (including Dutch) for just $ 19.99 a month.
Moxiesozo
Moxiesozo
Sep 14 2013
10.0.0.1
0.0
Sep 14 2013
0.0
Version: 10.0.0.1
I wonder if this version will continue to be as bloated and slow as the last two (v8 & v9) -- dozens of icon bounces in the Dock before finally launching; taking more than a minute before you can start using it. And this is on a current-generation Mac Pro with a SSD boot drive and lots of RAM.
ianrid
ianrid
Sep 7 2013
9.5.3
0.0
Sep 7 2013
0.0
Version: 9.5.3
QUARK 9 AND MAVERICKS This comment recently posted by Quark on one of the Quark forums pages: "Don't upgrade to OS X Mavericks [if you are running Quark 9], as QuarkXPress 9 probably won't run on Mavericks (not tested)." You have been warned!
IMRAN™
IMRAN™
Jun 23 2013
9.5.2
0.5
Jun 23 2013
0.5
Version: 9.5.2
Junk. Used to be a Must Have. Now, an overpriced waste.
Aargl
Aargl
Apr 23 2013
9.5.1.1
0.0
Apr 23 2013
0.0
Version: 9.5.1.1
I've found a lot of bugs in version 9.x (up to last update): - absence of translation in some (many?) menus (such as H&J) of French localization - text runaround is sometimes lost (and even unsettable again in 9.5.1!) - anchored legends (not sure of the translation) disappear!
Amazon
Amazon
Apr 12 2013
9.5.1.1
5.0
Apr 12 2013
5.0
Version: 9.5.1.1
I like inDesign however I love QuarkXPress fantastic software for designers.
fleischner
fleischner
Apr 7 2013
9.5.1.1
0.0
Apr 7 2013
0.0
Version: 9.5.1.1
Update didn't seem to work. Tried it with the autoupdate (via Quark Update in System Preferences) and manually via download from quark.com, and both resulted in "Update Complete" messages, but getting info on the app tells me it's still 9.5.1.0.
Xebrawerx LLC
Xebrawerx LLC
Mar 7 2013
9.5
2.5
Mar 7 2013
2.5
Version: 9.5
Do NOT upgrade to v9.5. Just received this note that it has problems with third party font managers. "There is a known issue with QuarkXPress 9.5 according to which the application crashes when you try to open a project with missing fonts if you have a third party font management utility installed on your computer. Our product team is working to resolve this issue and an update patch with the fix for this issue will be released very soon." Stick with version 9.3.
ianrid
ianrid
Dec 1 2012
9.5
0.0
Dec 1 2012
0.0
Version: 9.5
Have they finally improved the Web module in Quark? It hasn't received much attention for some time and is woefully lacking in features.
prLab
prLab
Nov 30 2012
9.5
0.0
Nov 30 2012
0.0
Version: 9.5
I tried downloading the demo but it only provides a 7mb DMG and a "disk unrecognised" message.
Flavum
Flavum
Oct 21 2012
9.3.1.2
0.0
Oct 21 2012
0.0
Version: 9.3.1.2
I should probably direct this to Quark, but the 9.3.12 update image doesn't actually contain an updater for XPress. It contains App Studio Factory and a couple other files, but no updater. Am I alone on this? Weird...
iPoopStore
iPoopStore
Oct 3 2012
9.3.1.2
0.0
Oct 3 2012
0.0
Version: 9.3.1.2
Is there a trial 9.3.1.2? My employer would like to test QuarkXpress but he doesn't want to download a outdated 9.3.1.1 trial and then another 365 MB updater. We have monthly bandwidth allowances and it doesn't make sense to download 2 files if one is all we need. Thanks.
prLab
prLab
Aug 16 2012
9.3.1
0.0
Aug 16 2012
0.0
Version: 9.3.1
Tried downloading it here and from Quark web site, but its says the DMG is not recognised. Is it my machine?
Xplicit
Xplicit
Jun 1 2012
9.3
0.0
Jun 1 2012
0.0
Version: 9.3
I wonder why the Mac needs to be restarted after having installed QuarkXPress. Even InDesign, as much as it may suck, doesn't need a restart.
Sixtyk
Sixtyk
May 4 2012
9.2.1
1.5
May 4 2012
1.5
Version: 9.2.1
Been in the printing and graphics industry for the last 16 years. I'm the senior graphic artist at a printing company in the Midwest. We accept files and artwork from thousands of customers every year. We get PDF files, InDesign files, Word and Excel files, even the occasional Publisher file... but I can not remember the last time I received a Quark document from any source. We removed Quark from our workflow four years ago and haven't looked back.
Dualie
Dualie
May 3 2012
9.2.1
1.5
May 3 2012
1.5
Version: 9.2.1
"Beginning with version 9.0, the application no longer supports spread and choke trapping. Spreads and chokes that you set up with the Trap Information palette (Window menu) will not be applied at output. However, overprints and knockouts are honored." Well that's big of them to support knockouts and overprints :eyeroll: There is still no way to preview separations either, not that it's really relevant since QUARK NO LONGER TRAPS ON OUTPUT. For professional print publishing, especially where transparency is involved, this is a deal breaker.
big-rod
big-rod
Apr 23 2012
9.2.1
5.0
Apr 23 2012
5.0
Version: 9.2.1
Stable, powerful, feature complete and worth every dollar if you are using it to make money. Somewhat steep learning curve, but frankly amazing how fast it runs on older Macs. It's very light-weight. I've been using XPress since version 4. Darn good stuff.
Septimus
Septimus
Apr 11 2012
9.2.1
0.0
Apr 11 2012
0.0
Version: 9.2.1
The US Version is still $799 (€609) compared to the Euro version $1.837 (€1,399)! That's ridiculous!!! Are you reading along Quark? The Euro version costs more than double the price of the US version just so I can set the application language and spelling to Dutch if I want.
piquadratpi2
piquadratpi2
Apr 11 2012
9.2.1
4.0
Apr 11 2012
4.0
Version: 9.2.1
This update is from march 3, 2012. Why it appears today?
Dodge
Dodge
Apr 11 2012
9.2.1
3.0
Apr 11 2012
3.0
Version: 9.2.1
Heee ! 799$ for an « updater » ? Some people are quite proud to drive their Porches at Quark.